Book Now: The Bauhinia Hotel - Central

Excellent
From 3024 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
Recommended by 92% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (3024)Booking.com Reviews (1376)
8.2
Excellent
From 3024 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities7.6
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality8.3
Service8.3
Value for money8.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
繁體中文 (香港)
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
Superior Double Room
Deluxe Double Room
Deluxe Plus
Executive
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 2604 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
KWOK from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
staff good, location convenience,”
hotel staff nice & efficiency, 1 min to mtr station.
Reviewed February 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
HARISH from India
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 6 nights in January 2018
Great location and Excellent facilities”
Hotel Bauhinia Central has excellent location being 50 meters from Sheung Wan MRT, three minutes walk from Macau Ferry Terminal and Western Market. Taxis and buses are available in plenty. Central and Hongkong MRTs are just 10 minutes walk by Walkway. Plenty of restaurants are located in vicinity including an Indian Restaurant BASMATI. Hotel facilities are excellent for the value of money. Room was very neat and clean with good housekeeping service. All guests are offered light refreshments from 0700 to 1000 hrs and from 1600 to 1900 hrs. Hotel staff was very friendly and had good knowledge of English. However it had a touch of Chinese accent. So, it took sometime to understand. People in general elsewhere, did not understand much of English. So, I would advise all non regional tourists to come prepared with their plans and do a bit of study on the routes , destinations etc. If in doubt clarify at the Hotel to save time. Minimum Taxi Fare upto 2 kms is 24 HKD.
Reviewed February 07, 2018
7.6
Very good
Foong from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Good location”
I'm glad I booked this hotel for the first night in HK, I've identified the restaurant & places I wanna go and this hotel is strategically near to almost all of them.
Reviewed February 06, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Kyuhyun from South Korea
Group
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Great location”
The hotel is located infront of subway station and ferry terminal and also there is a tram station near. It take 5 mins to Dim sum restaurant named 'Dim Sun Square' by walk, 5 mins to Lan Kwai Fong by tram, 10 mins to Soho street by walk.
Reviewed February 05, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Frances from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
Very good”
Staff were extremely courteous, friendly amd helpful. This stemmed from front desk to housekeeping!
Reviewed January 26, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Hui from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
First time stay ”
The hotel staff are friendly and the room was clean. Size of room is acceptable. Very short walk from train station. We requested for morning call as we have a morning flight and they were very on time with the call as well.
Reviewed January 17, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Amy from United States
Couple
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Good location”
Love that the tram, MTR, and buses were right around the property. So convenient and nice quite place. Everything about the hotel is good except toilet is way way too small with no shelves or space to put personal stuff. Special mention on their great shower which is so comforting.
Reviewed January 05, 2018
7.6
Very good
Ma. from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Very good”
Excellent location for travellers who are going to take the ferry to Macao! Hotel staff was generally nice especially the housekeeping lady assigned to our room! she has the best sense customer service in my entire trip to HK! Kudos to her!
Reviewed January 01, 2018
7.6
Very good
Lok from Macau
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Prefect location from Macau Traveler”
1 minute walk to HK-Macau ferry terminal
Reviewed December 21, 2017
6.8
Good
Paulus from Indonesia
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Good Location”
Pros : - rooms are spacious, all basic amenities provided, hairdryer, ironing, also plenty of electric plug - they gave complimentary two bottles of 770ml water each day - bed is rather hard but we are used with it, pillow are soft. - very good shower head although the bathroom is small - great accommodation for light travel person and for those who planned to visit Macau overnight, only takes 5mins walk to Sheung Wan Ferry Terminal - location nearby shopping center and local cafe & restaurant - walking less than 100 steps to MTR station - tram stop right in front of the hotel Cons : - carpet very dirty and old looking - at late night streets are empty, no cafe or local restaurant open, only convenience store open 24/7 - may not suitable for disabled person as the pedestrian are narrow and uneven, also hard to find taxi. to get to MTR also have to walk a little bit to get to the Exit with elevator access (because most Hong Kong MTR Exit only equipped with escalator and stairs)
Reviewed December 14, 2017
8.0
Excellent
HYUNJI from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Very good”
Perfect location but little cold at night. I don't think they operate heater.
Reviewed December 13, 2017
7.2
Very good
Andrew from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Good Location”
Good Location
Reviewed December 10, 2017
8.0
Excellent
WENCHI from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Very good”
Its my second time staying here and will definitely come back again if visiting HK.
Reviewed November 22, 2017
6.8
Good
Mary from Philippines
Group
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Good”
No weights in the gym of any sort--machine or free weights. There were only 3 cardio machines in this 'gym.' No mats or any gym paraphernalia. Had a sudden flush issue--announced 1-2days (when we were checked in already) that the flush cannot be used for one whole day within our stay. INCONVENIENT.
Reviewed November 15, 2017
6.0
dominic from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
An ok stay but not perfect”
The hotel was clean and ok. Not the best stay for the money and not the usual standard. I think the hotel is totally geared to the Chinese market but offered clean and fairly well appointed accommodation. Carpeted through out. Aircon was ok. Bathroom basic but a good standard. Not cheap though for the facilities. Well positioned. Entrance was not great. Ok but better available locally
Reviewed November 14, 2017
6.0
Si from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Above average”
value for money. reasonably new hotel in the area
Reviewed November 06, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Gregory from France
Solo traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Excellent”
clean room, calm area, very nice and efficient staff
Reviewed October 30, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Alexandra from Netherlands
Business traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Convenient location & big room for good price”
There are two entrances, one for the hotel and one for the serviced apartments. They are right next to each other. The hotel lobby just has a service desk and the elevators. Didn't really interact with the staff much except during a friendly and efficient check-in and check-out. It's a good hotel for business travelers. The room was clean and relatively big for HK. I stayed on the 2nd floor and didn't have much of a view (I didn't expect to have one either). It didn't matter as I was out all day everyday and was only in the room late at night. Great location right next to the subway station Shuangwan (上环). It is only one stop to Central & Hong Kong station. It is easier to walk to HongKong subway station from the hotel though over the walkway bridges (the walk between Central and Hong Kong station is really long, almost as long as just walking to Central station directly). There is a Hongkongnese restaurant right next door, which serves both Hongkongese and more western style breakfasts. Just across the road there is also a Starbucks for a quick coffee and breakfast. There are a lot of small restaurants in the neighborhood for dinner.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
7.6
Very good
Rin from Japan
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Functional hotel ”
Reasonabley priced. Everything’s in walk distance. There’re lots of nice local food places in a few min walk. Tim sum, noodle, congee and so on... Also easy to access to airport, Kowloon and Macau. Even if you missed last transportations after clubbing-barcrawling in central, you can walk back to the hotel.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Rachel from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Good Stay Returning Guest”
We got 2 rooms for our family of 4. Location is good. Between 2 MTR stations 1-2 minute walk, one of which has an elevator (convenience for luggages). Good access to Hong Kong Island areas like Causeway Bay, Wan Chai, Central and Admiralty. Also convenient for travelling to and from Macau as it is near the ferry terminal and can be reached by underground walkway. Staff is more helpful and friendly this time. Check in and check out was fast and efficient. There were some hair at the back of the wash basin and bathroom smelled of bleach/cleaner they used. Smell went away after leaving the airconditioner on for ventilation. Overall would stay again. Thanks Bauhinia Hotel
Reviewed September 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Darien from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
good”
good location
Reviewed September 18, 2017
8.4
Excellent
John from Philippines
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Excellent”
There's a receptionist whose a bit rude. But overall, we had a pleasant stay.
Reviewed September 18, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
CHO from South Korea
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
GOOD TIME IN HONG KONG”
Good accessibility to the station Shengwan, spacious room, complimentary breakfast(Bread, juice, coffee and apple), english speaking staff, daily room cleaning service, 500HKD required when check in. I will stay again if I visit Hongkong again.
Reviewed September 08, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Swee from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Great location!”
LOCATION A great place to explore Macau and the outlying islands of Hong Kong! Close to the stop for the airport bus A11/E11, and literally across the road from the Macau ferry terminal. Walking distance from Central ferry pier and ICC. A short 1-2 min walk from Sheung Wan MTR station. Great for those who are looking to make a day trip to Cheung Chau island, Lantau island or Macau. ROOM The room was decent and of a fairly comfortable size (for a HK hotel!). The room was clean, although it is beginning to show signs of age. The rain shower was a pleasant surprise and very therapeutic - try it! With only 3 floors of hotel rooms, there's not much of a view to shout out about. There was also a massive USB hub which can help juice up multiple electronic devices at once - a great idea. I would say that the stay was satisfactory.
Reviewed September 05, 2017
6.0
Hon from Macau
Business traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
good location”
near Weng On Department Store,
Reviewed September 04, 2017
6.4
Good
Hon from Macau
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
good location”
good location but expensive
Reviewed September 04, 2017
7.2
Very good
Hon from Macau
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
5 mins walk to Macau and Hong Kong Ferry Terminal”
Convenient hotel
Reviewed September 04, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Wei from Malaysia
Group
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Good location”
Good location for those who plan to travel to Macau. The ferry terminal is just opposite the hotel.
Reviewed September 03, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
xuewei from Japan
Business traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Exceptional”
The room is big,the stuff is kind.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
3.2
Michelle from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Room smells terrible and I was bitten by bed bugs”
My daughter and I stayed at this hotel due to it's very good location to Central Hong Kong area but it was a disappointing stay as when we entered our room it smells like someone just puff his cigarette inside and left, the cigarette smell is so strong, the room is dusty and carpet is filthy. We wanted to ask for a room change but we were too tired, it was late at night when we arrived and we've already unpacked. The worst was I was bitten by bed bugs! yyaiiks! When I woke up the next day, I saw these red patches on my lower legs and it was sooo itchy that I have to buy itch cream(s) and take antihistamine just to pacify the urge of scratching it. I've told the receptionist about it and she just said that she will relay the matter to her manager, what else can she do anyways?
Reviewed August 20, 2017
8.4
Excellent
KYUTAE from South Korea
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Good Place”
i recommend this hotel. it's very clean, and kind.
Reviewed August 01, 2017
4.8
Yutthaphong from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Okay for central stay”
Good and well location
Reviewed July 30, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Fuk from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
My first choice in Hong Kong (for family relatives visit)”
stayed with this hotel for many times and they never disappoint me. definitely my first choice when I go back to HK from Macau for family gatherings.
Reviewed July 25, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Antonio from Philippines
Family with teens
Family Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Convenient location near HK Macau Ferry and Central Piers”
Along major HK thoroughfares
Reviewed July 17, 2017
6.8
Good
Hoi from Portugal
Business traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Next to the Ferry Terminal”
The location is good yet it is old
Reviewed July 14, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
hyeree from South Korea
Group
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
GOOD ”
** When are you going to cancel the deposit ... ??? anyway, the hotel was close to the station, ferry terminal and malls. My room were kinda big (Twin beds) , bathroom was small though but fine. will stay there again if i can.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
8.8
Excellent
JEFFREY from Indonesia
Family with teens
Superior Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Facation”
Good value for a hotel in Causeway Bay area” Overall, the hotel was ok. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms may be a bit small. The only major concern was the location. The walk to the MTR will take you around 5mins. Also, you will need to pass by an elevated walkway most of the time to get to and from the hotel by foot. A plus would be the handy phone provided in their rooms allowing you unlimited use of internet and calls when you go out to explore the city.
Reviewed July 09, 2017
6.0
Fiona from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Fantastic Location”
We had all our meetings at The Landmark so this hotel's location is excellent as it is very near to almost everything. A minute walk to the MTR, walking to TTS, Central etc. Taking the MTR to Causeway Bay, to anywhere is very convenient. We read that the rooms are small so took a bigger room and is not disappointed. Will definitely stay here again when we go back to Hong Kong in a month's time.
Reviewed July 08, 2017
5.6
Yi from China
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Unidentifiable hair(?) everywhere”
Pls clean the room carefully.
Reviewed June 03, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Pedro from Portugal
Solo traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
third time”
I've stayed over 3 times already, that says a lot. Right in front of Macau ferry. No complaints.
Reviewed May 31, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Juanita from New Zealand
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 7 nights in May 2017
Exceptional”
Excellent location close to mtr, bus and trams. Efficient staff, breakfast ideal for sightseers. Decore ok, facilities were fine.
Reviewed May 26, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Fuk from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
As good as always!”
As a frequent traveler from Macau to HK, Bauhinia is always my first choice, not just because of the location, but yet the hardware as well as software. Staffs are friendly & efficient, rooms are featured with all you basic needs and everything are just around the corner including the MTR station, then what else!
Reviewed May 26, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
SIMEON from Mauritius
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
great hotel and great location ”
hotel was close was next door to hongkong station .. great location as its in the middle of everything.. shopping strips, a few minutes walk from the victoria peak tram and great local restaurant..
Reviewed May 26, 2017
7.6
Very good
Yuchen from Taiwan
Business traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Nice Mid-range Hotel”
Great location - 3 minutes from MTR, lots of local restaurants around. Rooms are large in HK standard. There is a simple breakfast buffet included though it's really "basic" and nothing impressive. I've stayed here several times and have been satisfied with it each time.
Reviewed May 20, 2017
5.6
Sergio from Portugal
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Above average”
Good value for the money. Bathroom was a bit dirty.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Mun from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Great location and very clean hotel”
Very spacious for a hotel in Hong Kong. Price is reasonable. Most important it's very near HK central and less than a minute walk to Sheung Wan MTR station
Reviewed May 16, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Guy from Israel
Solo traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Nice”
Good location, size of the room ok comparing to others in HK
Reviewed May 10, 2017
7.2
Very good
andreas from Indonesia
Business traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Great location”
Near with mrt and restaurant
Reviewed April 27, 2017
8.0
Excellent
andreas from Indonesia
Business traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Great location”
Nice hotel, its near with food and mrt
Reviewed April 27, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Fuk from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Great Location with comfort rooms & friendly service”
Great Location with the Sheung Wan MTR station just round the corner and HK-Macau Ferry Terminal is just within 5 minutes walk. Room size is decent with comfortable bed & linens. USB charger on the bedside table is definitely an extra touch especially nowadays most of the people travelling with several devices need to be re-charged overnight. All the settings of the hotel are able to cater both business & leisure travellers with the basic needs, staffs are friendly enough and this hotel is definitely a valued-for-money choice!
Reviewed April 25, 2017