select your datePlease enter your stay dates to see price
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel

"Place was clean and comfortable as it had just been revamped."

Faeiqah - January 5, 2020
The Den - Bed The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
Interior view The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
Interior view The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
See all 65 photos

The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel

1012, Jalan Sultan Ismail, Chowkit / Putra WTC, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 50100 - See map
Newly built in 2019
Free Wi-Fi
See map
Popular landmarks
Menara Kuala Lumpur 1.1 km
Central Market 1.6 km
Petronas Twin Towers 1.7 km
KLCC - Bukit Bintang Pedestrian Walkway 1.9 km
Chinatown - Kuala Lumpur 1.9 km
Aquaria KLCC 2.0 km
Jalan Alor 2.0 km
KLCC Park 2.1 km
KL Bird Park 2.2 km
Pavilion Kuala Lumpur 2.2 km
Nearby landmarks
Chow Kit 40 m
Maju Junction Mall 90 m
Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman 130 m
Tuanku Abdul Rahman Road 130 m
Wisma Loke 210 m
Loke Mansion 250 m
Medan Tuanku Monorail Station 250 m
Kuala Lumpur Metropolitan University 260 m
City Bazaar 310 m
LRT Train Station - Sultan Ismail 320 m

8.8

Excellent

Location rating score

630 meters from city center
Popular neighborhood
  • 240 meters to public transportation

  • Located in heart of Kuala Lumpur

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Daily housekeeping

  • Bar

Your dates are popular among travelersUsers are booking a place in Kuala Lumpur every 1 minutes on Agoda.com
Value for money8.8
Distance to city center1 km
Location rating8.8
Nearest airportSultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport (SZB)
Distance to airport16.4 km

Rooms available at The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel

The Towkay-Soh Suite
...
  • Room size: 38 m²/409 ft²
  • Street view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
The Twin Den
...
  • Room size: 18 m²/194 ft²
  • Street view
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
The Little Towkay Suite
...
  • Room size: 22 m²/237 ft²
  • Street view
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
The King Den with KL City View
...
  • Room size: 19 m²/205 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
The Den
...
  • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
  • Street view
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
The Towkay Suite
...
  • Room size: 22 m²/237 ft²
  • Street view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
The King Den
...
  • Room size: 19 m²/205 ft²
  • Street view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Hideaway - Work From Room
...
  • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
The Towkay Soh King Suite
...
  • Room size: 38 m²/409 ft²
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
The Towkay-Soh Suite (Bed and Breakfast)
...
  • Room size: 38 m²/409 ft²
Enter dates to see prices

Frequently asked questions

What time is check-in and check-out at The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel?

Check-in is from 02:00 PM, and check-out is until 12:00 PM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The hotel offers luggage storage to guests for before check-in and after check-out. The front desk is always open, day or night.

How do I get to The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel?

For those who wish to drive their own cars, The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel has a car park right on site for maximum convenience. Parking is available for a fee of 15 MYR per day. Self-parking is conveniently available at the hotel.

Is breakfast offered at The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel?

Start your mornings right, with the à la carte and continental breakfast options offered at The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel. There's an additional charge of 35 MYR for adults and 35 MYR for children if not included in the room rate. You may save on breakfast costs with Agoda by booking a room with breakfast, which is often included for less than buying it at the hotel.

What are my dining options at The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel?

The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel features an on-site restaurant for your dining convenience. Meals served include breakfast, dinner and lunch. International cuisine is available for guests. Dishes are served in a la carte during opening hours. Light meal like soup, coffee or tea, desserts and salad are served using only quality ingredients.

Can business events be hosted at The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel?

On-site venues and convenient event services make The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel an ideal choice for hosting events such as conferences and meetings. The 3 venues can accommodate up to 40 people. An extensive range of facilities and services including projector or LED display, free Wi-Fi, meeting stationery and audio-visual equipment is available to help your business meeting or event a successful one.

What is the smoking policy at The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel?

The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel does not permit smoking in any of its rooms, but allows smoking in designated areas.

Show more questions
See map
Explore the neighborhood

What people love about The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel

  • 8.8

    Excellent
    Breakfast

    "I would recommend the house wine and breakfast."

    Praveena

    |

    December 20, 2020

  • 9.6

    Exceptional
    Staff 

    "Good hotel very clean and helpful staff."

    Annie

    |

    March 22, 2020

  • 10.0

    Exceptional

    "We love everything about this hotel."

    Husaini

    |

    September 21, 2020

Property ranking|Compared to 7,825 Kuala Lumpur properties
See all rankings
Value for money score
9/10
Service score
9.4/10
Cleanliness score
9.5/10
Location score
8.9/10
Better than
99
%
of Kuala Lumpur properties
Better than
99
%
of Kuala Lumpur properties
Better than
99
%
of Kuala Lumpur properties
Better than
97
%
of Kuala Lumpur properties
Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
Overall rating:

8.8

Excellent
702 reviews
Cleanliness
9.4
Facilities
8.0
Location
8.8
Read all reviews >
What travelers say they love:
The room was comfortable and the service was top notch.
Praveena from Malaysia
Solo traveler
More about The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel

More about The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel

The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel is a simplified luxury boutique hotel located in Chow Kit, the heart of old Kuala Lumpur - rich in character and history. The property isn't always the first stop for every traveler, but then again you're not just any traveler and there are rewards lying behind the neighborhood's tough, gritty exterior. Guests can enjoy unique excess to this neighborhood through our curated neighborhood listings and guided walking tours to discover the historic food, culture and architecture that made this a thriving center of trade in the past. The Chow Kit Kitchen, located at the heart of the soul of the hotel is an all-day dining restaurant with international classics and reimagined local favorites. There is a yoga and meditation pavilion on the rooftop, along with meeting rooms for hire. The hotel features free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the property and all guest rooms feature a Smart TV, bespoke luxury toiletries and linens. This is the perfect hotel for travelers who value food, design and art above everything else. The hotel is designed by award-winning, Brooklyn-based design firm, Studio Tack, and is their very first Asian project.

Show less

What they offer

10.0

Exceptional

"Indeed it is among the best boutique hotel in KL."

Wan

|

December 14, 2020

View all reviews
Show less

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

What's nearby

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

Property's guest policies

Show less

Some helpful facts

Show less

Property announcements

Show less

Reviews of The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
8.8
/
10
Cleanliness9.4
Facilities8.0
Location8.8
Service9.3
Value for money8.8
High score for Kuala Lumpur
Rating
9+ Exceptional (101)
8-9 Excellent (32)
7-8 Very Good (21)
6-7 Good (9)
<6 Below Expectation (9)
Time of the year
Mar - May (32)
Jun - Aug (24)
Sep - Nov (21)
Dec - Feb (95)
Don't miss out!Users are booking a place in Kuala Lumpur every 1 minutes on Agoda.com
All guests (411)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 172 verified guest comments
12345
10.0
Exceptional
Hanna from Germany
Family with young children
The Towkay Suite
Stayed 3 nights in December 2019

Perfect!!”

The Chow Kit Ormond Hotel perfectly suited our needs and superseded our expectations. The hotel and rooms' interior is tasteful, modern and invited us to spend much more time there than we anticipated! The Junior Suite was the perfect size for us travelling with a child not yet a year old as the little one was able to crawl around. The beds were heaven - probably the most comfortable hotel beds we've ever slept in. The kitchen is modern and delicious and even though we did not book the room with breakfast, we decided to eat there every day. All staff was super nice, helpful and accommodating! Be it with lost luggage that they follow-up on (Thank you, Rachel!), giving us tips how to spend New Year's with a baby or with storing our luggage. I can wholeheartedly recommend the Chow Kit Ormond Hotel - and on top it is in walking distance to a couple sights in KL.

Reviewed January 15, 2020

See room deals

Dear Hanna, Many thanks for the fantastic review. I am delighted to read that you love the architecture and interior of the hotel. The design, led by renowned New York firm Studio Tack blends the cosmopolitan with cosy finishes with comfort creating classy and elegant décor. The food and drink are just what you'd expect of a modern all-day restaurant led by award-winning restaurateurs Christian Bauer and Eddie Chew of Troika Sky Dining. I am so pleased to hear that the team were helpful and accommodating. Your kind comments will be passed on. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon. Warmest regards, Nur Izni Duty Manager

Responded January 16, 2020
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
Zara from Malaysia
Solo traveler
The King Den with KL City View
Stayed 1 night in November 2020

Beautiful hotel in Chow Kit, nearby many eateries”

We stayed in King Den with KL city view, with the monorail passing right in front of our room every 15 mins or so. Delighted to say: no noise from outside, and we had a good night's sleep. They provide bottled water - and there's a refill station just outside the lift area. Would be great if there's hot water and mugs. Hotel also provides fantastic-smelling shampoo and body wash, but bathroom doesn't have a hook for your clothes. It has a towel rail, but the towels already take up the space. Breakfast menu are reasonably priced (typical cafe price), but everything else is a tad too steep for us. No problem though, as there are many good eateries just across the street. There's Little Rara, Ting Tong Pizza, Restoran Sederhana, Restoran Kudu Bin Abdul, Nasi Kapau, and Mi Tarik Silu, Kin Kin Pan Mee, among others. A morning walk around the neighbourhood is highly recommended. Nothing much to see within the immediate area of the hotel - mostly wholesale shops - but if you're willing to head out a bit, there's Pasar Chow Kit, Kampung Baru, and Jalan TAR, Masjid India.

Reviewed November 30, 2020

See room deals

Dear Zara, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it's even better to hear that you had a good sleep. With regards to the Jeanie Botanicals toiletries, we do sell them and you may approach our host if you wish to purchase them. I am also delighted to see that our location was convenient for the purpose of your visit. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Best Regards, Nur Izni Executive Assistant Manager

Responded January 15, 2021
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
Brent from Malaysia
Solo traveler
The Den
Stayed 1 night in January 2020

Excellent premises, faultless”

Wow, what a vibe! Super funky with an homage to colonial decadence. Impeccable service, the restaurant and bar themselves, coupled with superior service and an incredible menu, were 95% faultless (one night I got a knock at my door at 11:30PM asking to sign a restaurant bill they forgot to charge me for - not sure how this could not have waited until morning!) Location is close to the Chow Kit Night Market, which is great, also close to Petronas Towers but the remainder of the historic centre (little India, etc,) are a good 30 minute walk (to 10 minute grab) into town. Will I be back? Sure! NB the introductory prices were the reason I gave 5* for value, $60 AUD a night was incredibly competitive.

Reviewed January 15, 2020

See room deals

Dear Brent Thank you for the great review following your recent stay at The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel, I am delighted to read you loved the vibe and enjoyed The Chow Kit Kitchen and Bar. I do apologise for the staff knocking on your door so late in the evening and have shared this with them. This feedback is a vital way of reviewing our level of service and facilities we provide to our guests so that we can make improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warmest wishes Caroline General Manager

Responded February 28, 2020
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
Faisha from Singapore
Solo traveler
The Den
Stayed 2 nights in December 2019

Pleasant experience for solo traveler”

For someone who was travelling alone and had spent 4 Days 3 Nights at the Ormond Hotel, it was a lovely experience. The staff were helpful, friendly and kind. Despite that there wasn't free amenities such as toothbrush or toothpaste, I actually did not mind that at all because the hotel were very upfront about reducing plastic waste. I appreciated that a lot. It's nice to know that they are environmentally conscious. The rooms were exceptionally beautiful and I appreciate the decor and atmosphere. You could also Airplay and stream music from Spotify or YouTube to the TV in the rooms. I would definitely come back again! Can't wait.

Reviewed December 24, 2019

See room deals

Dear Faisha, Thank you so much for your kind words and delighted to read you had a lovely experience. I am so pleased to read that the team made you feel so welcome. We are committed to doing our best for the environment, so we do what we can to reduce, reuse and recycle. Our hosts can provide a toothbrush on request. The design, led by renowned New York firm Studio Tack have blended cosmopolitan and cosy finishes with comfort. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warmest wishes Caroline General Manager

Responded December 25, 2019
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
Abdul from Malaysia
Couple
The Towkay Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2019

Great hotel for a staycation ”

Pros- Newly Built Hotel do everything is new and fresh. Their contemporary And chic styling with essence of historical design is top notch. Every part of the room and amenities is premium and high quality. Location is near to KL monorail (walking distance) and walkable to the shops at JALAN TUNKU ABDUL RAHMAN & Chow Kit. Amazing sound proofing in the room. Cons - Parking is limited and located outdoors. Inconvenient if it’s raining.

Reviewed December 23, 2019

See room deals

Dear Abdul Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at The Chow Kit. The design, led by renowned New York firm Studio Tack, takes cues from the familiarity of Malaysiana, blending cosmopolitan and cosy finishes with comfort. Agree location wise we are in walking distance of the monorail and LRT station Sultan Ismail. We looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warmest wishes Caroline General Manager

Responded December 24, 2019
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
8.4
Excellent
Chun from Malaysia
Couple
The King Den
Stayed 1 night in December 2019

Great value for money and excellent design”

We checked into the Chow Kit during its 1st month promotional period and were very happy with the thoughtfulness of the place - water dispensers with recyclable bottles greeted guests at every level, with extra towels available at the amenities cupboard. The quality of the fittings and fixtures were excellent and I must say the quality of the linen (including bedsheets and towels) were exceptional. The design of the entire place has a charming nostalgic charm to it yet timeless and modern. Probably could improve on the check in but understandable since this was during soft opening. There aren't much facilities but I guess the real charm is in exploring the Chow Kit neighbourhood and sample local food!

Reviewed December 31, 2019

See room deals

Dear Chun Thank you for your review of The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel following your stay in December. We are committed to doing our best for the environment, so we do what we can do to reduce, reuse and recycle. Our designers, Studio Tack have taken cues from the familiarity of Malaysiana and the modern worldliness of the city, blending cosmopolitan and cosy finishes with comfort. Thank you on the feedback on check in and we have been fine tuning our processes to improve on timings. On The Deck we have the yoga pavilion on the rooftop featuring weekly sessions on Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 7am. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Warmest wishes Caroline General Manager

Responded February 15, 2020
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
Glen from Malaysia
Couple
The Towkay-Soh Suite
Stayed 2 nights in July 2020

Brilliant weekender stay”

The property is looking to put Chow Kit back firmly on the map as a destination in its own right, much as Brickfields saw a resurgence a few years back. It is a luxurious boutique property with attention ot fine details, backed by a stellar staff that make every person feel like a VVIP with run of the house. Highly, highly recommended! Bonus: 1) the ish and chips may be the finest I have had in 7 years in Malaysia, and 2) sneak through the lobby back door into the MoMo taco bar for barbacoa and sangria in the evening after the hotel's own happy hour at The Kitchen.

Reviewed July 06, 2020

See room deals

Dear Glen, Thank you so much for your kind words. It is reviews like this that make all of our efforts here at The Chow Kit worthwhile. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and that the team have taken a good care of you. Rest assured your kind comments will be shared with the team. It is also great to hear that you took the opportunity to dine in our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Nur Izni Duty Manager

Responded July 09, 2020
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
8.4
Excellent
PARMVIR from Thailand
Couple
The Towkay Suite
Stayed 1 night in March 2020

24hrs in KL”

The Chow Kit is a lovely boutique hotel with the charm of NY style brownstone. It's well-apointed rooms and decor are a nice touch. The ground floor art decor style bar serves up great cocktails and a lovely breakfast menu. The bed linen is crisp and fresh, strong water pressure in the showers. I would be very happy to stay at the Chow Kit again and happily recommend.

Reviewed March 18, 2020

See room deals

Dear PARMVIR Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay at The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your trip to Kuala Lumpur and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warmest wishes Caroline General Manager

Responded March 18, 2020
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
Marija from Hong Kong SAR, China
Solo traveler
The Den
Stayed 2 nights in December 2019

Amazing Experience”

Definitely, I would suggest to everyone this beautiful small Hotel, designed till small details to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are nice,friendly staff, great restaurant and the perfect location. I need to give my compliments to the barman Michelle for the cocktails, hospitality and suggestions regarding the places in Kuala Lumpur. On my next trip to KL, I will definitely choose the same hotel. Thanks Marija :)

Reviewed January 03, 2020

See room deals

Dear Marija Thank you so much for your great reveiw of your recent stay at The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay from the design of the rooms, friendly staff, great restaurant and perfect location. I will definitely shared with Mitchell your compliments and I am so please he was able to show you great hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warmest wishes Caroline General Manager

Responded January 03, 2020
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
8.8
Excellent
CHING from Malaysia
Solo traveler
The Little Towkay Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2019

Best Staycation and Uber Masculine Decor”

It's been a while the last time we had a staycation in Kuala Lumpur. And we simply love the vibe of this new craftsmen hotel, paying homage to the area and to local craftsmen & designers too! Christmas' Eve dinner was not only delightful, but the 5-course meals blew our mind, taste and presentation + only RM 85++, Its a steal! If you like a less bustling city centre, this is the place. There is private parking ( for RM 15 ). We will be back real soon!

Reviewed December 29, 2019

See room deals

Dear Ching Thank you for taking the time to leave a glowing review of your recent stay with us at The Chow Kit - an Ormonf Hotel.We are deligthed to read that we were a perfect place for a 'staycation' and that you loved the vibe of the hotel. Our restaurant, The Chow Kit Kitchen & Bar are led by award-winning restaurateurs Christian Bauer and Eddie Chew of Troika Sky Dining. I will definitely share your reveiw with them. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next 'staycation'. Warmest wishes Caroline General Manager

Responded December 30, 2019
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
Ramir from Philippines
Business traveler
The Den
Stayed 1 night in December 2019

Explicitly awesome!”

Well trained staff that goes for an extra mile when it comes to service. Simply the best hotel to stay when in Kuala Lumpur. Excellent experience....highly recommended...and it’s worth every dollar spent.

Reviewed December 14, 2019

See room deals

Dear Ramir Thank you so much for your kind reveiw. We really pride ourselves on exceptional guest service and can only do this through our amazing staf!! We hope you enjoyed your trip to Kuala Lumpur and we look look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warmest wishes Caroline General Manager

Responded January 13, 2020
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
7.2
Very good
FAIRUZDIANA from Malaysia
Couple
The King Den
Stayed 2 nights in January 2020

Swanky new kid on the block!”

Swanky newly refurbished property in downtown Chow Kit. Nicely decorated common areas. No pool on this one. Room was clean, tasteful and comfortable. Would've appreciated more hanging hooks if anything. There's a self-help pantry corner on every floor should you need a water refill or an extra towel. Just make sure to properly check the room they give you upon checking in. I specifically booked the King's Den because of the window but was given a normal Den's room which faces the air-well. Front desk took awhile to respond to this and never offered an explanation aside from an apology. We headed out for a stroll and came back 3 hrs later and had to wait an additional 30 mins because they were not sure which room to give us. I blame the fact that they're fairly new (a month's old) so the staffs are probably still in training. Other than that, it was a pleasant stay!

Reviewed February 17, 2020

See room deals

Dear Fairuzdiana, Thank you for your review following your recent visit to The Chow Kit. I am delighted that you find the hotel is nicely decorated,clean and comfortable.The design, led by renowned New York firm Studio Tack blends the cosmopolitan with cosy finishes with comfort creating classy and elegant décor. We note from your review that there were aspects of your stay that were less than satisfactory, and we wish to offer our apologies. As for the King Den, there are different types of layout and views. We do appreciate the time and effort that you have taken to communicate this information to us.Once again, we are truly sorry that we fell short of your expectations on this occasion, and we do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future. Kind Regards, Nur Izni Duty Manager

Responded March 26, 2020
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
7.6
Very good
Chee from Malaysia
Solo traveler
The Den
Stayed 2 nights in September 2020

Good Hotel at Good Location”

Ormond is a brand new hotel in the up anc coming Chow Kit area. The design and interiors are great. Only issue is the shower screen could be better placed to avoid splashes to the floor outside the shower

Reviewed October 06, 2020

See room deals

Dear Chee, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you like the design and interior. We have also noted on your feedback on the shower area. We hope to welcome you back again, soon! Best regards, Rachel Low Hotel Manager

Responded October 09, 2020
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
7.6
Very good
Julian from Malaysia
Couple
The Towkay-Soh Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2020

Flatters to Deceive”

Its not a terrible hotel by any means, its fine, and the staff are , I must say, excellent. Yes, it is well designed and yes, it is trendy and looks cool and the staff are obviously well trained, but its the little things that let the hotel down. For a hotel in Asia it is absolutely unforgivable to not have a bidet pipe in any hotel. It was obviously a westerner (as am I) who designed it and didn't realise that having a bidet pipe is ESSENTIAL in Asia. That totally ruined my mood about the hotel and is probably the main reason for this not so flattering review. However, there were other reasons why this hotel falls down at the final hurdle, so to speak. I stayed in what is supposedly the best room in the house the Towkay Soh Suite, and in no particular order here are my gripes: * There was no coffee making facilities * The wardrobe / deck piece of furniture seemed like an afterthought and was fairly impractical to use *The art in the room was drab to say the least (I am being complimentary here!!) Though I do accept this is subjective, it did not enhance the feel of the room IMHO *There is no room for your own toiletries in the bathroom *The shower head was nice to look at but useless as has been dropped so many times that it sprayed water in every direction bar the one it was meant to be spraying in * No provided toiletries that even cheap 3 star hotels can manage to provide. * There was no glasses in the room at all * Whilst I applaud not using plastic bottles for water, why not provide glass reusable bottles to fill up your water in the lift area? Giving me two plastic water bottles for my two night trip which were not sealed as far as I could see made me wonder how many times these particular bottles were used before - Glass I could deal with, bog standard plastic bottles, less so. *Charging me RM30 for 2 nights parking is a steep compared to other major hotels in KL that charge either nothing or a very small fee and leaves a slightly bitter taste after

Reviewed December 07, 2020

See room deals

Dear Julian, First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.At The Chow Kit we rethink the notion of luxury for the contemporary traveller editing out what is unnecessary.The design and concept of this hotel take cues from the familiarity of Malaysia and the modern worldliness of the city, blending cosmopolitan and cosy finishes with comfort hence bringing the energy back frozen in time to the old heart of Kuala Lumpur and also what it feels to be in a luxury hotel room back in those days.As for the plastic water bottles.It is not our common practice to reuse the bottles for other guests.New bottles are usually prepared by filling it with filtered water,sealed tight before placing it into the rooms.Since parking is outsourced it is actually chargeable at an hourly rate,however we have flattened the rate to RM15 per day at multiple entries for all beloved our in-house guests.Once again thank you for staying at Ormond The Chow Kit. Warm wishes, Nur I

Show more
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
KOK from Singapore
Group
The Towkay Suite
Stayed 3 nights in January 2020

Cleaning, valuable and friendly staff”

Pros:- Dedicated and friendly employees. The hotel was very clean and the janitor cleans it daily. Not a speck of dust along the corridor. Bed, towel and pillows were good high quality. There was a water dispenser located at the elevator that encourages recycling by using own water bottle or use the bottle that the hotel provided to fill up water before every trip. Breakfast was awesome as it was prepared with passion unlike those typical hotel buffet as the hotel breakfast is ala carte style. Easily accessible to F&B eateries. Cons:- Location although near to Medan Tuanku LRT station but not driving friendly. As it was located after an entrance of a highway, grab or taxi need to make a u-turn before they are able to come by the hotel which might cause the waiting time longer than expected. Not much entertainment on the TV as there are selected few channels only. In conclusion, this hotel is worth every penny and highly recommended. Will book it again. :)

Reviewed January 10, 2020

See room deals

Dear KOK Thank you for the wonderful review following your recent stay at The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel. I'm so delighted that staff were dedicated and friendly. We are committed to doing our best for the environment, so we do what we can to reduce reuse, and recycle. Our water fountains are located on each floor. We care about food waste, so we provide an a la carte breakfast - which is a great start to the day. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Warmest wishes Caroline General Manager

Responded January 11, 2020
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
7.6
Very good
Siddiq from Malaysia
Couple
The Den
Stayed 1 night in August 2020

not so atas in Chow Kit”

Rooms are pricey for the size but nicely furnished. Limited pay to park next to the hotel. Cheaper if you don’t mind walking a bit and leaving your car a little further away. Why would anyone stay here? The hotel could make for a good base if you’re exploring KL on foot with monorail and LRT stations nearby, but don’t walk the area too late at night, Chow Kit at night can get a little inner-city hard, even for the most street-smart.

Reviewed September 08, 2020

See room deals

Dear Siddiq, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review of your recent stay with us at The Chow Kit-an Ormond hotel. I agree with you that we are conveniently located within walking distance of the LRT and monorail stations. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chow Kit in the not too distant future. Best Regards, Nur Izni Duty Manager

Responded September 30, 2020
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
HUI from Singapore
Couple
The Den
Stayed 2 nights in December 2019

Absolutely mad love to this hotel!!!”

Super love the atmosphere and the oriental design of the hotel. the hotel put effort into the consistent design of the hotel from the doorknob, basin, shower head, even toilet holder. when i first entered the room, the tv on screen even personalized a welcome message to me and allowed phone screen mirroring which make the staying experience very homely. It is very clean, probably it is newly built. very supportive of the hotel being environmentally friendly that they re-used the mineral water bottle. only downside is staff being non attentive enough. upon check in, the staff take awhile to attend. during the stay, have called twice to requested for luggage rack but still not delivered and no call was returned to inform of rack availability status. walking distance to LRT and nearby have several famous food options like nasi kandar and chili ban mee! quite near to klcc and tower. Overall, will not hesitate to stay with this hotel the next time i visit kl!

Reviewed December 31, 2019

See room deals

Dear Hui Thank you for your review following your recent visit to The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel. Our Brooklyn-based designers Studio Tack have created a meaningful design without fuss, allowing for every experience to be delivered with purpose and simple elegance, leaving a lasting impression. We are sorry to learn from your feedback that the staff were not attentive and did not follow through with your request. Please accept our apologies. Your feedback has been shared with the team so that improvements can made and we deliver great service. We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to KL. Kind wishes Caroline General Manager

Responded December 31, 2019
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
INTAN from Malaysia
Solo traveler
The Den
Stayed 1 night in August 2020

Falling in LOVE with this hotel!!”

I LOVE every details about the hotel! the room even it is small but the detailing is above my expectation! The super comfy bed and pillow.. I LOVE everything about the hotel. The day shift staff is so friendly and nice! they are pretty too! is worth the money. Is just that they do not have complimentary coffee and tea in the room but is not a big deal. Will come back for my monthly stay-cation!!! and the shampoo is so nice!!

Reviewed August 10, 2020

See room deals

Dear Intan, Thank you for taking the time to leave a glowing review of your recent stay with us at The Chow Kit. It is reviews like this that make all of our efforts here at The Chow Kit worthwhile. Rest assured your kind comments will be shared with the entire hotel team. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur. Kind regards, Nur Izni Duty Manager

Responded August 17, 2020
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
Trisha from Philippines
Couple
The Towkay Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2020

Beautiful hotel”

we had a nice pleasant stay. room is spacious and I like the design of the room. bed was comfortable. i love that they have a water refilling station in front of the elevator so you can reuse your water bottle. the bathroom is kinda dark though and there isn’t any sodas or juice in the fridge and no cotton pads, q tips or oral hygiene kit in the bathroom.

Reviewed January 17, 2020

See room deals

Dear Trisha Thank you for your review for your recent stay at The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel.I am delighted to read you enjoyed your room and found the bed to comfortable. We are committed to doing our best for the environment, so we do what we can to reduce, reuse and recycle. If you have forgotten something, please let our hosts know and we are happy to help. We hope to see you back at The Chow Kit soon. Warmest wishes Caroline General Manager

Responded January 18, 2020
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
AMIRAH from Singapore
Couple
The Towkay Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2020

Extremely satisfied ”

I love every corner of the hotel’s interior and decoration. The breakfast served was really good. Would definitely come back again if im in Kuala Lumpur

Reviewed January 17, 2020

See room deals

Dear Amirah Thank you for the fabulous reveiw. I'm delighted you loved every corner of the hotel and really enjoyed breakfast. I will definitely let the kitchen know. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Kuala Lumpur. Warmest wishes Caroline General Manager

Responded January 18, 2020
The Chow Kit - an Ormond Hotel
12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss

null