Hotel Reviews of The Cityview Hotel Hong Kong Hong Kong - Page 1
Book Now: The Cityview Hotel

Excellent
From 8238 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
Recommended by 95% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (8238)Booking.com Reviews (2170)
8.0
Excellent
From 8238 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.1
Facilities7.7
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service8.0
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
ภาษาไทย
繁體中文 (台灣)
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Family (1 Double Bed + 2 Single Beds)
Economy
Deluxe
Deluxe Suite
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 6531 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Yuen from Singapore
Solo traveler
Premier
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
A good place to stay minus a minor issue”
I have always stayed in this hotel whenever i come to Hong Kong as it is easily accessible to mtr, eateries but this trip i do have a minor issue to feedback. I stayed in the premier room on the 19th floor which was great but the TV has a minor issue which is always having "No signal" when i turn it on and have to wait for 20 minutes to turn off and on in order to have the signal back. The housekeeping and front desk did help me with this problem which i appreciate their kind assistance but i think this is a technical issue which need to be resolve by the professionals. Overall it is a great place to stay and i will be still be back to this hotel.
Reviewed June 11, 2018
Dear Yuen, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are appreciate your nice compliments and we also raised your comment with the team for further improvement. Once again, thank you for your support and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Responded June 11, 2018
The Cityview Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
Shei from Singapore
Family with young children
Premier
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Exceptional”
This is the 2nd time we stayed at this hotel. We like it as it is convenient to take MTR which is just cross the street. And there's convenience stores as well as their local eateries. To and fro airport is easy as well. Twice, we have chosen the shuttle service to commute to the airport. The only problem is the toilet door is a sliding door, not the usual kind, so my boy who is only 3 years old tends to play with it. It will be good to have the usual kind of door instead. Will definitely stay back at this hotel.
Reviewed June 11, 2018
Dear Shei, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenience location and surrounding and also, easily to access everywhere from our location. We also noted your comment on the sliding door, we will certainly review with the management for further improvement. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Show more
The Cityview Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
Li from Singapore
Group
Economy
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
Exceptional”
2 minutes walk to Yau Ma Tei MTR. Lots of food choices nearby. Can hear some noise from the nearby construction though.
Reviewed June 11, 2018
7.6
Very good
Yock from Singapore
Couple
Economy
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Best location ”
Good for visitors to HK for the first Time Easy to move around HK
Reviewed June 08, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Lai from Malaysia
Family with young children
Premier
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018
My 3rd Stay”
This is my 3rd stay. The only hotel that I will stay when travel to HK due to it's location and price.
Reviewed June 07, 2018
Dear Lai, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your nice compliments on our location and value for money. And also glad that you were the 3rd times stayed with us. Your positive comment as a reward to us to continue to provide the best to our guest like you. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again on your 4th visit and onward.
Responded June 07, 2018
The Cityview Hotel
7.2
Very good
LIM from Singapore
Solo traveler
Premier
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Excellent location ”
Pros - close proximity to Yau Ma Tei MTR, popular San Kee porridge stall, Four Seasons Claypot Rice, Mido Cafe; hotel provide smart phone for Premier Room traveller with free data Cons - hotel is dated
Reviewed June 06, 2018
Dear Lim, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and in-room facilities. We really thankful for your positive comment. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Responded June 07, 2018
The Cityview Hotel
8.0
Excellent
Hoo from Singapore
Couple
Premier
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
Very good”
Stayed in premier room. Adequate size. Lack of drawers, and clothe hangers. Very near to Subway train stations.
Reviewed June 06, 2018
7.2
Very good
Jenn from Singapore
Family with young children
Premier
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Stay in Premium room only”
Rooms in Premium wings is fabulous. Location is great. Minutes to MTR. Famous congee restaurant is just opp hotel. 2 supermarket nearby. Will stay again.
Reviewed June 05, 2018
Dear Jenn, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the stayed with us during your recent visit. And enjoyed the room type and convenience location. Once again, thank you for your support and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Responded June 06, 2018
The Cityview Hotel
5.6
Tang from Singapore
Group
Economy
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Breakfast was not worth it!! ”
2ways transporation to n fro Airport - bus A21 best option. Rooms very small ; pilliows too soft
Reviewed June 04, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Mei from Singapore
Family with teens
Premier
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Great location. Free usage of handy phone is really useful. ”
The pillow is too soft. The bed is not that comfy.
Reviewed June 01, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Wing from Malaysia
Business traveler
Economy
Stayed 5 nights in May 2018
Convenient to MRT”
Have compare other hotel still prefer staying CityView- many restaurants around
Reviewed May 31, 2018
Dear Wing, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your support and positive feedback. Once again, thank you for your valuable words and as a reward to us. We all look forward to extend our warmest welcome to you on your next return.
Responded May 31, 2018
The Cityview Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
Siok from Singapore
Couple
Economy
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
Great location, close to everything ”
Pros-Locatiion great. A21 from airport drops u 5mins walk away from hotel. Mtr nearby. Hotel also has free shuttle bus to and fro airport express station. Close to all the shopping night markets, famous restaurants etc. Room size ok for couple with2 luggage. Cons- perhaps only the low ceiling of room and the not so black out curtains.
Reviewed May 30, 2018
Dear Siok, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our service, facilities, surrounding area and room size. Besides, we also noted your comment of the ceiling and curtains, we will certainly review with the team for further improvement. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Show more
The Cityview Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
May from Singapore
Group
Premier
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
Exceptional”
Stayed in the premier room and the room is really well maintained, clean and nice. very spacious, has ample of space to place my stuff. i also particularly like the swing chair! location wise, really convenient. very near to yau ma tei station, and there's 7-11 and circle K located just less than 1 min walk away. it's also possible to walk to mongkok from the hotel, lots of shops along the way. will definitely stay here again for my next visit to hong kong!
Reviewed May 29, 2018
Dear May, Thank you for taking the time to share your comprehensive experience with us. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay and easily to access everywhere and shopping. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Responded May 30, 2018
The Cityview Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
Kew from Malaysia
Group
Economy
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Staff is friendly, Room is Clean, Location is good”
The staffs are all friendly and nice. Room is clean although its small. The location is very near to Yau Ma Tei MTR station and its walking distance to Ladies' Market and shopping malls. Convenience stores are just outside the hotel.
Reviewed May 29, 2018
Dear Kew, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our service, cleanness and surrounding area. We appreciate your nice words. We all look forward to welcoming you again and provide you another memorable stay.
Responded May 29, 2018
The Cityview Hotel
7.2
Very good
Zhi from Singapore
Couple
Economy
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018
Excellent location, Stay at the new wing!”
Excellent location, we stayed at the old wing that was slightly smaller and older. Book the new wing if possible.
Reviewed May 28, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Kam from Singapore
Family with young children
Premier Double Double
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Great location and size for family ”
Good room size for 2 adults and 2 young children at Premier double double room. Location is great as its near Yau Ma Tei MTR station Cafe just opposite (across the road) the hotel has nice food and friendly staff (rare in HK)
Reviewed May 28, 2018
Dear Kam, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your nice compliments on our location, service and room size was suitable to you and your family. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.
Responded May 29, 2018
The Cityview Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
Connie from Singapore
Family with teens
Economy
Stayed 6 nights in November 2017
Exceptional”
We enjoyed the stay the staffs were helpful, room is clean, nice & cheap eating place plus location near Subway station .
Reviewed May 26, 2018
Dear Connie, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our service, cleanness, location and surround area. Once again, thank you for your valuable review. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again and provide you another pleasant stay in the near future.
Responded May 28, 2018
The Cityview Hotel
8.4
Excellent
Sze from Malaysia
Couple
Premier
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Value for money”
Few steps away from MTR station, food stalls just around the corner and walking distance to ladies market. Overall the stay experience was good, we stayed in a newly renovated comfy room with a city view . Free use of smartphone with unlimited data which we can bring it along while exploring Hong Kong!
Reviewed May 25, 2018
Dear Sze, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our location, room type and in-room facilities. We also happy to read that you took advantage from our distance and easily to explore our neighborhood and access everywhere in Hong Kong easily. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Show more
The Cityview Hotel
8.4
Excellent
Amy from Singapore
Group
Economy
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Good location n services. Staff friendly ”
Good location near yau Ma Tei mrt n night market. Staff are friendly n service are good. I very lucky hotel upgrade me to premium room. The room are big n clean.
Reviewed May 25, 2018
Dear Amy, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our service, room type, cleanness and location. It is always our pleasure to receive feedback from our valuable guest as it motivates us to continue to improve our service standards. Once again, thank you for your nice words and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Show more
The Cityview Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
Veronica from Singapore
Family with young children
Premier Double Double
Stayed 5 nights in May 2018
Yet another Satisfied Stay”
This hotel has always been my first choice whenever I travel to hongkong, at least once a year for the past few years. The stay this time round was a lot better as we booked a twin double bed room considering our daughter is already close to 5yrs old. Room was spacious, so was the toilet with a bathtub. 1 of the days, my daughter accidentally broke the glass in the bathtub, we ring up Front Desk and a room service lady came over our room within 5mins to clean up the mess. She cleaned the bathtub at least 3x and even use soap to wash the tub thoroughly to prevent any overlooked pieces of broken glasses. Subsequently, she used few pieces of tissues and wipe the entire floor of toilet in case there was glasses too. Following that, she even vacuum the toilet again as a final prevention. My daughter try apologizing to her for causing the mess yet she was so accommodating and accepting to say its ok, no worries. There was not a single sense of unhappiness or anger from her.
Reviewed May 24, 2018
Dear Veronica, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you always stay with us whenever you are in Hong Kong. We are happy to read that you and your family had enjoyable stay and enjoyed our Housekeeping service. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we should share with our colleague as an award to them. We all look forward to extend our warmest welcome to you on your next return.
Show more
The Cityview Hotel
8.4
Excellent
LYNETTE from Singapore
Group
Economy
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Gd location, value for money ”
If u chose the economy room, it has all the basic amenities. Sound proofing is had though as u can hear what people are talking about along the hallways from the room. But For the cost it's worth it. The gym is a shared gym with YMCA which looks newly renovated. Has quite many machines and the machines are well maintained
Reviewed May 24, 2018
Dear Lynette, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our sincerely apologize to cause any noise disturbance to you during your recent visit. We hope, despite this point, you had an enjoyable stay with us. Once again, thank you for your constructive comment and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Responded May 24, 2018
The Cityview Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
TAN from Singapore
Business traveler
Economy
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Good”
Good
Reviewed May 22, 2018
8.4
Excellent
LEE from Malaysia
Couple
Economy
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
This hotel always my first choice when I’m travel to Hong Kong ”
Convenient location ,can reach by airport shuttle from Kowloon station to the hotel . Very close to Mongkok, min walking to mrt station
Reviewed May 21, 2018
Dear Lee, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, facilities and surrounding area. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again and provide you another memorable stay in the near future.
Responded May 23, 2018
The Cityview Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
CHONG from Singapore
Solo traveler
Economy
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Very convenient n good location ”
All staff are very friendly n helpful when we really need assistance from them. They are providing extra mile service to the customer.
Reviewed May 20, 2018
7.6
Very good
Regina from Singapore
Group
Economy
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
good location”
near to mtr. easily accessible to many food and mtr. portable wifi is provided by hotel. except no moisturiser
Reviewed May 16, 2018
6.4
Good
yin from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Economy
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Grt location ”
Pretty small room, and shower facilities, bed was a bit hard. Best location.
Reviewed May 16, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Serene from Singapore
Family with young children
Family (1 Double Bed + 2 Single Beds)
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
Convenient and value for money ”
Good if you like to travel around Mong Kok area. Staffs are quite friendly. Comes with handy that saves us the wifi cost
Reviewed May 15, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Shih from Singapore
Group
Economy
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Very good”
1-2mins walk to mrt. clean and proper. upgraded to a premium room.
Reviewed May 14, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Wailee from Australia
Couple
Economy
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Nice hotel”
We stayed in this hotel 21 days .very nice hotel friendly staff location very good.airport shuttle bus just outside the hotel it is free .Subway MRT also next to the hotel .shops and restaurants near by.
Reviewed May 14, 2018
8.4
Excellent
shu from Malaysia
Couple
Economy
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Can think of a better location with this convenience ”
Near MRT station and stone throw from Nathan road . Bus A21 to and from Airport stops in Nathan road less than 300m from hotel , lots of local eateries nearby and within walking distance to the famous open air street markets
Reviewed May 12, 2018
8.4
Excellent
SHUYUN from Singapore
Group
Economy
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
Ideal for short trip with couple of Friend. ”
Good location, 5 mins to MTR, with 7-11 nearby, and a street with busy crowd, shops closes at near 2300. Nearby have 24 hours MacDonalds , Hai Di Lao, and many more. 👍 will stay here again, if get promo codes to book for trips in hkg! ^^
Reviewed May 09, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Don from Philippines
Family with young children
Premier
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Vacatioin with Relatives”
Very strategic location, very near a night market and food areas. The free phone/4g mobile data unlimited is very convenient. The room is also quite ok. No qualms on this hotel.
Reviewed May 08, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jochebed from Singapore
Family with young children
Economy
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Just beside the MTR”
Clean, staff are friendly, love this place!! Gonna be back here for all of my HK trips!
Reviewed May 07, 2018
7.2
Very good
Swee from Singapore
Couple
Economy
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Good location ”
Convenient and easy access with mtr at doorstep. Hotel is clean and room well kept by housekeeping.
Reviewed May 06, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Antonio from Italy
Group
Premier
Stayed 8 nights in April 2018
Great location ”
2nd time we have stayed at The Cityview as in a great loction at an ok price. The Premier rooms are a good size for Hong Kong with a nice comfy chair and footstool. My family stayed in a 2 bedroom suite in the older wing that had a lounge room which was perfect for a couple and either child or in this case my mother. Breakfast has a good variety. Just a short walk and you have MTR, local restaurants, Circle K for supplies, Nathan Rd and Temple St Night market. Woukd stay again
Reviewed May 06, 2018
7.6
Very good
KA from Hong Kong
Couple
Economy
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
good location”
close to mar station and hospital
Reviewed May 06, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Jian from Singapore
Couple
Economy
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Convenient location and fuss free stay”
Location is convenient near Yaumatei station. Check in/check out process was simple and fuss free. Minor issue were dealt with in a prompt and courteous manner. This is definitely one of my first option for stay in Hong Kong
Reviewed May 05, 2018
6.8
Good
Benedictus from Singapore
Family with teens
Economy
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Room cleanliness is superb but the pillows too soft and thin.”
Good location. Counter staffs no greeting, no smile and no welcome. The hotel management must take note if the staffs (those that really work) are too tired, too busy or too stress?
Reviewed May 01, 2018
7.6
Very good
dario from Italy
Couple
Economy
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Best place where to stay to roam around the whole HK”
I choose this hotel because of a good deal with Agoda (then Agoda screwed it up, but this is another story) and because I've seen it was in one of the best positions for my needs. All my requests to the hotel were granted and even we arrived so much more before the check in time, they assured us the room would have been ready right after lunch and we were able to move in around midday 30. The room is very nice. Kinda big compared to others in HK. The view of the city is nothing special, but that's not hotel's fault. The bed is very comfortable and the room has anything you need (coffee, tea, 2 bottles of water everyday and the bathroom needs). Most appreciated things is the "handy". The hotel provides you a smartphone that you can use for free to make phone calls in most of the Asian countries and (round of drums) you can use as hotspot wifi while you roam around Hong Kong. That was honestly the best surprise ever!
Reviewed April 29, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Pauline from Singapore
Couple
Economy
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Ideally Located Hotel but rooms are very small”
Everything is ok with this hotel except that the rooms are too small & cramp. Location is amazing with MTR round the corner.
Reviewed April 29, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Stella from Singapore
Family with young children
Premier
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Spacious and clean room”
We booked the premier room which was recently refurnished. The size of the room is considered decent considering the sizes of hotel rooms in Hong Kong. Location of hotel is fantastic, with plenty of good food just around the hotel. MTR is just at the door step and Ladies Market 5 minutes walk away. I have been staying in this hotel every time I visit Hong Kong and have to say I strongly recommend this hotel.
Reviewed April 28, 2018
6.0
Hui from Singapore
Business traveler
Economy
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Disappointing Service”
Hotel staff does not seem really trained to manage check in and check out properly even with many people in queue staff at counter does not handle customers on top priority but continue to stand at the counter nonchalantly doing administrative paperwork. Nice hotel but seriously let down by staff who is concerned just about doing their job minimally at their own pace..?
Reviewed April 27, 2018
8.8
Excellent
BOON from Malaysia
Family with young children
Premier
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Great Stay Great Location”
This is our fifth time staying here. Room size is just nice, not too small, toilet with bathtub and hairdryer, new renovated room with soft lighting. The lift is fast. Con side is the pillow a bit too thin, need 2 pillow for sleeping. Location is superb. Staff is polite, very near to MTR, and surrounded by good food. Last but not least, the congee restaurant(Sang Kee) in front of the hotel is famous.
Reviewed April 27, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Ong from Malaysia
Couple
Economy
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
NewVs Old”
Good Location, New wing is much more better compare to old wing. better view, bigger room.
Reviewed April 27, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Andrea from New Zealand
Business traveler
Premier
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Functional but a great location”
The City View hotel is a very busy hotel and the customer service does get lost with that business but overall a comfortable hotel in a fantastic location.
Reviewed April 27, 2018
7.2
Very good
Ye from Singapore
Group
Economy
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Room review”
Location of the hotel is very near to Ya Mau Tei MTR station A2 exit/entrance. Room is consider big Toilet flush system is not good despite we request to change room Aircon is quite noisy
Reviewed April 26, 2018
6.4
Good
Wai from Hong Kong
Couple
Economy
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Good”
Location is good but the room and the equipment are old. It doesn’t feel clean as a moth flew out when I open the closet. Also we were probably bitten by unknown insect because after the night there were itchy and red spots all over our legs. TV was old and with poor quality. Overall a bad experience and we do not understand why this is a 4-star hotel. Won’t stay here anymore.
Reviewed April 25, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Helen from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Helen”
Love to stay at this hotel when I come to Hong Kong because of the good location
Reviewed April 25, 2018
7.2
Very good
LIM from Singapore
Group
Economy
Stayed 5 nights in April 2018
Very good”
Walking distance to YMT MTR. Beautiful hotel lobby. Toilet was small and basin was as small as aeroplane one. Bed was in low quality because you could feel and hear bed springs.
Reviewed April 25, 2018
7.2
Very good
LIM from Singapore
Group
Economy
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Very good”
In our booking we have requested fir the new building block but was given the old tower block which was disappointed during our 4 days stay.
Reviewed April 25, 2018