Book Now: The Dhara Dhevi Hotel Chiang Mai

Exceptional
From 350 reviewsSee what guests said
9.0
/
10
Recommended by 88% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (350)Booking.com Reviews (66)
9.0
/
10
Exceptional
From 350 reviews
Cleanliness9.3
Facilities9.3
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality9.4
Service9.4
Value for money8.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (350)
All room types
Showing 279 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
XIN from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018
It's a palace, not a resort”
The entire layout and design is just as what you're seeing on the photo. However if it's as a resort, the facility and activity is too limited. I don't recommend it to young couple or group. Btw, the bedroom is on the 2nd floor, thus if you're not convenient to walk or climb, it may be a problem for you. The breakfast is a bit over rated, it's only 4-star level.
Reviewed October 01, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Genesis from United States
Family with teens
Grand Deluxe Villa with Plunge Pool
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Sooooo beautiful and peaceful ”
Stunning property. The Villa was very spacious with a huge balcony and backyard. We had a plunge pool (Jacuzzi) with an amazing view. Staff were extremely friendly. They take you around the hotel in a golf cart at your request. Restaurants at the hotel were impressive (we tried the Thai restaurant and the cake shop). I wish we could stay longer. There was a lot to do at the hotel we didn't even leave the whole time. I would love to stay at Dhara Dhevi again!
Reviewed September 20, 2018
8.0
Excellent
jacquiline from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Expensive Hotel but relaxing with style”
This is the hotel that i look forward to in our stays in Chiang Mai. We tried overnight stay just to experience what Dhara Dhevi can offer. We tried airport pick up via Mercedez. Welcome drink was offered and the hotel staff expalined well the details of our stays including activity for today and tomorrow that we might be interested to join. I liked our bed, pillows and comforter - so soft. I liked the bath tubs with jaccuzzi and colorful lights inside our bathroom. We tried their Italian restaurant for pizza cooked in a unique revolving oven and we ordered pesto pasta. We tried their Thai restaurant and we liked the way the steam fish was prepared and its serving hot plate. For our dessert, we tried their French restaurant - Parang Ses for chocolate souffle and mango crepes prepared in front of you with matching fire in the finale. Breakfast buffet was fantastic. Great choices and healthy food were prepared. Overall stay was EXCELLENT - i liked it very much. No need to go out of the resort - for food that is delectably prepared by their expert chef.
Reviewed January 10, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Sonali from India
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Fantastic Resort for kids”
My daughter and I had an awesome vacation at Dhara Devi. The resort is rich in architecture and leaves you with a lasting impression. Buggy services are fast and convenient. The Thai restaurant was a disappointment. They serve Thai iced milk tea as one would serve english style tea and the food was very westernized catering to the international guests. But the restaurant staff had requested us to come for dinner as they have a nice Thai dance performance. We couldn't attend that one as my daughter goes to bed at 8 pm ( the dance timing). In room dining was fantastic as well. Loved the special flavored macaroons and eclairs at Dhara Devi Cake shop. The staff are kind and very helpful. Kids will love the little passport challenge where they explore for the little challenges and earn themselves a free ice-cream treat on completion. The breakfast buffet was lavish almost a feast with a wide range - american, chinese, dimsum, japanese, Mediterranean, lovely cheese and hams. Yum! They had one of the most wonderful corner with fresh fruit juice, smoothies and fresh fruit. In short, Dhara Devi was my right choice. Go for it. I would definitely go there again.
Reviewed July 04, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Damian from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
superb”
beyond expectations, great location, staff excellent
This resort is superb. After the Phulay Bay anything would be difficult to compete but this Hotel is amazing. Top notch. No deferred maintenance. Everything works perfectly. Beautiful location. Great food. Breakfast is fantastic. Smaller pool is gorgeous. Colonial suite has 2 bathrooms, 2 TVs, giant closet, big shower, 7' x 4' bathtub. Great value for my money.
Reviewed March 24, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Chuan from China
Family with teens
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Good hardware but lack maintenence”
Beautiful scenery, Tasty food, Friendly staff
We got upgraded to a grand deluxe villa (V6) and the mini-bar items are all free. This is nice. We absolutely love the environment of the hotel, the buildings are so beautiful, there are a lot of green in the open space, there is even rice fields in the hotel with real farmers and buffalo. There are little ponies on the meadow in front of the colonial suites as well. Riding a bicycle around is very enjoyable. Most staff members are very friendly and nice, will greet you or smile to you when meet you on the road. The swimming pool will offer cold water and fruit upon guest arrival. You can call for buggies around the hotel if you don't like to walk. Butler service is helpful. etc. Regarding the in-room facility...Very nice but might lack maintenance. We love the following: 1. Room is so spacious, with drinking water everywhere and free mini-bar items 2. Big balcony offer fantastic view of the rice fields 3. Most in-room facility looks very fancy and artistical 4. Bed and pillow are very comfortable 5. There is even a piano in the room We also had the following problems: 1. Downstairs TV can be turned on but the remote is not working, so cannot change channel. 2. Upstairs TV cannot be turned on at all. I know how to turn on the downstair one so I should be able to turn this on. 3. Steam room, shower will not give out hot water. (the upstair one is okay though) 4. Water come out of Jacuzzi is not hot enough for a soak inside. 5. The plastic screws inside the Jacuzzi might not be securely installed so the screw head will easily scrub user's back skin. So the conclusion will be, it's still one of the best hotels in Chiang Mai, but the facility lacks maintenance. All in room facilities should be tested before letting a guest come inside considering the price the hotel is charging.
Reviewed September 10, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Palit from Thailand
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
One of the best hotel in Thailand”
Service + the design + foods
I have to say that this hotel is amazing with all the design and all the ideas behind it. It really take you to another space of time like going back to the old time of Thailand. The room was excellent with big space and has everything that needed. The hotel staff were top class with great service mind. The food was so great, especially the Sunday buffet brunch. Also has good kids club for those who travelling with children.
Reviewed March 06, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Akara from Thailand
Group
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Aging, but perfect for a quiet, secluded getaway.”
Ambience - this place is in a class of its own; excellent service from staff; sheer architectural beauty.
Ran into some minor issue like door lock and a Jacuzzi part that fell off probably because the hotel is over 8 years old and starting to show its age (but staff were quick and courteous in fixing anything that went wrong). There were also some ants at the sink, so some spraying might be needed. But other than those minor issues, this place was very impressive. The hotel's amazing architecture and ambience put this place is truly in a class of its own compared to other hotel in Chiang Mai. The villa was very spacious and well-appointed. It's an ideal place to just getaway in luxury and style for a few days if you have the time.
Reviewed March 01, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Phongthep from Thailand
Group
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Perfect in all respects”
Facility,food and staff
This is the best resort I have ever stayed. It is much much better than my expectations. Resort grounds, lobby, suite (got upgraded), swimming pool, restaurants, and above all, staff. I could have early check-in as early as 9am and late check-out as late as 4pm. Impeccable services. Could not fault anything. Will definitely return.
Reviewed February 13, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Kanokporn from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Lanna style decoration with friendly staffs”
Large area/cycling around/peaceful
I saw many reviews/photos from blog. I decide to book just the standard room - Colonial Suite. The room is bigger than what I expected especially the bathroom. The bathtub is very big. There is quite big rice field inside the hotel. Customer can borrow the bicycle and bike around.
Reviewed January 17, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Dalila from Portugal
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in September 2010
The beauty in Chiang Mai”
The tranquility and beauty of the hotel and the location
Some staff, thai restaurant
My stay was a pleasant surprise. It is a special place to rest, to relax and to regain the strenght for the hectic life we live nowadays. The pools are marvelous, you forgot that you are in the middle of the city. The staff was good in general. The rooms are very well equiped and supplied with aminities. The scent of peace gets into your soul once you get there...amazingly impressive
Reviewed September 30, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Patricia from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2009
A true Lanna experience in this resort”
1. Love the huge spacious, wonderful for family with young children 2. Love the nature and architecture of this wonderful resort 3. A chance to understand the Lanna culture through their cultural tour at the resort
1. Transportation to the hotel/airport was charged more than 1000 baht, which is too expensive 2. Breakfast at 1000++ baht was a little expensive
This is one of the best hotels/resorts among many that we have stayed. We truly like the architecture of this resort (a combination of Burma and Lanna), the huge space that made you feel that you're in a wonder land and you do not need to be out of the resort. We also adore the professionalism of this resort. Everyone here is so polite and offer their assistance whenever you need. We stayed 3 days here but it was not enough, our children love their kids' club, like the chance to get themselves dirty during the rice plantation, had fun during the treasure hunt with the baby elephant and many other activities they had put together. Best of all, Santa visited them (surprise!!!) right before they went to bed...
Reviewed January 05, 2010
2.8
neny from Singapore
Group
Vegetable Garden Villa
Stayed 1 night in November 2018
Resort need a thorough update and maintenance”
Despite the grand outlook of the resort, it was not well maintained and the resort is badly infested by insects and mosquitos. Not only that, alot of areas within the resort such as the floorings are damaged due to wear and tear, but it was not fixed and it is very dangerous especially for children and elderly. The whole resort needs an update and thorough maintenance. Staff are not as friendly and some are quite arrogant when we make some enquiries. Restaurant in the resort are overpriced and food is mediocre for that price. However, we enjoyed ourselves the most at the spa department and all staff there are very friendly and patience.
Reviewed December 02, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Yogesh from United States
Family with young children
Grand Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018
Dhara Dhevi”
The resort is heritage style that looks like an old temple with olden day architecture. It certainly is amazing. Listed as one of AMEX's Fine Hotels and Resorts which is why I booked it and the price was lower going through Agoda. The staff is very friendly, typical of a 5 Star Resort. We had to pay extra for a roll away since we had a 4th person in the family (price was $110 USD which included the buffet. ) Buffet was very nice although I wish they had more international selection such as Indian food or other ethnic food versus Thai/Chinese/US. Location is decent. About 15mins by taxi or Grab Ride Share to Night Market, which is where we spent a lot of time. 45minutes from various attractions such as Elephant Sanctuary, Doi Suthep Temple among other places. We didn't try the food at resort restaurants as they were over priced, or priced according to 5 Star resort prices. I would recommend staying closer to the Night Market area to be close to the action is.
Reviewed July 26, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Brigitta from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Vegetable Garden Villa
Stayed 6 nights in February 2018
Out of this world serenity”
Absolutely stunning resort style property, luxurious and generously sized villas, fantastic service, more than delicious breakfast, wonderful spa, gorgeous pools, beautiful and serene setting and so much more. We absolutely loved it and didn’t want to leave.
Reviewed February 15, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Irma from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018
A Wondrous Place”
This hotel is amazing, the facilities and architecture are simply breathtaking. The kids had a great experience planting rice, and the adults had a great experience at the spa. A trip to remember.
Reviewed October 24, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Philip from Thailand
Business traveler
Grand Deluxe Villa with Plunge Pool
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Exceptional”
Simply exceptional! Can’t wait for the full property to be ready
Reviewed June 20, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Sarawut from South Africa
Business traveler
Vegetable Garden Villa
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Perfect ”
Everything so great.
Reviewed June 10, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Steven from United States
Couple
Vegetable Garden Villa
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Palace”
Beautifully kept, vast grounds, lovely villas. We stayed 4 nights in a villa, a fifth night in a room. Chinese tourists loud with screaming unruly children, but hotel fabulous. Breakfast buffet pleasant and food excellent quality. Staff professional and attentive. Pools clean, although at pool, again Chinese tourists several times had screaming loud families and kids which made us retreat to our balcony room, then inside our room cause they were so loud.
Reviewed October 10, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Thanapong from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Superb sweet moment”
wonderful experience. worth every penny of it. The hotel is exquisite, and incomparable to anything i have stayed before. It's such a joyful and memorable moment to visit. This is my 2nd time here at Dhara Dhevi, and definitely will be back again.
Reviewed June 19, 2017
7.6
Very good
Hubert from France
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Mu=ythical hotel, but in the end average value for money ”
The hotel is a marvel of architecture, and the staff / butler is as good as they come in Thailand. BUT for this price the experience should be flawless, and it is very far from... they forgot to clean my room one day, the French restaurant is really average, cheese selection at breakfast stops at gouda and Australian brie (not French), 250% markup on outsourced elephant trip. I was happy to stay 4 nights, for the experience, but unlikely to return.
Reviewed January 04, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Debra from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
What an experience, fantastic hotel”
This is my first visit to the Dhara Dhevi, although I visit Chiang Mai often. I will certainly stay again. Everything about the hotel is first class, the staff were so helpful to me travelling in my own this time. The only comment I could make is that although I was very careful to keep the doors closed all the time the mosquitoes still managed to 'attack' me while sleeping at night. Maybe for this very difficult time of year the facility of a mosquito net over the bed would make life more comfortable. All in all, a fantastic retreat which I can highly recommend. I will certainly book again in the future.
Reviewed March 23, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
HUGO from United Kingdom
Couple
Vegetable Garden Villa
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
A truly incredible Hotel Experience.”
The service, the magical architecture / design and the breakfast :)
It was absolutely incredible. I love the hotel. My only worry is that since the Mandarin left, the property is focusing too much on returns and will loose the brand's integrity by increasing the amount of rooms, not taking care of the buildings and reducing the staff to guest ratio.
Reviewed January 23, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Qiong from China
Solo traveler
Vegetable Garden Villa
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Should add to one's must-stay Hotel”
Landscape, Food, Service
It was a perfect experience and would be my lifelong memory. We were well taken care of by the private butler. We rested & relaxed, exercised and ate, took thousands of pictures the stunning garden and architectures. It's a place that you can stay in for 3 days that never get bored.
Reviewed December 28, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Panpicha from Thailand
Family with teens
Grand Deluxe Villa with Plunge Pool
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
great for foriegn to absorb real Thai ancient styl”
the villa was great , the food was great, and the hotel provided good service
It was a great experience for me because this hotel provided a Thai Northern style which allowed me and mom experienced the real Thsi tradition, which is hard to find at the present quite interesting for us
Reviewed January 30, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Chonnikan from Thailand
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Magical getaway”
Spacious room, nice architecture, friendly staff
The hotel ground is really really beautiful or even magical. There are a lot of details put in this little man-made kingdom and you will not be bored taking photos even after a thousand of them. As for the room, I stayed in a deluxe colonial suite and it's very spacious, the bed room has extra space for a set of sofa which i totally think worth an upgrade from the standard colonial suite. But if you prefer a direct access to the pool, get a standard one which is on the ground floor. The hotel staff are helpful and friendly though the service and overall attitude is still far from 5 stars standard, or something I would call "beyond expectation". The rainshower in my room didn't work so I asked for a plumber and it took him an hour to arrive and probably another 2-3 hours to get it properly fixed. I had one dinner at Le Grande Lanna. The food does look really pretty. The taste, however, varies. Some dishes are really excellent but some I will not consider them nice authentic northern Thai food. The cocktail is pretty good and the price is reasonable especially when you compare it with room rate. :) The spa is definitely worth a visit. We had a really nice, relaxing Ayurvedic massage, a head massage and also a facial though we think our skin get irritated from the oil. We had a bit of rashes the day after that and we had no explanation for it so we think it might be because of the old. If you're into cocktails, don't forget to drop by Horn bar. The bartender is very creative and you won't need a menu to order your drink! Overall it's a great stay considered we booked it on a promotional rate. But if we have to spend 20k a night for the room we stay, we would choose other beach resorts for a holiday.
Reviewed October 04, 2014
6.7
Good
Narumon from Thailand
Group
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Best in Chiang mai but not best in Thailand”
nice hotel, wonderful scenery but so so service
I check in hotel on Thailand mother's day so hotel is quite busy. Hotel can't provide facilities for all quests,, I need to ask for bicycle two times until I check out I still didn't use it. According to hotel size, its really difficult for me to walk without bicycle. Other services are so so for me because I expect more than I got. The highlight of hotel is size and scenery,, this is so wonderful,, I love it. Anyway, Its good hotel but not the best for me.
Reviewed August 13, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Suthat from Thailand
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Wow...”
Designs, Architecture, Beautiful hotel
It must be one of the most beautiful hotel and luxurious hotel I have ever been to. The hotel grounds, buildings, trees, interior and all are just amazing. The room is just superb. The bathroom is as big if not bigger than most hotel rooms. Breakfast was just plentiful with everything available. I would recommend this hotel to anybody. However, it is pricey and not your every day hotel, as you will be broke. But try it and experience the luxurious living.
Reviewed July 15, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
DARUN from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
relax ..enjoy..and best service”
Design Service Food
Great!! best experience ever.. Its my first time in ChiangMai but here make me worm with their service. Everything here was nice from the hotel itself to service and food. U will never see any annoying faces here. The location also not bad but u need a car lah to make ur life more easy in traveling.
Reviewed July 09, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Apostolos from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
It is a hotel on a different level. ”
The staff were fabulous, the design and architecture are superb. The comfort that the luxury hotel delivers.
It is the first time staying in a luxury hotel of this calibre and it is certainly on a different level than your normal hotel. We were treated very well from all the staff. Couldn't fault a single thing, a very memorable stay.
Reviewed April 23, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Amanda from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Exceeded expectations”
Amazing rooms, quiet surroundings, great food
Most beautifully kept grounds, better than the pictures. We stayed in a deluxe corner colonial suite and it was so spacious - no need for a villa as we had the pool to ourselves for the whole weekend. The service was excellent and the food was equally delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel for a luxury stay, with peace and quiet. It is a short tuk tuk or taxi ride to delicious street food and to other attractions. Also very convenient as it only 15 mins from the airport.
Reviewed April 21, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Sandra from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
At first glance the hotel is fantastic, beautiful!”
Breakfast, grounds, room and staff
My stay was lovely. My only comment is that considering this is a very expensive hotel the tiles on the floor of my bedroom were loose in several places and it just felt like the wear and tear is starting to show.
Reviewed February 23, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
gregory from Australia
Solo traveler
Grand Deluxe Villa with Plunge Pool
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Luxurious accomodation”
Well maintained, excellent swimming pool, courteous staff
From a quick check in, a brief guided tour then to my self contained villa took about 15 minutes. The rest of the 3 nights and days was all mine. Early morning swim in the fabulous pool then on to the sumptuous breakfast. Little lay down then an excellent scrub and massage at the spar. Cycled around the grounds on the push bike provided by the hotel at a casual rate. Could not fault this place. Everything was done without fuss including providing the travel agent to book my on-flight to Bangkok. A truly memorable experience.
Reviewed September 02, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Lena from Romania
Couple
Vegetable Garden Villa
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Honeymoon - beautiful surroundings but peak season”
facilities, beach, decor
It was a honeymoon stay with beautiful nature and excellent facilities. The decor and ambiance are nice, and the garden is peaceful. But the busy season close to Lunar New Year made the resort crowded and the staff less attentive.
Reviewed August 02, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Charng from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Best Resort money can buy!”
Rice Terrace, Amazing Restaurants, Incredible Service, Resort Facilities
I'll probably never stay in a better hotel / resort than this. Built to resemble an ancient Lanna kingdom, it comes with its own walled compounds containing superfluous buildings, temples, rice fields, organic gardens, and amazing facilities. Get the complimentary bicycle and cycle all over the resort to have a holiday within a holiday - you don't have to leave the hotel for a few days, and still have plenty to do - there's a cooking class, cultural tours, handicraft center, rice planting, plenty of yoga, and a world class spa. The rooms leave nothing to desire - it's perfect - our suite had all the facilities you can imagine, is huge (1 living area, 1 bed room, 2 toilets, 1 Jacuzzi, 1 bathroom, 1 walk in wardrobe, and 1 humongous balcony overlooking a peaceful garden & lake). Eating here is amazing as well - you must try the Thai restaurant, Le Grand Lanna - one of Thailand's best rated Thai restaurants!
Reviewed December 22, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Thitichaya from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
it's the best hotel in Chiangmai”
Legendary Hotel ever!
everhting is perfect. i have a great time here. the hotel is very amazing. room is roomy and comfortable. breakfast is one the best in chang with good variety. staff are very friendly and make a real effort. the spa is little expensive but its one of the best. wow wow woowww again!
Reviewed September 14, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Leepeng from Singapore
Group
Stayed 2 nights in April 2011
Delightful surprise”
Padi fields in teh hotel complex
The hotel is set in a rambling area of 60 acres. The colonial suites were very well appointed and luxurious, but the most interesting feature of the hotel was the paddy fields at the far end and a walk there was like being in the countryside.
Reviewed May 12, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Jeremy from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in January 2011
Beautiful place to relax and unwind”
Stunning architecture, Lots of things to do on-site
We stayed for two days in one of the deluxe villas. The villas are two-stories with a living room on the bottom floor and bedroom on top. One needs to go outside to get downstairs and enter the living room but they've designed the rooms with a high level of privacy so that's not much of an issue. The grounds initially seem to be enormous but are actually quite manageable and we walked from place to place after having checked in for the first time. The grounds are absolutely stunning and each area has a look and personality of its own. Especially remarkable is the area around the French restaurant. The whole complex in that area is made from golden teak- it must have cost an absolute fortune to build. There are four restaurants on site- Thai, French, Chinese, and Japanese. In addition there's an Oriental tea shop which serves baked goods and light snacks. We tried the Thai restaurant and enjoyed it a lot- there's a Thai dancing show which includes a story and is quite cute. The French restaurant was far less busy and although the food was good the cost was relatively high. A couple of areas of improvement- the rooms could use more plugs so guests can charge various things. The plugs near the bedroom desk were disappointingly occupied with the wifi (which isn't free), lamp, and other things. Plugs near the bed didn't work. We wound up charging everything in the bathroom. Breakfast was spotty- first day went without a hitch but the second day the food came out differently despite ordering almost exactly the same thing and the bread basket was missing. Also a maid tried to enter our room while we were sleeping- something that happens from time to time in hotels but at the Oriental we expected they'd have been more careful. Overall a very enjoyable experience.
Reviewed January 30, 2011
8.0
Excellent
David from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in October 2009
Deservedly voted one of the best in the world ”
Architecture, service, on site facilities, spa and library
Not a huge plot so some rooms are quite hemmed in
We went to this hotel for a special occasion after reading many a write up and review and we weren't disappointed. Its a stunning hotel - even more so if you are visitors to Thailand as the wat and palace architecture is still so awe-inspiring. We had a deluxe villa - two storeys, one open to the elements, the other enclosed just like a traditional Thai house. Room facilities are great and luxurious, and the on site facilities were sufficient to prevent us from leaving the resort. We particularly liked the Italian restaurant (ask for a table on the balcony) and the room service breakfast which was set up in our villa the same as if we'd eaten it in the restaurant. The spa is great too, but watch the prices! Service is the best we have ever found in any hotel in Asia...staff really do look like they love their customers and enjoy giving good service.
Reviewed November 05, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
Gregory from United States
Couple
Vegetable Garden Villa
Stayed 1 night in October 2009
Absolutely wonderful!”
Friendliness of the Staff, beauty of the grounds, comfortable rooms, great food
Its hard to watch TV from the bed, as the TV is not pointed toward the bed, but out into an area of the room where there is no furniture... strange, we thought...
Our stay at the Mandarin Oriental was pure bliss! Our villa was lovely, the bed VERY comfortable, the food was excellent, the grounds and facilities were just beautiful, the staff were very welcoming and accomodating. We loved the feeling that we were in a remote Thai village when in fact we were in the middle of town! The workout room and the infinity pool were fabulous! We enjoyed riding the provided bikes around the grounds and the golf cart pickup when we wanted it. The only way our stay could have been better is if it had been longer...
Reviewed October 26, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
henry from United States
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in August 2009
my favorite spa hotel in the world”
gorgeous buildings, spacious rooms, 60 acres of beautifully landscaped property, free yoga, bicycles and health club, incredible service
Dhara Dhevi is one of the most beautiful complexes I have ever visited. It is done in classical style with great architectural detail and wonderful antiques everywhere. The staff is perfection, the cuisine is varied and excellent, and the rooms are large, comfortable and tasteful. You feel that you are living in a palace, and in fact you are!
Reviewed September 16, 2009
9.0
Exceptional
Susan from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 5 nights in April 2009
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi Delight”
Spectacular mystical quality of physical hotel. Superlative service,,,never better anywhere I've stayed. Beautiful rooms, over rice patty villas very private.
Very expensive food.
After a day of the hustle of Chaing Mai, it was so very nice to return to the superlative environs of this amazing hotel. From it's stunning ambiance and physical plant to the truly remarkable service we enjoyed every aspect of this resort. Our over rice patty villa offered privacy and every amenity. I was really sad to leave. The Lanna restaurant, for traditional Thai cooking was excellent. The service at this hotel is the best in the world, and I'm comparing it to places like the Peninsula. I would stay here again in a heart beat...also it's not 1/2 hour from town, more like 10 minutes with a free shuttle.
Reviewed May 05, 2009
9.3
Exceptional
Philippe from Belgium
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in January 2009
Honeymoon fairy tale”
nice, friendly staff different restaurants to choose from beautiful villa and hotel property that makes you think you are in a different world the bikes and buggies to go around the property
none that we have seen or noticed
it was the perfect place for our honeymoon. I received beautiful flowers and we had an upgrade to a villa with a private pool. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The fact that there are different restaurants brings variety in the evenings. The only riks is that you like to hotel so much that you dont visit the city.
Reviewed January 12, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Todd from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2008
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Devi”
The designer of the hotel did an excellent job of creating a mix of "old world" Thai and Victorian style luxury. I would have never imagined the hotel was only 3 years old when we stayed there. The grounds are absolutley fabulous and the service was excellent in front office operations. Restaurant service needed a bit of work though. Overall the experience exceeded my expectations. Highly recommended for those looking for the perfect honeymoon.
Reviewed July 24, 2008
6.8
Good
Julian from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Good”
Beautiful hotel, no complaints about the accommodation and the staff and breakfast were excellent. We marked it down on facilities as the kids club was one of the main reasons we booked for our 5 year old to play with other children....we were very disappointed that this is a chargeable service (approx GBP100 for 9 to 4pm which is excessive). There were also other silly charges (eg printing boarding passes) which for a 5 star hotel should be part of the rate.
Reviewed April 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
YingJu from Taiwan
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Great!”
Never miss the hotel if you have budget.
Reviewed February 11, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Qingke from China
Business traveler
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
Good resort in Chiangmai ”
Good resort in Chiangmai
Reviewed January 10, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Cheng from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Good facilities and friendly staff.”
Good service and clean hotel
Reviewed December 21, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Prapasara from Thailand
Group
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
this is absolutely perfect ka!!! ”
well train staff, many activities
Reviewed December 20, 2016
8.0
Excellent
supakit from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Good hotel good service”
Good hotel good service
Reviewed July 01, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Phitchaya from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Best hotel ever”
Service, food and driver
Reviewed December 24, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Weitung from Taiwan
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Great hotel to stay in Chiang Mai”
Villa Room, food
Reviewed August 31, 2015
8.0
Excellent
LIM from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Greenery environment”
Greenery , environment , services.
very good experience, calm and greenery environment make you feel relax and comfortable. The toilet do not have water tab and the seat of bicycle is too hard ... need improvement.
Reviewed July 24, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Jacqueline from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
Enchanting”
Polite Staff, Excellent Food, Great Ambiance
Reviewed February 26, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
chungsing from Singapore
Couple
Vegetable Garden Villa
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Resort stay”
Character
Superlatives
Reviewed November 30, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Theerat from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Best Hotel Ever”
Staffs, Rice Planting, Facilities
Fabulous accommodation with an excellent staffs.
Reviewed October 26, 2014
8.0
Excellent
U from Macau
Couple
Vegetable Garden Villa
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
♡good view”
place
good
Reviewed September 30, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Kongphan from Thailand
Group
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Superb Service with Nice Northern Thai Decoration”
Huge Accommodation, Great Service & Hospitality, Many Activities for Guests
Excellence in all details which all guests can get the feelings of touches by hotel staffs
Reviewed July 14, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Wing from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Vegetable Garden Villa
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Wonderful experiece in living at palace-like resot”
Fantastic views, delicious breakfast, interesting activities
Hotel can upload the shuttle bus schedule and location map at website. Dance and music show at Le Lanna restaurant is excellent and food is not as good as expected.
Reviewed July 06, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
adisai from Thailand
Couple
Grand Deluxe Villa with Plunge Pool
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Great and wonderful services”
Beautiful place ! Excellent Services! Super nice view
Reviewed May 04, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Teerapong from Thailand
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Everything Perfect”
Great Awesome So!! Cool
I have the best time from here I thing I have to come here again :D
Reviewed April 25, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Daniel from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Stayed 6 nights in February 2014
lovely”
relaxation, food, staff
always very nice, would go again definitely and recommend
Reviewed February 26, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Sushil from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Very good.”
Spa, ambience, staff
More than what was expected.Spa was very professional. Staff very attentive.
Reviewed January 10, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Daniel
Family with young children
Stayed 6 nights in January 2011
What a hotel”
The hotel is amazing
This is probably the nicest hotel I have ever been to. Everything about it is as good as you are likely to find from the rooms to the foods. It's not the cheapest but it is probably the finest hotel.
Reviewed January 21, 2011
9.6
Exceptional
Annie from United States
Couple
Vegetable Garden Villa
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
Awesome hotel!”
It is like going back in time...peaceful
Reviewed July 15, 2018
8.8
Excellent
ROGER from United States
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
Excellent”
Loved the villa with the private pool! Wonderful service and friendly staff. Outstanding breakfast buffet. Size of villa excellent.
Reviewed June 27, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Young from United States
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Couldn't be better!”
It was unbelievably beautiful and all staffs are very kind! breakfast was also good. swimming pool and sauna was fantastic!. highly recommended
Reviewed June 09, 2018
7.2
Very good
YY from China
Business traveler
Vegetable Garden Villa
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Not commended for now...”
Service not up to the price and reputation at all... Arrival greeting was cold, no butler, no late check out... What really troubled me were the rat poop and dead bugs lying on the stairs... Got on photos. Period. Pros: unparalleled hotel setting, spacious. Used to be an exceptional resort... Then management changed... Which made all the differences...
Reviewed August 22, 2017
7.3
Very good
Chonghan from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Living in a palace”
1. Centrally located 2. Great service 3. Horses
We had a wonderful stay at Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai. Whilst the prices were on the slightly steep side. The accommodation was first class and the hotel grounds were designed to look like a traditional paalace. Certainly one of the places that I would recommend my friends and family to stay if they visit Chiang Mai.
Reviewed May 21, 2014
5.0
Elizabeth from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2010
Fire alarm rang for 4-5 hours during our stay”
Beautiful property
Staff did not tell us about fire alarm testing
The hotel grounds are lovely, we only wish we would have been able to enjoy them further but we were unable to do so because they decided to test their fire alarm system the day we stayed without informing us in advance. We were there to celebrate our 6th wedding anniversary and the staff knew this yet did not warn us in advance. We still cannot believe that even though we contacted the hotel management to address this issue they still feel it's completely acceptable to take nearly $500USD from guests whose special occasion they ruined. It's completely distasteful and appalling. We have experienced various services (dinners, spa treatments etc.) from Mandarin properties in Miami, New York, Hong Kong, Prague & Bangkok but this was our first time giving Mandarin a try
Reviewed September 17, 2010