Book Now: The Edo Sakura

Exceptional
From 1045 reviewsSee what guests said
9.0
/
10
Recommended by 99% of guests

Reviews of The Edo Sakura Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (1045)Booking.com Reviews (922)
9.0
/
10
Exceptional
Cleanliness9.5
Facilities8.9
Location8.1
Room comfort and quality9.1
Service9.7
Value for money9.0
All languages
All guests (1045)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 773 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Jane from New Zealand
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Excellent all round. Great quiet location 10 minutes to Underground Station. ”

Staff are friendly helpful and knowledgeable. The small hotel is immaculate. We ended up staying twice. On our arrival in Tokyo and booking again on our return to Tokyo before heading home. If you want to be out of the Madness but close to the City this is the place. Jane and Paul NZ

Reviewed May 19, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Clare from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Highly recommended, would stay again”

During our trip we stayed in 3 lovely hotels, but Edo Sakura was our favourite of them all. It's a little out of the way, but once you've figure out where it is then it is a nice walkable distance from the station. The hotel itself is wonderful in appearance, and so tranquil. They offer a tea ceremony, which we did not have time to take part in, but would do if we returned. They also sell some nice tea cups, and yukata of the same type that they leave in your room (my husband enjoyed wearing his so much that he bought one). Upon arrival we were given a drink and a warm welcome, and our bags were taken to our room for us. The room was wonderful (if what you want is a traditional ryokan!). The staff even told us we could have extra mattresses if we found the traditional beds too hard (we did not need them but appreciated the offer). The room had extras like a fridge and hair dryer, and a few bathroom extras. Breakfast choices were nice, and we enjoyed them.

Reviewed May 01, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Peter
Family with teens
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

Very good Hotel with "family feeling"”

Superb hotel if you want the traditional Ryokan style. Rooms are clean and sleeping on futon and tatami mats was much better than expected (even though I have a history of back problems). Excellent facilities and a common room to eat food from local shops. Private bath is like a private onsen that can be rented for an hour. Super! Personnel is very helpful and answers any questions. Daily tea ceremony free of charge and good breakfast at a reasonable price (try the rice menue). We stayed in several other hotels in Japan, but this made us feel right at home.

Reviewed April 28, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Martin
Family with teens
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

What a great start”

We stayed here straight off plane for two nights and would have liked more. V nice trad room-tatami mats and robes-quiet street but convenient for sights and places to eat. Staff were very friendly and helpful-top man Toshi. Highlights were tea ceremony and you will not get a better cooked and presented breakfast for twice the money anywhere else-a must buy!

Reviewed April 27, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Jordanna from United States
Group
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Wonderful!!”

I have stayed many places in Tokyo and Edo Sakura is by far one of my favorites. The rooms are a fairly good size for Tokyo. The staff are wonderful! Breakfast at the ryokan is a reasonable 800 yen and very yummy. Free coffee in the morning is a nice perk as well so you don't have to go out to find coffee when you're jet lagged and unfamiliar with the area. Laundry facilities, hot bath, helpful staff, and a lovely place to come home to after a long day of sightseeing in Tokyo have made this my "must stay" whenever I go back. Thank you to everyone at Edo Sakura, you are amazing!!

Reviewed December 26, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
maria from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018

Wonderful!! ”

Japanese style, relaxing, resourcing and lovely staff! I don’t need many facilities, so what was there (internet access, deep bath can be booked, lovely welcome/breakfast space...and free tea ceremony ... really enjoyed it!

Reviewed November 29, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Hyunah from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Everything was good”

I had really good time at the accommodation. Everything was preety good. I can go to Asakusa easily from there. Of course station as well. And I took a private bath, it was so nice. They prepared hot water for me and everything for me. It was just ¥500. I’ll recommend The Edo Sakura to my friends.

Reviewed March 02, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Katrina from Australia
Family with young children
Superior Japanese Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Lovely staff and wonderful Japanese rooms”

A little walk from the station but very easy to get around. Staff were excellent with recommendations and generally very helpful. Lovely clean and spacious Japanese rooms - very easy with the kids on the tatami mats. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed February 27, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Anadi from Australia
Couple
Superior Japanese Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Delightful”

A very well presented, conveniently located (just one metro stop from Ueno Station on the Hibiya line). The staff were very friendly and helpful from the start explaining all the differences between a normal western room and the traditional room we had. The futon mattress was quite comfortable but an extra mattress was offered for comfort if needed. Breakfast options were good, either western and Japanese style and the daily conducted tea ceremony was fascinating. Highly recommend.

Reviewed January 11, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Brandon from United States
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2018

An Japanese twist with a few welcome modern conveniences.”

The facilities of the hotel can stand on their own; clean, elegant, and well built. The staff really helps the aero Sakura shine, with extremely friendly and helpful host and hostesses. I recommend the breakfast to everyone, the tea ceremony and special bath was a delight as well. One warning, there are a few low beams in the bedrooms room that will be a challenge if you are 6’2 or taller. It took me three lumps to learn where they are.

Reviewed December 23, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Sean from United States
Couple
Western Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

kind of an intro to what ryokan can be like”

The best thing here is the staff. The girl who checked us in and showed us around was just so friendly and warm and cute. It’s half ryokan and half hotel. The private bath is nice, the room is decent. The location is not far from a subway station and a bit far from a JR train station when lugging baggage. But then station-wise it’s quite near Ueno, Akihabara, Asakusa, Yanaka, etc. all of the staff we interacted with spoke a higher level of English than typical, which is appreciated when our Japese is so lacking.

Reviewed December 11, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Superior Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Great Traditional Japanese experience at affordable price and wonderful staff!!”

We had a great stay at Edo Sakura! We arrived after midnight and the host was still very gracious and helped us get settled into our room. All throughout our stay the staff were all very warm, sincerely helpful people and they all spoke good English as well as Japanese. We loved the traditional futons to sleep on and the public bath which could be reserved for a private session, was a thoughtful touch. The room was very clean with traditional tatami and a nice scroll of Mount Fuji and a modern bathroom and shower. The location was a little further from Shibuya/Shinjuku area, but we found many nice things nearby like Asakusa, Ginza, Nippori, Ueno and having the train just a few blocks away really helped and we managed to easily get everywhere we wanted to go. The train day passes (we got the 48 hour one) was very helpful and allowed us to get all around. Thank you, Edo Sakura for a wonderful stay. Your unique hotel and amazing hospitality was very much appreciated!

Reviewed November 27, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Patrick from Singapore
Family with teens
Superior Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017

Excellent staff, excellent experience ”

The staff were very warm and friendly, and there were English speaking staff. The facilities are excellent, and they have a nice quaint public bath. There’s also breakfast in the morning, which is very tasty. This is a real and authentic ryokan that I would highly recommend to people looking for an authentic Japanese experience, here in Tokyo. The inn is located near eateries and IRIYA station on th Hibiya line, only one stop from UENO. Very convenient, and the neighborhood it’s located in is quiet and peaceful too. I will definitely be coming again the next time I make a trip here to Tokyo ^__^

Reviewed December 16, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Anita from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017

Good Experience!!!!”

It was my first time to stay there, it was a really good experience with unique Japanese style bedroom! We didn't have enough time to try out the onsen, so I will definitely go back and try the onsen at my next visit!!!

Reviewed April 25, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Ming from Singapore
Solo traveler
Western Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017

Modern Ryokan in Tokyo. Superb Private bath”

Location is a bit far from Subway station (8 mins away), but there's a lot to offer around Ueno area. Room is clean and comfortable, toilet is modern. Staff speaks good English and are helpful and friendly. The favourite part of my stay is the reserved (500JPY for one hour) private bath, clean and well designed, it is the perfect way to relax after a full day exploring Tokyo. Happy to stay here again.

Reviewed March 14, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Jules from United States
Group
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016

Great if you like non-Western accomodations”

Staff is extremely helpful. 0.45 miles away from nearest JR Line (Uguisudani) and ~0.15 miles away from nearest subway (Iriya). Daily tea garden ceremony. microwave in dining hall. beverage machines in main floor. Mini-Mart a block away.

Reviewed December 02, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
shunjie from Singapore
Family with young children
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016

Excellent place - will recommend to friends!”

All the staff are very friendly and we have a great stay here. It is also close proximity to all the nearby attractions like Ueno park, Asakusa template etc. For families with young kids (< 2 yrs old), note that it is still a good 1.5 km away but a taxi ride from this place will only be around 1000 yen to neighboring attractions.

Reviewed May 04, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Chonlayut from Thailand
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016

Value of money & staff”

The money which we pay and which we get back that very valuable. This hotel provide old culture of Edo time. Everyday they have show tea ceremony which part of Japan culture. Also staff is very kindly and care for customer wish.

Reviewed March 02, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
NANTHAWAN from Thailand
Family with teens
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016

Evey good traditional Japanese style in town ”

Traditional style/Location/Nice staff

I was there for 3 nights with my mum. I think I fell in love for this hotel. I like all about this hotel. Warm welcome from the staff, nice room, good quality of breakfast, tea time in the morning and very very reasonable room rate. Im sure I will come back to this hotel again next time. :)

Reviewed February 21, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Leung from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016

New, nice English speaking staff, near Metro”

Near Metro, new & clean, nice and good English-speaking staff

Every fine and convenient. Reception staff nice and could communicate in English fluently. Convenient in location as it only took us five minutes from Iriya Metro station to the hotel. The Japanese tea manner presentation every morning at 10am is recommended to attend. There are long tables in the lobby for rest and chatting, letting you feel comfortable as at home. Tatami room, although not too spacious, is enough for a good rest. Bathroom is good and clean.

Reviewed January 22, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
SHIN from South Korea
Business traveler
Superior Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015

KIND and Good English”

kind, quiet, English

so good Kind and smile all staff and good english talking. some little high hotel fee. but quiet location. from MTR(Iriya) 4 EXIT to 10 min.walking. * Narita air Port - Ueno Exprees train - iriya station Japan traditional "DADAMI" Room.

Reviewed November 25, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Naweeya from Thailand
Group
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015

Great ”

Location, Cleanliness, Staff,

Our stay was great, the hotel located in Ueno-lovely area, Although away from the business but easily access by train. Staffs were very helpful and friendly.We just loved everything at hotel and we had our great time in Japan

Reviewed November 08, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Josephine from Canada
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

Wonderful Experience”

Love the breakfast, the tea ceremony, and nice welcome.

I was impressed from the beginning. Love the new traditional atmosphere. The staff was always happy. My Japanese room was perfect for my husband and l. They even noticed my husband's birthday during our stay. Everything was better than what I imagined from the hotel information.

Reviewed December 25, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Gerardus from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014

Excellent Ryokan!”

Clean, Comfort, Wifi

Not far from Iriya station. I'm a slow walker so it take a while...yet it's easy. Just click the map. From front door to the room are clean. The staff is so nice and friendly. Every 10 am the have tea ceremony. We experienced it and learn how to make the tea. I love it. And after a long day walking, we have private bathing. Need to reserve before, and you are charged only 50Y for 40 minutes. And one more important thing for us is the super fast WIFI everywhere. It's very important to plan the route thru google map, and update the social media :) Definitely we will come back someday.

Reviewed November 17, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Shlomo from Israel
Solo traveler
Western Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

One of the BEST Japanese hotek I have ever seen !!”

Design, clean, friendly

This is by far, one of the BEST Japanese hotels (Ryokan) I have ever seen. The place is spotless !! So clean, staff is friendly, and rooms were very good quality. They even have a big Japanese bath, for you. Location is the only little minus, I gave, but not too bad and very well, deserve the small effort, of getting there. You will not be disappointed !! This place, should be a role model to how a Japanese riyokan should look like, wish there were more like this one, around the country. Will definitely go back.

Reviewed July 25, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Jacek from Poland
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014

Amazing experience in Ryokan style hotel”

new hotel, high standard, Ryokan style

That was the best high end Ryokan style hotel we have visited so far. It is brand new, only few months old. It has a full japanese style experience , including morning green tea ceremony which is amazing !

Reviewed April 21, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Ian from Malaysia
Group
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014

Nice, Clean and Comfortable at a Good Location”

Friendly staff, cleanliness and location

9 out of 10. For the price that I paid for the quality of this hotel has exceeded my expectations. The English speaking staff were able to share with us how to get around Tokyo. The hotel also offer unlimited free high speed internet access. The room was very clean and new. Very secured as they have security pin for access into the hotel after 11pm.

Reviewed January 27, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Hang from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014

Typical Japanese Style Hotel”

Friendly Staff, Fast Internet, Clean Room

This is a typical Japanese style hotel, where you will need to make up your own bed. It is really a pleasant stay with the Edo Sakura - staff are very friendly, helpful and courteous. The internet connection is really fast. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from Iriya station on the subway line, a stop away from Ueno Station. The room is small though clean; bathroom is small, but this is common in all hotels in Tokyo. It is really a enjoyable stay with the Edo Sakura!!!

Reviewed January 19, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Ho from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013

staff really friendly and good language skill”

nice design comfort clean

easy to access to the hotel and very east to go to airport by one station and take can take the airport express. staff is really friendly and helpful high speed internet. good tatami room comfort. I will consider again when next time i go to tokyo.

Reviewed October 19, 2013
9.2
Exceptional
Helen
Family with teens
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Exceptional”

Lovely hotel with very friendly helpful staff

Reviewed April 24, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Raina from United States
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Great Japanese Style Rooms/Experience”

I booked the Japanese style room for the last 2 days of my Tokyo trip and it was a wonderful experience! Staff were very friendly and all spoke good English, they even offered a short tea ceremony session for free in the morning and it was great to learn a little more about Japanese culture. The only downside is there aren't many restaurant/shops close to the hotel other than convenient stores so snacking at night is a little limited. Otherwise, the hotel is close to a metro station and is easy to travel around. I'd love to stay there again next I visit Tokyo :)

Reviewed November 16, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ben
Group
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 7 nights in November 2018

Excellent ryokan in quiet side of Tokyo”

The Edo Sakura is a great ryokan in the heart of Tokyo, it’s in a quiet residential side of Taito so there is little noise outside. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Staff are so helpful and always happy to help with any questions. Their breakfasts are an excellent start to the day!

Reviewed November 09, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Joan
Couple
Western Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in November 2018

Great Ryokan with wonderful staff”

This is a wonderful place to stay in Tokyo. While the rooms are small, they are no smaller than other places we stayed in Japan. The staff is so friendly and warm and welcome you back every day like you are coming home. They have a little Japanese bath which is nice for relaxation. The breakfasts are tasty and reasonably priced. The location is on a quiet street and near a metro station. It is about 1/2 ride to downtown but very close to Uenom Asakusa and Akhihabara. Definitely would stay there again when we return to Tokyo.

Reviewed November 09, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Hyobin from South Korea
Group
Superior Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

The best hotel ever!”

The staff was amazingly welcoming, the facilities were clean, and the decorations inside the hotel were really nice as well. We stayed in this Japanese style room for three people, and we truly enjoyed the stay. If I get another chance to visit Tokyo, this place would definitely be the place to stay again!

Reviewed November 06, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Wendy from Australia
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

Great ryokan in great location”

Hidden away in a quiet neighbourhood just a metro station up from Ueno, the Edo Sakura offered a peaceful stay whilst still being close to major sights such as Asakusa. We were enthusiastically greeted on arrival, and appreciated the staff taking the time to introduce the facilities and showing us to our room. We chose a traditional Japanese room, which looked very much so but still came with the modern amenities such as air conditioning and a private bathroom. The room was clean, spacious and well maintained. The Japanese breakfast was great value and delicious, and the free daily tea ceremony was a good way to experience traditional Japanese culture. Would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed October 07, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Lynn from Canada
Couple
Western Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in September 2018

An wonderful oasis in the bustle of Tokyo”

We stayed 5 nights at Edo Sakura on the recommendation of a friend and were we ever glad we did. Although it is located a bit northeast of the center, it is easy access from Nippori or Ueno station by taxi when coming in from Narita on the Skyliner. It is also a short walk to the nearest subway line. The staff in the hotel could not be more pleasant and helpful! We thank, especially, Toshi, Glen and Yoko for thei wonderful attention! The rooms are comfortable, clean and the beds in our wipes tern room were veray comfortable. Coming home to the Edo Sakura after a vigorous day sightseeing was the perfect ending to the day. You must try dinner at the izakaya down the street and around the corner - delicious food served by friendly folks. The only drawback is that smoking is allowed in restaurant and so it is a bit of a crap shoot whether there will be smoke or not - we were lucky! We both highly recommend this hotel without hesitation! I think, reservations are a must!

Reviewed September 14, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Matt from United States
Family with teens
Superior Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

Excellent Place to Stay”

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is central to lots of great sites, shopping, and restaurants. It's also only a few minutes walk to the nearest subway station. I plan to stay here again on my next trip.

Reviewed July 24, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jonathon from United States
Family with teens
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

My new standby for traveling to Tokyo with family!”

Traditional meets modern; I really liked their complimentary tea ceremony and my wife loved the private bath. It is a ryokan/hotel hybrid. We had our own showers and bathroom. I thought the price was great. Ultra-clean and the staff treats you like you are a long-lost family member. Even if you can't speak any Japanese at all, you are in good hands with the team at Edo Sakura. We'll surely pay them a return visit.

Reviewed June 08, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Graham from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

Great ryokan with amazing staff”

Really nice, clean room with comfortable bed, good internet and AC. The staff were incredible - helpful, very friendly and all fluent in English. They hold a free tea ceremony and explanation daily which is a really nice touch.

Reviewed June 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Talia from Australia
Couple
Superior Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

Relaxing stay”

Highly recommend this location as a base for exploring Tokyo, away from the hustle and bustle. Great restaurants/cafes within easy walking distance. Close to the train station. The staff here were the stand out of my trip, so friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and had everything you need. The breakfast was delicious and large!

Reviewed May 31, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Varavudth from Thailand
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Staffs are extremely nice. Excellent service and good place. We will go back again!”

Good location, not too busy, not far from Iriya station (3 mins walk). The convenient store is just in the front. Good restaurants are around. FREE traditional tea ceremony and we can as well try. Again, excellent service, excellent place for ryokan. Indoor onsen 500yen is also good optional to try.

Reviewed May 24, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Barbara from France
Family with young children
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Charming Ryokan”

This inn was my first stop in Japan and my introduction to Japanese hospitality. All was wonderful including the very helpful staff. A big thank you to all.

Reviewed April 01, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
HARJONO from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Western Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Perfect”

Perfect

Reviewed October 28, 2018
8.4
Excellent
shu from Taiwan
Family with young children
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018

Excellent”

we really like this hotel with friedly staff and clean room. we will come back again.

Reviewed September 20, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Xing from China
Solo traveler
Superior Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

Xing”

Nice staff, very good English and smooth communication. Room was clean and traditional.

Reviewed September 17, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Narisa from Thailand
Couple
Superior Japanese Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Amazing first night in Tokyo”

We loved everything about the hotel including the area it situates and its incredible services from the staffs.

Reviewed June 03, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Carly from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 5 nights in May 2018

Quaint room, quiet location, great staff, easy access to metro ”

The hotel was quiet and so was the local area making it a good place to chill out and rest after long days exploring the city. Staff were extremely friendly and helped us negotiate tickets/ day trips etc.

Reviewed May 19, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Lenora from Australia
Couple
Western Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018

Fabulous little gem”

We really liked the room. While it was relatively small it felt spacious because we had 2 little side tables and reading lights and the window opened onto a little balcony so we could get fresh air and see the sky. The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood and the restaurants we went to nearby were excellent! It was also in close proximity to a metro station. The staff at Edo Sakura spoke very good English and were warm, very hospitable and generous. It was also a plus to be able to do our washing very easily. All in all it was a perfect location for our stay in Tokyo!

Reviewed April 07, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
IRINA from Canada
Family with teens
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018

Great place to enjoy Tokyo”

Set in a quiet residential area, Edo Sakura is an excellent place to stay while visiting Tokyo. We booked one of the tatami rooms and took advantage of the free tea ceremony at the hotel - a very good way to experience more of the Japanese culture. Very clean rooms and facilities, and excellent and friendly staff. There is a good grocery store within walking distance if you want to buy some interesting Japanese snacks. The Asian breakfast is highly recommended - tasty and filling, at a very reasonable price. We would love to return to Edo Sakura some day.

Reviewed March 31, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Chui from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Western Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Best experience in Tokyo ”

It was a surprisingly great experience to stay at this hotel! Big room, nice staff speak fluent English, free tea ceremony experience for the guest, Japanese style bathing suit, free coffee/tea..... I was very impressed!

Reviewed March 13, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Yongxu from United States
Group
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

A quiet stay”

The property is located in a residential area, so it is always very quiet. I chose the Japanese style room for 2 people. The room was very clean, but not big. The nearest subway station is about 5 minutes walk.

Reviewed December 08, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Ku from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 6 nights in November 2017

Very Nice and good English speaking staff”

Staying in a quiet residential area, close to metro station; Japanese style room which is cozy and bigger than expected. It is a good location when you take metro as the main transportation in Tokyo. You'll get everything you need in the area as there's a 24hr Mini-Store nearby and a supermarket also one 100yen store for around 10mins walk.

Reviewed December 03, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Kimahri from United States
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017

A beautiful cozy inn great for cultural experience.”

The Edo Sakura is great for the traditional ryokan experience without the drawbacks of some hostel-type establishments (shared baths etc.). The rooms lean on the small side but are adequate for 2-3 persons. They feature tatami floors and private showers. Facility is somewhat limited compared to some similarly-priced inns (such as Dormy): there is no beverage lounge for free refreshments or morning coffee; there is only a vending machine (paid) in the lobby. Washer and dryer are available on the premise but cost 500 yen to use, which is a bit pricey but at least convenient. The highlight is a beautiful tea room, where a tea ceremony is held at 10am every morning, and a cute indoor garden where you can pose as a samurai (they provide helmet & sword) for photos. There's also a private cypress bath you can book for $500 yen (yours for 45 min). All the staffs are very friendly and speak excellent English. Location is also decent (5 minutes walk to Iriya station, one stop away from Ueno).

Reviewed September 13, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
sara from France
Family with teens
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017

Lovely stay at lovely place”

Very friendly and professional staff. Everything well explained, you feel welcome, safe and happy. We thoroughly recommend and would very happily come back. It would be great if our rooms could have looked onto the street/had a view, even a street view, but understand this is not easy in a city. But the internal Japanese garden and little harmonious green space with tea room make up for this, and especially the wonderful staff.

Reviewed August 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Brian from Canada
Family with teens
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017

A Traditional Ryokan in the Heart of Tokyo”

I recently stayed at the Edo Sakura for three nights with several family members and was extremely satisfied with the value for my money. The room was a modern version of a traditional ryokan, which is to say that the main room has tatami mats with a low table during the day and futons at night (not to mention a tokonoma for a hanging scroll and flowers). The staff was exceptionally friendly and spoke better English than one normally finds even in Tokyo. The front lobby has a nice little tea room/garden and they have a free Japanese tea ceremony every day at 10:00 am, which was essentially the same as the tea ceremony that I paid for in Kyoto. They even have laundry for only $5 (wash and dry). All in all, an exceptional hotel in the heart of Tokyo.

Reviewed July 12, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Frank from United States
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017

Stylish Ryokan, terrific staff, ”

Nicely appointed public spaces, lobby, dining area; terrific, helpful, friendly staff. Highly recommended. Only drawback: location--while near Ueno Park, and museums, neighborhood doesn't offer much in terms of dining, bars, etc. although transit (Iniya station) in walking distance.

Reviewed May 22, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
clare from Australia
Family with teens
Superior Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017

Exceptional”

What a wonderful introduction to Japan the lovely Edo Sakura was. From a friendly welcome the evening we checked in to excellent attention from staff throughout our visit, we felt at home here and very comfortable. It's not the most flashy, glitzy part of Tokyo, but we enjoyed seeing families going to school and work each day, visiting the local temple ('never fall'), the beautiful display of cherry blossom in the streets and in Ueno Park, and nearby eateries including Ooriya (hello, guys!). The onsen was lovely to experience as it can be privately booked (great for teens) and the rooms are traditional but modern and functional. Both Western and Japanese breakfast Train station five minutes walk away. Don't miss tea ceremony offered daily in the hotel!

Reviewed April 11, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Caroline from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Stayed on NYE, so good value for money all in all”

Great staff, really welcoming. They hold a tea ceremony every day at 10:30am for everyone who wants to go, very cool. Bedroom large and comfortable, nice to have large clean bathroom in the room. Location ok.

Reviewed January 20, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Patricia from United States
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

Our best experience while in Japan”

The Edo Sakura was like a hidden gem. We traveled with our 9 year old daughter and she was super excited about the Japanese style room, the tea ceremony, and the bathtub. The bath turned out to be super small though. I would say big enough for 1 person; 2 amtight squeeze and 2+1 child... forget it. Anyhow, the rest of the hotel makes up for the small bathtub. The breakfast salmon is the best we have ever tasted. The highlight of the hotel is the super-friendly staff that go out of their way to help you, always with a smile. I had a horrible cough and they made me fresh ginger tea tongo every morning. Thanks so much!

Reviewed January 03, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Jaime from United Arab Emirates
Family with young children
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

Friendly and Very Accommodating Staff. A place to experience Ryokan in the heart of the city.”

This was our first hotel when my family (me, my wife and two very young kids) on our tour in Japan. We wanted to have a Ryokan experience and the place is suitable for that sort of stuff, especially for first timers like us. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and they have given our requests. Place is very near a convenient store and Iriya Station. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would love to stay again if ever, so that we could try the public bath, privately :).

Reviewed December 20, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Jennifer from United States
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

Nice Clean Ryokan, Great Staff”

Great staff, they cater to a lot of foreigners so most speak English. We had a Japanese style room for 3 nights and the room size was slightly bigger than average compared to some other western style hotels we had stayed at. Which is a plus. The bathroom was adequate but again don't expect much. Location wise, it's about 6 minutes from the Iriya station and about 10 minutes walk from the JR Uguisudani station which we used more. Okay when you are site-seeing for the day, but could be a hassle when you have luggage. We opted to get a $7.80 taxi ride to the station when we arrived/left with luggage. There is a convenience store just a block away which was great. But in terms of food options, while there are a lot of restaurants they were primarily all meat/bbq and because we couldn't peer into the restaurants (they seem to block any outside onlookers from looking in), cannot really judge if they were busy/good or not. Will definitely highly recommend eating at Ooriya (a block away) though. It is Japanese style tapas and they really only seat maybe 10 people. Tough getting a reservation as they are always packed, I would recommend going as soon as they open.

Reviewed December 13, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Heesun from South Korea
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

Amazing ! ”

I think that the best thing that I've done for Tokyo trip was making a reservation with edo sakura! It was just awesome. Every staff members are so kind and hotel was very clean. And also, the Japanese traditional tea time was really satisfied. Everything was perfect for our couple! If I go to Tokyo again I defenitely go to the edo sakura again. Thanks a lot!!!

Reviewed December 05, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Russell from United States
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 5 nights in September 2016

Old World Charm”

Of course we are talking Shogun old world, not Europe. Can't say enough about the staff who went out of their way to make our visit authentic. Hotel has a B&B vibe. the Japanese rooms are sparse tatami rooms with futons to layout on the floor each night. If you have flexibility problems then maybe not the place for you. The bathrooms are modern but not luxurious. You are going for the experience. The local restaurants are very local with space for under 20 customers but the food was fantastic and the small size means you get the chefs direct attention; again they are an experience. train stations are a short walk (5-20 minutes) and if want to take the taxi to them it ran about $10 (there are trains direct to the airports from the local stations). Would book again.

Reviewed September 29, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Laphatrada from Thailand
Family with teens
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016

Good place to stay”

If you want to stay in a clean, calm and good service place~ you have to stay here The room is very clean. The location is pretty peaceful. You have to walk a bit from MRT Iriya station and if you want to go to somewhere that doesn't in Hibiya Line you have to transfer at Ueno station before. So, if your trip is plan to travel many days in Shinjuku, Harajuku or somewhere around that it's really far if you stay here and you would be tired from traveling.

Reviewed May 31, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
William from United States
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016

Lovely hotel!”

We were delighted with this cute little Japanese hotel. The service was outstanding. The location was within easy walking (5 minutes) to municipal subway stations for 3 different lines. The neighborhood was clean, quiet and safe. Not much going on in the immediate vicinity, however, it was easy to travel to exciting tourist spots. Be aware that you sleep on traditional padded beds on the floor, we found them comfortable. The tea ceremony, done every morning for guests, was a big plus.

Reviewed May 31, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Vincent from France
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016

Awesome place for a romantic stop over in busy Tokyo”

5mns from Iriya Station , about 10mns from Uguisudani Station (JR Yamamoto Line) you're in a cosy quite residential area with a train that will take you all around Tokyo. The staff is extremely helpful and the room are pristine.

Reviewed April 20, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Weizheng from China
Group
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015

Super Nice!”

Stuff location traditional japanese room

What a wonderful hotel,the stuffs there are extremely friendly and helpful!during the trip I lost my items twice,but I finally found them all due to their help!many many thanks! I will come back again to visit them!

Reviewed December 28, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Charles from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015

Fantastic boutique hotel!”

1. Quiet easy to get to location. 2. Amazing staff and high standard hotel. 3. Tea ceremony was brilliant.

We stayed 4 nights at The Edo Sakura, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The food selection wasn't great, but don't let this stop you staying there. There's a Metro station 5 minutes walk away and a few small convenience stores before you get there, and a great little bakery to grab some breakfast if you don't eat at The Edo Sakura. The staff were courteous and spoke great English, and are a compliment to the hotel. The Ueno JR station is about a 20 min walk even with suitcases, and it's flat so no hills to contend with! The neighbourhood is really quiet and unassuming. If you stay anywhere in Tokyo, stay here!

Reviewed December 18, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Yuning from Singapore
Couple
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015

Great hotel, wonderful staff”

Clean, good location, beautiful

Felt very welcomed by the staff the moment we entered the hotel. We went with a traditional Japanese room, which was clean, beautiful, and the pillows and futon were comfortable. The location is great, very near Iriya station on the Hibiya line, which is a direct line to Akihabara and Tsukiji stations, both of which suited our purposes. It's also one station away from Ueno on the Yamanote line, which is convenient to link to the airport via the Keisei Skyliner, and the other main stations like Ikebukuro, Shinjuku, Tokyo, etc. Can't give a fair comment on the food since we didn't have breakfast there, but a microwave is provided in the lobby for free use, which is helpful. Would recommend for a nice, quiet stay in a peaceful part of town, which is also relatively near Akihabara (very good when your feet have been destroyed by walking all day and you have huge bags from toy shopping!) However, if you like to be in the middle of things with lots of food options, arcades and the like, Ikebukuro would be a better choice.

Reviewed December 16, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Craig from United States
Family with teens
Standard Japanese Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015

Charming Japanese Hotel”

Price, Location & Experience

I specifically reserved a room at this hotel because it offered a traditional Japanese room. This trip was a graduation gift for my son, and he loves Japanese culture so I thought it would be a fun, sort of retro, surprise and it was. The people were great. You enter into the hotel into a decorated lobby with long tables and what looked like varnished tree stumps for stools. The hotel is explained to you at these tables, rather than across a desk. The room was considered big enough for 3 people or 3 mats. It would have been tight, but 3 would have fit. We took our shoes off at the door, just inside the room. We slept on mats with big puffy comforters – instructions were provided how to make the beds. The room had a large, en suite, bathroom & shower, a TV, free wifi, phone and refrigerator. I will admit that sleeping on the floor on mats, plus the repetition of getting up off the floor was a little much for my older bones. I slept well, but more from exhaustion from all of the walking throughout the day, but the bones were definitely sore. My only negative comment were the sleeping mats. My son thought they were just fine, but he is 23 years younger than I am! Price was great, location was great. You have the option of signing up for breakfast for an additional charge and you can participate in the daily 10:00 am tea ceremony, which was free. The hotel also offers a traditional western room. I thought the pricing was very reasonable and the service was excellent! Note, I rated dining a 3 but did not eat there and no option for NA.

Reviewed December 11, 2015