Book Now: The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel

Excellent
From 2557 reviewsSee what guests said
8.6
/
10
Recommended by 86% of guests

Reviews of The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel Reviews from real guests

Overall rating
8.6
Excellent
From 3065 reviews
8.8Cleanliness
8.7Room comfort and quality
8.6Location
Agoda Reviews (2557)Booking.com Reviews (508)
Rating via Agoda8.6
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.8
Facilities8.6
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality8.7
Service8.6
Value for money8.4
Rating
9+ Exceptional (744)
8-9 Excellent (369)
7-8 Very Good (315)
6-7 Good (125)
<6 Below Expectation (133)
Time of the year
Mar - May (582)
Jun - Aug (383)
Sep - Nov (373)
Dec - Feb (348)
All guests (2557)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 1687 verified guest comments
9.0
Exceptional
Isabel from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2015

Beautiful hotel at the beach near shops and rest.”

Beach, swimming pool, location

Was almost everything just great! Just same negativ coments: The elevators were permanently on "maintenance in progress", and we were guests in your hotel for 2 weeks. 2 week maintenance?? The food and drinks at pool bar and restaurants are very overpriced. I understand that hotels such as yours have a higher profit margin, but when you can eat for less than 30% of the hotel price at some very good restaurants just outside the hotel in Klong Prao, no wonder most of Emerald Cove eateries are almost completely empty on a nightly basis. The same goes for the weekly Beach Romantic BBQ evenings. In my view, when you say "we would like to invite you for our evening BBQ", in most cultures the word invite implies that you are invited, and not have a price to pay. My feedback on this matter would be: a) change the wording on the card that you leave on the rooms, and specify a price that the bbq will cost b) make it cheaper. After all your guests are paying premium price for Thailand

Reviewed March 16, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Ron from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2009

Amari ideal for the Koh Chang experience”

Great location, Great food (particularly the Just Thai restaurant), Great service (reception, poolside, restaurants, room service, facilities, activities, checkout ...), Great rooms (clean and well serviced), Good swimming, Great surrounds
We found the bed mattress a little hard - this is definitely one of the few areas that could be improved.

We originally intended to stay at White Sands Beach but fortunately for us there was no accommodation available for our required dates - and so we found ourselves experiencing the best ever check-in service at the Amari Emerald Cove Resort. That first night we dined at the Just Thai restaurant and had one of the best thai dining experiences ever. Next day we did decide to upgrade our room to one with an ocean view - but for the amount of time we actually spent in our room this really did not make a lot of difference. We found taxis plentiful out front of the hotel and never had to wait for transport. We found this mode of transport to be most suitable for the occasional visit to White Sands Beach and to visit the great local restaurants and massage just 2-3km up the road towards the elephants and waterfall. We were able to swim twice a day at the hotel and also hired kyaks from the hotel at very reasonable rates to checkout some of the islands close by. We also hired an automatic motor bike just out front of the hotel and went exploring to the waterfall (to the north) and to the fishing village markets down south. At the fishing village we lunched at Buddha View restaurant which proved another highlight of our trip. We also availed ourselves of the local tailors to bring home some custom made garments - so we have some great souvenirs of our time on Koh Chang. I think the location was just the best to experience Koh Chang. Close enough to visit White Sands Beach to enjoy the noisy festivities but able to enjoy our stay in the peaceful surrounds of Amari resort and the many local attractions nearby.

Reviewed October 30, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
Andrew from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014

One of the best values in Thailand”

Pool, breakfast, staff

This is the second time I have stayed at The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel in the past three months. I truly feel it is great value for the money. As an expat living in Thailand for nearly fifteen years, I have been to beaches and islands all over the country. This hotel is truly something special. Rooms are large and modern, the pool area is fantastic, and the breakfast buffet is complete. And of course, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The happy hour has 50% drinks, there are activities for small children, and there are kayaks for rental as well. Nearby, there are a series of inexpensive beachfront restaurants that have great food at reasonable prices and nightly entertainment. You can also visit a waterfall that is about a five minute drive away. In short, choose this hotel - you won't regret it!

Reviewed December 27, 2014
9.2
Exceptional
Jason
Family with young children
Grand Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018

Beautiful Resort on great beach!”

The Emerald Cove Koh Chang (formerly an Amari property) is a beautiful property located on a very soft, white sand beach and easily accessible by car or taxi. We stayed for a week and really enjoyed all of the facilities. The staff were very nice, although many they seemed bored which is somewhat surprising. Anyway, the resort is beautiful and looks out over a calm sea and the sunsets are amazing! The happy hour is great as is the fantastic themed dinners on the beach! The rooms are nice but are definitely showing their age. The internet service is sloooowwww and inconsistent.. When I did some searches for the hardware they were using for their WiFi it was about 10 years old. Time for an upgrade! Guests want and need high-speed internet. In 2018, not having high speed internet is a deal breaker for those remote workers (like me) who travel with their family. All in all a great resort and we will return!

Reviewed December 16, 2018

Dear Mr.Jason Urban We are glad to know that you had a wonderful vacation on your recent trip to The Emerald Cove Koh Chang and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We have already shared your comments with the team to see how we can use your valuable feedback to improve our services moving forward/ It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and wish you all the best until your return to Koh Chang! Best regards, Putthithorn ONGSIRIKUL Resident Manager

Responded December 17, 2018
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel
8.7
Excellent
Derek from Canada
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013

One of the nicer hotels on Koh Chang”

Beautiful Property, great pool, relaxed atmosphere

Koh Chang is not as developed as an island as some of Thailand's other islands, so don't expect too much outside the resort besides jungle hiking, amazing waterfalls, more beaches, great seafood, elephants, great diving, and monkeys on the road. You won't find great shopping or the variety of dining or nightlife options you find on other islands. You also won't find banana boats or loud, obnoxious watercraft, as these are banned off Koh Chang beaches. The hotel itself is a beautiful property, and if you arrive at night you'll be walked down a boardwalk lit by orange lanterns over a fish-filled pond. It is surreal and really sets the mood. The room itself was nice - I think we got the least-fancy room, but were very happy with it. The staff were kind and accommodating, especially in the Thai/Italian restaurant, which was excellent. I also enjoyed the half-price drinks at the bars during happy hours, but found the cocktail mixing outside the restaurant bar to be quite poor. The beach is not the best on the island by a long shot, and I would have been disappointed if I was looking for a perfect beach hotel. It is quite nice for sitting by, but there are lots of rocks and coral among the sand once you get into the water, so you really have to watch or you'll cut your feet. Overall, I would recommend Amari Emerald Cove.

Reviewed August 14, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Marcus from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in February 2012

Fantastic hotel with nice location”

the service, the sun beds, the pool

Amazing hotel with great service. They will make anything to ensure you have a pleasant stay. the hotel is located on the very south part of Klong Prao beach. its a rather quite place which makes it great for relaxing. The also have their own SPA. the hotel has is own private "beach" however its mostly grass and the sea comes. if you want standard sand beach you have to walk 50-100 meters. the beach has, at some parts, some pebbles and the occasionally stone in the water but we did'nt find that annoying. They have a 50 meter long pool, which is great for taking a few laps in. they also have smaller pool with several jaccuzi spots in it. The breakfast is great with lots of different things to chose from. There's american style, thai style, european and nordic style - in other words something for everyone. We had one dinner and one lunch at the hotel and we were pleased. the dinner was a barbeque under the stars special night with lots of meat and seefood on the grill. eating at the hotel is more expensive (as expected) than the local resturants on the beach, but still not near as expensive as in Sweden/Europe. For a nice cheap lunch/dinner try the Family resturant located on the beach 100-150 meters from the hotel. great curries and stirfries, approx 100Bath each. There are 2 bars, one in the lobby and one at the pool. there are lots of staff around to help you and if you don't want to walk to the bar there's always someone around to take your order. There's happy hour at the pool bar 4-5PM and special cockstails offer 5-7PM. the drinks at the pool are good but the bar at the lobby makes them with a little more love. the lobby bar have happy hour 10-11PM and they often have live music as well. the only downside at this 5 star resort is internet service. THey have great speed and connectivity at the lobby but in our room there waas more of a lottery getting stable connection. once having connection, speed was good enough but not great.

Reviewed March 01, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Brent from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016

Absolutely Amazing!!”

Absolutely Amazing, From the moment we arrived up until the time we checked-out, we were treated like royalty. As the tuk-tuk taxi dropped us off at the hotel, the other passengers who were continuing-on to another hotel were whispering “OMG, look at this place, I think we chose the wrong place to stay”. The staff were so polite and friendly, even when we brought to our room, the kind woman explained the features and options of the hotel. The room was huge and open with wood floors, every detail was top notch, and nothing was spared to create a very relaxing spa like feeling. The bed was king-sized, solid and very high thread-count sheets, I could go on and on about the room. The beach is facing the west so the sunsets are amazing! The sandy beach part was a little small when the tide is high, however just next door is a larger sandy beach for walking along the beach. The food was also very good, with a free breakfast buffet that has everything you could wish for, all very fresh and clean. At night the hotel grounds light up like a magical fantasy village with music performances and well-staffed attendants giving special care and sincere helpful service. Everyone was able to speak English well and very kind and pleasurable. The ONLY bad thing about this hotel was when we had to leave, we didn’t want to go. My wife and I are typical middle-class people and therefore are expectations may be lower than others who frequently stay at luxurious hotels, but I honestly have to say “We will be back to the wonderful hotel”. Thank you Emerald Cove, Ko Chang for a wonderful expierence.

Reviewed February 10, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Sally from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 9 nights in March 2015

Wonderfully relaxing!”

Location, location, location!

We last visited Emerald Cove soon after it opened and it was a pleasure to go back! Koh Chang has changed beyond recognition but the hotel remains as lovely as ever! My only criticism would be the food from the bar menu around the pool which was disappointing. The breakfast selection is good although the fruit selection was disappointing and the fruit was usually unripe. We ate at the Italian restaurant which was very good but also expensive, European prices. That said, we had a wonderfully relaxing time in this lovely hotel and the staff were delightful, the beds were very comfortable and any requests (new light bulb, batteries for the bathroom scales) were dealt with promptly.

Reviewed April 01, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Sharlene from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

Best place if you want some comfort”

We traveled from USA. The resort was very welcoming and relaxing. You will find comforts and great service. Food was a little pricey for us so we walked down the beach to the pilot to save some $$. Emerald cove is located in a clean area, nice beach. Many resorts on koh chang had too many people, like near white sand. We felt this was everything, but not in the Chaos. Room also had ammenities which was nice for traveling to and island and only being able to take what you can carry. We had wonderful indian food up the street in KaiBae area. We had our children 20's and one grandson. He loved the pools. Music every night. We will definetly will stay here again. This Hotel would be $300+ a night in the USA or Europe. Safe choice you will not regreat.

Reviewed December 26, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Gary from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in October 2009

Bliss in Koh Chang”

Peaceful location. Good service - staff very attentive. Excellent room size. Happy Hour. Food was excellent.
Had to pay for an upgrade as at a time when only 40% full, we were placed in a room on the ground floor in the further corner facing a lake full of mosquitos and noisy frogs!

The Amari Emerald Cove Resort is a large, but beautifully appointed complex with its own private beach in Klong Prao. The staff are attentive and helpful and the food served is of a very high standard (if a little more expensive than restaurants outside). I would recommend that at sunset you grab yourself a lounger on the beach and watch the sun set over the sea whilst enjoying a cocktail perfectly mixed by the expert barman. Would definitely visit again, especially in October when it is not too busy.

Reviewed November 03, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
Gavin from Australia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012

Great Hotel, beautiful island”

Fantastic food, pool, cocktails and happy hour

probably one of the more expensive hotel on the island of koh chang. but had a very enjoyable stay at the amari emerald cove. the hotel has 3 restaurants and the food is 10 out of 10. the hotel has a really big swimming pool which is good for working off all the food you eat. there are 2 happy hours during the day, the drinks are 50% off, which is really good when you are able to enjoy a few pina coladas and watch the sun set. there is free wi-fi in the main bar of the hotel, other wise you have to pay for it in your room. laundry and massagaes are offered at the hotel, but really expensive. there are plenty of places to get these on the island so we used them instead. great hotel, would stay again

Reviewed July 29, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Steven from Australia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in February 2009

Amari Koh Chang”

Relaxing Location Beach Front 5 star accommodation Great Restaurants Beautiful Pool & Landscaping

The Amari Emerald Cove Resort Koh Chang is a great choice for the traveller looking to unwind. The Amari boasts a quite location with just enough surrounding shopping to keep you amused with out the relentless bartering of more developed tourist areas in Thailand. The resort layout is stunning featuring elevated wooden walkways over water features filled with flowering plants and fish. There is a 50 meter pool accompanied by a kids pool and Jacuzzi. The Amari also boasts amazing restaurants, professional yet friendly staff and the perfect get away for all travellers to experience Koh Chang.

Reviewed March 16, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
Petri from Finland
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013

Relaxed stay”

gym, pool, on the beach

Amari Emerald Cove is a a luxorious resort in a beautiful island of Koh Chang. The hotel room was large and very clean, the overall atmosphere superb (the garden etc), the pool is large and has enough seats, has private beach with seats, two gym rooms (weight lifting and cardio). Has easy access to elephant trekking and all the various adventures the island can provide.

Reviewed July 05, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Shane from Australia
Couple
Grand Premium Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 7 nights in April 2017

OUR NEW FAVORITE PLACE IN THE WORLD”

We are fortunate to travel quite a bit, to lots of places around the world. We loved our stay at Emerald Cove and Koh Chang. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to come back. Pro's Big Rooms Comfortable Bed Entire Resort Very Clean Beautiful Grounds Amazing Huge Pool Loads of sun/Deck Chairs Spa / Massage is Sensational Excellent Service Breakfast has a huge variety Food is excellent selection and quality Con's We found the drinks inside the resort to be a bit pricey. We would have bought much more at the poolbar, but decided to buy our drinks outside the resort where they were much cheaper.

Reviewed April 18, 2017
9.3
Exceptional
Douglas from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in May 2009

5 days on Hoh Chang”

The hotel was very clean and efficiently run. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The entertainment group in Breezes Bar were terrific.
Car parking was poor. Not much to entertain small children. Charged 200 baht/hour for using kayaks.

We enjoyed our stay at Amari Emmerald Cove, Koh Chang, very much. The hotel is in a good location, away from the hustle and bustle but not too far away. The room was great and the staff efficient and courteous. The pool and beach area were kept clean and tidy and the ambiance, especially in the evenings, was very pleasant. Only ate breakfast in the hotel, the other meals were too expensive. Enjoyed the evening entertainment in Breezes Bar although there were very few patrons in there.

Reviewed May 12, 2009
9.2
Exceptional
Anthony from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015

Quiet and nice resort”

Koh Chang is one of the quieter getaway islands to visit in Thailand. You can't beat the price at Emerald Cove Koh Chang. Very clean and safe resort. The pool can get pretty packed. The view at sunset is the best. The food was decent.

Reviewed February 08, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Daniel from South Africa
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in March 2016

Heaven on earth ”

Location. Views. Staff.

This was our favorite part of our month long holiday. The staff of the Emerald Cove was outstanding. We spent our days on the beach looking at the view and taking long strolls. This is the place to come to if you want to relax. We had excellent massages at the Emerald Spa and the breakfast was outstanding with many options. We mostly dined to the restaurants just to the left of the hotel, because they were on the beach. If we could we would stay there forever. We were so relaxed that we forgot our flash drive and house keys at the hotel when we checked out and they were kind enough to ship it to us. Excellent service!

Reviewed March 21, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 6 nights in July 2012

A realaxing stay in a room with a lovely sea view.”

Great beachfront location. Large comfortable room. Nice view from large private balcony.

The Amari is at the higher end of accommodation available on Koh Chang. The hotel is well situated half way down the western side of the island in a quiet location away from the main road. The buildings, pool and outside areas are impressive, especially at night time when they are lit up. The hotel has a couple of restaurants that have good reviews and also has many local restaurants close by if you prefer that. The breakfast buffet is served in an area close to the pool with seating both inside and out. The buffet did get busy at times, but the staff handles it well and the selection of food was very good. I'd recommend a room with a sea view. The room we stayed in was quite large, had a nicely appointed bathroom and a big private balcony overlooking the pool and a view of the beach. Although the hotel was fairly busy there was always more than enough sun loungers and shades free around the pool and on the beach. I would definitely return to this hotel again in the future.

Reviewed June 07, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Henrik from Denmark
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 8 nights in October 2015

Fantastic location, but not for "toddler families"”

Tranquille atmosphere, own beach and high standard

We had a very good stay. However, the hotel is not the obvious choice with small children (our toddlers are 3,5 years and nine months). The premises are very beautiful, but not build to disabled people or people with a baby stroller. You have to climb stairs with your stroller etc. every time you move from your room (the building) and to the pool/beach. In addition, the small pool for small children do not have stairs etc. so you have to lift the child and yourself over a small wall to the pool. In other words, a perfect place for couples in all ages or families with big children, but not for families with small children or disabled people. All to do when you stay here is to relax, swim in the ocean or the pool and enjoy the happy hour in the pool bar (beware, prices are high and adds 17 pct. for service and VAT) and eat dinner at the beach on your right hand where 4-5 very nice restaurants serve fresh seafood and thai dishes and cold beers at very, very fair prices (especially compared to the hotel's prices) directly on the beach every evening. The Emerald Cove has a fantastic placement in its own small lagoon (nice, clear water in the sea and good for snorkling). Would like to go back when we are beyond small children:-) P.S. The "city" around the hotel is not worth mentioning, but you can find a 7eleven, some massage places (one is very good and located in a big house very near the hotel - nr. 2 massage place on your left hand when you walk towards the big road and 7eleven), small shops and restaurants and some dodgy bars.

Reviewed November 06, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
SUJIN from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013

i'll definitely visit again. it was beautiful.”

lovely staff. nice view. beautiful swimming pools.

i fall in the w Amari Emerald cove.. it was first time to visit koh chang. i bet this resort is the best resort in koh chang. i'd like to visit w my family next time. oh we had free spa and thry have private beach. so peaceful..

Reviewed August 18, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Matthew from Switzerland
Couple
Grand Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 6 nights in December 2015

A quiet location with great beach access”

1. Great spa. 2. Friendly staff. 3. Large swimming pool.

This is an older style hotel. We had a somewhat old-fashioned room but with good comfort and a balcony where we watched the sunset every evening. This hotel is located on a quiet section of the Klong Prao beach. You could walk in 15 minutes to K.B. Beach or in 10 minutes to the northern part of Klong Prao. Those places have a better selection of restaurants and bars. The hotel also has a private beach where you could walk 4 minutes and reached a few beach front restaurants.

Reviewed December 24, 2015
9.2
Exceptional
Mayley from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe Premium Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2021

Happy Experience”

The hotel close proximity to the beach is what attracted us to book the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and neat. It was an overall happy experience

Reviewed April 18, 2021
6.0
Sungju from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2019

Good for beach time”

very good scenery during sunset.

Reviewed March 31, 2021
8.4
Excellent
Nathaporn from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2020

Superb sea view in reasonable price”

Good place for staying with family or escape from the city. I love the super long pool and active guardsmen. BF was less variety but still ok. Me and my dad were happy about it and will visit again.

Reviewed March 18, 2021

With Thank you very much Khun Nathaporn to get us good comment, More ever you happy during stay was very our expectation Thanks again to stay with us and hope to warm welcome you back again soon./ Peerapol

Responded March 26, 2021
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
Waldemar from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2021

Top resort with a perfect environment”

Resort is a perfect location for the weekend holidays. A very clean resort and friendly staff rounding the impression of Emerald Hotel. It is always a pleasure to stay in this resort.

Reviewed March 08, 2021

Dear Waldemar, We very happy make you a present stay and looking forward to get you comeback again soon. / Peerapol

Responded March 26, 2021
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel
4.8
Shaun from Thailand
Couple
Premium Deluxe Ocean facing
Stayed 2 nights in February 2021

Bad Rooms”

Cons In need of some renovations... the air conditioner in the unit we were staying at couldn’t cool below 25 degrees celsius. Hot water from the shower and tub was room temperature at best. TV barely worked and kept flickering... Decor is extremely dated... Hotel robes and slippers had stains... Pros Location was convenient, hotel is by the beach, and with a 7-eleven convenience store nearby. Hotel staff were okay.

Reviewed March 01, 2021

Dear Shaun, First of all thank you for our comment, seriously we will put your point to improve and Very sorry to make you unhappy during your vacation hope to get you back again to see how we improved ;-) / Kind regards, Peerapol

Responded March 26, 2021
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel
6.0
WACHARACHAI from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2020

Good location”

so so hotel

Reviewed December 25, 2020
3.6
Suthida from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe Premium Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2020

Not a 5 star hotel”

The room was dirty with stinky old smell to it. Bedding & pillows have unpleasant smell for previous guests. Empty cleenex boxes in bathroom. The hotel doesn’t have a real sandy beach front & have to walk over to play in front of other hotels. Buffet dinner was horrible & the buffet line were empty the entire time for dinner.

Reviewed December 14, 2020
10.0
Exceptional
pankaj from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2020

Good hotel with good facilities ”

Hotel is good for family, no problem t corwded at all during holidays also, great rooms size with favility

Reviewed December 12, 2020
9.6
Exceptional
Nongja from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in December 2020

nice and good service”

everything is good. recommend the hotel to provide more shower gel and shampoo. one small bottle is not enough for 2 persons.

Reviewed December 11, 2020
7.6
Very good
wilfried from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in November 2020

"Almost" perfect, but !”

The Hotel is very beautiful, the rooms a well decorated and big. Breakfast was only average, no fresh coffee, no such things like cheese, salmon.... The staff was friendly and useful. Very dangerous are the coconut trees, they don't cut the coconuts even there was a quiet heavy storm!

Reviewed December 01, 2020
9.2
Exceptional
Siriwan from Thailand
Couple
Grand Premium Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in November 2020

Good but....”

It's necessary that they start to repair things who is gone broken for example the floor around the pool. Its dangerous to go around the pool when the tree in the floor is broken. Also repair the lamps who is around the pool and other tree floor. The hotel is very good but this take down our picture of a five star hotel. It's so easy to fix why don't do that immediately?

Reviewed December 01, 2020
8.8
Excellent
Sten from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in November 2020

First visit to Koh Chang”

The Emerald Cove is a hotel which is about 15 years old. The rooms are large and the location and facilities very nice. Shopping and restaurants are located nearby the resort. Good value for money, since all hotels has promotions during this difficult period.

Reviewed November 27, 2020
8.4
Excellent
graham
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2019

Perfect location”

THis hotel has an impressive 50m pool!

Reviewed November 13, 2020
8.4
Excellent
Angela from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2020

Short break during the pandemic”

So quiet here during this time, the comfort was not quite the same as it used to be and the mini bar was empty. The room needed airing, a damp smell filled the air and the pillows had that stale smell too. The breakfast was mediocre as it wasn't the buffet due to low occupancy, you could chose from a menu. My husband ordered a plain omelette but it came with onions and tomatoes in it. Would probably not return in a hurry

Reviewed November 12, 2020
5.6
Supatta from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in January 2020

Reception was so unfriendly unhelpful I did complain with manager she just ignore it. ”

One of the receptionist was so unfriendly unprofessional I been called to complain with manager and she said nothing no apologies! so disappointed with the money I paid. The room is dirty smell smoke in the room.

Reviewed November 04, 2020
8.4
Excellent
Marama from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2020

Lovely facilities, Great value for money”

We’ve stayed here a few times and the service is always good. We were upgraded upon our arrival and the facilities were clean and comfortable. The pool is great and there is a great place on the beach to watch the sunset. We will come again!

Reviewed September 11, 2020
10.0
Exceptional
Narawit from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2020

Great stay!”

The hotel is well maintained. Room, pool, and its landscape are all great. Staffs are so friendly and good help. Location is in a heart of Koh Chang, many shops are in a short walk. Only minus; the beach space is quite narrow with some trashes, however, no problem with the sea, calm and clear. Will stay here next time

Reviewed September 06, 2020
9.6
Exceptional
Ms.Nutnapin from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2020

Beautiful hotel with the great beach ”

Staffs are friendly and helpful. the hotel is very beautiful with private beach area,breakfast is good . I will go back to stay hetel for sure .

Reviewed August 31, 2020
8.0
Excellent
ANON from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in July 2020

Very good”

good view , good location

Reviewed August 03, 2020
2.4
Eric from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 5 nights in July 2020

The property is old, very old. The staff don’t care making your trip pleasant. ”

The floor in the room is used - many different colors and also damaged. The furnitures are old ones, the desk must be 10 years old. The mini bar is indeed a mini fridge The air cond control is so old that the plastic color in now yellow instead of white The wall painting has different colors depending the room wall .... Not a 5 stars hotel for sure

Reviewed August 02, 2020
8.8
Excellent
Pan from China
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2019

Viry nice experience”

Good location, nice private sand beach,very big swimming pool, various breakfast

Reviewed July 23, 2020
7.6
Very good
Thomas from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 1 night in July 2020

The 5th star has already faded”

During COVID-19 in July 2020, the hotel was nearly empty with few staff attending the rare customers. We booked Deluxe room with sea view. The room is big with 50 sqm, clean and well maintained, but many of the installations are getting worn out and are lacking freshness. The sea view is lateral. For Deluxe we would have expected some tropical flowers or a complimentary fruit bowl. Both were missing, so why Deluxe. The general condition of the hotel is degrading, as well as the attention to details is lost. In the dining room was in July still a banner “Happy New Year 2020”. The breakfast is served to order. The hotel maintains a restaurant with a minimalistic choice of fried rice, pizzas and very simple food. On the main road about 300 meters are several local food joints. The swimming pool is huge. The sandy beach with shallow waters is more for splashing than swimming. A serious setback and annoyance are the sand fleas, that are pestering the stay. My wife and I had skin rash with blisters and had to apply some medicines to counter the scratching. We had experienced the presence of sand fleas already some years back. For this reason we will not return to the Emerald Cove.

Reviewed July 19, 2020
2.8
Bandit from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in July 2020

Wait 2.5 hours to get the room!”

I went there during a long holiday and it was a nightmare on front management. At first, I had to wait 30 mins to get the room and they even gave me the room that wasn't fully cleaned! I went back to tell front desk and then had to wait about two hours to get the clean room. They also claimed that it's a sea view room but actually it's facing the parking lot with no privacy and a little view of the sea. Room is big but really loud if you get the room on 2nd floor (they have 3 floors in total). Think hard before you book this.

Reviewed July 13, 2020
8.4
Excellent
Tappawat from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 1 night in July 2020

Great location nice long pool”

Great location nice pool along the beach but other in room facilities should be provided for guest like sandal hair chome etc

Reviewed July 12, 2020
10.0
Exceptional
Alan from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in July 2020

Nice hotel ”

All good very clean room and relaxing

Reviewed July 11, 2020
6.8
Good
THANONGSAK from Thailand
Group
Deluxe Premium Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2020

Cleanliness ”

Very clean and nice services

Reviewed July 10, 2020
4.4
haitao from Thailand
Family with teens
Premium Deluxe Ocean facing
Stayed 1 night in July 2020

Acceptable”

Poor service from the reception and seems they do not have enough staff for supply their five star hotel service. For sure it is not my first choice for my future visit at Koh Chang.

Reviewed July 07, 2020
8.0
Excellent
Florence from Hong Kong
Couple
Room Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2019

great breakfast and ambiance ”

good facility and quiet. the private beach was nice. breakfast restaurant opens early and not crowded. no issues.

Reviewed June 03, 2020
9.6
Exceptional
Stefan from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe Room with Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2020

All good”

All good

Reviewed April 21, 2020
5.6
Anders from Sweden
Couple
Room Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in March 2020

Above average”

Stort hotel nonchalant personal dålig service, gog frukost,

Reviewed March 17, 2020
6.0
Johan from Belgium
Couple
Room Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2020

Nice hotel”

Nice hotel to relax in Koh Chang. All facilities are available at the hotel and most of the staff is friendly. It is located at the beach but as a minor point this is not the most beautiful part of the hotel area; there are way more beautiful beaches to swim in Koh Chang. The hotel itself with pool and accommodation are very nice, as well is the breakfast. It is a very. Ice hotel! We were satisfied.

Reviewed March 13, 2020
10.0
Exceptional
Anastasia from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2020

Stacy”

Awesome swimming pool, delicious Thai food, bar happy hours on sunset time is perfect. Everything was pretty good and highly recommended!

Reviewed March 10, 2020
10.0
Exceptional
Shawn from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Premium Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2020

Looking forward to a 3rd stay soon.”

Wonderful resort with friendly staff, superior accommodations and great food.

Reviewed March 01, 2020
5.2
Benjamin from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in February 2020

Outdated & badly maintained”

Area are nice and all facilities of a 4* there, but everything not in a good condition. In this circumstances the Hotel can't be more then 3* and a fair price for the rooms must be at least 30% down.

Reviewed February 29, 2020
8.4
Excellent
Fritz from Switzerland
Couple
Grand Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
Stayed 5 nights in February 2020

A little more management effort needed to reach 5 stars”

First off all: This is a nice and recommendable hotel with mostly friendly staff in a beautiful environment. I would suggest to book a room in the second or third floor and certainly facing to the inner side off the hotel. But you could even accept a first (ground floor) room, because they cleverly installed also daytime curtains. I would not suggest the rooms to the backsides. Rooms are spacious, clean and have a comfortable bed. Why not 5 stars? Unfortunately the bath room doors are very annoying fold doors towards the bed instead off going to the entrance area. This is not convenient for people sleeping in front of it, especially not because these fold doors make noise when opening. Much easier to improve would be to make sure that the sun beds are cleaned. The quy said the does this every day, but was not able to clean two beds in a proper manner. I‘m quite sure that he has never hat a training how to clean - an certainly did not do it in the five days we spent there.

Reviewed February 19, 2020
4.0
marko from Finland
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in February 2020

Out dated rooms and hotel overall”

- Many of the rooms have funky smell because they use furniture that collects moisture. This was our biggest issue because we travel with one year old baby and spend much time in the hotel room. Our friends (2 rooms) also had sae issues with their rooms - the hotel was almost one hour late when we tried to check in at 14:00. We get in the room 15:00 - the bed sheets were not fresh in my opinion - the service in many cases was superslow - we had to change key cards couple of times because they stopped working suddenly - this hotel should be rated 3 stars (i have been to Dewa, Awa, K.B. Resort, Mercure and those hotels were much better with the service and the rooms were great) + kids room + nice pools + good breakfast + nice beach + good for children (stuff to do and easy access to pools)

Reviewed February 18, 2020
10.0
Exceptional
Taranyoo from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Exceptional”

Very very very best. Good fun and ok for everything

Reviewed February 18, 2020
6.4
Good
Richard from United States
Couple
Deluxe Premium Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2020

Smoking everywhere”

There did not appear to be any designated area for smoking. Guests smoked anywhere and everywhere. Plastic trash in ponds was not removed for the entirety of our four day stay, disappointing. Staff were not overtly friendly, perhaps because of the attitude and actions of the Eastern European guests.

Reviewed February 13, 2020
8.8
Excellent
Robert from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Premium Room
Stayed 10 nights in January 2020

Spacious accommodation, good facilities.”

Excellent staff, food & beverages

Reviewed February 12, 2020
6.8
Good
Kasper from Denmark
Family with teens
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 5 nights in February 2020

Very good hotel, but no good beach”

The hotel is extremely Nice and Nice located next to the ocean, but there is not Beach with sand just a step Down in rocky sand and water. If the hotel had been at White Beach it souldronning have been perfect

Reviewed February 05, 2020
8.4
Excellent
Linda from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 9 nights in January 2020

Excellent”

Lovely setting, with well kept gardens. Great size room, very comfortable. Plenty of sun beds for guests . Peaceful and relaxing

Reviewed February 05, 2020
10.0
Exceptional
Steven from United States
Couple
Grand Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2020

Beautiful resort”

Room was spacious and comfortable. This is a comparatively smaller resort with lovely grounds, swimmers have the choice of a beautiful pool or beach.

Reviewed February 03, 2020
10.0
Exceptional
marcus from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in January 2020

all good”

Good location.

Reviewed January 08, 2020
8.8
Excellent
Manfred from Italy
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in January 2020

Very good Hotel on the island”

The Resort is nice and clean, good staff. Our room was really spacious, big bath room, comfy bed, every day zwo bottles of free drinking water supplire. The outside area is beautiful, a big pool especially for who likes to swim lengths. Private beach in front of it, beautiful sunsets

Reviewed January 07, 2020
10.0
Exceptional
afsar from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in January 2020

excellent ”

best of best !!

Reviewed January 05, 2020
4.8
Andy from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in December 2019

Over rated hotel”

We've been with a large family, elders to young children for new year. First the staff was not enough for this period of time with this number of guests. Some are really nice but many were not trained properly and not polite. My wife is Thai so we were not looking for English speaking staff (most are). The rooms are not cleaned properly, we have the picture of the mop passed on only even not half of the room, many part are broken and not replaced (bath, shower, room), the sea is not directly accessible but only via several steps as a 1.5m wall is built between the sea and the sandy beach of the hotel (not shown on the websites), the food takes hours to be served and the staff is only available at the bar, not enough sunbeds (classic in most hotels). In the true we didn't care that much and had a good time, but this hotel is way over rated and disappointing. I feel the hotels close by are better value.

Reviewed January 03, 2020
8.8
Excellent
Beat from Switzerland
Couple
Room Deluxe
Stayed 14 nights in December 2019

Good”

Silent hotel with big pool and clean beach

Reviewed December 25, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Dirk from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in December 2019

Could use some more attention to detail”

The hotel is very nice but there are some shortcomings not worthy of a 5-star facility.

Reviewed December 23, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
JINTANAKATI from Thailand
Business traveler
Premium Deluxe Ocean facing
Stayed 1 night in December 2019

peaceful ”

The keycard doesn’t work but good service mind.

Reviewed December 22, 2019
null