Book Now: The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel

Excellent
From 1992 reviewsSee what guests said
8.6
/
10
Recommended by 92% of guests

Reviews of The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (1990)Booking.com Reviews (537)
8.6
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.9
Facilities8.7
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality8.7
Service8.7
Value for money8.4
All languages
All guests (1990)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 1462 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
Marko from Croatia
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 4 nights in May 2019

Value for money, ideal to relax”

Place was quiet and perfect for relax. Very spacious room with balcony and sea view. Very polite personnel, exspecially Miss Piyathida on reception who provided us with many info. We had car but there is Tuk Tuk service (50 baht per person) that can be arranged by reception. Near hotel there s clothing shop, 7/11, scooter rental shop. Poll was super large and there were 2 smaller pools near by. Breakfast had nice selection of various foods. Place is about 18 km from Center point ferry port. Very quiet and relaxing.

Reviewed May 13, 2019
8.0
Excellent
chatchai from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Nice and useful staff , good room and fit for family ”

Overall is good , few point is concern 1.Beach is not friendly for kid to play 2.Some part of toilet is yet to repair and upgrade , 3.Tap water is not nice , getting test *not sure is it normal for island use water

Reviewed May 08, 2019
8.8
Excellent
STEPHEN from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Premium Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Nice resort on the beach with good facilities”

We arrived early, around 11am and thought that we could get an early checkin as the hotel was quite empty but were disappointed that they would not allow us to have the room until 2pm. Apart from that the hotel was great, excellent breakfast and good restaurants with a pool bar. We enjoyed it and would stay again.

Reviewed May 07, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Jaroslav
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Very good”

We enjoyed all the facilities of the hotel: it has amazing swimming pool and great beach front. The room was beautiful as well, however no mosquito nets. Now, the staff at the reception has to be trainned on their English skills. We had a huge problem when we wanted to depart from Ko Chang to Ko Mak as we were provided with a completely incorrect information about the boat schedule (according the to reception staff it goes every hour). So we booked a taxi pick up at 12 PM but the next morning when we arrived to the check out the staff informed us that actually boats are going just 2 times during the day and all of them are gone . It killed all our plans for that day as the accommodation on Koh Mak was already arranged. The manager on duty was absolutely unprofessional when tried to deal with the issue. It messed up all our experience with the property. Please, show your customers some respect and try not to catch them on a lie every minute.

Reviewed April 17, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
graham from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in November 2018

Oasis”

A beautiful resort set on the beach with comfy beds and very good staff. We highly recommend it and will return. You are close to Kae Bae and a good variety of restaurants too. Terrific pool and bar area for a relaxing drink before dinner.

Reviewed April 17, 2019
8.4
Excellent
mark from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Premium Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

Good, but...”

This is a good hotel but i don't think worthy of 5 stars. The pool and lounger areas are great the rooms nice, but wifi. The wifi in the room is non existent there was a letter of apology stating issues, but it was just as bad after, and my 4g didn't work inside the room also. One afternoon the hot water wasn't hot, I had to call and asked and was told they are working on it, it'll return after 6pm, but wasn't on again until the following morning, but it was the lack of communication. But, something I've never seen in another hotel, upon checking in at reception I was asked for my visa card to cover any incidental, this is normal, what wasn't normal was 2,000b deducted just in case, then i was informed that it could take 2 weeks to be returned, other hotels just record the number and make sure it's active to cover any bills and it is deducted upon check out. It's a nice hotel but to be 5 star there should be no room for customer dissatisfaction

Reviewed April 08, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Bruce from Canada
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 8 nights in March 2019

Disappointed ”

The resort in the whole is very nice and it’s good value for the money however a couple of things make this a 3 star resort. The resort is getting old and needs a renovation, it doesn’t take much to realize it’s worn down. The staff are friendly however service is not consistent - they bring drinks to you if you order to the pool area but no one is walking around asking if you need anything, they are loosing out on potential sales. We are one time at the restaurant and our meal took forever. Housekeeping was inconsistent - we had water one day but they forgot the rest and they forgot to leave us towels for the pool everyday. The buffet was good but it was practically the same food every day - it needs to be mixed up more and kept warmer.

Reviewed March 17, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Rhea from Thailand
Family with young children
Double or Twin Premium Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Long weekend getaway”

The hotel is a bit on the old side but we enjoyed our stay nonetheless. Got a room with a perfect view of the pool and the sea. Staffs are nice and attentive.

Reviewed May 21, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Andrea from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in December 2018

Close to everything ”

A 7-11 opposite and a lot of eateries a ten minute walk away. If you’re to lazy to walk, there are always songtows waiting outside. I suggest taking them or walking to the eateries as there is virtually no parking for cars anywhere. The staff were very friendly and treated us very well from the time we checked in until we left especially when they heard it was our anniversary. Lovely pool and a decent breakfast. Ample sun lounges but not much of a beach front. Go to Kai Bae beach just 2km away. Limited parking available but always managed to park. Someone is always on hand to guide you.

Reviewed December 23, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Pollyanne from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Nice hotel, very relaxed vibe, good beach.”

Pros: clean, quiet, good man made beach, lovely entry to the sea for swimming. Not as crazy/tacky as other parts of the island. Nice cocktails. Cons: there are wild dogs on this island (not at the hotel). Don’t stay out too late if you’re not in a large group, stay in well lit areas where other people are around. The dogs are territorial and will chase/growl. My husband nearly got bitten and we’re proper dog lovers!

Reviewed December 19, 2018

Dear Pollyanne Greetings from The Emerald Cove Koh Chang. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are very happy to hear that our hotel met your expectations in terms of the sea, beach, pool, service and food. Regarding the dog which you found in our hotel, our team members are briefed to keep watching and observing to avoid any dogs will come to our hotel area once again. We are looking forward to your future visit when you have plan to Koh Chang. Kind regards, Putthithorn ONGSIRIKUL Resident Manager

Responded December 21, 2018
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel
4.8
PARMVIR from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Terrible service”

in summary, the worst seafood BBQ you could imagine. On display raw chicken on ice sitting next to fish. could not see the purpose of displaying this, given that most people know what chicken looks like. the buffet itself was so bad, slivers of what looked like fish sitting dry and inedible! The buffet at 800bht per person was a joke, not asingle fan to cool the food let alone it's diners. Upon check-in in our wifi did not work, and made numerous calls to the front desk, nothing was done until the second day of our stay and went to the front desk to complain. Lot's of apologies but not a single person could make a decision of what to do, blank faces! Our room did not get serviced until 7 pm each evening, what a joke. The only redeeming feature this hotel has is its 50m pool and a nice breakfast.

Reviewed April 22, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Kelly from Canada
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in March 2019

One of the best Hotels in Koh Chang”

The rooms are clean & comfortable. Pillow top bed. Separate bath tub & shower. Balcony with table & chairs. TV has some satellite movie channels (Fox) Breakfast buffet was great. Restaurants for dinner were good and reasonably priced. Large pool was great. Comfortable sun beds. You can walk a long way down the beach. I have been many times and will return.

Reviewed March 18, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Agnieszka from Poland
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018

Very good value”

This hotel offers very good value for money. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfasts are great and the swimming pool is the biggest I have ever seen at a hotel. The beach is very long here and not overbuilt. There are a few other restaurants close to the hotel.

Reviewed October 29, 2018

Dear Agnieszka Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Emerald Cove Koh Chang We are delighted to read that you have a wonderful stay with us and share your impressions of the pool, rooms and the quality of the breakfast. Hoping to welcome you very soon when you have plan to Koh Chang Best regards, Putthithorn ONGSIRIKUL Resident Manager

Responded December 25, 2018
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
Alon from Israel
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018

Had a wonderful stay at the Emerald Cove”

It's a beautiful hotel, right on a well maintained private beach. The hotel has a huge pool, with plenty of sunbeds (on the beach as well). The room was spacious and comfortable, with a large bathroom and all the amenities. We enjoyed sitting in the balcony everyday. The breakfast had many options, and it was very good. I have nothing but great things to say about the Emerald Cove, highly recommend.

Reviewed October 26, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jonathan from Canada
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Professionally run high end resort”

Pros: Resort taken care of very well. Well designed with artistic red lanterns in the night. Staff looked after the place diligently cleaning and scrubbing all day. The pool was even cleaned from loose leaves 4am in the morning. Pool large and clean. The room was large and the furniture high end, bed was 5 star, sheets perfect and towels all of high quality. The staff were sometimes alittle shy but all were very professional and tried their best to look after their guests. Cons: Weak wifi signal in my room, although depending on the position of your room relative to the wifi routers, this might not be an issue for you. Lack of covered parking also a small issue which will leave your vehicle cooking hot under the midday sun. Overall great value it was for me during low season. And fairly, your experience may vary depending on season and stress levels of the staff during peak seasons.

Reviewed September 10, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Gjorgi from North Macedonia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

We had a great stay there”

Great value for money, the resort is really nice, spacious and nice rooms, nice pool, very relaxing and natural environment. The restaurants in the resorts are okay, there are better options outside in the area though. Would go back.

Reviewed July 10, 2018
5.6
David from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Disappointing check out”

Was made to wait 30 mins at check out while staff checked room, yet staff failed to notice I left an expensive item in the room. Staff should take more care when checking rooms at check out.

Reviewed May 02, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Claus from Denmark
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in February 2019

Great beach, nice hotel”

Not the newest hotel, but not run down. Staff is as mostly in Thailand, very helpful and polite. Quite big rooms, very clean. The "cheaper" ones are facing the back of the hotel, with view of the road and a small lake, not the best of views but in the shade during the afternoon. Breakfast is great, huge selection of different kinds of food. The beach is great, didn't use pool but it's huge. All in all a very good hotel, wouldn't mind coming back.

Reviewed February 21, 2019
7.2
Very good
stephen from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018

weekend break”

great location, and easy to get to other part of the local villages. The breakfast was very good, and on average the food was OK. beach could do with a clean. the guys that did the Muay Thai in the mornings were great, and really made this activity fun. whilst lying on one of the sunbeds on the sand, a baby coconut dropped from a tree and smashed my Tab, which was in a beachbag next to the table, when I mentioned it to the reception staff, they didnt seem at all interested. we are going back to Koh Chang soon, but will look for another property this time.

Reviewed January 01, 2019

Dear Stephen Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Emerald Cove Koh Chang and thank you for taking your time to share your comments. It is a real pleasure to have you and your family with us. My sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience during your stay with the coconut dropped from a tree and smashed your tab. As we are in tropical climate, we have monthly coconut's cutting and trimming program to upkeep the condition of our beach and pool area. And all front desk staff had been brief seriously for any guest's comments should be bring up to the management teams right away. Again, please accept my apology and I hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future when you have plan to Koh Chang. Warm regards, Putthithorn ONGSIRIKUL Resident Manager

Show more
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
Jason
Family with young children
Grand Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018

Beautiful Resort on great beach!”

The Emerald Cove Koh Chang (formerly an Amari property) is a beautiful property located on a very soft, white sand beach and easily accessible by car or taxi. We stayed for a week and really enjoyed all of the facilities. The staff were very nice, although many they seemed bored which is somewhat surprising. Anyway, the resort is beautiful and looks out over a calm sea and the sunsets are amazing! The happy hour is great as is the fantastic themed dinners on the beach! The rooms are nice but are definitely showing their age. The internet service is sloooowwww and inconsistent.. When I did some searches for the hardware they were using for their WiFi it was about 10 years old. Time for an upgrade! Guests want and need high-speed internet. In 2018, not having high speed internet is a deal breaker for those remote workers (like me) who travel with their family. All in all a great resort and we will return!

Reviewed December 16, 2018

Dear Mr.Jason Urban We are glad to know that you had a wonderful vacation on your recent trip to The Emerald Cove Koh Chang and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We have already shared your comments with the team to see how we can use your valuable feedback to improve our services moving forward/ It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and wish you all the best until your return to Koh Chang! Best regards, Putthithorn ONGSIRIKUL Resident Manager

Responded December 17, 2018
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel
8.8
Excellent
Ian from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 8 nights in November 2018

Lovely hotel and location but damp problem in rooms”

The hotel and grounds were beautiful. The hotel is peaceful, classy and in a good location, with a selection of shops, supermarkets and restaurants within easy walking distance. Hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean and staff polite. However, there is a slight damp issue within the rooms (I guess due to the high humidity) - my shoes went moudly in the week we stayed and everything always felt slightly damp. The 50 m pool was amazing - lovely and warm, a good depth throughout and never crowded. There were plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas for shade, both around the pool and on the grass/sand area. The beach itself was narrow, but the sea was crystal clear, warm and you could walk out a good distance without it being too deep.

Reviewed November 25, 2018

Dear Ian Thank you for your constructive feedback. We appreciate your comments and suggestions. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve. Your comments will be reviewed carefully and will take appropriate actions as we strive to create the best holiday experience to our guests. You are helping us deliver great customer service to our other guests in the future. Thank you for your feedback and for choosing The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel. We hope to see you again soon when you have plan to come to Koh Chang. Warm regards, Putthithorn ONGSIRIKUL Resident Manager

Responded November 26, 2018
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
Khanit from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

An enjoyable stay”

Great overall. Good breakfast.

Reviewed April 22, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Ahmed from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Beach, pool, restaurant, all was good!”

Thank you!

Reviewed April 16, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Andy from Hong Kong
Group
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018

Exceptional”

everything good

Reviewed April 14, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Nopphamon from Thailand
Couple
Grand Premium Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Everything here is perfect ”

Everything here was perfect Staffs are caring and nice Worth paying money to stay in such a great place for vacation Food is delicious ^^

Reviewed April 13, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Ileonora from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Great staff”

The place is amazing and the staff make the place beautiful. Helpful, informative and service standards A1

Reviewed March 26, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Supaporn from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Overall is good.”

A good choice of hotel at Koh Chang, plenty of facilities for guests, superior room is very spacious at 50 sq.m. Price is very friendly, it is a good deal & staff service is also good.

Reviewed March 09, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
simon from Sweden
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in March 2019

Nice hotel with great facilities and staff”

The impression from start to finish was really good, staff was really accommodating with the wish for our family to stay in the same room and upgraded us to a corner suite.

Reviewed March 08, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
andreja from Slovenia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

We loved it!”

We loved most of it: very nice room and great bathroom, delicious breakfast (loved the soup!), the 50m pool, the beach, everything, except the location to go out in the evening is boring.

Reviewed March 03, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Dominick from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in April 2018

Nice Place”

Great Facility, good breakfast. Beach is a little weird, hard to enter the sea. Must go to neighboring resort to enter the sea. But the hotel itself is lovely. Not recommended for single guys on the make: far away from the action. Better for families and couples. Singles should probably stay near White Sands. Live and learn.

Reviewed April 26, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Siriporn from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Relaxing ”

I would receommend this place to anyone who wishes a quiet nice stay in Koh Chang. The beach is really beautiful and very quiet makes me feel really privacy. The hotel is for a couple or family but a solo traveller like me is perfect if you are looking for a luxury stay for holiday or weekend getaway. Pro - Good location/ Convenient Con - Expensive

Reviewed April 11, 2018

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your stay with us and happy to hear that you enjoy for your holiday. Hope you will consider us to be your stay for the next holiday. Hope to see you soon. Best Regards, The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Team

Responded April 11, 2018
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
Leonardo from Switzerland
Couple
Premium Deluxe Ocean facing
Stayed 6 nights in December 2017

Amazing sunset view and clean place”

The hotel is very clean, beautyful beach, very courteous management (Mr. Jonnie) and the staff were allways friendly. Good place we will for sure spend our holydays at the Emeraldcove. Only contra was the whole week the same Christmas music at the breakfast.

Reviewed December 25, 2017

Dear Leonardo Thank you for taking the time give us you review. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff. We are very glad to know you were pleased with the hotel overall. We look forward to hosting your stay once again and continuing to meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly and it will be my pleasure to assist you if you have any questions or concerns. Thank you for choosing The Emerald Cove Koh Chang! All The Best, Witthaya Sukhampha Resident Manager

Responded December 30, 2017
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel
8.8
Excellent
Satit from Thailand
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

One of the best”

I will definitely go back here again. The rooms were great and clean. It has one of the better sandy beaches compared to many of the other hotels in ko chang, but has to be on low tide. There is not much a beach left of the highest tide, but still the water is nice and clear.

Reviewed December 11, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Kostiantyn from Ukraine
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017

Cozy hotel, good value for money.”

Good: Cozy hotel with private beach and nice facilities. Big pool. Attentive and friendly staff. Good breakfast, and they have baby chairs Nice, clean and spacious rooms. Well cared internal territory that look good at night and during the day. Several restaurant around, personally I like The Best Food Bistro place nearby (in addition to very good food they have baby chairs) Neutral: Car parking could be improved

Reviewed October 20, 2017
8.8
Excellent
kongsak from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Best location in the island ”

Everything in this hotel is perfect while the room is a little bit old but I still recommend this hotel to my friends since I had a beautiful moment along my holiday.The pool is very nice and clean. Sea bar is perfect with acustic music in the evening. Beakfast is good and delicious. Staff is helpful.

Reviewed September 06, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
jason from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in July 2017

Very nice stay”

Staff very nice, room had nice bed and always clean. Beautiful swimming pools and lovely beach. Good selection for breakfast and it was a great place to stay. Only thing was the $5000 baht deposit when u check in. That's the most I have had to leave in my 10 years traveling around Thailand. I would stay again if in koh Chang .

Reviewed August 05, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Raymond from Netherlands
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017

Home away from home :-)”

We are admittedly repeat guests. Always feel welcome. Consistently good standard, also in low season. We have not used the spa facility. The outdoor arrangements and pools are in good condition, the pools are a joy. Can wholeheartedly recommend.

Reviewed June 20, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Robert from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016

Nice Resort”

For $100AUD a night it was great value, low season prices. Resort was fantastic, awesome pool & gardens. Very relaxing and not overcrowded even when busy. Beach directly in front of resort has a few rocks so for beach swimming you need to swim left or right of the resort, but this shouldn't put anyone off staying here. Service was 5 star, breakfast had alot of choice. Spa massages were great although at resort prices. Plenty of restaurants on the beach nearby for variation. Rooms are large, bed comfortable.

Reviewed May 12, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Donnabel from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016

Had a good stay”

Wonderful location, beautiful ocean, good location. Only thing that needs improvement is the service in the restaurant. Long wait to get your food.. Otherwise overall is wonderful. Very helpful and polite staff! Im sure I'll be coming back again!

Reviewed April 11, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Ronny from Germany
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016

nice place to relax”

Pool are / Breakfast / frindly and helpfull stuff / very clean

Quite nice place to relax. But some small deficiencies. The first room they offed me had a bad smell like an old wet cellar. I instantly could recognize, that there was a wet part at the wall near the bed (and that for sure not only since a week). For me it was out of reason why the stuff had not recognized it before and why they still offered that room to customers. But anyway within 10 minutes I had a new room that was even more big and nice but still had a light wet smell. So I think this is in general a problem of the rooms at the Basement. So some joss sticks would be a good idea for the rooms because of the wet smell and the Asian flair too. The pool area is very nice but there is wall down to the beach. I understand that this is probably because of the tides but it is not that nice. Furthermore I missed some Asian or Thai influences in the rooms and the Hotel facilities. The room for breakfast even has a mediterranean look. I also think the prices for food and drinks are overpriced. Over all the prices in the menu are without additional 17% taxes. So finally 100 baht for a bottle of national water or 160 Bath for a small Chang beer is too much for Thai standard. For that reason I have seen that most of the customers brought drinks outside or at a nearby kiosk at the beach (btw from 4-6 pm is happy hour ... for 50% the prices are really ok). I don’t know if this is on behalf of the Hotel. But over all the Hotel is at a very nice place. Everything is very clean and sthe stuff is friendly and helpfull.The Breakfast is great and the pool area and the garden are very nice. I think this is one of the best Hotels at the island. For the price of arround 110 USD per night it was a very good offer for me and I would come back for sure. The regular price price between 160 and 200 USD would for me not a very good price value.

Reviewed February 02, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jeroen from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

Great location on the beach”

Location, Pool, Staff

We really enjoyed our stay at the Emerald Cove. The Pool area is nice, staff is friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. You can walk over the beach to the next beach area where you can eat on the beach. We visited the Emerald Cove on my birthday and when we returned to our room after a trip; there was a nice birthday cake complimentary. Found that very attentive; we had a great stay.

Reviewed October 26, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Sally from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 9 nights in March 2015

Wonderfully relaxing!”

Location, location, location!

We last visited Emerald Cove soon after it opened and it was a pleasure to go back! Koh Chang has changed beyond recognition but the hotel remains as lovely as ever! My only criticism would be the food from the bar menu around the pool which was disappointing. The breakfast selection is good although the fruit selection was disappointing and the fruit was usually unripe. We ate at the Italian restaurant which was very good but also expensive, European prices. That said, we had a wonderfully relaxing time in this lovely hotel and the staff were delightful, the beds were very comfortable and any requests (new light bulb, batteries for the bathroom scales) were dealt with promptly.

Reviewed April 01, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
peraya from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015

Suitable for the price”

Professional, cleanliness and properly decorationamd design

I would like to come back to the hotel again. The ABF was great. The Deluxe room type was booked 3 days for me and my friend. The room is absolutly nice, clean comfortable and good design. Only 2 thing I concerned with are 1. The bathroom: stink water, 2. Towel: weird smell of towel and

Reviewed March 30, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Knut from Norway
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015

Great hotel with a huge and perfect outdoor area”

Pool & beach area, comfortable room, beautiful decorations & lightning

The hotel offers very comfortable rooms, good restaurants, a great spa and a x,one to perfect pool and beach area, the pool was huge nd it never felt crowded, even when weekend approached and more thai families with kids hit the water. The pool bar was close, serving food and drinks without delay, it all was five star, except for a few issues. The elevator was out of order, which seemed to be a long term situation, giving extra exercise at 3rd floor. And the Italian restaurant was pricey, but elegant. But overall, a great stay at a very nice and high quality hotel. Recommended.

Reviewed March 28, 2015
8.3
Excellent
PIMWALAN from Thailand
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

Private & relaxed stay”

Nice view&location&service

Nice private beach with a good view. Relaxing near the pool is another good choice. Comfortable beds&rooms. Overall, it's quite clean, but they should pay more attention on strand of hair in the bathtub. Once you are their guest, they are helpful & show you great service. However, the price is still too high during high season even on Agoda.

Reviewed February 28, 2015
8.0
Excellent
chate from Thailand
Couple
Grand Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 1 night in November 2014

Good Overall, just little complaints”

Sunset view from the beach, Service from staff and Location

Good - Warm welcome / Staff full of service mind / Beautiful thai-style room decoration / Beautiful sunset view from the beach Bad - Bad smell of tap water in room 340 (like cockroaches) / No supply of toothbrushes and toothpaste / Money charge for available flipflops in the closet (should be free)

Reviewed November 24, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Netthip from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2014

Really love this place & will come back”

Facility/activity, great breakfast, cleanliness

Room is big and very comfortable. View from garden wing is a greet canal, which is lovely&calm. There are a large variety and good quality of breakfast. The best is the activities and facilities provided by the hotel. Large swimming pool, lots of beach bed. Music band at the restaurant. This place is a one stop for everythings. The price during low season is also inexpensive.

Reviewed October 25, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Paul from Australia
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in August 2014

Very good value in low season”

The meals on the terrace were very good value and the same price as restaurants in White Sands but of higher quality. The swimming pool was large - 50 metres. The breakfast was also very good

The hotel is situated on South Klong Pao beach. The hotel in low season is excellent in low season. Being low season the hotel was relatively empty and at times we had the pool to our selves. The only thing I found slightly distrubing and inappropriate was that the hotel appeared to have encroached upon the beach, which of course in Thailand is public land. I was also unable to find public access to the beach and other hotels also appeared to have encroached upon the beach.

Reviewed September 10, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Orapan from Thailand
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014

It's nice hotel with beautiful swimming pool.”

Swimming pool, beach, and room with seaview

I and family is very impressed on staff's attention. I reserved one room with one extra bed for 3 adults and plus one 5-yr old child. The hotel's staff upgraded my room from the standard mountain room to be a bigger room with seaview. Thank you very much

Reviewed July 15, 2014
8.3
Excellent
JORGE from Spain
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014

Relaxing stay in a very good location”

Service, Food, Swimming pool

Everything went well. We made use of many of the hotel's facilities and services such as the swimming pool, some of the restaurants, the bars, the activities arranged by the property... and we were overall very pleased with the service

Reviewed March 24, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Eric from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

It's a nice place.”

Food, beach, and clean

TV needs to be replace with new flat screen. The room is nice and good size. The breakfast offer great selections. The beach was okay, it would be even better if they pick up the debris on the beach often. They have a very good size pool, along with a large size jacuzzi that is frequently used as a children pool.

Reviewed December 20, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Eric from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013

We had a great time!”

Swimming pools, beach, and breadfast.

We really enjoy our stay at Amari. Our kids ages 2 and 4 love their pools, and so did we. The beach water was quite nice. However, I think the beach would be even better if they pick-up garbage that were floating around. There were plastic bags, empty bottles, and other debris on the beach. The staff service and friendliness was okay. I think our stay would be more enjoyable if the staff greeted everyone with a friendly smile. We will never forget our stay at Anantara Koh Samui, because all the staff there greeted everyone that pass by them with a friendly smile. Their service was superb. Amari services sort of lack that friendliness. Overall, I think we had a great stay at the Amari.

Reviewed November 03, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
FAWATTHANA from Laos
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013

perfect hotel”

close to beach, peace, all view in one

The Amari Emerald cove hotel is the one of the best hotel I ever stay, the room is large and luxury, there is free spa and internet in room, the pool is in front of beach you can also seen beach view and the sun set, the stuff are very friendly

Reviewed September 19, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
FAWATTHANA from Laos
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013

perfect hotel”

close to beach, peace, all view in one

The Amari Emerald cove hotel is the one of the best hotel I ever stay, the room is large and luxury, there is free spa and internet in room, the pool is in front of beach you can also seen beach view and the sun set, the stuff are very friendly

Reviewed September 19, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Karan from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013

Excellent hotel with great amenities ”

Excellent service, great food, access to beach

Hotel was great with direct access to beach. Very friendly staff and the food (including breakfast) was magnificent. Recommend this hotel for any couples or family looking to have a relaxing and enjoyable experience.

Reviewed June 05, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Sandy from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in May 2013

Top Quaity room, great setting AMAZING pool & food”

Pool, food and room

We were blown away by the resorts grounds and the pool. It is immaculate and in prime position to enjoy the sun set. We never spend all our time in the resort but everything was so divine we ate all our meals here, enjoyed drinks at the bar and just about everything this resort had to offer. We suspect this is because it is a little way away from most of the action, but 10/10 for everything else.

Reviewed May 18, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Keng from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013

Luxurious quiet place by the beach.”

Very long swimming pool, by the sea, 4 to 5 star service

The transport from the Trat airport was smooth both ways, so it created a good impression from the beginning. Arriving there was also greeted with helpful and smiling staff. Check was fast and very soon at the room. Room was on a top floor and had a view of the sea and pool, so it was a nice room. The swimming pool was very long so good for swimming laps. However due to long weekend in Bangkok, the place was crowded. After the long weekend, things became more relaxed and enjoyable.

Reviewed May 17, 2013
8.3
Excellent
LEE from Singapore
Couple
Grand Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 1 night in May 2013

very short but very relaxing holiday”

cleanliness , superb foods and large room with nice bathroom

I stayed at Centara for a day and extended another day at Amari due to overbook at Centara. It was Fantastic at Amari. Very Quiet and Peaceful. There is nothing much in the island but if you are someone who is only go for relaxation, this is the place...

Reviewed May 15, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Shaheena from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in February 2013

Great for chilling out”

Long swimming, ample amount of loungers, good breakfast.

had 6 days of relaxation heaven by the beach. very comfortable room which had all the facilities you could want. close to restaurants and minimarts. quiet and peaceful most of the time. only noise was the odd karaoke from the hotel next door, but that all quietened down by 10pm. overall it was a great place to stay.

Reviewed February 18, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Nada from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013

Nice hotel, great swimming pool”

Great spa, very attentive and friendly staff

We stayed here on our honeymoon. It was lovely. There are there restaurants plus a bar cafe and plenty of activities in or around the hotel, so you could stay here the whole time, if you wanted to. The pool is lovely and there are plenty of sun loungers by the pool and along the waterfront which offer very nice views. The spa treatments were excellent. One of the best features was the attention to detail by the staff. They were very proficient and had arranged for a special honeymoon suite for us complete with rose petals and chocolates.

Reviewed February 05, 2013
8.0
Excellent
David from Australia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012

Pricey hotel but nice”

Service was very friendly, very nice beach location

We checked in during a very rainy week. It rained very heavily whilke we were at the poolside bar, so we just enjoyed happy hour cocktails while it bucketed down all around. happy hour cocktails were amazingly good value! When we went up to the room later that evening, were disappointed to find hot water was not working - major disappointment, as tried to take a warm bath in the evening no hot water! Called reception and they found out that there was no hotwater in that block due to a recent system failure, yet they had put guests in the block! Poor organisation. We were invited to shift rooms and to make it a bit more palatable they upgrade us to a seaview room, which was nice. However, the aircon was not working correctly, and we had to get maintenance to rectify the next day! I note that the folding type bathroom doors were a little quirky and noisy to use, especially at night, when one does not want to disturb others sleeping. Perhaps more conventional door arrangement would be more user friendly and quiet, especially at night! The rest of our 3-night 4 day stay was very pleasant. Staff were always superb in responding to any request. Unfortunately, the beach front had a lot of debris on the bottom, washed up by some heavy weather prior to our arrival date - this was the wet season, and totally out of the hotel's control. Once out of the surf zone, the water was pleasantly clear again!

Reviewed October 12, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
jeff from Australia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012

The best location and Service”

Location and facilities

By far one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in. We stayed in the ocean view deluxe suite and were not dissapointed. The pool was divine to swim in and the jacuzzi was great. A perfect place to walk along the beach and dip your feet in the water. The Amari has a fabulous array of delights for breakfast. And the Service we received was fabulous and very ploite and went out of there way to help.

Reviewed July 16, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Andreas from Germany
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in April 2012

Lovely Hotel with wonderful pool ”

Breakfast near by the pool fantastic

very nice Hotel beautifully integrated in the nature and the coast. Swimming in the big pool is wonderful but if you want to swim in the sea you have to walk for a long time, because there is most of the time no or no deep enaugh water to swim in. Nevertheless we would come again because except no swimming in the sea everything else is perfect. The Gym is not very attractive but that´s what we didn`t come for.

Reviewed May 05, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Ole from Sweden
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012

Amazing hotel”

Rooms,swimmingpool

Excellent hotel with everything you can ask for.Very friendly staff and even since we had some rain during our stay, we kept busy with all the other things do do in Amari Emerald- massage etc We will for sure be back asap!

Reviewed May 03, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Robert from Ireland
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011

Beautiful”

Close to the beach,the view is breath taken

the staff are very helpful always there to make you feel special. the food on site was excellent. the look of the hotel is beautiful, gardens,ponds and recreation areas. the only drawback was the aircon in my room it had a mind of its own it did not matter what you set it at it would drop to 18c with full fan, i complained 2 times and once they tried to fix but they were unable while i was there, so that ment another cold night.

Reviewed December 20, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
AHMAD from Australia
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in September 2011

Fantastic Service, Brilliant facilities.”

Location is quiet yet close to everything. Excellent 5 star facilities and services.

The chef at the restaurant gave us an incredible breakfast in addition to the buffet as we are vegetarian. Our stay was so memorable the first time that this was our second stay in less than a year! highly recommended. always eager to please. makes a holiday something very special.

Reviewed November 07, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Kuan from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011

spacious room & full serviced hotel”

olympic size swimming pool

we stayed here 3d/2n to get away from the hustle & bustle of bangkok. it's a nice place to stay as the hotel have all the necessary things that you might need - from gym, to outdoor jacuzzi. the breakfast is ok. however, the room is very spacious & the cleanliness of the hotel is superb.

Reviewed August 17, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Ludger from Germany
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in May 2011

Very nice hotel with excellent service”

Huge Swimming Pool

we have been many times on koh chang and we think, that this hotel is probably the nicest one. nice clean rooms, good size, nice balcony. also we did enjoy an excellent and very efficient service. the swimming pool (i think it is a 50 meter pool) is perfect. and really this hotel has enough sunbeds at the beach and at the swimming pool. jacuzzi and swimming pool can be used in the evening as well.

Reviewed May 21, 2011
8.3
Excellent
CHEN from Taiwan
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in May 2011

a genuine five star resort”

comfortable stay

we arrived at 8 pm and greeted with a drink and smiles that took our fatigue away. the room was big and bathroom was big with bathtub and seperate shower room. we booked a room with balcony facing outside hotel, although cheaper but view is not so good. spend more money for garden view is recommended. the restaurant inside also offers delicate food with reasonable price.

Reviewed May 19, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Zsolt from Hungary
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in May 2011

Great hotel on an unspoiled island”

5* service, good location, spacious room

Koh Chang is a lovely, undeveloped island, quite unique in Thailand. Amari is 14 km from the pier (Sapparot Pier), close to a lot of nice restaurants, the beach looks good, and the overall service is great. The room is big enough (we were in a corner room, it was even too big for the number of furnitures we had there), the bathroom is very beautiful, Overall if I go back to Koh Chang, which is quite possible, I would stay there again.

Reviewed May 11, 2011