Book Now: The Empire Hotel and Country Club

Excellent
From 1281 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
/
10
Recommended by 96% of guests

Reviews of The Empire Hotel and Country Club Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (1281)
8.7
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness9.1
Facilities9.4
Location8.2
Room comfort and quality8.6
Service9.0
Value for money8.4
All languages
All guests (1281)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 939 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
SYANDRA from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Will come again”

The facilities, activities, foods and scenery were just superb. Will definitely come back again. The buggy ride was definitely helpful to get around to the many recreational areas, as they are quite far away from one another.

Reviewed April 15, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Carmen from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

amazing and majestic hotel”

excellent comfort and facilities , amazing view and location, delicious breakfast and various activities around the hotel premises. Very good place for both business and a relaxing day away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Reviewed April 29, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Sheila from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Deluxe Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Enjoying our stay”

I booked this hotel for my husband’s birthday on 26th January 2019 and Empire hotel provide a complimentary birthday cake for my husband too, which is beyond our expectation! Our room also has nice beach view, staff was so nice, humble, helpful and our son enjoying the swimming pool much! Thanks for the great services. Will stay here again in the future!

Reviewed January 27, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Wei from Singapore
Couple
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

The perfect place for a getaway!”

No doubt the price is on the high side but you definitely get the value from it. Everything is pretty much to or exceeded expectation - its a great balance of scale, grandeur and tranquility. Access to the country club is a big plus for the active individuals which we are. Thoroughly enjoyed my 3 days in Empire!

Reviewed December 19, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Andrew from Australia
Family with young children
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Great family stopover”

Staff service and friendliness was exceptional. Main pool was amazing and swim up bar. Pool was closed for 2 hours on Friday for prayer time which was not great timing given we only had one night there. Despite that we had a great time. Room was very nice with pool access. Very quiet particularly in the Lagoon wing. Didn't get a chance to use many of the amenities. Dinner at Pantai was very nice and reasonable price for a resort buffet. Shops near reception were also nice with little cafe with great pastries and coffee, which was a great alternative to the busy buffet breakfast.

Reviewed April 14, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Allan from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

Affordable Luxuary”

Beautifully appointed and presented hotel. Certainly a 5-star experience. Service was excellent from concierge, through reception and rooms. Fine dinning at each of the different restaurants. Breakfast a real feast. Ambience never to be forgotten.

Reviewed March 05, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Arlene from Philippines
Group
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

exceptional - definitely Brunei's Best”

the photos cant do justice on how amazing this property is. they got nice and accomodating staff! also their room it's huge and we fall inlove the moment we come in. the only downside that i experienced was - your overnight stay would not be enough to enjoy the whole property. this is a must when visiting brunei please do yourself a favor and stay atleast 3 days in this property.

Reviewed August 24, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Cheng from Malaysia
Group
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Golf Trip ”

Booked the hotel via Agoda, booked the golf package differently as to wait for confirmation of members to take part, resulted cannot tie up as golf package and have to pay extra fee for meals and drinks

Reviewed July 26, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Rio from Philippines
Couple
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

Super upscale but prepare to shell out $$$”

Would have been perfect if breakfast was included. Everything is expensive so be prepared to shell out BND 30 for breakfast, another BND 30 for lunch and upwards of BND 50 for dinner. Iced tea costs BND 7-8... we did food delivery on our second day to keep within budget. Other than that, you’re going to stay in a little piece of paradise. If that’s what you expect, you’re going to get it at Empire!

Reviewed July 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Sunshine from Philippines
Family with young children
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

ONE OF THE BEST HOTELS I HAVE BEEN TO”

Love this hotel from the entrance to every corner. Hotel staffs are very kind, polite, they speak good English and super helpful. Hotel is squeaky clean ! Hotel is majestically designed . Food is great Buffets are super affordable my opinion it’s cheap and super yummy Will definitely going to return here 😍

Reviewed July 09, 2018
8.8
Excellent
david from Thailand
Family with young children
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

A vast hotel with 500+ rooms on the coast about 20mins from downtown Bandar Seri Begawan (BSB).”

A little expensive but so much to offer with multiple pools, lagoon, beach, kids club, golf course, bowling alley, movie theater, etc, etc. Staff were EXCELLENT. very well-appointed rooms. Complimentary buggies to whisk you around the sprawling grounds. Highly recommended for a night or two of splurge!

Reviewed May 30, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Saznizam from Malaysia
Family with young children
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Favourite getaway in Brunei”

The facilities are well maintained. Breakfast is delicious with very friendly staff. Dinner at the Chinese restaurant there is fantastic. Lots of fun activities to do like cycling around the beach, kayaking and there is a large and enclosed play area with sand and water for kids

Reviewed January 28, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Ehfan from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Been few times here & still loving it ❤❤❤”

Pro : love the bed, easily fall asleep 😍 Con: the pillow smell a bit weird, like someone's sweat 🤢

Reviewed April 08, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
chris from United Arab Emirates
Family with young children
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Truly beautiful ”

Outstanding on all levels

Reviewed April 05, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
KHAIRUNNAZREN from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Different world”

Different part of world.Enough said

Reviewed March 24, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Norliza from Singapore
Couple
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018

Amazing stay!”

We were in Brunei for a friend's wedding. After looking through the other hotels in Brunei, we decided this is the best looking accommodation (from pictures). And we weren't disappointed. The commendable service started from the airport pick-up, excellent attitude and professionalism from the staffs who picked us up. The arrival was welcomed with smiling staffs who greeted us warmly. The check in was smooth (early check in) and we were escorted to the room in a buggy. The English spoken by the staff was excellent! We had the sea-view room, it was amazing. The facilities in the hotel were excellent as well; during our stay, we managed to play bowling, snooker, cycling and even catch the latest movie at the theatre in the hotel! We managed to dine at Zen Pavilion Jap restaurant, it was great! If you were to travel to Brunei, be it for business or leisure, The Empire Hotel is the only place to stay. Kudos to the team at The Empire, keep up the good work! 10/10 will come back to stay!

Reviewed March 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
John from Canada
Couple
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 6 nights in February 2018

Best Hotel Ever - Seriously!”

We have stayed in approximately 150 hotels over the last 6 years, all over China and South-East Asia. I will remember the Empire Hotel as the best of all. It was not the most or least expensive but it was worth every penny we paid. The staff were like family and I mean that in a good way. It was not in the best location but IT WAS THE LOCATION. Most of the time guests stay in a hotel so that they can travel around to see and do things in the local area. At the Empire Hotel and Country Club, people from the local area travelled to the Hotel to do things there. It was the best place to be. The rooms were so clean and bright. There was great food of all kinds everywhere. There were pools and beaches and a golf course with a driving range and a cinema and so much more. I wanted to stay much longer than we did.

Reviewed March 03, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Garidja from Philippines
Group
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Excellent”

Overall stay was nice and superb. Just want to comment about the staffs. 99% of the staffs are nice and accommodating. Downside: There is this one female receptionist (somewhat chubby -- i forgot to get her name) who we find arrogant and not-so-customer oriented. I hope further trainings such as basic customer service must be given. They should always answer in a polite eay and not offend guests with their choice of words.

Reviewed December 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Keeran from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 4 nights in May 2017

Incredible hotel for the price”

Anywhere else in the world you would be spending thousands of dollars per night. The rooms are opulent, large and 6-star class. If you are staying in Brunei, there really is no better choice you can make.

Reviewed August 19, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Goh from Singapore
Group
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Clean and big”

Pros: As the hotel name shows, it is very big. From hotel lobby to the room we are staying, there is the buggy service to bring us over Room is big and clean. Even better than the pictures shown If you enjoy peace, good hotel. Cons: Alot of the facilities are down. Restaurants also down. Quite quiet at night.

Reviewed February 13, 2017
8.8
Excellent
LEILEI from China
Couple
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017

Good hotel but normal service”

The hotel itself is good, especially the lobby area, quite magnificent. However, the dining experience is just OK, the breakfast quality barely ok, the seafood buffet does not seem worth $50 (SGD). The beach and the sea are not that clean, maybe during the monsoon season?

Reviewed February 04, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Ameerali from Malaysia
Couple
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

Amazing Hotel”

The hotel was so luxurious that it felt like we were in a palace. The facilities were amazing. And the location is absolutely gorgeous. Definitely would recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a quiet getaway with absolute peace and relaxation.

Reviewed November 10, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Charles from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016

Excellent hotel for business travelers”

The hotel is very comfortable, as are the rooms, which are huge and well appointed. I was put in a block a considerable distance from the main hotel so it was a bit of a long walk. Sadly, no breakfast with an Agoda booking

Reviewed February 20, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Jeng from New Zealand
Family with young children
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Marvelous Hotel with amazing architecture”

1. Remarkable building structure 2. Friendly Staff 3. Wide range of facilities

I was certainly amazed by the hotel itself and the astonishing surrounding views. However I must say unless your are planning to visit the Jerudong Park or just wanna stay in the hotel and relax, I would not recommend this hotel as it is expensive and far from everything.

Reviewed November 25, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Katherine from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

A must when visiting Brunei”

Amenities, Beach and pools, Service

We visited Brunei for a vacation. Stayed in the city for 2 nights and 1 night at The Empire. We toured the city for the first few days and relaxed at the Empire on the last 2 days. I think that worked quite well. It was such a pleasant experience, very relaxing and my daughter enjoyed this hotel very much because of the nice beach, pools, kids club and country club amenities. Plus we watched a movie in the cinema located within the resort! Great stay!

Reviewed August 13, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Charles from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

A very comfortable hotel”

Huge, well equipped rooms, accommodating staff, lovely location

the hotel is to a high standard throughout. Of course, there is no alcohol but the contents of the mini bar are incorporated into the cost of the room. However, I feel that the hotel is too expensive and so not great value for money.

Reviewed January 17, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
AVELINA from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

Nice stay”

ammenities, pool and view

It was Ramadan when we went to Brunei. Most restaurants are closed during the fasting hours. The Hotel was good. it is on big territory, with beautiful sea view and landscaping. It has many huge buildings with variety of amazing facilities. The spacious rooms were great! there are many restaurants with international cuisines, but the need to work more on the quality of food, for such luxury this quality of food is not acceptable, i love the food in the Japanese Restaurant, the rest are normal or less.

Reviewed August 28, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Lee from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Nice hotel and polite staff”

Clean, friendly staff and good facilities

The hotel is within 10 minutes drive to the town area. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a newly renovated restaurant here with great buffet menu with nice and beaufiful scenery at reasonable price. The facilities are great and we enjoyed swimming at the pool. You can enjoy walking around at night in cool weather. The room is clean with comfortable bed. Highly recommended to tourists.

Reviewed August 29, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
henry from Philippines
Couple
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013

extremely luxurious..beyond comfortable! ”

impressive structure & luxurious interiors including the rooms numerous great amenities.

ultimate pampering beyond expectation! the place is awesome! the staff are so helpful & attentive. this is certainly a perfect place to relax and just enjoy all the amenities the hotel generously provided. highly recommended hotel! though the breakfast could still improve by adding more appealing main courses.

Reviewed July 26, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Weicheng from Taiwan
Family with teens
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

Six stars hotel”

Everything

The hotel area is so large that they carry guests by buggies (the car used in golf course by electric power). But if you like to walk after a huge meal, you can also try a pleasant walk by the trails with green bushes and chirping birds. That is better if they provide shuttle to Jerudong Park Playground. Because the transport is not so convenient at night in Brunei.

Reviewed February 20, 2013
8.7
Excellent
TAI from Malaysia
Group
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012

The largest hotel ever. 180 acres!”

9 swimming pools. nine!

we enjoyed the free bowling clinic and bowled for one hour without charges. the mocktail making class was informative and we had free mocktails! we tried their famous batik cake but found it too rich for our liking. we signed up for cycling tour but there was only 4 bicycles and we had to wait long as other guests were using them. they need to get more bikes. the hotel was huge and impressive. clean and well maintained. the lagoon pool was under cleaning and maintenance for one week, unfortunately.

Reviewed November 07, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Francis from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Empire Hotel Jne 12”

Facilities

If it’s opulence and grandeur which appeals, and if Brunei is on your radar, then a stay at The Empire Hotel and Country Club is one of those must do jaunts. In that sense it’s in the same category as other iconic properties such as the Peninsular in Hong Kong and the Oriental in Bangkok. (Although I think the E & O in Penang is equally if not more enchanting.) In the spendthrift hands the Sultan’s brother no expense was spared on construction and fit-out but regretfully in the light of chronic low occupancy, some signs of lack of maintenance are starting to show! However if you seek relaxation and pampering together with a broad array of water and other activities, including golf naturally, then this resort has magnetic appeal. Don’t look for the crowd however – it’s a bit like staying in a semi- deserted castle!

Reviewed September 04, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Camille from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012

Very grand hotel”

Salt water lagoon, spacious room and bath, dimsum buffet at Li Gong Cafe

my family and i stayed at the emperor hotel for 5 days. there's nothing much to see in brunei so we spent most of our time inside the hotel. the hotel is a tourist spot itself. we enjoyed taking photos on every spot of this very luxurious hotel. some reviews say that ithe hotel is quite outdated already but when we went there, we get to appreciate it's classic charm and beauty. we tried the restaurants in the hotel and it did not disappoint. the pizza in spaghettini was superb! the dimsum buffet in li gong was excellent.

Reviewed August 27, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Huey from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012

Royal & Luxury hotel”

nice hotel service staff, nice rooms facilities

i went there with my few business partner so that we book few rooms in this hotel. this hotel was a typical rates for 5 stars and above, it was awesome for my 2 nights stay in this hotel. big room, big bed, nice hotel staff and so on. will pick this hotel for my next visitation,but there was a cons for this hotel, their internet was too expensive, as we are business traveler, we need internet access for our trip, the price shouldn't too high for the guest, the room price should cover the internet charge as well..

Reviewed July 24, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Huey from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012

Great Location + Great Hotel service staff”

big room + nice view

i'm just went there for my business trip, this hotel was just suit for all type of traveler, especially for couple traveler, nice ambiance + nice environment, other than business trip, it can be a good location for a relaxation trip. the things is there was no night life over here, so after the dinner time, nothing much spent over there.

Reviewed July 24, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Michelene from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012

Majestic Hotel”

Extravagant Upgrade to Ocean View, Ambiance and Decor, The VIEW!, Big Rooms, Full of Activities, Different Experience, Customer SErvice

The moment our family stepped inside the lobby, they were astounded with the grandness of the hotel. We werent expecting much because of some of the bad reviews from Agoda that it is not well maintained and outdated. We were pleasantly surprised because although not perfect (busted bulb of lamp, clogged sink, informally dressed receptionist at 3am), everything else was simply perfect!!! It definitely has a wow factor - 7 floors of all glass view of the ocean and gardens, first class club amenities, bowling with kids play area inside, theater with updated movies, all sorts of activities everyday from zumba classes to aqua karate, professional employees! We had such a comfortable stay that my family wants to go back here again

Reviewed July 20, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Ka from United States
Group
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in July 2012

Best resort in the country”

Service & facilities

Excellent resort and most likely the best one in the country. Glad that we booked this so we could spend one whole day there enjoying the spa, kayaking, afternoon tea, and the sunset panorama. Service is professional and rooms are clean. Food is great too! Highly recommend!!!

Reviewed July 19, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Ken from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012

Very Nice Hotel with Good Services”

Best Hotel Facilities in Brunei

Very nice hotel with good staff performance! I like and enjoy it very much in there! Very big hotel with a lot of facilities including outdoor and indoor as well. It is an ideal place for leisure and business purposes. The food price is reasonable and delicious as well. Overall, VERY good value for money!

Reviewed July 12, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Kristy from Singapore
Business traveler
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012

Great View”

Spacious

the room is spacious. it has a big king size bed. there is a small sofa in the room. there is a bathtub in the washroom. the toilet is a separate cubical. the internet speed is fast. overall the room is clean, neat and a great view facing the ocean.

Reviewed June 26, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Kristy from Singapore
Business traveler
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in November 2011

Nice Hotel”

Great View

It is a beautiful hotel. It is clean and neat in both exterior and interior. The room facing the ocean view is fantastic. The speed of the internet connection is fast but it is chargeable. I have tried the breakfast and it has a lot of variety to choose from western and chinese cuisine.

Reviewed March 29, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Kristy from Singapore
Business traveler
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 3 nights in February 2012

Great Hotel”

Great View

The hotel exterior itself is very beautiful. The room is clean and neat. The room facing the ocean view has a full view of the sea. The room internet connection is fast. It is chargeable. I have tried both breakfast and dinner. They have a wide variety of international cuisine.

Reviewed March 29, 2012
8.0
Excellent
HARUO from Japan
Couple
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011

Great golf hotel”

Golf course and friendly staff

hotel has a great 18 hole golf course and friendly staff. the course was well maintained and reasonably priced for what was offered. staff were friendly and catered our needs well. hotel room was a little old but renovations were in place to rejuvenate the hotel. hotel offered many activities and transport service into town was great and helpful.

Reviewed January 04, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
David from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 7 nights in November 2011

Fabulous place to stay for a relaxing time”

No need to leave property, everything is on hand, great restaurants, fabulous pools

A hotel with everything, great ocean location although out of town for people who like to people. The entrance is amazing, marble columns and gold leaf everywhere, outdoor pools and an amazing indoor pool at the country club, a few metres from the main hotel Range of restaurants, chose a different one every night Great value if you upgrade to the EClub, breakfast, internet,high tea afternoon tea, mocktails of an evening included We have stayed at the Empire 3 times in the past 2 years, spent New Years Eve there in December 2009, best firework display ever and again in August 2011 and have just returned from another week this November, at this fabulous place A small negative is no entertainment of an evening except cinema

Reviewed November 15, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Youheng from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011

Lovely Hotel”

The furnishings and the sheer size of the hotel!

Excellent stay, check in counter staff were first rate. We got a free upgrade from a garden facing suite to a sea view unit which was a nice surprise. the beach view we had was one of an isolated beach stretching out to nowhere. it was absolutely beautiful.

Reviewed November 09, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Arkadi from Australia
Family with teens
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 4 nights in July 2011

The hotel you can't realy fault”

Totally relaxing, big rooms, amazing throughout

First thing which comes to mind once you arrive to the hotel is that you arrived to a fairy tale. Amazing lobby, spotless rooms and delicious menus in all three restaurants. Very friendly and helpful stuff. I wouldn't even call it a hotel; it's a full blown luxury resort. There are two cinemas which are screening new releases.

Reviewed August 01, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
LEE from Taiwan
Group
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in July 2011

Good hotel for vacation”

Facilities

The location is a bit of far from the downtown, and thus you might need to spend some money taking shuttle bus provided by the hotel. The fare is quite resanable, as they charge B35 for taxi, and B60 for the van. The facilities is excellent, and you'll have great vacation there.

Reviewed July 18, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Allan from Singapore
Group
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in June 2011

A Grand Hotel”

Luxury

The Empire Hotel is located about 20 minutes drive from the city centre. The rooms are huge with large balconies and toilets. There are several swimming pools in the hotel. As it is also a country clubs, do not forget to visit the facilities there too. I had dinner at the Chinese restaurant which I thought teh food was good.

Reviewed July 02, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Ching from United States
Solo traveler
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in June 2011

Great hotel, but services could be improved”

Nice ocean view

First time in Brunei so went and tried out the supposely 6-star hotel. The hotel definitely has the looks and location of a 6-star, but the personnel are definitely not. They can train their staffs to better serve the customers.

Reviewed June 14, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Sony from United States
Business traveler
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011

The best in Brunei!”

Great architecture, wonderful presentation and design

99% of hotels in Brunei are disappointment to stay, but not this one. It is a few bucks more but the value vs. your money is really solid! I highly recommend for any discriminating traveler to patronize this establishment. It's the only good choice in boring Brunei.

Reviewed March 20, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Kristy from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in January 2011

Lovely view”

Comfortable bed

if you happen to get the seaview room, the view is fabulous. the room is spacious, bed are big and comfortable. the international buffet breakfast is nice too. the bathroom and bathtub are big as well.

Reviewed January 25, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Kristy from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in November 2010

pleasant stay”

friendly english speaking staff
no wireless internet facilities

the hotel is suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The location is very convenient and safe. The rooms are neat, clean and tidy. The front desk and housekeeping staff are all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast over at the lobby lounge is great and the price is reasonable.

Reviewed December 02, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
vivian from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in October 2010

great location perfect for vacation”

pool
gym

we are just lucky enough to have this chance to stay at this hotel, it turns again a perfect bonding time for me and my parents, i highly recommend this hotel to people for short vacation, it really nice coz one will find all they need in this hotel, gym, pool, restaurant cinema....you will really be relax and just simply tell yourself that the vacation is worth it....and life is good to have this kind of wonderful vacation

Reviewed November 17, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
Yasamin from Australia
Couple
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 3 nights in August 2010

unbelieveable hotel!!!!”

huge and there is so much to see and do
maybe a few more cafe's would be nice

I have stayed at many fantastic hotels including the VERSACE HOTEL at the gold coast in australia but the size of the empire hotel blow me away!!! it was so huge and so much land to walk around in and discover. and if you like sport then there's golf and a million water-sport activities that you could do on your stay.

Reviewed August 08, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
RONALD from Netherlands
Couple
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 6 nights in December 2009

One week in Brunai”

Must see hotel
no / infrequent shuttle service

We stayed week at the Empire and had a wonderful stay. The room was luxurious as were all the public areas. We changed rooms to improve the view, and staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet offerred a huge amount of choise. There are several restuarants on the grounds to choose from: the pool side thai / sea food restaurant was our favotite. We thoroughly recommend the hotel for whenever you have to go to Brunei.

Reviewed April 18, 2010
10.0
Exceptional
Jeungkyun from South Korea
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in August 2009

One night unforgetable stay”

It was joyful one night stay
no

I stayed two days in downtown small hotel in Brunei and last night in Brunei I stayed in the Empire resort. It was nice and pleasant stay for my family. Hotel allowed me to check out 2pm for taking Brunei air. I enjoyed pool and beach and gorgeous hotel facilities. It was unforgetable memory for my family

Reviewed August 28, 2009
9.2
Exceptional
chan from Hong Kong
Couple
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

High quality service and facilities”

Worth to stay there at least two days

Reviewed April 25, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Michael from Indonesia
Family with young children
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

VIP guest ”

If you like to be treated like a VIP then this is the place to come. One of the best 5 star hotel and country clubs. Everything you need for the family. Golf, bowling alley, cinema, swimming pools and private beaches. This is the playground for the Brunei Royal family. The hotel is beautiful but always empty so there are plenty of staff to look after you.

Reviewed June 28, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Regent from Philippines
Couple
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Stay at least 2 nights to really enjoy all that it has to offer.”

Majestic and service was excellent. Facilities are well maintained but is starting to show its age. But perhaps that now is starting to add to its grandeur. Kids will definately love the pool & adults will have a lot of areas to explore within the hotel and country club.

Reviewed June 06, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Jiamin from Singapore
Couple
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018

wonderful stay”

we came during the Ramandan month, there is no much food and activities in Brunei, therefore, the stay at the hotels is the highlight of the trip. Recommend to rent a car as well if you stay at the hotel so that you could travel to the town area easily.

Reviewed May 31, 2018
7.6
Very good
MD from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Very good”

Check out time was too early (11am) despite we had to check-in late that day. The shower had a blocked drain and our special request was ignored. Breakfast was not included apparently. Nevertheless, it was still a decent short stay for us

Reviewed February 07, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Soh from Singapore
Couple
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Great view from room”

Had a relaxing stay at The empire. There is a Movie theatre within the hotel area, was fabulous, not crowded. Beach view from room was great.

Reviewed March 28, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
TAEHUN from South Korea
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

great hotel”

Overall, it's great. However, I stayed in Dong-dong, but I can hear water when I take a shower in the next room. I hope it will improve.

Reviewed October 09, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
John from United Kingdom
Group
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018

Exceptional”

Quiet, peaceful, very high quality room, excellent view from balcony Staff were very helpful, attentive, efficient and friendly The whole complex is beautiful

Reviewed October 09, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Subsai from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018

❤️”

❤️❤️

Reviewed July 16, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Subsai from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

True Empire!!!! Best hotel ever seen”

Total facility is more than excellent

Reviewed July 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Katie from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

Fantastic luxury hotel with all the amenities!”

Luxurious feel to the hotel, lovely rooms with all of the mod cons, free minibar filled daily. Staff couldn’t do enough for us, extremely helpful! Lots of food options and the buffet evening meal was superb! Best ice cream I’ve tasted! Beautiful pool area and lots of activities including indoor sports, kayaking and golf. Would visit again!

Reviewed April 07, 2018
8.4
Excellent
JungHee from South Korea
Solo traveler
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Brunei for this hotel. ”

I was with my mom and sister for 2 nights. I was impressed by the various facilities such as cinema, country club and huge swimming pools. Plus, staffs are professional. Honestly, nothing much to do in Brunei but if you book this hotel, it will be big part of your travel in Brunei! 😉

Reviewed April 05, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Simon from Thailand
Solo traveler
Ocean Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018

Good Stay in Brunei ”

Overall, a very enjoyable stay Pros: 1 Location was decent. Close to airport and near enough to City of BSB. 2) Hotel has good facilities. 3) Staff, particularly Concierge and at Reception were very helpful. Cons: 1) Food offerings were fine overall, but nothing special. No Brunei food on offer as restaurants cater to its guests own cuisines. There is an Asian buffet, but I think most countries would want to showcase their own food more prominently. As the Empire is the leading Hotel, I found this lack of Brunei food strange 2) Food at poolside was very ordinary 3) Hotel is a huge facility and feels a bit empty even though occupancy was high over CNY. Not much that can be done about this. 4) More chairs and umbrellas to give shade at poolside would be helpful

Reviewed February 20, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Michelle from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Room (Free Internet Access)
Stayed 5 nights in January 2018

Massive resort with all the trimmings”

We stayed at the Empire for 5 nights and got a free upgrade to a sea view room. It's the hugest resort I've ever seen but only very few guests were there. Almost felt like we had the place to ourselves. Breakfast was delicious and varied, staff was always helpful and friendly, we enjoyed the swimming pool. The beach is not really worth mentioning. There are many activities you can do at the resort besides golf, at the country club there's basketball, table tennis, squash, a gym etc.

Reviewed February 14, 2018
7.6
Very good
Amir from Brunei Darussalam
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Beautiful hotel”

Nothing negative about the hotel, however the hotel could not find my Agoda Booking in their system. Good thing i printed out my hotel booking from Agoda to confirm that the room was booked and payment was made before i checked in (payment was made, checked with my bank). However the hotel reception called me up 2 or 3 times to confirm whether i have made payment to Agoda etc.. As far as I was concerned, that discussion should have been between Agoda and the Hotel; not me. But the staff was apologetic and courteous, and i did not want this little incident to ruin my stay. Overall enjoyed myself at the hotel. Worth checking out! just make sure you print out your booking details and check with your bank that payment was made.

Reviewed January 05, 2018