The Guards Hotel
Classic Double Room The Guards Hotel
Interior view The Guards Hotel
Interior view The Guards Hotel
See all 33 photos
Removed from saved list
7.5
Very good
/10
(30 reviews)See what guests said
See map
8.5
Excellent
Location rating score
Excellent location - 690 meters from city center
  • Edinburgh Castle830 m
  • Camera Obscura and World of Illusions1.36 km
  • Royal Mile1.55 km
  • National Museum of Scotland1.74 km
  • Edinburgh Old Town1.74 km
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh2.03 km
  • Palace of Holyroodhouse2.4 km
  • Calton Hill2.59 km
  • Arthur's Seat2.75 km
  • Royal Yacht Britannia4.73 km
  • Free Wi-Fi

    The Guards Hotel

    1 Clifton Terrace, Haymarket, Edinburgh, United Kingdom, EH12 5DR - See map
    "Ideally located immediately adjacent Haymarket train station, airport tram & bus links, and local bars and restaurants."
    Lawrence - July 31, 2018
    Exceptional comfort
    9.0 room quality and comfort
    Excellent service
    8.1 rating for service
    • 120 meters to public transportation

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Bar

    • Golf course [on-site]

    • Shops

    Value for money7.3
    Location rating8.5
    Nearest airportEdinburgh Airport (EDI)
    Distance to airport9.2 km

    Rooms available at The Guards Hotel

    9.0
    Excellent
    Room comfort & quality
    Suite
    Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 13 m²/140 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Triple Room
    Triple Room
    ...
    • Non-smoking
    • Shower and bathtub
    • 3 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Luxury Double Room
    Luxury Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 13 m²/140 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe Twin Room
    Deluxe Twin Room
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Classic Double Room
    Classic Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Single
    Standard Single
    ...
    • Non-smoking
    • Shared bathroom
    • 1 single bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    room
    room
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Deluxe Room
      Deluxe Room
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices

        What people love about The Guards Hotel

        • 6.8
          Good
          Cleanliness

          "Nice comfy bed and clean bedding."

          Shirley

          |

          October 19, 2017

        • 7.2
          Very good
          Staff 

          "Staff friendly and helpful."

          Thomas

          |

          October 15, 2018

        • 6.8
          Good
          Location

          "Good location."

          Shirley

          |

          October 19, 2017

        Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

        Prices drop the moment you sign in!

        Sign in now
        More about The Guards Hotel

        More about The Guards Hotel

        9.6
        Exceptional

        "Fantastic accommodation for the price."

        Lawrence

        |

        July 31, 2018

        An overview

        Show less

        Most talked about facilities

        What they offer

        10.0
        Exceptional
        Cleanliness

        "It was spotless and very comfortable."

        Emma

        |

        September 17, 2017

        View all reviews
        Show less

        Nearest essentials

        Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
        Show less

        What's nearby

        Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
        Show less

        Property's guest policies

        Show less

        Some helpful facts

        Show less

        What guests think of this property

        Overall rating
        7.3
        Very good
        From 814 reviews
        Provided by verified guests of
        Agoda Reviews (30)Booking.com Reviews (784)
        Rating via Agoda7.5
        /
        10
        Cleanliness7.4
        Facilities5.9
        Location8.5
        Room comfort and quality9.0
        Service8.1
        Value for money7.3
        High score for Edinburgh

        Most recent reviews for The Guards Hotel

        Solo traveler
        Stayed 3 nights in May 2019
        Standard Single
        Exceptional9.6
        ExceptionalThis hotel is a good budget choice for Edinburgh, where most of the hotel rates border on extortion.
        Kennethfrom United StatesReviewed May 20, 2019
        Couple
        Stayed 1 night in October 2018
        Classic Double Room
        Very good7.2
        Very goodRead some bad reviews about the hotel but our room, although very small was scrupulously clean. Bathroom was actually a wet room but looked new. Excellent shower and hair and body wash supplied. Lots of tea and coffee supplied. Although the door was closed when we arrived, it was answered when we rang the bell and were able to leave our bag which had been delivered to our room when we arrived. Due to the size of our room, would not want to stay for more than one or two days but there may be larger rooms available and if they are all as clean as ours was, would have no problem recommending the hotel. Staff friendly and helpful.
        Thomasfrom United KingdomReviewed October 15, 2018
        Business traveler
        Stayed 3 nights in September 2018
        Standard Single
        Review score5.2
        Nice person at reception - That is where the good things end.The booking site does not indicate that the room is a shared bathroom if you wold like to experience what it would be like to stay in a squat, this would be the room to book. Old broken bed stained floors and walls rotting Windows the lot. Being fair , the sheets were clean and cleans towells each day.
        Tomfrom United KingdomReviewed September 28, 2018
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 1 night in September 2018
        Luxury Double Room
        Review score4.4
        Really past it’s prine and dirtyThere were a lot of of problems with this hotel. the room was dirty. Two of the pillows were stained and black and one was ripped. The pillow cases hid this until one came off. The pillows were also flat and hard. The bed had a bar in the middle and sagged on both sides. The couch and chair were stained from years of use. The brutal nds were the same and threadbare. Secondly, the bathroom was awful. The toliet seat was loose. Not only was I not able to sit forward on the seat because my knees hit the wall, but I kept sliding around because the seat was about to fall off. The toliet roll holder was rusting and was behind me when I sat on the toilet so I had to do a yoga pose to try and find it.. The toliet handle was loose. The lid on the trash can was broken from it’s hinge and I just took the lid off. There was mold on the edges of the shower. The clerk who checked me in was really nice and helpful. He fixed my broken bathroom vanity light.
        Ellenfrom United KingdomReviewed September 21, 2018
        Business traveler
        Stayed 1 night in July 2018
        Classic Double Room
        Exceptional9.6
        Budget Hotel in Prime LoactionFantastic accommodation for the price. Ideally located immediately adjacent Haymarket train station, airport tram & bus links, and local bars and restaurants. The adjoining Guards Club bar has limited choice, but has lots of Guards history and friendly staff so it's worth a visit. Having arrived by train it was a perfect overnight stop before continuing my journey the next day. It's worth noting that the reception is not 24hrs, so if you're arriving very late or very early you may need to work this out in advance with the hotel.
        Lawrencefrom United KingdomReviewed July 31, 2018

        Reviews of The Guards Hotel from real guests

        Overall rating
        7.3
        Very good
        From 814 reviews
        Provided by verified guests of
        Agoda Reviews (30)Booking.com Reviews (784)
        Rating via Agoda7.5
        /
        10
        Very good
        Cleanliness7.4
        Facilities5.9
        Location8.5
        Room comfort and quality9.0
        Service8.1
        Value for money7.3
        High score for Edinburgh
        Rating
        9+ Exceptional (5)
        8-9 Excellent (0)
        7-8 Very Good (3)
        6-7 Good (2)
        <6 Below Expectation (7)
        Time of the year
        Mar - May (5)
        Jun - Aug (5)
        Sep - Nov (6)
        Dec - Feb (1)
        All guests (30)
        All room types
        All languages
        Showing 17 verified guest comments
        9.6
        Exceptional
        Kenneth from United States
        Solo traveler
        Standard Single
        Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

        Exceptional”

        This hotel is a good budget choice for Edinburgh, where most of the hotel rates border on extortion.

        Reviewed May 20, 2019
        7.2
        Very good
        Thomas from United Kingdom
        Couple
        Classic Double Room
        Stayed 1 night in October 2018

        Very good”

        Read some bad reviews about the hotel but our room, although very small was scrupulously clean. Bathroom was actually a wet room but looked new. Excellent shower and hair and body wash supplied. Lots of tea and coffee supplied. Although the door was closed when we arrived, it was answered when we rang the bell and were able to leave our bag which had been delivered to our room when we arrived. Due to the size of our room, would not want to stay for more than one or two days but there may be larger rooms available and if they are all as clean as ours was, would have no problem recommending the hotel. Staff friendly and helpful.

        Reviewed October 15, 2018
        5.2
        Tom from United Kingdom
        Business traveler
        Standard Single
        Stayed 3 nights in September 2018

        Nice person at reception - That is where the good things end.”

        The booking site does not indicate that the room is a shared bathroom if you wold like to experience what it would be like to stay in a squat, this would be the room to book. Old broken bed stained floors and walls rotting Windows the lot. Being fair , the sheets were clean and cleans towells each day.

        Reviewed September 28, 2018

        Hi Tom, We're sorry you feel that way however will not accept the room being compared to a squat. There is an old wooden floor yes but it is cleaned daily and is not dirty, there are old woodened frame windows but neither they or the walls are rotting. Whilst the single room you were in is not en suite you do have your own private bathroom which you are given a key for and which is situated next to the room. I would bear in mind you paid £83.52 for 3 three nights stay in a hotel and think about what to expect for that. Kind regards, Scott McCabe Manager

        Responded September 28, 2018
        The Guards Hotel
        4.4
        Ellen from United Kingdom
        Solo traveler
        Luxury Double Room
        Stayed 1 night in September 2018

        Really past it’s prine and dirty”

        There were a lot of of problems with this hotel. the room was dirty. Two of the pillows were stained and black and one was ripped. The pillow cases hid this until one came off. The pillows were also flat and hard. The bed had a bar in the middle and sagged on both sides. The couch and chair were stained from years of use. The brutal nds were the same and threadbare. Secondly, the bathroom was awful. The toliet seat was loose. Not only was I not able to sit forward on the seat because my knees hit the wall, but I kept sliding around because the seat was about to fall off. The toliet roll holder was rusting and was behind me when I sat on the toilet so I had to do a yoga pose to try and find it.. The toliet handle was loose. The lid on the trash can was broken from it’s hinge and I just took the lid off. There was mold on the edges of the shower. The clerk who checked me in was really nice and helpful. He fixed my broken bathroom vanity light.

        Reviewed September 21, 2018

        Good afternoon Ellen, We're sorry you were disappointed with the room however I must take issue with it being dirty, it isn't and cleanliness is something we take pride in and which is always remarked positively on. All pillows have either recently been replaced or are in the process of being replaced. Your remarks on the bed are contrary to those which we normally hear. It is a very large clean comfortable room for whom most have no problems with and no complaint, having just checked the toilet seat it does not move at all. I would consider having realistic expecations of what £71.00 gets you in a hotel in the future. Kind regards, Scott McCabe Manager

        Responded September 22, 2018
        The Guards Hotel
        9.6
        Exceptional
        Lawrence from United Kingdom
        Business traveler
        Classic Double Room
        Stayed 1 night in July 2018

        Budget Hotel in Prime Loaction”

        Fantastic accommodation for the price. Ideally located immediately adjacent Haymarket train station, airport tram & bus links, and local bars and restaurants. The adjoining Guards Club bar has limited choice, but has lots of Guards history and friendly staff so it's worth a visit. Having arrived by train it was a perfect overnight stop before continuing my journey the next day. It's worth noting that the reception is not 24hrs, so if you're arriving very late or very early you may need to work this out in advance with the hotel.

        Reviewed July 31, 2018
        5.6
        James from United Kingdom
        Business traveler
        Triple Room
        Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

        Needs some TLC”

        a bit run down and awful shower.

        Reviewed May 04, 2018
        5.6
        TENGHUI from Taiwan
        Solo traveler
        Standard Single
        Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

        Cheap Hotel in Cheap Conditions”

        The hotel is just around less than 3 mins walk away from Haymarket Station, which is quite convenient for travelers who expect to locate a great lodging spot in Edinburgh centre. That this hotel doesn't provide breakfast, however, already decreased half its value. While I stayed in this hotel, to my great dismay, the I was assigned to seemed totally unattended for. The wood on floor looked shamble and the track on which the curtain moved seemed even more abysmal by any standard. I sincerely advise the hotel staff that you should do some refurbishment before you go on business with this condition.

        Reviewed January 03, 2018
        6.8
        Good
        Shirley from United Kingdom
        Solo traveler
        Classic Double Room
        Stayed 1 night in October 2017

        Ok but room needs a make over.”

        Good location. Handy for tram to the airport. Nice comfy bed and clean bedding. Bathroom bit difficult to negotiate but plenty hot water from shower. Not happy about there being no way of securing door from 8nsidr. A bit disconcerting that the yale lock was hanging off the door. I really did not feel safe. Had to move the chest if drawers over to block the door in case of intruders. Even a door chain would have been good.

        Reviewed October 19, 2017
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Emma from United Kingdom
        Solo traveler
        Suite
        Stayed 1 night in September 2017

        Fantastic stay in the windsor suite”

        We stayed for one night in the fabulous windsor suite. It was spotless and very comfortable. Very central and 2 minutes away from haymarket station. The only thing I would say is ypu may need earplugs as it is on a main road.

        Reviewed September 17, 2017
        6.4
        Good
        John from United Kingdom
        Business traveler
        Suite
        Stayed 2 nights in August 2017

        Great location, but maybe too great?!”

        Surprised by the space and convenient location of the Guards Hotel. The room was comfortable with large windows. Sound proofing is not a strong point if you're light sleeper. Fortunately, I was shattered so did manage to get some shut-eye, but external sound resistance was poor. I'd go back for a night but anything longer would require earmuffs. Improvements I'd like to see include more efficient window dressing to shut out the light from long summer nights and, of course, a little more soundproofing.

        Reviewed August 14, 2017
        5.6
        Kevin from United States
        Solo traveler
        Standard Single
        Stayed 1 night in May 2017

        Worst bed ever”

        I sat on the bed and was immediately swallowed into the middle of it. It was like it was a water bed except it wasn't. The shower also had zero water pressure.

        Reviewed May 03, 2017
        4.8
        Suranee from Thailand
        Couple
        Classic Double Room
        Stayed 1 night in August 2016

        Location, Not comportable”

        Location great, Not comportable Not fair price., staffs didn't really helpful.

        Reviewed August 31, 2016
        3.2
        Joekarl from Australia
        Solo traveler
        Standard Single
        Stayed 1 night in July 2016

        Very simple and basic”

        If you're after just basic accommodation to crash at night then this is the place. Otherwise, the carpet at the entrance smelled as soon as I entered then the smell continued into my room. The room I was given did not have a window so I had to keep the exhaust running all the time. Also during check-in the receptionist was in a rush, which I didn't like.

        Reviewed July 25, 2016
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Jourdan from Canada
        Couple
        Classic Double Room
        Stayed 1 night in May 2016

        Great Place!”

        This was perfect for what we were looking for! It was a quick 15 min walk into Edinburgh's old town and even closer to the new town. Massive room, friendly staff, and good price - couldn't have asked for better!

        Reviewed May 17, 2016
        8.0
        Excellent
        anthony from Australia
        Solo traveler
        Standard Single
        Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

        real Scottish experience”

        great breakfast, good location, authentic experience
        Reviewed August 05, 2014
        7.6
        Very good
        Dominik from Germany
        Solo traveler
        Standard Single
        Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

        zu empfehlen”

        Gut gelegen, zur Übernachtung absolut ausreichend für einen Städtetrip oder ähnliches. Preis/Leistung sehr gut.

        Reviewed October 16, 2016
        9.3
        Exceptional
        MATTEO from Italy
        Couple
        Classic Double Room
        Stayed 1 night in May 2015

        Ottimo staff”

        Albergo pulito. Staff gentilissimo e molto disponibile. Ottimo prezzo.
        Reviewed May 25, 2015
        This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

        Back to search results

        Back to room choices

        |

        Dismiss

        The Guards Hotel
        |Very good 7.5
        ×
        Check in. Step out.
        Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

        • Excellent location
        • Edinburgh Castle
        • Haymarket Train Station is within 0.11 km