The Inn Place
HD Image
Standard Double A The Inn Place
Interior view The Inn Place
Coffee shop The Inn Place
See all 32 photos
Removed from saved list
8.9
Excellent
/10
(67 reviews)See what guests said
See map
9.5
Exceptional
Location rating score
Exceptional location - Inside city center
Popular neighborhood
  • Edinburgh Old Town10 m
  • Royal Mile210 m
  • National Museum of Scotland370 m
  • Camera Obscura and World of Illusions400 m
  • Palace of Holyroodhouse680 m
  • Calton Hill850 m
  • Edinburgh Castle920 m
  • Arthur's Seat1.09 km
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh2.12 km
  • Royal Yacht Britannia3.44 km
  • Free Wi-Fi

    The Inn Place

    Cockburn Street, Edinburgh Old Town, Edinburgh, United Kingdom, EH1 1NY - See map
    "Excellent location right on Royal mile."
    Rajeev - July 7, 2018
    Exceptional reputation
    Recommended by 96% of guests
    Exceptional cleanliness
    9.1 rating for cleanliness
    Exceptional service
    9.0 rating for service
    Excellent facilities on premise
    8.3 facilities on premise
    • 170 meters to public transportation

    • Located in heart of Edinburgh

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Daily housekeeping

    • Bar

    Value for money8.5
    Location rating9.5
    Nearest airportEdinburgh Airport (EDI)
    Distance to airport10.8 km

    Rooms available at The Inn Place

    Standard Twin Room
    Standard Twin Room
    ...
    • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Double A
    Standard Double A
    ...
    • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Classic King
    Classic King
    ...
    • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Private Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    Private Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    ...
    • Room size: 27 m²/291 ft²
    • Shower
    • 6 bunk beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Private Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    Private Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    ...
    • Room size: 45 m²/484 ft²
    • Shower
    • 8 bunk beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Room with Bunk Beds
    Room with Bunk Beds
    ...
    • Shower
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe Double
    Deluxe Double
    ...
    • Shower
    Enter dates to see prices
    Triple Room Panoramic
    Triple Room Panoramic
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Double single use
      Double single use
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices
        Basic Twin Beds
        Basic Twin Beds
        ...
          Enter dates to see prices

          What people love about The Inn Place

          • 8.8
            Excellent
            Location

            "The location was 2 minutes from the Royal Mile and 5 mins from Princes Street."

            Katie

            |

            November 29, 2018

          • 8.8
            Excellent

            "The Inn Place was a lovely place to stay for my first trip to Edinburgh."

            Katie

            |

            November 29, 2018

          • 9.2
            Exceptional
            Staff 

            "Modern decor, good location, friendly staff, what else can you ask for!"

            Kit H.

            |

            October 8, 2016

          Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

          Prices drop the moment you sign in!

          Sign in now
          More about The Inn Place

          More about The Inn Place

          8.8
          Excellent

          "Nevertheless the room is spacious imho, clean and loverley b..."

          May C.

          |

          October 15, 2017

          An overview

          Show less

          Most talked about facilities

          What they offer

          9.6
          Exceptional
          Cleanliness

          "Extremely well located, clean, good showers and comfy bed, p..."

          Elizabeth

          |

          August 15, 2018

          View all reviews
          Show less

          Nearest essentials

          Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
          Show less

          What's nearby

          Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
          Show less

          Property's guest policies

          Show less

          Some helpful facts

          Show less

          Reviews of The Inn Place from real guests

          Overall rating
          8.9
          Excellent
          From 2323 reviews
          Provided by verified guests of
          Agoda Reviews (67)Booking.com Reviews (2256)
          Rating via Agoda8.9
          /
          10
          Cleanliness9.1
          Facilities8.3
          Location9.5
          Service9.0
          Value for money8.5
          High score for Edinburgh
          Rating
          9+ Exceptional (25)
          8-9 Excellent (7)
          7-8 Very Good (2)
          6-7 Good (1)
          <6 Below Expectation (2)
          Time of the year
          Mar - May (9)
          Jun - Aug (11)
          Sep - Nov (11)
          Dec - Feb (6)
          All guests (67)
          All room types
          All languages
          Showing 37 verified guest comments
          12
          9.6
          Exceptional
          Ser from Malaysia
          Couple
          Standard Double A
          Stayed 2 nights in November 2019

          Nice hotel ”

          Nice hotel. Just in the beautiful street and near to everywhere. Spacious and clean room.

          Reviewed November 28, 2019
          9.6
          Exceptional
          Laura from United Kingdom
          Couple
          Standard Double A
          Stayed 1 night in November 2019

          Exceptional”

          Really good location, clean spacious rooms. No complains

          Reviewed November 24, 2019
          6.8
          Good
          SOO from Singapore
          Couple
          Standard Double A
          Stayed 2 nights in July 2019

          Not value for money ”

          1.Name of hotel not prominent enough had problem finding it after 4hrs train ride. 2. No fridge 3. No safebox in room 4. No aircond 1.Friendly helpful staff was able to give us a fan. 2. Near Edinburgh Waverly train station 3. Spacious room n toilet 4. Decor uninteresting. 5. No extra pillows in room 6. Restaurants around Royal Mile

          Reviewed September 19, 2019
          10.0
          Exceptional
          gin from Singapore
          Couple
          Standard Double A
          Stayed 2 nights in August 2019

          Good”

          Near to train station , good location and very accomodating. I stored my luggage at the inn place and went for highland tours. When im back the luggages are all in the room.

          Reviewed August 15, 2019
          8.0
          Excellent
          Peter from South Africa
          Couple
          Standard Twin Room
          Stayed 3 nights in August 2019

          Very good”

          Very good location in the center of Edinburgh

          Reviewed August 14, 2019
          10.0
          Exceptional
          Sylvia from United States
          Couple
          Standard Double A
          Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

          Pleasant stay in very convient locale. Room matches description- clean, functional.”

          Location was great for exploring the area.

          Reviewed June 04, 2019
          8.8
          Excellent
          Wee from Singapore
          Group
          Standard Twin Room
          Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

          Helpful front desk lady on afternoon on 22 May”

          She took the initiative to source a fan for us when we couldn't open the windows for some fresh air. We were given a room on the top floor n had to carry our luggage up the stairs from 3rd floor to 4th floor. Room was v spacious. Water pressure was good.

          Reviewed May 28, 2019
          9.2
          Exceptional
          Leah from Norway
          Family with young children
          Standard Double A
          Stayed 4 nights in May 2019

          Excellent value for money”

          The room is bigger than expected. It is not a lavish hotel, just a basic one. As expected, most of the hotels in Edinburgh are expensive, so with the price they offer for a night, it is already alright considering that it is just a minute walk to the Royal mile and about 3 -minute walk to the waverly station. We got a room on the 3rd floor but they have an elevator so it wasn't difficult to take our things to the room. We had 2 big luggages and a buggy with a 2 yr old toddler. We stayed from saturday to wednesday. Saturday was a busy day in the royal mile and cockburn street as there are many pubs, restaurants and likes in these areas. So expect that it will be extra noisy during weekends. If we'll travel back to Edinburgh, I will still consider to stay in this hotel.

          Reviewed May 22, 2019
          9.2
          Exceptional
          cheng from Australia
          Solo traveler
          Standard Double A
          Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

          Exceptional”

          Unbeatable location right in the Old Town of Edinburgh. Very reasonable price and helpful staff. Facilities a bit limited but quite adequate for a short stay

          Reviewed May 08, 2019
          10.0
          Exceptional
          Richard from United Kingdom
          Couple
          Standard Double A
          Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

          Exceptional”

          Great staff, great rooms

          Reviewed January 24, 2019

          Dear Richard, Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed clean rooms and friendly staff. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Cherrelle

          Responded January 31, 2019
          The Inn Place
          9.2
          Exceptional
          David from United Kingdom
          Couple
          Standard Twin Room
          Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

          Great location a very clean hotel ”

          Just off the royal mile and the castle 5 min walk to princess st and all the shops would defintley stay here again

          Reviewed January 16, 2019

          Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Cherrelle

          Responded January 31, 2019
          The Inn Place
          10.0
          Exceptional
          Siyu from China
          Couple
          Standard Twin Room
          Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

          Perfect place to stay”

          The room was big and warm. The staff was very helpful. Location is great, near to all the attractions. More importantly, I left my wallet in my room, the hotel contact me and sent it back. Amazing hotel and strongly recommended.

          Reviewed December 20, 2018

          Dear Syiu, Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location as well as our cozy rooms and friendly staff. We were very happy that we could return your wallet for you and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Cherrelle

          Responded January 31, 2019
          The Inn Place
          8.8
          Excellent
          Katie from Ireland
          Couple
          Classic King
          Stayed 1 night in November 2018

          Lovely Place ”

          The Inn Place was a lovely place to stay for my first trip to Edinburgh. The room was fabulous and clean. The location was 2 minutes from the Royal Mile and 5 mins from Princes Street. It was a beautiful walk to either and had lots to do around. It also beside the best Harry Potter shop I have seen in a while which was a huge bonus. I only had one let down when there and that was that we asked for an early check-in as we were headed to the rugby and it gives the option on this site to request an arrival time, which unfortunately wasn't actually accommodated for. Other than that it was a beautiful stay.

          Reviewed November 29, 2018

          Dear Katie, Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location as well as our clean rooms. When a guest requests an early check in we always do what we can to accommodate this but this is never guaranteed. We do however keep luggage for you and have this put in your room for check in at 3pm. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Cherrelle

          Responded January 31, 2019
          The Inn Place
          9.6
          Exceptional
          Matt from United Kingdom
          Solo traveler
          Standard Twin Room
          Stayed 1 night in October 2018

          Great location”

          Nice big clean rooms and ideally situated for the train station and the venue for the gig I was going to, most likely will be back next time I am in town.

          Reviewed October 25, 2018

          Dear Matt, Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location as well as our clean room.We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Cherrelle

          Responded January 31, 2019
          The Inn Place
          10.0
          Exceptional
          Lin from China
          Solo traveler
          Standard Twin Room
          Stayed 1 night in September 2018

          Exceptional”

          Quite near the station. Warm place with small logo. Kind and helpful staff.

          Reviewed October 08, 2018

          Dear Lin, Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location as well as our friendly staff. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Cherrelle

          Responded January 31, 2019
          The Inn Place
          9.6
          Exceptional
          Elizabeth from United Kingdom
          Couple
          Classic King
          Stayed 1 night in August 2018

          perfect location ”

          Went to Edinburgh during the fringe and The Inn Place was a fantastic place to stay for my visit. Extremely well located, clean, good showers and comfy bed, pleasant staff. Really couldn’t fault anything. As far as I could tell there were no lifts to the upper floors so if you have any mobility problems it’s not for you.

          Reviewed August 15, 2018

          Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location as well as our comfy rooms and friendly staff.Our elevator reaches the 4th floor and our friendly staff are ever ready to take your luggage to your room for you if needed. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Cherrelle

          Responded January 31, 2019
          The Inn Place
          9.6
          Exceptional
          Rajeev from United States
          Family with young children
          Classic King
          Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

          Exceptional”

          Great staff. Very helpful. Excellent location right on Royal mile. Updated rooms and bathrooms. Note that there are no lifts and we were on 4th flr. Carrying luggage was pain. However staff helped carrying it up. On first night they could not find roll in bed for child, so they generously opened another room for us to sleep. Excellent stay.

          Reviewed July 07, 2018

          Dear Rajeev, Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location as well as our clean rooms and friendly staff. As you mentioned, Our lift only reaches the 4th floor, But our friendly staff are there to assist you with your luggage to your room.When booking a room with us at The Inn Place, if you request an extra bed for a child we will make sure this is done before you check in. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Cherrelle

          Responded January 31, 2019
          The Inn Place
          8.4
          Excellent
          CRISTINA from Spain
          Couple
          Standard Twin Room
          Stayed 3 nights in August 2019

          Ubicación inmejorable ”

          El hotel tiene una ubicación fantástica, al lado de la Royal Mile. El hotel está muy limpio y el personal es muy amable. Totalmente recomendable

          Reviewed August 30, 2019
          8.4
          Excellent
          Heinrich from Germany
          Couple
          Standard Double A
          Stayed 3 nights in July 2019

          Excellent”

          Lage toll, ruhig, sehr freundliches Personal, einziger Nachteil: das Fenster ließ sich nur einen kleinen Spalt hochschieben, so dass es zu warm war im Zimmer

          Reviewed July 27, 2019
          9.6
          Exceptional
          Mauro from Italy
          Family with young children
          Standard Twin Room
          Stayed 4 nights in December 2018

          Exceptional”

          Super consigliato! Posizione centralissima, staff gentile e disponibile, camere pulite, spaziose e recenti

          Reviewed December 31, 2018

          Dear Mauro, Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location as well as our clean rooms and friendly staff. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Cherrelle

          Responded January 31, 2019
          The Inn Place
          12
          This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

          Back to search results

          Back to room choices

          |

          Dismiss

          The Inn Place
          |Excellent 8.9
          ×
          Check in. Step out.
          Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

          • Exceptional location
          • Edinburgh Old Town
          • Edinburgh Train Station is within 0.17 km