Excellent 8.5
Based on 27 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 27 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Room comfort and quality 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food and dining 8.3
Sort by

Walaiporn from Thailand
Couples
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 6 nights in May 2012
Best spot in NYC! Very convenient!
Incredible Rooftop Bar!
perfect spot! walking distant to everywhere e.g.subway, soho, etc. rooftop bar is fantastic. room is clean and bed is comfortable. recommended!!! definitely come back to stay there next time we're in nyc!
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Holly from United States
Couples
Standard King Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Didn't get the room we booked
Nice decor
We did not get the room we booked which was a King room. Instead we got a Queen. Also, the room was not ready when we arrived past 6:00 p.m. Check-in is supposed to be at 2:00. They told us we would be on the 17th floor, but that they were still cleaning it. My husband was very upset so they offered us the 3rd floor (also a Queen). He didn't want the 3rd floor so we waited. They did offer us a credit at the bar. The room was very small which was okay, but I was expecting more. The duvet cover was ripped on one side and there were stains on the other side. There was a burned out light bulb and the insulation in the attic above the safe was falling out and they had everything propped up with towels.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Julian from Australia
Couples
Deluxe King Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Not a lot for the price
Jimmy bar
service ok but tried to swap me to a smaller room and at was not a lot of bang for your buck. that's nyc!
Reviewed May 01, 2012

kirsty from Australia
Families with young children
Deluxe King Room
Stayed 5 nights in April 2012
great location, very helpful & friendly staff
no bath in room. apart from that it was great!
This very family friendly hotel is some what of an oasis in the hectic SoHo/TriBeCa area. With a lovely roof top garden, perfect for entertaining my 7 month old and a fantastic restaurant as well as in room dining options, The James really was exceptional in terms of meeting our needs. The rooms are not big but we comfortably stayed for 5 nights with out baby who slept in a nice crib/cot provided by the hotel. They also gave us a baby bath and have diaper/nappy Genie bins for use. The family friendly nature did not come at a comprimise aesthetically, the design and interiors are chic and modern. Overall, a pleasure to stay at The James. 5 Stars.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Conor from Ireland
Couples
Standard King Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Great location in SoHo and great views
Smart, trendy boutique hotel
overall a cool boutique hotel in soho though we did have a few problems with our stay: one of the lifts was broken so it took forever to get up and down to rooms. there was also a broken ac in the room below us that was causing lots of noise when we were trying to sleep. to be fair, the hotel remedied both very quickly.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Lucia from Peru
Couples
Standard King Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Great location but small rooms
Soho area. Walking distance to art galleries, restaurants, cafe and shops. Trendy architecture and wonderful view to the city and Hudson river.
Overall fine. Rooms are very small for the price we paid The King size bed was more like Queen in reality. The Westin and other hotels offers much better room space and real king size beds. Guest service is Ok. No upgrades were uvailable for a just married couple like us. but oh well, they don't have to, right? We liked the architecture and design.
Reviewed April 07, 2012

Jonathan from United Kingdom
Groups
Standard King Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012
Fantastic hotel great location!
Location, rooms, roof top pool and bar
Everything about this hotel was great! Lovely rooms and a great location! Roof top Pool and bar were amazing!!
Reviewed February 13, 2012

David from Canada
Couples
Deluxe King Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
Fantastic hotel, great location, benefits
Style, location, access, friendliness of staff
fantastic. we were on our 40th wedding anniversary weekend and wanted to stay in south manhattan- soho, tribeca. this the the hotel. great facilite, loaction, ease of access through holand tunnel. benefits- wine & cheese each early evening; tea and cookies in the faternoon, late night beverages. great bar on the roof. will even be more enjpouable when we could use outside facilities in spring/summer/early fall- we visited around december 11th.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Massimiliano from Italy
Business travelers
Deluxe King Room
Stayed 5 nights in November 2011
Very Nice Boutique Hotel and great service
location sercives and complimentary buffet
this hotel was really nice. located in soho they have nice rooms and great service. the hotel owns three bikes you can lend free of charge to ride around manhattan. at the lobby, complimentary coffee and croissants are offered in the morning whilst in the late afternoon you can enjoy wine and cheese. rooms are comfortable and even if they are not huge. bathroom is great with a wide shower that has room for two people.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Steven from Australia
Business travelers
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2011
Great location, fabulous service
Location location location
great hotel, very modern yet unique. would stay there again. great restaurant.
Reviewed November 09, 2011


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: