Book Now: The Legend Chiang Rai Hotel

Excellent
From 669 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
/
10
Recommended by 89% of guests

Reviews of The Legend Chiang Rai Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (669)Booking.com Reviews (110)
8.2
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities8.1
Location8.1
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.4
Value for money8.1
All languages
All guests (669)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 507 verified guest comments
6.0
julapong from Thailand
Group
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Boutique but old”

The hotel is located in the city on Kok river bank so very nice view. Nice facilty such as gym and pool. Breakfast was so so. Room is old and smell proved it. Bike needs to rent for 50 baht which could be free given high rate room charge. Extra person charged half of room rate(1,000 baht) which should be less due to the beds can accommodate 3 persons already(queen +single) So other new boutique ones offered cheaper rate and definitely worthier.

Reviewed May 22, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Karen from United States
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Amazing hotel and staff”

This is our 6th or 7th stay at The Legend and we have always been extremely happy during our stays. Everyone on staff exceeds our expectations with their personal and professional attention to details. Mr. Sawat is one of the most kind and helpful hotel staff that we have ever met. We completely enjoy our stays at this hotel and would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Dr. Mike and Karen Lacey

Reviewed March 17, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
David from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe Studio
Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

Relaxing Spot by the River in Chiang Rai”

Studio rooms and villas set in beautiful gardens with lovely views of the river. Staff are friendly and helpful. Great breakfast, again in a lovely restaurant area with views of the garden and river. Nice swimming pool. Just a few minutes by Tuk Tuk from the center of Chiang Mai. Staff can easily arrange Tuk Tuks or there's a free hotel shuttle bus in the evenings. Good spa and massage as well. I'd definitely stay here again if returning to Chiang Rai.

Reviewed February 21, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
KONG from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Superior Studio
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

The staff are very nice and helpful. ”

The resort is very nice with rain forest feel.

Reviewed May 19, 2019
5.2
Kwan from Japan
Family with teens
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Too many ants and pay attention to the complimentary water”

There are too many ants inside the room which made us cannot have a relax stay thoroughout the night. Also better pay attention to the terms when you drink their 'complimentary' bottle of water. You need to leave the empty drank bottle inside the room otherwise the hotel will charge you for extra money which is kind of tricky and kind of a disappointing experience to me and my family.

Reviewed April 22, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Jacobus from Thailand
Group
Superior Studio
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Nice short vacation”

Nice, original, Thai style resort , located next to the river Kok. Rooms are spacious and include a desk to work at. Bed and pillows are very comfortable. Bathroom is rather unique, very large and includes a water bowl so you can shower the old-fashioned way. Balcony includes view of garden and pond. Room has airco and ceiling fan. Breakfast buffet is adequate with sufficient choice (Thai & western). Coffee (incl. espresso) is excellent. The river view when dining or swimming is beautiful. Hotel & garden & surroundings are very well-maintained. Staff is service-minded and helpful. Food at the Italian restaurant (Wine Casa) is very good. In conclusion, a very nice hotel for a relaxed and quiet stay in Chiang Rai.

Reviewed March 30, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Niamh from Ireland
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

A legend of a hotel”

Great base to explore Chiang Rai. We walked from the hotel into the city centre. There is also Uber readily available. The breakfast was good and the room was great, spacious and comfortable after us travelling for over 24 hours from Ireland. The hotel were kind enough to retain our luggage overnight after we checked out as we were going trekking so thank you very much for accommodating us!

Reviewed January 09, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Dorothy from United States
Couple
Grand Deluxe Studio
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Beautiful place. Poor front desk staff—not welcoming or helpful. Limited food options ”

Loud late nightly music from across river was disturbing. Hotel is beautiful but lack of information from staff underminded visit. Could use written instructions and guides if staff not trained to interact better with guests such as what’s in area and how to get around; map of property; hours of operation

Reviewed January 06, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
sophie from France
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Amazing ”

The room was nice, quiet and super clean. Very confortable bed. The staff was extremely nice and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious with a lot of choice. As per the location it’s 5min driving to the night market and the city center. The hotel has a beautiful view on the Kok River. We loved our stay at Chiang Rai thanks to this beautiful hotel.

Reviewed December 26, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Richard from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018

Exceptional”

Having stayed at many nice resort's and hotels in Ching Rai this resort was probably the best.From the Lanna design and the tranquil atmosphere we couldn't really fault the place at all.We loved the location the staff were excellent and the room also first class.The facilities were great and the food also very good.It's a must for us to return there soon!

Reviewed April 02, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Anita from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018

Peaceful riverside retreat”

only one minor issue for us was that our safe didn't work and was forced dead repeatedly and the pool bar was not open and no drinks were offered by f you were relaxing by the pool.....apart from that no complaints...lovely staff team,good food and a spacious comfortable room....100 baht to the famous White temple temple and we used the hotel tour operators to go to the Golden a Triangle...great day out.

Reviewed March 31, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
james from Australia
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 4 nights in February 2018

Good hotel on the river ”

Pros great spot for breakfast on the terrace in the buffet area,food was nice,room was old Lanna style and did the job,staff courteous and smiling.(some previous reviews sounded like they staff weren’t up to the job it’s just northern Thai style,so chill out they are shy and reserved)gardens were great river view was awesome.Cons not many it is a walk to town but there are lots of cheap taxis hotel shuttle etc. it’s probably a 3.5 not 5 star but in Chiang Rai it’s relaxation time not comparing time.enjoy

Reviewed February 17, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Nigel from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 5 nights in February 2017

Top class”

Everything about this resort was excellent. The level of hospitality was incredible, a real masterclass from all of the staff. The resort is set in beautiful surroundings and it was lovely to relax by the pool or on a sun lounger by the river. I ate from the restaurants a few nights and found the food to be of good quality, and again excellent service from the staff. The room was very nice, and I'm fairly sure I've stayed in rooms smaller than the shower room at this resort. I would most definitely stay here again, I can't think of one bad point. Again for me remarkable service, the staff are a credit to whoever owns this resort.

Reviewed February 13, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Susan from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 6 nights in February 2017

Beautiful Home in Chiang Rai”

It's a great place from which to explore Northern Thailand and a lovely place to come home to at the end of the day. In fact, we even scheduled time spent in the hotel just to enjoy the traditional Lanna architecture, the river views and chatting with the staff. Lookheb the travel agent there is brilliantly intuitive at finding a tour that just suits you and our guide Parn was so kind and informative. Staff at the hotel were great too. Only thing I found tough was that the swimming pool was tooooo cold!

Reviewed February 11, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Wan from China
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017

A very decent resort at reasonable price”

The resort is quite large, located nicely beside a river. The room is clean and spacious. The breakfast offers varieties, and the restaurants are all nicely decorated. Staff are friendly and helpful. Only a pity that they don't reply to email prior to the trip.

Reviewed February 06, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Supanard from Thailand
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

Nice, Thai style hotel, good room size”

Good value for money. Good size room, with nice thai style decoration. Restaurant is next to the river, with good range of breakfast. Overall it was good stay and will consider staying here again for my next visit to Chaing Rai.

Reviewed November 27, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Nadia from Thailand
Family with young children
Superior Studio
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

Lovely & Welcome Stay”

When we arrived the staff were very smiley and welcome. We were served with a traditional welcome drink. we were then taken to our room which was very spacious and lovely. The room was decorated Thai Lana Style with a huge bathroom. The balcony was also lovely with some seating area. The pool was absolutely stunning overlooking the River Kok. The breakfast was also good, lots of choices of foods. Thai rice porridge and full ABF breakfast was available. Nothing better that having a coffee over looking the peaceful river. However one thing that was the best for us was our tuk tuk driver who i really was helpful and i really recommend that if you need help around Chiangrai to call him. His name is Mr Noi 0814738816.

Reviewed October 27, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Stefan from Germany
Business traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

Charming hotel at the Kok river!”

Quietly tucked at the river, this Northern style hotel offers a relaxing quiet atmosphere, with charming details . The hotel is well looked after, but not of the latest standards, the rooms are clean with typical northern style furniture. The bed and mattress are however a bit hard to sleep on. Great pool with stunning views on the Kok river. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The breakfast offered a nice variety in very good quality. The restaurant Wine Casa has a small but distinctive selection of wines. We enjoyed a very tasty bottle of Italian wine, with a beautiful view on the river...Charming and tempting!

Reviewed July 03, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Tomasz from Poland
Family with young children
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

Comfortable and quite”

Freindly staff, Comfort, Value for money

It is a place for people looking for some quite, safety and high quality service. It is located on the river side but bit remote from city centre. Common areas, facilities and rooms are nice designed - now a bit old although well maintained. Our room was spacious, comfortable and tidy. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast very tasty with sufficient variety of food - both American/continental and Thai. Just as a feed back for the manager: orange juice served might be fresh pressed and coffee might be from the coffee machine. Those two things have not impacted our overall great customer experience.

Reviewed December 25, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Nattawut from Thailand
Family with young children
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

Comfort room and Polite Staff”

Large room for big family, Beautiful, Good location

Very impress for the stay. I traveled with family of 5 people. The superior room is just perfect not so big or small. The hotel is also decorated nicely in Northern style. Superp for the value of money.

Reviewed December 24, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Alaa from Bahrain
Solo traveler
Deluxe Studio
Stayed 5 nights in September 2015

a paradise in the city”

1) staff -2) loction _3) scenery

we were welcomed warmy by staff and the General manager mr.Makhoo who was extremley nice and welcoming.the rooms were very comfortable with its traditional Thai style.very clean resort.had good choice of foods.the staff always give you the feeling of welcome.very attentive in their services.generally we enjoyed every bit of the stay.

Reviewed October 05, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Aroonlak from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in July 2015

Nice Design but Functionality is the small issue ”

Location, Design, Staff

My mom and brother stayed with the hotel for 2 nights, they said the hotel was very beautiful. It is suitable for foreign tourists as the design was beautiful and unique. However, my mom had a little bit of issue when taking a shower since the hotel had this antique style bathtub that looked like it came out from a cowboy movie. It was too small and tall that she had a hard time getting in... I apologized if this information is incorrect since I didnt stay there myself.

Reviewed September 12, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Mark from Australia
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015

Great Hotel with little bit of paradise”

The abience, the facilities, the staff

Stayed at the Legend for 6 days and think it is definable one of the better resorts in CR. I travel to CR often and had not had the pleasure of visiting previously - I will return as it is a nice oasis in the middle of this bustling city. The manager, Marco was a really nice guy and we chatted a couple of times.. well worth a visit.

Reviewed July 11, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Charles from United States
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Nice hotel, you'll need a car”

rooms, restaurant, scenery

This hotel is on the river away from downtown and hard to find. You cannot walk anywhere from the hotel. The Italian restaurant is the best in Chiang Rai with an incredible wine selection. The pool area is small and it is hard to find someone to bring you a drink. The rooms are great but this hotel seems over-priced.

Reviewed June 17, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Valenghi from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe Studio
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015

Beautiful Riverside Place”

Garden, Pool, Restaurant Vine

We enjoyed a lot our 3 days stay at Legend in Chiang Rai. We rent a Motorbike to visit the Sourrounding and enjoyed the Vine Casa Restaurant at the Hotel. The pleasant position at the Rover, the pool make a relaxing stay. Higly recommended for peaceful and Relaxing after visiting the sourrounding.

Reviewed May 10, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Knut from Norway
Solo traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in November 2014

A beautiful resort in the most perfect location yo”

Location, beautiful gardens, overall great standard

This is one of the most peaceful and lovely resorts I've visited in a long time, still situated a few minutes from the city center. If you look for relaxation, comfort and harmony, look no further. Everything is done to make the stay pleasent; high service level, genuine thai friendliness, great food, lange rooms with high comfort, good pool and exercise facilities, and more.....all in great surroundings. Look for special offers, ordinary prices can be a bit heavy.... And finally, the evening buffet is costly too, but well worth the money, in my view.

Reviewed November 25, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Breton from France
Solo traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014

Lovely hotel near the river”

Location, room comfort and environment

Very charming hotel in the hear of ChiangRai with a river view. Staff is very polite and efficient. Rooms are very comfortable and environment is very quiet. Highly recommended. Tip: bring your mosquito repellent due to its proximity with the river!

Reviewed November 17, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Lew from Australia
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 7 nights in October 2014

Nice (mostly) tranquil riverside hotel.”

Location, lovely atmosphere, friendly staff.

I visited Chiang Rai 20 years ago and loved it, sadly it had changed so much I didn’t recognize a lot but it still has plenty of charm. Overall we really enjoyed our 7 night stay at The Legend, the resort has a great peaceful feel about it (except for 2 days when they were doing room maintenance nearby). We really enjoyed breakfast for the river side views in a great setting, food was good. Restaurant and room service food was good, though the portions were small for the price. The room was well laid out with plenty of power points, nice décor and the typical features you’d expect from a good 4 or 5 star hotel. Our only big complaint was we had problems with the WiFi connectivity though we had great signal on and off for the duration of our stay. We found a great tour guide in our Airport Taxi Meter driver with several private half day (5hr unlimited Km’s) for 1500 baht! Unfortunately we were unwell with tummy bug for a few days (source unknown) so we didn’t do as much as we wanted like try the pool , spa, river cruises etc, but will save that for next trip. We’d be happy to stay at The Legend again.

Reviewed November 03, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Karen
Group
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Fantastic hotel”

great staff, nice facility, clean,

My 5th stay at the Legend and my experience with the Legend continues to be positive. I was traveling with a party of 10 (ages 12 - 58)and everyone was very pleased with the staff, the rooms and the meals.

Reviewed February 09, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013

Worth the Hot Deal”

Great for relaxing

The food, except for breakfast, was not up to 4&1/2 Star standard...other restaurants in the area much better. The coffee not good. Pool very nice. Lunch at pool was OK, except a ham and cheese sandwich will look more like ham, lettice, and tomato.

Reviewed January 21, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Kamphol from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Worth it's price”

Isolated - Calm

If you are looking for a city resort next to the river, this place has it, with the price less than $100, this is a place to go. The sunset riverside is a nice spot here to have a drink in late afternoon. The rooms are acceptable with a nice balcony area. I had 3 nights in Chiang Rai, this was one of the places we stayed and surely worth the dollars. The General Manager always on the ground which keeps all spots tidely. Recommended for it's value.

Reviewed January 14, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Beryl from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

beautiful hotel by the river ”

comfortable rooms with a jacuzzi in a private garden

the hotel is located a short distance from the town, and if you do not have a car there is a free shuttle bus from the hotel or local transport available. the rooms are wonderful and we were lucky to have a large room with its own garden. the swimming pool is set in a lovely garden fronting the peaceful riverside. there is also a spa and a small gym. the breakfast was a very good buffet in the riverside restaurant. the staff are very helpful and pleasant. there is free wifi in the lobby and restaurant but a small charge for room use. i would recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing stay in chiang rai

Reviewed January 12, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Roger from El Salvador
Solo traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

Very nice hotel with great spa”

Nice spa, good rooms, good food, nice river view

Beautiful hotel situated in the side of the river. Nice rooms however they are very odd distributed... You open the front door and the first thing you have is the bathroom. It is not a problem if you are solo traveler or with a close partner. Food was great and the spa was one of the best in the whole trip.

Reviewed October 11, 2012
8.3
Excellent
natthaporn from Thailand
Couple
Grand Deluxe Studio
Stayed 1 night in September 2012

Nice Quiet and Beautiful.”

Beautiful place, good service , not too far from other attractions.

I made the right choice to stay here, everything was perfect for me and my boyfriend especially the spa which I really liked and enjoyed the most!! The service was very good, got the right thing and the right place to go from what the staff recommended to me. Their swimming pool is very nice too!!

Reviewed October 02, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Karen
Solo traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in August 2011

Great staff”

Great experience

Each time I have stayed at the Legend has been wonderful. The moment I arrive Mr Suwat Fuvan and Ms Sukanya Pametho are fully committed to making my experience at the Legend memorable. The restaurant staff is equally committed to ensuring that every meal is exceptional. The rooms are spotless, and the shower room is uniquely enjoyable.

Reviewed August 06, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Karen
Solo traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in July 2011

Great Hotel for all reasons”

Great staff, great rooms, great food, lovely grounds

This is the 4th time I have stayed at the Legend in the last 18 months. Every stay has exceeded our expectations. I will continue to stay here whether I travel with my wife, with my friend, or by myself.

Reviewed August 02, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
david from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 4 nights in June 2011

fantastic hotel with great staff”

staff and features

as it was the low season, the hotel was not that busy and we were lucky to be given a courtesy upgrade on arrival to a suite which was nice and it was a lovley suite in a lovely relaxing garden environment. The pool was great just yards from the river and the staff were reakky friendly and helpful. When we had an issue with the in room safe, they sorted it out straight away. The food was great and i really recommend this place.

Reviewed June 19, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Daniel from United States
Family with young children
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in June 2011

Nice hotel with wonderful service. ”

Big size rooms and attention to details.

Nice hotel not too far from city center but far enough that you will need transportation. Hotel does have shuttle service and bicycle rentals. Breakfast buffet was small and nothing to write about. Service was great and attention to details like providing insect repellants added nice touch. Rooms were very big that our family of 4 didn't feel cramped. We had superior room which had queen and twin size beds. Overall, nice and affordable and if you like nature, you will love this hotel. We will stay here again in the future.

Reviewed June 06, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Douglas from New Zealand
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in December 2010

A fantastic place to stay... we love it”

Beautiful rooms, tranquil atmosphere, yummy breakfast

We have stayed at the Legend three times now and just love it. It is such a restful place to visit. We love the large bathroom, the romantic bedrooms, the yummy breakfast overlooking the river. It is a super convenient place for a quiet weekend away from Chiang Mai... just three hours drive and then you can relax relax relax.

Reviewed June 01, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Matthew from Australia
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 1 night in March 2011

Beautiful hotel with good service”

Gardens, staff, rooms, swimming pool.

The Legend is a beautiful hotel set in an amazing garden. The staff are friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was very good with a large range of choice. The hotel is clean and well looked after, it is close enough to the centre of town to walk but secluded enough to be quiet.

Reviewed April 07, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Robert from United States
Family with young children
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in February 2011

Beautiful hotel on the river with big rooms”

Big rooms, beautiful location,

the legend is a beautiful hotel away from the city center, but within walking distance (about 15 minutes to the night market). beautiful and tastefully laid out big rooms. nice infinity pool. good quality beds and pillow cases. good quality breakfast. quality of food at other meals was okay. friendly and warm staff.

Reviewed February 23, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Karen
Group
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in February 2011

Great hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms”

same as above

this is my 3rd time staying at the legend chiang rai hotel in 12 months. each stay has been an excellent experience for me. the staff is very helpful and friendly. the grounds are beautiful and well kept up. the rooms are always very clean and comfortable. we have eaten in the restaurant on many occasions and have found each time to be warm, fresh, and very good. i will be returning to chiang rai in the near future and i will definitely be staying at the legend. i highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to chiang rai.

Reviewed February 07, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Karen
Group
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in January 2011

great hotel”

consistency

have stayed at this property for 3 visits. every time we have been treated fantastic. food has been good. staff have been very friendly and courteous. rooms are very clean and well designed. grounds are kept us nicely. outside patio that is connected to the shower room is a wonderful feature. will be staying here next visit.

Reviewed February 04, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Eduard from United States
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in December 2010

All around great”

Great rooms, good service, nice design
My traveling partner thought the breakfast was mediocre, but I thought it was fine.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel. At first, I thought it was located a bit in a strange location, but it's totally fine, and they have shuttle service to the night bazaar, etc., which are located not too far away. The rooms are great, spacious and have a relaxing, cool design to them. Service was quite good and the place seems well run. Very nice place to hangout and listen to music next to the river. Would come again in a heartbeat.

Reviewed December 24, 2010
10.0
Exceptional
Alex from Singapore
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in October 2010

Lovely Resort and Wonderful services”

Serene environment and well kept rooms.

The resort is a beautiful and peaceful place for one to rest and relax. They have also given us a free upgrade to the honeymoon room and we felt the personnalised touch when we first step into our room. The experience in the Legend resort is a unforgetable one and is highly recommended for couple who are on their honeymoon trip

Reviewed October 31, 2010
8.3
Excellent
James from United Kingdom
Couple
Grand Deluxe Studio
Stayed 3 nights in October 2010

Lovely hotel in a great location”

Beautiful setting along riverbank

The legend is a nice hotel, situated close to the centre and well signposted from the main road. It's in a really great location, quiet with great views of the river. The rooms are excellent, got to be seen to be believed. We highly recommend this hotel, the service, location and facilities are great

Reviewed October 27, 2010
8.3
Excellent
James from United Kingdom
Couple
Grand Deluxe Studio
Stayed 2 nights in October 2010

Great hotel. Great service. Wonderful setting”

Great setting along riverbank

The legend is a nice hotel, situated close to the centre and well signposted from the main road. It's in a really great location, quiet with great views of the river. The rooms are excellent, got to be seen to be believed. We highly recommend this hotel, the service, location and facilities are great

Reviewed October 27, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
Karen
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in August 2010

wonderful stay at the Legend”

clean, great staff, wonderful villa with pool, quiet
none

My second trip to the Legend was just as good as my first trip in January 2010. On this trip, my wife and I decided to stay in the villa room and we were not disappointed. It was great fun to have our own pool, a view of the river, and the in room spa. I will be returning to Chiang Rai in January 2011 and I will be looking forward to another great stay at the Legend.

Reviewed August 16, 2010
10.0
Exceptional
Karin
Group
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

The best hotel I have been in Thailand”

Amazing view on the river, staff very nice an available, beautiful atmosphere and very nice rooms. The only down-side was that there were many mosquitoes in the gym.

Reviewed May 03, 2019
6.8
Good
Rodney
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Great hotel on kok river our second time here , wasn’t has good as first visit , ”

Not as good as first visit here , the evening meal was disappointing, especially the tiramisu, the breakfast was also a bit basic compared to last visit , think it was a bad day for one of the staff as well

Reviewed April 23, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Geraldine from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Serene environment. ”

Rooms are spacious, quiet and provide a relaxing environment. Slightly out of town and the hustle and bustle but an easy 20-25 minutes walk in or take shuttle bus for thr night market. Restaurant overlooks the river so with lovely outlook. Staff are very helpful and pleasant. Enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed October 13, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Kirsi from Finland
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Nice place, really big rooms”

We were staying at superior studio. Like many have said, the room and the bathroom were huge! We liked that the shower room and toilet were separated. Room was beautiful and everything was really clean and nice. Only negative was, that our room was “connected room” so there was a door between us and our neighbors... and we could hear every single word through the door! also when someone knocked their door or called them or opened the door etc... 😣 Luckily they were not loud (not having a party or anything 😂) and we tried to be really quiet as well.. other than that, everything was really good!! We enjoyed the breakfast as well! 4/5 stars

Reviewed September 23, 2018
6.8
Good
Maria from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Adorable Boutique Resort”

I wish I had spent more time at the Resort as it is lovely to come back to after a day of sightseeing. The rooms are really lovely (all white bedding, my fave) with the biggest shower in the World. Lots of wardrobe space and a cute sitting area with a swing. The only challenging aspect was that it was hard to communicate with the staff as their English was limited, though I would definitely come back.

Reviewed September 03, 2018
7.2
Very good
Barbora from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Stylish place”

Stylish and large rooms but a bit outdated. Far from city center.

Reviewed April 16, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Tapanee from Thailand
Group
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Lovely resort hotel, nice & clean, super comfy beds! Great location!”

Friendly staff. We stayed for two nights and had the best sleep! Morning breakfast is average. Hope you can add more varieties.

Reviewed February 19, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Karin from Thailand
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Really nice location”

Attractive rooms, nice atmosphere. Great located next to the river.

Reviewed December 23, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jeff from Thailand
Couple
Grand Deluxe Studio
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

What a view!”

The place was quiet and staff were very nice. The room was exactly like the pictures if Not better. Our place was right on the river and it was so nice and relaxing!

Reviewed March 03, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Oranuch from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Excellent”

It’s really difficult to find the hotel. The service charges the hotel charges me twice. The second service charge is for cheesecake.

Reviewed September 14, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

A pleasant experience ”

The staff was very friendly and able to coordinate the tours that we wanted. It was a nice room.

Reviewed July 28, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Rolf from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Studio
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

The perfect stay in a perfect hotel”

We loved it, the location leaves nothing to be desired, the outdoor restaurant was beautiful (excellent food both during the buffet dinner and breakfast the next morning), outstandingly helpful staff and a wonderful room. Very spacious, I particularly loved the swinging bench on the terrace, great pool, everything was just lovely. Wish we could have stayed longer, maybe next time???

Reviewed November 29, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
James from United States
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017

Great place to stay ”

We spent four days here and were very happy. The room was amazing (we stayed in the one bedroom pool villa). The staff were great and the facilities very nice. The only issue was that the rainy season was still going strong so the garden was flooded.

Reviewed October 14, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Onnicha from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in September 2017

Luxury hotel in Chiang Rai”

Only one night at the legend chiang rai but it was so memorable to me. Good staff, big room and excellent breakfast! Better to keep checking for discount from Agoda because the full price is quite expensive. Its also located near melt in your mouth cafe which is very famous in Chiang Rai.

Reviewed September 29, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Alexandra from Australia
Family with young children
Superior Studio
Stayed 6 nights in May 2017

An absolutely wonderful retreat”

We spent six nights at The Legend, and were thoroughly pleased with the friendly service, beautiful room, and relaxed riverside setting. Traveling with our 18mth child we were able to conveniently park in the Hotel Car Park at no extra charge which made exploring Chiang Rai and surrounds a breeze. The room was gorgeous, spacious, and a safe cot was provided for our daughter. The pool was one of our favourite spots, and the friendly staff and great variety of food on offer was a great convenience too. The shuttle to/from the Night Bazaar is highly recommended if traveling with a child as we found it difficult to get a taxi back to the hotel. While the hotel is located in a residential pocket (easily accessible to the town centre by cycle, tuk tuk or taxi), there is a new boardwalk along the river where you will be met at the end with the very decadent and delicious 'Melt in your Mouth' cafe which is fantastic for a coffee and sweet treat, or dinner as the sun goes down. We also highly recommend Chivit Thamma Da which is opposite the resort, across the river, and has a mix of local and European fare, again with decadent desserts. Will definitely stay again at The Legend

Reviewed July 01, 2017
7.6
Very good
Graham from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017

Stylish resort with large rooms and balconies”

Apart from the fact that it is a 20-25 minute walk to restaurant and bar area, this is a fine stay. They run transport to the area in the evening, but I am not sure if you can return the same way, as it is on a time schedule and costs B50. Apart from that, the premises are really good and there is lots of room and the gardens are great.

Reviewed June 24, 2017
6.4
Good
Gunter from Belgium
Group
Superior Studio
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017

Peaceful enverioment ”

Reserved 3 king size bed rooms, received 2 king and 1 queen/twin. Rooms are very clean. A plus for housekeeping. Reception staff friendly but nothing more. Renovation of the rooms should be done shortly. Breakfast not 4*. Why no fresh fruitjuice? We are in Thailand!

Reviewed June 15, 2017
6.8
Good
Angie from Singapore
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017

Good”

Hotel is beautiful and serene especially along the river front. It was enjoyable having our breakfast. Hotel room is big and comfortable. Breakfast is good however, after the second day it gets boring. Same food was served everyday.

Reviewed May 27, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Debra from Australia
Couple
Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017

Beautiful, serene and quiet hotel”

Loved the huge pool villa rooms with a veiw of the river. A little far out from the centre, shops and restaurants but we hired bikes to get us around. I would definately stay here again...beautiful setene hotel and amazing sights in Chiang Mai.

Reviewed April 03, 2017
4.8
robert from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Studio
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

Lack of privacy, and what a disappointment ”

Initial reception is so important and this wasn't good, staff seemed to lack knowledge of where to go. Rooms lacked privacy therefore you had to keep blinds shut when it was dark. Pool looked great but was by far the coldest of this two week trip - even at the end of a hot day, couldn't stand more than 10 minutes. Only saw one other person in there. Reception couldn't even organise a 6am taxi on my last day having being given 20 hours notice.

Reviewed March 09, 2017
7.6
Very good
Panan from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Studio
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

Fabulous resort, so peaceful and beautiful!”

Loved our 3 days here, another night would have been perfect. The grounds of the hotel is spacious and green. Prefect for families with young kids to run around in. The rooms were very spacious and very well appointed and well thought out. Just loved everything about this place. Location is not too far from town, dining and breakfast is pretty decent aswell.

Reviewed January 01, 2017
7.6
Very good
PETER from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

Lanna style hotel next to river”

Rustic style rooms located in various buildings set in lush gardens next to the River Kok. Plenty of car parking. An excellent pool and gym room. Two restaurants, Italian and Thai. Several kms from city center, but hotel has shuttle service.

Reviewed November 28, 2016