Book Now: The Metropole Hotel Phuket

Very good
From 693 reviewsSee what guests said
7.0
/
10

Reviews of The Metropole Hotel Phuket Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (693)Booking.com Reviews (91)
7.0
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness6.3
Facilities6.1
Location8.0
Room comfort and quality6.8
Service7.2
Value for money7.1
All languages
All guests (693)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 573 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Steve from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

A beautiful old style hotel ”

Room perfect and spotlessly clean Staff more than welcoming Good position within Phuket town Breakfast as with most Thai hotels could focus more on western food!! But there was enough to eat. I will return to the hotel again.

Reviewed April 29, 2019

Dear Mr.Steve, Thank you for choosing The Metropole Hotel Phuket and taking time to provide feedback of your experience. . Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback such as yours, to continuously make change to our hotel to improve the guest experience. Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the further. Regards,

Responded April 30, 2019
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
6.0
Thomas from Japan
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Overpriced, but generally nice”

Most nice hotels in Phuket town seem overpriced in comparison with what is available in Bangkok or other parts of Asia. If you need to stay in Phuket town, the hotel is nice, but don’t expect great value for the money.

Reviewed January 05, 2019

Dear Mr. Thomas, Thank you for choosing The Metropole Hotel Phuket and taking time to provide feedback of your experience. . Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback such as yours, to continuously make change to our hotel to improve the guest experience. Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the further. Regards,

Responded April 30, 2019
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
8.8
Excellent
Ruzaini from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Nice hotel!”

Nice facilities, friendly staff. Located at the central of Phuket town, there's not much of an entertainment around here but if you want to have a nice, comfortable and quiet stay this is the hotel I recommend.

Reviewed February 06, 2018

Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
9.6
Exceptional
Kevin from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017

Outstanding staff”

Rooms are spacious and well appointed .The hotel is conveniently located in Phuket Town ,a short walk from major shopping and the bus terminal ,with airport transfers. Breakfast was very well presented and good variety.A beaut pool ,well maintained .The ladies at front desk are English speaking,friendly and efficient and perhaps the best front desk staff we have encountered in our many trips to Thailoand .

Reviewed September 11, 2017

Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
9.0
Exceptional
Tsui from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2013

Great service, huge room”

Cheap, professional and good service

The staff were friendly and upgraded us immediately. No hassle. The room was large, bed was king size and the bathtub was so big, my 6 years old spent nearly an hour floating in the tub. My only complaints are that the Wifi did not work with our Ipad and the windows were so dirty on the outside, they probably were not washed for 10 years. Otherwise, most comfortable.

Reviewed January 04, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Karnsiree from Thailand
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011

This is a good hotel ”

service mind

this hotel is good for everyone, which is one famous in phuket. it’s safe, clean and comfortable. it isn't far from shopping mall and so convenient for travelling around. staffs are polite and have service mind. breakfast is standard and launch is many kind of foods, they are so delicious. the room is clean, prompt and quite big.

Reviewed January 03, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Patrick from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2009

Favourable experience”

Location. Style.character Excellent bedroom, roomy, comfortable, quiet. Friendly reception people. Excellent breakfast.
Toilet seat was needing replaced.

I arrived quite late from Malaysia having taken a taxi from the airport. The reception people made me feel welcome. I had read some bad reviews about this hotel but found the to be groundless as I have found in reviews of some other hotels in different countries. Some people expect too much. I would not hesitate to use this hotel again. Its central and very comfortable. I was also very happy with the rate I paid. I am from the UK and know my way around hotels. This one is good.

Reviewed August 31, 2009
8.0
Excellent
Wendi from Singapore
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018

Very good”

During Vegetarian Festival please be careful because my phone was being pickpocket. Outside of the hotel will hang around by the locals and foreigner due to the festival. However, the festival was fun, hotel was pretty good, 7-eleven was just nearby, massage and restaurant too. Ando massage is good (as in 'clean' massage as far as I know), went almost everyday.

Reviewed October 24, 2018
7.2
Very good
Worawit from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Good location and nice hotel”

Stayed for my business trip and helped me rest after long walk during work. Staffs were nice and friendly/. Room was clean and alright. I would probably select this hotel on my next business trip.

Reviewed April 14, 2019

Dear Khun Worawit, Thank you for choosing The Metropole Hotel Phuket and taking time to provide feedback of your experience. . Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the further. Regards,

Responded April 30, 2019
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
8.8
Excellent
Steven from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Nice location if you are there for the vegetarian festival. ”

Convenient place.

Reviewed October 15, 2018

Dear Steven, Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Again, thank you for choosing The Metropole Hotel Phuket, and if we can be of assistance to you, please contact our team.

Responded November 06, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
7.2
Very good
RIYAZ from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Value for Money, but OLD!!!”

For the price we paid, this hotel is definitely value for money. Manged to stay on a high floor with stunning view. Location was also great; within walking distance of Robinson, eateries and Kim's massage. This hotel definitely needs some major reno coz there was smell in the lobby and the finishing looks very run down. The interior of the rooms and toilet too needs some major upgrading. Otherwise, it was hassle free stay for 4 of us and breakfast was reasonable too.

Reviewed December 18, 2017

Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
5.6
chee from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

Bad sevices n facilities”

During booking requested early check-in but when I reached the hotel @0600 they told me that there is no sure thing as early check-in n ask me to come back at noon when I came back back at noon they told me the room is not ready n will be ready at 2pm. Cos of this issue I need to go in n out of town just to check-in the room n Oso when I reached at 0600 they just ask me to stay at the lobby to wait for my room. If I stay n wait I would have wasted 8 hours there doing nothing. Once I get my room I found out that the room is very smelly , toilet flushing system is not working n hot water is not hot. Overall the main issue is on the early check-in part. If the hotel had told me that they can't let me have an early check-in then I would have not book this hotel not staying at lobby wait for a few hours

Reviewed December 02, 2017
2.0
Matt from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Terrible...”

Outdated, smelled bad, electricity didn't work properly (it intermittently went out due to the slot you insert your card into for electricity being faulty) I called staff up to fix it but they didn't do anything so I ended up having to fix it myself. I also had to fix the shower myself to get water running.. ended up leaving to go somewhere else.

Reviewed November 23, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Sanjay from India
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Heart of town,nice bf.”

Not pre informed which water bottles in the rooms are complimentary , glass or plastic ? By default we consumed plastic and for this they charged money from us. Just tendered apology but could not waive off the bill. Not customer focused. Suggest to be careful in understanding the complimentary items during checkin

Reviewed February 28, 2017
2.8
muhittin from Turkey
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

Strictly don't recommend”

I stayed one night in that hotel. Smell humidity everywhere even inside the room. Very old building. Almost will be collapsed. I recommend any simple ouitique hotel around. This hotel even dont deserve one star.

Reviewed November 18, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Chee from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

upgrading of the hotel rooms urgently needed”

location is.very near to shopping n market. hotel room is big a plus point but furniture is very old n corridor has an odour smell it seem like this hotel is vacant for a very long time but overall very things is good for sure will come back again

Reviewed October 07, 2016

Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
9.2
Exceptional
Adrian from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Nice hotel”

Nice hotel stayed many times over the years. Only bad thing is the noise from the nightclub next door if you have a room on the front side of the hotel. It is really noisy and goes on till around 3am. It should be closed earlier but according to the staff complaints to the police fall on deaf ears.

Reviewed July 28, 2016

Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
4.4
Amit from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

mold & water leakages”

I booked a room for two of us and the room was leaking in the middle of the night at 3 AM and there was mold in the bathroom. The night mangager gave us the executive sutie from 4-7 in the morning which was as bad because the bathroom was moldy again.

Reviewed February 02, 2016
5.0
sam from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2015

very nice old hotel”

position / large rooms / friendly staff

this was once a great hotel but due to the lack of maintenance the hotel has fallen into disrepair. the hotel is short staffed and had difficulty looking after guest due to the volume of people attending a conferance. i recommend a urgent face lift to bring it up to a 4 star rating

Reviewed September 09, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Daniel from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

Overnight stay for travel”

Comfy bed, clean spacious room, friendly staff

We stayed one night at the hotel as we passed through Phuket as we were catching an early ferry the next day. The room was clean, spacious and had everything required for a one night stopover. The only downside was we fancied a swim after a long day of travelling but the pool didnt look very clean so we gave that a miss. Didn't eat at the hotel so cannot rate the dining. Staff were friendly so no complaints. Would stay again.

Reviewed January 07, 2015

Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
6.7
Good
Bin from China
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014

酒店外表不错,房间装修简陋”

价格适中。

The greatest discontent garbage liar travel agent is the lobby, will give you a 2000 baht Phi Phi Island Tour brochure, and then give you a discount as long as 1000 baht, said also includes lunch, only with no lunch and shuttle tickets, tour guide. Waiting for you to come back to the question will come up, and set different is marked 1000 baht Phi color pages of publicity, it is only the transportation and ticket. You argue not her rational, to Thailand three times, first encountered such a liar. Phi Phi Island round-trip tickets plus shuttle price as long as 110 yuan 550 baht, never in the agency here to order, rather search. Hope will never have stayed in this hotel friend cheated.

Reviewed May 13, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Hoa from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014

good place to stay”

breakfast- helpful staff - comfortable living

staff is helpful, room is big and clean and comfortable. dont forget to ask for a free traveller sim card swimming pool is said to be good bad things: - lift is always overloaded in the morning when everyone goes for breakfast - cannot get a lift to go down if you are not living in the top floors - lift always full - do not trust the travel agency. the lady told me that because we have two big luggages - we need to buy three bus tickets because it's a minibus - they will pick up at the hotel. They really picked up at hotel with a minibus - however the bus only brought us to the main street then another big bus picked us up. Felt like being fooled. - did not expect a gym - however they have one - good thing. However its not maintained - dirty and so hot

Reviewed February 19, 2014
4.7
neil from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013

old rundown and shoddy hotel”

big car park.

this is a very poor hotel. it is old and run down. very basic facilities. generally over priced for what it is now. the room is a good size but does not feel secure. the fixtures might have been nice in the 70s. the bathroom is similar to what you find in a hostel full of backpackers. the staff are pleasant but choose to ignore do not disturb signs. over all it was not a pleasant stay.

Reviewed January 04, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Denny from Indonesia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013

Nice staff, good breakfast, but need renovation”

good food, fast wifi, nice staff

The hotel is centrally located. We stayed for 4 nights. The wifi in the room is very fast. Some parts of the hotel need to be renovated. While we were there, there were several time electricity shut down. Unfortunately, the weather at that time was not good.

Reviewed December 09, 2013
8.3
Excellent
quinton from Denmark
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013

Exellent value for money, location and great staff”

Staff spoke fluent english and were very helpful, lovely big pool, exellent value for money(discounted rate) and location

This review is based on a discounted Price for standard room; Although the hotel is old and the furniture etc. old, it is still nice and clean, The staff are all very friendly yet professional. Check in-and out is super fast, breakfast is vert good with something for everyone(nice fresh coffee), The pool is large (must be 20 meters long?) and clean, the bed is not super soft but also not hard like a lot of beds in Thai hotels, loads of Water in the shower/bath, fresh towels, soap etc. every day. Location, smack in the middle of town and lots of nice restaurants, shops etc. 5 min walk to the old town. For the Price paid I cannot come up with anything negative

Reviewed September 07, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Laura from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013

Good enough for a return visit”

Good location (easy access to public transport, shops, eateries), great view from upper floor room, clean, big and comfortable bed.

Although room was not all perfect, ( squeaky wardrobe door, missing towel hook and drippy shower tap ) it was clean and the bed, big and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate, an average spread of Western and Asian cuisine. Good location as shops, eateries, bus stations to airport/ beaches, sights of interest in town was within walking distance.

Reviewed August 26, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Laura from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Pleasant enough for a return visit.”

Good location ( closeness to shops and eateries), transportation easily available, scenic view of the city from upper floor room.

Although all was not perfect in the room ( squeaky wardrobe door, non-working electric kettle, which was promptly replaced by housekeeping and a toilet that needs a little upgrading ), nonetheless, it was clean and the bed big and comfortable. Great view of the city from an upper floor room. Breakfast was adequate, a fairly good mix of western and Asian cuisine. Good location, walking distance to shops, night market food stalls, bus stations to airport and beaches.

Reviewed August 25, 2013
7.7
Very good
kenneth from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013

A pleasant stay. Big hotel”

close to the main part of town. Large room, no noise

A big part of why I chose this hotel was for the pool and gym. When I arrived I found out that the pool was being renovated. When they saw my displeasure they immediately upgraded me to another room so I was grateful for this. Staff were very helpful

Reviewed August 03, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Sarah from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2013

Short distance to ferry port”

comfy bed, good food, nice staff

We only stayed over night and this hotel was perfect for this. Hotel is in need of an upgrade but rooms were clean, comfy and large. Buffet breakfast was very good wide variety of food but be sure to get in early.

Reviewed June 11, 2013
5.3
Pitch from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013

Fine room but terrible neighbourhood”

Price rate is ok when compared to accommodation.

I stayed for 6 night this month. Hotel pool is a bit small not suit for exercise. Gym is awful. The room is not large and furnitures are outdated. Shower is hot all the time. Bathroom is a bit old which make it look dirty. My room is on the 16th floor and I still hear the noise from night club which make me awake all night. Breakfast is ok, but low variety.

Reviewed February 25, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Ruma from India
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013

Lovely Hotel but Poor Room Service”

best features are the rooms

The hotel rooms and the reception staff are very good. However the housekeeping and room service are very poor. They do not understand English and when you finally get across the message the service takes its own time. We ordered room service menu to decide what to order but the menu never came. The tourist guide and taxi service center however is excellent and very helpful. Overall it was a comfortable stay and a lovely holiday.

Reviewed February 13, 2013
6.7
Good
Peng from Singapore
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012

Great location but aging ”

spacious room,friendly front counter staffs

situated near the heart of city with nearby shopping centres like Robinson and Ocean.There also roadside cooked food stalls near Robinson shopping centre ,for the more adventurous visitors. Also visited a more upmarket shopping-Central Festival a few kilometers out of city,which catered for more sophisticated customer with computer outlet and even dedicted Apple computer reseller. The City is rather quiet street traffic likely due to more vibrant new development of shopping and entertainment outlets in the Patong seaside area. The Hotel is aging with many basic things need to be fixed ;dripping tap,not so cold airconditioning system etc.

Reviewed March 18, 2012
6.7
Good
Chia from Singapore
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011

Big room and good location”

Location are good for shopping, food and massage

the rooms are big, conveniently located with easy access to food, massage and shopping. the not so good side of this hotel is that it is located next to a happening pub and the music makes it difficult for your sleep.

Reviewed October 17, 2011
4.3
Chia from Singapore
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011

Great location”

The location is good.

This hotel had very good location. There's a lot of food, massage and shopping that we are looking for. Nightlife activities are very accessible from this hotel. Hotel staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating. We had a pleasant stay in this hotel.

Reviewed October 09, 2011
8.0
Excellent
john from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2011

quality hotel”

good room,good views,good location

The swimming pool was very good and secluded and quite..the breakfasts had plenty of choices..the room was clean and good views...The hotel staff were as helpfull as you could wish for with smiles all round..All in all I will stay here again when in Phuket next

Reviewed May 09, 2011
8.3
Excellent
HENG from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2009

still like it”

cheap and convenient
bit old

I stayed here for 4 times already and still liked this hotel.To me convenience is utmost important, convenient to the market, shopping and restaurants. Opposite the hotel is my favorite MI TON PHO and the hokkien noodles and porridge. It is so easy to move from place to place from here.Other hotels are nearby and cheaper restaurants compared to Patong.I dont mind being far from Patong as I don,t like the beach but love to enjoy the tranquility of Phuket town and its old charms.The service here is good, breakfast has got a good array of local and western food.people are friendly, mostly Thai visitors and I feel so at home.Facilities wise not much but who needs the gym when you can tour Phuket till you drop.Then again to Patong and other beaches is not far either and you pay a lot less staying in town and mingling with the locals.Ill be back again

Reviewed September 04, 2009
9.0
Exceptional
Maureen from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2009

Metropole Hotel Review”

Great buffet dinner & breakfast. Nice big rooms beautiful lobby friendly & helpful staff
Alittle paint in the rooms would freshen them up

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The dinner buffet was a reasonable price and had a lot of variety. Breakfast was a very nice array also. We thought the hotel was very nicely designed and the lobby was striking. The rooftop pool area looked good but unfortunately we were not able to use it as there was a wedding booked to use the pooldeck and our stay was too short.

Reviewed March 11, 2009
5.3
Jakrin from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2008

Metropole review”

Near by home town
Car park is outside no security

This hotel is located near by home town and Robinson shopping mall just walk about 5 min. I stay in Deluxe room it was made comfortable to me especially rest room but I noticed that water from shower was brown when start open in first time, have to drain out. And I strongly recommended to have security guard at car park due to it is open door car park behind the hotel. Over all this hotel is fair for me.

Reviewed January 06, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Colin from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2008

metropole hotel phuket”

The hotel was very close to the clean part of phuket,it is modern,and clean.
Too big.

The Metropole hotel phuket,was a very modern hotel,it was clean,the staff were very friendly, the food was nice,it is very close to markets,and the better shops of phuket,the price was good value for money.it was very easy to find your way back to after going out.

Reviewed September 01, 2008
8.7
Excellent
Cynthia from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in August 2008

Metropole Hotel Phuket City”

I liked the King size bed, it was very comfortable. The tidiness of the room. Fixtures & fittings were in good condition.The tv programs were good. I liked the pool & gym. I liked the friendliness of staff. I liked that they had a Feng Shui master downstairs available to give readings. I liked the proximity of the Hotel to shops & restaurant. I liked the coffee lounge downstairs. The breakfast food provided was of a very good standard. I liked the King size bed, it was very comfortable. The tidiness of the room. Fixtures & fittings were in good condition.The tv programs were good. I liked the pool & gym. I liked the friendliness of staff. I liked that they had a Feng Shui master downstairs available to give readings. I liked the proximity of the Hotel to shops & restaurant. I liked the coffee lounge downstairs. The breakfast food provided was of a very good standard.
I found the tv reception was not very good. The toilet system took a little while before it would flush. I felt a little self conscious having to take the lift to the pool area with other people in the hotel not going to the pool. Perhaps a pool robe can be placed in the room cupboard for guests so that they can attend the pool in modesty. A room safe would be good. Tea & coffee facilities should be available for guests.

Airconditioning could be adjusted as required. A large panoramic window with view over a part of the city from which a beach could be seen. Good quality curtains covered the window and provided good block out to ensure a fitful sleep. In all I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The staff were always pleasant and when I would return to the hotel had my room key ready to hand across to me. The hotel provided a safe storage facility downstairs. The only comment to this was that it was an inconvenience at times to wait to be asssited to retrieve my money or belongings from time to time when I required to do so. The hotel is clean and very characteristic in architecture & inside very comfortable and westernised yet still maintaining a strong Thai influence through the use of colours, pictures, statues & extensive use of marble.

Reviewed August 24, 2008
4.4
Isaac from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Not up to standard”

Corridors smelled vaguely of dirt, walking to our room we saw a dead cockroach on the floor, over 24 hours later the same dead cockroach was still in the middle of the corridor floor. The room looks very nice in the pictures, but was kind of dirty and they had literally papered over cracks in the wall. There were a few other little things like this, but the location was great and the price wasn’t too bad.

Reviewed September 04, 2018

Thank you for your review while recently staying at The Metropole Hotel Phuket. We have seriously acknowledged your comments and immediately action to contact pest control and improve quality of service. We are deeply apologize for the experience you met. Once again, thank you for being with us and look forward to having another chance to show you the improving again soon. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
4.4
Rosezita from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

Review score”

Saw someone feedback that the pool was out of order when he was there. Many months later, when I was there, the pool was out of order, again. Made me wonder if the 'renovation'was just an excuse for a pool which was no longer functional. Staff could not even speak basic English and were rude.

Reviewed August 22, 2018

Thank you for your review while recently staying at The Metropole Hotel Phuket. We have seriously acknowledged your comments and immediately action to contact pest control and improve quality of service. We are deeply apologize for the experience you met. Once again, thank you for being with us and look forward to having another chance to show you the improving again soon. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
8.8
Excellent
Ganesan from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in December 2018

Great location, big room”

Still under renovation, mainly at level 4th. But good location for city tour, most at walking distance

Reviewed December 16, 2018

Dear Mr. Ganesan, Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Now we are on process to upgrade our product and also improve the quality of service from staff as well. in the future. I hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Again, thank you for choosing The Metropole Hotel Phuket, and if we can be of assistance to you, please feel free to let us know Kind Regards, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded December 17, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
9.2
Exceptional
Chia from Singapore
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

New renovated”

Better rooms after renovation.

Reviewed November 27, 2018

Dear Mr. Chia, Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Again, thank you for choosing The Metropole Hotel Phuket, and if we can be of assistance to you, please feel free to let us know. Kind Regards, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded December 17, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
9.2
Exceptional
WIRAT from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

โรงแรมเก่า แต่ก็สะอาด อุปกรณ์ครบครัน คุ้มราคา ทำเลดีเยี่ยม”

มาเมืองภูเก็ตทีไร ก็เลือกพักที่นี่ทุกครั้ง เพราะ เดินทางสะดวก ที่จอดรถกว้างขวาง โรงแรมเก่า แต่ห้องก็สะอาดเรียบร้อยดี พักผ่อนสบาย อาหารเช้าอร่อย

Reviewed May 11, 2018

Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
8.4
Excellent
Vittorio from Italy
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in January 2018

Excellent”

The pool was closed but this was not advised in the hotel description.

Reviewed February 02, 2018

Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
10.0
Exceptional
puneet from India
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018

very good hotel ”

wonderful hotel. friends are happy !

Reviewed January 03, 2018

Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
8.0
Excellent
HAFIZ from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Nice Budget Hotel”

Really nice located hotel, near to amnesties and Muslim food about 200 meters walk. However WIFI connection was disappointing.

Reviewed December 02, 2017

Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
8.0
Excellent
Sub from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2016

Good location”

Old hotel need to renovate but locate in Phuket city and value for money.

Reviewed January 27, 2017

Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
9.6
Exceptional
Vera from South Africa
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

I loved I.”

It just needs serious renovating in the bathroom and fumigation for cockroaches. Not nice not been able to have a proper shower or bath.

Reviewed November 05, 2016

Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
8.0
Excellent
Khemitsara from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013

Good”

great location
Reviewed June 05, 2015

Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
8.0
Excellent
LAI from China
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013

Good location”

Good breakfast, friendly receptionists, good hygiene room
Reviewed June 10, 2013
8.3
Excellent
LAI from China
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013

Good Location”

Friendly receptionists
Reviewed June 10, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Faisal from Pakistan
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013

Nice place to stay”

Good price

Nice place to visit and stay with your love ones, i am really happy to book this hotel. i do recommend to others.

Reviewed February 21, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
jinutta from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Lovely hotel ”

Great location

This hotel is so lovely . The location is very good . So convenient to go Everywhere. The breakfast is nice. The room is quite big. And room service is great!

Reviewed January 28, 2013
8.3
Excellent
jinutta from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Lovely hotel”

Good location

This hotel is so lovely . The location is very good . So convenient to go Everywhere. The breakfast is nice. The room is quite big. And room service is great!

Reviewed January 28, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Abhishek from India
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2012

Lovely hotel with large rooms ”

large comfortable room...one of the best.location in town

Stay was nice, room was quite big more then what required by two people. hotel staff was helpful, service fast & apropriate.

Reviewed April 26, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Goh from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011

great great great location.........”

value for money for short stay especially for those wana stay away from busy life

walking distance to attraction, old town, food n so on

Reviewed October 05, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
stephen from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2008

Value for money”

Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed March 09, 2008
5.2
Hwa from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

A Total Disappointments”

I chose to stay over at metropole hotel because of the location and it was so much better for my previous stayed compared to this time. I returned because I remembered it was good, but apparently it turns into a huge disappointment. The little cockroaches are literally partying in my room at night. They are just moving around when I switch my light off. It was very annoying and very unhygienic. My stayed turned into a disaster. I will not recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family!

Reviewed November 02, 2017
6.0
Steven from Belgium
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

Room is ok, facilities in bad condition”

The Hotel is old, our room was fine though with a great view over the city. The facilities like the swimming pool are poor, the hallway to the swimming pool was in bad shape, leaking water in 4 different areas. Nevertheless our stay was okay because of the cheap price and the room which was fine.

Reviewed October 08, 2017
3.2
Zoey from United Kingdom
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2016

Room infested with bugs. Not even worth the very little money we paid”

We knew it was going to be basic due to the price. But browny/yellow water came out of all the taps and our rooms were infested with bugs.. we complained to reception and all they did was come and use a broom to come and sweep some of the bugs up - pointless as they were back within 5 minutes on the floor and in the bed. Also, be careful when eating at the restaurant - we ordered beef burgers and what they served us was most definitely not beef, we couldnt eat whatever it was and felt unwell for the rest of the day. Do not stay here if you are bothered about any form of cleanliness and hygiene.

Reviewed October 26, 2016
3.6
BEE from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2016

Old hotel that needs improvement”

Location wise is good and staff is friendly. However, the hotel is in very very old condition with a very smelly odour throughout the hotel. The hotel corridors to the room is dark and the room itself was also dirty with quite a few stains on the carpet, stained toilet floors and toilet bowls. The toilet bowl also had many cracks on the seat and is very yellow. The water that came from the pipes were also yellow - you have to run it for a while for it to turn clear. And there wasnt really any hot water to shower. The hotel definitely needs a revamp or a throughout clean.

Reviewed October 11, 2016
7.6
Very good
Norman from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016

LOOKS GREAT OUTSIDE!”

The facade, and the reception looks Good! When I got to my room, it was a different story. The room looks very tired,and could with a make-over. Overall, a pleasant stay, and value for money if you don't mind the age of the room. Everything works, and the beds are clean.

Reviewed September 15, 2016

Thank you for your visit and review during your recently stay at The Metropole Hotel Phuket . We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Larry Yim General Manager

Responded September 21, 2018
The Metropole Hotel Phuket
6.3
Good
Melanie from France
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015

Old!”

Price, service, big rooms

Big hôtel but not enough clients... So the hotel is empty and very old! You smell dust at the floors, the pool is not really attractive. Even though people at the service were really nice. In the center of phuket town you have some night clubs and bar around the streets.

Reviewed January 31, 2016
7.0
Very good
Yvette from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015

Could do with a massive renovation”

Old world charm. Room space.

This place was once a very grand place. They have a ballroom, bar with piano, fitness room. However these were all run down and understaffed. Ita sad actually... you can really tell that this hotel was once a place to be back in its hey day. If you really appreciate old world charm then this is actually a beautiful place to stay. But if you are after hip, trendy, modern with super attentive staff... then this place may not be for you.

Reviewed July 07, 2015
6.3
Good
zoltan from Hungary
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2015

Shouldn't be rated as 4 star. ”

The best thing was the staff attitude at the reception. Very kind, and helpful.

Not pleasant, very dated decoration. I wouldn't suggest to jump into the pool. Many areas I would consern of health and safety. There was a noise coming from the cealing all night. It shouldn't be 4 star rating. Agoda seriously should review its website as it's miss leading costumes.

Reviewed May 15, 2015
7.0
Very good
Nazya from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2015

You get what you pay for”

Location near Rassada Pier and Robinsons department store

We only stayed in the Metropole as It is located near Rassada Pier. The hotel itself needs updating, rooms have an ancient, old style feel. On the plus side the rooms are spacious and clean. No luxury hotel, but if you are just staying the night in order to catch the ferry early next morning then this is a good place to stay. Breakfast is mediocre especially for those on a halal diet. Robinsons department store is a 5 minute walk and has an excellent supermarket. Good for a one night stay and get ferries the next morning.

Reviewed March 25, 2015
3.7
Vicki from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in June 2014

It was okay breakfast staff not friendly”

The pool Location and reception

We were on the 9th floor could not sleep the first night due to the noise from the pub next door.Management upgraded us to the 16th floor which was much better.I found the staff at breakfast not very friendly the hotel was not busy you still hsd to get up and get yourself tea while the staff were doing nothing

Reviewed June 21, 2014
7.3
Very good
Wistin from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

Simple hotel and good location”

staff, clean, location

The hotel located on good location of Phuket old town, staff are friendly and wifi internet are provided with free of charge. Superior Room is the old room and need an renovate, I would recommended to book Deluxe room if price is interesting you. Overall is good for basic stay.

Reviewed June 19, 2014