The Mitre Hotel
HD Image
Apartment - Room plan The Mitre Hotel
Lobby The Mitre Hotel
Buffet The Mitre Hotel
See all 65 photos
Removed from saved list
7.2
Very good
/10
(319 reviews)See what guests said
See map
9.2
Exceptional
Location rating score
Exceptional location - 110 meters from city center
Parking
Available
  • Harvey Nichols20 m
  • The Shambles40 m
  • Old Wellington Inn40 m
  • Manchester Cathedral Summer Concerts70 m
  • The Wheel of Manchester100 m
  • Marks & Spencer120 m
  • Arndale Centre130 m
  • Filmworks140 m
  • HMV Manchester150 m
  • Chetham's Library & School of Music200 m
  • Free Wi-Fi

    The Mitre Hotel

    1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester City Center, Manchester, United Kingdom, M3 1SW - See map

    Don't miss out!

    3 travelers have booked today.

    "The Mitre is located next to Manchester Cathedral, within a minute of a tram stop, and a few minutes from Victoria Station."
    Aileen - July 26, 2018
    Very good service
    7.6 rating for service
    Good cleanliness
    6.6 rating for cleanliness
    • 340 meters to public transportation

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Daily housekeeping

    • Bar

    • Smoking area

    Cheaper than 99% of all properties in Manchester in the last 24 hours

    Compared to 1,592 Manchester properties at Agoda for various dates

    Property ranking|Compared to 1,592 Manchester properties
    See all rankings
    Location score
    9.2/10
    Cheapest price score
    Review score - United States
    5.8/10
    Room comfort score
    6.3/10
    Better than
    99
    %
    of Manchester properties
    Better than
    99
    %
    of Manchester properties
    Better than
    97
    %
    of Manchester properties
    Better than
    96
    %
    of Manchester properties
    Value for money7.0
    Distance to city center0.5KM
    Location rating9.2
    Nearest airportManchester Airport (MAN)
    Distance to airport13.8 km

    Rooms available at The Mitre Hotel

    Executive Double Room
    Executive Double Room
    ...
    • Non-smoking
    • Shower
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double Room
    Double Room
    ...
    • City view
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Small Family Room
    Small Family Room
    ...
    • City view
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 single bed and 1 double b...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Apartment
    Apartment
    ...
    • Room size: 64 m²/689 ft²
    • Street view
    • 1 single bed and 2 double b...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double Room with shared bathroom room
    Double Room with shared bathroom room
    ...
    • City view
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Luxury Double Room
    Luxury Double Room
    ...
    • City view
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Twin Room
    Twin Room
    ...
    • City view
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double Room without Window
    Double Room without Window
    ...
    • No Windows view
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Large Family Room
    Large Family Room
    ...
    • City view
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 single beds and 1 double ...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    ...
    • City view
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices

    What people love about The Mitre Hotel

    • 10.0
      Exceptional
      Location

      "First time I've stayed here, it's in a great location for shopping and MEN."

      Yvonne

      |

      November 20, 2018

    • 8.0
      Very good

      "Tea and coffee provided in your room was nice and a tv."

      Nancy

      |

      October 13, 2018

    • 7.6
      Very good
      Location

      "The hotel located in good location with a big bed room."

      Yati

      |

      October 11, 2018

    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about The Mitre Hotel

    More about The Mitre Hotel

    7.2
    Very good

    "Interesting that the staff offered discount for next visit i..."

    Carolyn

    |

    March 28, 2018

    An overview

    Show less

    Most talked about facilities

    Housekeeping
    12 mentions
    Breakfast
    8 mentions
    Internet
    7 mentions
    Food & Dining
    2 mentions

    What they offer

    8.0
    Very good
    Staff 

    "Nice old listed building, staff are pleasant and helpful."

    Chris

    |

    July 22, 2018

    View all reviews
    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    Food and dining

    Breakfast options

    Full English/Irish

    Restaurants on site

    The Mitre Restaurant
    Cuisine:International
    Menu:Buffet

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less
    Most helpful reviews for The Mitre Hotel
    Couple
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2019
    Double Room
    Exceptional10.0
    You won't be disappointed Absolutely loved this bed & breakfast. I would rate it a 20\10 if I could. We were greeted with a friendly welcome by the owner and shown our room. Our room #6 was the cutest most comfortable room. Zero complaints about the bed, pillows, heater, facilities. Our was a shared bathroom which was so clean and spacious and the shower was flawless.. The entire building is well maintained and in excellent condition. Car was parked out the front with no worries and there's a few supermarkets 5 minutes up the road and about a 15-20 minute walk into town.. Breakfast in the morning was delightful and the chef Pasqualo was so friendly, approachable and accommodating.. I would highly recommend this cute home stay to everyone. You won't be disappointed. Thank you for having us. Kind regards, Kirsten & Tyson
    Kirstenfrom AustraliaReviewed May 09, 2019
    Family with teens
    Stayed 3 nights in July 2019
    Small Family Room
    Very good7.2
    Value for moneyLocation is a double sword. on negative side, its beside a bar which can be noisy at times especially on a saturday night when we were there. o a positive side it is very near to everything.
    Abdulfrom MalaysiaReviewed July 22, 2019
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2019
    Double Room
    Good6.0
    Too noisy Whenever I turned on the water, there's this crazy loud noise coming out from the tank. Super loud till it scared the hell out of me the first time. It's super annoying and I can even hear the one from the room next to mine. Having said that, the sound insulation of each room is terribly poor. Room is rather small given but location is great. That's the only reason if I'd to stay in Mitre again.
    Chanfrom MalaysiaReviewed June 16, 2019
    Couple
    Stayed 2 nights in December 2018
    Double Room without Window
    Excellent8.0
    Good place to stay if you plan on walking around the cityAlthough the toilet was dirty, and some towels were also dirty, its value was great(considering its price)-though I noticed they had a sale after I booked, which is why I took stars off. Ask them for a low-floor room if you have huge trunks
    서연from South KoreaReviewed December 30, 2018
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
    Single Room
    Excellent8.0
    Not bad not amazing Staff were very friendly and helpful which is always welcoming, ok for just two nights wouldn’t recommend if your a lite sleeper as there is a lot of street noise. Breakfast food was nice and reasonably priced. My room was all I needed bath and shower was a bonus! Is due for a new mattress you can slightly feel the springs. Tea and coffee provided in your room was nice and a tv. Very old building but nice and safe feeling would stay again only let down is the noise and mattress.
    Nancyfrom New ZealandReviewed October 13, 2018

    Reviews of The Mitre Hotel from real guests

    Overall rating
    7.2
    Very good
    From 4451 reviews
    Provided by verified guests of
    Agoda Reviews (319)Booking.com Reviews (4132)
    Rating via Agoda7.2
    /
    10
    Cleanliness6.6
    Facilities5.7
    Location9.2
    Room comfort and quality6.3
    Service7.6
    Value for money7.0
    High score for Manchester
    Rating
    9+ Exceptional (33)
    8-9 Excellent (23)
    7-8 Very Good (35)
    6-7 Good (12)
    <6 Below Expectation (76)
    Time of the year
    Mar - May (32)
    Jun - Aug (55)
    Sep - Nov (69)
    Dec - Feb (23)
    All guests (319)
    All room types
    All languages

    Show reviews that mention 

    Showing 179 verified guest comments
    12345
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Kirsten from Australia
    Couple
    Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

    You won't be disappointed ”

    Absolutely loved this bed & breakfast. I would rate it a 20\10 if I could. We were greeted with a friendly welcome by the owner and shown our room. Our room #6 was the cutest most comfortable room. Zero complaints about the bed, pillows, heater, facilities. Our was a shared bathroom which was so clean and spacious and the shower was flawless.. The entire building is well maintained and in excellent condition. Car was parked out the front with no worries and there's a few supermarkets 5 minutes up the road and about a 15-20 minute walk into town.. Breakfast in the morning was delightful and the chef Pasqualo was so friendly, approachable and accommodating.. I would highly recommend this cute home stay to everyone. You won't be disappointed. Thank you for having us. Kind regards, Kirsten & Tyson

    Reviewed May 09, 2019

    Dear Kirsten/Tyson Thank you so much for taking the time to Review the Hotel, we Appreciate your kind words. Kind regards

    Responded June 20, 2019
    The Mitre Hotel
    7.2
    Very good
    Abdul from Malaysia
    Family with teens
    Small Family Room
    Stayed 3 nights in July 2019

    Value for money”

    Location is a double sword. on negative side, its beside a bar which can be noisy at times especially on a saturday night when we were there. o a positive side it is very near to everything.

    Reviewed July 22, 2019

    Good morning, Thank you for your review of the Mitre Hotel and taking time to leave your feedback about your experience and your stay with us. We understand that sometimes, with the hotel being in the heart of Manchester, right in the city centre, there can be noise at times. We want to apologise about this and perhaps if you were to stay again, we would move you to a different room which is on the opposite side. We hope you enjoyed the location and we do hope you would visit again. Best wishes, Amy

    Responded August 17, 2019
    The Mitre Hotel
    6.0
    Chan from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2019

    Too noisy ”

    Whenever I turned on the water, there's this crazy loud noise coming out from the tank. Super loud till it scared the hell out of me the first time. It's super annoying and I can even hear the one from the room next to mine. Having said that, the sound insulation of each room is terribly poor. Room is rather small given but location is great. That's the only reason if I'd to stay in Mitre again.

    Reviewed June 16, 2019

    Hello Thank you for your Review, i do apologize you experienced noise, we do have 39 rooms in total and we could possibly allocate you a larger room on your next visit. Happy to see the location was great for your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards

    Responded June 20, 2019
    The Mitre Hotel
    8.0
    Excellent
    서연 from South Korea
    Couple
    Double Room without Window
    Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

    Good place to stay if you plan on walking around the city”

    Although the toilet was dirty, and some towels were also dirty, its value was great(considering its price)-though I noticed they had a sale after I booked, which is why I took stars off. Ask them for a low-floor room if you have huge trunks

    Reviewed December 30, 2018

    Hello Thank you very much for your score i am very sorry the toilet was dirty also the towels, I do hope this was reported to our reception in order to make amends for you. i hope this does not put you off staying with us again. Kind Regards

    Responded January 02, 2019
    The Mitre Hotel
    8.0
    Excellent
    Nancy from New Zealand
    Solo traveler
    Single Room
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

    Not bad not amazing ”

    Staff were very friendly and helpful which is always welcoming, ok for just two nights wouldn’t recommend if your a lite sleeper as there is a lot of street noise. Breakfast food was nice and reasonably priced. My room was all I needed bath and shower was a bonus! Is due for a new mattress you can slightly feel the springs. Tea and coffee provided in your room was nice and a tv. Very old building but nice and safe feeling would stay again only let down is the noise and mattress.

    Reviewed October 13, 2018

    Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us, we really value your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were friendly, this is always great feedback. We are very sorry that you experienced noise from the streets, we do state online that being city centred you may experience some noise we are very sorry this was the case during your visit. Also regarding the mattress we are replacing these as we do the rooms. We do hope that you visit us again in the future so we can hopefully better your stay. Kind Regards Katie

    Responded November 22, 2018
    The Mitre Hotel
    3.2
    Samantha from United Kingdom
    Couple
    Double Room without Window
    Stayed 1 night in July 2019

    Worst sleep of my life ”

    Please review your mattresses, our bed was an collection of springs with a sheet over it, my back is still painful two days on. Also please find a way to turn off the extractor fans as it sounds like a washing machine is on a full cycle in the bedroom

    Reviewed July 11, 2019

    Hello Samantha. Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that our mattresses were not of the quality you expected, and that the extraction fan was too loud, we will look in to these issues. We hope other than this your stay with us was enjoyable and hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Liam The Mitre

    Responded July 18, 2019
    The Mitre Hotel
    8.0
    Excellent
    Marwin from Indonesia
    Group
    Twin Room
    Stayed 1 night in June 2019

    Location is very good”

    No elevator

    Reviewed June 14, 2019

    Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to Review the Hotel, Happy to see the location was great for your stay, i do apologize regarding the lift, due to the building being listed we are not able to install a lift, i do hope this does not prevent you from staying again. Kind regards

    Responded June 20, 2019
    The Mitre Hotel
    4.8
    paul from United Kingdom
    Couple
    Double Room without Window
    Stayed 1 night in July 2019

    Small sauna of a room”

    Room was so hot that made it impossible to sleep, room was so small with no table or anything to put stuff on. Horrendous

    Reviewed July 13, 2019

    Hello Paul, thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that your room was too hot, you stayed with us during an unusually hot period in Manchester and we do not have air-con unfortunately. As for the small room, if you book with us direct next time we can look to get you in a larger room, which will perhaps be less hot also. Kind Regards The Mitre

    Responded July 18, 2019
    The Mitre Hotel
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Josephine from United Kingdom
    Group
    Large Family Room
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2019

    Exceptional”

    Had a lovely stay, great location, staff and food excellent. Thanks

    Reviewed July 01, 2019

    Hello Josephine, Thank you so much for your review, we are so happy to see you enjoyed the location and that you thought our food and our staff were great! We hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Liam The Mitre

    Responded July 18, 2019
    The Mitre Hotel
    6.0
    Cheryl from United Kingdom
    Group
    Twin Room
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    Filthy”

    Room was on top floor no lift, no help with luggage. Room was awful wallpaper peeling off the wall, stains on the wall, burn marks on carpet, toilet and shower on the landing not in room. A couple of pluses the bar and restaurant downstairs is amazing food fantastic, decor excellent and 25% off your bill if your staying at the hotel. Very close to Manchester Arena and a short walk from the train station

    Reviewed June 04, 2019

    Good morning Cheryl, Thank you for your review of the Mitre Hotel. We are very sorry that overall you did not enjoy your stay in the hotel. Our rooms are currently going through refurbishments and we understand that certain rooms do require updating. If you were to stay again, perhaps for another concert then if you booked direct, this would give us the opportunity to put you in a room that has recently been renovated and therefore this would change your opinion of the Mitre Hotel. With regards to the lift, we are a listed building and therefore cannot install a lift. We do sincerely apologise that this was not made clear to you before booking, but again, if you were to stay again we could put you on a lower floor. We always have people on hand to help with luggage if you would have asked at reception but again for this we sincerely apologise. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in our bar/restaurant and we would love you to visit again. Kind regards Amy

    Responded June 13, 2019
    The Mitre Hotel
    5.2
    Marie
    Couple
    Double Room
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    Not the best”

    Really noisy, we had a double room that was extremely small I think the toilet was a sani flush it made a dreadful noise the bathroom was very small also no room to move round the bed , I ordered a vegetarian breakfast and it came with bacon?? I told the chap who had served it he was really apologetic and brought me another breakfast minus the bacon

    Reviewed May 07, 2019

    Hello Thank you very much for your Review, i am so very sorry you experienced some noise from the sani flow system, we are trying to look at ways to minimize this. Regarding the Breakfast, i am happy to hear the problem was sorted for you, we shall take all your feedback on board and i do hope this does not prevent you from staying again. Kind regards

    Responded June 20, 2019
    The Mitre Hotel
    8.4
    Excellent
    Andrea from United Kingdom
    Couple
    Double Room without Window
    Stayed 1 night in December 2018

    Excellent”

    Room 34 - converted broom cupboard with a poorly designed ensuite. The hand basin prevents the door opening fully and dependant on your size you may not be able to access the ensuite at all! The double bed was uncomfortable and this was reported to reception in hope that this would be changed soon for future guests.

    Reviewed December 18, 2018

    Hello Thank you very much for your score we take all our Feed Back on board. Kind Regards

    Responded January 02, 2019
    The Mitre Hotel
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Yvonne from United Kingdom
    Couple
    Triple Room
    Stayed 1 night in November 2018

    Lovely hotel, central location”

    First time I've stayed here, it's in a great location for shopping and MEN. The rooms are a bit dated but spotless and comfy beds. The staff are very helpful and friendly and a good breakfast served in the bar/restaurant. Value for money, will be back!

    Reviewed November 20, 2018

    Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us, we really value your feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and you found the hotel good value for money. We do have some more modern rooms as we are undergoing updates in the hotel, when booking please call the hotel to advise what room you would like. We look forward to your future visits Kind Regards Katie

    Responded November 21, 2018
    The Mitre Hotel
    8.4
    Excellent
    Patricia from United Kingdom
    Business traveler
    Small Family Room
    Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

    Such helpful staff when Agoda messed up the reservation”

    I booked this hotel through Agoda and had confirmation by email. On arrival at the hotel they had no information about our booking and they were fully booked. They went out of their way to help us locate another hotel for our two night stay in Manchester, not easy a there was a home Manchester City match. They tried to contact Agoda at the time without success. They told us that Agoda would refund the payment already made plus the additional cost of our new booking. On trying to contact Agoda this morning I am unable to speak to anyone by phone and email access is not being permitted.

    Reviewed September 24, 2018

    Good Morning Patricia. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us, we really value customer feedback. We are very sorry that you had been experiencing some issues with Agoda regarding your visit here with us. We are very pleased that our staff were on hand to help out with finding you another accommodation. We hope that you do stay with us in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct when needing information on availability and we will be happy to deal with all your queries. Kind Regards Katie

    Responded November 23, 2018
    The Mitre Hotel
    6.0
    TOSHIMASA from Japan
    Solo traveler
    Double Room
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    Depending on the payment amount.”

    The floor is uneven. I hear a noise when I walk. The room is large. Living & Kitchen, Bedroom, Toilet, No Shower, Bathtub. I am traveling alone so it is better to be cheaper than wide.

    Reviewed May 26, 2019

    Good morning Toshimasa, Thank you for your review. We are overall pleased with your comments and we would really love for you to stay again if you visit Manchester. Best wishes, Mitre Management

    Responded June 13, 2019
    The Mitre Hotel
    5.6
    Sugiarto from Indonesia
    Group
    Small Family Room
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    Above average”

    Wifi is very slow. Arrived 15 mins earlier than check in time and not allowed to check in. Hotel is very old especially the stairs.

    Reviewed May 14, 2019

    Good morning Sugiarto, We thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We do apologise about the delayed response in responding to. Our WiFi is checked regularly and we do not usually have complaints regarding the WiFi but I will certainly get this checked in the room that you stayed so thank you for your feedback. We hope that you would visit again. Best wishes, Amy

    Responded June 13, 2019
    The Mitre Hotel
    6.0
    Sugiarto from Indonesia
    Group
    Triple Room
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    Above average”

    Wifi is very slow, building is very old.

    Reviewed May 14, 2019

    Hello, thank you for your review. We have two wifi's due to the shape and age of our building, at least one should be strong in your room, we apologise if that wasn't the case. Our building is very old, 204 years old to be precise! However we hope our newly refurbished rooms are nice and modern. We hope to see you again Kind Regards Liam The Mitre Hotel

    Responded July 18, 2019
    The Mitre Hotel
    7.2
    Very good
    Nur from Malaysia
    Family with young children
    Large Family Room
    Stayed 1 night in April 2019

    Near to tram station and Manchester Arndale”

    Good place to stay as it is near to tram. For muslim traveller, you can walk to Manchester Arndale to enjoy halal food.

    Reviewed April 30, 2019

    Good morning Nur, Thank you for your review of the Mitre Hotel. We really do appreciate your kind comments and feedback. We are really pleased that you managed to find halal cuisine close by and we would really love you to stay again. Kind regards Amy

    Responded May 31, 2019
    The Mitre Hotel
    7.2
    Very good
    Christina from Germany
    Group
    Twin Room
    Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

    Never again”

    my friend I booked a room with bathroom, which we didn´t get. Agoda offered two options: double room with shared bathroom and double room. I booked the one with the included bathroom. On the second morning the bathrooms had no water. After a while the reception offered to use a room where people had allready checked out. The water was ice cold, so no shower possible. Would be nice to get a refund, as this was not, what we checked in for at all. Be carefull: wifi, where all your data will be collected!!!

    Reviewed April 02, 2019
    2.0
    Alice
    Couple
    Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

    Absolutely horrendous, avoid at all costs!!!!”

    This hotels website is a completely false representation of what this hotel is. The hotel looks absolutely nothing like the photographs. We booked a room for 2 nights and ended up staying less than 5 hours. Our room was tiny, we booked a double room and were given a single room with a double bed in there, we could barely fit our luggage in there and couldn’t even walk across the floor from the bed to the window. The bed had springs sticking out of the mattress. The room was filthy and damp, we were given no toilet roll and the toilet was broken, it didn’t flush properly, and made a constant loud noise. All of the walls were stained, wallpaper was peeling off the walls, the lamp was broken, the window in our room was cracked and filthy, there was no heating and the room was freezing. When we complained about the room, the man on reception tried to help as much as possible, it was clear that he was aware of how unacceptable the hotel was. He

    Reviewed March 28, 2019
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    The Mitre Hotel
    |Very good 7.2
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Exceptional location
    • National Football Museum
    • Manchester Victoria Train Station is within 0.35 km