Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type

based on 30 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 7.1
  • Room comfort and quality 6.2
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food and dining 6.5
Sort by

jennifer from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Single Room – Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in June 2014
Frankie, great common space with kitchen, very friendly
Frankie is lovely. She is very helpful. If she cooks, you are in for a treat. Friendly and relaxed atmosphere. I would stay here again.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

KUNG from Malaysia
Business traveler
Twin Standard
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Very Nice Place to Stay!
Friendly Staffs, Great Location, Super Unique!
I was in love with this place the minute I walked in. The Owner Franky is very helpful. One of the best place I have ever stayed my whole life. In my opinion, everyone should spend at least once in their life in this special hotel. You will understand why once you have tried it. Let me kept the secret and myth that will blow you away. I will be back there soon!
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Muhammad from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
It was quite comfortable for a solo traveller
Relaxing, you can make like you was in your own house and you get to become friends with other travellers
I arrived at airport and get my own rent for the hotel for almost an hour but didn't found, call the hotel also no answer...i almost want to get other hotel, as this hotel was very cheap..then suddenly they pick up the phone & give direction to their is located behind secret recipe, above chinese restaurant, & no signboard! only letters N,O,O,K on their window...the staff was very friendly & i get to upgrade my room for an additional RM7 only...
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Wong from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Single Room – Non-Smoking
Stayed 7 nights in July 2013
A memorable stay at The Nook in Kuching
Reasonably priced, clean, and safe.
It was absolutely great. staff was everything from airport pickup driver to receptionist/cashier to concierge to tour guide. Naturally, being a local, she was knowledgeable about Kuching which was great for people who visited Kuching for the first time, such as Yours Truly. For the price, I would rank my stay at The Nook highly on roundabout all criteria. It would not be fair to expect a five star quality at The Nook, while what was delivered was really value for money. I could not have asked for more. staff has done a wonderful job at looking after the guests besides myself.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Melanie from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Single Room – Non-Smoking
Stayed 13 nights in May 2013
Hot, no privacy, but friendly owner
The owner Franky
The only good things about this stay were the owner Franky, the outside showers, and the price. Franky is SO friendly and was always available to help give directions or suggestions of places to see. She also offers free pick up at the airport! Even though there wasn't hot water for the showers, I loved them. They were semi-outside (but still private), and I really liked them. There were many less than desirable things too. The walls do not go to the ceiling, so there was very little privacy. I always felt that I needed to be quiet or turn my light off at a decent time so as to not interrupt the other guests. In the mornings, it was hard to sleep in as we were all awake when the first person got up (due to the noise). THERE IS NO A/C, and it was hot! There is a small window AC unit at the far end of the main room (with about 10 small ceiling-less rooms in it), but it was never on and the window was always open. It was quite miserable, and I had a hard time sleeping (and I live on the equator, so I am used to the heat). The location was not very good either. None of my taxi drivers knew where it was. They were all very confused when I described it to them as there are only restaurants around. One even told me that he wasn't comfortable leaving me in the part of town alone after dark. It was also impossible to catch a taxi anywhere in the area. I had to walk pretty far to catch on. Despite Franky's friendliness, I would definitely not stay here again.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

YT from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Single Room – Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
The single "room" is better described as a cubicle
Has a bar area for those who like to socialise
Map provided on Agoda is incorrect. No one answers the phone at the number provided. Spent a lot of time going in circles around the area looking for this place in the rain. Asked several locals who also gave the wrong directions. Single "room" turned out to be a cubicle (walls don't extend to the ceiling) which has a door that can't be locked when you go out. You'll be able to hear everything that's going on outside your "room". In the cubicle is a single mattress and a pillow on top of a wood platform. No blanket, towel etc are provided. 1 toilet and 2 or 3 shower stalls shared among several rooms (singles and doubles). Cold shower only. Pegs for hanging your clothes in the shower are unreachable for those under 1.6m tall. The small wastebasket provided that assumably is also shared among all the rooms gets filled up very quickly indeed.
Reviewed July 06, 2013

Helmy from Malaysia
Twin Standard
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Simple and easy
Simple, nice, easy
The staff there (Frankie) was so friendly and very helpful to us although for a short stay.
Reviewed July 04, 2013

Magdalena from Poland
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013
Expect unexpected...
Forget about a room...this place is more an office space with mattresses instead of desks...
Literally, it is a one big room divided into smaller cubic spaces by the short walls. There is a space between the wall in your so called room and a ceiling, where the air-conditioning is hanging - so you share the airco with the others - 8 cubic spaces in total. It is like a dorm room but with short walls....You can hear your neighbours snoring v. well. This place is run by an Asean hippi woman, who is nice but a bit crazy. The showers are....outside....on the terrace covered by a provisional roof. There are only 3 toilets in the whole hostel... It is not much. Pay 5RM more and you can get your own 4 walls somewhere else. No problem with finding something else in Kutching.
Reviewed July 01, 2013

Barry from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Kind staff, welcoming vibe, ideal for solo travel
Staff very kind, a welcoming atmosphere, a great place for the solo traveler
Excellent. Staff very kind, a welcoming atmosphere, a great place for the solo traveler.
Reviewed July 01, 2013

Yion from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
clean, quite surroundings and centrally located
friendly staff, budget stay, free airport pick-up and transfer
pros: friendly staff, budget stay, quite surroundings cons: AC not cold enough as there is only one AC and is shared by all the dorm rooms, no water heater, rustic interior, lighting is too dim
Reviewed June 28, 2013


Select loyalty program

Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.


Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.


Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: