Book Now: The Ocean Front Hotel

Excellent8.3
Based on 206 reviews

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (206)
Booking.com Reviews (378)

8.3

Filter by guest type:
Excellent
based on 206 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 6.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Room comfort and quality 8.6
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for money 7.7
Excellent
based on 33 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Room comfort and quality 8.7
  • Service 9.0
  • Value for money 7.7
Excellent
based on 86 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Room comfort and quality 8.5
  • Service 9.0
  • Value for money 7.7
Excellent
based on 62 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 6.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Room comfort and quality 8.7
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for money 7.6
Very good
based on 6 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Location 6.3
  • Room comfort and quality 8.3
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 6.7
Excellent
based on 4 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Location 7.5
  • Room comfort and quality 9.0
  • Service 9.5
  • Value for money 8.5
Excellent
based on 15 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Room comfort and quality 9.3
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 8.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:

Language
  • English
  • 日本語
  • Deutsch
  • 简体中文
  • Français
  • Italiano
  • Nederlands
  • 繁體中文 (香港)
  • Español
  • 한국어
  • العربية
  • Svenska
  • 繁體中文 (台灣)
more less

Sort by
Showing 202 verified guest comments
  • clear all

8.0
Mohamed from Maldives
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
friendly staff, nice location, good food and wine”
food, wine, location
very friendly and professional staff, only thing to do is to do little bit more rather following all P&P , simply to show can - do - attitude from the waiter.
Reviewed August 14, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Medhawin from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Great Staff!”
staff staff staff
Great!
Reviewed August 02, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
3.0
stevey from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Ocean is the only good thing....”
The view of the ocean is the good thing
This is not a good place to stay. The location is across the road from the sea...but is also across the road from a busy coastal railway line where trains honk and hoot as the approach the nearby station...most of the day and night. Deluxe room here was really basic and hotel is uninviting and unwelcoming...from the locked front door to the steep stairs up to reception and even steeper steps to rooms this place is awful and I have no idea why others have rated it so highly. It's a dump and relatively expensive compared to other much better hotels around. Worst place we stayed out of 14 hotels across this beautiful, hospitable island. Don't go there
Reviewed July 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
3.3
Nicholas from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Save your money”
Nothing
The are much nicer places to stay and you can get better value for money elsewhere. The bathroom was proportionally bigger than the bedroom!
Reviewed April 26, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
CHONG from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Seaview Apartment in Colombo”
1)Breakfast; 2)Staff Performance; 3)Location (near the railway station)
The guests could walk to the railway station (Kollupitiya) with 10 minutes. It was surprise to discover the Casino near the hotel. We enjoy the nice breakfast and the staff are very polite :)
Reviewed April 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Takehiko from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Good, but epensive”
Location, staffs
It's not bad, but not so good. I have no complain without price.
Reviewed April 17, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Charles from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
good”
good
Good
Reviewed April 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
DIPESHKUMAR from India
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Good Motel Rather than Hotel”
Cheap price, good services & good food
We are a family of four pax( 2 adults + 2 children above 18 yrs of age )!We have booked 2 delux rooms ! Rooms were quite big and have all reqd room ameneties like aircon,LCD,hot&cold shower etc and all were in good working conditions ! The food prepared was also good and enjoyable ! The only thing I don't like is its location ! It is located little bit away from the busy life of the city but near to the famous Casino ! So casino lovers should stay here rest all should stay away from this hotel ! last but not least please be prepared that this is some sort of Motel having limited rooms ! It is not actually hotel !
Reviewed January 26, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
GEK from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
This is the very small Hotel only have 7 room .”
Room Good and clean .. Internet Strong , Good Sea Veiw
Every Thing is ok , But a bit over price . This type of Hotel should set the price at US$ 50 to 60.- Per night .. But I paid over US$ 100.-
Reviewed November 14, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
wang from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Good stay”
Clean, nice view, good service
Nice balcony, good ocean view, clean room, good service and food. recommend.
Reviewed September 22, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Vanessa from Italy
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Perfect location & Great staff”
Location, cleanliness, staff, view
I couldn't recommend the ocean front hotel enough for a place to stay whilst in Colombo. The staff were incredibly helpful and kind and the room we stayed in had an amazing view of the sea. A short tuk tuk ride from most places of interest (city centre). We even walked around quite a bit. The food was really fresh and we really enjoyed the Sri Lankan breakfast.
Reviewed September 18, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
GEOFF from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Highly Recommended ”
Location Room Staff
We had one night stay at this new hotel which came recommended from a friend.The staff were excellent and the room was modern and spacious. I had to get up early in the morning and the staff accommodated this with an early breakfast which was very enjoyable. There are many choices of hotels in Colombo but for this price I would highly recommend it.
Reviewed September 09, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Roderick from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
great staff, good value, convenient location”
great staff, good value, convenient location
Very enjoyable. Staff were very friendly and did all they could to ensure a nice stay. Nice simple breakfast and clean rooms. Some complain about trains, but I didn't find the noise obtrusive. Great value for the money. I would stay again and recommend to friends
Reviewed July 28, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Kantanit from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Friendliest hotel this side of the Indian Ocean”
Ocean front location, very friendly staff, clean room
I arrived at The Ocean Front Hotel well after dark. The reception was personal and friendly as we were shown to our 2nd floor ocean-front room. The highlight of our experience at The Ocean Front was when we dropped in after our early morning trip from Kandy and asked whether we could deposit our luggage there for the day while we take the tour of the city awaiting our midnight flight out of Sri Lanka. We were not only warmly welcome, but were offered tea and coffee and a room to freshen up later in the afternoon at no charge. In addition, the manager in charge also gave us tips of where to go and where to eat. We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends.
Reviewed July 24, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Gary from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff, centrally located”
Rice and Curry, location, helpful staff and clean spacious room
Even though I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hotel, please inform the hotel to be careful in their food preparation and storage of food. As I had a nasty bout of food poisoning after having eaten exclusively at the hotel. The chicken rice and curry was the culprit, the food at time of consumption was delightful and it pains me that this happened. Otherwise the stay was excellent and I would not hesitate to stay there again.
Reviewed July 21, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Chew from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Treated like Royalties ”
Friendly and Attentive Staff, Sea View Room, Good Foods
We were treated like Royalties the moment we step into the hotel. The 6 rooms were stylishly designed and some have good views of the Indian Ocean. We have our last "Curry" before leaving for the airport and the meal was delicious.
Reviewed June 03, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Tharindu from Sri Lanka
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Worth for the money You Pay”
friendly staff, center of city, affordable price
I wanted a place to stay for two days and I got it from this hotel. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean and enough space. 100 m from the main road and many shopping centers, centrally located in Colombo.
Reviewed May 22, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Andrew from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Nice, clean hotell to relax in after a long travel”
Got a birthday cake on my birthday, Clean, Attentive staff
We had a nice relaxing stay in this hotel. Would stay here again if we are going to Colombo.
Reviewed May 14, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Chris from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Great”
Cheap, Clean, Friendly
Great
Reviewed May 06, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Oleg from Russia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Very hospitable place”
Comfortable room, friendly & helpful staff, reasonable price&quality for staying 1 night.
We liked the place. But noisy at night (loud music from outside) and early morning (close to railway). Overall impression is fine.
Reviewed May 02, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
TSUTOMU from Japan
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
VERY CLEAN ROOM AND CHILL OUT.”
HELPFUL STAFF , A/C . CLEAN BATH ROOM
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ESPECIALLY IF YOU WANT TO RELAX NEAR THE SEA SIDE. THE VIEW FROM THE MAIN LOBBY WAS AWESOME.
Reviewed April 12, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Marcin from Poland
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Good hotel”
Location. view
Good location, but noisy cause of the railway just in front of the hotel. You need the ear plugs to sleep well
Reviewed March 26, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Karina from Malta
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Comfortable cozy hotel”
Ocean view, breakfast, easy acess to the city
It was comfortable,, the room requested with the ocean view,, AC was good,,, internet in the room was working, I didn't want to have full breakfast and only few items from the menu were given to me complimentary. There is promenade just under the hotel,, easy acess to the park, bars,, restaurants and shopping, Tea/coffee in the room
Reviewed March 18, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
anna from Russia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
clean, calm, frendly”
clean, calm, frendly
clean, calm, frendly. We were camming in Colombo erlier than booked room and Hotel find for us free room for 1 day. They are very helpful and freandly.
Reviewed March 13, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Michael from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Very friendly, ideal location, good breakfast”
Staff, staff, staff
Ideal spot for a last night in Colombo. Good value, clean and great service.
Reviewed January 07, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Heather from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
very comfortable and excellent hospitality”
location staff English
A lovely two night stay with staff able to help on every front - highly recommend
Reviewed January 01, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.0
Murali from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Below Expectations, could have been better”
Friendly staff who went the extra mila
Average stay. Found it over-priced. Lack of amenities and facilities.
Reviewed December 19, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Monica from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Ocean view in the city”
A comfortable room with a nice bathroom. As the hotel is in front of the ocean, it is very cooling to sit at the balcony to enjoy the sea breeze. THe free wifi is a bonus.
As our room is facing the afternoon sun, it is very warm inside the cool even till night the air-conditioner seems not blowing cold air. We have the fan turn on as well. Will be good to have the air-con service. Also, ants are crawling in the room, we have to put all our bags up on the chairs.
Reviewed December 16, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Greg from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Friendly and efficient”
Location, spacious room,new
The staff are friendly and the hotel is comfortable. Great value.
Reviewed December 04, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Jane from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
short but sweet ”
great breakfast, attentive staff and they stayed up until 2am to let us check in from the airport!
Short but sweet. Great staff, nice modern hotel, a cute little place with nice touches and nice people.
Reviewed December 04, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Muhammaed from Pakistan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
overall experience is good”
breakfast.ocean view ,near main road
Reviewed December 04, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Anuj from India
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
awesome!”
proximity to the ocean, friendly staff, cozy rooms
Great location, friendly staff and fits in the budget. only thing that bothered me was the early morning trains passing by... however it's a great place to stay and would definately visit again be it business or liesure.
Reviewed November 11, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Barbara from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
A comfortable stay and amazing staff”
Staff, cleanliness, location
Really great stay at this hotel. We flew in from the UK so it was a really pleasant place to get over our jet lag. Rooms are lovely, staff are fantastic and location is good - right on the beach and not far from Galle Face Green. The only downside was that there was music playing nearby during the night until around 2am - bring earplugs.
Reviewed October 17, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Russell from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
A small boutique hotel with 5 star service. ”
The Staff, near the ocean & the Spa on the top deck.
Don't be fooled by the entrance to this hotel. What lies within is a level of service that far exceeds many 5 star hotels. The management and staff were most welcoming and attended to my every need during my stay there. I would like to give special thanks to Shaun for the outstanding service he gave to make my stay a most memorable one. Also a special thanks to the chef who cooked up my Sri Lankan favourites for breakfast, lunch and dinner without any problems. The view from the top is outstanding and relaxing in the spar with a cold beer overlooking the ocean is a must on a hot humid evening. I look forward to staying here again.
Reviewed September 26, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
jo from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Hotel quality with personal feel”
Clean& modern facilities, Friendly staff, good location
Very good start to the holiday. Staff very welcoming & helpful. Facilities very comfortable and modern
Reviewed August 11, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Jala from Lebanon
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Super small freindly hotel”
staff, view, value
I stayed one night but i would definitely pick this hotel if i return to Colombo
Reviewed August 06, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Brad from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Good for a stopover”
Nice Room, Breakfast, Staff
Stopped over for the night in Colombo before heading to the South Coast. Good for a stopover but wouldnt holiday in Colombo myself(No fault to this particular hotel)
Reviewed August 02, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.0
cherukumalli from India
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
we were shocked when we reached the property. ”
except staff every thing simply horrible
it was a debacle. its worth quarter the price we paid. how can any body call it as a hotel. its only 5 service room property. just because we fully paid room rent through agoda, we forcefully stayed for 1 night.
Reviewed July 31, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Robyn from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Pleasant, staff very professional and considerate”
Proximity to ocean, staff and Sri Lankan Breakfast on request
Overall excellent and staff very professional. Two items that let it down were a glass door to bedroom that let light in at night and the spa pool right next to the wall outside my bedroom that was being used at night.
Reviewed July 22, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Solange from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Central, clean boutique hotel”
location, cleanliness, comfort
A small, boutique hotel in terrace style building facing the ocean. Very clean and comfortable, on the mid-to-higher end of the scale. Big comfy couches in small dinning room and outdoor setting on upper balcony overlooking ocean. Some noise from train line which runs in-front of building along ocean - it is noticable, but not overbearing and didn't bother us. Hotel is conveniently located, close to train station and buses, or 2km walk to city centre. Staff were very attentive and friendly, but as mentioned by some other reviewers, i did find their 'servant' rather than 'service' approach made me feel uncomfortable, and i found them a bit overbearing (they asked us to write a review and fill in the guest book about 5 times). But these are minor points in an otherwise good stay. We also stayed one night at the hotel Renuka/Renuka City Hotel across the road, and for a similar price, this hotel was much nicer.
Reviewed July 15, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Reyna from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Very comfortable, friendly staff and great value.”
Friendly staff, comfortable and beautiful rooms, nice modern and clean bathroom
I was on my home and stayed at The Ocean Fort Hotel for my last night. Sadly I fell ill and was unable to enjoy the restaurant even though they had organised a Sri Lankan Breakfast for me. The staff were really very helpful and friendly. They organised a well priced driver to the airport with no trouble. My room was large and had a very comfortable bed. The staff are very friendly and attentive and have a lot of knowledge of the local area. They made sure I had what I needed. The hotel had an excellent security system too.
Reviewed June 29, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Choi from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Hotel facing the Indian Ocean”
Large and clean bathroom, windows facing the Indian Ocean
Nice view and our room have 2 large windows facing the Indian Ocean. The room we stayed had a small balcony. The bathroom was very big and clean.
Reviewed June 04, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Jackie from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
Nice hotel with wonderful staff”
the staff, the Sri Lankan breakfast made by the cook on request, local transportation easily available
Nice, small establishment with very personable staff.
Reviewed May 29, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Samantha from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Fantastic”
Staff, view, gorgeous room
Reviewed May 14, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Robert from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Nice room, excellent staff”
Across street from ocean, friendly staff, comfortable room
Reviewed April 29, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
abbie from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
they have very helpful & friendly stuffs. good job”
helpful stuffs. clean room & Ocean view
i was arranged in the Ocean view room with balcony. its great! the only thing is you need to plan to wake up very earli coz the train will wake you before 6am in the morning. anyway, its fine for me coz i plan to wake up early! all stuffs are veryy attentive. they tried to accommodate whatever you need.
Reviewed April 29, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
RICHARD from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Excellent choice in colombo”
Superior staff service which was excellent but not imposing. Convinient location to central area.
It has to be my one of my two favorite hotels in CMB
Reviewed April 23, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.3
Abdul from Maldives
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Noisy and uncomfortable.”
Location. staff. price
Reviewed April 17, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Melanie from Australia
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Superb”
Attentive staff, generous manager, modern design of bathroom
Reviewed April 16, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Otto from South Africa
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013
Wonderful accommodation”
Location, clean, staff
Had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The staff made me feal at home at the location could not be more perfect.
Reviewed April 10, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |

1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: