Book Now: The Old Palace Resort

Excellent
From 342 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
/
10
Recommended by 90% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (342)Booking.com Reviews (1202)
8.0
/
10
Excellent
From 342 reviews
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities7.7
Location7.8
Room comfort and quality8.2
Service8.5
Value for money8.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (342)
All room types
Showing 301 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Markéta from Czech Republic
Family with teens
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Perfect”
Very beautiful place and pleasant staff. The food in restaurant and for breakfast was delicious. They were very helpful.
Reviewed November 28, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Lisa from Germany
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Beautiful and quiet”
The resort is quite far from the center of the historic city, but in a calm neighborhood. There's a beautiful green garden around the bungalows. The owner and her mother are incredibly nice Thais, their English is okay and the thai dishes served were delicious and not that pricy. We spent two nights and one beautiful day here and would come again!
Reviewed November 09, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Maren from Germany
Solo traveler
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Friendly place ”
Such a peaceful and friendly place ! Loved my stay!
Reviewed August 29, 2016
7.2
Very good
SASICHON from Thailand
Group
Bungalow 3 adults
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
The staffs are very nice”
Good breakfast
Reviewed August 24, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Didi from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Double Building
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Amazing small resort”
This resort is definitely amazing! Especially the staffs, definitely will go there again if i had a chance to visit ayutthaya again!
Reviewed July 19, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Ethel from United States
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
outstanding”
Lovely environment. Clean, spacious individual cottages. Very sweet and helpful staff--arranged tours, had bikes and mopeds for rent. Limited menu but delicious food. Would definitely return.
Reviewed July 10, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Esther from Germany
Couple
Standard Double Building
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Quiet location and beautiful patio”
Big clean and quiet rooms with a beautiful garden/patio invite you for staying longer. Very friendly staff who also cook well in their accompanied restaurant. Easy to reach with a scooter.
Reviewed May 28, 2016
8.0
Excellent
James from United States
Couple
Standard Double Building
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Good service and room ”
Bed, shower, and helpful staff
Reviewed March 18, 2016
7.6
Very good
Pradeep from Sri Lanka
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Nice staff..”
We were in Old palace hotel for 2 night in last month (Feb 2/3)and it was so good place with kind hospitality of droughter of owner. She always prepared to help with laughing face. Some of temples are close but suggest to have rent a bicycle provide from hotel which cost 50Batt for 24 hours is convenience to go all over the placess. We would like to go again to old palace hotel.
Reviewed March 06, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
martin from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double Building
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Friendliest guesthouse ever”
clieanliness.welcome and helpful
The moment we arrived we were met by Bo with the biggest smile. We knew straight away this was going to be a great place to stay.She showed us to our room and insisted on carrying one of our heavy backpacks. The room was bright and airy and spotlessly clean as was everything about the Old Palace Resort.We only had breakfast which was beautifully presented and again a smile. We hired bikes from them and cycled around the historic park all marked out on a map for us. We were leaving with late check out and were allowed free of charge a room to freshen up and a taxi arranged for us. Excellent location for historical sites
Reviewed March 02, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Brittany from United States
Couple
Standard Double Building
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
easy”
close to wats, clean, very nice family.
Reviewed February 23, 2016
7.6
Very good
Raphael from France
Couple
Standard Double Building
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
...”
...
Reviewed February 02, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Helene from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard Double Building
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Great location, super nice room”
Location, very clean, large room
Very confortable stay, good value, helpful staff. Bicycle rental 50 bhats a day, rode around for 3 days. My favorie hotel in Thailand. Located in Klong Sa Bua, quiet and safe area. I just really loved it.
Reviewed January 30, 2016
7.7
Very good
Wen from Taiwan
Family with young children
Standard Double Building
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
It is ok for short stay”
Good location , nice room rate , big room
The location is good, not far away to the historic spot and hot spot Even though the building is too old, but the cleaning is ok Somehow if you need to buy something in the late eveing, there is no shop or 7-11 around.
Reviewed January 07, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Sopit from Thailand
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Very nice”
Room is the best
Very good
Reviewed January 03, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Sean from United States
Couple
Standard Double Building
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
quiet and relaxing location”
friendly staff, good food, relaxing location
The Old Palace Resort has a very welcoming and friendly staff. The rooms are clean and well kept. While the food menu isn't vast the food was good. The free wifi works well enough too. We stayed only one night, but would definitely stay there again.
Reviewed December 21, 2015
7.7
Very good
Chandra from Australia
Family with teens
Bungalow 3 adults
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Clean, well maintained and good location. ”
Location. Cost. Cleanliness.
Second time here. It's a little older but very clean and maintained. Excellent location and value for money and the lady who runs the place is super lovely and helpful.
Reviewed April 30, 2015
4.7
Hua from China
Couple
Standard Double Building
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Disliken and bad”
Unconvenient location, unclean
Bad experience, the hotel is a little far from the city center and dark surrounding area especially in the night, the room is not clean. I really dislike it.
Reviewed March 01, 2015
6.3
Good
Ploymanee from Thailand
Family with young children
Standard Double Building
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Great quiet place”
Location, quiet
Great and quiet place.. good price. They have bicycle for rent only 50THB perday. I rent it after arrived and also the next morning and they didnt charge more. But TV is little too small
Reviewed February 23, 2015
7.7
Very good
Angela from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double Building
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Good budget hotel”
Location for sightseeing, friendly staff and value for money.
Room spacious and clean. Furniture and garden could do with some TLC. Can't find any other English channel on TV beside one news channel. Wifi a bit slow. Quite lukewarm shower and a very efficient air-con. Very quiet location all round.
Reviewed January 14, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Jessica from South Africa
Couple
Standard Double Building
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Good friendly people”
The people who run the place are amazing especially Bo who was very helpful and friendly. The food was fantastic!
Very comfortable the bathroom was super clean! Great aircon.
Reviewed January 04, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Josie from United States
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
nice place”
comfy bed, nice and helpful staff, quiet for sleeping
The place was nice and staff was very friendly. They rent bicycles and the place is close to a pretty temple. The location is across the river (off the island) but just a few minutes walk to a beautiful temple. It's quiet and not much to eat in the area as far as restaurants go but they do have a restaurant. They ruins can be reached easily by bicycle from hotel.
Reviewed December 22, 2014
7.3
Very good
Shun from China
Family with young children
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
room facilities does not meet my expextation”
staff service, location, hotel overall.
Reviewed December 05, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Chutintorn from Thailand
Group
Standard Double Building
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
-”
-
-
Reviewed November 24, 2014
6.3
Good
William from United States
Solo traveler
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Alright, but could use a better location.”
The food was good, the staff were very helpful, and the room was nice.
Reviewed October 03, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Tyson from Australia
Couple
Standard Double Building
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
clean, modern but a touch out of town”
room size, staff, bathroom
We had a great stay at Old Palace. Although the place is a touch out of town, we were able to hire bikes (cheap 50b) to explore the ruins. Breakfast was as you would expect from hotels in this pricerange throughout asia (eggs, toast, corn flakes, some fruits and tea/coffee). The room we were in had a great tv, unfortunately 99% of channels were in Thai. I'd highly recommend they change package to include some more english channels. Overall great stay though and we would stay there again.
Reviewed May 05, 2014
4.0
Tim from Germany
Family with young children
Bungalow 3 adults
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
very dirty”
Best was the car parking
Reviewed April 09, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Peter from Canada
Couple
Standard Double Building
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
A quiet spot close to the old city”
Quiet, comfotable accommodations, helpful staff, bike rental
We had a very pleasant stay. We were able to rent bikes to reach historical sights that were some distance away. Breakfast was fine, but would have preferred it earlier as the days were quite hot. The staff booked our travel on to Bangkok for us, and were helpful with suggestions.
Reviewed March 26, 2014
6.7
Good
Michael from Philippines
Family with young children
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
A quite place to stay”
Nice staff, quite surroundings and near some attractions
It was a good experience for our 2 days stay. The staff are kind and nice people.
Reviewed February 18, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Agathe from Canada
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Appreciated visiting the ruins by bicycle.”
Accessible bicycles, good food, nice bungalows in well-kept environnement
Very agreable. The room was quiet but the ter race, where we eat was noisy because of the street traffic.
Reviewed February 18, 2014
7.3
Very good
christin from Germany
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Short trip through the history”
own bungalow, own bycicle rent, great tour offers
we stayes there three nights and the bungalow was big enough for two people. we had an own terrace and good breakfast every morning. roomservice was excellent. the bathroom was very stinky (Greywater) and the wifi very slow. The place is outside from the island and a 15 min drive by bicycle to town where the restaurants and temples are.
Reviewed February 09, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Jonathan from Canada
Couple
Standard Double Building
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
great place to stay. bungalows are nice clean and ”
staff, cleanliness andbunga
Reviewed January 28, 2014
8.0
Excellent
vongtavanh from Laos
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Lovely staff ”
Breakfast, staff location
Staff are nice and friendly, the place is quiet, but the place and the garden is dead, the room need the real renovation, and ants which scared my friend off were big. Apart from that, it's quite a nice place and fair for value with good breakfast and quiet.
Reviewed January 19, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Grygorii from Ukraine
Group
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Good rooms, nice surrounding, great service”
hotel exterior, location, staff attention
Reviewed January 19, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Paula from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Double Building
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Very friendly helpful family run place”
Organized tours, clean, and friendly service
Our stay at The Old Palace Resort was great. We were in Ayutthaya for just 36 hours and on arrival were able to arrange a bunch of short tours to fill our time and maximize our stay in this historic city, thanks very much to the help of the guesthouse. I have fond memories of the place.
Reviewed January 16, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Jeff from United States
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Nice family run hotel”
Friendly, helpful, large quiet rooms
There are lots of old and current temples within walking and biking distance of this hotel. The staff really takes care of your needs - you only have to ask. They can answer questions and help arrange transportation. I ate most of my breakfasts and dinners at the hotel's deck, and while you might wait a bit for dinner, it's worth it. Like Thai home cooking with a diverse menu. I have two cautions. First, the doorways to the bathrooms in the bungalows (but not the newer standard rooms) are kind of low, and if you're about 5 feet 10 inches or taller you're probably going to bang your head in the middle of the night. So if you are on the tall side, reserve one of the standard rooms instead. Second, the thermostat and fan controls on the air conditioner in our bungalow was disabled, so it was either on full blast or not at all. This was okay for cooling off the room in the late afternoon, but way too much cold air at night. Overall, I would stay there again, but in a standard room.
Reviewed January 08, 2014
7.7
Very good
Daniel from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Double Building
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
good budget hotel”
close to Ayutthaya attractions, clean room, breakfast included
Very good budget hotel overall. My only complaint is that the bed was very hard but this is common in Thailand. Also the hotel closes it's front gate early at night so if you expect to come back late it may be a little irritating to have to wait for someone to open it. Overall I recommend the hotel if the price is good.
Reviewed January 03, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Napalai from Sweden
Family with young children
Bungalow 3 adults
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
pleasant and historic environment”
staff, quiet environment and history
to rent a bike and cycle around the various temples, was so cozy!
Reviewed January 02, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Lynn-Marie from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Standard Double Building
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
A nice overnight stay”
friendly staff, free bicycles, nice bungalows
I enjoyed to stay at the Old Palace Resort. My room was in a bungalow, which was very nice. I felt comfortable at once. I was almost sad that I only stayed one night... From the Resort, you can book trips and you will be fetched at the resort. I took a bike and rode to some of the temple ruines of Ayutthaya - it's not that far. The food was good. The young lady working at the reception seemed very busy, but always nice and friendly. Only negative remark: The toilet flush didn't work so well.
Reviewed December 14, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Jiro from Japan
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Nice hotel Nice staff”
Room was clean , staff was very friendly and nice , there was a rental motorbike which was very useful to go to the ruins.
I would like to stay there again when I go to Ayutthaya. Very nice hotel!
Reviewed August 18, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Julia from Singapore
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
interesting experience, most locals do not speak. ”
staff speak good english, nice breakfast & excellent service.
Ideal location to go visiting the historical sights but away from from even a convenience store. Hotel staff arrange tuk tuk in short time frame which is good.
Reviewed August 16, 2013
6.3
Good
Amal from Sri Lanka
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Value for Money”
Good WiFi Internet connection, Clean room, Friendly staff
Location is quite at night without city noise but having your own transportation would be an advantage. There is no decent street shops around. So, you need to travel several kilometers to find some good food if you option taste local food. Eating at the hotel is not always fun! Room was clean and Aircon was working satisfactorily. There was a small closet but it had only 2 hangers. It would be nice if hotel could have add few more. The bathroom was small and the shower curtain was short and dirty. The most unacceptable issue we encounter was the shower water pressure. It would take forever to take wash! Besides those 2 issues, I would say the room was acceptable for the small amount we paid.
Reviewed July 26, 2013
6.0
Chamaiporn from Thailand
Group
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Good location and friendly staff”
Friedly staff, good location, and reasonable price
The room was clean but the AC didn't work properly. However, the staffs were very nice and willing to help with anything.
Reviewed July 23, 2013
7.7
Very good
henrik from Denmark
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013
friendly family run place”
relaxed atmosphere, very good roomcleaning and fast free internet
Reviewed July 08, 2013
7.7
Very good
Dan from United States
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Good for a night's stop”
Friendly staff, good AC, good breakfast
The owner spoke some English and sent the housekeeper to find us when our directions from Google maps did not get us quite to the hotel. All the staff was friendly and helpful. A new shower curtain would have helped the feel of the room, but otherwise all was clean and the property was charming.
Reviewed June 24, 2013
7.3
Very good
Porntip from Thailand
Group
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Good hotel in Ayutthaya”
near city, clean, and cheap
This hotel located in the city and family business, good take care and warm
Reviewed June 05, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Uldis from Latvia
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Small, cosy hotel”
Location, staff, service
It is a small family run hotel with attentive staff. Good breakfast - the best you can expect for the small amount money paid for it. The also offer scooters incl. helmets for rent, and bicycles too.
Reviewed May 27, 2013
6.7
Good
robert from United Kingdom
Couple
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
very very pleasant”
peaceful.location.comfortable
my wife and i arrived here with no great expectations of what we would get as we did not pay a lot of money for our stay here.to our surprise and delight we were lucky to have foumd a little gem of a place.very very peaceful and just what we needed after 9 nights in bangkok.fantastic place
Reviewed May 10, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
somna from India
Family with young children
Bungalow Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
It was wonderful staying there”
economical, friendly staff, great food
the staff was very friendly and let us enjoy till late night. the food was very good and service was good too.
Reviewed April 17, 2013
8.7
Excellent
somna from India
Family with young children
Bungalow 3 adults
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
It was fantastic with nice rooms”
cheap, friendly staff, nice rooms
It was good with staff very friendly.Food was very good. service was good.
Reviewed April 17, 2013