Book Now: The Old Phuket Karon Beach Resort

The Old Phuket Karon Beach Resort Reviews

Excellent
From 971 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
/
10
Recommended by 90% of guests

Reviews of The Old Phuket Karon Beach Resort Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (971)Booking.com Reviews (228)
8.2
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities8.2
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality8.2
Service8.1
Value for money8.2
All languages
All guests (971)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 883 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Nor from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

Exceptional”

Perfect location, walking distance to beach. Right on the hustle & bustle of Karon yet the hotel itself is in very quiet locations. Will definitely stay here again. Staff are super friendly & very helpful.

Reviewed May 13, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
joanne from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in April 2019

Exceptional”

Stayed here for 6nights,it was excellent. The rooms were large, clean and better than expected.the location was right across from the beach, very close to good restaurants,walking distant to market.the main pool was always clean with enough chairs and the poolside pool food was good. The breakfast was fresh,many choices ,no complaints. We had one hiccup with our room and this was handled by Mr muek very well.He really tried his best to solve the situation which we did appreciate. we would definitely recommend this hotel and answer any questions you might have.

Reviewed April 26, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Liu from China
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

It’s an old but luxury resort . But it is not worth that money !”

We live in the hotel for two days , small swimming pool, but we go to the beach often , it’s near the hotel. Breakfast is good , you have sorts of food to choose , but not for Chinese people. All in all , it’s a good hotel for holiday .

Reviewed February 17, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Jasvir from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Very accommodating ”

Our flight was cancelled we turned up next day they upgraded us to pool view room .and we stayed extra 2 nights they give us the same room at no extra cost .i would definitely go there again and recommend it to my friends .very good hotel

Reviewed April 08, 2019
7.2
Very good
Rami from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Not for Families”

If you're going with a family beware. They'll slug you for an extra room even though you could fit an extra head in there easily. Unfair. I had to book an additional room, and I told them I can't leave my children in a separate room unsupervised. We kept them with us anyway, and spent on an additional room. No flexibility at all. Very sad. Left after one night.

Reviewed April 06, 2019
3.6
eddy from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 5 nights in March 2019

Careful to choose this hotel! Very bad experience”

You can't see the beach or ocean from the hotel. It is so dissapointing. Staff is bad. They can ignore you even you asked order politely. Wrong booking and had to spent an hour or more to settle after long distance travel from airport (It is very far from the airport (1.5 hours). My kids were so unhappy. Please be careful if you want to choose this hotel. I am so dissapointed.

Reviewed April 03, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Gunn from Norway
Couple
Deluxe with Terrace
Stayed 7 nights in March 2019

Great location”

A very good choice of hotel in Karon. Close to beach and shops. Smiling, friendly staff. Due to water damage to our originally booked room we had to stay one night at another hotel. This was handled in a very friendly manner by the hotel manager. When we returned the day after we were upgraded to the pool access room which was great! Free Wi-Fi in our room worked great! Breakfast very good.

Reviewed March 09, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Linda from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Pool Access
Stayed 6 nights in October 2018

Love It”

Have been coming here for the past 6 years and love it here. Great to be recognised by the staff who have been here awhile. Quite amazing really! The staff are so friendly and so helpful. Location is fantastic with everything including the beach so close. Only disappointment is that they now have started charging too much for breakfast, previously was included. Won't stop me coming back though.

Reviewed November 06, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Mark from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

It is a very good resort hotel.”

The resort has friendly staff, very good facilities and the rooms and pools are excellent. Due to the Wet season I got a good rate which is less than half of the peak season. I think too pricey in the peak season.

Reviewed July 28, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Wing from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

overall good”

near beach, many restaurants, nice pool. resort provides free shuttle to central festive, patong n night market (but not everyday service , pls check with front desk) gym room is too.......anyway i prefer to exercise along the beach road.

Reviewed February 14, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Celine from Singapore
Couple
Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Good Location”

We stayed for 4 days, the staffs are very friendly and helpful. Location is good, very close to shops, restaurants and the beach (walking distance). They have free shuttle service (one-way) to Patong / night market however we didn't have a chance to get to use this as it was fully book. You have to book in advance, they have limited seats. The room is spacious, the Jacuzzi is huge and prefect for us. Please buy some insert repllenant if you want to enjoy the Jacuzzi in peace, lots of mosqitoes. Overall, we are happy with the stay and would come back again.

Reviewed December 19, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Wai from Hong Kong
Couple
Double Or Twin With Jacuzzi
Stayed 6 nights in November 2018

Great location, very clean and comfortable room”

It's our 2nd time to stay at The Old Phuket and this time we stayed in a pool access room. Room was nothing fancy but we loved the set up of the shower room. House keeper did a great job every day to make our room so spotless. We were amazed how clean the hotel was at our first visit and still amazed us after 8 years! Breakfast was good, fantastic location. Restaurants, massage and family marts are just steps away from the hotel. We paid for the sunbeds at Karon beach, very relaxing and not too crowded. Sure it will be in our choice whenever we come to Phuket again!

Reviewed December 14, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Rico from Switzerland
Couple
Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in February 2019

Exceptional”

Very nice place, nice pool,clean room,good breakfast,good location,very friendly staff. Frontdesk is not friendly Just to beautiful is not enough!

Reviewed February 26, 2019
8.4
Excellent
YUMENG from China
Couple
Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in May 2017

Changed my room when I got there”

The Jacuzzi Room itself is nice. The facilities are all good. But I was really upset and disappointed when I arrived at the hotel. I arrived quite late that day, maybe around midnight. And the staff helped me to check in and led me to the room. But when I got there, I realised that this room was not the room that I booked. There was no Jacuzzi in the room and it was in the high floor. Then I went down to the lobby and the staff told me they didn't have spare Jacuzzi Room for tonight so they changed my room without telling me... And I said I want the room with jacuzzi because that was the reason that I chose this hotel. They said they can only change my room by tomorrow. So the next morning, they finally helped me to change the room with my insistence. It was really annoying and disappointed night but the rest of the nights were great.

Reviewed December 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Chng from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Pool Access
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016

Value for money”

The room was comfortable, and was pretty clean. Loved the pool access balcony. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Only downside is the number of mosquitoes in the room.. So bad that we had to get mosquito repellent for our stay there.

Reviewed September 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Robyn from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Pool Access
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

Spacious resort amid the concrete jungle of Karon”

Loved the sparkling white decor in our serene wing pool access room which was huge, spotless and super modern in style. So nice to stay in a resort with lawns and lovely frangipani trees everywhere. We found the Agoda price about 1/3 the rack rate we were quoted when we walked in odff the street, so it definitely pays to book with Agoda. They also own 4 good restaurants in the little street leading to the resort, have a gym and a small library and also tradition rooms in Sino styling. A great choice.

Reviewed June 23, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Fennis from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Pool Access
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014

Fantastic Hotel”

Large Rooms, Great Service, Central Location

Thoroughly impressed with hotel.Great location, with a short walk to the beach, down a small street full of great restuarants and many massage places to choose from. Rooms were large and very well maintained. The breakfast buffet was extensive. Recommend pool access room in the Serene Wing.

Reviewed August 25, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Fengjie from China
Solo traveler
Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014

A very nice hotel and staffs”

Pool view/ big room/ Comfortable bed

The hotel staffs are all helpful and very nice, smile a lot! The reception upgrade me to the pool access room, which is very surprise nod happy for us. We stayed there for 4 nights, hotel has 2 gates, one is link to the beach, which there are many food and massage you could found, another gate is link to the big street, which also many restaurant and you could have the public bus to Phuket town, very good for a tourist. The swimming pool is nice and good, you could take a big relax there. But hotel do not provide free wifi service in room, only can have it at library, but never mind, we can buy happy SIM card to have internet in room!

Reviewed February 04, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Shi from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Pool Access
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013

third time back here”

pool, breakfast and huge room

The checkin staff was very helpful and able to speak english fluently.. conveniently located with many massage parlours and convenient stores nearby while at the same time being peaceful.. many rooms with a pool at my doorstep with private deck area...best hotel i've stayed in phuket

Reviewed November 18, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Ramalingam from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Pool Access
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013

Fun , Refreshing and Relaxing stay !”

Pool Access, Proximity to the lovely Karon beach and close to chic dining places

We had a great time at the Pool Access room. Totally enjoyed waking up and just falling into the large Pool! The room was spacious, the bathrooms were large with a big shower area and a separate bath tub. Massage parlours and restaurants were situated just outside the hotel. The beach was fantastic! It was just a short 5 minutes walk away and they had jet skis and para sailing activities. The night market was just around the corner and the famous sunset view points at Kata and Promthep Cape are about 30 to 45 mins away by car. The breakfast could have had more varieties and wifi cost 200 baht per day in room. There is free wifi in the lobby area if you are not a heavy user. Overall, the stay at the hotel was worth it.

Reviewed September 04, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Sheryl from New Zealand
Group
Stayed 6 nights in July 2013

Handy Karon Location”

Nice quiet street close to restaurants and shopping.

The rooms are spacious and well appointed with tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel is well maintained and the pools are nice, it all makes for a relaxing stay. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Reviewed August 31, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Sheryl from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 10 nights in July 2013

Quiet and Serene”

Walk to beach, shopping, great restaurants

A very easy place to stay at, Sino Portugese architecture is very calming. Large rooms which are nicely appointed, and 2 pools to choose from to relax in. Just a stroll to a multitude of good quality restaurants in a quiet street, and many massage shops to cater to the aches and pains, or just pampering.

Reviewed August 13, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Kai from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013

The Quintessential Beachfront Resort”

attentive to details, awesome bathtub, great breakfast

It was nothing short of a wonderful experience. We stayed in the new wing - Sino wing of the hotel. It's newly renovated with a nice modern touch to the old history of the hotel estate. The decor features retro themes fused with resort styled furnishing. You can read, see and experience the hotel's history all around. The staff were very polite and attentive. It's the first hotel I come across which bothers to sweep fallen foliage every morning! The patio is really relaxing with an antique sino-styled ceiling fan and teak recliners. For the kinky, you can enjoy the bathtub for two which opens directly out the the patio, with blinds for privacy of course. All my thumbs up!

Reviewed July 27, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Nicholas from Canada
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

Lovely hotel that gives a resort feel”

Close to beach, tourist info, restaurants

stayed in this hotel over christmas holidays. location was great. just steps away from karon beach. along the street outside the hotel was great restaurants, shops and convenient stores. karon beach is a good quiet area for couples and families. the hotel staff was very friendly. the tourist info booth within the hotel is helpful in arranging all sorts of tours, transportation etc. at reasonable cost too!

Reviewed January 06, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
keng from Malaysia
Couple
Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012

A hotel that will give you nostalgic feel”

Large room, fast cooling air-cond, great breakfast, convenient location

The private Jacuzzi: rooms are like individual single storey terraced house. It's huge, with a king sized bed, it's own Jacuzzi for two, yet with another bath tub and separate shower room. We tried the Jacuzzi, it's great and relaxing, except that the walls surrounding the Jacuzzi is a little low (6ft with openings) where people passing by could see. Also, right opposite the room (where the Jacuzzi is outside) is another block (the rooms) that are 4 storeys high. Not so "private" actually though it is dedicated. Air-conditioner: is great, this is important because Phuket can be hot and humid, and when you reach the room, once you turn on the air-conditioner, the room will immediately get cooled in minutes. And your heart will cool down as well. Followed by a dip in the Jacuzzi... Breakfast: for 3 days we had our breakfast there, the main dishes changes everyday. Will not be bored with the same food everyday. Location: This is not near Patong beach (15 minutes away by car) where the center of shopping and night life are in Patong. Karon beach is quieter with less people and traffic. Depends how you look at it. We want to be quiet, that's why we chose hotels around Karon. Because we rented a motorcycle, getting to Patong beach area is easy, just 15 minutes ride.

Reviewed October 19, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Chan from Myanmar
Couple
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012

Great location for relaxation”

a peaceful place.

I've stayed there for 2 nights. Was greeted by friendly hotel staff. Hotel room was pretty big for pool view rooms. From this hotel, it's just walking distance to restaurants & massage shops. Tourist information counter staff was friendly and flexible with the car/bike rentals. Hotel is guarded too & there's parking space for car/bike, don't have to worry about missing car/bike in the morning.

Reviewed October 08, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Jetse from Netherlands
Couple
Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012

beautiful designed hotel with great service”

Location is perfect

After a couple of nights in Bangkok and Patong we booked a few nights at the Old Phuket Hotel and it was a very nice transistion. From the busy streets and the simple hotel we we're used to a super deluxe designed hotel. The Old Phuket is near the beach and in street between the hotel and the beach are a couple of nice restaurants. They upgraded us to a deluxe room that was situated in the "new area" with direct pool acces. Furthermore they where very friendly, well spoken english and they offered us free transfers to Patong and the weekend night market. You'll need a tuk tuk to get anywhere else but since a few restaurants are near the hotel and they offer some free transfers it makes it nice hotel to stay at. I would stay there again.

Reviewed July 11, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Shi from Singapore
Couple
Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012

Excellent hotel!”

Swimming pool was beautiful

We were upgraded upon arrival to the pool access suites due to the jacuzzi suites being occupied. Room was exceptionally beautiful with the pool just a door away! Excellent for relaxing n the bathrooms were stunning! Service was great with the reception very polite n helpful. Not too expensive n highly recommend for any couples for honeymoon! Breakfast was great though ended on the dot at 10:30am

Reviewed May 21, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Anchita from India
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2012

Great hotel and great service”

very close to Karon beach and the market place

the hotel is very nicely located and the staff is quite friendly and service is pretty good. the rooms were comfortable, clean and well kept and we enjoyed the stay overall. the only downside is that the restaurants just outside the hotel are far more expensive than the ones closer to the main marketplace. you might want to walk around and explore the place and look for a nice place to dine that gives value for money.

Reviewed May 17, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
jessica from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011

great staff & really nice rooms.”

good value , clean & well maintained.Bathroom in the rooms was amazing.

greeted by the friendly staff & upgraded to a pool view room in the new wing. decided to stay another night & was looked after with an easy change of rooms as the existing one was booked. The breakfast here is so good & the menu changes every day.All the staff are so friendly & can't do enough to help. The only downside is the internet doesn't work that good.Wasted money on a card then couldn't get any connection.better to go down the street to an internet place,much quicker.If you need to make a phone call same,it cost me $45.00 for a 8 min call,at the cafe $3.00. overall would stay here again no worries.

Reviewed October 28, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Les from United States
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in October 2011

Great location with nice amenities”

Large, comfortable, clean, and modern rooms

The grounds of the hotel was kept up very well. The rooms were a delight. Lots of space. Nice tv screen. Wifi in the room available. Nice large bathroom with shower and tub. The location was great. We like being away from the noise and crowds of Patong, but also not to far away to visit and shop. Great restaurants with a short distance by tuk tuk. Hotel had a great pool. Restaurants, shops, and massage places in the immediate area were very convenient.

Reviewed October 13, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Wendy from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Stayed 5 nights in August 2011

Good hotel !!”

Direct pool access with good view at the bath room

- good stay as i have chosen pool access room. - able to view the pool directly from bath room. - good room & customer service but the shuttle bus service is not enough. - there is no curtain on the floor, if you have young child, be careful that he/she will slip on the floor after returning from pool. - cons: poor flushing system and quite many mosquitos found in all, worth to stay with that price and recommend to have pool access room.

Reviewed September 05, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
ILYA from Russia
Couple
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 21 nights in May 2011

Perfecto”

Nice fresh hotel

Main gate which is on a main road is far from the lobby but once you get into the lobby, you'll appreciate how exclusive and private the resort is. Other than that, you'll find that it's a long walk from the main road. We had a quick check in despite coming in late at 11pm. The staff were inconsistent though, some were friendly and polite, some didn't even smile or looked at us. We got upgraded for free to a villa which came with an outdoor rain shower and a jacuzzi. The room and bathroom were spacious. The pillows were too lumpy but the bed was very comfortable. The bedsheets were dirty and stained though, and had tiny holes in them. The door to the rain shower didn't close properly so there were always mosquitoes in the room. I obviously got eaten alive, as always. Breakfast was good, with fresh eggs and good selection of breads and croissants. My fav were the fruit and yoghurt station. Very fresh and sweet pineapples. The side exit led to Karon beach which was beautiful. Great big waves and squeaky sand, loved the beach! Not as many touters either. Right outside the exit are 2 rows of restaurants, massage parlours and 2 convenience stores.

Reviewed June 05, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
poris
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in May 2011

Lovely hotel, great service and so quiet ”

So relaxing and quiet

Perfect place for guests who like to avoid the crowded and noise. So quiet, relaxing with a nice garden and hotel lobby. The services are so nice. All staffs are really helpful. On the way to the lobby, you will find lots of restaurant, mini market, massage, laundry place and money changer

Reviewed May 25, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Tom from United States
Couple
Deluxe with Terrace
Stayed 1 night in May 2011

A bit of character and great beach access”

A bit of local style, Good value

the hotel has done a good job of creating a bit of local character with their architecture to a building that would otherwise be a boring beach resort (like most of karon's hotels). rooms are nicely done and provide good value. the hotel is a short walk from the beach, but a bit far from karon "central" (though there isn't that much in the center of karon. several good choices of dining just outside the hotel in a small shopping center.

Reviewed May 19, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Deon from South Africa
Couple
Stayed 14 nights in April 2011

Great hotel well equiped”

Cleanliness, charm and service

We had a lovely stay in a great room and lovely people! The hotel have nice charm and is perfectly situated for a great holiday. The old Phuket feeling is relaxed and the hotel is spacious and have all the amenities you could hope for.

Reviewed May 12, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Tai from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2011

very nice hotel located beside a very nice beach”

new rooms, just beside the beach

We chose the new wing to stay which definitely is the right choice. Very nice & clean room with nice balcony and washrm / bathtube. The new pool is much nicer then the old one. We chose Karon beach other than Patong as we felt it's a place more quiet (ofcos going to Patong beach or the shopping mall near by is only 10-15 min driving which is very acceptable for us).

Reviewed May 07, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
phakaporn from Thailand
Group
Stayed 2 nights in April 2011

Lovely and luxuary hotel and service with a smile”

There are every thing you want.

i and my friend stayed 2 night.we are very happy.beutiful hotel; large swiming pool,can see sunset from window in morning,it's best sence.clean and large room.hetel have many facility such as book,internet room,bathtub,swiming pool,borrow movie service etc.nice and fast service.location is near shoping and can walk to sea within 2 min. hoping come again.^^

Reviewed April 23, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Michael from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 5 nights in April 2011

Wonderful hotel in a quiet location”

Nice rooms, nice grounds, good breakfast, close to the beach

the old phuket hotel has two sections. the sino (?) wing is older and built in the sino-portuguese style; like a row of shophouses in old phuket town. the rooms are big and comfortable with huge bathrooms and lovely outdoor showers. this wing lines both sides of a road which leads to the beach; a couple hundred meters away. lining the road between the rooms and the beach road are a number of very nice restaurants, massage parlors and shops. this wing has the breakfast buffet area and a small pool on the third floor. the more modern wing surrounds a large swimming pool. the ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool from the room. the architecture of this wing is, in my opinion, rather sparse and uninteresting.

Reviewed April 17, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Kwong from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in October 2010

Very good in all around”

Best location, nice hotel, big Sap in your room

I stayed at the Old Phuket for 3 nights in October 2010. Room is very nice, big TV is surprised us. We stayed in Spa Deluxe room, there is super big Jacuzzi at private balcony. I love there! Over all, it worth and worth more then what you pay.

Reviewed November 05, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Stephen from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in August 2010

Good location”

beach is just opposite the road, close to bazaar and Karon's main road

I chose this hotel because of the very positive comments made by other travellers. I would have said Old Phuket provides one of the best value for money until I stayed at Karon Princess which is just next to the Old Phuket. Karon Princess is a few hundred Baht cheaper, room more spacious, swimming pools more interesting (with jacuzzi area). The things that Old Phuket are better are staff more polite and variety of breakfast food.

Reviewed August 30, 2010
8.7
Excellent
Chong from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010

Nice Hotel”

Big space, nice bath room, well design and walking distance to night market
land tour packages provided by hotel is a bit higher than market price

This is a newly renovated hotel and with a lot of Java design elements. The room space a big, washroom are nicely renovated. All the staff are friendly and it's location is just walking distance to night market, shops like massage, restaurant.

Reviewed June 02, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
John from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010

Beautiful Karon Beach”

Excellent service. Lovely breakfast Beautiful large property, with a variety of services. Best pool I have seen in a hotel in this pice range. Several restaurants in the imediate area, however no lady bars...
5 minute walk to the beach. Bathroom floor is slippery when wet. Taxis are very expensive in Phuket. Small jelly fish in water give a mosquito bite like itch.

After staying in two other 3 and 4 star hotels in Karon beach The Old Phuket had me hooked after my first night. The hotel is set back about 150 meters from the beach , just down a small no through road. The hotel has a very nostalgic atmosphere with a beautiful reception area surrounded by lush tropical well manicured gardens and fish pools. Lots of space here to move around, with green well kept lawns, to a library and a small gym with some cardio equipment (no weights)The restaurant is outdoor with a turn of the century charm, and the breakfast is excellent as far as IM concerned. The hotel appears to have three wings, two newer, and one older. I stayed in the new wing, and the room was way above average, including rain shower, raised glassed in bathtub, patio furniture and relatively comfortable bed. The highlight of this hotel (new wing) is the amazing swimming pool. Swimmers, triathaletes this is your place as the pool has 3 sectioned off 40 meter lap lanes (aprox 40 meters) to do laps. The water was clean, cool and a treat to swim in. Ground floor poolside rooms have Jacuzzi jets and relax contoured pool edge on there balcony.

Reviewed May 17, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
John from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in April 2010

Beautiful Karon Beach”

Excellent service. Lovely breakfast Beautiful large property, with a variety of services. Best pool I have seen in a hotel in this pice range. Several restaurants in the imediate area, however no lady bars...
5 minute walk to the beach. Bathroom floor is slippery when wet. Taxis are very expensive in Phuket.

After staying in two other 3 and 4 star hotels in Karon beach The Old Phuket had me hooked after my first night. The hotel is set back about 150 meters from the beach , just down a small no through road. The hotel has a very nostalgic atmosphere with a beautiful reception area surrounded by lush tropical well manicured gardens and fish pools. Lots of space here to move around, with green well kept lawns, to a library and a small gym with some cardio equipment (no weights)The restaurant is outdoor with a turn of the century charm, and the breakfast is excellent as far as IM concerned. The hotel appears to have three wings, two newer, and one older. I stayed in the new wing and the room was way above average, including rain shower, raised glassed in bathtub, patio furniture and relatively comfortable bed. The highlight of this hotel (new wing) is the amazing swimming pool. Swimmers, triathaletes this is your place as the pool has 3 sectioned off 40 meter lap lanes (aprox 40 meters) to do laps. The water was clean, cool and a treat to swim in. Ground floor poolside rooms have Jacuzzi jets and relax contoured pool edge on there balcony.

Reviewed May 17, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
John from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in April 2010

Beautiful Karon Beach”

Excellent service. Lovely breakfast Beautiful large property, with a variety of services. Best pool I have seen in a hotel in this pice range. Several restaurants in the imediate area, however no lady bars...
5 minute walk to the beach. Bathroom floor is slippery when wet. Taxis are very expensive in Phuket

After staying in two other 3 and 4 star hotels in Karon beach The Old Phuket had me hooked after my first night. The hotel is set back about 150 meters from the beach , just down a small no through road. The hotel has a very nostalgic atmosphere with a beautiful reception area surrounded by lush tropical well manicured gardens and fish pools. Lots of space here to move around, with green well kept lawns, to a library and a small gym with some cardio equipment (no weights)The restaurant is outdoor with a turn of the century charm, and the breakfast is excellent as far as IM concerned. The hotel appears to have three wings, two newer, and one older. I stayed in the new wing and the room was way above average, including rain shower, raised glassed in bathtub, patio furniture and relatively comfortable bed. The highlight of this hotel (new wing) is the amazing swimming pool. Swimmers, triathaletes this is your place as the pool has 3 sectioned off 40 meter lap lanes (aprox 40 meters) to do laps. The water was clean, cool and a treat to swim in. Ground floor poolside rooms have Jacuzzi jets and relax contoured pool edge on there balcony.

Reviewed May 17, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
John from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in April 2010

Beautiful Karon Beach”

Excellent service. Lovely breakfast Beautiful large property, with a variety of services. Best pool I have seen in a hotel in this pice range. Several restaurants in the imediate area, however no lady bars...
No free WiFi 5 minute walk to the beach. Bathroom floor is slippery when wet. Taxis are very expensive in Phuket

After staying in two other 3 and 4 star hotels in Karon beach The Old Phuket had me hooked after my first night. The hotel is set back about 150 meters from the beach , just down a small no through road. The hotel has a very nostalgic atmosphere with a beautiful reception area surrounded by lush tropical well manicured gardens and fish pools. Lots of space here to move around, with green well kept lawns, to a library and a small gym with some cardio equipment (no weights)The restaurant is outdoor with a turn of the century charm, and the breakfast is excellent as far as IM concerned. The hotel appears to have three wings, two newer, and one older. I stayed in the new wing and the room was way above average, including rain shower, raised glassed in bathtub, patio furniture and relatively comfortable bed. The highlight of this hotel (new wing) is the amazing swimming pool. Swimmers, triathaletes this is your place as the pool has 3 sectioned off 40 meter lap lanes (aprox 40 meters) to do laps. The water was clean, cool and a treat to swim in. Ground floor poolside rooms have Jacuzzi jets and relax contoured pool edge on there balcony.

Reviewed May 17, 2010
8.7
Excellent
Stephen from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010

great boutique hotel”

great view from terrace
nil

The hotel is in a good location,very quiet.The staff were always courteous and willing to help.The room was spacious and we had a wonderful view of the mountains and the sea from our terrace.Breakfast was first class.The pool is superb.I highly reccomend this hotel.It is value for money.

Reviewed May 13, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Stuart from United Kingdom
Couple
Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in December 2009

Lovely Pool Side Room”

Pool, Location, Friendly Staff
None really

We stayed over the new year break and had a pool side room, everything in the room was almost brand new and very modern. even though the hotel was full it wasn't noisy. Staff where very helpful and food was good. Location very close to the beach and there was a good selection of local restaurants. Would recommend the Phi Phi island trip for sea lovers. Patong is a short taxi ride away if you want the "full on" nightlife etc, but the Hotel location is quiet and very pleasant. We stayed around the pool and relaxed and would return again.

Reviewed January 11, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Stuart from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe with Terrace
Stayed 5 nights in December 2009

Lovely Hotel - Would revisit.”

Lovely Pool, Contemporary Rooms in new Pool Block, Pool Access Rooms superb for water lovers.Old style block has it's own charm.
Not much really

Initially I had mixed feelings when I arrived but there was a bit of a mixup with the reservation and it was my honeymoon and I didn't really want any hassle. A/C didn't work on the first night (old block) so slept in 28 degrees all night. Problem was solved next morning quickly and efficiently although maybe this should have been checked before hand. Room was decorated with petals etc for honeymoon as per request. Staff were superb and possibly best I had experienced in Thailand. Nothing too much trouble. Jacuzzi only had cold water but still very nice in 34 degrees. Shower at the back and Jacuzzi were quite secluded but only 95% private (if that makes sense). New block was keyless entry door, full LCD controller A/C Plasma TV whereas old part was CRT TV, No DVD etc but that wasn't an issue for us. We had the New Years eve buffet meal which was compulsory and was good fun with loads of food but maybe not worth the price we paid - I guess that's how hotels make some money so I guess the same could be said elsewhere. Great experience with no real negative points. Hotel and surroundings where very clean.

Reviewed January 04, 2010
8.8
Excellent
Shuzhen from China
Family with young children
Deluxe with Terrace
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Good breakfast, nice facilities ”

Good breakfast. Had been upgraded to a pool view room which is fantastic. Many restaurants nearby. Will choose this hotel again next time.

Reviewed April 27, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Richard from Australia
Family with teens
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 4 nights in September 2018

Excellent”

Great stay...excellent really....some confusion at check-in regarding the room booked and paid for (pool access) but sorted out in 30 minutes. As we arrived from another local resort that afternoon it was no big deal..but if 1st night and late arrival...haze job. Will stay again..reccomend

Reviewed October 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Xavier from Spain
Family with teens
Deluxe with Terrace
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

Great location, great services”

Great location, close to the beach and to a street full of good restaurants (such as those belonging to the own hotel) and services (e.g. massage places, tourist agency). I recommend choosing a room at Sino Wing, where rooms are spatious with colonial-like but functional furniture and great bathroom and shower located in a private patio (this is the best shower I have ever had!). It is only one minute from the swimming pool. The breakfast options are great.

Reviewed August 01, 2018
5.6
Jiyoung from South Korea
Couple
Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

Staffs seem like they don't know what they are doing”

the location is okay, 5 mins away from karon beach. general cleaness is good too. but problem is front dest staff, they seem like they don't know what they are doing. We went there few times ask things, they seem like not really want to answer. or felt like asking just stranger on the street. Also, we had flight late evening. so we asked front desk over phone about late check out and they said its possible to do by 3 pm and it costs 500 Baht. We said we want it. then we went front desk to pay 500 baht. then they seem like they had no idea what we are saying, even we just called them 5 mins ago.... LOL and they said by 2pm , not 3 pm, then we explained we were heard its possible to by 3 pm then they talk themselves then said 3 pm is fine. The room was fine but cause of the staff's attitude , not so sure if i want to use it again.

Reviewed February 14, 2019
7.2
Very good
sheryl from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 4 nights in December 2018

Very good”

Hotel location was ideal, side entrance will lead you to a stretch of restaurants, massage palours, and the karon beach across the road. Cheaper food options available, if you do not mind walking out the long walkpath to the main entrance. Cross the road and head right for MamaJin restaurant, else you could just head left at the entrance -walk down and you could find another good restaurant Elephant cafe by the Tan, further ahead you would find mini tesco and 7-11. Hotel staff are generally acceptable friendly except for 1 younger slimmer lady at the front counter that looks you in the eye and give you the impression that shes not keen to serve/entertain you. She gave me the vibe that its just too bad for me that i am not a guy neither i am a caucasian that would tip you off generously, thus the lack

Reviewed December 19, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Kristeen from Malaysia
Group
Terrace Deluxe Double Room Sino Wing
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018

Excellent”

Great location!

Reviewed November 13, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Melody from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in August 2017

Convenient location”

Got the Jacuzzi Room and was a little disappointed that the jets were not working. Also, the jacuzzi is outside in your front yard so there were loads of mosquitoes buzzing about ... It was also a little weird to have the shower outdoors as I felt like people staying in the building behind my room could see me! Still, the room itself was nice and the hotel design is gorgeous. There's a reference book in my room that listed what amenities/facilities could be found in the hotel grounds. Supposedly there was a sauna room at the rooftop pool but I couldn't find it so I asked the pool staff. She couldn't understand me. I asked another staff. He couldn't understand me. I asked the front desk; a woman looked at me angrily and asked "WHAT?" before her colleague stepped in and patiently asked me if I was looking for my friend named "sauna"... Also, one morning after breakfast (good spread, btw), I came back to my room only to be locked out of it. I went to the front desk for help but she couldn't fix it so she called the engineer, who called another engineer... In the end they had to break the lock altogether to get inside. That took one hour. Still, I consider these minor problems as I have stayed in worse places which were far more expensive. Plus, the hotel was very attentive - they realised it was my birthday and gave me surprise birthday cupcakes at breakfast, complete with a birthday song. Yay, thank you!

Reviewed August 22, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Rachel-Ann from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017

Excellent, Front desk staff need better training”

Beautiful hotel with a great location on Karon beach. Have stayed on the old side before the renovations so wanted to try the new rooms this time - they are great! Rooms are huge, clean and well-maintained compared to many other hotels in the vicinity and has a more modern take than Movenpick and other big names in the same area. Fresh fruits and water in rooms which are always replenished. Not all, but lead staff at counter when checking in was so snobbish, curt and unfriendly. The bell boys, waitress at the hotel café and near the pool and the security guard at the gate are very friendly, but the front desk was so dismissive to queries sometimes. I know you work for a beautiful hotel, but it is not your hotel, please have a better attitude. I've heard about this behavior from another friend who checked in a few days earlier and was shocked as I have never had an unpleasant stay at this hotel, and thought it was a one-off thing, but this attitude carried all the way till the last day of my stay. Although there was no other guests at the counter, the lead staff seemed more pleased chatting amongst themselves and making me wait to check-out that another staff whom I am guessing was slightly junior rushed over to help me check out as he returned to the counter. It might be in the owners best interest to monitor front desk service as they are slipping.

Reviewed July 25, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Grant from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017

Time to relax”

Good location, close to the beach and a number of good eating places. Clean, well kept hotel with friendly staff. Only a short walk to the louder parts of Karon that is well lighted and safe to walk at night.

Reviewed June 10, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Jennifer from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Pool Access
Stayed 8 nights in May 2017

Loved This Hotel!!”

What a lovely stay we had at The Old Phuket Resort. We were able to book airport transfer without any hassle. Even this wasn't included in the room rate, it was a very reasonable 800bht which we were happy to pay. The reception staff were just lovely when we booked in at 12.30in the morning. It was a really quick process and then we were shown to direct access pool room. The room was really nice. The only issue was the bar fridge wasn't working but we called reception in the morning and it was fixed straight away. Loved the direct access pool room. Our room was made up every day. All the towels and linen was changed and the room was always really clean. The house keeping girls were just lovely. The buffet breakfast was really nice always a good selection of food and again the staff were lovely. The only issue we really had was the bed. It was so hard and very uncomfortable. They might want to think about softer mattresses. We would definitely stay there again but probably take some rolled up foam for the bed. Thank you for a lovely stay :)

Reviewed May 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Tam from United States
Couple
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 6 nights in February 2017

Amazing! ”

From when we arrived to when we left our room was always up to par. Very clean and the staff was very attentive. Location also was perfect, a short stroll to the beach and plenty of places to eat and drink. Definitely will stay here again!

Reviewed February 26, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Kate from South Africa
Solo traveler
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

A relaxing stay, great for some down time but not ideal for solo travelers. ”

The room was really beautiful, I was meant to have a "pool view", however this was obstructed by a huge wall directly in front of my balcony sadly. The food was incredible, lovely breakfast choice and great room service. The facilities are great, the pool area is lovely. If you are a solo traveler (as was I) and you are looking to meet people/ have some fun, rather stay somewhere else, but if you need some down time and to just 'chill' this is a great spot.

Reviewed October 16, 2016
4.8
Arianne from Philippines
Couple
Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2016

Other options are available”

Cons The moment i entered the room in sino wing, there was a cockroach dead on the floor and the bell boy just kicked it out with his feet. Another frustration would be not allowing late checkout even if i was willing to pay. I had to book another night so i could keep my room. It means there are rooms available but i dont understand why they couldnt allow me to checkout late. This got me frustrated. Moreover, they couldnt find my booking confirmation from agoda and asked me to email them, this made me and my tour van to wait for 20 minutes despite telling them that i have to leave soon for my tour, i asked if i can settle later after coming back from elephant trek as it only takes two hours but they insisited i wait. very embarassing for the people inside the van waiting. Also, they charged me in bhat instead of the published rate in my booking in sgd, this made it slightly more expensive. And the staff at the reception are not very friendly, just frowning and not very helpful. The reception can definitely improve more in terms of communication and customer service. The rest of the staff from the restaurants, guards (amazing people), cleaners, and tour desk are very nice and smiling always which made the stay pleasant. The transfer for hotel to patong is impossible to get with only 14 seats available, there are hundreds of guests everyday, obviously this number wont suffice especially on weekend. I hope services can improve. Pros The breakfast is amazing, the people in the resto are nice and smiling, the breakfast is my favorite part for sure. The jacuzzi is great too.

Reviewed September 21, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Jiang from China
Couple
Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016

clean and friendly”

The room is clean and big, big bathroom. a separate shower place with good view. especially the security guard at the gate is very friendly, greeting to us every time when we enter the gate.many restuarants outside the hotel, butterfly restuarent is best.

Reviewed September 07, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Florian from Germany
Solo traveler
Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016

Good to relax near Beach.”

Rooms in the old part of the Hotel looking a bit used. Nice garden. Good and friendly Staff. 5 min walking to beach. 15min walking to "bar" area. Many restaurant, bars, massageshops and bars in front of Hotel. Silent area. Good to relax. I recommend the Jacuzzi Room. Central located on ground floor.

Reviewed September 06, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Eugenia from Romania
Couple
Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in March 2016

Value for money”

Good value for money. It was really nice and clean, with thai acccents.

We spent our first 5 nights of honeymoon in this hotel in a private villa with jacuzzi. It was really nice and clean, with thai acccents, only the walls in the bathroom were a bit tired. We enjoyed the outdoor rain shower and satisfied with AC position and efficiency. Good breakfast, friendly staff and good wi-fi. Also good location in the heart of Karon, 200m to the beach, which is nice with cristal clear water (you won't find true beachfront hotels in Karon). To conclude: value for money and easy acces to the beach. We recommend this 4 star hotel!

Reviewed March 26, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
SZE from Singapore
Family with teens
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016

Relax and enjoyable stay”

Short walk to the beach. The swimming pool is clean. Breakfast spread for hot cooked dishes are different every morning.

Our stays in this Resort Hotel were comfy. We took a short walk (around 300m) to the beach through the hotel's back gate. There were a lot of eateries/restaurants there. There were lots of restaurants along the road leading to the front entrance of the Resort Hotel too. It was a bit far from the Phuket Int'l Airport. Took us 55mins to reach hotel. Overall grandma & us enjoyed ourselves. We will come back to stay again.

Reviewed February 11, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Luanda from United States
Family with young children
Jacuzzi Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015

Just Perfect”

Location,service,location

Wonderful, fantastic, perfect. Location to beach perfect, not too touristy, was perfect choice for our mixed group of families with children and single adults (elderly and mid-aged). We all would stay there again without hesitation .

Reviewed December 12, 2015
6.7
Good
Jeffrey from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015

Location Good but hotel facilities lacking”

Location, Staff following up on complaint

If your looking for a large pool and good internet forget it. Gym also very poor with broken equipment - I pointed out issues for 3 consecutive days - no action taken. Had a real major issue with the hotel security when a work buddy and his wife who were staying at a nearby hotel (Movenpick) came round to check out the facilities to compare hotels. Security behaved so badly that my friends left after just five minutes - extremely badly mannered and not professional. Breakfast not good very basic - so overall for the money paid not value for money there are far better choices and given the reduced number tourists sure there are better options out there.

Reviewed December 06, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Jefferson from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Pool Access
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015

Very clean and cozy hotel”

Clean and spacious room. Relaxing view by the pool. Friendly staff.

My overall stay was great! We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days. I love the way they maintain the clealiness of the room considering almost eveything is white color. Spacious room and a huge bed. Our room have direct access to the pool and the view is relaxing. Although, rooms at the poolside is about 5-10 minutes walk from the beach. 4 mins walk to the lobby. My suggestion is if your taking the poolside room, ask for the room closest to the lobby. Rooms 31xx are quite far from lobby. Also, ensure you bring power adaptor to charge your gadgets since they have limited supply to loan you. Lastly, make sure you try Bai Toey Restaurant near this hotel. A very nice authentic thai food!

Reviewed December 05, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Barbara from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe with Terrace
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

Beautiful hotel. Amazing pool. Staff lacking.”

Our room was amazing. Outdoor shower hands down spectacular. Location was awesome.

My daughter and I are traveling together and The Old Phuket was one of our most favorite stays yet, until we checked out. There was a misunderstanding with the "free" water bottles versus the "charged" water bottles. Be aware if you stay here as this difference was not explained to us when we checked in. At check out the front desk staff was incredibly rude and the language barrier is a huge hinderance when trying to communicate. Unfortunately the reaction of the staff soured what was an amazing experience r up to that point.

Reviewed October 10, 2015