Excellent
From 120 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
The Old Ship Hotel
See all 60 photos
Double - Bathroom
See all 60 photos
Lobby
See all 60 photos
Interior view
See all 60 photos
Fitness center
See all 60 photos
See map
Location
Exceptional
9.3
See all 60 photos
Removed from saved list
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms

  • Daily housekeeping

  • Room service [24-hour]

  • Bar

Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
Room choices
7.9
Very good
Room comfort & quality
Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
...
  • 13 m²/140 ft²
  • Shower and bathtub
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Double
...
  • City view
  • 12 m²/129 ft²
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Twin
...
  • City view
  • 15 m²/161 ft²
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Standard King Room
...
  • 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Double Sea View
...
  • 12 m²/129 ft²
  • Shower and bathtub
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Premium
...
  • 12 m²/129 ft²
  • Non-smoking
Enter dates to see prices
Have a question for The Old Ship Hotel?

More about The Old Ship Hotel

An overview

Show more

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

What they offer

Show less

Guest policies

Show more

Some helpful facts

Show more

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (120)Booking.com Reviews (2984)
8.1
Excellent
Filter by guest type:
Cleanliness7.9
Facilities7.6
Location9.3
Room comfort and quality7.9
Service8.4
Value for money7.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (香港)
日本語
Français
more
Room type
Double
Twin
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 103 verified guest comments
12345
6.0
phillip from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Poor value for money”
Very expensive, car park full, room smelt (smoker or drains) not particularly clean
Reviewed April 17, 2018
Thank you for your review. We only have limited parking spaces at the hotel which are allocated on a first come basis if you do not book direct. We are unsure of the smell you state in the room as when we visited today we did not find anything and apologise that you did. Being marathon weekend in Brighton we do not discount pricing over this period and was sorry you found it poor value for money
Responded April 17, 2018
The Old Ship Hotel
8.4
Martyn from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Double
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Great location on sea front ”
Could improve gym facility & include better breakfast pricing
Reviewed April 13, 2018
Dear Martyn, thank you for your review, we do hope you enjoyed your stay and time in Brighton. Phil. Duty Manager
Responded April 13, 2018
The Old Ship Hotel
9.2
Alison from United Kingdom
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Exceptional”
Nice older style hotel with character, excellent helpful staff.
Reviewed April 09, 2018
Thank you for your fabulous review - We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Responded April 09, 2018
The Old Ship Hotel
8.8
Ryan from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Nice hotel”
However extremely loud creaky floor noards .. ideally needreplacing
Reviewed March 19, 2018
Thank you for your review. With the hotel being over 400 years old in parts we do have the odd creak
Responded March 21, 2018
The Old Ship Hotel
10.0
ashley from United Kingdom
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Snowed in ”
It's was me and wife anniversary But we was snowed in so we had to cancel are stay . Would not transfer to another day . So we lost are booking Good old British weather
Reviewed March 05, 2018
Dear Ashley, thank you for your review, i am sorry to hear that you couldn't make it to Brighton due to the weather, unfortunately we can no change bookings made thought third party's. it is sometimes possible if you contact the company that you booked though, in this case agoda, depending on there polices. we are do hope that this doesn't stop you staying with us on your next visit to Brighton. Phil. Duty Manager
Responded March 07, 2018
The Old Ship Hotel
8.8
Gareth from United Kingdom
Couple
Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Birghton”
Had a recent visit to Brighton to watch the football & had a great weekend. Really lively city & the location of the hotel was perfect. Great stay there as well & would definitely come again.
Reviewed February 27, 2018
Dear Gareth, thank you very much for your review, i am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you choose us again on your next visit to Brighton. Phil. Duty Manager
Responded March 07, 2018
The Old Ship Hotel
8.0
debbie from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
HOTEL SHIP”
THE HOTEL WAS NICE AND WARM,,NICE BAR ALTHOUGH VERY EXPENSIVE...ROOMS DECENT ENOUGH,,GREAT LOCATION,,BREAKFAST WAS LOVELY,,,THE DARK LADY ON RECEPTION HAS A BIT OF AN ATTITUDE
Reviewed February 21, 2018
Dear Deddie, thank you for your review, though i'm sure not intentional, the last line of your review could be read as discrimination so i do ask if you could edit that part out. we do all hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you stay with us again. Phil. Duty Manager
Responded March 07, 2018
The Old Ship Hotel
6.0
REBECCA from Hong Kong
Couple
Double
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Above average”
Requested a feather pillow weeks in advance. Was told none available but that housekeeping had been notified. Was told on check in that there were no feather pillows. I would have been so impressed/delighted if someone had seen my request and proactively gone the extra mile by obtaining a feather pillow. Instead, I was informed on arrival (after a 6 hour drive) that my one request would not be answered. Bathroom window in my room (302) did not fit so am absolute gale blew through each night. Toilet door had expanded and did not shut properly. No hair conditioner. No mini bar. My daughter's room (301) was stiflingly hot despite turning off the radiator completely. She had to borrow the fan in my room for some minimal respite. For the price, I was disappointed. The place has clear charm but needs more love.
Reviewed January 09, 2018
Dear Rebecca, thank you for your review, i am sorry to hear about the issues you had with your room, i will have our maintenance department look at the window in that room. unfortunately the hotel has no feather pillows because of the possibility of allergic reaction. none of our rooms have mini bars, our Deluxe Sea Views do have small fridges for our guests to use and we do have conditioner in our Deluxe rooms but it is available on request to other guests. we really do hope the issues you had will not stop you from choosing us again. Phil. Duty Manager
Show more
The Old Ship Hotel
7.6
Christopher from United Kingdom
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
A nice hotel, but don't expect a good night's sleep on a weekend”
I booked this hotel for my wife's 40th birthday, as we were attending a concert at the Brighton Centre. Check in was fine and staff were friendly. The hotel itself is nice, with a fascinating history, but once the evening came our perspective changed. A number of functions were being held at the venue, one of which appeared to be directly below our room. The music and sound of the DJ quite literally shook the room until 1am. After this time, the noise subsided, but there was a slightly quieter party nearby until 5am. I did mention this at checkout and was given an apology and a 10% discount voucher for our next stay (although it would still be cheaper to book online, rather than directly). A shame really... I have fond memories of this hotel as a child, but sadly wouldn't return.
Reviewed December 08, 2017
Dear Christopher, thank you for your review, i am sorry to hear about the issue you had with the music from the Christmas party and from the club on the sea front. we do ask all guest inform reception of any problems as soon as they arise so we can deal with them eminently. they DJ could have been ask to turn the music down. We really do hope you do choose to us the discount card you were given, our rates are the same as most of the websites we use so you will save money booking directly and using the Voucher. Phil. Duty Manager
Show more
The Old Ship Hotel
8.4
penny from United Kingdom
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Birthday weekend away”
Had a great time, Brighton was buzzing, hotel was lovely
Reviewed December 04, 2017
Dear Penny, thank you for your review, we are all so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Phil. Duty Manager
Responded March 07, 2018
The Old Ship Hotel
12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices