Book Now: The Oriental Hotel Legazpi

Very good
From 1176 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
/
10

Reviews of The Oriental Hotel Legazpi Reviews from real guests

Overall rating
7.3
Very good
From 1817 reviews
Provided by verified guests of
Agoda Reviews (1176)Booking.com Reviews (344)
Rating via Agoda7.6
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.5
Facilities6.9
Location7.9
Room comfort and quality8.2
Service7.8
Value for money7.4
Rating
9+ Exceptional (208)
8-9 Excellent (179)
7-8 Very Good (215)
6-7 Good (106)
<6 Below Expectation (198)
Time of the year
Mar - May (313)
Jun - Aug (225)
Sep - Nov (150)
Dec - Feb (218)
All guests (1176)
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 906 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
CARL from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2019

EXCELLENT”

The hotel is undergoing renovation so front lobby furniture and carpet need attention. I was put in a new renovated room facing the country side but beautiful view. The room renovation was excellent. Had small refrigerator but no microwave that I can remember. My Fiance has decided to have our wedding there and she is excited about the choice. The staff is excellent and the facility was clean as I did not expect after reading a previous negative review = so only booked there at the request of my Fiance and glad I did stay there. Breakfast buffet was the best that I have ever had in any 5 star hotel as I am a long time world traveler. Looking forward to my wedding at the ORIENTAL. I highly recommend the ORIENTAL REGARDS CARL

Reviewed July 08, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Hannah
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Amazing hotel”

Gutted we only stayed one short night! Fancier hotel I've ever stayed in, was such a treat. Free shuttle to the airport. People to carry your bags. Gorgeous pool with gorgeous view. Our night we had a show of fire dancers which was really fun. Few different restaurants to choose from. The spa rang me and I booked a massage then turned up and it hadnt been booked and poor communication there which was a shame. Rooms were lovely and great bathrooms

Reviewed May 02, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Christine from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

nice location and helpful staff”

we originally booked a room with mayon view but different room was given to us when we arrived. there's been a booking issue and we had to spend 1 night in a room with city view. we transfered to newly renovated room with mayon view the next day and the staff even gave us complimentary cakes. both rooms were clean and cozy. we also loved the pool area as it has a very nice view of mayon.

Reviewed March 16, 2019
7.2
Very good
Rhea from Philippines
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Great place however staff needs to be trained”

I had a great stay, however, front desk staff really needs to be trained. Upon checking in, there was mistake on the room assignment but the manager immediately rectified the situation. During our first night, at around 10:30 pm while we were sleeping already, the phone rang twice. It was from front desk who said, "Ay, sorry, wrong number". Front desk ringing the wrong room? It was a first for me. After a few minutes, someone was trying to open our room then knocked. When I opened the door, it was a bellman with some other guests and I as was woken for the second time, I was getting irritated because it seems that they re unsure of what they were doing. Again, after around 10-15 minutes, someone again knocked ,it was the same woman from front desk and the bellman and they asked if I need anything. I was so irritated, they only stopped pestering us when I told them to please stop bothering us because we are trying to sleep. I do hope that they will not do these to other guests.

Reviewed May 04, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Robert from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

I am trying to like this place....but it needs TOTAL operational management. ”

We have stayed here multiple times over the last 3 years. I wanted my son's visit from the US to start here and be fantastic. Overall....good. But much improvement is necessary. In spite of the fact that our booking was TOTALLY messed up with the Agoda/Booking.com arrangement (they changed room type completely), the hotel is basically a good hotel. We stayed in the renovated rooms on the 4th floor (after complaining), but the housekeeping was un-trained,and did not know how to fully finish or arrange the rooms. Showers were cold and the rooms not well arranged (without complaining.). Second night, a political (local politicians) had a dinner and "party" until 5:00 on the pool side (the most expensive side) and we were unable to sleep. Food was fair to good. Staff was fine. The place is just not managed, so common with hotels in the Philippines. The tours should be avoided (unacceptable trip to Matnog and Subic Beach). I will go back here again....but with reservation

Reviewed February 23, 2019
4.0
JEFFERSON from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in June 2019

Outdated Rooms - Damages and rust.”

Upkeep is very poor. But the views are breathtaking. -- Rooms smelled like fabric conditioner. really strong smell. maybe try a neutral smell next time. its nauseating to stay in a room smelling like a fabcon. Will never book again. as staff is colluding to trick you into their own travel and tours connections. the manager is too snob. thinking too highly of himself. when asked if he's available to accommodate us on the frontdesk, he smirked and rolled his eyes and pointed us to the next table. really rude. the carpets are too dirty. to the point of sticking to your shoes. rooms are too small for the price. look elsewhere. -- otherwise the pool is nice. food is too expensive for the quality. could do better for more food choices since the hotel is a bit far from the town.

Reviewed July 01, 2019
7.6
Very good
Cirilo from Philippines
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Very good”

The materials that we shipped ahead of time was not accepted by the hotel despite the coordination with their hotel staff several days prior to our arrival. I think the hotel staff was not able to coordinate internally about this information. Overall was very disappointed about this experience.

Reviewed April 25, 2019
7.6
Very good
Bryan from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Great view of Mayon!”

Overall our stay was great, but do take note of the pros and cons below. Pros: -Spacious rooms. -Great view of Mayon from the pool area. -Good wifi coverage with average speed. Cons: -Breakfast buffet had very limited food choices, this was not what I expected from a 4-star hotel which I payed for P4,900+ for an overnigt stay. -Arrived at the hotel at 1:32pm and was told to wait for the 2pm standard check im time which I didn't mind at all. Room was not ready by 2pm, had to follow up the status of the room three times and was able to check in by 2:43pm. -Front desk staff lacked coordination at times. I had to approach another person and state my concern all over again because no endorsement was made by the front desk staff whom I first spoke to. -There were few mosquitoes in our room.

Reviewed April 10, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Lerry from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Best Hotel So Far”

I stayed many hotels for me and my husband's travel but this Oriental exceeded my expectation. They upgraded my room to a suite and has a complimentary shuttle service. Will come back for more :)

Reviewed April 28, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Analee from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

Recommend ”

The location is perfect. Looks like you are paying for the view. Food is really really good! The staff are so friendly. The buffet breakfast has a lot of selections! The only problem is that it takes time to get your room. There was a delay when checking in. They need to add more staff at the reception to accommodate all the guest all at the same time. The room needs renovation, needs proper painting of the wall. Location wise excellent!

Reviewed July 09, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Triksia from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Good..but can be better.”

Best view of the majestic Mayon! Great facility. Good food! Accomodating staff. Although, we just want to point out that the hotel should be mindful of the breakfast schedule. We were told that breakfast will be served from 5AM-9AM, so we arranged a pick-up for Mayon ATV tour at 5:30AM. That morning at 5AM, breakfast, and the staff were still incomplete. They were still in the middle of bringing food out from the kitchen. Hopefully, this is not a common occurrence, but sharing it for the hotel's improvement. The staff were all accomodating, however we feel they lack training. Also, just want to recommend that the musical accompaniment at the Saigon should be improved. Anyway, this hotel is still highly recommended! We enjoyed the fire dance and the presentation of the staff. Overall, we had a great stay!

Reviewed July 02, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Rowena from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Great View of Mayon”

I guess that's the #1 asset of the hotel, the great view of Mayon. It is also has a good view of the Legazpi City downtown & the Albay Gulf. Food is quite expensive for a 5-star hotel in the province. Outdoor resto beside the pool served great food but check out the price first before you order (the price is per 100gms if I remember right). Their free buffet breakfast though is superb! lots of choices. Communication was a disappointment though. About a 3 weeks before our stay, they did email that they were undergoing renovations & I specifically said it's ok as long as the pool was open. Problem was, the pool was being treated that day! The jacuzzi was open but obviously needed to be cleaned too. All they could say was, sorry! I tried to send an email to their email addresses, left a message on their FB Messenger but didnt get any reply. The Hotel Staff had an entertaining performance in the evening (fire dance was cool & they would let you take photos with them).

Reviewed May 12, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Jane from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Exceptional”

Everyone is extremely helpful and polite and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely go back if given a chance to go back in Albay. Had a great view of Mayon even if it was cloudy when we were in the pool area. Buffet breakfast options are quite limited but it is not a hindrance for us to enjoy the meal and be full. We were able to avail of the free airport shuttle after checking out and it was a good 15 minute ride to the airport from the Hotel. If you are commuting, hotel can be visited via a tricycle from the Albay church.

Reviewed April 26, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Jaela from Australia
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Overnight Earth Hour Stay”

60% Discounted Room Rate (+) Bed Linens / Beddings +++ Super comfortable and perfect for staycations. (+) movies and sleep ins (+) Buffet Breakfast great food promoting local delicacies, ambience relaxing (+) Swimming pool and Oriental Views overlooking the City = Relaxing Retreat Really appreciated how this Hotel did their part in promoting sustainable environment during Earth Hour when the lobby / corridor / restaurants were all Lights Off / Candlelit. It was a pretty special and magical night with the spectacular Fire Dance Show during the blessed Earth Hour. It was a wonderful surprise.

Reviewed April 17, 2018
8.8
Excellent
eugene from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

great stay for me.”

i arrived early 1 think 9am from long drive they told us the check in time is 2pm. so it was a hassle. we have check in 1:50pm i think. the room was big nothing special but ok. the free breakfast was good. the pool was great but the water was cold. overall it was excellent .

Reviewed April 08, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Robert from Philippines
Group
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Place under renovation, restaurant has a large part of dishes not available”

The location allows a wonderful view on Mt. Mayon if there are no clouds. However, do not expect the service to go with the location. The restaurant seemed to have almost half of the dishes on its menu not available (including no seafood and hardly any dessert) and the service is slow (we were only two travellers). A badly needed renovation is going on. The spa is temporarily located in former guest rooms. The gym seems abandoned and has some twisted bars for changing weights on machines, making the latter almost impossible. The pool is nice.

Reviewed April 05, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Frank from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Great Location- Needs a facelift ”

I have already completed a hotel report card. This establishment is in an excellent location and high up. The Manila based channel 7 news team used it to set up their cameras filming the ongoing eruption of Mount Mayon. The staff are excellent, the facilities in some parts needed a birthday. The airport free shuttle is a bonus and the centre has good meals and services.

Reviewed February 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Mark from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Location ”

Fantastic location and fabulous facilities and breakfast is very good indeed we have stayed here a few times and it is always so good the view of the Mayon is always amazing from the pool we will certainly recommend this place and stay there again on our next visit

Reviewed November 09, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Robert from United States
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017

A Marcos Era Relic in the Modern Philippine Age - a Must!”

This thing was built (as the Mayon Imperial) in the early 80s in a US - a style of the big concrete box (brutalistic). Oversized in every way, it demands a large staff with all the FOH (front of house) and BOH (back of house) sizing...also including employee staffing. THAT SAID...the place tries very hard to be contemporary. This is not easy...but they actually pull it off. I got a standard room (not facing the volcano) and it was pleasant. Sure....the place needs a complete FF&E renovation (stated multiple times in Agoda reviews) but for the money...the value matched. Housekeeping was actually excellent (sans the FF&E issues) and the mattresses and HVAC good. We did have "issues" with tepid water in the shower. We did every outlet and tried all the food. Too much (as in everything)..Nestles' Magik Sarup (MSG and flavor enhancers), but I instructed all to remove it. Impossible with the buffets, but breakfast and dinners were good and all tried to deal with authentic Bicol cuisine. BUT... the seafood grill adjacent to the pool (magnificent view) was a very solid grilled seafood experience. A bit pricey and we paid almost 6K pesos (but we went wild). How often do you dine next to a living volcano anyway? Overall...the place is a monster and distanced a bit far from the center of things (typical of the 70s and 80s) and a tricycle or taxi is necessary to get anywhere cool (no one actually walks down the stairs to town...interesting). But you HAVE to try this place. Enjoy it for what it is. Maybe one time only....maybe more. But you have to visit this Ferdinand Marcos' time piece!!

Reviewed July 24, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Gayzelle from Philippines
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Great hotel ”

The ambiance is great. Buffet breakfast was yummy! The rooms are smaller than expected. If you're commuting, the tricycle ride is about 150 pesos ( 3 persons) from the terminal. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would love to stay here again.

Reviewed May 02, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Kathleen from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Good location, nice hotel but service is poor”

I love the set up of the hotel and the room but the staffs , poor service... when having breakfast they dont even assist you to your table , in the pool they wont give you towels... you have to ask for everything. The amenities are ok... but definitely will be back, they just have to improve their customer service.

Reviewed April 26, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Gloria from Philippines
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

Pearl of the orient”

Stayed for a weekend of business travel to Bicol. The location is very clever. Whenever you take a picture in the pool area, your backdrop is the famous Mayon Volcano. They offer a wide variety of food for breakfast buffet, though the regular menu is a little pricey. Pizza is very good. The staff are attentive to guests needs. Though the hotel is situated mid-cliff and public transport is not accessible, it's still worth it. The hotel services, amenities, and the panoramic view of the province totally make up for it.

Reviewed March 12, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jessica from Philippines
Group
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Highly recommended Hotel in Legaspi”

Based on my Aunt and her friends who stayed at The Oriental Hotel Legazpi last Jan2017, Their trip is absolutely the best. The accomodation, service, ammenities and food is all good and Highly recommended.

Reviewed February 22, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Rose from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

The view of Mayon from the pool was my favorite!”

The hotel is very nice. I like the acoustic band during dinner buffet. It was kinda romantic. Good for couple. The food was okay. Though I prefer more spicy or bicol food since the location is in Bicol. The staff was nice too. The towels they provide when you swim in the pool is old and looks overused.

Reviewed November 16, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Hyacinth from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 1 night in March 2016

Excellent view of Mayon”

The location is quite far from the city center but has an amazing view of Mayon. It was easy to find and a good 3-5 walk from the main road. The staff was rude (didn't smile at all) and made us wait for the room to be cleaned. She was even irritated at me because i kept on asking what time we can check in as we were very tired from the ATV Adventure. It took us 40 minutes before we checked in and didn't even gave us an extension. Well good thing that they have soft & comfortable bed and piilows. They have modern facilities (nice lobby) though there's no bidet for a 5 star hotel! Good selections of breakfast buffet (that we enjoyed!) but no available food after 10pm and no restaurants nearby. Overall, it was good hotel but wasn't impressed much.

Reviewed September 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Martin from Germany
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016

view was wonderful”

the view was wonderful and the people at the housekeeping was swift and helpful the bathroom fixtures should be repaired; the shower in the room was not functioning; the breakfast menu was always the same-there should be vaiety

Reviewed August 13, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Marilou from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

Perfect Mayon View”

The hotel staff were very approachable: from check-in, to unloading our things, to getting settled, to check out were very smooth and fast. Clean bed, soft pillows and mattresses, bathroom and towels. One concern was that of the sink drain that does not function well, but they were able to fix it fast and does not bother us at all. We stayed for 2 nights and the buffet breakfast was very good. Excellent if they serve bacons too. The strawberry margarita and mojito was great. Oh my the view, yes the view: from our hotel was excellent, from our morning breakfast was excellent, and from the pool PERFECT. We will surely go back!

Reviewed March 29, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Rosendo from United States
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015

Good Enough for a Province”

Room, view and tv channels.

Considering that this is a hotel located in the province, the services was good. However, I think that the hotel still lacks things to be considered as a 5-star hotel. 1) ROOM. The room was clean and comfortable. However, I think the bathroom would be better with additional lighting. There also appears to be times when the key card malfunctions, although they are very quick to change it. Water in the bathroom was very strong. 2) VIEW. Although our room was situated at the back, the hotel itself had a very good view of the city and more importantly, the Mayon volcano, which I think is the main reason why travellers visit the area. 3) TV CHANNELS. I think that the hotel provides enough tv channels for sufficient viewing. 3) INTERNET. I could not rely on the internet of the hotel. More often than not, it is not working. I brought my own portable broadband but the signal of the provider was also not that consistent. 4) SWIMMING POOL. During our first day, they were filling it with water. My nephew and mother enjoyed swimming in it during our second day. Although, the pool is a little bit small if you would want to do some laps. A plus, however, is that there is a children's pool. 5) TAXI AVAILABLITY. It is difficult to easily get a taxi from the hotel if you would just want to go to just one point within the city. However, if you would get a taxi for tour purposes, then it should not be a problem. 6) BUFFET. I think that the buffet was good enough. However, for foreigners who would want a

Reviewed January 03, 2016
8.7
Excellent
FRANCIS from Australia
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015

nice hotel ”

rooms, staff, breakfast

Enjoyed our stay at the Oriental Hotel nice large rooms , staff were all very nice, water stopped in our bathroom and they had it fixed within 20 minutes of letting them know, lovely area for breakfast . Hotel is a little away from town and you would need a short taxi ride . if in Legazpi again i would stay at the Oriental hotel .

Reviewed February 23, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Marissa from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014

Very good view for Mayon Volcano”

Good location, friendly staff and have a beautiful infonity pool

Still the best hotel in Albay, good location as overlooking to everything especially the beautiful Mayon Volcano. Staff are so accommodating and friendly. Very good to recommend to travelers, tourist and friends. Two thumbs up!

Reviewed October 23, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Roana from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

Excellent stay except pool wasn't working”

Nice view, excellent breakfast, comfortable rooms

In this hotel I tasted the most memorable hotel bread of my life. Seriously, for some reason hotels can't get bread right but this hotel had excellent bread. Look for it during breakfast. When we cam it was a month after the storm so the infinity pool was damaged. Very unfortunate, since we really wanted to take a dip with the beautiful Mayon volcano in sight. Otherwise a very great stay. Bed was comfortable, staff was nice, and did I mention the breakfast was awesome? Close to the city where you can go around and do a City Tour. Recommended.

Reviewed August 26, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Jeffrey from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013

Comfort at its finest!”

orderliness, cleanliness and comfort

after twelve hours of continuous driving, I was recharged after seeing the room. Two nights were too short( due to limited time in Philippines), better stay for five nights. Would love to go back again within this year. Hotel staff are attentive, courteous, quick response and helpful. Very satisfied traveler to Bicol. Couldn't ask for more.

Reviewed January 15, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Sue from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2013

very relaxing and comfortable, nice view of Mayon”

Breakfast, Fast Check in and Check out, shuttle service

Our overnight stay was very comfortable and relaxing. the breakfast buffet was sumptuous. every thing was perfect except for the bed sheet, it was kinda soiled, stained. the bathroom/shower door was kinda about to break but good thing it did not. but overall, the stay was good.

Reviewed January 07, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Divina from Canada
Group
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013

Unforgettable”

Sceneries, food and customer service

We had so much fun with our trip to Bicol. First, when we arrived at the airport we were welcomed by the driver from Oriental Legaspi with a very welcoming smile. As we are reaching our hotel so impressed with the view of Mayon Volcano and the mountains surrounding the huge volcano. Oriental Legaspi has the perfect location for Mayon. When we checked-in the people in the reception were so accommodating and knowledgeable of what they are doing. It didn't take us long to register. The rooms and bathrooms were so big and beds our very comfortable to sleep on. Wi-fi is so fast and no interruptions. The breakfast buffet has a lot of selections and fast service if you need something. I have recommended the hotel my family and friends prior to writing my comment on this survey!

Reviewed December 05, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Ziendy from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

nice location, beautiful view of the city”

1. the scenery 2. close to airport 3. comfortable bed

My family and I stayed at The Oriental Legaspi Hotel. The hotel's view was beautiful. It's sits on top of a hill looking down at the city of Legaspi and on the other side, you have the view of Mayon Volcano. When you book your rooms, you can decided which view you would like to face. We stayed in the city view since it was a bit cheaper knowing we will be visiting Mayon Volcano on our city tour. I requested 2 x twins beds for 2 x adults and 2x children. Although we could not push the beds together we were comfortable sleeping 2 people in 1 single bed. The only problems was the aircon was so hot. We asked them to check the aircon but the room temperature remained the same...hot hot hot. We all could not sleep very well so the next day the kids were so groggy!!! Just fix the aircon..

Reviewed November 02, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Brian from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013

Awesome Hotel with awesome staff!”

Lovely hotel with a luxury feel. The best hotel staff I have ever had and a relaxing environment.

We have now stayed in the Oriental Legaspi 3 times, and will continue to return there anytime we are in town. It's relaxing, luxurious (for the price) and has the best staff I have encountered in any hotel at any price anywhere in the world. There are lovely pools, great views over the city and a fantastic view of Mount Mayon which is the big arse volcano located here. A bit out of town, but for P100 you can be in the city center in about 15 minuets using a tricycle or P300 if you use the hotel shuttle. And being out of town has the advantage of peace and tranquility. I recommend you stay here if you are in Legazpi.

Reviewed October 02, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Michael from Philippines
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in September 2013

relaxing stay, hassle free”

location is on top of hill, good resto, nice spa

The rooms are nice as these were new. I would have wanted a city view but then all rooms were sold out. The spa is a must try as it is very quiet, staff were professional, and service is good. The resto is also good. I tried the Bicol sampler which I really enjoyed, in a resto that gives you a view of the whole city, and accompanied by an acoustic band that to my surprise, sang Edith Piaf's La Vie En Rose. Plus the coffee and cake was perfect, though sinful. :). The only minus factor here, as in all resorts with good and stunning location, is its distance from the city center. But if you are not there to go around but just to relax, this is a plus in itself.

Reviewed September 30, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Enes from Turkey
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013

Clean, comfortable, perfect view, great pool, frie”

rooms, view, staff

It was a business trip so expected to be tiring and it was, but the hotel was great and gave enough comfort to rest. Hotel is not in the city center but the location of the hotel has a perfect view of the volcanic perfect cone mountain which is incredible. Worth to stay. We had also a good deal thru Agoda.

Reviewed September 22, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Carlos from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013

Mayon awesomeness”

View of the Mayon volcano in the morning is just breathtaking

The rooms and beds were really comfortable. Staff were very accommodating and helpful. Although it's very difficult to visit the city proper since hotel is located on a hill, the hotel gives you breathtaking views of the mayon volcano every single time you wake up. Love it!

Reviewed September 12, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Jeanette from Philippines
Group
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Very nice hotel”

Immaculately clean rooms, nice city view from the hotel lobby, wide variety of choices for breakfast

I had a very nice stay except for some goose-bump-experience. I was too sleepy but twas hard for me to sleep. I was half awake half asleep when i felt there were almost 10 kids running at the hallway playing which made my bed shake a bit. I wanted to transfer to the other bed my friend slept but i couldnt move. I seemed i was having a nightmare. I opened the adjoining room where my other 2 friends were occupying i i slept with them. I had a good night sleep after that. I really love the hotel and want to stay here again once i will be able. Visit again Legazpi

Reviewed August 21, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Jeanette from Philippines
Group
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Luxury hotel with affordable price”

Clean hotel, great breakfast buffet, high speed internet connection

I like the this hotel better than the hotel i booked the previous 2 nights. Though located halfway towards the mountain but shuttle service is available anytime to/from the airport. Hotel swimming pool underwent renovation that's why we were not able to try the pool. The hotel got the best view of Mayon Volcano & the whole city of Legazpi. Foods were great and there were a lot of choices which gave you a hearty meal.

Reviewed August 21, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Justina from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013

good value for money”

volcano view, spa, buffet breakfast

This hotel is a bit out of the city, so it can be difficult to get to if you don't have your own transportation. The in-house spa has a variety of services for a reasonable price. However, tours, excursions, and vehicle rentals are highly overpriced at the hotel tourist agency. Try to book these from the city. The buffet breakfast is huge and there is a variety of food on the menu but when it is busy, restaurant service is extremely slow (and the food can be really poor quality when they are rushed). Our room had a balcony with a fantastic view of the volcano. There is a nice gym (perfect for my yoga practice), and outdoor pool.

Reviewed August 09, 2013
8.3
Excellent
feyan from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013

We enjoy our stay at oriental hotel legazpi”

Courteous, attentive and friendly staff, clean room and surrounding

We had a great time staying in this hotel, they only need to improve the food selection in breakfast buffet, they should also provide transportation seevice free of charge from hotel to embarcadero since taxis are hard to find

Reviewed June 10, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Darlynn from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2013

Surpassed my expectations for a hotel in province”

Wonderful Mayon View

Would definitely stay in this hotel. From airport shuttle to hotel to front desk staff, bell service, comfort of room and cleanliness, I would say it was all great and surpassed my expectations for this hotel. Considered this hotel as home away from home for 4 days. Will recommend to everybody going to Legaspi.

Reviewed June 01, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Thomas from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013

Enjoyable stay. Good price.”

Clean, comfortable and friendly

They stay was friendly and helpful. Lobby lounge staff not good. Had to order things 2 times, each time I went there. And, had to finally get drink that was sitting on counter. The added "Service Charge" was for no service. Not convenient to mall or shopping. Taxi and tricycle added extra to charge. Pool nice. Great view of Mayon volcano.

Reviewed May 14, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Jennifer from Philippines
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

Overall great stay though with some minor concerns”

Gorgeous view of Mayon Volcano from the room (if you book the Mayon view room) and swimming pool, clean & modern interior, friendly staff

Overall our stay was fine & comfortable. The hotel is relatively new - I understand it was recently renovated after a new owner acquired it. Wifi is free and accessible from anywhere in the hotel - always a plus. My only real issue concerns the Jasmine restaurant on the ground floor - on our first night, we had dinner there and it took them forever to serve us our food and also to give us our bill. That was despite a couple of follow ups on our part. During breakfast the next day, one of us wanted an omelette - there didn't seem to be any real system to serve us on a first come first served basis. Minor issue was during checkout - I was being charged for all nights for 1 of the 2 rooms we booked although I had prepaid both on Agoda. This was easily rectified but I was just not expecting this issue to come up.

Reviewed April 05, 2013
8.3
Excellent
ANGELO from Philippines
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

Best value for your money”

Hotel situated on top of a hill with scenic view.

Hotel situated on top of a hill, and you will be welcomed by a scenic view, lots of open space, huge lobby. The room has it's own balcony, nice to get some fresh air. We also got a free complimentary breakfast for two. Be aware that the bathroom has a sliding door has no lock.

Reviewed February 27, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
FRANCOISE from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Modern Hotel with a Picturesque View of Mayon”

Spacious and Comfy Room. Breathtaking view of Mount Mayon.

Enjoyed our stay here. The hotel has an elegant ambiance. Everything is so white. Swimming in the infinity pool is made more special with the view of Mount Mayon. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed January 02, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
FRANCOISE from Philippines
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Minimalist Hotel with a Breathtaking View”

spacious and comfy rooms. Nice view of Mount Mayon

We enjoyed our laid-back stay here. The room is wide and has a nice view of the rice field. The hotel provides good amenities. The staff are very accommodating. The infinity pool is clean and has a breathtaking view of Mount Mayon and Legazpi City.

Reviewed January 02, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Ramil from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

"Unforgettable experience."”

Amazing view from the location of the hotel and different variety of food.

It is a unique experience in just two days of stay in the hotel. The corregidor is so detailed. My room is so big. i even have a bigger bed compare to some hotel that i've check-in before. The food are all delicious. I even want to ask for take home. The service is very accomodating. The staff are always courteus. Their gesture are very impressive.

Reviewed December 06, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Angelica from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

Nice”

Nice

The room are clean, everything is in good condition. I love the pool, I do enjoy swimming, and I loved place, especially the surroundings it Is very clean and I love the green colors of the trees that surround the hotel

Reviewed November 29, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Lea from Philippines
Group
Stayed 1 night in September 2012

Sweetest Place in Legazpi”

Good view of Mayon Volcano

Great Place. Great Ambiance. Buffet Breakfast is not so good, little variety of food. The pool was very beautiful with the view of mayon volcano. Down Side if you want to explore the city it cost around 2k for a half day tour. Overall, nice place.

Reviewed November 10, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Raniela from Philippines
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012

best hotel in legazpi so far”

lobby is welcoming. room is very homy

i enjoyed my stay at the hotel especially at night where piano and saxophone were played. very soothing to the ears. the room is among the best in the philippines. clean, fresh and very comfortable. breakfaat choices are varied however, it is almost the same daily during my stay. despite this, breakky is still yummy! the pool side is supposed to boast the beauty of mt. mayon, however, it was very misty that mayon didnt show up. yet, infinity pool can still be enjoyed sans mayon's appearance. location, however, requires you to have your own vehicle to be convenient.

Reviewed October 14, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Marie from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012

Great Views and Very Spacious Lobby”

Clean Rooms, Beautiful Pool, Lobby and Very Polite Staff

Upon our arrival at the airport, we were warmly greeted by their staff and were given cold bottles of water. At the hotel, there were very refreshing welcome drinks of fresh juices and since we were a party if 6, those waiting for our check-in to finish had lots of cozy sofas to choose from in waiting. The front desk was very helpful and friendly and upgraded us to 5th floor rooms. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms were clean. Thr hotel food, however, was not spectacular and was a little bit pricey.

Reviewed September 20, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Stelson from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Good View and Great Service”

clean rooms, excellent amenities, transportation services

The Oriental Hotel in Legazpi is one of the better or probably the best hotel in the city. It has spacious, clean and 5 star looking rooms. The hotel has amenities like a spa which is open until midnight, a pool, and a gym. There is an option for buffet breakfast to sample local fare. Transportation to and fro the airport is included free, and you can arrange for land transfer in the city conveniently. They have excellent coffee, desserts as well as high-end version of local foods.

Reviewed June 26, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Jennifer from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

gorgeous hotel with great service”

amazing view, infinity pool overlooking mayon volcano, very comfortable bed

Very impressed with this hotel, especially considering its provincial location. Huge lobby, excellent service, great amenities. Only issues we had were: lack of hot water in our shower (but they fixed it right away when we pointed it out), included breakfast buffet was lacking a little in american style foods (but was all in all ok and the asian style breakfast looked good), and they originally put us in a room facing away from Mt Mayon volcano, even though the website assured a "mountain view". When we asked them about it, they said we did have a mountain view (the hotel is built into the side of a mountain so you can see the side of the mountain behind the hotel, but not exactly the view we were expecting). However, they did move us to a room with a view of Mt Mayon so the service was excellent.

Reviewed June 10, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Michael from Philippines
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in April 2012

A nice place to relax”

Very relaxing. has a view of Mayon Volcano

its a five star experience hotel with a price of a three star hotel. well all of the hotels in legazpi are much cheaper so maybe the price is just right. has all of the amenities you'll need in a hotel, but if you love to see the city, this is not the hotel for you since its pretty far from the city center. but its just one 6km ride away. its worth to try.

Reviewed May 04, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Mikael from Philippines
Group
Stayed 1 night in April 2012

One of the best hotels in bicol despites quirks”

Big clean rooms, nice view

We were luckily upgraded to the executive suite despite having booked a standard room. The room was quite spacious with a lot of open spaces but minimal furnishings. However, the design of the shower was quite strange that there was no divider between the shower and the rest of the bathroom area causing the entire bathroom to get quite wet whenever we took the shower. The airconditioning also seemed inadequate for the hot summer day.

Reviewed May 01, 2012
8.7
Excellent
DHEERAJ from India
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012

Great View from the Hotel”

The Hotel is very clean, looks so sanitised

The Hotel is at a distance from the City Centre and at a very good location. The Hotel is basically meant for Couples and not for business travellers. There is a lot of difficulty post 6pm to get transport to the town and the Hotel Shuttle is too pricey.

Reviewed February 01, 2012
6.8
Good
Christiandel from Australia
Group
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Nice hotel from afar”

I didn't expect that this hotel was situated high up, there's only 1 way in and out - the road used by the establishment is tiny and can barely fit 2 cars side by side. Front Desk team requires further training. The staff who assisted me did not care that there were ants crawling all over the front counter. He spoke to softly and can barely hear him. Rooms that we booked were meant to be 'mountain view' - at the time of check-in they still haven't had this ready. We checked in at 4PM where originally in the booking, we specified that we were arriving at 10am. Since one of the rooms wasn't ready still, 1 room was upgraded but they failed to mention that the room was overlooking the city and not the mountain. I couldn't care less about the upgrade as we wanted the view. If they had given us the 2 rooms that were next to each other, the room closest to the elevator wouldn't have the view of the mountain as it was blocked by the glass roof of the facade.

Reviewed May 27, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Erich from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Amazing Experience and it was a good choice.”

When you say satisfaction, it means you had the best. Yes, The Oriental Legazpi experience is amazing. From the choice, cleanliness, friendly and accommodating staffs and the delicious food. From breakfast to dinner. Cant wait to share these experience to my friends who wants to visit Legazpi, Albay soon. KUDOS to the Amazing People of The Oriental Legazpi

Reviewed February 16, 2019
4.0
Chun from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Under average overall”

Pros 1. Good food at Jasmine restaurant. 2. Nice location and view of MT Mayon Cons 1. Poor check-in efficiency. Took more than half an hour to settle check-in procedure. 2. Poor room condition. - smelly carpet - worm in the bathroom

Reviewed January 01, 2019
6.8
Good
Garry from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

The Oriental Hotel Mt Mayon”

I came to Legazpi City to see the amazing Mt Mayon Volcano in all its beauty. It did not disappoint. Sorry to say that the Oriental Hotel left us wanting much more. I read all the reviews on Agoda before selecting my Hotel, so I was aware that the Hotel is currently undergoing renovation so I took that into consideration. I also picked the Oriental Hotel because of the wonderful view of Mt Mayon from the infinity pool. Unfortunately the infinity part was not operating during out two day stay, the pools was nice the view was excellent no infinity. When checking in we were upgraded to Mt Mayon view and had a nice view of the outside bar and grill with a nice patio, but there were no chairs on the lani. We had dinner at the grill the first night and selected from the fresh fish and seafood cart that was grilled on site. It was cooked to perfection. But the table seating was missing most of the seat cushions from the chairs, we had to ask for cushions that they borrowed from other booths.

Reviewed November 15, 2018
5.6
Mungcal from Philippines
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

OVER RATED”

Agoda should be updated, its not a 5-star hotel anymore.. However, renovation are on going so you can hear the noisy sound in the morning until early evening, they should offer discounts for this inconvenience.. already told the staff my other complaints - Wi-fi very slow, the key card room most of the time was not working so you cannot enter the room and had to go down to be replaced. . only consolation is the staff, they were all nice..

Reviewed October 20, 2018
7.6
Very good
Karen from Canada
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

good”

staff are very nice. its just some issue about about the door in the shower. I was accidentally lock because the door lock stuck on the door. but they are very helpful

Reviewed June 07, 2019
4.8
naoki from Japan
Group
Stayed 1 night in June 2019

Unfortunately”

We stayed in Legaspi for the first time for a friend's wedding. I asked for pick up at the airport, but there was no reply . . I would like to expect service level up.

Reviewed June 28, 2019
6.0
Glenda from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

Good hotel but quite inaaccessible”

Hotel is good overall but since the property sits atop a mountain (amazing view btw) you can only take a cab just to go downhill and around the city which definitely costs more. Or, you can take a tricycle but you have to walk downhill to a main road.

Reviewed April 12, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Florencio from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

We had great time staying at the oriental legazpi”

We will be back to visit again albay and definitely staying at the oriental legazpi again

Reviewed June 04, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Chermibelle
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Exceptional”

Very accommodating, definitely be back soon. So much fun and amazing sightseeing for mayon volcano❤️❤️❤️

Reviewed May 09, 2019
5.6
Allen from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Above average”

Very outdated hotel

Reviewed March 19, 2019