The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
See all 62 photos

"Perfectly located, and a mostly wonderful staff."

Louis J.

|

May 2, 2018

Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed - Bed The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed - Bed
See all 62 photos
Lobby The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Lobby
See all 62 photos
Interior view The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Interior view
See all 62 photos
Interior view The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Interior view
See all 62 photos
See map The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
See map
Excellent
Location
8.6
See all 62 photos The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
See all 62 photos
Removed from saved list

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta

Excellent location
- 40 meters from city center
- What's nearby?
Excellent
From 2452 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
/
10
Excellent room comfort and quality
8.9
Recommended by 92% of guests
Value for money8.6
Distance to city center0 Km
Location rating8.6
Nearest airportAdisucipto International Airport (JOG)
Distance to airport7.6 km
  • 870 meters to public transportation

  • Airport transfer

  • Currency exchange

  • Located in heart of Yogyakarta

Room choices
8.9
Excellent
Room comfort & quality
6 travelers are looking at this property right nowBook now before it's too late!
Suite 1 King Bed Sofa Executive
Suite 1 King Bed Sofa Executive
...
  • Room size: 62 m²/667 ft²
  • Pool view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 King Bed Executive
1 King Bed Executive
...
  • Room size: 46 m²/495 ft²
  • Pool view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Legacy 1 King Size Bed
Deluxe Legacy 1 King Size Bed
...
  • Room size: 35 m²/377 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Legacy 2 Single Beds
Deluxe Legacy 2 Single Beds
...
  • Room size: 35 m²/377 ft²
  • City view
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
...
  • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Twin
Superior Twin
...
  • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
  • City view
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Legacy King Room with Pool View (3 Adults)
Deluxe Legacy King Room with Pool View (3 Adults)
...
  • Room size: 35 m²/377 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 super king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Legacy King or Twin Room (3 Adults)
Deluxe Legacy King or Twin Room (3 Adults)
...
  • Room size: 35 m²/377 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 super king bed or 2 singl...
Enter dates to see prices
Phoenix Executive King Room (3 Adults)
Phoenix Executive King Room (3 Adults)
...
  • Room size: 46 m²/495 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 super king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Legendary King Suite (3 Adults)
Legendary King Suite (3 Adults)
...
  • Room size: 60 m²/646 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
Enter dates to see prices
Have a question for The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta?

What people love about the property

  • "Great location, somewhat walkable to malioboro and keraton."

    Bernard

    |

    November 12, 2017

  • "Very good hotel"

    MOHAMMAD A.

    |

    August 5, 2017

  • "Great ambiance."

    Firdaus

    |

    July 25, 2017

Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
More about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta

More about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta

"Definately would stay here again, great location, staff grea..."

joanne

|

January 16, 2018

An overview

Show more

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

What they offer

"Nice people, nice place and clean."

Listiari

|

January 29, 2018

Show less

What's nearby

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show more

Property's guest policies

Show less

Some helpful facts

Show more

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (2452)Booking.com Reviews (928)
8.7
/
10
Cleanliness8.9
Facilities8.5
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality8.9
Service8.8
Value for money8.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (2452)
All room types
Showing 2233 verified guest comments
12345
8.8
Excellent
WENXIAN from Malaysia
Group
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2018
Excellent”
Very nice environment and excellent breakfast. Slight walking distance to Malioboro street. Friendly staff and delicious welcome drinks & snacks.
Reviewed November 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
John from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018
Top Class Hotel with Excellent Facilities”
The Phoenix is a quality act and delivers excellent performance befitting a hotel of its past pedigree. Excellent service from staff. We were initially given a "smoking" bedroom but when we pointed out that we had asked for on-smoking our rooms was changed immediately. Breakfast was among the best we have had in 5 months+ of travelling. A good location in Yogya and ideal base for Boroudur & Pramanan. Recommended.
Reviewed November 07, 2018
Dear John, On behalf of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery By Sofitel, I would like to express our gratitude to thank you for sharing your memorable experience with us. We are pleased learning that you enjoyed the excellent service from the staff, best breakfast, and central location. Your compliments truly boost the spirit of the entire team and we would be more than happy to welcome you back for another memorable experience. Best regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded November 11, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
5.2
Hui from Malaysia
Couple
1 King Bed Executive
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018
Not 5 star standard.”
For a 5 star standard, Toilet condition quite old, stained, poor condition. Service was not 5 star. Seated and waited for check in, no one serve drinks. Disappointed. Would rate it 4star only
Reviewed November 06, 2018
Dear Hui, Thank you for sharing feedback in regards to your experience with us. It is truly disappointing to learn the unpleasant impression you had with us and that we failed to meet your expectations on the area you have mentioned. On behalf of the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta, I would like to apologize for the disappointments. Please rest assured that I have shared your comments with the team where action plans have been put in place to address your remarks and to ensure our standards are being met and all our guests experience is flawless. It is our hope to welcome you back for a much better experience. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded November 11, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
9.6
Exceptional
Ian from Vietnam
Couple
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018
Excellent hotel!”
This place really is as amazing as it appears in the photos but, what you cannot see, are the amazing staff. Literally any difficulty we had, they went out of their way to make it right.
Reviewed October 30, 2018
Dear Ian, Nothing makes us happier than knowing that it was an amazing experience for you to stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We are pleased to know that the picturesque hotel is just as pretty as it is in pictures. Behind it, our friendly staff will be more than happy to accommodate your needs even more so. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another memorable experience. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded November 05, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
8.4
Excellent
Mihye from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018
Heritage building ”
The hotel is a beautiful heritage building. The main street is nearby, around 15-20 min by walking. Some might find it a bit far away but I find it nice because Malioboro is a bit crowded and noisy. The room is clean. But wifi connection is not the best condition, which was just enough for checking emails. It was hard for watching streaming pages or image-heavy webpages. All the staff members are kind and helpful. I find breakfast ok. Coffee was really good. Hope they offer fresh milk or cream for coffee instead of creamers. An ATM and a big bank is just next to the hotel. Thus, it was convenient for us to withdraw Indonesian money. Entrance tickets for famous places are quite expensive, such as one adult for 30-40 US dollars. I became to run out of money soon but it was nice that the hotel was just next to the bank. Overall, the hotel is a quiet and tranquil place and I appreciate the efforts to keep the old building and atmosphere.
Reviewed October 29, 2018
Dear Mihye, Thank you very much for sending us lovely feedback following your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is great to learn that you loved this heritage building, central location, clean room, helpful and friendly staff, good breakfast, good coffee, and ATM facility nearby. We very much appreciate the highlights on the WiFi connection, fresh milk and cream on breakfast. We will further review your feedback and improve our quality of service and facilities to better meet the needs of our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded November 05, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
10.0
Exceptional
Hans from Indonesia
Group
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Lovely stay, welcoming staff”
Rooms are lovely although some require long walk. Food is exceptional and the chef was so caring and welcoming. A perfect place to stay in Yogya!
Reviewed October 28, 2018
Dear Hans, Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback! How great it is to learn that you loved the room, food, and service from our staff. We definitely cannot wait to welcome you back for another memorable experience. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded November 05, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
8.8
Excellent
Er-Vin from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
Stayed 5 nights in October 2018
Excellent”
Luxurious Hotel at affordable price. Location is a bit north of Malioboro but walkable. Facilities such as pools and gym can be used for free. Friendly staff that makes your day and most importantly clean rooms.
Reviewed October 27, 2018
Dear Er-Vin, We very much appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. It's nice to learn that you loved this hotel that comes with value for money, central location, free usage of facilities, friendly staff, and clean rooms. It is our hope to welcome you back soon. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded October 28, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
5.2
Tsin from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Above average”
Bathroom fixtures are old and not working properly. Staff failed to provide prompt service at dining area, I waited for 15 minutes before drawing the attention of a staff, most just walks around like I was invisible.
Reviewed October 20, 2018
Dear Tsin, Thank you for sharing your experience following your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We very much appreciate the highlights you made on the bathroom fixtures and service in the restaurant; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking appropriate measures to address these issues and prevent future occurrence. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a much better experience. Best regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded October 24, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
8.0
Excellent
Bismo from Indonesia
Business traveler
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018
We like most the atmosphere of the hotel - back to colonial architecture and the services ”
Very good services, fast check-in check out, good restaurant and bar, lots of options for food during breakfast or buffet dinner, tasted was not that excellent but okey, bed room was okey, shower/ toilet can be improved, overall good experiences.
Reviewed October 19, 2018
Dear Bismo, Thank you very much for sharing your memorable experience following your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is nice to learn that you enjoyed the service, efficiency of check ins and outs, good restaurant and bar, widespread buffets, and bedroom. Thank you for highlighting the need to improve the shower/toilet area. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded October 24, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
8.4
Excellent
Irene from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Legacy 2 Single Beds
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018
Wonderful historic hotel”
Great location and friendly staff. We were given a room that was noisy and hotel changed our room with minimal fuss. Most unfortunate, the spa was a great disappointment.
Reviewed October 08, 2018
Dear Irene, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your stay at our hotel. We're glad that you enjoyed the central location and friendly staff. It is great to know that the solution to the problem associated with the room met your expectation. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenient experience at the spa. Feel free to contact us directly for detailed info regarding this issue. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and served as an encouragement to always better our service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded October 09, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
7.2
Very good
Ryohei from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
Very good”
Very elegant, authentic place.
Reviewed October 08, 2018
Dear Ryohei, We very much appreciate the time you have taken to share your recent experience at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. Thank you for highlighting the elegance and authenticity of this hotel. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon! Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded October 09, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
8.8
Excellent
Felina from Indonesia
Family with teens
Deluxe Legacy 2 Single Beds
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Strategic location”
Love the beautiful Hotel interior, its very traditional. Staff so friendly. Breakfast delicious. Bed comfortable.
Reviewed October 05, 2018
Dear Felina, Thank you for your review! We very much appreciate the highlights you made on the hotel traditional interior, friendly staff, delicious breakfast, and comfy bed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded October 07, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
10.0
Exceptional
KHAIRUNNISA from Brunei Darussalam
Group
Deluxe Legacy 1 King Size Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Great location & ambience”
Love this hotel! The staffs are friendly, polite & helpful and they got good foods. The rooms are very clean.
Reviewed September 22, 2018
Dear KHAIRUNNISA, Thank you for your feedback! We are very happy that you love this hotel as much as we do! Thank you for highlighting the friendly staff, good food, and clean rooms. We definitely cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded October 02, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
9.2
Exceptional
Mahadzir from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
Stayed 4 nights in September 2018
Beautiful hotel with great service and good facilities ”
The colonial architecture is beautiful and staff are great, always attentive and respond quick to requests. The hotel could improve on breakfast menu. I was there for 5 days and the breakfast spread is largely similar every morning. Otherwise, definitely a great place to stay at for a relaxing excursion in Jogja.
Reviewed September 16, 2018
Dear Mahadzir, Thank you for sharing such a pleasant experience. We're glad that you loved this colonial building as well as attentive staff. The breakfast spread menu vary each morning with different main courses and healthy corner menu. But of course we have standard breakfast menu that match western and local cuisine. Thank you once again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing stay. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded October 02, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
7.6
Very good
Panayiodoulla from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018
Very good”
Room was quite shabby and tired. There wasn't really anything to see/do in the area. But it was an adequate base for a short trip. You get what you pay for.
Reviewed September 10, 2018
Dear Panayiodoulla, Thank you for sharing your experience following your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is disappointing to know that you found the room shabby and tired. We have 5 types of rooms and should you look for tranquility and a more spacious room, Deluxe Pool View rooms might suit you best. There's plenty of interesting places in the area if you are interested in history and arts as Jogjakarta is obviously the best place to experience ones. We look forward to better serve you in the future. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded October 02, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
10.0
Exceptional
Miroslava from Singapore
Couple
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018
Splendid breakfast!”
Breakfast here is best, so many options to try. Noise from street is almost smudged from the room. Pool is nice and clean. Little bit far from Prawirotaman street though.
Reviewed September 09, 2018
Dear Miroslava, Thank you for sharing your memorable experience! We're glad that you loved the breakfast and swimming pool. We apologize for the inconvenience due to some noise from outside the room. We will work on the soundproofing to better meet our guests' needs. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded September 30, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
10.0
Exceptional
Meena from United States
Couple
Deluxe Legacy 1 King Size Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Exceptional”
Great one night short stay at Phoenix hotel. Didn’t use any of their amenities like pool, spa or gym. Room was comfortable and clean. Facilities are older but clean. Staff was very helpful at all times. Great location to explore marlioboro market and sultan palace etc. Didn’t try their restaurant but the bar was decent. Would stay again if I’m the area.
Reviewed September 06, 2018
Dear Meena, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad that you had a memorable stay with us and found the location central, the room clean and comfy, and the bar decent for a relaxing evening. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer experience. Best regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded September 30, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
10.0
Exceptional
Grace from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Legacy 2 Single Beds
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Fantastic hotel with a history”
I simply cannot find fault with this hotel. It’s staff are excellent and friendly. They are attentive and efficient. I particularly appreciate the friendly escort, Tanu, the concierge staff as well as Ayu, who has presented the hotel’s history very well. However, I have to say “thank you” to the gentleman (staff) who asked if I would like to know the history of the hotel. // I enjoyed my room and the environment very much. I thank all the staff who have attended to me but apologize for not asking and remembering every name.
Reviewed August 29, 2018
We are all beyond happy knowing that you had a memorable stay with us and many thanks for your compliments for our service that contributed to your wonderful time in Yogyakarta. Tanu, Ayu, and the rest of the staff members are delighted by your feedback and we're glad that you got a glimpse into the hotel history and enjoyed the room and ambiance offered. We very much look forward to your next visit for another exceptional experience. Best regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded September 02, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
9.2
Exceptional
Aditya from Indonesia
Family with young children
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018
Great location with classic old Javanesse property”
Having a very very pleasant location nearby Tugu. With classic Javanesse style interior always be my favourite place in Jogjakarta. Staffs are super friendly, rooms are neat however a bit old furniture you can find. If you like classic and heritage scenery it will works for you. Except some ‘squeaking’ noise of the furniture when you open the cupboard or bathroom door may not be good for you, they are classic anyway. Food are typically on 5 star hotel standard, taste good I enjoy it every day.
Reviewed August 25, 2018
Dear Aditya, Thank you for staying at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It was truly our great pleasure to serve you and knowing that the central location, Javanese style interior, friendly staff, and good food gave you comfort made every effort worthy. We would be more than happy to host your next stay in this heritage hotel. Best regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded August 26, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
8.8
Excellent
Stephen from Myanmar
Couple
Deluxe Legacy 1 King Size Bed
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018
Beautiful building with a great location ”
Just avoid the pool view rooms on the ground floor as you will have no privacy unless you close the curtains.
Reviewed August 21, 2018
Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time reviewing The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We're glad that you loved the hotel building and central location. We apologize for the inconvenience caused with lack of privacy for pool access rooms. We will further review your feedback with the management team. Thank you for your feedback and hopefully we will get the chance to better serve you in the future. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager
Responded August 25, 2018
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss