The Pinewood Hotel

The Pinewood Hotel

16 (15) Rockville Road,Above Telephone Exchange, Central Darjeeling, Darjeeling, India, 734101
- View on map
 The Pinewood Hotel
    Removed from saved list
    Interior view The Pinewood Hotel
    Interior view The Pinewood Hotel
    Bathroom The Pinewood Hotel
    Deluxe  The Pinewood Hotel
    See all 18 photos
     The Pinewood Hotel

    The Pinewood Hotel Reviews

    7.3
    Very good
    /10
    (30 reviews)See what guests said
    8.8
    Excellent

    "The manager is very competent, helping to make my two-week s..."

    Valdemar

    -

    December 30, 2016

    8.2
    Excellent service

    Things you’ll love about The Pinewood Hotel

    Things you'll love

    • Airport transfer

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Breakfast [free]

    • Daily housekeeping

    This property is in high demand!

    Last booked a few minutes ago

    Good
    Location
    6.6
    See map
    Nearby
    Popular
  • Manjushree Centre of Tibetan Culture20 m
  • Compuset Centre20 m
  • Poddar's70 m
  • State Bank of India70 m
  • Joey's Pub90 m
  • Inox Theatre100 m
  • Nathmull's Tea Rooms110 m
  • Hayden Hall130 m
  • Main Post Office130 m
  • Bhutia Busty Gompa Monastery230 m
  • Value for money7.3
    Distance to city center1 Km
    Location rating6.6
    Nearest airportBagdogra Airport (IXB) - India
    Distance to airport39.9 km

    Rooms available at The Pinewood Hotel

    Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    ...
    • Room size: 19 m²/205 ft²
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe
    Deluxe
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Shower
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Executive
    Executive
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Shower
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Super Deluxe
    Super Deluxe
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Shower
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Have a question for The Pinewood Hotel?
    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about The Pinewood Hotel

    More about The Pinewood Hotel

    5.2
    Review score

    "Food was very nice = good cook!"

    Adelheid

    |

    May 12, 2017

    An overview

    Show less

    What they offer

    8.3
    Excellent

    "Very good stay in this nice and cosy hotel."

    Coline

    |

    January 6, 2016

    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show more

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Announcements

    Please note that any changes in tax structure due to government policies will result in revised taxes, which will be applicable to all reservations and will be charged additionally during check out.

    Reviews of The Pinewood Hotel from real guests

    Agoda Reviews (30)Booking.com Reviews (4)
    7.3
    /
    10
    Cleanliness7.7
    Facilities6.8
    Location6.6
    Room comfort and quality6.8
    Service8.2
    Value for money7.3
    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    All languages
    All guests (30)
    All room types
    Showing 21 verified guest comments
    12
    7.6
    Very good
    Mokammal
    Family with young children
    Deluxe
    Stayed 5 nights in August 2018

    Satisfied”

    Nice place to stay but weak internet connection. We have found one person to supervise all the quarries. Its almost 70-80 feet higher than normal gandhi road altitude level.

    Reviewed August 29, 2018
    8.0
    Excellent
    rajiv from India
    Family with young children
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

    Nice stay”

    Very good location near to mall road but at some height and there no no arrangement from hotel side to carry the luggage from main road.Other wise stay was very good.staff was very cordial and supportive.

    Reviewed May 21, 2018
    7.6
    Very good
    Ray from Canada
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 3 nights in March 2018

    Good, small inn located in back lane above Clock Tower and Mall.”

    Nice room, friendly staff. Well maintained. Just be aware that Darjeeling is very cold, especially from 4 pm onward and a room heater has substantial surcharge (Rs300). Very steep uphill or by stairs to reach the lane where this (and several other) hotels are located.

    Reviewed March 19, 2018
    8.8
    Excellent
    KH from Malaysia
    Family with teens
    Deluxe
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

    Room charge is above reasonable”

    We have been there for 4 days, the room #206 for first 2 days was good, but room #204 for the last 2 days which cost higher as it is window view, I am not happy only that the room is actually smaller than the previous one, hair dryer is not working, the power point near the dressing table is not working too ! however, staffs, cleanliness and location are good, breakfast is monotonous, they should have more choice to chose. Room charge is higher than Bangkok and Kuala Lumpur, which is not reasonable, although it is peak season on June. Indeed, all hotels rate in Darjeeling are too expensive ! It should be Rs 1000 less from current rate.

    Reviewed June 10, 2017
    5.2
    Adelheid from Switzerland
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2017

    narrow space”

    food was very nice = good cook! no hot water; except the shower tube, all other tubes were leaking; 20 square m must be for the room and bathroom together - so it's really narrow; ok for one night.

    Reviewed May 12, 2017

    Dear Mam, We apologise for the inconvenience caused by one of the leaking knobs below the wash basin. We were not aware of it and had you brought it to our attention we would have got it changed. As for the size of the room, it is a room for single occupancy and is about 120 sqft. excluding the bathroom. we have asked agoda to rectify the built in area of the room. Owing to its size, we let it out only to single travellers only and is priced much lower than our regular rooms. We are a budget property and we do not have huge, expansive rooms. However our rooms are clean, cosy and fitted with all modern amenities and we strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We thank you for staying with us and enjoying our food.

    Responded May 13, 2017
    The Pinewood Hotel
    8.8
    Excellent
    Valdemar from United States
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 6 nights in December 2016

    V. Schultz, USA”

    It's a small boutique hotel with just eleven rooms, but does everything necessary to make the traveller comfortable. The manager is very competent, helping to make my two-week stay enjoyable.

    Reviewed December 30, 2016
    8.4
    Excellent
    mohd from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 3 nights in November 2016

    nice hotel”

    10minit walking from darjeeling town.not east to find this hotel,but u can ask local people around there..

    Reviewed November 19, 2016
    8.3
    Excellent
    Coline from France
    Group
    Deluxe
    Stayed 3 nights in December 2015

    Great hotel in a nice location”

    Location, setting and cleanliness

    Very good stay in this nice and cosy hotel. Only minus is the heater which is not included in the price.

    Reviewed January 06, 2016
    3.3
    PARTHA from India
    Family with young children
    Executive
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2015

    Total waste of Money”

    I made the mistake to book this hotel as it was completely waste of money. In my Life I have never been this kind of uncomfortable hotel in spite of spending too much money as room tariff. Rooms are too small and too much cozy type,Beds are too small to sleep with your family with one young child even though it was double bed room. They don't clean the room regularly if you don't put request to clean the room.In a place like Darjeeling where people goes to spend a comfortable and relaxing holiday, it might be worst hotel even though room tariffs are too high for a double bed rooms. Rooms are very uncomfortable. Total waste of money...

    Reviewed June 07, 2015
    8.7
    Excellent
    kiwoon from South Korea
    Family with teens
    Executive
    Stayed 1 night in May 2015

    so nice”

    clean, kindness, cheap

    So clean.....nice

    Reviewed May 14, 2015
    7.3
    Very good
    MICHAEL from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 2 nights in February 2015

    Cold”

    Staff,Staff,staff

    It's a good way up the hill so for an old guy like me it wasn't easy,that being said it was the beginning of February and it was cold although the owners did offer me a heater with no charge.the two guys that worked there did everything they could to make my stay a pleasant one.the breakfast was more than adequate.

    Reviewed February 10, 2015
    5.3
    Nagabhushan from India
    Family with young children
    Deluxe
    Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

    Bad choice”

    One is food was good. Nothing else

    Not great:-( the hotel is located in a place where car is not allowed because of VIP road. So every time you need to go out and catch a car, you need to make a steep walk. Also the room does not provide heater, you need to pay extra if you need it. Over all did not enjoy at all. Except for food.

    Reviewed January 03, 2015
    5.0
    ARUNA from India
    Family with young children
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2014

    Pinewood review”

    very supportive staff, location, view

    It was ok as the pictures on their fb page & reality are very contrasting

    Reviewed October 06, 2014
    8.3
    Excellent
    Harold from France
    Couple
    Deluxe
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2014

    A nice, new place to stay in Darjeeling”

    Central location, good restaurant, friendly service

    The Pinewood Hotel only recently opened in the Spring of 2014 so everything looks clean and new, and the staff tries very hard to please. The hotel is centrally located but Darjeeling is built on a hillside so most streets are a steep uphill or downhill climb. A taxi can take you up a steep road to about 50 meters from the hotel. But the most direct way to get to the hotel is to walk up some stone steps – 133 of them -- straight up to the front door of the hotel. We had reserved a Deluxe room and we had a large window with a nice view (when there was no fog). The least expensive rooms seemed to have windows facing walls. Whenever we needed hot water, we had to ask reception to turn on the water heater. There are not many good restaurants in Darjeeling but the Pinewood Hotel restaurant has a short menu of tasty dishes. Meals must be ordered in advance – by 19:h00 at the latest. Internet connection in the lobby worked well. We recommend the Pinewood and would gladly stay here again.

    Reviewed July 05, 2014
    9.0
    Exceptional
    Mohsin from India
    Family with young children
    Executive
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2014

    Pleasant”

    Service, Clean and Comfort

    Good service, 3 star standard, very clean, comfortable beds, clean toilets, very nice breakfast, decent food with average price, very good staff, reception and manager. Free wifi in the lobby. Will definitely recommend this hotel. Only negative: it is 5 mins from chowrastha but that 5 minutes will be bit painful so 1 star less for the location and cheapest room is very small and TV is at wrong wall.

    Reviewed June 04, 2014
    9.3
    Exceptional
    blake from Australia
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2014

    Comfortable, easy, friendly, clean, inexpensive”

    The staff, overall cleanliness, central location of the hotel

    My stay at the pinewood hotel was very comfortable

    Reviewed May 26, 2014
    6.0
    Raju from India
    Family with young children
    Super Deluxe
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2014

    Budget facilities in a premium price”

    Cleanliness, Bed and Staff behavior

    Its a budget hotel priced as premium, I paid 3500/- per night for a small room which claimed to be the b" Super Deluxe View" room. The reason of selecting the room is to have a clear view of the hills but the moment you open the windows you will see the asbestos roof of other buildings. Major shock is, it is inside a bye lane, vehicle will not go upto the hotel, adding to the misery the main road which lead to this by lane also been blocked by administration. So you are in soup with luggage and kid. Rooms are very small but well build with good linen and fixtures. Staffs are well behaved and owner’s personal attention kept it very clean. Breakfast was great.

    Reviewed May 26, 2014
    6.4
    Good
    YUKIO from Japan
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 1 night in May 2017

    便利のいいホテル”

    時計台から数分後上がったところで、便利。建物が古いが、ダージリンはみんなそうなので、普通レベル。バスルームの上に電気温水器があり、弱いけど困らない。朝食はウエスタンとインドの混合で、こんなものかというところかな。

    Reviewed May 25, 2017
    8.8
    Excellent
    Haruo from India
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

    階段を使えば近道”

    朝食あり

    Reviewed October 11, 2016
    7.3
    Very good
    Steve from Norway
    Couple
    Deluxe
    Stayed 3 nights in May 2015

    Helt grei”

    Maten er bra, beliggenheten er bra og hotellet har en fin utsikt

    Det var bra mat, men rommene var litt slitne. Ikke gi fra deg skittentøy da jeg fikk det tilbake etter 2 dager og dem var ikke engang tørre.

    Reviewed May 11, 2015
    12
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    The Pinewood Hotel
    |Very good 7.3
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Kanchenjunga Mountain