The Place
HD Image
City Double - Bed The Place
Interior view The Place
Bathroom The Place
See all 31 photos
Removed from saved list
8.3
Excellent
/10
(293 reviews)See what guests said
See map
8.8
Excellent
Location rating score
Excellent location - 10 meters from city center
Popular neighborhood
  • Main post office110 m
  • Basement120 m
  • St Paul's and St George's Church140 m
  • Mathers150 m
  • Mounted Gallery150 m
  • John Lewis160 m
  • Stand Comedy Club180 m
  • National Portrait Gallery190 m
  • Q-Store190 m
  • Royal Bank of Scotland200 m
  • Free Wi-Fi

    The Place

    36 York Place, New Town, Edinburgh, United Kingdom, EH1 3HU - See map
    "The building was clean, the staff very helpful and the meals exemplary."
    Margaret - July 24, 2018
    Exceptional reputation
    Recommended by 91% of guests
    Excellent service
    8.7 rating for service
    Excellent cleanliness
    8.5 rating for cleanliness
    Excellent comfort
    8.0 room quality and comfort
    • 490 meters to public transportation

    • Located in heart of Edinburgh

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Daily housekeeping

    • Bar

    Property ranking|Compared to 4,407 Edinburgh properties
    See all rankings
    Room comfort score
    8.0/10
    Location score
    8.8/10
    Service score
    8.7/10
    Cleanliness score
    8.5/10
    Better than
    99
    %
    of Edinburgh properties
    Better than
    98
    %
    of Edinburgh properties
    Better than
    98
    %
    of Edinburgh properties
    Better than
    98
    %
    of Edinburgh properties
    Value for money7.9
    Location rating8.8
    Nearest airportEdinburgh Airport (EDI)
    Distance to airport10.9 km

    Rooms available at The Place

    8.0
    Very good
    Room comfort & quality
    Two-Bedroom Apartment
    Two-Bedroom Apartment
    ...
    • Room size: 95 m²/1023 ft²
    • 2 bathrooms
    • 2 single beds or 2 double b...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Superior Double or Twin
    Superior Double or Twin
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 double bed or 2 single be...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Junior suite
    Junior suite
    ...
    • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
    • Shower
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Double
    Standard Double
    ...
    • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Twin
    Standard Twin
    ...
    • Room size: 13 m²/140 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    City Double
    City Double
    ...
    • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Small Single
    Small Single
    ...
    • City view
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 single bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Suite Room
    Suite Room
    ...
    • City view
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 queen bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Room #31408514
    Room #31408514
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Double room - small
      Double room - small
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices

        What people love about The Place

        • 7.6
          Very good
          Location

          "The Place is a nice hotel in a great location but the walls of my room were paper thin."

          Lorraine

          |

          July 26, 2018

        • 8.0
          Very good
          Cleanliness

          "Lovely clean place with friendly staff and great location but room a big let down"

          Sarah

          |

          December 17, 2018

        • 9.6
          Exceptional
          Cleanliness

          "Had a wonderful stay at The Place which was very modern and spotlessly clean."

          Tiffany

          |

          January 13, 2018

        Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

        Prices drop the moment you sign in!

        Sign in now
        More about The Place

        More about The Place

        10.0
        Exceptional

        "Lovely hotel, friendly staff and very clean, slept amazing a..."

        Wendy

        |

        April 14, 2018

        An overview

        Show less

        Most talked about facilities

        Housekeeping
        12 mentions
        Breakfast
        9 mentions
        Internet
        3 mentions
        Car Park
        1 mention

        What they offer

        9.2
        Exceptional

        "The Place was a good accommodation option given its proximit..."

        Edwin

        |

        December 28, 2018

        View all reviews
        Show less

        Nearest essentials

        Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
        Show less

        Food and dining

        Breakfast options

        Continental
        Full English/Irish

        Restaurants on site

        Restaurant
        Cuisine:British

        What's nearby

        Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
        Show less

        Property's guest policies

        Show less

        Some helpful facts

        Show less

        Reviews of The Place from real guests

        Overall rating
        8.3
        Excellent
        From 1997 reviews
        Provided by verified guests of
        Agoda Reviews (293)Booking.com Reviews (1704)
        Rating via Agoda8.3
        /
        10
        Cleanliness8.5
        Facilities7.4
        Location8.8
        Room comfort and quality8.0
        Service8.7
        Value for money7.9
        High score for Edinburgh
        Rating
        9+ Exceptional (57)
        8-9 Excellent (21)
        7-8 Very Good (34)
        6-7 Good (15)
        <6 Below Expectation (24)
        Time of the year
        Mar - May (30)
        Jun - Aug (41)
        Sep - Nov (43)
        Dec - Feb (37)
        All guests (293)
        All room types
        All languages

        Show reviews that mention 

        Showing 151 verified guest comments
        12345
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Joshua from Singapore
        Couple
        Standard Double
        Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

        Amazing Place!”

        The hotel is located at the edge of and just behind the shopping district. This made it very accessibly, considering that Edinburgh is a pretty compact city as well. The staff were very friendly and helpful, offering great advice with a constant smile! The rooms were very clean and the size was just about perfect! Noise from the streets wasn’t a since the hotel was located away from the hustle and bustle of the crowds.

        Reviewed June 04, 2019

        Dear Joshua, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location as well as our clean, quiet rooms and friendly staff. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Sabela

        Responded June 07, 2019
        The Place
        8.0
        Excellent
        Wendy from United Kingdom
        Couple
        City Double
        Stayed 1 night in June 2019

        Great Location”

        We spent one night here and were very pleased with the location. Just 8 minutes walk from the station and very close to the centre. We ate around the corner at an 'edgy' Mexican restaurant on Broughton Street. We were disappointed with being on the lower ground floor as we had no view and the room felt stuffy. On opening the skylight in the morning we attracted an extremely noisy, huge seagull who wanted to share the room with us. If we were staying longer I would have asked to change rooms.

        Reviewed June 21, 2019

        Dear Wendy, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location. I am sorry to hear that you didn't like your room being on the lower ground floor, unfortunately the room type you had booked (city double) is only located on the lower ground floor but we do have other types such as the standard and superior double rooms which are on higher floors. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Sabela

        Responded July 07, 2019
        The Place
        9.2
        Exceptional
        Edwin from Singapore
        Couple
        City Double
        Stayed 1 night in December 2018

        Great Abode Close to Edinburgh Bus Station”

        The Place was a good accommodation option given its proximity to the Edinburgh Bus Station. The staff were very friendly and ever-ready to do what is necessary to ensure guests' needs are taken care of. As we arrived before the time for check-in, we left our bags with the reception. By the time we returned to check in, these bags were already placed in the room. Great value for a centrally located accommodation in Edinburgh.

        Reviewed December 28, 2018

        Dear Edwin, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location as well as our friendly staff. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kindest regards, Cherrelle

        Responded January 29, 2019
        The Place
        9.2
        Exceptional
        Juhasli from Malaysia
        Couple
        Standard Double
        Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

        Perfect Location for Last Few Days at Edinburgh”

        Stayed in four hotels during my Edinburgh trip. The Place was perfect as my last hotel to stay in. The location is just right in front of the tram station (to get to the airport). It's not exactly near the many attractions of the city but close enough for me to walk. Overall, I love the cleanliness and chic design of the room, and how friendly the front office personnel were. However, there is no elevator to get to the higher floors. My room was near the rooftop, so I had to lug my bags over multiple staircases. The staff did offer help, which I declined but appreciated. Apart from that, the stay was lovely. The room was small but not cramped. Everything inside the room works (wifi, shower, coffee making facilities, etc.). I also loved the view of Edinburgh coastal areas from the window. Would stay here again if I get the chance.

        Reviewed November 01, 2018

        Dear Malaysia, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our central location and will be sure to pass your comments to our staff regarding how friendly they were. As you mentioned there is no elevator,as we are a listed building this is not possible but we are always happy to help with luggage to your room. Unfortunately city rooms are our smallest kind of double rooms, but we also have other more spacious types available. We hope to welcome you in the near future and thank you again for your kind words Kindest regards, Cherrelle

        Responded January 29, 2019
        The Place
        8.0
        Excellent
        Paul
        Solo traveler
        Small Single
        Stayed 1 night in March 2019

        Good value and well located”

        One night stay in a very small single room, perfect for my needs. Bed a bit too short for men(6"1") but comfortable. Room was spotlessly clean. Staff friendly. Cooked Bbreakfast was just what this traveller needed. Placed on York Place, a short walk from Princes St and Waverley Ant, trams etc. Not sure I'd want to spend a week there but perfect for a short stay. Price was under £70 so good value too.

        Reviewed March 18, 2019

        Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location, clean rooms as well as our breakfast service and friendly staff. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Sabela

        Responded April 03, 2019
        The Place
        8.0
        Excellent
        Sarah from United Kingdom
        Group
        City Double
        Stayed 1 night in December 2018

        Very good”

        The Place was clean and tidy, the staff were friendly snd helpful but the rooms we were using were in the bacement with cardboard walls. I realise it's a city and so space is a premium but we were in the basement in a room the size of a cell with only a skylight for a window, I felt quite claustrophobic. The room was a long way from sound proofed too with the floor boards the whole way down corridor creaking ALOT when anyone walked past, you could hear everyone's conversations as if in the room with us understandable when my head on my pillow was bearly a metre from them in the corridor. Also the hotel would do well to invest in pillows and mattresses at lease in room 3805 we certainly did not walk away from our stay rested unfortunately. Lovely clean place with friendly staff and great location but room a big let down

        Reviewed December 17, 2018

        Dear Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It's great to hear you found the hotel to be clean and I will be sure to pass on your kind words about our staff to all of the team. I am sorry to hear that you didn't have a great nights sleep and I appreciate you letting us know about this so we can resolve these issues for future guests. Thank you again for leaving this feedback. Kind Regards, Cherrelle

        Responded January 29, 2019
        The Place
        6.8
        Good
        James from Australia
        Group
        Superior Double or Twin
        Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

        Very poor bed mattress”

        Absolutely stunning room on top. Lovely warm and welcoming staff. Only flaw was the mattress which I later checked as sagged in middle and it was stained on the other side (eww!). Great room otherwise!

        Reviewed October 09, 2018

        Dear James, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our stunning rooms and friendly staff. I am sorry to hear about the state of the mattress, thank you for bringing this issue to our attention, I will ensure to follow it up with our housekeeping team. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Sabela

        Responded April 03, 2019
        The Place
        9.2
        Exceptional
        Elizabeth from United Kingdom
        Business traveler
        City Double
        Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

        Have already recommended this hotel!”

        This is delightful hotel that welcomes as a friend. It seems to attract lovely people too, mainly those on holiday, which is lovely for those of us on business as it lifts the atmosphere. Not especially sophisticated, which I really enjoyed. The dinner was superb - I had lamb - and the wine recommended to accompany it was just right. Thank you one and all! It will be my first choice next time I stay in Edinburgh.

        Reviewed October 03, 2018

        Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the lovely meal in our in house restaurant. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Cherrelle

        Responded January 29, 2019
        The Place
        8.8
        Excellent
        Annalisa from Singapore
        Solo traveler
        Small Single
        Stayed 1 night in June 2019

        Kind and helpful ”

        They were really kind and helpful. However, there is no lift, just stairs but their front desk did help me with my luggage.. Amazing food btw

        Reviewed June 07, 2019

        Dear Annalisa, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our food service as well as our bar facilities and the helpful service you received from our staff. Unfortunately the age of our building does not allow for a lift to be installed but we will always aim to allocate you to a lower floor when you request it or, alternatively, help you with your luggage if necessary. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Sabela

        Responded July 07, 2019
        The Place
        8.8
        Excellent
        Ageng from Indonesia
        Solo traveler
        Standard Twin
        Stayed 1 night in September 2018

        the room needs more lighting and no air circulation. location is good and closed to the attraction.”

        the room carpet is old and smelly, need to replace with the new one.

        Reviewed October 08, 2018

        Dear Ageng, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location. I am sorry to hear about the carpet in the room, we have just gone through a refurbishment process so this issue has been taken care of and will not be a problem should you choose to stay with us again. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Sabela

        Responded April 03, 2019
        The Place
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Rachael
        Group
        Standard Twin
        Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

        Fantastic Hotel and in a superb location, couldn't fault it”

        I stayed here with my partner, as well as my parents and we all loved the hotel! My Partner and I flew in from London, and the tram stop is just a minutes walk to the hotel, which was fantastic. My parents got the train and they walked to the hotel easily enough so it is in a very convenient location. The staff were extremely friendly and the hotel was excellent, modern, clean and great value, I would highly recommend. I was concerned then arriving as it is a near a road and the tram, however this was not an issue at all and the hotel was very peaceful. Amazing terrace too.

        Reviewed May 08, 2018

        Dear Rachael, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location as well as our spacious, comfortable rooms.I will aslo pass on your lovely comments to our team. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Cherrelle

        Responded January 29, 2019
        The Place
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Laura from United Kingdom
        Couple
        City Double
        Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

        Lovely modern hotel”

        The staff are fabulous friendly and eager to help. The hotel itself is modern, clean and has a fabulous outside terrace. The rooms are small but clean and modern and have everything you need. Fantastic location at a tram stop that goes to and from the airport via the main city centre streets.

        Reviewed April 23, 2018

        Dear Laura, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location as well as our clean,comfortable rooms. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to our staff. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best regards, Cherrelle

        Responded January 29, 2019
        The Place
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Diane from United Kingdom
        Couple
        Standard Twin
        Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

        Easter break”

        The Place is a lovely, quiet, smart hotel within easy walking distance of the station and Princes Street. Our room was a good size, warm, clean with a nice bathroom. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was varied and plentiful, I would certainly stay here again.

        Reviewed April 04, 2018
        9.2
        Exceptional
        Linda from United Kingdom
        Couple
        City Double
        Stayed 1 night in March 2018

        THE PLACE TO BE”

        We were joining family for dinner and Theatre and wanted to stay nearby. It was the perfect choice. We all met in the Hotel and had drinks before heading for dinner and on our return.. The bar staff were very efficient and friendly and the. Breakfast was lovely. Loved the decor and lighting. Wifi didn't work too well for me but my husband found it good. Linda from North Berwick

        Reviewed March 05, 2018

        Dear Linda, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us especially our buffet breakfast and friendly staff. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review and we hope to welcome you in the near future. Kind regards, Will Harrington Front of House Manager

        Responded March 07, 2018
        The Place
        9.6
        Exceptional
        Tiffany from Australia
        Family with teens
        Standard Twin
        Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

        Beautifully appointed hotel with enormous room”

        Had a wonderful stay at The Place which was very modern and spotlessly clean. All facilities worked as they were supposed to do. We could stretch out in the space (room 3802) and slept really well despite the road fronting location. Would definitely stay here again and was sorry to leave. Location within a reasonable walk into the high street and the busy bustle of Edinburgh. Didn’t try the breakfast as we were going to The Elephant House on a HP pilgrimage with the daughter. Loads of significant sites within walking distance of hotel.

        Reviewed January 13, 2018

        Dear Tiffany, Thank you for taking the time to review. We are delighted to hear you had a good nights sleep with us and that you enjoyed your time exploring the city! We hope the HP pilgrimage went down well! Hope you guys have a great day and that we see you again. Kind regards, Sarah Front Desk

        Responded January 15, 2018
        The Place
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Carole from United Kingdom
        Group
        City Double
        Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

        Staff very friendly and helpful. . Very clean rooms. Had breakfast but had vegetarian mixed. ”

        Very friendly helpful staff Too a very spa opts and very clean Bar open Kate but bar staff didn't seem to know what a bailey's coffee was. Maybe a bit more education on bar drinks. Breakfast vegetarian and meat products in Sam's hot plates. Mauve a suggestion to split them Would recommend The place to others. Great stay.

        Reviewed December 17, 2017

        Dear Carole, Thank you for taking the time to review. We are glad you found the staff friendly and helpful and have passed on the notes for more training in the hopes of further improvement. We hope you have a great day and that we see you again in the future. Kind regards, Sarah Front Desk

        Responded December 18, 2017
        The Place
        10.0
        Exceptional
        elizabeth from United Kingdom
        Group
        Standard Twin
        Stayed 1 night in November 2017

        Exceptional”

        An overnight stay for a concert at the playhouse , this hotel was perfect. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was lovely and for the smokers out there the had a lovely terrace for you. Will be back

        Reviewed November 08, 2017

        Dear Elizabeth, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will definitely pass on your kind words to our staff. we hope you had a great time at the show and exploring Edinburgh. Hope to see you again in the future, Kind regards, Sarah

        Responded December 03, 2017
        The Place
        8.8
        Excellent
        Dina from France
        Couple
        City Double
        Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

        simple well located hotel”

        Spent a couple days early November at “the place” and it was as good as expected. Nice decoration. Very nice hotel staff from reception to bar and breakfast team. Rooms are simple but have everything you need. Only one remark: the ventilation in the toilets/bathroom is super noisy and should probably fixed or replaced. Beside that small element all was perfect !! I recommend the breakfast which for 9,99 is of great value.

        Reviewed November 07, 2017

        Dear Dina, We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a great time in the city. I will pass on you comments to maintenance in the hope of improving the bathroom fans noise level. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to see you again. Kind regards, Sarah Front Desk

        Responded December 03, 2017
        The Place
        8.0
        Excellent
        Alana
        Group
        Standard Twin
        Stayed 1 night in October 2017

        Overnight in Edinburgh”

        The hotel was great, there was one room which played loud music from their room from 6pm till midnight when we had to call reception and get them to turn it down. Our room was below the bar area which meant we could hear people walking above us all night. If we had a different room the review would have been 5 star.

        Reviewed November 06, 2017
        9.2
        Exceptional
        Kieran from United Kingdom
        Couple
        Standard Double
        Stayed 3 nights in October 2017

        Exceptional”

        The hotel was good, and most of the staff were fantastic. There isn't a lift in this hotel and the top floor is some 114 steps from the ground floor. No bacon available for breakfast and only beef sausages on offer too.

        Reviewed October 13, 2017

        Dear Kieran, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted to hear the staff made a good impression - we will be sure to pass on your kind works. We do understand that the stairs can be an issue for some, as we are a listed building we are not permitted to install an elevator as much as we'd love one! We also operate a Halal kitchen so no pork is served at breakfast. We hope these issues didn't take too much away from you stay and that you had a great time in Edinburgh. Kind regards, Sarah Front Desk

        Responded December 03, 2017
        The Place
        12345
        This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

        Back to search results

        Back to room choices

        |

        Dismiss

        The Place
        |Excellent 8.3
        ×
        Check in. Step out.
        Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

        • Excellent location
        • Edinburgh Old Town
        • Edinburgh Train Station is within 0.49 km