Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 65 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Room comfort and quality 7.9
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food and dining 7.8
Sort by

Clifford from Namibia
Couple
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Always a pleasant stay
Location practical
For the 1 night stay it was practical the room however was very impractical as it had no privacy the blinds had to be kept drawn at all times which made it dark we've had better even for a discounted rate the room was not worth the money
Reviewed November 10, 2015

Michelle from Canada
Couple
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Meh
Next to Hop On Hop Off bus office
Thinly veiled disdain from staff, small bed, rooms not soundproof, breakfast adequate but food quite poor quality compared to some of the guest houses we stayed at. Overall, poor value for money in the area. Could not recommend.
Reviewed September 29, 2015

Blu from South Africa
Couple
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Cimfortable stay
Location, comfort , quiet
We stayed for two nights in a comfortable room. I was very happy with the location of this hotel as we could walk to the waterfront in 5 minutes. It was quiet and the staff were very friendly and helpful during my stay. I loved the bathrooms and the cleanliness a and standard of comfort and fittings for the room are lovely. It was affordable!!I'd recommend this Hotel to other travelers as it has a history attached to it aswell!!
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Weng from Singapore
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 9 nights in August 2015
Great Stay, Convenient
Clean, quiet, friendly staffs
It is very near to V&A waterfront. Convenient to food and shopping mall. The staffs are very friendly, clean up the room every day and prepare the room for bedtime. Enjoy the stay :)
Reviewed September 10, 2015

Nicoletta from Italy
Family with teens
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Highly enjoyable stay
Food, location, comfort
Such an enjoyable stay, hotel so clean & very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast & South African cuisine in restaurant. 5 mins walk from lovely V&A Waterfront. Free use of gym in sister hotel next door. We will definitely come back.
Reviewed August 30, 2015

Cathy from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Twin Standard
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
location is everything.....
Location, cleanliness and breakfast
Great stay at the Portswood, special mention to the exceptionally clean rooms, fantastic breakfast each and every morning. Staff were all very helpful and Internet was very good. The best thing about the hotel is its proximity to the waterfront, 5 minute walk through a very safe area.
Reviewed August 09, 2015

Mmaphuti from South Africa
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015
lovely
staff..food...location
lovely
Reviewed August 06, 2015

Barry from Australia
Couple
Twin Standard
Stayed 5 nights in July 2015
A Gem
Location. Staff.Rooms
A great little Gem of a place in a safe and great location ,the staff are pleasant and very attentive we loved our 5night stay and we will definitely go back ..thank you all for making our stay great
Reviewed July 31, 2015

Keita from Japan
Family with young children
Queen Room
Stayed 9 nights in July 2015
Excellent location, great staff service
Excellent location, great staff service, comfortable room
We enjoyed our stay very much thanks to the great services offered by all staffs of the hotel which is located just next to the waterfront.
Reviewed July 24, 2015

Lindie from South Africa
Business traveler
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Room Feedback
Cosy, convenient location, clean
My room was on the 3rd floor quite close to the lift. Unfortunately you could hear the lift opening and closing all evening. The rooms are not very sound proof as you could hear guests in the corridor.
Reviewed July 01, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: