Book Now: The Royal Mandaya Hotel

Excellent
From 953 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
/
10
Recommended by 92% of guests

Reviews of The Royal Mandaya Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
8.0
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.0
Facilities7.4
Location8.4
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service8.4
Value for money8.0
Rating
9+ Exceptional (171)
8-9 Excellent (148)
7-8 Very Good (160)
6-7 Good (60)
<6 Below Expectation (97)
Time of the year
Mar - May (136)
Jun - Aug (202)
Sep - Nov (152)
Dec - Feb (146)
All guests (953)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 636 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Aldrick from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2019

Still under renovation”

I like the live saxophone however some facilities such as pool, gym and roof-bar arent available at the moment. The people are nice and accommodating. The room is small as compared to Apo View Hotel where I stayed few months ago. They maybe add next time in their advertisement that an Php. 800 is required for additional bed.

Reviewed July 24, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Venice from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2019

Satisfied guests”

Most importantly cable and internet is working. Needs renovation because it looks old and I think more lights so to add a bit more energy and liveliness . The hotel does its best with the improvement as I see major engineering works outside and ain't a big disturbance during our stay. I can't wait to be back when their pool is operational. Although its old, there is still the feeling of luxury. We were not able to use our free breakfast because of our toddler's tantrums but their restaurant looks nice. Happy with the room service anyway and the ordered food is a high quality. Hope when we return, the hotel looks very attractive and new. The overall staff are customer focused and warm. No dissappointments at all.

Reviewed June 27, 2019
5.6
Lorna from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2019

Above average”

I like the place because it is clean. The problem i had with the hotel was the parking space and the dishonest staffs . It was very frustrating to have told that their basement parking was full only to find out after my appeal that there were still vacant space. They should know how to give priority to their occupants. I had pictures to prove this .

Reviewed July 18, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Jose from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Best place stay in Davao City”

I like their complementary breakfast buffet. It has a good number of food items to choose from. The place is centrally located - just walking distance from the Roxas night market and popular food destinations and government offices.

Reviewed May 24, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Teresita from Switzerland
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Excellent”

The hotel securities & personnels was very friendly, foods was great as European & Filipinos visitors were really enjoyed the foods. My husband as Swiss citizen he likes the foods & we had big rooms with everything what we need. The price was great and affordable. Very close to restaurants & public offices. Only the Pool & bar needed more improvements.

Reviewed April 01, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
CRISTINA from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Value for Money, Excellent Location, Very good staff”

I booked this hotel for my husband as he attended Ironman Davao, the room is clean, staff are great and pleasant, I requested for late checked out until 2pm and they told me that they cannot guaranty that my request can be granted, but they did! and to my surprise they allow my husband to stay until 5pm without additional charges. Room were spacious, rate is way cheaper than other hotels in the area, location is excellent. Will recommend this hotel for those who want to visit Davao looking for affordable price,great location, and good service from staff. Kudos!

Reviewed March 25, 2019

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

Responded March 26, 2019
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
Charo from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

A Nice place to stay in Davao”

I love that they really provided us cold drinks aside from the free bottles of water in the room..I love the place except that the hotel has this particular scent similar to that of a newly cooked pizza all over the hotel.

Reviewed November 17, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
harah from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Exceptional”

never fails to amazed me.. breakfast is good...

Reviewed June 26, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
VIRADOR from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2019

Under Renovation”

Pool is under renovation.

Reviewed June 21, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
NANCY from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018

Sharky0731 Royal Experience”

Hello! I highly recommend this hotel in Davao city. The staff are friendly and will give you the best service possible. The room is clean as well as the bathroom. My accommodation includes buffet breakfast and I'm giving the breakfast food selections 5 stars. Few things that can be improved is their hot shower, please have it checked because your guests will highly favored hot showers in the evening after a long tiring day. The bathroom includes a bath tub which needed to have another look specifically the water stopper because it wasn't really working well. I would have wanted to enjoy a hot tub but I couldn't save water. I didn't bother to call and have it fix during my stay as I was already tired to wait for someone to take a look at it -- so this is for your future guests. Overall, it's worth the money staying at TRMH. Thank you.

Reviewed August 08, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Kavinash from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018

Excellent Staff”

All the staff were excellent and extremely friendly, housekeeping was efficient. And the Best part of the Hotel is their Supervisor Mr.JOJO , he was excellent and his warmth is so welcoming.people like Mr.JOJO is what make guests return again to the Hotel.

Reviewed August 06, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Jay from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Good hotel, good location”

I stayed in Royal Mandaya Hotel for two nights. The hotel is in a sweet spot within Davao City - lots of good restaurants around, near banks, a three minute walk to People’s Park, and taxis are just around the corner. The staff are very hospitable and very courteous as well. I’ll definitely come back there!

Reviewed June 04, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Erlend from Norway
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Above what can be expected”

As I conducted all my meetings and agenda in Davao in this hotel, they went above and beyond what can be expected. Finding ways to accommodate me, a difficult guest with specific and difficult requests. You set the standard in customer service. May they all aim to be like you. Hat off..

Reviewed February 20, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Maribel from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017

Getaway ”

Friendly and very accommodating Hotel. Good clean and very safe location. The staff are very helpful, happy and top service all the time. I would gladly recommend this Hotel for friendliness, cleanliness, location, value for money and of course for varieties of food on offers.

Reviewed June 19, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Phillip from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016

very nice!”

A very nice experience at this hotel. It has the presence of a big hotel but there are some staff members who make it feel like you are a welcome guest at a smaller homey place. The buffet breakfast has enough to fill you. I cannot eat Filipino food so the hot stuff is a no go area. Still they have someone who will cook you eggs any style. The security when you go in is tight but that is not a bad thing, the search of your bags. I enjoyed staying here and I will in future.

Reviewed October 29, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Phillip from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 8 nights in August 2016

nice hotel”

This is a very good place to stay. It is probably one of the more upmarket hotels in Davao City but not at the same price as the top end. The staff are very pleasant and eager to please. I find that it is a pleasure staying at this hotel. when i come back to davao i will definetly stay here again. The breakfast is good also. Ok the hot stuff is Filipino and may not suit the foreigners palate like me, but considering the majority of the stayers are locals I can understand that. But there are many other items in the buffet to which will fill your breakfast needs. I am very happy with this hotel. I do recommend value for money to stay here.

Reviewed September 04, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Alain from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Value, Hospitality and Service”

Stayed here for just 1 night with my family (siblings, parents and aunts). The hotel is located at the city center where there are a lot of establishments nearby. For the price of the stay, the value we got was more than what we paid for. Hotel personnel were very service-oriented, friendly and polite. There are 2 buildings on the hotel (old and new wing). Some of us stayed in the old and some stayed in the new. Even if the rooms in the old wing is already showing age, it still remains decent and clean. For those a bit picky on this, the new wing would suit their needs.

Reviewed July 18, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Faith from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2016

It was great except for the key that was not working ”

Our stay there was awesome! Food is good. Employees and staff are all nice. But we encountered problems with our key card, 2x and even after having it updated. I just felt that they could have done more or offered more to make up for the inconvenience.

Reviewed March 24, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Emerald from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015

One of the Best in Davao”

Cleanliness, Hospitality, Food

This was by far one of the best hotels I have seen in Davao. The hospitality, service, and cleanliness was tops for me. They reception was warm, the food was great, and the level of service was superb. Without a doubt I will be back in Royal Mandaya when I come back to Davao.

Reviewed November 23, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Paul from New Zealand
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015

Great hotel”

large room, clean, central location

I was upgraded upon arrival, so this may affect my rating of the hotel. But having stayed in very many hotels in the Philippines, this was one of the best (in the business hotel price range). The room was large with a great view. The swimming pool was good. The breakfast was inconsistent with different items missing from the plate each day but tasted OK. This has been a magnificent hotel in its day and it was nice to see weddings, parties and cultural things happening there. Easy walk around the city area and short taxi rides to other parts.

Reviewed April 09, 2015
8.3
Excellent
irene from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

Good Value for Money”

Good location, clean and big rooms

I was surprised as I checked in this Hotel since it has bigger rooms than I expected. Its room is also clean and I like the interior design of the room. It was quite colorful but classy. Its location is good since its in downtown Davao. Its also quite affordable since it is considered as one the biggest hotels here in Davao. All in all, it was good stay in this hotel.

Reviewed September 26, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Sarah from Australia
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

Great for Family Get together& Kadayawan Festival”

Value for Money, Restaurants, Parking

Excellent stay for my family members who had the best of their times during the Kadayawan Festival Celebration. They enjoyed the buffet breakfasts, the swimming pool and the entertainment offered at the lobby. Very impressive. One of the best place to be whenever there are big events in Davao City. Staff were very efficient during our stay. Local restaurants are available and within walking distance. All roads nearby were closed to public transportation during the Festival so Royal Mandaya Hotel was an excellent choice because of its location.

Reviewed September 03, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Neneth from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

Great location, friendly staff and clean ”

Great location you, friendly staff, room is clean, facilities good, breakfast food okay need variety though, love the complimentary massage almost everyday, swimming pool was clean overall it's great.

It's a great hotel. I've stayed in this hotel a couple of years ago & I can see lots of improvements. My only bad experience was the front desk staff's lack of communication between shifts following extending my stay. When they say we will contact you this afternoon you could be waiting all day if you won't follow. A bit slow & they don't record anything so the next staff on duty don't have a clue about your previous discussion with the on duty staff so you have to repeat it again & it becomes frustrating. Other than that the door staff, breakfast staff & pool staff, house keeping were really good. We will definitely come back to this hotel & will recommend it.

Reviewed August 20, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Olav from Norway
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

In most aspects a very good hotel at a fair price.”

Friendly and helpful staff, location, generally high standard for a fair price.

I had a very pleasent stay here, thanks to a very nice and friendly staff. The room was spacious and clean with a good bed, nice bathroom with a very good (powerful !) shower. Excellent laundry service. Centrally location with easy and fast excess to taxi. Breakfast was a little disappointing, for my taste it should have had more of an international/american style. Wifi in room was totally useless, my Globe mobile broadband worked far better. I was also disappointed that there were no minibar or security box in the room, although a small refrigirator made it possible to have cold drinks. It's room for improvements, but all in all it's good value for the price.

Reviewed May 02, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Craig from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013

A Beautiful Old Style Hotel Not To Be Missed”

1) Art Deco Ambience of Foyer. 2) Friendly, efficient staff and good security. 3) The wonderful dining experience

Wonderful. This is my 2nd stay here and I shall always come back. No complaints at all. I love the appearance of the foyer area and restaurant buffet. Rooms are clean and spacious and service was impeccable. Had problems with the TV...but who needs it? I will always come back here.

Reviewed November 23, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Ruth from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

It was great. It was indeed a royalty treatment...”

Staff, accessibility, cleanliness

It was very nice experience. The staff were very polite and nice looking. The lobby was spacious and comfortable. The room was great and Very clean and with the complete amenities for the selection I preferred.. My guests were happy enough.

Reviewed October 07, 2013
8.7
Excellent
geoffrey from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in August 2013

great hotel in Davao”

good room staff are friendly plus and loaction good

great place to have avisit, central and restuarant good, nice pool area fro BBq, bit overpriced but central loactiona dn shopping nearby was good. Go to local shops and have alechlon flan (feench for creme caramel)

Reviewed September 13, 2013
8.0
Excellent
gay from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013

Very nice place.”

Location,value of money and comfort.

I really like the place because it's affordable, the staffs are friendly, and have good location. The security guard is the who calls the taxi for you. Near the church and fruit stand. They have a nice and clean room. The beddings are good. Good internet connection.

Reviewed August 18, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
MARIE from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2013

Enjoyable stay”

Attention to detail, Friendly Staff, Value for money

I had a great stay at the Royal Mandaya. We sponsored a conference in the hotel and was pleased with the service. They have a nice conference room that comfortably seated our 50+ guests. We had a last minute addition to the number of attendees but it was not a problem to them. The Banquet Manager, Miss Alagano, is very accommodating. Thanks!

Reviewed July 30, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Luz from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

Very comfortable & four star hotel”

Accessible, comfortable, fast check in and check out

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel. Staff were very friendly and attentive to the needs of the guests. Rooms are big enough and very comfortable. Hotel location is superb, it's located within the heart of the city but not along major city road so it's not noisy. It's also very near to shopping centers and restos.

Reviewed April 14, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Dmitriy from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

Nice hotel”

Good location, great service

nice, clean hotel. we were treated like royalty! there is something almost magical about that hotel. it is more expensive than other hotels in the davao center but it worth it! plus it has a great swimming pool.

Reviewed December 14, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
nicholas from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012

Totally refurbished”

Beautiful rooms

This was my first visit to Davao, and I chose the Royal Mandaya for my stay. The hotel reception is very nice, open plan restaurant, and seating area. In the evening there was live soft music, with a pianist and singer, which was most pleasant. The rooms are large (7th floor new wing), beautifully decorated, lovely bathroom with new fixtures. I found the new rooms to be most comfortable, and the location is quite central.

Reviewed November 16, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Noemi from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012

Decent-sized rooms with very friendly staff”

helpful staff, good ambiance, comfortable rooms

The hotel looks good from the outside as well as the inside. It is well-maintained, although you can see it is rather old. The rooms are spacious and the water pressure good. The food choices at both restaurants are rather limited, but the breakfast buffet is great. I did have some problems with their Wi-Fi, but not a big issue.

Reviewed November 15, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
catherine from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

i upgraded to deluxe newly renovated rooms-lovely!”

lobby, buffet, poolside lounge and location were the best

transfers from airport - hotel and vice versa is only 100 pesos in a new hotel van. better than taking a taxi that will charge you almost pesos. the concierge is so knowledgeable and helpful on everything that you need. upgrade to the deluxe rooms that are newly renovated rather than stay in the superior old rooms. it is worth it.

Reviewed October 25, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Juan from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012

Very good location and friendly staff”

The hotel is nicely situated, the staff is friendly and courteous, got a great pool area that's a good place to chill in

Obviously, Marco Polo is still best in Davao, but it gets fully booked very fast. Royal Mandaya is the next best choice, actually a great choice on its own. would have been great though if the hotel had its own gym and good reliable wifi in all rooms.

Reviewed September 05, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
MARY from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012

Great Place to Stay”

Rooms are clean and newly renovated.

Hotel Mandaya can be found near the city proper of Davao. Malls, coffee shops, bars, restaurants are near at the hotel. The hotel staffs are very courteous and wear a non ending smile on their face. They are hospitable enough treated us like VIPs. Swimming pool was clean. Kids love it! Dining was excellent. Great taste of food.

Reviewed September 01, 2012
9.6
Exceptional
Dan from Switzerland
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in July 2019

The staff is very friendly and the value for the money is excellent”

The food is very good too the only thing we could mention was the work for the new swimming pool,but once they have to do it and we will surely come back when its done coz then all will be complete.

Reviewed July 10, 2019
8.8
Excellent
MARIA from Philippines
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Excellent”

Cannot really give a detailed review on this hotel, as we only stayed for one night, although the breakfast buffet was good as well as the staff. Recommend to refurbish the room & bathroom.

Reviewed July 05, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Christian
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

ROOM SERVICES”

In terms of requesting services from their room services, it needs to be improved! We requested such cart to carry our things (heavy) in order to check us out but unfortunately it never came and we decided to go down for check-out without the help of the requested cart.

Reviewed December 10, 2018
8.4
Excellent
anthony from Canada
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Very friendly hotel”

very helpful as we arrived earlier than schedule, the front desk was so nice and allow us to check in earlier as our kid is very tired already due to early morning flight!! We will come back to this hotel again for sure!!!

Reviewed December 08, 2018
7.2
Very good
Imaichi from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Very good”

A tiny cockroach was inside the closet!!! Wifi was fast but after a few hours from check-in we got disconnected. Called the front desk and they were able to fix it within 15minutes. but by 12mn, no wifi again until we woke up by 7am. Called the front desk again and we were told to use the wifi in the lobby instead!!! The staff were very courteous, though.

Reviewed December 03, 2018
4.4
Ross from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Uptight paranoid staff. Very restrictive photo taking policy. ”

I picked this hotel because I wanted to take pictures of my sister and her gown on her 16th birthday so I stayed for 2 nights. I talked to the receptionist if I could take photos of my sister at the 2nd floor of the hotel staircase and they said there is a fee for that and the management who are assigned on such thing is not open on that day, Sunday. They finally gave me permission and was given 10minutes to do it. They still continued to hassle, follow, and restrict our movement. Strictly NO photo taking in the hallway outside my room. The manager stood beside me watching me take pictures and made sure I only took a few and told me "they are watching us right now". Not sure who "THEY" were. Sounded like big brother. I panicked and couldn't focus on taking photos. Will never stay here again, would be my last choice.

Reviewed October 26, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Gina from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Overall Good enough”

The staff service is great. though I had to wait quite a while for them to get my room ready when I was checking in. The pool is actually smaller than it looks in pictures. Food is great. Hotel room looks good except the tub looks moldy and old. overall it was a good place to stay.

Reviewed October 04, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Esther from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

the room was A-OK!”

the room was great! toiletries, linens, facilities and all... but i had to follow-up twice with the front desk about my towels in the room. so at around 8pm, on my third attempt, i was about to go down, when i saw one of the housekeeping staff and asked for them... whoa-la, he quickly gave a set of towels! mas mabilis pa ang service ni kuya kesa sa front desk. :) i thought check in time in this hotel was 10am (was indicated in their agoda page)...i arrived there at around noon, then said that i should come back at 2pm for the check in...so i did return at the lobby around 2:30pm but the room was not yet ready... so i stayed at their lobby for more than 30 minutes. good thing they provided lemonades for those who are waiting for their rooms.

Reviewed September 21, 2018
7.6
Very good
Mario from Philippines
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in June 2019

Good service ..good location at the heart of the city”

Nice staff always with a smile

Reviewed June 24, 2019
7.6
Very good
YU from South Korea
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

It is okay to stay”

This hotel is located in downtown, so easily connected to entertainment (shopping center, restaurant etc.)

Reviewed May 02, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Jho-Ann from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

The staffs are so nice, it makes me feel like we are a big family. Everything else is worth it.”

The only thing that needs a little improvement is the buffet selection.

Reviewed April 27, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Rosario from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Excellent”

Good breakfast buffet selection. Different main course everyday.

Reviewed March 27, 2019
7.2
Very good
Rosini from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

1. For convenience of location this is the right place to be... Located at the heart of the city. 2. The staff are very friendly and courteous. But there are some areas need to be improve: a. The swimming pool area needs to be renovated.. some tiles in the pool are already broken.... The comfort room/shower room are not well maintained... 3. The floor carpet in the rooms are dusty and also the headboard area. 4. The refrigerator is not functioning well. ..

Reviewed April 24, 2019
7.6
Very good
Rosemarie from Philippines
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Very good”

I visited the pool..it is good for the kids, only 4 ft. But a little small..the wifi have very good connection..accessible to some tourist spots in the city and also near the pasalubong center..the staffs are very courteous..

Reviewed April 23, 2019
2.8
Jing
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Acceptable”

I asked my niece to check me in while I’m in my business meeting, they asked for a deposit of Ph1000,00.00 and that’s ok, the hotel was already pd of $167 plus, however when I settled my account they did not deduct the deposit, I payed additional of Ph2,000.00 plus. I assumed it’s all deducted because that is the standard procedure. Now we arrived in the US, the hotel email my niece to claim the deposit & present the receipt, I put the receipt w/ the keys together & returned when I checked out. Hi can we claim the deposit? The room is dark, you cannot put your make up. They use a dim light bulb, WiFi is only the first night , the rest of my stay no WiFi. The food is not impressived. The only good thing is the lady guard is friendly & the location is ok. My next vacation I will go back to Apo view hotel which where I stayed last year.

Reviewed March 23, 2019
5.6
Peter from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 10 nights in March 2019

Front Desk staff”

Someone was smoking in the room next to mine I called the front desk to inform they say they cannot do anything about it instead they moved me to another room. I had to pack up all my belongings and move to another room. I unpacked turn on A/ C only hot air. Called and moved me to another room. They could of just knocked on the door of the people who were smoking and resloved it but no they moved me . WiFi not working for 4 days all I got was we are sorry and we will take note. Of it Never Again I will Stay There!!!

Reviewed March 22, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Mark from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 11 nights in May 2019

Good hotel, good food very nice staff”

Only good words for this hotel

Reviewed May 16, 2019
2.8
goh from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Is a Jail not a Hotel ”

Hv liquid banned. Hv a cockage charge if bring beers to room Hv dress code for breakfast. No shorts sleeves and shorts allows.

Reviewed March 02, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Generose from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Worth it!”

hotel room is clean, nice and big.

Reviewed September 15, 2018
7.6
Very good
Alin from Canada
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018

A royal disappointment”

Room 709 I really wanted to have a good review, but it just couldn't happen, here's why. 4 night stay, first ever at this somewhat landmark of Davao City. the good: Expansive and elegant lobby, attentive and efficient housekeeping staff, location, towels, shower, toiletries. We were provided an updated room, as floors 7,8,9 have been updated in the newest tower, but continue reading below to see what was really updated. the bad: Room had old worn out carpet that never seemed to be cleaned properly during the stay. The original bathroom was still in place as well, so much for the update (bedding, cabinets, tv). TV was possessed, every time we turned it on, it went into a blurry frenzy with high volume, had to manually press the TV console button to tame it down. No iron or ironing board, hotel provides services for a fee. No facial tissue dispenser, they provide two facial tissues in the toiletries kit daily. First day, the chiller didn't work properly, my kids cheese spoiled, as we went out immediately after checking in and returned a few hours later, but a new mini fridge was provided within 30 minutes of the complaint. The door card key kept us locked out upon returning from trips daily, replacement cards kept expiring. I finally got angry on the final day, they replaced the battery in the door mechanism, no problems after. The AC in this room did not work properly, barely kept 20 C going. On third day in the morning, we heard construction on an above floor, banging and such. the in-between: If a client complains, you need to complete them in some way, especially if the complaint is about the same issue, I kept getting sorry from reception staff, trying to keep pretty, but not effective. Based on my stay, this is a possible three star, nothing more, as they lack certain amenities. Also, if folks want to visit and enjoy the pool, they will check how many are registered to your room, and charge P150 per head above it. The pool is shallow, with some much nee

Reviewed September 05, 2018
2.0
Mark from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Bad Experience - No Respect for Privacy”

If you want your privacy violated then book at this hotel. At 7 pm, I was awakened by the noise from the housekeeping attendant inside my room while checking on the mini fridge. I was so scared and shocked as I never expected that I would wake up to such a scene. When I called front desk to report the incident, all I got was "it is part of our process to inspect occupied rooms at night." If disrespecting other people's privacy at 7 pm is part of this hotel's process then stay away from this place. p.s. Standard check in is at 2 pm, I arrived 1:30 pm but was avle to check in at 3:15 pm.

Reviewed August 26, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Jill from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

We Definitely Got Our Money's Worth! :D”

Great staff, all of them were very warm, accommodating and helpful. Location is good. 7-11 and ATM are just around the corner. The Pasalubong Center is not far from the hotel. Food was superb may it be breakfast buffet, lunch or dinner. The facilities in the room and pool are quite old but since we were only in Davao City for a short period, we didnt really mind. But maybe thats something they should improve on. Other than that, all's good in The Royal Mandaya and we would definitely go back here should we visit again Davao. #recommended

Reviewed August 13, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Mae from United Arab Emirates
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Very good”

It's always a great experience staying in this hotel except for the fact that the check-in time stated in the agoda does not coincide in the hotel. As per agoda we can check-in as early as 10am but hotel's check-in time is at 2pm though the staff were kind enough to allow us for an early checked-in but not in the same room i booked for.

Reviewed July 03, 2018
6.0
Lai from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Over price and the toilet under maintenance ”

The hotel service very slow. I’ve book a room with additional bed but when we check in the receptionist told us will send the bed in a short while. When we went out and come back around 7pm, the bed still not in the room yet. We called again and they only managed to send the bed in another 1 hour time. Swimming pool very small and the toilet very dirty

Reviewed June 18, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Jovencio from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Good location & good value for money”

We arrived at the hotel at about 8:40 A.M. and I really appreciate that they granted my request to be allowed to check in, thus giving me and my family sufficient time to rest and freshen up before touring the city. Thank you.

Reviewed May 30, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Josie from Australia
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 11 nights in March 2018

Great hotel in prime location”

Hotel is in great location. great staff,clean room..felt more secured with security highly screening people coming into the premise..the only let down ,is the lift is not keycard control,do anybody could come up the rooms unnoticed..other than,the price is value for money,little gem within the busy street in Davao ..will highly recommend this to foreign guest and will.defintely stay here again.

Reviewed March 30, 2018
8.4
Excellent
vladimir from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in March 2018

Excellent”

the door man at the entry fail to open door because they are chatting amongst them selves I noticed old lady and her daughter coming in and there is two door men talking and never bothered to open the door and the door is heavy to open , I've been to much cheaper hotels like Rothman and Eurotel and they have much better attention to the visitors

Reviewed March 15, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Simonette from Philippines
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Comfort and Convenience in the heart of the city”

A lovely large room with big and comfortable beds, fluffy and soft pillows come with it. Staff were amazing and easy to deal with (due to our number of requests and can attest that they are PWD friendly). Would have appreciated some tea to go with the complimentary coffee provided. Buffet breakfast was a steal with decent and tasty selection. We had a pleasant and relaxing stay here.

Reviewed January 05, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Chenee from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

One of the best service”

My wedding coordinator booked our room for our wedding preparation and I was satisfied with the service. The room is nice and the hotel's location is perfect for a prenup shoot. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed January 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Lanessa from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

We enjoyed our stay!”

It was the first time for me and my son to travel alone together. So glad I booked Royal Mandaya. Wifi was strong, food was tasty and staff were really nice. Best value for money. Will be back for sure!

Reviewed December 10, 2017
5.6
charissa from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2017

Above average”

The worst experience I had with the hotel was the elevator conking out. I was booked a superior room and it smelled musty. The curtains had me sneezing, which tells me these have not been washed for a while. The walls were thin-- I could listen to the couple at the next room arguing over "biko" and "durian".

Reviewed June 19, 2017
5.2
Queenie from Philippines
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2017

Above average”

Our wedding was held here but the head assigned to their wedding celebrations named katrina , is very unprofessional and always changes her mind., she would give us options then after choosing one of the option she would change the inclusions. She's the worst kind to deal with due to inconsistencies and that would definitely make this hotel hard to love because of her. Would not recommend this place as wedding reception to those who are planning to get married.

Reviewed June 10, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Melissa from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017

My Royal Mandaya Hotel Experience”

Generally a good place to stay while in Davao. Great value for money in a good location. My room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. However, the bedsheets were old and the bed was pushed against the corner wall causing external sounds to vibrate which compromised an otherwise comfortable sleeping experience.

Reviewed May 30, 2017
6.8
Good
Warrick from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 15 nights in December 2016

Satisfactory ”

I stayed there for two weeks during Christmas. A reasonable hotel which is clean with friendly staff. However, facilities are limited and the rooms are dated - at least the rooms in the old wing are (which is where we were located). The hotel's main focus seems to be on business travellers and the community and it can be somewhat crowded and noisy at times.

Reviewed January 28, 2017