Book Now: The Village House

Excellent
From 560 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
/
10
Recommended by 92% of guests

Reviews of The Village House Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (560)Booking.com Reviews (97)
8.1
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.7
Facilities7.5
Location7.3
Room comfort and quality8.7
Service8.5
Value for money7.9
All languages
All guests (560)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 446 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
Susianty from Indonesia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Peace & quite”

second time stayed here... just perfect for rewind.

Reviewed May 22, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Danielle from China
Solo traveler
Village Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Perfect place to relax”

This is the perfect place to stay if you want to relax. I picked it because it was close to the beach, but the beach isn’t that great. Luckily, you have everything you need here to unwind and so you don’t really need to leave. If you want a change of scenery, they do arrange some excursions. The staff were super lovely and service was amazing. The rooms are clean and very comfortable and the pool is really nice.

Reviewed February 08, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Ng from Malaysia
Group
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Superb place with awesome hospitality! ”

Best place for a quick gateway from the busy city! Love love love the hospitality, especially from Shasha and her colleagues who gave such a tremendous welcome to me and my friends! The area is really quiet and the rooms are really comfy! Good breakfast available. Reasonable priced for the dinner and the drinks at the pub. The only downside is that most of the menus aren't available :( otherwise it would all be perfect! I'll definitely visit again ^^

Reviewed December 11, 2018
7.6
Very good
ZULKIFLI from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Peace”

Things to improve - provide bicycles for guests -provide access to the beach by building a suitable overhead pedestrian walkway thereto -facilities for self-service coffee and tea.. Complementary Sachets or beverage stocks to be provided.

Reviewed April 22, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Saengkeo from Australia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 4 nights in September 2018

Great getaway.”

Village House is great place to stay if you want to getaway from the hustle and bustle of the big city. It was an ideal place for us, we stayed for four nights. The location is very close to the all the activities we had planned for; climbing mount Santubong, half day wetland cruise and the rest of the time we were quiet happy to stay and relax by their lovely pool, play a board game from their games rooms, read and made new friends! There isn't much around the area for food so, if you don't have a car or want to hire a taxi you can just order the meals from their restaurant, although this may be pricey for some, we would recommend bringing your own snacks - there is small mini walking distance from the Village House (note they don't sell beer here). And front of staff; Stephanie and Flora were super friendly and helpful! Overall, a great place to stay!

Reviewed September 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Bexter from Malaysia
Group
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Electric supply Jump off ”

Kindly look into this issue as it happened 3 times in one night. The resort itself should have supply up with backup generator for emergency case. It ruins the mood of enjoying and relaxing for this trip.

Reviewed June 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Bexter from Malaysia
Group
6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Electric supply jump off ”

Kindly look into this issue as it happened 3 times in one night. The resort itself should have supply up with backup generator for emergency case. It ruins the mood of enjoying and relaxing for this trip.

Reviewed June 18, 2018
8.8
Excellent
H. from Netherlands
Couple
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Nice quiet place”

Very nice decorated place. Better to take your car to explore the area. Beautiful small rooms and a nice pool. Staff is doing their best for you. Breakfast has limited choice. No coffee or tea or kettle in your room.

Reviewed January 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
GAYLE from Philippines
Couple
6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016

Wonderful boutique hotel”

This accommodation is very near Mt Santubong and ideal for visitors who want to trek the mountain. Its pool is not big but just perfect for a place with a select number of rooms. It has a very relaxing atmosphere and the staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Reviewed August 29, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Chiing from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Very nice place. Relaxing and soothing environment.”

this place is a hidden gem! The environment is enjoyable and we had a wonderful time there. The rooms, pools and facilities are good and well maintained. The room is a little hot in the afternoon, and the ac wasn't strong enough but overall, we enjoyed ourselves in the Village House.

Reviewed July 10, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Robert from Australia
Solo traveler
Village Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016

Peacful and Relaxing”

The Village House is a beautiful property with great, a tranquil pool area and they serve delicious food. If you're looking for an action packed holiday this is not the place but if you're looking for a peaceful and comfortable to unwind nd relax then this is for you. There is not much in the village and the beach nearby is not for swimming but it's a lovely spot to come and watch the sunset. The food at the restaurant is very good and there's a bar too. A great stay.

Reviewed April 30, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Sylvia from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015

Hidden Treasure”

Privacy, 'kampung feel' and its staff.

It was a very good experience for a short getaway. The calmness & privacy of the surroundings and most importantly the staff made us feel welcomed and they went to an extra mile to ensure our needs were attended to. Will definitely be back again soon.

Reviewed January 17, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Vincent from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Clean, Clean Clean Hotel”

1. Romantic and very clean double bed 2. Spotless and elegant bathroom 3. The hotel turns into a fairyland at night

Seeing is believing ! What a gorgeous hotel to stay. It is very suitable for couples - romantic, serene and very very clean. You are surrounded by jungles. The night scene is most spectacular - comparable to fairyland. Words cannot describe it, you must experience yourself.

Reviewed November 10, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
See from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013

Fantastic hotel with great design ”

Quiet surroundings, superb pool and lovely room with local architecture

We had a wonderful stay in The Village House. We loved the 14m long pool and the pool lounge area designed with fantastic set of furniture. The room was cosy and the bed was so comfortable that you would have good night sleeps for sure. The food was very delicious and we would recommend this place for those looking for a quiet and relax time.

Reviewed November 07, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
See from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013

Hidden gem in the midst of the forest ”

Quiet, relax and romantic surroundings

The Village House is a hidden gem near Mount Santubong. We were very happy that we discovered this lovely place. The view of the pool were stunning especially at night with the lights on. The room was very cosy and make you feel at ease and the bed was so comfortable. We had dinner on the first night and the food were delicious though it was a bit pricey. We would definitely come back again and would recommend this to our friends and family.

Reviewed November 07, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Oliver from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

Definition of a hidden gem. Absolutely beautiful.”

Decor, staff, food.

Arriving at the Village House was simple enough, with a bus from their sister hostel The Singahsanna Lodge (in Kuching central). Upon arrival we were welcomed into the beautiful place by complementary iced tea and cool moist towels, while the manager sat down with us by the pool to give us the introductory talk. We instantly felt welcome. There was only one other couple at the hotel which made it beautifully serene. The pool was so pretty, with the rooms on the second floor above communal living areas with hammocks, sunbed areas and tables. The bedroom was small but beautiful, with a 4 poster double bed with a DUVET (what a luxury in Malaysia!) and a nice bathroom. Food was fantastic, reasonably priced (expect around 30RM) for the very high quality. Breakfast (included) was incredible, we had full English breakfasts!! Beach right next to the hotel was HUGE, and absolutely stunning. It was one of those long, wide flat beaches, had beautiful skies above and palm trees along the edge. 10/10, would highly recommend to couples looking for a romantic getaway hotel.

Reviewed November 02, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Judit from Hungary
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013

Romantic, tranquil and great food!”

Fantastic food, tranquility and romantic surrounding

I stayed at the Village House for 3nights with my boyfriend in April, 2013. We absolutely loved the beautiful surroundings; the tranquil, infinity pool, the superb food and the friendly staff. The place is perfect for someone who wants to get away from business and wants piece and quite time or for couples for a romantic getaway.

Reviewed May 08, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Christina from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

Privacy and peaceful stay”

friendly staffs, delicious meals, cozy enviroment

We are couple and decided to have a getaway from work and kid. Village house is a perfect place not too far from Kuching town for a little getaway. lots of privacy and tranquil place. food was delicious, breakfast and dinner. Village house serves non halal food. If you are looking for a place for peace and just catching up, this is the place.

Reviewed April 15, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Florian from Germany
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

Quiet and relaxing”

nice rooms, quiet, friendly staff, good food

we enjoyed our stay at the Village House very much. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, the staff very friendly. Everything is very nice with lots of details. The pool, the garden, TV room is enjoyable as well. Food was very good too. If you're looking for a quiet and relaxing place I can highly recommend The Village House

Reviewed April 04, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Tomoko from Japan
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

Small hidden gem in the beauty of nature”

Quiet surrounding, friendly staff and far away from hustle and bustle

First off, I would definitely come back and stay here again. We just came back a week ago after staying at this cozy little lovely resort, and both I and my friend felt that 2 nights were just too short. The staffs there were all excellent and friendly. Especially the lovely lady from Myanmar was very helpful and made our stay even more comfortable and unforgettable. All the other staff you see there would smile at you which make you feel welcome. If you are not sure what to do there, ask them and they will give you tips. Rooms are nicely decorated and you are likely to wake up to the chirps of the local birds around/in the resort every morning. Their swimming pool is very clean and well maintained. Since the resort has only 12 rooms (each for double occupancy) and 2 dormitory-style rooms, most of the time the pool was not busy at all. The resort is only minutes away from the Cultural Village (interesting to see but a bit expensive, MYR 60 per person) and Damai Beach. But don’t expect the water clarity as compared to the Eastern side of the Island the water is only okay quality and definitely not crystal clear with a beautiful shade of blue or green. Still nice to relax and walk along the beach, though. The rirost is 100m away from the nearest beach but this one is quite abandoned and has inferior view. Could be a nice place to look at the stars as the beach has not lights around at night. If you are up for a little more nature excursion, try mangrove cruise tour, one of the tours you can book at the resort for MYR 150 (morning) and 180 (evening.)You won't be dissapointed. We saw a turtle, a dolphin, many proboscis monkeys and and long-tailed macaque monkeys...and hundreds of fireflies plus beautiful starry sky from the boat. Simply the best holiday weekend I ever had. I would love to go back soon!

Reviewed March 15, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Hedvika from Czech Republic
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Beautiful resort and very nice and helpful staff”

Relaxing place

good location not far from kuching and (not far to the airport )(about 35 to (50)minutes drive by minibus. and also close to the damai beach and santubong cultural village about 5minutes drive.from here you can also go walk to the mountain or to the waterfall (about 1 - 3 hours by walk). there is also beach near this resort - 3mins walk, but not good for swimming (there are mangroves and sea is not deep here)just good for walk.rooms are very nice and clean and have very nice bathroom. for breakfast you have only 2 choice - pancakes with jam or english brakfast, but taste good like other meals which we had here. and there is lovely garden and swimming pool. this place is realy very beautiful place for those, who want to relaxing and looking for quiet, pleasant place. we can recomend this resort to other travelers.

Reviewed February 21, 2013
8.7
Excellent
David from France
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

Lost in a small village, orginal and intimate”

Want to stay more time in this calm paradise

difficult to find this hotel in this small village ! but, intimate hotel with only 14 rooms very well decorated. no fridge, no tv, and a very small size bedroom, but we are not here for that and rooms have the air cond ! malaysian style, with all rooms on first floor, and the bar, the restaurant, hamacs, sun loungers, below and around the swimming pool. the decoration has a real personnality with lot's of winks (stylished birds, crocodiles, fishs) and old furniture. the service of the restaurant is very adaptable to your schedule of visits (need to prevent only and choose what we want to eat in advance) and the meals are very good quality. hope to build a house like that, just for me ! only points : the swimming pool is too cold and it's not for children. need to have your own car to visit the region.

Reviewed March 12, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
David from France
Group
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

Intimate hotel, very cozy and comfortable”

Malay style, seems to be lost in jungle and alone, good meals

Difficult to find the hotel (in the middle of "nowhere") but after installation, don't want to go out! Very good place to visit the cultural village of Damaï, discover the big nose monkeys, the dolphins from Irrawady, the small fisherman's village, and the sunset on the rivers. Needs to have your own car to be free. Too cold swimming pool. No beach but you can use the beach of the other Damaï resorts... Hotel not to be missed !

Reviewed March 12, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Yaojing from China
Group
Stayed 1 night in June 2011

Beautiful hotel at a lovely place”

Scenic surrounding, tasteful furnishing, hospitable staff

The moment we stepped into the Village Hose, we were wowed by how lovingly built and decorated it was - a beautiful oasis in the already lovely Santubong Peninsula. Grab a drink and a book, lie on on the reclined chair or hammock facing the pool, and you feel like relaxing there the whole day, if not for the nice beach, mountain, cultural village and seafood strip nearby. The staff were exceedingly hospitable and catered to our every need with utmost efficiency. Breakfast was delicious and filling. Pool was rather small but a treat to look at and hear. Bedroom could be a bit stuffy but bathroom was top notch. Would strongly suggest to put up clearer signs at village entrance though - took our driver 5 minutes to find the place circling on the main road.

Reviewed June 29, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Lucia from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in June 2011

Exclusive homestay”

pool, in between rainforest and beach, cozy rooms

I had a wonderful, peaceful stay at the village house. Staff are utmost friendly and the private hospitality of the place is outstanding. There are few hotel like this in the world. The perfect place to relax and develop new ideas.

Reviewed June 17, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Geraldine from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Very good”

The foods are nice but too big portion for two, maybe the dessert can reduce to 1 plate for two, overall the cleanliness is good, the staffs are friendly , the environment are really suitable for a short stay and relax.

Reviewed October 22, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Kim from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Excellent”

It’s a great location because it’s only 45 minutes away from Kuching city. The security is quite good because the gate and the main entrance are always locked. The place is quiet and peaceful. It’s really a great place to away from the busy city to have a relax weekend. Besides that, the place is really beautiful during the day and night. Really enjoyed the stay over there. What I was disappointed about is there’s no hot water provided. The water is pretty cold. Overall, it’s good! :)

Reviewed September 03, 2018
6.0
Caren from Malaysia
Group
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

AC in the room was not working”

Village House is one of my favorite getaway. However my recent trip was quite disappointing. The room allocated was very warm despite the AC on for about 45 mins. I was literally sweating in the room. I was told that it is like this in the afternoon but this is my 3rd stay and I dont recall it being this hot in the room during the day. I really think that management should look into ACs with higher capacity. In the end we requested to change room and was told it is FULL. We had no choice to but opted for the bunk room and was not no refund. So basically we didnt get the vacation that we had initially expected. The quality of breakfast served has also dropped. Also it seems that the menu has not changed since my 1st visit in 2016? I love the place because it is not crowded and has its privacy. However, I think some maintenance are needed.

Reviewed June 29, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Sue from Indonesia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

peaceful gateaway”

Quite and peaceful, perfect place to relax and rewind.

Reviewed November 22, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Phebe from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Excellent”

This place is filled with serenity. The room are on 1st floor, so there's climbing of stairs, if you don't mind that, it'll be a perfect getaway :)

Reviewed November 16, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Madeleine from Malaysia
Couple
Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Excellent”

Perfect for a relaxing, secluded few days.

Reviewed November 11, 2018
8.0
Excellent
jade from Malaysia
Couple
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

A retreat”

Relaxing Small hotel. Very tastefully decorated The "taste of Borneo" dinner is a treat. The only one thing that needs improvement, a lot of improvement, is breakfast.

Reviewed November 06, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Soo from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Exceptional”

Quiet place which is nice for relax

Reviewed October 29, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Kuan from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Beautiful place”

Pro: beautiful place, quiet and relaxing. Cons: Far from beach, slightly more mosquitoes, hard to locate the place at first attempt.

Reviewed October 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
CHIU from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Everything good ”

Quiet and relax place.

Reviewed September 11, 2018
8.0
Excellent
vivia from Malaysia
Couple
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

Relax Environment ”

Mini Bali in Kuching. The environment is good and very relaxing, perfect for honeymoon or short escape in busy life. Suggest to have TV in room, its kinda boring during the night.

Reviewed June 12, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
WAN from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Staff friendly,place beautiful,naturally,deco traditional,room romantically”

Suitable for relax and feel free from city life

Reviewed June 11, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
JADE from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Great for a Staycation! ”

A very cozy place. Not difficult to find just have to maps ur way there, no signboard along the way. More suitable for couple getaway. More convenient for those who have own transport but I think they provide bicycle for rent & bus shuttle. Also provide tours. Room can get a tad bit warm in the afternoon but not too big of a deal for us as we went down for a swim. Really like the design and layout of this place! Oh and I really like the simple yet delicious breakfast.

Reviewed May 23, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Syazwana from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Amazing Calm Getaway”

Pros : clean, soothing environment, friendly staff, beautiful tropical deco, great facilities like pool, bar, spacious shared tv room, board games, books. Cons : not lively (which is great for those seeking quiet moments) Side Notes : No kids allowed, snacks to be kept properly to avoid ants, very private area.

Reviewed April 09, 2018
5.6
regina from Malaysia
Family with teens
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

relaxing place”

We have just had the most relaxing stay here.The most natural and beautiful place we have stayed in, stunning rooms and lovely weather this week. The restaurant is ok we really enjoyed the food Staff are all so lovely & nice.

Reviewed February 19, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Nur from Singapore
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Interesting”

The place is beautiful..the staff is very friendly..but need to be aware of hidden charges..like them providing a shuttle bus for you to go somewhere..them providing you a voucher instead of paying at the place..just a heads up!

Reviewed December 25, 2017
4.4
ARNOLD from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

not bad.”

too many rules and regulations by the staff which there's not written@black and white. etc : dont hold the tree, it will easily break. dont seat here, u r not drinking. ... but the place is nice, just that i personally dont like the rules and regulations. even 5 star hotel dont have such rules.

Reviewed December 13, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
David
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Location set in natural environ of Santubong. What a gem. Creature com.fort excellence.”

Cleanliness and well manicured surround with supply of fresh linen . Efficient friendly staff not overbearing yet attentive. We were made to feel welcome like a VIP. F & B sufficient Ambience calm relaxing and safe. Will visit again. Highly recommended

Reviewed November 27, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
johnny from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

Beautiful place and suitable for couple”

A different kind of place compare to Damai Beach and Puri. Love the beautiful and relaxing scenery, room is clean, bed and pillow super comfortable, a very well maintained place. The cons are there are not much activities or attraction around here and you need transport to go to other places. Other than that, if you're looking for secluded place free of crowd and kids, this is a right place for you.

Reviewed October 31, 2017
8.4
Excellent
TU from Malaysia
Group
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2017

Quiet Oasis ”

If you are looking for a short getaway from city life, then you come to right place. You can bring some books to read at the pool side or take nap. I think it's good for people who seek quiet place to unwind.

Reviewed July 25, 2017
6.8
Good
Charles from Malaysia
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Great relaxing place”

It don't give a great impression from the front entrance. But when you get inside. It has a totally diffferent feel. It is a perfect place for a couple. It is small but feel just like a home away from home. Better than a fancy resort.

Reviewed April 17, 2017
7.2
Very good
angeline from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Great escape from City Life”

Has been my 2nd visit and they have seem to improved their service to accommodate customers. Small and serene place. It just what i needed from my busy lifestyle. Advisable to drive your own car in case wanna go around (Damai Central) during the night. Wifi available only at the lobby and TV room. Mobile Phone reception is not ideal (can't receive calls and sms) but not a problem for me as i really needed the silence and relaxation. Breakfast is ala-carte. Choice of Pancakes or american breakfast. Aside from the price which keep on increasing from time to time; it's a place that i will definitely come back to.

Reviewed February 24, 2017
3.6
Janitha from Malaysia
Family with teens
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Poor customer service and super over price”

The customer service is very bad and you pay is a 5 star hotel price. The area had an electricity black out. There was no electricity and NO WATER. We were not informed by the staff. We were not offered any alternatives or even pail of water for the bathroom. Until we made some fuss and the staff offers another bathroom with every little water . We were stuck for the whole morning like this. We check out early and decided to go to another hotel to bath. The room rates were very expensive almost 5 star price. No discount were given for their bad service . The hotel had a no children stay policy , so one of our family members could not stay with us. We wanted to invite them for dinner in the hotel reception area and the hotel staff said cannot because no children allowed. We explained that the children are not staying but they said no. Worst still the hotel had no signage and not a legally set up hotel . They also charge extra 3% for payment by credit /debit. A total rip off

Reviewed December 26, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
TIEN from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2016

Great Getaway spot in Kch~”

Great private place to relax and back to nature~ Nice environment, nice food, friendly staff. The only drawback is the room feels like in an oven from 10am - 6pm, probably because of the roofing or air-conditioning. Other than that, it feels refreshing to have a getaway here.

Reviewed October 02, 2016
8.4
Excellent
min from Malaysia
Group
6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in September 2016

a lovely getaway, closest thing to bali in town”

the resort is still in tip top condition after so many years, staffs are all friendly and i enjoy coming to this little hide out. the water quality in their pool this time was less than desired this time, and bacon in their breakfast has changed not for the better. i wish they will put back same old bacon. over whole, its still one of the best resort around...

Reviewed September 13, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Kate from United Kingdom
Group
Village Double
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

Hidden gem on Damai peninsula”

This is simply a lovely hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms comfortable and clean, the pool is gorgeous. The food is really tasty too. It's a bit tricky to find, but some taxi drivers from Kuching do know where it is. The staff helped us organise some day trips so just ask them and they'll help you out. There is some flexibility with the trips offered in their brochure too, so just ask. This is a great place for a relaxing break. We were lucky that it was quiet when we were there with not many other guests. The beach is about 100m walk away, and the sea was amazingly warm when we visited. There are sandflies there though so be warned! Beautiful sunsets from this beach. Perhaps the only thing I would have liked would be a few more choices for breakfast - but what was available was very nicely presented and delicious.

Reviewed June 28, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Ai from Malaysia
Couple
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

Fantastic staycation”

Ambiance, cleanliness, comfort

Due to time restraint we could only spend one night at the Village Hotel. Something like a staycation. The drive to Santubong from Kuching was relaxing, the looming Mt Santubong was a sight to behold. Meal was classy. Dig the no-shoes-allowed house rule too; it's been ages since I got to roam around an entire compound barefooted and still feel clean after half-a-day. There were board games and books for your perusal. One hour before dinner we took a short walk to the back (Pantai Puteri) for an AMAZING sunset. It was low tide so the shoreline was a bit further in but it was still heaven on earth. The neighbourhood was friendly and safe, there was a security guard booth (for SMK Santubong) and the staff were really helpful. We had to catch an early flight the next day and they packed us sandwiches for the drive back to the airport at 7 am. In short, one of the highlights of our 5d4n trip to Sarawak.

Reviewed January 06, 2016
7.3
Very good
Norazreen from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2015

Worth for money”

Environment, Reasonable Price & Friendly Staff

It was great but it will be great full if they offer Halal foods.Although they provide an alternative food for Muslim but as a Muslim we are still concern on the items such as utensils, plate, fork & spoon that they used.

Reviewed October 08, 2015
6.7
Good
Ellen from Australia
Group
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015

Quiet location. Shame about early check-out time.”

Location. Restaurant. Shady pool.

Disappointed by the very early 11am check out time. Earliest I've ever experienced in Asia. Staff were insistent that new guests were arriving in the early afternoon but by 4:30pm there were still no guests checked-in to the room we were evicted from. Suspect the management is not very organised. Food at the restaurant was very good.

Reviewed August 03, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Katerina from Russia
Solo traveler
Stayed 12 nights in June 2015

Great experience”

Tranquillity, lots of water (cold and hot, pool), helpful staff

I used the hotel as a base for my everyday adventures in the surrounding area for 11 days in June. And it turned out to be the best base I ever had. The personnel were very friendly and always willing to help you to solve your problems and listen to your stories. Their reliable taxi-drivers arrive right on time and are ready to pick you up and bring back to the hotel any time of the day you arrange with them. The same price (180 MYR return) to get to Bako National Park, Semenggoh Nature Reserve, Matang Wildlife Center. 80 MYR to the airport. It takes about 1-1.5 hours to reach any of these destinations depending on traffic (rush hours are naturally the worst). The best trail to Mount Santubong begins a couple kilometers from the hotel making it possible to reach the summit or just follow the middle trail along the mountain. The sea nearby is not good for swimming as it is dirty, very shallow, full of big poisonous jelly-fish. Yet, sunsets are enchanting. The pool in the hotel serves perfectly to relax your aching muscles after a long hard hot day. And it is right on your doorstep. Conditioner and ceiling ventilator in the room function perfectly and noiselessly. Bathroom is amazingly comfortable with plenty of cold and hot water (strong pressure), shampoo, soap, shower gel, body lotion, daily changed large soft towels, constantly renewable toilet paper. Beds are large and cozy - good for stretching and enjoying a few idle hours. Muezzin in the mosque some 500m away lull you into sleep creating a unique unforgettable authentic atmosphere of local village. The hotel is located in a secluded part of the village Santubong. Local people are very friendly, helpful, and unobtrusive. Food is fresh and aplenty. One must beware of tiny red ants that jump at every edible speck appearing in the room. No mosquitoes inside. In short, it is a great choice for independent, active people tired of nasty civilization with its noisy crowds.

Reviewed July 05, 2015
8.7
Excellent
YEN from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015

Cosy Stay”

Food, peaceful ambiance, nature

We came back at the Vilage House and nothing much has changed. It is still peaceful and well maintained, but some fixtures int he room require some attention. We really like the fact that it's immaculately clean. Staff is very friendly and goes for the extra mile. The best thing is the food. It is absolutely amazing! The best food we had in Sarawak! If you don't like hard bed this is the not place for you. I found the beds too hard which resulted in a lack of proper rest. On a hot day the air con units in the room were having difficulty keeping it cold. Other than that: a great stay and highly recommended!

Reviewed June 26, 2015
7.0
Very good
ADELINE from Malaysia
Family with teens
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2015

My stay”

It was quiet, breakfast was just nice. No kids.

When we read the reviews, we did not know that they were very strict. Our in laws who wanted to just have a look at the place could not enter the premises. It has no lobby or waiting area. As we are Kuching residents, there was nothing much for us to do there besides swim and take photos. The beach was not that great. For that amount of money, I'd rather go somewhere where the main target group are not tourists.

Reviewed June 14, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
tanja from Austria
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015

Fantastic!”

Great little hideaway! beautiful beach, very natural and peaceful. As of the location you have to have dinner there, a bit pricey but food is great.

Only two minor concerns: the beach should be cleaned up and breakfast should be improved. Overall, a fantastic place! There is a shuttle to the City and Damai, so quite easy to get around during daytime. Absoltely recommended, we will definitely return.

Reviewed February 08, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Tamiko from Japan
Group
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

great atmosphere”

atmosphere, clean room and price

it's a pity thet we didn't have enough time to enjoy the hotel and the weather was terrible. but the staff was helpful and the atmosphere was great, so we would love to go there again. As for the location, it's a bit hard to find.

Reviewed January 23, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
judith from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015

very quiet relaxing stay”

swimming pool, food, staff

This is a very quiet lodge in the middle of a village. Possible to walk through the village, and to the beach. Other than that not much to do but enjoy the ambience. Both food and room a bit overpriced. Good swimming pool, and decent library. Fairly good internet at the library only.

Reviewed January 19, 2015
8.0
Excellent
hoi from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

A little paradise in the middle of nowhere ”

Great design, nice set up, helpful staffs

I have been to many similar resorts before as I really like these kind of boutique style hotels close to the nature. Think everything is pretty decent. This place is on it's own far from the others, its so u will need to eat all ur meals in here which is about 3 times the price as usual. It's fine if it's delicious but sadly I think it can be much better. Room is small but pretty. Wifi is available only by the tv room and the library, music in the bar is quite bit too loud considering they promote themselves as peaceful and quiet especially thr whole place if quite small. It depends on what u like but overall I have a good stay.

Reviewed January 01, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Angela from United Kingdom
Group
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014

Paradise in santubong”

I visited here with my partner 3 years and have often thought about it. When I returned to Kuching this was on my wish list. The place is so tranquil. tHe staff are so helpful.

From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome. The staff can't do enough for you. They cater for diverse dietary needs (in my case vegan). The place is wonderfully decorated and the lights at night promote a really ambient feel. Very peaceful and a much needed retreat from the city. It's back on my list to visit again. I would certainly recommend theVillage House for anyone seeking some timeout.

Reviewed September 08, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Zahirah from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014

Great lovely private accommodation”

Located in a private area, lovely rooms and place! Very relaxing. Staffs were friendly & very helpful

Spent 2 nights at Village House on a work trip. It was a non-peak area so the resort wasn't full. Staffs were really friendly, room was very clean and comfortable. Love the atmosphere at the village house! Perfect for those who enjoy privacy and for those who want to spend quality time together. It was a bit difficult to find the place in the beginning as the place wasn't labelled and there wasn't any signboard. So if u're coming from Kuching, as u arrive at the Tjunction with school on your right & mosque on your left, go straight. Village house is along that road. Food is good but more on the expensive side to be compared with other local hotels in kuching but since the area is a village, there's no other place to eat if u don't have a car. No halal food serves but there's choices of seafood and vegetarian. If u would like to dine out, nearest town would be Damai, which is about 15 mins away where there are other hotels and foodcourt.

Reviewed September 01, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Michael from Germany
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014

Another lovely weekend”

Staff, The Village House, Relaxed atmosphere

Just another lovely weekend at our favorite place in Santubong. Experience got even better because of the new manager Sin, who is not just a great person, but has all the skills and attitude to improve a place that already is on a very high level when it comes to enjoying relaxed days away. It is hard to decide, if we shall promote it, as we love it even more, if we do not have to share with a lot of other people. But that might be a bit too egoistic and not to clever, if we are going to enjoy it on the long term.

Reviewed May 25, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Barbara from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

relaxing, peaceful, and comfortable”

great pool, nice sitting areas, comfortable bed

The Village House is an ideal place to unwind. The pool and gardens are very nice and there is a good library available to choose from. The food was reasonable but it would be good not have both vegetable options in brown sauce. Would be nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room/or outside for guests. Staff were friendly and helpful and I would definitely come back again. Be aware that there is now a new mosque close by and you may be woken at 5am.

Reviewed April 30, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Michael from South Africa
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Gorgeous setting and very relaxing”

Beautiful pool and gardens, clean well-designed rooms and a great restaurant

We loved The Village House! It's a beautiful building in its own right and a great place to sit in the pool and unwind. Also close to Mount Santubong and the excellent cultural village there. Can't wait to go back!

Reviewed April 23, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Stuart from Afghanistan
Couple
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014

Peaceful stay in nice surroundings”

Close to the beach and nature, no kids policy, nice ambience

It was quiet when we stayed just after a national holiday weekend. The hotel is nicely decorated and is just a short stroll from the beach (not suitable for swimming though). It's a pity that after all the effort the owners made to provide nice surroundings that they limit wireless internet access to a small area above the bar. Why not in the rooms or at the pool in such a small hotel? It's a very peaceful location (except for the local mosque which is very loud at 5.15am). Food & drink is a bit pricey (but good) with no other dining options in the area.

Reviewed April 23, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Michael from United Kingdom
Group
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014

Little pocket of Heaven”

The design of the public spaces, the details, the unique ambience

Very little to fault with this boutique resort. Great staff that are beyond helpful - something good to see in Malaysia as this is generally not the case. So many places to just while away time, recharge the batteries and soak up life.

Reviewed April 02, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Steffen from Germany
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014

Lovely hotel. Be aware of the location.”

Hotels rooms, helpful and friendly staff, design of the hotel

We stayed 3 nights at The village house. we were welcomed very warm by the hotel manager. The hotel room was spacious and very clean. It came with an en suite shower room and was equipped both with a fan and an air con. The pool was taken care and very clean. We enjoyed every night a nice dinner at the own restaurant. The kitchen was unfortunately only until 9pm open. Be aware of the location of the hotel! It is located really lovely in the nature but it will take you 45min to Kuching city, 60min to airport, 75min to the Orang Utan and 45min to Bako National Park. Due to the fact that there is no public transport from the hotel to Kuching you depend on a shuttle transport which is organized by the hotel. The place as hotel we can highly recommend! The location itself has to be judged by everybody on its own.

Reviewed March 01, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Jee from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2014

A hidden gem in Kuching”

The local friendly staff.The amazing pool.The overal design of the hotel.It's a photographer haven.

When i first started walking into the Village House,it was so serene as i was greeted by the the beautifully crated trees and flowers.As I stepped further,I was greeted by the cute host whom i realized works behind the bar as well.Passing the grand swimming pool and stepping inside my room,I smell the fragrant flowers carefully placed next to my bed and found out to my dismay,there was no TV in my room. As night approaches,I think i am beginning to understand the real purpose of the Village House.A place where we release ourselves from our technological entrapment and find ourselves again in the simple nature and start talking with each other whether its your friends,loved ones or maybe just some quality time to understand yourself. Overall, this place is a hidden gem in Kuching.Trust me,cos I been there.Otherwise,I wont be writing this review XD.

Reviewed February 17, 2014