2015
Very good 7.4
Based on 6427 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 6427 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Room comfort and quality 7.3
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food and dining 6.5
Sort by

Chatta from Thailand
Business travelers
Hot Deal
Stayed 5 nights in June 2016
Getting worse
I have stayed at The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel regularly for more than 3 years, at least once every two to three months. The last week is not impressing. The hotel gave us only two small bottles of water for 3 nights stay. We used to receive 2 bottles a day. We also asked for the double bed almost a month in advance but get 2 single beds instead. We like the location of the hotel.
Reviewed June 22, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Peter from Germany
Business travelers
Hot Deal
Stayed one night in June 2016
very bad mildew and musty smell
we always liked this hotel, but this time we already could smell a very bad mildew and musty air when we stepped in the hotel lobby. also the room and the whole air condition system of the hotel brings that bad smell all over. we contacted the manager and he did his best to give us another room which was slightly better only and put an aditional air condition and air cleaning mashine in our room. he expained us that they are planing to remodel next winter season 2016/2017 and that they use one central air conditioning system for the whole hotel. at the moment we can not recommend this hotel any more until this bad smell problem has been improved, which is also not healthy, by the way.
Reviewed June 22, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Cherry from Philippines
Couples
Hot Deal
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Good location
We only liked this hotel for the location, close to MTR and A11 bus going to airport, good japanese restaurant at the 1st floor, good hot and cold shower Negative: Front desk not so friendly does not even look you in the eye when talking to you. Housekeeping threw away my sachet of shampoo and cream even if its not yet empty Rooms are worn out already
Reviewed June 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Ladema from Philippines
Solo travelers
Hot Deal
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Location
Was just shock with the location though I feel safe. I was located within the pub houses.
Reviewed June 20, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

john from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Superior
Stayed one night in March 2016
good location
I have stayed many times in this hotel. The location is very good for the Wan Chai night life. The hotel is a little run down and needs a face lift. Nor sure if I will stay again
Reviewed June 20, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

john from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Superior
Stayed one night in April 2016
Good location
I have stayed many time in this hotel, but the rooms are now looking a little old with damp patches on the ceiling. had to change my room on my last visit. The location is very good for the Wan chai night life may not stay again
Reviewed June 20, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Kerry from British Virgin Islands
Business travelers
Hot Deal
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Good enough
Stayed many times. Hotel is well maintained
Reviewed June 20, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Ellen from Philippines
Families with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Nearest to MRT
Convenient place to stay
Reviewed June 19, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Patrick from Philippines
Families with older children
Superior Triple
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Good location especially for convention purposes
My brother had a convention at the Convention Centre in Wan Chai, so we decided to stay at the Wharney Guang Dong because it was close by. The hotel is one of the stops of the free shuttle from the HK Airport Express Station so that was a plus. The front desk people and the housekeeping staff were nice and friendly. There were places to eat and drink within the area, and it's 2 blocks away from the MTR. Also within walking distance from the Convention Centre. The room is okay in size for HK, but I found it a bit dark. And the TV was not good. A bit blurry and the remote control was not very responsive. Also, I liked that the room had a mobile phone that guests can use as a pocket wifi when traveling the city. We were charged HKD20 per day though (as compared to other hotels which offer the same for free). But HKD20 per day was still okay.
Reviewed June 19, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

SABADO from Philippines
Groups
Superior Triple
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Hongkong Travel
Nice experience. Good hotel accommodation. Will consider staying at Wharney Guandong hotel the next time.
Reviewed June 18, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: