2015
Very good 7.4
Based on 6410 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 6410 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Room comfort and quality 7.3
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food and dining 6.5
Sort by

Noor from Singapore
Families with young children
Superior
Stayed one night in October 2015
Excellent value overall
1) Price 2) Transportation links 3) Halal food available close by
What we liked: - Excellent value for money - Very convenient location. Free shuttle bus provided to the hotel from Hong Kong Station if you're taking the Airport Express. Wan Chai MTR station, which is 2 stops away from Hong Kong station is a short walking distance away. - Free smartphone provided throughout the duration of the stay. - Two 7-11 stores right across the street if you need anything. - Halal kebabs across the street for muslim travellers. The Islamic Centre Canteen is a short tram/bus/taxi ride away. What we didn't like (but is not a deal-breaker): - I reckon it had already been written by other guests (which I failed to notice), but on our walk back from Wan Chai MTR to the hotel on a Saturday night at around 11pm, we had to navigate around some the pub-goers spilling over onto the crowded walkways.
Reviewed October 22, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Steven from Canada
Business travelers
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Comfortable and Relaxing
Location, Comfortable and Relaxing
The stay was great as always. I need a non-smoking room and keep getting upgraded. The beds are always comfortable and large with plenty of hot water. The shower area in the deluxe room is too small and you need to use the main bathroom, which floods as there is no drain. It is in the centre of the Wan Chai night life district. The only bad thing about the hotel is the number of ladies the night standing on the hotel property blocking the entrance or sitting on the concrete outside propositioning hotel guests as they walk in with their wife when security is not around. This is amusing to irritating.
Reviewed October 22, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Richard from United States
Business travelers
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Moldy Bathroom
location, location, location
I travel to Asia several times a year. I know HK hotels and this was the worst I have ever stayed. I prepaid the room 2 weeks in advance. Booked a non-smoking, king bed. Checked in and was told they only had double beds. Not a huge issue so far. First room was a non-smoking floor, but the entire floor stunk of smoke. The room had severe mold in the bath, like it had never been cleaned. They changed the room to a new floor that smelled better, but the bath was equally moldy. They told me there were no other rooms until the next day. So I took the room since HK was mostly sold out due to the trade show, and it was getting late. At about 11PM a giant cloud of cigarette smoke came through the AC into the room. Not a great night... I think non-smoking is just a suggestion in HK. Next day they did change the room and that room was OK, no mold and a queen bed. Their work out room and pool were both under construction with no notice on their website and no options offered. This was not a cheap room. I would not stay at this place ever again. It might be a 4 star hotel, but that is out of 100 stars.
Reviewed October 18, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Martin from Germany
Business travelers
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in October 2015
All about location
Location,
GDH is all about location. The nice lobby does not reflect the standard of the rooms. The rooms are aged but ok for the space they offer. I think there are renovations ongoing and after it could be perfect...we will see.
Reviewed October 17, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

montague from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Inaccurately described on Agoda
Good location, close to transport links, fairly quiet
Adequate for the inflated price range in Hong Kong Island. Small room, tidy, slow wifi speed but reliable, two very small bottles of free water per day. It's on the free shuttle bus route from HK rail station so your Airport Express train ticket gets you from HK station to this hotel free. Also v close to the tram line and MTR underground train. Very close to two 7-11 shops for cheap stuff. I chose this hotel because of the pool and gym but was told on arrival that they were shut for a few months for rebuilding (until Feb 2016 I think). They should not be advertising a gym and a pool on Agoda when they cannot deliver the goods.
Reviewed October 16, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

GORDON from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in October 2015
Whaney Wanchai
free smart phone. location. on airport bus route
Excellent
Reviewed October 16, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

reid from United States
Business travelers
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Good fun Wan Chai location
Fun location, efficient staff, decent fitness center
Wharney's is a good location for the expat nightlife scene in WanChai, and decent VFM at 100 USD night weekend rate (weekdays more cashy of course). I had a smallish, but nice room (HK- always relatively small) as I was upgraded to an Exec suite. Ask for higher floor.
Reviewed October 16, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Ken from Hong Kong
Business travelers
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
location good
clean, location, nice staff
location is good, near subway, lots of bar and restaurant around
Reviewed October 16, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

AU from Singapore
Couples
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
Room size is good
Room size, location & value
Relatively good room size for HK standard given the price. Good location to MTR and eateries
Reviewed October 14, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Zorellee from Philippines
Business travelers
Superior Triple
Stayed one night in October 2015
Wanchai
Location
Reviewed October 14, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: