Book Now: The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Reviews

Very good
From 8341 reviewsSee what guests said
7.5
Recommended by 85% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (8341)Booking.com Reviews (3184)
7.5
Very good
From 8341 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.6
Facilities7.0
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality7.3
Service7.4
Value for money7.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Superior
Executive
Junior Suite
Superior Triple
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 7200 verified guest comments
6.0
Hoang from Vietnam
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Close to My customers’ office”
After receipt of booking id from Agoda, we contact the receptionist of The wharney Guangdong Hotel, they said they have not received the booking from Agoda yet, and it obliges us to check in with not good price as Agoda offered. Eventually, the price is much higher than the Agoda’s rate.
Reviewed May 04, 2018
7.2
Very good
Rami from United Arab Emirates
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in April 2018
Good location and clean ”
Good location near to exhibition center , clean rooms , medium size with lots of bars nearby . However not recommended for families . Good nightlife
Reviewed May 04, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Peter from Macau
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Excellent”
Have happily stayed with The Wharney many times over the years, very good value room rate, close to a lot of attractions and shopping and Central.
Reviewed May 03, 2018
4.8
Annahid from Australia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in April 2018
Acceptable”
In red light district so not suitable for single female traveller. Small room (standard) in need of update. Although the room is clean (thank you Wendy), the wallpaper is peeling & has a VERY mouldy bathroom. A very basic room yet apparently it's supposed to be 4 star.
Reviewed May 03, 2018
6.8
Good
Derrin from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Some Room For Improvement”
This was our first trip to Hong Kong and whilst the location is good, we found a number of minor things could have improved our experience. ie. we were provided a twin room instead of a double room without any notice; there was limited toiletries provided (shampoo &/or conditioner) which is standard in most hotels; and the gym/pool facilities are located within a neighbouring building. Overall an average stay only unfortunately.
Reviewed May 02, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
James from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Fantastic location for exhibition centre and restaurants and bars. Would not stay anywhere else.”
Only a five minute walk to the exhibition centre. Close to all bars and restaurants. Would not stay anywhere else when attending exhibitions in HK. Lovely smiley staff. Most pleasant staff I have ever come across in a HK hotel.
Reviewed May 01, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Lee from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Wharney Hotel ”
Nice conveniently located hotel for a short stay in Hong Kong Wanchai district.
Reviewed May 01, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Glorene from Philippines
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Great hotel with best location”
The hotel is just 5 mins walk to the nearest MTR. McDonalds and Cafe de Coral is within the reach so you don't have to worry about getting an empty stomach. The hotel room is clean as well as the linens. I will highly recommend and will book for the same hotel when we get back.
Reviewed May 01, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Richard from Australia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in April 2018
I would like to have my room with a double bed, I always prefer to stay 18th floor or above ”
My room looked a little old seeing that I have been there about 20 times and staying at least 5 to 10 days at each visit
Reviewed April 26, 2018
4.0
Ken from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
No no and no”
From the prince Edward mtr, The Hotel was difficult to find. 20 minutes walk. The room and the bed was the smallest I have ever stayed in my life. Floors were dirty. Air con was a jet engine ready to take off. Bed was super small and uncomfortable. Enough said.
Reviewed April 25, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Jacomarie from South Africa
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Excellent”
Comfy Hotel Room with a great Breakfast and not far from the Fair.
Reviewed April 24, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Peter from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
no problems .. recommend”
nice location near entertainment .. friendly staff .. nice b/fast .. easy access to mtr etc ..
Reviewed April 22, 2018
7.6
Very good
Peter from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 6 nights in March 2018
nice location .. nice staff .. ”
rooms small but easy ..
Reviewed April 22, 2018
5.6
Carlo from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
UNFRIENDLY STAFF”
Teach them to smile and teach them how to value client satisfaction.
Reviewed April 19, 2018
7.2
Very good
Wayne from Australia
Business traveler
Executive
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Very good”
Reasonable hotel for HK island, location is great for food, metro and Convention Centre. It’s the nightlife district so be prepared for the bars and other activities nearby. Biggest complaint is the bathroom, it’s let down by a small tub that doubles as a shower and the shower curtain constantly wraps around you when showering.
Reviewed April 16, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Gary from Australia
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Great location”
Excellent location for the tourist traveller with bars, train station and eateries very close. Staff are friendly and the rooms clean with sufficient space. Will stay again.
Reviewed April 15, 2018
6.0
Stephen from Australia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
all rooms are to small”
excecitive plus room small , bathroom 4 foot x 4 foot , sewer smell in bathroom , breakfast very poor , air cond basic
Reviewed April 13, 2018
7.2
Very good
Vincent from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Location is great if you like whoores”
Excellent value if you can get for less than HK800 per night
Reviewed April 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ian from Australia
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Great hotel , great location”
Have stayed at the Wharney more than 10 times. Great location for HK 7s or business. MTR , pubs and restaurants all nearby
Reviewed April 13, 2018
7.6
Very good
Stephen from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Great Location for HK 7”
The Wharney Guang is probably the best location for those visiting the HK'7 as it's central to the bars up and down Lockhart Road and MRT. The room that I was in was a little tired, however serviced it's purpose and have been informed that upgrades are occurring. Good value for money during this period compared to others around the area and the staff were terrific. Only disappointing issue was that the room hadn't been made up when I arrived, however was soon rectified. Overall, a great stay and would stay again.
Reviewed April 11, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Feng from China
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
nice to stay in this hotel”
room was clean, staff friendly, walk distance from subway, great bars around
Reviewed April 10, 2018
8.0
Excellent
NAMYOUL from South Korea
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Very good”
good clean room. and also very good location (MTR Station, Bars, Restaurants,....)
Reviewed March 26, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Patrick from Germany
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in March 2018
Exceptional”
Wharney was really great as always. It is really a great place for relaxation and is very accessible to a lot of places most especially the market and train station
Reviewed March 23, 2018
8.8
Excellent
David from South Africa
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 8 nights in March 2018
It's great!”
I've never been to Hong Kong before, so wasn't sure what to expect. The hotel is perfectly suited for both business and leisure travel. The room was very clean on arrival, with fresh linen and towels and the fridge stocked with water and cold drinks. The location is very central in Wan Chai, with many restaurants, bars and late night places in close walking distance. The streets also feel very safe. Not sure what it's like lower down, but on the 17th floor I can't hear anything from outside. The staff are friendly and courteous. Breakfast is in the restaurant and has a good sample of Western and Eastern options, including enough to keep a hungry vegetarian well fed. Will definitely consider staying here again, if I need to be in this area.
Reviewed March 21, 2018
5.6
Gerald from United States
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in March 2018
dingy”
room was old and dingy--toilet barely flushed location is good--in the heart of wan chai -- near MTR, restaurants & bars
Reviewed March 20, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Mark from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018
Exceptional”
I stay here regularly. A good hotel in a good position for my work, restaurants, MTR and bars. Nice room and decent bathroom.
Reviewed March 19, 2018
8.0
Excellent
John from Australia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
very clean”
a bit small
Reviewed March 14, 2018
7.2
Very good
Apatsanan from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in March 2018
Room are good size, location excellent ”
Everything was okay for me except the doors, in the morning the people’s leaving the room was very noisy because of the doors closing very very loud
Reviewed March 08, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Nguyen from Vietnam
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Acceptable Hotel”
Acceptable Hotel
Reviewed March 05, 2018
8.4
Excellent
ISABELLA from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Love to stay every time when I have convention.”
Breakfast is not good enough, few selection and taste poorly.
Reviewed March 04, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ken from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in February 2018
Exceptional”
Room was clean. Location is good very closed to MTR station
Reviewed March 04, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Dominick from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Good hotel”
Arrived late and stayed only 1 night. Room was clean and comfortable, and the location was convenient
Reviewed March 01, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Terry from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Excellent”
The room was modern and bed very comfortable. Nice touch to provide Evelyn and Crabtree toiletries. Great location close to the metro, tram lines and bars and restaurants. I will definitely choose again.
Reviewed February 26, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Terry from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Very good”
The room was a little dated, however, the hotel is under going renovation so we may have got unlucky with an old room. Otherwise, very happy with the hotel and staff. The room was functional and the bed comfortable. Nice touch to provide Evelyn and Crabtree toiletries. Great location close to the metro, tram lines and bars and restaurants. I will definitely choose again.
Reviewed February 26, 2018
6.8
Good
John from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in February 2018
Good”
The air condition leaked all over the floor for the 5 day I was there ladled got it to be fixed but they only cleaned up the mess and it leaked again I ask for it to be fixed 4 times but the morning I left the water was all Over the hall entrance to My room agaonn
Reviewed February 21, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Chui from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017
Spacious room”
good location, mrt station is nearby, airport shuttle stand is just opposite road, convenience.
Reviewed February 21, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Chui from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Spacious room”
Room is big and good location. Staff was friendly, willing to help.
Reviewed February 21, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Cherith from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Decent Sized Rooms for HK”
There are a ton of great places to eat nearby, not far from metro, nice staff
Reviewed February 11, 2018
7.6
Very good
DUNG from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Wanchai Downtown stay value for money”
I am a hongkonger who regularly visit my parents home in hong kong. This hotel locates at the heart of Wanchai, Hong Kong Isaland. Super Easy access to MTR and many buses. Restaurants and Cafes and Pubs are just across the road, so it is super convenient. The hotel provides sauna and swimming pool at the next building, very close to the main building. The Hotel provides free mobile phone with Free Mobile Internet so you can bring it around Hong Kong with free internet surfing without even buying a SIM Card. This is a value plus!! The only down side is usually packed with Chinese Group Tourists.
Reviewed February 10, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Jazelle from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Good Hotel, poor location”
Good management, hotel is clean and well maintained great value for money too. Easy access during taxi rides. Red light district at night not comfortable with the crowd. Went to 7eleven to buy my favorite milk in a glass bottle but said they avoid selling on a glass due to bar incidents when people are already drunk.
Reviewed February 10, 2018
6.0
Ivan from Canada
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 8 nights in January 2018
Not impressed”
Hotel room only has air conditioning. No heat at all. When I told friends and families in HK about it, they were all shocked.
Reviewed February 09, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
elizabeth from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
very nice location, just 3 mins to MTR. ”
Clean room, nice price with good location, easy to find bar and restaurants, just walk around 3 mins to MTR
Reviewed February 07, 2018
2.4
Yousef from Israel
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 11 nights in January 2018
So bad ”
So bad
Reviewed February 06, 2018
4.8
Jarmo from Finland
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Noisy (construction site next door), cold (no heating)”
Very COLD, do they really expect people to stay in room at 12 C ????? If people complain, give small heater, took >8 hrs to get room so and so bearable. Horrible management , who else to blame? Construction going on at the side and YES they work through the nights, even over weekend (horrible weekend for me). DO NOT GO HERE FOR A YEAR OR SO from the writing of this, without checking what is the construction situation. You CANNOT SLEEP here. At the reception several people who do not speak proper international languages, like English. I do not understand why they do this, management maybe willing to destroy the ranking of this place for the short sight money game. As it is now, do NOT go there.
Reviewed February 04, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Hassan from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Good location, good staf”
Train and bus stations are almost close to the hotel. Seven eleven and a number of bars and restaurants are around the hotel as well. We the bed was 2 singles, but it supposed to be a King or Queen.
Reviewed February 04, 2018
6.4
Good
Ben from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Good”
No body warned me of building works going on at the hotel. They were very noisy. Started early morning and went on until 6pm. And even on a Sunday which I think is unacceptable. Also the pool was out of action. I just wished I was told all this before I booked as I would have stayed somewhere else
Reviewed January 31, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Kevin from Singapore
Group
Superior Triple
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017
Fuss free hotel”
The hotel is very convenient and near to the subway. There are also airport shuttle to near the hotel.
Reviewed January 29, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Raimund from Germany
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Good ”
Hotel located quite convenient 5min walk from MTR exit. Rooms are comfortable and for HK standard I would say they are spacious. All over very good experience will come again
Reviewed January 28, 2018
6.4
Good
Varut from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Comfortable bed, near MTR station, Nice staff, Noise from other rooms”
We (5adults family) stayed Triple superior and superior room at 12th Floor, Pros, 1. Hotel near Wanchai station:5mins walk 2. Bed is comfortable 3. Room space is enough for big suitcase 4. Free mobile phone (Calls with internet) to use at outside hotel. 5. Nice staff Cons : 1. Hotel is near bar and pub (walking from station to hotel at night is a little scared and walking from hotel to station will be dirty on road) 2. The reception is old (ceiling should be improved) 3. If you are unlucky. Your room neighbour will be noisy after drunk
Reviewed January 27, 2018
6.4
Good
Lim from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Ok for a night ”
Older hotel with older facilities. Clean.
Reviewed January 26, 2018