Book Now: The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Excellent
From 769 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
/
10
Recommended by 96% of guests

Reviews of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (769)Booking.com Reviews (1414)
8.7
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness9.0
Facilities8.1
Location9.5
Room comfort and quality9.0
Service8.8
Value for money8.4
All languages
All guests (769)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 508 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Jody from Philippines
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Perfect Location”

We got the Family Room and it's spacious with our kids. Love the big toilet and bath. It is also in perfect location. Very close by the subway station. 5 mins walk to People's park and 15 walks to The Bund. There are a lot of groceries and restaurants nearby.

Reviewed April 28, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Gordon from United Kingdom
Couple
Art Deco
Stayed 5 nights in April 2019

Great hotel in a good location”

We stayed at the Yangtze Boutique hotel for 6 days recently and we had no complaints at all. Staff were friendly and efficient and responded to our requests in a timely manner. We never ate at the hotel so cannot comment on the food & beverage part of the hotel, but from we saw and smelt it looked good. Room was great. Only problem was we could not manage to turn the heating down. Bathroom was amazing. It has a tv but that didn't work. No problem as we didn't really need it. We would definitely recommend this hotel, and if we decide to go back to Shanghai we will book it again.

Reviewed April 21, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
CHI from Australia
Couple
Family
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

A conveniently located hotel with spacious rooms”

The hotel is located right next to the subway exit. Right opposite the hotel, there was a huge shopping mall with a great selection of brands. The famous shopping street (I think it's called Nanjing Xi Road) is just 10 minute away from the hotel. The rooms in the hotel are very spacious. We were really impressed with the bathroom, where there are a separately toilet, shower and bath tub. The bedroom is very spacious with nice decor. Our room came with two balconies. Although there wasn't much view from the room, the balconies were definitely a nice additional to our room.

Reviewed April 25, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Genevieve from Canada
Family with young children
Shanghai Grand
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Exceptional”

Rooms were huge, clean and looks brand new (well maintained). Very close to subway station and right across from Raffles City mall with a great food court. Huge room - I wish they have the ability to add an extra bed so I can fit 5 instead of having to book 2 rooms.

Reviewed January 09, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Chee from Malaysia
Family with young children
Art Deco
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Highly recommended”

The hotel is fantastic from the location,staff service to it's breakfast. The hotel is located opposite the road from Gate 14 of the People Square MRT station. There are many shopping areas nearby such as the Nanjing west walking street and the Bund Shanghai which is 15-20mins walk from the hotel. Breakfast a lot of variety and the hotel gave us free upgrade.

Reviewed December 21, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
daniel from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 4 nights in December 2018

very good staff and location”

the staff was really good. especially the doorbell staff. the location was really strategic turn to left hand size from the main entrance there was alot small restaurent. 5 min walk to famous walking nanjing street. and the shopping mall just right infront the main entrance. 2. cleanliness was awesome, the room is very clean, the toilet was huge with bath tub. overall worth to stay there.

Reviewed December 20, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Giin from Malaysia
Business traveler
Shanghai Grand
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Hotel a bit run down”

This hotel I have being here to check in last few years ago, but currently I was seeing the hotel a bit run down and they required some refurbishment. Overall location is extremely good and just a minute walk is the train station and opposite of the hotel is the shopping mall and beside of the hotel have one church

Reviewed October 22, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Philippe from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 4 nights in September 2018

Hotel with flair but this time WIFI was simply too slow”

I like this place...good value for money, nice rooms, a bit faded, but still very pleasant. Will need an renovation in 3/4 years time. I like: the beds, the quietness, the very deep bath tubs :-), the location, the decor, the fittings etc I did not like: the wifi (far too slow) So...not much I did not like really :-)

Reviewed September 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Louise from United Kingdom
Couple
Art Deco
Stayed 6 nights in December 2018

Beautiful hotel”

We stayed for 6 nights over Christmas . First impression when we walked in was wow it looked and smelt beautiful. The door men were very helpful as they were a lot of us arrived together lots of baggage . Reception were good booking in us all in 5 rooms in total. We were given a lovely room on the 6th floor and were given an all inclusive mini bar as well lovely surprise. Our room had a terrace not a Juliet balcony which was great we had morning coffee and evening drinks enjoying the view. The room was spotlessly clean. House keeping were very good as was the turn down service lovely chocolates in a beautiful box, Breakfast was excellent big choice for all tastes . Jimmy in the bar ...great cocktails . Excellent hotel look forward to returning .

Reviewed January 09, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Clare from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 6 nights in December 2018

Nicest hotel we’ve stayed in”

Staff were extremely friendly and very attentive of the kids. The family room was large and the main bed was massive and extremely comfortable! The bathroom was large and well equipped with a large, deep bath that the kids could actually swim in. The food, on the one evening we ate in the hotel, was excellent. There was an great choice of breakfast options (Chinese, continental and cooked) to cater for all tastes. The bar was a pleasant place to spend the evening after a long day exploring the city; listening to jazz and enjoying a cocktail from Jimmy the bar tender. The concierge were always friendly when coming and going, negating the children and asking about their day. They were also great at helping arrange the airport transfer. In short, the hotel was great and when we return to Shanghai, we will be staying there again.

Reviewed December 31, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Rendy from Singapore
Couple
Art Deco
Stayed 8 nights in December 2018

Great but not fantastic”

Yangtze is located just right next to people’s square exit 14. It is a great location, people’s square has lines 1,2, and 8, convenient for travellers to explore via train. The exit tho, has no escalator of elevator, only stairs, so be prepared to carry your luggage if you transit via the train from Pudong airport. The hotel upon entering has a nice ambience, lobby smells great! The rooms are ok, felt like I paid more than what was offered. But generally it’s ok, comfortable stay. Nice friendly staff who helped with directions, but most of them cannot speak English. Overall a good comfortable stay, and would consider staying again. Also, it’s a recommended hotel on time out and other sources (hotel was recommended on maps, brochures etc)

Reviewed December 28, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Kraising from Thailand
Family with young children
Art Deco
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Very good location.”

The hotel has superb location, walking distance to shopping centers, restaurants, MTR and walking street.

Reviewed April 04, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Wan from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Shanghai Grand
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

superb”

feel like live in a palace...location very near to shopping mall,subway and everything..

Reviewed March 30, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Ei from Singapore
Family with young children
Art Deco
Stayed 6 nights in March 2018

Good location ”

This hotel is very near to subway station and convenient location to shops and restaurants. Room is very clean but the toilet door cannot be locked, may be lack of maintenance. The ambience is nice and staffs are very friendly.

Reviewed March 17, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Marilynn from Singapore
Couple
Art Deco
Stayed 5 nights in January 2018

great location ”

location is just 2 mins walk from exit 14 of people's park metro station. directly opposite raffles city mall. there is also a street of local food outlets 5 mins walk down. price was reasonable. room was spacious. only downside was that tv was not working properly. regardless, still a good hotel to stay in.

Reviewed January 30, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
LeyTing from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Shanghai Grand
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Excellent location with wonderful room”

This hotel has very good location, few steps to Nanjing Pedastrian Street and People’s Square. There’s a Raffles Mall and convenient shops as well as one MRT exit right in front of the hotel. The room was very big and comfortable with a small balcony with street view. It has a big bathtub and separate shower. Bed was very comfy too. Service of the staff was good as well, check in and out was very quick and everyone in the hotel was very attentive to my requests and helpful.

Reviewed November 08, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Wen from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017

Quiet and convenient ”

20 steps away from the exit of the subway.Less than 5 mins to Nanjing road pedestrian street by walking. One convenient store is opposite to the hotel. Easy to go anywhere. The decoration is elegant. Bathtub is huge and the slippers are soft especially good for those who walk for a whole day. I had two wonderful nights there.

Reviewed August 25, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Philippe from France
Business traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017

Pleasant and well located”

Did not know what to expect when I booked it, and was very pleased with what I found. Room 617, quiet, well appointed. Good wifi, nice bathroom, huge terrace, sadly not furnished, so could not make use of it, which was a shame. Bell staff was very helpful. Front staff had their moments. Breakfast was not particularly good not imaginative. Since the hotel is surrounded by shopping malls and small restaurants. Skip the breakfast at the hotel Ciao restaurant and find better more authentic place. The location cannot be beaten: Walk down Hankou street for 15/20 minutes and you will arrive on the Bund. Go 3 minutes the other direction and you are in the people's park. Hotel is just next to exit 14 on the Metro line 2, direct connection to Pudong airport. It is also bang in the middle of the red light district and opposite a police station, the two seem to tolerate each other quite harmoniously! Very amusing.

Reviewed June 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
PHARISAR from Thailand
Family with teens
Art Deco
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016

Great Hotel!”

Less than 1 min walk to subway People's Square Station, exit 14. Just across Raffles City. Room is big with nice decoration. We got early check in and late check out with free of charge. Can walk to Nanjing East Road and The Bund. Many restaurants around the hotel.

Reviewed January 04, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
FLORENCE from Canada
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

PERFECT choice of location”

The location, facilities and everything about the hotel was perfect - stayed here with my parents who are older and they loved the history and ambiance of the hotel. The subway is just down the street but basically, the area around the hotel was entertaining enough. Room was clean and the bathroom was spectacular - beyond my expectations and the people working at the hotel were just wonderful and helpful. There is a shuttle bus available from putong airport to hotel and they will drop you off right outside with a small fee (takes around 45 minutes to an hour). Would definitely stay here again and recommend a friend.

Reviewed December 06, 2016
8.8
Excellent
MUNHEE from South Korea
Business traveler
Family
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

It was a unique experirnce.”

This hotel has been built in 1930''s which has a lot of rich history as much as it is. I felt comfortable staying there with staff's kind service. Room condition is pretty good and it has a large room and bathroom compared to other hotel.

Reviewed October 30, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
JIA from Singapore
Business traveler
Shanghai Grand
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Clean, spacious, friendly staff”

Room is very spacious, fully filled with amenities, well maintained hotel. Staff we exceptionally friendly throughout the clock! Very good location, located near a public train transport and shopping district.

Reviewed July 25, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Setthapong from Thailand
Business traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

Boutique hotel in the heart of city”

This hotel locate just next to Nanjing road, very easy to walk around and spend free time in the evening. Subway entrance is also very close. Decoration is unique, room is nice bed is comfortable. Staff also very attentive. Only downside is the air conditioner, which at highest output still can get room temp around 24C a lot hotter than outside.

Reviewed April 25, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Giin from Malaysia
Business traveler
Shanghai Grand
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015

Environment is extremely good”

location, services and room

I can say I love to stay this hotel, which the services level of the hotel is extremely good and the location is good for me easy access which with all the walking distances and I sure will come back to this hotel in my next visit. I more prefer to this hotel which anywhere you want to go is so easy just walking distance, either to shopping street, bookstore, foods or massage all is too easy to get just walking distance and with very reasonable price

Reviewed June 30, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Giin from Malaysia
Business traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Rooms clean and good location”

Room big, clean and good location

I can say I love to stay this hotel, which the services level of the hotel is extremely good and the location is good for me easy access which with all the walking distances and I sure will come back to this hotel in my next visit. The hotel is good for vacation or either business traveller

Reviewed June 30, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
YICK from Hong Kong
Couple
Art Deco
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013

A city”

Friendly, clean and convenient.

A very convenient hotel at the city centre of Shanghai. The hotel rooms are clean, gorgeous and big. Price is very reasonable. I recommend this hotel to any travellers who are seeking a comfortable and convenient accomodation in Shanghai city centre.

Reviewed October 17, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Thomas from United States
Business traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 1 night in June 2013

nice atmosphere, clean hotel with excellent staff”

freasonable price, excellent service, comfortable rooms

The hotel is tucked into the center of Shanghai. Everything about the design and service is thoughtfully done, from the lobby to the restaurants and rooms. It's a bargain for the location and quality.

Reviewed July 16, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Thomas from United States
Business traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013

convenient, quiet, comfortable”

Shanghai location, hotel atmosphere, quality facilities

The hotel provides nice rooms and quality service at a central location for a reasonable price. The hotel lobby has a nice quality to it. Shanghai Metro station is one block away and there are good nearby shopping and restaurant options.

Reviewed July 15, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Nobel from Philippines
Business traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

best hotel i stayed in Shanghai so far”

excellent service! beautiful room

This has been one of my best hotel stays in Shanghai so far. At least in the Nanjing road area. Langham is a brand so it has lived it to clients expectations. The rooms are so lovely, clean, spacious. gigantic bath tub! bed is sooooo comfortable i wished i had more time to sleep. Free WIFI in the room. SPA is alright but i didnt get to use it. My only issue was that my room was facing the wall of the next building. but its still ok. Subway station nearby. very convenient. If the rate is within the budget, i will stay here again next time. hotel staff very helpful

Reviewed December 11, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Matthew from Australia
Couple
Art Deco
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012

Glamour hotel with very attentive staff”

Well appointed art deco rooms, very friendly and helpful staff, wide variety buffet breakfast

we really enjoyed our stay at langham yangtze shanhai. the rooms were large and well appointed with a contemporary art deco style (a little over the top, but i love the art deco period). the staff were very attentive and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. the location to the people square subway was about 50 meters from the hotel entrance which was very handy. taxis could be a little difficult to get, but we never waited more the 5-10 mins. all in all, i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a refined and elegant experience.

Reviewed October 25, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Patrick from Australia
Couple
Art Deco
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012

Beautiful boutique style hotel w/ friendly service”

Presentation, room size, good condition, staff

Location: We found staying close to the People's Square for a weekend trip to check out the sites of Shanghai to be convenient. The hotel is pretty much right there on one of the boundaries of the Square, and about 25 metres from the entrance of the metro exit. Room: We found it to be very spacious. Our opinion. And the overall condition was good. Didn't have any gripes about any part of the room. Welcoming fruit platter was a nice touch. Hotel: This is not one of those huge hotels, but the lobby is still setup beautifully. Floors are well maintained. Service: Very pleased with the service. This comment is not meant to set the English standards of the city low, but 3 out of 4 staff are very well spoken in English, and make you feel very welcome easily having chats with you.

Reviewed August 04, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Niko from Malaysia
Business traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011

Great hotel, Ideal location”

Clean, comfortable bed

stayed at the langham yangtze for few times. service was superb. the location just off people's square was very handy to museums, the metro and nanjing road shopping and about a 15-minute walk to the bund. staff are nice and helpful. definitely one for a return visit

Reviewed October 17, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Joseph from United States
Couple
Art Deco
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011

Elegant hotel in a convenient location”

Nicely decorated, friendly service staff

Very friendly service staff... they gave my girlfriend a rose while we checked-in at the counter as well as self-serve hot tea when we entered the lobby Location of the hotel is quite good, as it is close to People's Square, Nanjing Lu and the Bund. Individual rooms are a bit dark (could use better lighting) but otherwise decorated quite well. Only criticism I would give is that it is a bit difficult to get a cab from outside the hotel on Hankou road given it is a small street. Very tough to get a cab during rush hour, but there are small motor carriages that are easy to flag down.

Reviewed August 03, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Angela from Australia
Business traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 5 nights in May 2010

Art Deco Heaven ”

The location, rooms, the ambiance, the service and especially the enormous bath tub with the tv! The best bath tub ever.
The shampoo - had an allergic reaction.

From the minute you arrive, the Langham feels like an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai. You enter your room and a video plays showing pictures of Old Shanghai with a lovely Chinese jazz singer in the background - immediately you are transported to 1930's Shanghai. This video is even better when viewed, soaking the enormous bath tub. Great location near the People's Square, Shanghai Musuem - you are no more than 20 minutes or so from anywhere including the Bund (which you can walk to from the hotel). Service is great and you must try Tang Court for the great value business lunch. There is not much to dislike about this classy, personal hotel. Its definitely my place to stay in Shanghai and loved every minute of it.

Reviewed May 27, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
George from Philippines
Solo traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 3 nights in January 2010

Shanghai Shanghai”

Good Looking, Very helpful staffs
None

The Hotel is located just a few blocks from the buzy buzy nanking road. The are so much to eat in this area and so much to buy or window shop. It was just amazing. Fronting the hotel is a mall that has so much to offer. The restaurants that I ate in the mall are really good and value for money.Its just a walking distance from everything. Check it out yourself. Nice interior and super spacious room.

Reviewed January 25, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
Thomas from Singapore
Business traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 2 nights in October 2009

Nice Hotel”

New, Excellent service and excellent location
Cannot find any!

This is a fantastic hotel that I would return and recommend to others. Prices now are not too high as it just opened it's door. Excellent location in Nanjing Road. Staff are well trained and service is excellent. With it's limited space, the hotel has created a cosy environment. The usual Langham's lobby fragrance makes your day feels better. Nice decor with small balcony that face the busy street that allow you to enjoy a cool breeze during autumn time.

Reviewed October 30, 2009
9.6
Exceptional
Eunice from Singapore
Solo traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Convenient, Easy Access & Spacious”

Hotel is conveniently located beside Raffles City Shopping Mall. Down 2 streets is the popular Ren Ming Guang Chang with malls and food outlets (local and restaurant) and you have lots of choices to choose from. MRT Exit 8 entrance is beside the hotel so travelling out via MRT is really convenient. Rooms are spacious, clean and staffs are helpful. Definitely a recommended hotel choice in Shanghai.

Reviewed November 14, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Ma from Philippines
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Best Hotel Ever”

This was a perfectly located hotel, close to the historic center of Shanghai. It is one hop away from the Metro, walking distance from People's square and the Shanghai Museum, as well as Nanjing Pedestrian Street. It is but a short distance by cab from the Bund, the French Concession, and the Old Town. I love that it has roots in Shanghai's heydays in the 30s and fully appreciate all the information shared about the hotel and that era. It was absolutely clean and comfortable, had all the amenities I expect from a high-end hotel. For us, personally, it also tied in well with our purpose for coming to Shanghai--that nostalgic flavor that is so appropriate to a return trip to a city where we once lived 25 years ago.

Reviewed November 08, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Jacqueline from Singapore
Business traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018

Big room & good location”

Very roomy, big washroom with separate toilet, shower & bath tub (with TV). Caucasians like to stay there. 1 min walk to the People's Square train station (exit 14). Shopping malls, eateries, coffee places are all nearby. 15 mins walk to the bund. Less than 10 mins to Shanghai museum. No regret staying there.

Reviewed October 30, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Jeffrey from Australia
Couple
Shanghai Grand
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

An Art Deco Beauty”

Great location with professional and polite staff who were able to speak reasonable English. The hotel lobby is stunning with its Art Deco layout and furnishings. The staircase is a standout. The only constructive feedback I could offer, especially after spending time at other 4 to 5 star hotels is the level of warmth was not on par with these hotels. It costs nothing to add a smile, offer a suggestion to assist us during our stay, hope we enjoyed our stay, or thank us for choosing their hotel.

Reviewed October 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Leisa from Australia
Couple
Art Deco
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018

Beautiful Hotel”

Beautiful Art Deco hotel. Rooms are spacious and in character with the hotel. Centrally located (if you take the metro- which is very easy - go to peoples square station and take exit 14) - lots of things within walking distance. Can’t fault it. Would stay again if in Shanghai.

Reviewed September 04, 2018
8.0
Excellent
KOH from Singapore
Solo traveler
Shanghai Grand
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

Good location hotel ”

The hotel is situationally located near the People’s Square. Just a few minutes walk away and u can find lots of shopping and good food area. It’s also very near to the metro and opposite the hotel is a shopping mall. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel room is spacious and clean. Definitely will stay here again!

Reviewed June 17, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jennifer from Philippines
Family with young children
Art Deco
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

The Hotel”

Oldie but goodie

Reviewed February 05, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Karuna from Thailand
Solo traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Good Hotel ”

Thank you so much for good staff. They’re so good and kind for me. Good location close to people’s Square train station Exit 14.

Reviewed January 05, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Rebecca from Singapore
Couple
Art Deco
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Great location”

Nice clean room which was very quiet

Reviewed December 27, 2018
8.0
Excellent
GUAN from Malaysia
Couple
Art Deco
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018

Good location, comfortable room”

Good location, comfortable room, clean bathroom with exception amenities. Our bathroom window is next toilet seat; cold during winter season for this particular Art Deco room.

Reviewed December 06, 2018
7.6
Very good
Elizabeth from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018

Very good”

When i made booking via travel agent, understood room rate was inclusive of taxes but at Hotel they informed otherwise. Was disappointed n perp with mis-information as most Agoda bookings in Shanghai hotels include tax

Reviewed November 29, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Kitti from Thailand
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

They took care and support us very well. The welcome noodle was very impressive. The room is clean.”

The breakfast is good. We love the location, which is very close to the metro and the shpping street. Overall was very great!

Reviewed October 15, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Melanie from United States
Couple
Shanghai Grand
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Time with Friends ”

It was a beautiful room in a fantastic location. A friend and I stayed there for a reunion and at times we didn't want to leave out luscious room.

Reviewed October 04, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Emmeree from Philippines
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

Exceptional”

Rooms are very spacious. Location is also great! It's near the subway and malls.

Reviewed September 22, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Jnnifer from United Kingdom
Couple
Art Deco
Stayed 5 nights in March 2018

Brilliant location”

Ideal location right next to people’s park, Nanjing street and the metro to just about anywhere you want to go. Internet very slow but that’s China for you. No outdoor space to sit and have a coffee but beautiful hotel and wonderful concierge staff. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed April 03, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Dharampal from Singapore
Family with young children
Shanghai Grand
Stayed 5 nights in March 2018

Excellent Hotel, Fabulous location”

This is a beautiful hotel, nice decor. We had breakfast here too which was plentiful and good quality. The metro station is literally steps away from the hotel and Nanjing Road is round the corner, making a walk down to the bund very easy.

Reviewed March 15, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Dharampal from Singapore
Family with young children
Art Deco Junior Suite
Stayed 5 nights in March 2018

Excellent Hotel, Fabulous location”

This is a beautiful hotel, nice decor. We had breakfast here too which was plentiful and good quality. The metro station is literally steps away from the hotel and Nanjing Road is round the corner, making a walk down to the bund very easy.

Reviewed March 15, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Yolanda from Australia
Couple
Art Deco
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017

Intimate, beautiful and interesting. ”

Intimate hotel. Beautiful and interesting 1930’s decor. Very clean and comfortable. Huge bathtubs. A pleasant 20-30 minute walk to the Bund via the shopping mall. Small local eateries around the corner. Pleasant and helpful staff.

Reviewed November 19, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Yolanda from Australia
Couple
Art Deco
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

Luxurious, stylish boutique style”

We highly recommend the Yangtze. It’s on a smaller more intimate scale with Artdeco artifacts. Rooms were spotless. Huge bathtubs as well as a separate shower, comfortable beds. They were generous with leaving you bottled water everyday, and you also were left chocolates. Staff were personable and helpful. The hotel was intimate, peaceful and beautiful in a handy part of town. Close to shopping mall, a strip of local eateries and only a 15-20 minute walk to Bund.

Reviewed November 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Tiffany from Australia
Couple
Shanghai Grand
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017

Loved it!”

We had a great stay here. Not only were the rooms very spacious, they were also very clean and well maintained inside. We loved all the little details they added to our room such as daily complimentary chocolates and comfy slippers placed by our bed. Service from the staff was fantastic, as they were able to help us with booking nearby restaurants as well as currency exchange. Will definately stay here again! One improvement that can be made is perhaps a renovation to the hotel gym, which was ageing and needed some more equipment.

Reviewed November 14, 2017
4.8
mahmood from Bahrain
Business traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

Not worth this hotel”

The room is big enough but they don't know who to deigned it., 2nd which is the main, the bed mattress seems old & can't sleep all night...!!! This main reason i checked out for my balance 2 night. I recommend Grand Central Hotel is great choice, cheaper & much much better you can call it 5 star hotel.

Reviewed November 10, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Julia from Australia
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Fantastic stay in Shanghai”

What a fantastic hotel to boost up your travelling experience in Shanghai! Would recommend this great boutique hotel to anyone looking for an upscale and yet different from the world chain of hotels. It's also right next to Raffles City Mall, People's Square in Shanghai

Reviewed April 22, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Sarah from United Kingdom
Couple
Art Deco Junior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

Great value in a great location”

The room was really clean and comfortable with a large bed and adjoining lounge area. We didn't have breakfast here so can't comment on that but the location is great, really close to some good cafes and restaurants. The subway station is really convenient and located just across the road. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed January 17, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Helen from United States
Couple
Family
Stayed 7 nights in December 2016

Great Hotel”

This hotel was absolutely perfect for us. Very convenient to our needs and and super close to the subway. There are a number of terrific restaurants within walking distance. The room we got was the family size room with a king bed facing the street with a view. It was really lovely with a gorgeous bathroom. The only reason I gave 4 stars for the staff is because their English is limited. I speak alittle Chinese which helped but I can see it as a problem if you don't speak any Chinese at all. Otherwise, the staff is super nice and accommodating. I can't recommend it enough.

Reviewed December 28, 2016
3.2
King from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Art Deco
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016

Better choice nearby”

Poorly managed by a local company. Very dusty carpet. Full of dust inside the tissue box in the toilet. The cleaning lady put our clothes on the dirty carpet when she made up the room. Will pay a bit more for an international brand next time.

Reviewed December 27, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Norman from United States
Couple
Art Deco Junior Suite
Stayed 5 nights in November 2016

Lack of functioning wi-fi”

We could never get the wi-fi service to function in or near our room. Other than that one issue, we loved the hotel, our suite, the staff, and the location. We would recommend it to friends if the wi-fi issue is resolved

Reviewed December 12, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
SungMin from South Korea
Business traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016

Bang for Buck including stores near by”

I was on a business trip and stayed there for two nights and enjoyed very much at the hotel. There are many shops and restaurants near by so you don't need to just stay indoors wondering what to do and what to eat as the hotel food is not that great.

Reviewed October 17, 2016
7.6
Very good
kok from Malaysia
Business traveler
Art Deco Junior Suite
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016

Not according to room type booked”

I booked 3 rooms junior suite type.. during my late check in at mid night 2am. Only 1 of 3 according to the type we booked. The receiptionist says at this hour has no more same type room available.. i felt it is unfare but due to late night and tired travelling from airport.. i just take the room

Reviewed April 17, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Ye from Singapore
Business traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

best hotel ever stayed in Shanghai”

top-notched service, clean and spacious rooms, very convenient location

I stayed for only one night, but has already decided that Yangtze boutique hotel to be my go-to hotel in Shanghai in the future. The room is very clean and spacious with a luxurious touch. Hotel staff is very helpful and attentive. The hotel is centrally located, close to all amenities, including No.1 subway station, numerous local restaurants and large shopping malls. It was a great stay and I highly recommend this hotel. The only drawback though, is that I found the bed a bit too soft for me. This is just a personal opinion as I'm not quite use to very soft bed.

Reviewed November 25, 2015
5.0
Teo from Singapore
Business traveler
Shanghai Grand
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015

boring hotel”

friendly door men

The room has a strong odour,guessed from the carpet. Have requested for high floor and they put me in 4th floor without view !!! I booked for a GRAND room which is not standard room so they should make an effort for my request. Have stayed other hotels in Shanghai and this is probably the worse base on what I paid for...

Reviewed November 02, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Simon from Australia
Couple
Art Deco
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015

Amazing Hotel in a fantastic location”

Friendly & helpful staff; Fantastic room, Limited but excellent menu; Location could not be better

From the moment we arrived until we left all the staff were friendly and helpful. The location could not have been better, only a short walk to many attractions. Our room was excellent, very comfortable and very clean

Reviewed August 22, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
David from United Kingdom
Couple
Shanghai Grand
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015

Glad to be back.”

The comfort of the bed. The niceness of the staff. The breakfast.

The Yangtze is the perfect hotel for those travelling that want a 5 star experience without being overwhelmed in a giant corporate hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, especially the beds, along with a fantastic deep tub. Breakfast is a nice mix of Chinese and western. Second visit. Would be happy to return.

Reviewed August 09, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Shannan from Australia
Solo traveler
Shanghai Grand
Stayed 4 nights in May 2015

Stayed 4 nights”

Room and bathroom are well appointed, and very specious.

Enjoyed my stay in Shanghai for 4 nights, centralised location, only steps away from people's square station. Well appointed room and bathroom. Absolutely five star standard room, however the bfast is not good as expected, majority of the food are only warm and would be cold very soon when they got on ur plate. Food quality needs improvement. A/C is a bit noisy so I turned it off when sleeping. Overall, it's a nice hotel in a prime location. I will stay again.

Reviewed June 03, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Jiaquan from Singapore
Business traveler
Art Deco
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Lovely hotel slightly off Nanjing East Road.”

Room cleanliness, location of hotel and friendly hotel staffs.

The hotel stay was a pleasant one. Spacious room with big bathroom and big study table good for working condition. Did not try the breakfast nor cafe but tried the Japanese restaurant just next to the entrance of the hotel. It has very good food. Tried the massage as well and it was good just that you may want to confirm your timing earlier as i waited about 30 minutes to get started due to an extension from previous customer.

Reviewed May 02, 2015