Book Now: Tonsai Bay Resort

Very good
From 845 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8
/
10
Recommended by 83% of guests

Reviews of Tonsai Bay Resort Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (845)Booking.com Reviews (1606)
7.8
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.9
Facilities7.6
Location8.4
Room comfort and quality7.3
Service7.8
Value for money7.6
All languages
All guests (845)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 648 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Caitlan from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

LOVELY!”

This resort is beautiful, quiet, and just stunning all around! Tonsai Beach is a quiet solitude! The resort is surrounded by beautiful rock walls, and right on the beach! Rooms and bathroom were very clean! AC worked wonders! Beds were very comfy :) Overall great place :) would definitely stay again!

Reviewed May 16, 2019
5.2
Sarah from Australia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Wish we’d stayed at Railey Beach”

After a lot of research we really didn’t know whether to stay on Railey beach or Ton Sai but thought we’d stay Ton Sai given some reviews that’s it’s quieter less touristy we like that vibe. But this place is something else! When we went early May, low season there was nothing on the island just a dirty beach, one bar and the hotel restaurant. The boat docks over at Railey and the only way to get there during high tide is by boat which cost 300 baht then when we arrived there is no ATM so we had to go back over this time we tried walking around the mountain which is a bit of an effort up uneven rocks and off a cliff top and through the jungle it doesn’t take long about 20/25 mins it’s just not very safe. The we paid another 300 baht to get the boat back to Ton Sai. Railey looks beautiful we will be back to stay there for sure. We are not rock climbers I can imagine if you are only there to climb this is ideal for you but it wasn’t for us. Also the food is not great for the money. Breakfast option is a small fruit platter, / pieces of white toast eggs and some dodgy looking ham.

Reviewed May 13, 2019
6.8
Good
Petra from Thailand
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 5 nights in May 2019

limited breakfast, nice staff”

We were staying here during the off season when there was no electricity during the daylight. The breakfast was a bit disappointing. Tonsai is a hippi area with all the guys who are enjoying the life with some questionable drugs.

Reviewed May 11, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Janusz from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Hidden gem”

Amazing location next to the quiet beach where you can enjoy swimming, climbing or kayaking. Busy Raily beach is just 10 Min away through passage when tide is low. We discovered many good places to eat like Mama Chilen in the Tonsai village. Tonsay bay is Not overcrowded with tourist which is very good. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. Definitely I would chose this hotel again.

Reviewed March 25, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Leonid from Canada
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Beautiful place to stay close by to Railay beach”

We spent two nights at Tonsai Bay Resort and were happy with everything (except for restaurant service, which is managed separately from resort). Spectacular view, very good vibes, as a result of type of crowd who comes there. Very laid back atmosphere. Many young climbers fancy this beach. About 10-15 min walk from Railay Beach. To get to Railay you need to take a path over a small hill in the forest or walk around it on stones during low tides (first half of the day). Tonsai Bay is a little quieter than Railay, so it is great to chill during the day, although it get pretty shallow during the low tide. The staff was very friendly and helpful at the resort. Room was clean and had no issues whatsoever. We enjoyed the stay very much.

Reviewed January 17, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Lauren from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Secluded and tranquil resort right on the beach.”

Loved this place and would HIGHLY recommend. It was so amazingly quiet; not something you get often when right on the beach. There are bars and other restaurants only a short walk away. You can also get to the more happening Railay via a 20 minute walk.

Reviewed December 12, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Ryan from France
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018

Nice place. Nice location. Nice staff”

The place is great : cool ambiance, great food at the restaurant (globally) and excellent cocktails at the Freedom Bar ! Staff very friendly and helpful. The beach is very nice close to the big cliffs, better than Railey for me (too much people on Railey.) I tried a superior room and a villa. All was nice. Breakfast was correct. Little shops near the restaurant and the beach (laundry, mini mark, rock climbing shop) Easy access to the "main village" Only bad point : the bathroom in the room was very badly designed

Reviewed December 08, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018

Tonsai Bay Resort is a niche hotel but worth it!!!”

Tonsai Bay Resort has grown up in the past few years. We have been staying here for many years now, and this year was also very good. There are some weird things now though. There is a huge wall that blocks off the resort from the rest of Tonsai Bay. You will have to use a key card to go up to the hillside section and restaurants (Mama's Chicken Kitchen). There seems to be a divide between Tonsai Bay Resort, the new resort being developed, and the community that is Tonsai Bay. Of course in low season there is no electricity in the rooms between 9am and 5pm. We stayed in the deluxe bungalow as usual, and the staff is always warm and welcoming to us because we have stayed here for so many years. Breakfast is kind of limited if you don't eat meat or eggs.

Reviewed November 10, 2018
6.8
Good
Skylar from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Good”

Each room only gives two towels- no extra towels for the beach or wash cloths. Showers do not have hot water. The restaurant has really slow service. There are no lounge chairs or umbrellas at the beach. To be frank, this is a hotel with limited amenities so be prepared. But if you are really here to soak up the sun and enjoy the nature, this is the best hotel for close proximity and if you want a little bit more comfort than a hostel.

Reviewed January 02, 2019
3.2
Carly from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Review score”

Really strange place with huge brick wall around, unfriendly staff, extras to pay and n arrival. Very basic rooms. Shame because the setting should be very picturesque. Quite run down and looks uncared for.

Reviewed December 27, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Zaklina from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2018

Second time at That resort”

We were so far very satisfied with our stay there.. no sign of mass tourism as on Railey beach.. if you’re at Tonsai for climbing this is a good place to stay.. breakfast was ok.. However on the bedsheets and towels were some stains :(

Reviewed December 11, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
iona from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 12 nights in November 2018

Not Too Shabby!”

The location was great, exactly where we wanted to be (near rock climbing). The staff maintained the paths, rooms and surrounding foliage very well and the food was good. Only downside really was not enough storage for clothes in the rooms if you’re there for a proper holiday like we were...we only had 1 shallow drawer and 4 fixed coat hangers in the wardrobe, so it meant primarily living out of a suitcase for nearly 2 weeks. If we went back to Tonsai, I would more than happily stay at Tonsai Bay Resort again (but I might just bring some cheap coat hangers next time)

Reviewed November 26, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Michele from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Beautiful beach”

I enjoyed the resort, yes remote and relaxing. I wish there were signs on where to check in as beach staff didn’t speak much English. Also I wish they would let you know at the top of the property you go through the door and there are restaurants, little mini marts, also you can walk along the beach and through the rock to another beautiful beach. The breakfast awesome, something for everyone. Also they should let you know they have a golf cart to take you over to the long boats.

Reviewed January 30, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Rina from United States
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 8 nights in January 2018

Good choice in Tonsai”

Tonsai Bay Resort was the right option for us for our week long stay in Tonsai. As much as I don’t love the wall that surrounds the resort (and the upcoming development in Tonsai), it was very nice to have 24 hours electricity, AC, mini fridge and a TV with English movies. Everything worked well but the bungalow is looking a little tired and could use an update. Breakfast buffet was pretty good with eggs cooked to order, lots of vegetables and fruit, yogurt, cereal and choices of varying hot items: pancakes or french toasts, fried rice, pad Thai, pad see ew, curry, some meat. WiFi was strong.

Reviewed January 22, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Laura from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017

Exceeded Expectations”

Tonsai Bay Resort lives up to its' pictures. We were in a room in the main building and overlooked the palm grove which we saw monkeys frolicking in a few times. Room, building, and grounds were kept clean and tidy. Breakfast buffet was okay - not outstanding, but not bad either. There were a few shops within the resort area which made things convenient - beach bar, wash (laundry), extra water, massage, rock climbing, and at the top back of the resort you could get to the village which had other restaurants, shops, and a few food carts. Tonsai Beach area is laid back, quiet, and basic. If you are expecting high-end, Railay might be more your choice, but Tonsai was perfect for us and the resort exceeded our expectations.

Reviewed December 28, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 5 nights in October 2017

Tonsai Bay is not for everyone...”

But it is absolutely PERFECT for us!!! This is our 4th stay at Tonsai Bay Resort. Although many changes have happened since our 1st stay. We rented the deluxe bungalow which has had a few upgrades. The bathroom is better and now wi-fi is available, It is worth mentioning that there is no electricity in the rooms between 9:30 and 5 pm. This did not effect us much at all and we have come to expect it. Breakfast was good, and the staff is very accommodating. Crossing over to Railay in the front or the back can be challenging, and the Mama's Chicken kitchen up the hill from Tonsai Bay Resort is AMAZING!!!

Reviewed November 08, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Anna from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Superior Villa
Stayed 10 nights in June 2017

A great escape ”

I stayed 10 nights at Ton Sai Resort as an escape from a overly busy life. It's remote and quiet. Very quiet. The beach was not as nice as I imagined and there are no deck chairs or loungers. Between May and September it is super quiet with few restaurants and shops open in the area. I would stay again. It's biggest draw back is how hard it is to get there. Backpackers tend to walk in, I paid another $60USD to have a private transfer. (Unfortunately they forgot to pick me up - be wary of booking that through Agoda.) However the transfer when it worked was super convenient.

Reviewed July 31, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Stacey from United States
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 5 nights in February 2014

LOVED hearing the gibbons singing in the morning!”

gibbons!; location; clean/comfortable

My husband and I came to Tonsai for five days to climb and stayed at Tonsai Bay Resort. The rooms are simple, but very nice and very clean and all closed up. The location is awesome; everything in Tonsai is close, but these villas are among the first off the beach, which is nice because the further you get into the jungle on the Tonsai side, the more things start to smell of feces. The restaurant and breakfast were fine, though nothing special compared to other parts of Thailand we visited. This spot is really great for folks who want to stay on the Tonsai side of the peninsula but a) don't feel like having to trek around looking for a place to stay; b) want a slightly higher-end, more comfortable accommodation than the "dirtbagger" spots that dominate this side. The "front desk" staff were a mixed bag - there was a young woman who was helpful and sort of friendly and a man who was downright surly; the restaurant and room staff were all great and super friendly.

Reviewed May 17, 2014
8.3
Excellent
GUAN from China
Family with young children
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in January 2014

good location”

location, food, fun

nice view of sunset when having dinnet at the hotel's restaurant. food are good and price is reasonable. it was good to watch mokeys around, outside our room, watching us having breakfast. overall, the resort is good value of money.

Reviewed February 01, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Robert from United States
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013

Tonsai is AMAZING!!!!”

location, solitude, ambience

This was our 2nd trip to Tonsai Bay Resort. The staff is helpful and friendly, the room is very clean and quite large. The bathroom has trouble with hot water in the sink or shower, but that was fine... The restaurant is quite good with many delicious selections including breakfast. What was not acceptable at all was the public restrooms behind the restaurant. These were horrific to say the least. They are obviously public but I was forced to trek back to our bungalow rather than using this fiasco of an outhouse.

Reviewed November 19, 2013
8.0
Excellent
NETCHANOK from Thailand
Family with young children
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

FOR CLIMBING MOUNTAIN RESORT”

NEAR SEABEACH NEAR MOUNTAIN GOOD FOOD

Tonsai resort is suitable for the tourist that prefer hiking the mountain and the peace because it's far from night club, can stay for a long time because there are many cheap resort on the Tonsai beach.

Reviewed June 27, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
bonnie from United States
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

Great price for hotel”

Large room, great staff, close to everything.

It was great, there where monkey's all over next to large Rock climbing area, near beach. Was very happy with this hotel. I had to say best hotel on beach as this was the only one i found that was perfect for me, air con and lights 24 7, others close during the day..

Reviewed May 07, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
HU from China
Group
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

a short walk away from the beach”

Great location

The hotel is near the beach (some rooms are a little far, but other from that is great). The beach can be a little rocky, but it is great to get a callac and go to the beaches around. The night is awsome, relaxed bars, good people and vive.

Reviewed February 07, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Nicholas from Belgium
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

Nice resort in a fantastic environment”

lots of space and close to the beach

It seems one of the best resorts/bungalows to stay at. It's only about 100-200 metres from the beach. It has a great restaurant, order the crab! and the breakfast is also good. A good place to stay at!

Reviewed November 21, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012

amazing location ”

off the beaten path, amazing view and beach, best mango & sticky rice so far

this resort may not be for everyone, but i found it nearly perfect!!! 1st thing you know is that your bungalo will not have electricity between the hours of 9am and 5pm. but in all reality you should never be in your bungalo during those hours anyhow. there is a nice little jungle path between tonsai and railay beach that is a great little hike, and at low tide you can just walk around the cliff. the resteraunt is reasonable priced and the staff is super friendly. great for rock climbing, beginner through advanced!!!

Reviewed November 05, 2012
8.7
Excellent
jessy from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012

fun and great location!”

2 mins walk to a lovely beach!

we really enjoyed staying, it is a great location and the staff are nice. tonsia is quite a small beach, with not loads to do unless you like climbing! but this was ok for us as there are some fun bars and good places to eat.

Reviewed October 27, 2012
7.2
Very good
Julie from Canada
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 5 nights in April 2019

Great location, crap amenities ”

A beautiful spot with a cool, climber dude vibe. Very quiet and peaceful. However, it is only accessible by boat so be prepared. We were expecting a little paddle through ankle deep water and an easy climb onto the boat but this was absolutely not the case. On both the journey to Tonsai and the journey back out again we found ourselves wading through chest high water whilst trying to manage our luggage so if you book this hotel make sure you are prepared to get very wet indeed. The other thing to be prepared for is the fact that there are no amenities to speak of. There is no pool and no lounge chairs to be found on the resort. We were there for five nights and quickly learned that heading to Railay West was our best option to enjoy beach life. There is a path across a small peninsula but might be difficult for some people to negotiate as it is quite rocky and steep in places. We mostly took the long tailed boats both ways for a cost of about 300baht each way.

Reviewed April 18, 2019
7.6
Very good
Tim from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Very good”

Awesome place right under the cliff. Monkeys were around and cool to look at. The trail to Railay is rough and so is the transfer from the ferry. Only good for able bodied people. Restaurant and breakfast are solid with an amazing view of the beach.

Reviewed March 22, 2019
7.6
Very good
Adrien
Solo traveler
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

The nicest option on Tonsai Bay Beach”

There's not too much bad to say about a place like this. The property is beach front, even though the villas and rooms are not. I booked a deluxe villa, which was spacious though lacking in some amenities. On the sink were two indistinct bottles - I couldn't tell if they were soap and something else or shampoo and conditioner. The bed is hard, which is normal for a place like this. The essential points are that the air conditioner is good and the wifi surprisingly fast. Because it was low season, there was only in-room electricity from 5pm-9am, which I hadn't realized upon booking but didn't end up mattering since you're here to spend the day outside anyway. The beach itself is quiet and secluded, though the sand is rough. There was also some construction of a hut that would have been annoying if I had decided to sunbathe on the beach. Instead I went to Railey, which is accessible through a somewhat treacherous trek through the rocks.

Reviewed October 22, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
David from New Zealand
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 5 nights in August 2018

Beautiful place pity about the walls”

We were seeking a quiet space and in August the low season it is that. In hindsight we probably badly would stay in Railay Bay if there is a n XX time just because there is a 15-25minute walk either around rocks at low tide or in ver small rocky point as tide closes in. At hide time you either take long boat or walk 45mins over hill via jungle to get to Railay and other beaches including Pra Nang. A sad thing has been done by the Ton Sai Bay resort I. That it has built a wall between it and the small village out the back of it. Accessible by a card swipe. However a rich Italian purchased land next door to resort and has built another wall around land on all sides blocking out villages and those that stay at budget accommodation in village. The villages are really sad about this as it means less people stay in the village and their quick access out is restricted. It also blocks the sea breeze and their view of nature between them and sea. Sad.

Reviewed August 20, 2018
6.8
Good
Dom from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

Great spot for beach but feels slightly isolated”

The hotel and villas were great but felt cut off from rest of resort as there was a big concrete wall surrounding the resort. Restaurant is right on beach so great location but make sure you walk back into the jungle to experience the real Tonsai. Be aware power is also shut off between 9am and 6pm as they generate all power from their own generators. This may have just been because it was low season though.

Reviewed May 15, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Lucan from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

Grateful this place had 24/7 AC”

We were staying at another hotel and wasn’t aware that Tonsai shuts off power during a certain time. Luckily Tonsai Bay resort had electrity at all times during our stay, we had to pay double what the other place was charging but it was well worth it to have electricity during the hottest hours of the day (the other place even had a pool but even that didn’t help). Be aware Tonsai Bay resort also shuts off power depending on the season so check with them before booking. The room was nice enough, there was quite a few bugs (mosquitoes, drain flies, flying ants, regular ants and fruit flies) hanging out in the room with us and we made sure all doors and windows were closed unless we were entering and exiting the room. I don’t think you can find a place that is bug free anyways but be prepared. The restaurant attached to the resort is the nicest one in the area and the staff were really nice. If I came back to Tonsai I would without a doubt book with Tonsai Bay resort again.

Reviewed May 01, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Catherine from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Excellent”

Great value for money. We booked three villas and large rooms set into trees. Felt the owners cared about the environment. No rubbish (as we’d seen on Koh Lanta) and cans/water bottles looked like they were recycled. Bathrooms could do with an update. No pool but restaurant and bar. Beautiful setting - good place to chill for a couple of nights or do rock climbing and kayaking. Possibly bit sea locked for longer stay. Boat to ferry leaves from the end of the beach - could have been better explained by hotel. Call them to say you are coming and they will send water taxi to collect you off the ferry.

Reviewed April 13, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Leon from United States
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018

Great Location good price”

Great location and good price. 2 minute walk to the beach and long tail boats. Power and A/C 24 available 24 hours. Only negative was small stains on some of the sheets which is why i gave a 3 for cleanliness. But for the price, this is the nicest beach and location you can get in the area. Spend 2-4 times as much if you stay in West Railay. I'd stay here again.

Reviewed April 11, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
SABRINA from Singapore
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 7 nights in April 2018

Great stay and very convenient! ”

We stayed here for eight nights and it was our very first time at Tonsai. Very convenient for us as we loved being right by the water and it's walkable to Railay, even though it was rocks and mud but it's an adventure. The room was a superior bungalow, duplex type with a neighbouring guests. Bed is super comfortable but too squeaky. Every time I turned, it made a noise. There's good space, enough for our bags and RockClimbing gear, ropes and all. Toilet is clean and toiletries provided but no toothbrush. No problem, minimarts everywhere for almost ALL your needs. Great balcony area, enough space to chill. I wish there was a tap to wash our feet or scrubby mat outside our door to get rid of sand on our feet before going in. Great breakfast provided. Egg station is great! Cereal, noodles, rice and bread staples, hard boiled eggs and basic salad and fresh fruit also offered. Good enough for us. Awesome to have electricity all day! Only during peak season!

Reviewed April 09, 2018
6.8
Good
Jessica from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

There are places just as good as this hotel for half the price”

Our friends stayed at a hotel almost next door and paid half of the price that we paid for much better facilities. We had booked far ahead and our friends just turned up next door.The superior villa is attached to another villa so you really have no privacy on your balcony and have to be really careful to not disturb the neighbors. Staff were however kind and helpful and the place was clean.

Reviewed March 28, 2018
7.6
Very good
Matthew from Australia
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Paradise”

This place is set in a beautiful tropical paradise. I really enjoyed my stay here and wish I stayed for longer. This resort is set in an absolutely stunning area and I have never stayed at a place like this. Unique, beautiful, paradise, highly recommended. I hope to return one day.

Reviewed March 20, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Rachel from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018

Good choice”

Good place to stay on Ton Sai Beach. We had a great room with nice views (enjoyed watching the monkeys in the trees outside our room), close to the beach and away from the infamous wall - if you visit, you have to take a walk through the trees and climb the bamboo ladder over the wall to "the other side", it's like something out of Mad Max!!! TonSai beach was nice and quiet when we there - preferred it to West Railay which is beautiful but gets so busy that it is hard to find a shady spot to relax in. Loved drinking beer in the beachside bar and watching the climbers. Would recommend.

Reviewed March 16, 2018
7.6
Very good
Masahiro from United States
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Good resort hotel”

Pros Beach side location Mini mart, rock climbing, massage shop in the hotel Friendly staffs with cute cats Cons Bungalow was a bit old. You can stay better hotels near there with less money. I thought a villa is better but actually villa is 2 room units, we have to share the villa with another customers. All in all, customers staying there are nice and comfortable to stay. I will stay again if I stay in tonsai.

Reviewed February 16, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Melissa from Canada
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

A couple days at Tonsai Bay Resort”

We spent a couple of days on Tonsai Bay Resort. After reading the reviews we were expecting a super shabby hotel, but the facilities and grounds are actually quite beautiful. the rooms are large enough, clean, beds are comfy and breakfast is plentiful. The staff are nice as well. The prices on the resort from the dinner menu, bar, little convenience store are triple the price, but that is expected . The trip getting to Tonsai is another story. We knew what to expect, but it is quite the mission, especially in the evening. You have to get to Ao Nang Pier, wait until they have at least 10 passengers (150 THB each in the evening), then trek about 100m out in the ocean and hop into a long tail boat. Make sure you have sturdy sandals or go bare feet for this part. If you have rolling luggage you'll have to carry it over your head as you'll be treading in water well above the knees. From there, the boat ride is about 10-12 minutes stopping at Tonsai about 80m out and low tide.

Reviewed January 28, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Lucienne from Spain
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018

Lovely resort in a quite area but with a nice bar and restaurant area”

We really enjoyed this hotel. It is a bit isolated from the rest of the railay hotel, being in tonsai, but you can easily make it to the rest of the peninsula by a 30 min walk through the jungle, a 15 min walk along the cost at low tide only or a 50 baht boat ride. They offer many activities, kayaking, rock climbing, a nice bar with good atmosphere and where all the rock climbers hang out at the end of the day. The food at the restaurant was delicious and the breakfast unbeatable. We had a lovely stay and would definitely come back.

Reviewed January 15, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Tim from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Very good”

Great location. Hike to Railay Beach was a bit of a trek. Definitely go see Princess Cave beach in the morning, beautiful! The resorts vicinity to the more laidback backpacker area is great. Too bad there is a giant concrete wall separating the two. The vibe at Tonsai beach is way more low key and chill than at the other beaches, which tailor more to families i assume.

Reviewed January 12, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Jane from United States
Family with teens
Superior Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018

Inexpensive stay in paradise ”

This is a great place to stay if you do not need a lot of luxury. It is a fairly private beach setting and is within walking distance of a bigger beach. The amenities were adequate for a peaceful stay at the beach.

Reviewed January 09, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Sandro from Italy
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

finish it off with the slippers !!!”

all right, but they should avoid having our slippers removed from the entrance, to walk with our sand feet on a dirty floor; I think wearing slippers is more hygienic to avoid diseases, cleaner because the sand does not stick to slippers, and certainly more suited to our times.

Reviewed January 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Roxann from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Exceptional”

Ton Sai is magical. Don’t forget to checkout the reggae bar, the cement wall art and the stars at night on the beach. Look for mimosa plants that everywhere on the side of the road. They shut when you touch them.

Reviewed December 28, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Kseniia from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 12 nights in November 2017

Jungles treasure ”

Great location if you are looking at a peaceful days at the sea side. The local beach is clean, but with stones and not so amazing as Railay Beach, but you can get there thought the cliffs in about 15 minutes. Don't forget shoes for the cliff/water walk The only bad thing is the wall across the hotel with the door that could be opened only from outside. To leave the hotel and go to the mainland you should wait till someone come inside. Not the best experience especially in case of some unforeseen circumstances when you are locked inside the hotel

Reviewed December 24, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Marisa from United States
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Decent, near the beach and town”

We booked this hotel because we were nervous the bungalows and hostels in Tonsai would be sold out. We did not realize there was a concrete wall surrounding the resort, blocking the town from the property. This made us feel very strange, especially since we were backpackers there to climb and kayak. The wall made us feel “separate” from the rest of town. The room was ok. Very bland, no decoration. The bed was clean and soft, floors and desks were nice. We enjoyed the patio, but we shared it with our neighbors. The bathroom was not so nice. Rusty fixtures, cracked tile and peeling paint. I’m pretty sure there was a dead snail in the sink. For $75 a night in Thailand, I’d expect better. The food at the hotel restaurant was terrible. Avoid eating there, it’s expensive and not good. Better to walk back into town and eat much better food for half the price. We did enjoy the complimentary breakfast with a view of the basejumpers each morning. Overall, this is an okay hotel.

Reviewed December 23, 2017
6.8
Good
abdoullah from France
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Amazing ”

Tonsai bay IS the place you dont want to leave. It is quiet, peaceful. The resort is good but what makes it amazing is the breakfast by the beach and the restaurant's staff. The rooms are ok, no boiler or free coffee/tea like in all the other hotels. The bathroom is small and old. The lady at reception never says good morning and never smiles though..

Reviewed December 13, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Krystal from United States
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

Delightful”

My husband and I were here on our honeymoon and had booked the deluxe villa for 3 nights. We wish we could have stayed in Tonsai Bay forever. Next time, we will book more nights! Our first night we were put in a duplex bungalow with two twin beds pushed together under 2 separate mosquito nets (not ideal for honeymooners). I went to the front desk and she advised me that while they couldn’t rememdy the situation that day, she was able to put us in a bungalow the next day. We were happy with that. We sat out on the porch and watched families of monkeys swing through the trees. What a great sight. The restaurant food was not very good so we went through the gate in the back for some Mama Chicken and Green Valley. Would recommend both. The resort bar on the beach is great for watching the sunset and the staff was very friendly as well. Thanks for everything! Will stay again.

Reviewed November 19, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Brook from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

Solid Facilities, Great Location”

Pros: lovely location on isolated Ton Sai beach, great chef at restaurant, cool seaside bar next to cliff, hot water, good AC, quiet, helpful staff, pleasant balcony Cons: shower is a little awkward as bathroom is smallish and it's not separate from the toilet. Locking valuables is a little time consuming, but doable at the front desk

Reviewed November 03, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Doreen from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2017

Best hotel in tonsai ”

This is the best hotel in tonsai. Ac and electricity is only on from 5:30pn until 9:30pm. Rooms are clean and bed was comfortable. Fridge was in which was very convent. The beach looks nice but lots of stones and trash around. In rainy season it's very quiet, almost like a ghost town, but Viking bar is always jumping.

Reviewed July 20, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Courtney from United States
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017

Beautiful Resort but AC blackouts and Creatures”

Overall this resort is beautiful and I think Tonsai is hands down the best place to stay on the inlet. However, the AC was shut off from 9 to 5 every day which was rough, and we had an assortment of creatures in our room including a giant cockroach and a snake! I do think this place is the best choice on the island, but think twice if you're looking for a luxury resort.

Reviewed June 19, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Stacy from United States
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2017

Excellent”

I really enjoyed staying rather than by the more busy Railay or Ao Nang beaches. It was difficult to get a long tail boat out as there were not many tourists leaving (or even there). Walk away from the beach and eat at Mama's Chicken -- that was my favorite!

Reviewed May 15, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Manon from Germany
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2017

Really good hotel in Tonsaï Bay”

Really cute and comfy hotel in a dream location. I stayed only 1 night but really enjoyed it. It is the only hotel you will find in this area. The others are more like little bungalows but they don't offer the same comfort. It's right in the nature and less touristic than the other side (railey beach). The staff was really friendly.

Reviewed May 12, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Kyle from United States
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017

Highly recommend!”

Tunsai Bay was a fantastic resort experience! The room was clean and updated and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The real highlight is the location itself. It is nestled amongst Karst cliffs, monkey-filled trees, and right on the beach. The rock climbing vibe is fun and relaxed, even for those of us that don't climb, and there are great restaurants in short walking distance and the one on site is nice and has amazing views. We can't recommend this hotel enough!

Reviewed May 04, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Aileen from United States
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 4 nights in April 2017

Perfect blend of quiet + comfort”

We wanted a quieter place to stay, yet wanted to stay in a place that had slightly better amenities than some of the other accommodations in Tonsai. We could enjoy all that Tonsai and Railay had to offer, yet stay in place that was not overcrowded and was quite quiet (save for the cicadas and frogs at night! Though those are welcome night noises!). Highly recommend

Reviewed April 21, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Yuen from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

Great place to stay”

I really had a good time staying in Tonsai Bay. It was really relaxing to stay there. Although it's a little pricey but no complains. I had a nice working hot shower, nice environment, good food around the area and it's fun to talk to locals.

Reviewed March 27, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Teresa from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Great location”

Great location, beach was less busy than Railey. If you have heavy luggage you will want a boat to this beach so you don't have to walk through the rocky(fun) passage from railey West. From the restaurant you can watch rock climbers venture up the amazingly high walls. This appears to be the advanced area, although there are areas for lessons if you care to learn. Very clean rooms (new). Good Aircon and shower pressure. Wish there was a small pool to enjoy when the tide is low.

Reviewed March 15, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Lukas from Lithuania
Family with young children
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017

Tonsai is must see place”

Some facts about this hotel: 1. Nice location, just you have to UNDERSTAND that you can not come with a car, only with the boat it costs 100b. It is a nice experience. 2. You have several unofficial hikes - you can gave a walking trip to Railay - here is two ways to do that - over jungle in the beach, and crossing all Tonsai village, and then claiming into the mountain (it is easy, everybody can do that), I recommencement do try bought ways. 3. Extremely nice rocks in front of hotel. 4. And must visit night life in Tonsai village!

Reviewed March 12, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Lindsey from United States
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017

Great place! Great Location! ”

We enjoyed our stay at Ton Sai. The beCh was walking distance from the room. The restaurant has an amazing view. The beds were comfy. Wifi everywhere, even in the rooms. Clean and spacious. The staff is very kind and helpful. They helped us print documents needed for our next travel. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed March 12, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Jean from United States
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017

Midlevel resort-style hotel”

Pros: away from noise, beautiful location and scenary, large and spacious bungalows with decent amenities, 5 minute walk to beach or neighboring village which has some great restaurants and night life, lots of outdoor activities, great wildlife viewing, room cleaned daily, nearby beaches/resorts/shopping accessible by walking, friendly people/atmosphere Cons: expensive food/drink (expected due to location), resort/location only accessible by boat (pro and con), lots of mosquitoes (jungle setting), no pool

Reviewed February 17, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Isha from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Good location, comfortable stay, suitable for couples/friends.”

Location is the biggest advantage of this resort. Stayed there for 2 nights. Clean room and bathroom with basic amenities. Restaurant with sea view is amazing, but service can be greatly improved. Overall great value for money.

Reviewed February 07, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Jens from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 5 nights in January 2017

Clean resort for family climbers”

Who cares for the resort when you're in Tonsai? Older people and families I guess. This resort is for them/us :o) Don't stay here if you're young and adventurous, but in one of the cheaper places up the jungle. Stay in Tonsai rather than Railay West. The latter is a tourist circus. The resort is separated by a concrete wall and metal gates. However, the bungalows are clean and air-conditioned, beds made daily, verandah spacious, gardens pretty and right next to an impressive cliff. Breakfast is included and is okay, varied every day during our stay and view from the restaurant is mind-blowing. All our activities were on the cliffs, beach anyway and we got all out food except breakfast outside the resort. Plenty of options to spend a great holiday at Tonsai.

Reviewed January 25, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Chris from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 15 nights in December 2016

Tonsai Resort and area”

Lovely place, friendly staff. The only disappointment was the concrete wall surrounding the place and cutting it off from the "village". Get rid of the concrete wall replace with e.g. wooden fence and allow more access to the village!

Reviewed January 19, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Ryan from Canada
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

Beautiful quiet resort”

Very nice facilities and location. Only complaint: We arrived at low tide and had to carry our luggage over our heads. Better to bring a backpack then rolling luggage and prepare to get wet/dirty walking through the shore

Reviewed December 29, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Kelly from South Africa
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Little piece of paradise ”

This place is amazing! Tonsai is a very quiet place, so if you looking for a party it might not be your place. But if you are looking for a place to relax this is it. It's beautiful. The resort is beautiful too, rooms are very big and beautiful and the grounds are immaculate . Staff were very friendly and breakfast was good. We loved our stay here :)

Reviewed December 21, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Tram
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016

Best Hotel in Tonsai”

I am so glad we booked a spot at Tonsai Bay Resort rather than trying to save a few bucks and staying in the other bungalows in Tonsai! It is the only hotel that is right off the beach - all the other ones are about 100m inland - which makes it super easy to get to the climbing sectors on the beach, to the boat port, or to Railay since you can walk through the little jungle (or the beach when it's low tide). It's a pretty amazing value if you want to stay here and walk over to Railay each day since it's only a 10-15 minute walk and it's not $100+ per night. They have daily room cleaning which was great since they changed our sheets and towels, and they provided us with a water bottle per person each day. The breakfast buffet was included in our room, and it was good - it wasn't anything spectacular but it got the job done. As for the actual restaurant, it's pretty pricey (2-3 times surrounding restaurants) and not very tasty. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. They offered us beach towels when we went swimming and offered us a ride on the golf cart to the boat port when we checked out. The nicest part of this hotel was the fact that you didn't have to walk through the jungle to get to the other hotels and restaurants. There is a separate paved path through the resort that only guests can walk through (which could be you if you stayed)!

Reviewed December 16, 2016
5.6
Simon from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

What happened to tonsai!! ”

The resort completely dominates the beach front. Hadn't read up ahead of my return to tonsai and was saddened to see what had happened. Aside from that the resort was ok. Room was clean and modern. Breakfast however was terrible. Limited options, not fresh and with no alternatives really disappointing!

Reviewed November 30, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Adam from United States
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016

Great stay, great location”

Stayed here for two weeks while rock climbing in Tonsai / Railay. Probably the nicest place to stay on Tonsai and easy access to climbs. Staff were friendly, especially the ones at breakfast in the morning. Good wifi and air con too.

Reviewed October 07, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jessica from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Wonderful ”

Most amazing hotel experience, Aom is the hotel manager and she is just wonderful I felt after a few minutes she was a close friend. The hotel is located inside of beautiful lime stone rock formations. It is a little difficult to get out of, unless you enjoy adventure and a short hike that ends in a very rewarding experience/beach. I woke up in the morning with a bunch of monkeys on my porch, really cool. The rooms are nice and the staff is helpful, good place for solo travelers or people who like a chill vibe with things that are close to do, but still a little hidden from tourist.

Reviewed August 06, 2016