Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 60 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Room comfort and quality 8.5
  • Service 9.6
  • Value for money 9.5
  • Food and dining 8.4
Sort by

Kathryn from United States
Couple
Double
Stayed one night in June 2016
Great stay!
Charming option,very happy we stayed here
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Markus from Germany
Couple
Double
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Nice homestay with good value for money!
Very nice homestay with clean and comfortable rooms. Moi, the owner was very nice and helpful. The only negative thing was that the walls are very thin and you could hear the neighbours talking in the room and the noise from the traffic outside.
Reviewed June 26, 2016

Renee from United States
Couple
Double
Stayed one night in June 2016
Great guesthouse, great host, great breakfast)
Traveller Homestay is a wonderful choice for a stay in Kuching! The rooms are a good size, very clean, and have windows. There is a small balcony and a lounge for guests with a TV and selection of DVDs if you have time and want to watch one. Moi, the manager, is incredibly thoughtful and a great host. She made sure each day that we were satisfied with our room and that we had everything we needed. She had a bag of pastries ready for us early one morning when we said we were leaving before regular breakfast hours on a day trip. She even walked us to the bus stop on the day we went to Bako because the stop isn't marked (so that we didn't have to walk across town to the main bus terminal). She also helped retrieve a mobile phone we left in a taxi on the way to the airport -- she called the taxi driver and had him go back to the airport. Last, the restaurant downstairs is great. Breakfast was included in the price of the room, and had a choice of 11 dishes, from toast and an egg to Kuching laksa to kolo mee to pork or chicken with rice. The laksa is highly recommended! One note: it is a good idea to make sure to let Moi know when you are coming-- there is no "reception desk" or someone there 24 hours a day. If you are coming on a Sunday or holiday or late in the evening, you may arrive to closed doors.
Reviewed June 19, 2016

AZRINA from Malaysia
Group
Double
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Value for money
Overall was ok but non halal breakfast so not suitable for malay.
Reviewed June 05, 2016

Liam from New Zealand
Couple
Double
Stayed one night in May 2016
Home away from home
We have never felt more comfortable traveling in a foreign land than here at Travelers Homestay! Great decor, Friendly staff and awesome host ‘Moi”!
Reviewed June 01, 2016

Kimberly from Ireland
Couple
Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
The best place we have stayed in seven months travelling!
Myself and my friend booked into the Traveller Homestay for three nights and ended up staying for eight! We absolutely loved it. Moi made us feel at home and was like a mom to us! She is so kind, helpful and genuinely wants you to have the best experience possible both in her homestay and in Kuching. She serves a traditional breakfast every morning with lots of choices on the menu. She helped us book lots of day trips and sorted out a taxi driver to bring us places and wait for us when there was no bus available. The room, bathrooms and living space were all exceptionally clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a place to stay in Kuching look no further than the Traveller Homestay, definitely the best accommodation we have stayed in over seven months travelling. Thank you Moi!
Reviewed February 29, 2016

Pawel from Canada
Couple
Double
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016
Great Value.
Breakfast was delicious. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Shared bathrooms, but not so bad. Location good for food, not the best if you want to go to the river front or carpenter street -20-25 min walk. No sidewalks, hot and humid, and no taxies to speak of in sight. But that goes for the whole city. Overall you won't be disappointed.
Reviewed February 04, 2016

Sebastien from France
Couple
Double
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
good
location, price, staff
Reviewed September 02, 2015

Pawel from Poland
Solo traveler
Double
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
Really feels like home
the owner, cleanliness, lounge
The stay was quite nice. The place was clean and has got its style. Moi, a lady running it, is really friendly and helpful. The trips I took (3D2N Gunung Mulu National Park and Semenggoh Nature Reserve + kayaking) I booked through her, she was also happy to share information and tips, even walked me to a nearby bus stop. There's a nice lounge, with a collection of books in English and reasonably recent DVDs, plus free bottled water/coffee/tea/tiny but tasty local bananas (and the homestay is over a cafe if that's not enough). On the negative side, my room was quite noisy (street noise + loud A/C). Having already stayed in a converted Chinese shophouse in Malaysia I came equipped with earplugs, though. Also, water pressure seemed not to be high enough to allow two people to take hot showers at once.
Reviewed August 07, 2015

Benjamin from United Kingdom
Couple
Double
Stayed 4 nights in May 2015
Wonderful family run homestay
staff, room, breakfast
Superb place to stay in Kuching, cannot recommend enough. Moi was a fantastic host, she was very accommodating, served delicious meals in the family restaurant, helped with buses getting to Bako National park and generally was just very lovely. A true home away from home. We were sad to leave.
Reviewed June 18, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: