Book Now: Tree Residences

Excellent
From 566 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
/
10
Recommended by 93% of guests

Reviews of Tree Residences Reviews from real guests

Overall rating
8.1
Excellent
From 603 reviews
Provided by verified guests of
Agoda Reviews (566)Booking.com Reviews (5)
Rating via Agoda8.2
/
10
Excellent
16.2% this month
Cleanliness8.0
Facilities7.7
Location8.8
Room comfort and quality8.0
Service8.6
Value for money8.6
Rating
9+ Exceptional (148)
8-9 Excellent (111)
7-8 Very Good (101)
6-7 Good (47)
<6 Below Expectation (61)
Time of the year
Mar - May (104)
Jun - Aug (106)
Sep - Nov (111)
Dec - Feb (147)
All guests (566)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 468 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Barrie
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2019

Exceptional”

Deluxe room spacious and clean with fridge and A/C. Property has a small lawn/garden with nice tree for shade ideal for doing Yoga or chilling out. Staff are great, friendly and helpful. Even gave me a kettle for my room as I was using the communal hot water a lot! All rooms ground floor and its a quiet location with some great restaurants close by like AUM vegetarian and a cafe called Pink House Garden for a chill drink and Gluten free cake :) And Saturday Market is on the doorstep!

Reviewed June 10, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Lee from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2019

Clean and spacious room”

The room was clean and spacious. Amenities such as hot shower was working well. Location is quite good as it is just next to Saturday Walking street. Staff can speak English.

Reviewed June 28, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Christa from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

All on one level.”

Since my wife has had knee surgery on both knees it was a welcome relief to not being climbing four flights of stairs. Staff was outstanding, help us book several tuk tuks, room cleaned daily. Water and coffee provided all day. Place to hang wet laundry. We would stay here again.

Reviewed January 27, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Christa from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Great stay all around.”

We extended twice because we loved the staff, location.,willingness to serve and help. Coffee was free all day. Took care of our laundry needs for a reasonable price. Help find tuk tuk and made reservations for shows. We loved the Chiang Mai smile and willingness to go above and beyond. Highly recommend, we would definitely stay again.

Reviewed January 25, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Man from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Family Room A with 3 Bunk Beds - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

This is perfect! Will come back next time absolutely! ”

- Location great! - Price great! - Staff great! - Shower room great! (Stable hot water n enough water pressure!!) - Bedroom great! (With curtain n bed is comfortable! But one thing if hostel can add curtain in the window, because too bright in the morning without curtain. ) - this is a quite new n quite big hostel, not crowded, u can enjoy enough space there. I was surprised when I arrived there , they even have a little garden there!! - I stayed 3 nights there n will absolutely choose again next time when I come back Chiang Mai!!!

Reviewed January 08, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Daniel from Singapore
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Great value for money”

For the price we paid, we were surprised to get such a spacious room. Facilities worked well, and its location is great. The place has a problem with mosquitoes (but then everywhere in Chiang Mai has this). Just turn the air con temperature down and the mosquitoes won't bother you.

Reviewed January 04, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Daniel from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Great value for money”

It's located very near to the south gate of Chiang Mai, within easy walking distance to the Old City. I had stayed here once before during this trip, and chose to spend the last 3 days of my stay here because of its great value for money and accessibility. It's also just 6 mins drive to the airport.

Reviewed January 04, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
rajesh from India
Group
Family Room A with 3 Bunk Beds - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

nice place”

location price room all are according to price just the Aircon location make it not cool the room feel a bit suffocation

Reviewed May 21, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Karim from Austria
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

Value for money is good”

Units are not 100% clean but its ok for the price, location is great (next to old city and a 711 in 1 min walking distance), perfect for new arrivals to stay a few nights before moving to a condo, would stay there again, internet is only 2-3mbit but works fine, no outages.

Reviewed August 05, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Mary from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016

Cheap, no frills, basic, convenient location”

Basic, spacious for the price, good working aircon, internet worked for me, no frills, nothing fancy, but did the job. For value for money, excellent. The walls and window a little dingy, but again, no big deal. Thought the room was generally pretty clean. Got the cheapest single room and I thought it was fine. Located right near the Central Gate Market, a walk right into old city. Free coffee a plus. Shampoo and soap dispensers in the bathroom. Mr. Pongchai was a really nice guy to talk to. The others at the hotel friendly, but everything here is very do-it-yourself. If I had extra money to splurge for a rustic-style room with bells and whistles maybe I would but for a shoestring budget, this is excellent and would stay again.

Reviewed June 01, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Tom from Netherlands
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014

Friendly staff,basic, large room at great location”

Great location, Staff performance and green

For a budget hotel it's very good! To compare it with a hotel in a higher price range will be unfair. The welcome was very friendly and staff eager to help. The hotel is close to the night market and right next to the Saturday walking street, which makes finding it on a Saturday (and getting there with a car) a bit of a challenge, as the mean street is blocked and you will need to find a way through the little back soi's. The rooms are very basic, a bit boring (could do with a paint job) and the beds very springy, but it was clean which is the most important. It can be a bit noisy (slamming doors, TV's) as sound proofing is minimal. But altogether a very good choice if your on a budget and want to be close to the city!

Reviewed August 09, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Kar from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

Great holiday in a beautiful country”

good location, good price, fast wifi

The hotel is situated at Wua Lai area but just across the street to Old City. Very convenient to all the interesting spots in the city. The room was clean, good ac, tv, fast wifi, friendly staff. Highly recommended to others who are on budget. Great hotel.

Reviewed October 25, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Ronald from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

Great value hotel”

Clean rooms, great service and lovely garden

Decided to stay here again after my last experience. Same great value and service. Forgot to mention the helpful and cheerful staff the last time. The hotel is in a quiet corner but well located to get anywhere. Will return and will gladly recommend to friends.

Reviewed December 11, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Ronald from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

Great value and location”

Quiet yet central and lovely garden centrepiece

Wasn't expecting much for the price I paid but was pleasantly surprised. Rooms are clean and well appointed and furnished for its class. Great location for the Saturday Walking Market, it almost starts at the doorstep. Food available nearby all day and night, 7elevens 3mins away. The street is famous for its silverware and temples and there are attractions aplenty nearby. Airport and Central Mall 10mins away.

Reviewed November 29, 2012
9.6
Exceptional
Tal from Israel
Solo traveler
Family Room A with 3 Bunk Beds - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Super cozy ”

So I had a dorms room, and it happens to be that I stayd in 6 persons room with just one more person so it was super nice. They don't have eny sAfe box. The shower was hot and super clean I would definitely come back.

Reviewed January 06, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Jaydo from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Review ”

Amazing staff, rooms are nice and clean and 5 min walk to night markets 🤙

Reviewed May 02, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Yeoh from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Friendly staff”

Clean environment, ideal location near to Saturday night market. Free coffee for the whole day!

Reviewed February 12, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Christa from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Superb service, warm friendly staff and excellent location.”

Pros: location, staff, services and recommendations by staff. No cons!

Reviewed January 31, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Sergey from Israel
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 5 nights in June 2018

Best value for the price in whole Chiang Mai”

It is my third time I've been stay in Tree Residences. For those who are on budget and looking for a best value for the money I would recommend this place. Good location (2 min walking to 7/11, 3 min to the local market, Old City Gate), Saturday walking street market two steps out from Tree Residences. Quiet area, helpful staff, Green garden inside made this place indispensable in my Chiang Mai travelling. Thank you Tree Residences!

Reviewed June 27, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Lena from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 14 nights in December 2017

Great location, quiet place”

This was a fantastic location at the South Gate, close to a few really good breakfast spots, super cheap food stalls in the evening, and the Saturday night market. Room was spacious and allowed us to feel like we had a mini apartment (we stayed for 2 weeks). Bed wasn’t the most comfortable, but not unbearable. Although the location is close to all this great stuff, it’s also tucked in a soi that is very quiet and charming. Beware that the WiFi does not work well. If you’re counting on it, you’re going to get frustrated. Self-laundry was also available on site for 40 baht.

Reviewed December 28, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Ashley from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 6 nights in October 2017

Convenient location near old city ”

The location was great, 2 minute walk to Chiang Mai gate, food market, 7-11 and easy to catch a bus or taxi anywhere. Staff were quick to help us with any issues. They have extra clean towels for you when you need them upon request, as well as water, extra toilet paper, etc. Good air con, hot showers, self service laundry was a nice bonus. Mattresses are like slabs of stone but other than that no complaints.

Reviewed November 07, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Stuart from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

Good little hotel, but not whiile it's being renovated.”

OK long story. 4 years ago when staying at another hotel (Chana place) only 1 day after arriving they started renovations. With the banging and the hammering and the dueling jackhammers, the owners told us they would discount our next trip as compensation for the inconvenience, should have got it in writing as the next time came around and no discounts. so we found this hotel 'Tree residences' good location, happy staff, reasonably good little hotel. Please see previous reviews submitted. But now we have come full circle, as it's back to the banging and the hammering and the dueling jackhammers as they now have demolished the front part of hotel I assume in preparation for renovations. So the banging and the hammering and the dueling jackhammers is not appropriate early in the morning, and until the renos are complete i would suggest reconsidering this hotel. Once every thing is complete we would likely return, but not until all the renovations are finished.

Reviewed March 25, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Stearns from Japan
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017

Good basic hotel for resting”

The hotel is conveniently located just a short walk from the south gate of the old city where there is a night market with cheap tasty food every night. It is in a quiet residential Thai neighborhood so can sleep well at night. The hotel offers free coffee and Milo in the lobby. However, wi-fi is very slow (could not load some pages) and hot water wasn't very hot.

Reviewed January 27, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Tamara from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

Great room for low price”

I felt like this was a luxury hotel (minus the facilities), and it was only a little more than what we'd pay for a hostel. The room had a king size bed, table and chairs, fridge, clean bathroom, warm water, and such a nice shower! Fancy rock floor, seemed like something a much higher end hotel would have. Good location, especially on Saturday since it's about 10 meters away from the big market. Free coffee and tea was a plus. Staff were great, and the dog that hung out in the lobby was pretty awesome too.

Reviewed June 20, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
MARIA from Russia
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015

Amazing! Потрясающе!”

I was staying in Tree Residences alone at the end of December. Room was very clean, comfortable and with a super cozy light near the bed. Its very close to the amazing food court/ local market and old city itself, but at the same time it's situated in a quite place so nothing disturb your sleep. There is an outstanding stuff in this hotel! They've been sooo incredibly nice to me, so helpful! (They are definitely saved me). I would never forget this! Thank you again, guys! To sum up, when I'll be back to Chiang Mai, I'll definitely stay in Tree Residence again! Этот отель - один из немногих, где работает потрясающий персонал! Они меня просто невероятно выручили, когда я попала в неприятную ситуацию с транспортом. Комнаты очень чистые, есть чайник, чашки, а ночник вообще меня покорил! Расположен очень близко к центру, рядом отличная булочная-кофейная для завтраков, а вечером открывается огромный стрит фуд-корт. Вообщем, настоятельно рекомендую!

Reviewed February 03, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Lolin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2015

Value for money, good location, ”

Value for money, good location away from main street, quiet and slept well, staff helpful but speak very little english

Good location as it is away from the main street and walking distance to market, eating places , and easy transportation. The hotel room is reasonable and value for money with air conditioning. Cleanliness was acceptable. Electrolux Hot Water system was very good as they seem new. However, the shower gel and shampoo provided have very unpleasant perfume smell throughout the entire room. The artificial perfume caused block nose and tears in my eyes. Good thing it was only one night stay, left the next morning. Hesitate to stay there again due to the smell of artificial perfume which was overwhelming. Staff speak very little English and hard to communicate.

Reviewed October 18, 2015
7.3
Very good
AREUM from South Korea
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015

Good location, value for money, Kind staffs”

Location, it's in the satureday, Close to everywhere. Value for money. Ac single room within $10 is pretty good. Staffs are kind. Good management.

Overall fine. Comepare to price, it's decent room. Just down side was bed. It's not comfy. You can feel each mettrrss under you. Only reason I might not go back is bed, I enjoyed Tree tesidence though. I visited Chiang Mai 4-5 times, each time I stayed different placese. This one was cheapest one I've ever stayed in Chiang Mai. If anyone wants cheep, privacy room with ac in good location, nothing can beat this hotel.

Reviewed July 19, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Matthew from United States
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2015

We liked it so much we extended our stay!”

Free coffee! Great location, and great little guesthouse.

I'm just going to copy and paste from my last review because Agoda offers the ability to review for each booking, so might as well boost their review score a bit. :) Tree Residences is highly underrated in terms of the value it provides for cost. Offering one of the cheapest rates/night per room for hostels and guesthouses in the Chiang Mai old town area, rooms come equipped with air conditioning, flat screen TVs, AND a hot water boiler and cups for making your own coffee. Plus there's free coffee in the lobby all day, which is a really nice touch. Rooms are small but cozy and well-appointed, linens are clean, the grounds are carefully manicured, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the location right off the Saturday Walking Street is great! Easy walking to the old town, street food at Chiang Mai gate, Sunday Walking Street, Night Bazaar, and pretty much anywhere else in Chiang Mai you'd want to walk. I've stayed at three different places in Chiang Mai and Tree Residences was by far the best value for the price we've paid. Would highly recommend it to all budget travelers looking for an affordable yet comfortable base in Chiang Mai!

Reviewed July 11, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Matthew from United States
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015

A wonderful little guesthouse near Chiang Mai gate”

Great value for cost, perfect location, and free coffee!

Tree Residences is highly underrated in terms of the value it provides for cost. Offering one of the cheapest rates/night per room for hostels and guesthouses in the Chiang Mai old town area, rooms come equipped with air conditioning, flat screen TVs, AND a hot water boiler and cups for making your own coffee. Plus there's free coffee in the lobby all day, which is a really nice touch. Rooms are small but cozy and well-appointed, linens are clean, the grounds are carefully manicured, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the location right off the Saturday Walking Street is great! Easy walking to the old town, street food at Chiang Mai gate, Sunday Walking Street, Night Bazaar, and pretty much anywhere else in Chiang Mai you'd want to walk. I've stayed at three different places in Chiang Mai and Tree Residences was by far the best value for the price we've paid. Would highly recommend it to all budget travelers looking for an affordable yet comfortable base in Chiang Mai!

Reviewed July 11, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Aaron from United States
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015

Nice choice for a hotel close walking distance ”

Spacious, clean, free drinking water

Good stay. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Stayed in two different rooms. The room closest to garden had a problem with mosquitos the first night we were there. Weren't sure how they were entering the room. This room was also much smaller than the second room. The second room was spacious. Not too bright because only one window to the room and it faced the foyer. Free drinking water bottles are a nice amenity. TV worked well. Bathroom water was good and comfortable. About 10 minute walk to night food market with lots of choices of food. The neighborhood is quiet itself but the hotel staff were loud in the mornings which made it difficult to sleep late.

Reviewed April 12, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Siew from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 5 nights in May 2014

Great staying with low rate”

Helpful staff, clean room, big attached wash room with hot water. Free wifi at room.

We have a very good time staying there. Although there bike rental, but we preffer to walk since its location is very near to the old city (chiang man gate). Sat nite market is just walking distance 2 mins.

Reviewed May 12, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Saulius from Lithuania
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2014

Great choice”

Clean, cheap, good location

We stayed for 3 nights in total. Good location, 2 mins walk till old city wall from south part of the city. Rooms were clean, large and comfortable. We arrived on first night past midnight, took a while to get in since nobody was at reception desk from 12am to 1am. So inform the staff if u might be quite late. Anyway, seeing a staff member coming was a blessing. English level of staff wasn't amazing, however, small things as asking for a pen or to grab towels for trekking in mountains was answered with a kind yes, which was nice from them. In general would definitely recommend this place and would stay again myself!

Reviewed January 22, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
JIWON from South Korea
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013

awesome!great choice for me”

Freindly staff,great location,reasonable price

staffs are really kind and helpful room is not bad clean and large actually but I saw the cockroach in there but it's common happening in ES Asia and near from night market on Saturday anyway if I go there again and can choose my accommodation then there will be my first option

Reviewed October 11, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Shuying from China
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013

with beautiful garden and friend staff”

Location-near Saturday Market; Environment-quiet and comfortable; Staff-kind and friend.

Wua Lai Rd. is Saturday Market Street and Tree Residence is just meters away. It's also near Chiang Mai Gate where lots of food stalls are opertated at night. However, it's quiet during night and serenity in the day. The small but green-filled garden also makes people feel peace and vitality. There's even dry cloths area in the corner of the corridor. Only if is teakettle available in the room, it will be better.

Reviewed August 28, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Sophie from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013

Lovely, 2 minutes walk to market”

Pretty garden, right next to Saturday market, close to daily market

We extended our stay as this was excellent value for money and a couple minutes walk to the market for dinner, this is also the perfect location for the Saturday walking street which starts at the end of the lane. They have a lovely garden that we sat in most nights and fast wifi connection. Would recommend.

Reviewed July 17, 2013
8.0
Excellent
ceanne from Australia
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Relaxing place to wind down”

Wheelchair accessible, lovely garden, friendly staff.

Small community feel. Drip coffee available all day. Grab a cup and sit on one of the comfy garden seats. Room small, but price is low. Taxi drivers can't find the place, and it's a fair walk to nearby attractions.

Reviewed June 20, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Laura from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013

Close enough to Old City but not on top of it”

Clean, spacious room with unique bathroom layout

After initially disconcertment with various "hotel rules and fines" on notices, we got along just fine. Hotel's pretty flat, with almost everyone on ground level overlooking a cute garden with a swing set. AC and Wifi worked great and so did the showers. The room was promptly cleaned daily by attentive staff. The great part was this is walkable to Old city or a quick ride away.

Reviewed June 17, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Lei from China
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

Clean,quiet and peaceful stay.”

peaceful location, clean room, nice staff

This place is located outside the Chiang Mai Gate, and it is a great choice if you want to avoid noisy bars and clubs. It just takes 2 minutes by walk to get the Old City,and it's very easy to go to the night market, which bisides the Chiang Mai Gate, to get food. Very good value for money,every nice staff, will visit again.

Reviewed March 17, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Thomas from United States
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013

Pleasantly clean, incredible customer service”

Exactly what we were looking for, cheap, close, clean, quiet

We arrived at 5 AM and the host was waiting at the front door to welcome us in and get us checked in. He had the form filled out already, gave us a key, some free water, and led us to our room. Hot water, good design, nice furniture. Fairly good English, very willing to help with tourist questions.

Reviewed March 14, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Ziad from Jordan
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2013

Excellent value for your money”

Very clean, modern, nice bathroom

We stayed at this hotel for 5 night and we absolutely loved it, the price is amazing value and it's much less than what rundown hotels charge in the old city. The room is spacious, very clean and thr bathroom is very nice. This hotel should definetly be 3 stars or more. The location is a little bit far from the action but we actually walked almost everyday to the night market and it wasn't that bad, if you're tired you can always hire a tuk tuk for 60-80 baht. Make sure you visit on a sunday because the sunday market is literally just outside the hotel with lots of food and shopping options. There's also a seven eleven just 200 meters from the hotel so you can your water and snacks from there.

Reviewed March 09, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Carol from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

A lovely guest house clean rooms and good value.”

Good location, quiet but accessiable

I really enjoyed staying in this very clean and quiet guest house. Good sized rooms, T.V. etc. Tree Residence is in a good location and close to everything in the city. The night food market is just a two minute walk and well worth a visit. I origionally booked for two nights but stayed for nine! The Saturday night market is basically on your doorstep. Great!

Reviewed January 16, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Bojan from Austria
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

Nice quiet place with friendly staff”

Rooms and staff

Located in south of CNX a quiet and nice guesthouse with friendly staff. If you don't mind walking a bit the location is perfect then. (approx. 1 mile to north gate or night bazaar). TV has only southeast channels so don't bother searching. Wifi is good.

Reviewed January 12, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Bojan from Austria
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

quiet and clean ”

rooms and staff

located in south of cnx a quiet and nice guesthouse with friendly staff. if you don't mind walking a bit the location is perfect then. (approx. 1 mile to north gate or night bazaar). tv has only southeast channels so don't bother searching. wifi is good.

Reviewed January 12, 2013
7.0
Very good
Harald from Germany
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

Brandnew renovated 18 room project with small gard”

central to chiang mai gate but quiet!

Good clean quality beds, good comfort, everything simple and spotless. take the bigger rooms! Breakfast ogf any variation anywhere close around. Do not forget to visit D Coffee & Sweets, who was managing a Starbuck and is situated just 20 meter in front of the guesthouse exit, same street.

Reviewed December 17, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
XI from Singapore
Group
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

Clean, new and near”

New and Clean with both hotel quality and backpacker's convinience

Was initially apprehensive to book this new hotel with no review though the photos look good but most times what you see is not what you get. However, as its so near the Sat night shopping street, and so reasonably priced. We've decided to give it a shot and for 1 night.... how bad can it get?! This place have lovely clean rooms with a small kettle. Tastefully built bed and a large bathroom. The reception area even have a microwave, utensils etc, free flow coffee and tea and even a fridge for you to use if the rooms you stay in don't have 1 (only delux rooms have fridge). The staff are friendly and speak English. Am very satisfied with my stay and will definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking at staying at this place and will also come back and stay here if I'm back in Chiangmai!

Reviewed December 05, 2012
5.2
Dana from Israel
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

The experience was fine, but in Chiang Mai there are so many better options at a cheaper price I slept in a private room, the mattress uncomfortable and the bed clumsy. The room is very small and you can not open a window so there is no air

Reviewed February 25, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Avraham from Israel
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2018

Excellent”

The place is good. The water stream is not stable and the hot water only work when you are using low flow.

Reviewed February 22, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Dennis from Netherlands
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Quiet stay, nice room”

Pro: darm room, quiet area, spacious, friendly staff Con: some machine turning on at night making sound, hard bed (Thailand is known for that I guess)

Reviewed November 25, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Ka from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in August 2017

Very Good Value for Money!”

Good location. Good cleanliness and staff. Highly recommend! Even better than the one I paid for 1500 baht/night

Reviewed September 03, 2017

ขอบคุณครับ ทางเจ้าหน้าที่ จะนำไปปรับปรุงแก้ไข ให้ดียิ่งๆขึ้นไปครับ Staff Boy

Responded September 26, 2017
Tree Residences
8.4
Excellent
Wichit from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

Excellent”

Close to the Saturday night market and it's reasonable price to stay in.

Reviewed March 19, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
cheung from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

good”

good

Reviewed March 05, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Merel from Netherlands
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

Excellent location”

Perfect location with very friendly staff

Reviewed November 22, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Chi-Sen from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

high value with low price”

.The room is clean and big. It is very close to Chiang Mai gate and Saturday night market but it is quiet because of located in alley. The boss is hospitality and very helpful You should not miss it.

Reviewed November 21, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Bunyaluk from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2016

cheap,location”

Cheap price , clean,location was good. very close to Saturday night market but the bed was not comfortable!!

Reviewed November 06, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
cheung from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

Good location”

big room, very clean, staff nice and good location, near Saturday night market

Reviewed April 26, 2016
8.0
Excellent
massimiliano from Italy
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 8 nights in March 2014

good time”

private quit clean

nice time in chiang mai very good sleeping and close to the market

Reviewed March 26, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Tee from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014

Values for money!”

Clean, good location, worth for your money!

Comfortable and clean for great stay=) I will definitely come back again. Thanks

Reviewed March 10, 2014
9.2
Exceptional
Cheng from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Good location and a quite place to stay”

I cames for two times in a trip because of the location. I like a quite n simple place to stay. The staffs are helpfull . They are going to set up a coffee cafe at the font desk.

Reviewed February 24, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Leif from Cambodia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Exceptional”

Friendly staff and clean room , I will stay there again next time in CM 👍

Reviewed February 13, 2019
6.4
Good
Pia from New Zealand
Group
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

Good”

Cute wee garden to sit down and relax. Very close to Chaing Mai gate market with plenty of food options. Room was not serviced once during a three-night stay. Bathroom was not clean. After having an issue with termites in the room - where the staff was very helpful to remove them - the room would have required proper cleaning.

Reviewed March 30, 2017
5.2
James from Norway
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

Not what we expected”

I guess this room would be fine if you are just looking for somewhere to store your stuff and just sleep after long days out and about. We wanted a more homely place and found this lacked any real coziness. The room was a bit shabbier than the photos would lead you to believe. There was also a "garden view" mentioned, which I guess some rooms have, but not ours! A concrete wall and a covered porch area were our "views". The garden itself is small, but nice to be able to sit in to get some air and listen to the birds. The bed was big and firm but comfy (deluxe room). I was happy that the management agreed to our request to shorten our stay when we realised it was not where we wished to stay, so a plus mark for them there. Location is good - close to the old city and a minutes walk from the Saturday night market.

Reviewed March 08, 2016
5.3
abraham from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015

Ok”

Close to old city close to 7-11 and clean

It was fine but wish there was a fridge. Have stayed other places cheaper with a fridge. Good with tv and private bathroom but the bed wasn't very comfortable and the sheets didn't look entirely clean. Had nice hot water and nothing was broken. I am most unhappy at agora and the use of credit card payment only. It means I got charged more for international fees. I will never use goda again I'll stick to a site called BOOKING instead they don't require a credit card payments. This also ensures that the hotel can charge for missing or broken property which makes me unhappy and nervous.

Reviewed November 01, 2015
6.3
Good
Julia from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in November 2014

Basic but clean, noisy due to thin walls”

1) very friendly helpful staff 2) good location to take blue bus/songthaew

A very basic but relatively clean guest house. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Location wise it is just outside the old city walls,and about 10 min walk to the south chiangmai gate with lots of street food vendors and wet market. It is set on a very quiet street, if you are a lone traveller, it can be dark and quiet at night if you intend to be out late. Best take a tuk tuk back. It was a perfect location for me as I wanted to take the blue bus to chomtong, and the bus stopped right outside on the street, 3min walk from hotel!! It is very noisy at night due to the thin walls and doors, all the noise from your fellow travelers coming and going, some of whom can be very very noisy!!! For 1 or 2 nights stay, it ok, for longer stay, it may be a test of your patience.

Reviewed January 07, 2015
6.7
Good
Jennie from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

Quiet encironment and close to airport”

value for money; near the airport and close to local market where food is easily available.

I had a quiet and cool night. The air-conditioning system works well to provide a cool enough environment. But the room is a bit small and there is only a small table to put the baggage. If there is a net fix to stop tiny insects from enter the bath room would have made the bathroom more comfortable. One advantage is it is close to the airport.

Reviewed June 12, 2014
7.7
Very good
Stuart from Australia
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 12 nights in April 2014

Pleasant”

Location, friendly staff

We stayed in (Deluxe) room B8 for about 12 days, previously we had (Standard) room C5 for 1 night, please see comments about that, some of which apply here. It needs to be said that while this is just a tarted up old apartment block the staff are friendly and helpful and it's location in a lane off Wua-lia rd is quiet with close access to the old city and night food stalls - 200 metres away. There are signs all over this hotel asking to respect the residents and be quiet, in Thai, English and Chinese, pity no one told the dog! You'll enjoy the 5.30am barking alarm clock, this is a clever one too, it has a snooze function, it waits for 15 minutes then just as you've dropped off again it arcs up, and then it arcs up again for a third time but not 15 minutes later, 25 minutes later, after that your well awake. As mentioned earlier this hotel has just had a make over, the deluxe rooms are bigger and there is a larger wardrobe a strange little folding table with 2 stools, a fridge and the bed is a king double but the room still desperately needs a luggage shelf, something basic in most hotels but missing here. The bathrooms is weird too, originally there was an ante room (vestibule) before the bathroom, this would have been the laundry cooking area, it's now covered over with 2 large sliding glass doors and the water heater/shower has been moved there (see photos) but there's no towel rail, you now have to go through this room to get to the toilet, although the glass doors are semi frosted you still feel a bit on display when showering, and the river pebbles and stepping stone floor is completely stupid, there must be a drain in the floor somewhere but the general human waste, soap scum and water collects around these pebbles, after 2 days we had mushrooms growing, and some large slug/leach like creature lives there too! Can see this being replaced and tiled soon.

Reviewed April 29, 2014
6.7
Good
Stuart from Australia
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

Barely adequate ”

Nothing really

OK, this hotel was probably originally an old apartment block, it's recently been tarted up with a few sticks of cheap furniture and a lick of paint, but it remains very basic, I suppose you get what you pay for however this place is spartan even by Thai standards. We had a standard double room (C5) it had one stool, one small wardrobe, one small desk, no suitcase shelf, no fridge, no drinking glasses (or water) but 2 cups and saucers, with no kettle....??? Chiang Mai has low mains water pressure, it's OK for ground and first floor buildings but a pump is needed for the second floor, this hotel is ground floor only, there is an unnecessary pressure pump located behind this room that comes on and off every minute all day and all night...! Why..?? If you enjoy a good nights sleep this pump will annoy you all night long..! The bed has a duvet, with a cover, but no top sheet, Thailand is a tropical country, it's warm to hot at night, although the duvet is thin it's still a duvet, if you prefer to sleep with open windows and fresh air it's not possible with the duvet as it's way to hot and as there is always the problem of mosquitoes and there is no top sheet so you are forced to use the A/C to cool the room enough to sleep, how logical is that...? Generally we could not recommend room C5, others may be better but it's probably more comfortable to pay the extra 200bht ($6) and get a deluxe room. Certainly this place is just a hotel to sleep in and not more.

Reviewed April 18, 2014
7.3
Very good
Long from Vietnam
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

It's ok, nice staff and good view”

staff, night market, security

I've been there for 1 day, staff were very nice, I can check in at 9 am, i love it. Hotel condition is good enough. The only thing I don't like is wall, maybe it's made by something like parget, so soundproofing not really perfect :) It's good hotel to visit

Reviewed April 01, 2014
6.0
Kirsty from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014

Good location”

Location, Price, Staff

While I only paid for this room, I still forget I'm a budget traveller each time I come to Chiang Mai (I live in the north). The grounds are nice, but when I opened the door, I remembered how little I paid for the room, as it showed. It certainly didn't resemble the photos I saw before I booked it. PROS: Brand new hot water system; great shower Tea/coffee making facilities in the room (sans tea/coffee though) Close to Loi Kroh Road (10 mins walking) Communal microwave, fridge and coffee available all day, magazines & books to read/borrow Friendly staff Scooter hire - brand new bikes for 250B/day Coffee shop/bar 5 mtrs down the road 7-11 close by Large wardrobe with coat hangers Desk CONS: Scuffed walls with chipped paint The floor felt gritty; may have been swept, but definitely not mopped Mosquito central (IN the room) No soap, it was issued in the form of a dispenser on the wall in the bathroom No mattress or pillow protectors. The duvet cover is removable, but it wasn't washed during my 2 night stay, perhaps (hopefully) it was after I left. Very dark room; no direct sunlight. Doors can slam easily, so if you're a light sleeper.... Overall, I was comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. I was able to walk everywhere, even though I had a motorbike. The room is air-conditioned, but there's no fan, if that gets too cold. Staff can help you with tours.

Reviewed March 17, 2014
7.3
Very good
LIFEI from China
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in January 2014

convenient, clean”

clean, nice, convenient

The guesthouse is clean, staff is nice, location is convenient which close to Sunday market. But the hot water is not warm enough. And my room was noise because it was close to water supply main switch.

Reviewed February 12, 2014
6.7
Good
Rajesh from Spain
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013

Not bad. ”

Clean sheets and nice staff

The two girls that work there are very sweet. Location is ok. Nice little court yard, the only thing they have a cd on a loop playing all day long. Woke me up one morning and had to ask them to turn it down in the afternoon to have a nap. Deluxe room. Big bed nice clean sheets flat screen tv only complain there where lots of tiny little bugs in the toilet are i couldn't quite make out what they where. Good ac. Over all its ok value for money as many others in town.

Reviewed August 15, 2013