Excellent 8.3
Based on 268 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type

based on 269 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Room comfort and quality 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food and dining 6.8
Sort by

Min from South Korea
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
"Tryp by Wyndham Times Square South" Overrated
Location and Free Wifi
Pros (1) Location: The location was perfect for tourists. A few blocks from 34St Penn Station, Broadway, and Times Square (2) An affordable hotel in NYC: However, be aware - you get what you pay for. Cons (My evaluation was entirely based on my own personal experience; Others may have different experience. I took some photos as evidence/proof (e.g., filthy and bent blinds & a dirty toilet paper holder in a bathroom), and I believe those photos would support my evaluation of this property. (1) Overpriced for size of room (small) and amenities (outdated) - (a) If you have iPhone5/5s/6, you may not be able to use alarm clock (iHome alarm clock; (b) Amenities were not clean - Filthy and bent blinds and a dirty toilet paper holder in a bathroom, a partially burnt(?) shower towel (I thought that was a bloodstain...thankfully, it was not.), a hole of blanket; (c) Broken luggage rack (2) No mini fridge in the room (3) Heater makes HUGE noises - I had to turn off the heater while watching TV or doing facetime. It's intolerably loud. (4) Staffs were not much friendly or accommodating - (a) Speak up when you talk to your customers. The hotel lobby is small and crowded. Your customers may be troubled by background noise; (b) Be friendly, nice, and respectful to your customer. The attitudes of staffs (especially those in a front desk) were not good compared to those in other hotels (5) Be aware -- No airport shuttle available. I really wanted to like this hotel, but.. sadly, I didn't. I wouldn't stay this hotel in the future. I stayed for three nights, March 2015
Reviewed March 24, 2015

Ian from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe King Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Unusually good hotel for the price in NY
Funky design, Location, price
Reviewed March 15, 2015

YI-WEN from Taiwan
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Clean room and helpful staff
cleanness, location, staff
It was a good stay
Reviewed March 03, 2015

Ip from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Deluxe 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
I booked a triple beds room but was offered a queen size bed with a sofa bed. The sofa bed was so soft that I couldn't sleep well. The hotel offered a free breakfast to us as compensation.
Reviewed January 11, 2015

Yuan from China
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
OK for a 3-star
location, service, cleanliness
Reviewed January 04, 2015

Danilo from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Affordable and Enjoyable
Staff Room food
It was a very nice and enjoyable experience
Reviewed December 04, 2014

Jordan from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Spacious and clean room, comfortable bed
The room is clean and spacious. The bed is comfortable and I have a good sleep over there.
Just about 2 mins walking distance to penn station. There are few Thai restaurants in 5 mins walking distances as I am Asian guy and like thai foods.
Reviewed November 29, 2014

Perfecto from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Location near shopping areas Macy etc safe area right beside NYP station
Freezing New York the phone in the room not properly working
Reviewed November 23, 2014

Tjorven from Belgium
Stayed 6 nights in November 2014
Very pleasant stay in Tryp by Wyndham Times Square
1) Clean & Large Rooms for Manhattan 2) Modern Looking 3) Close to Metro station (about 200 metres)
This is a modern looking hotel in Manhattan, with large rooms. You can request a fridge and microwave free of charge, but this is not standard in the room. I had a nice pleasant stay there. Location is good. The hotel is close to a metro station at 8th avenue having many good connections: Times Square (1 block away), Central Park, 5th avenue, WTC, SoHo, Chinatown and Brooklyn. These are lines A-C-E if you want to look it up. The station is called 34th street Penn station, with an exit also at 35th station (street of hotel). You are 2 blocks walking from Macy's and Penn Station; and 3 blocks walking from Empire State Building. If you like to go to the movies, there is one in a parallel street at 34th street (just walk through the parking in front). Next to it, you have a nice burger chain Five Guys. You can get breakfast on your own: nice bagels in a small place on 35th street between 7th and 8th avenue, also there in front Subway or coffee Starbucks round the corner. B&H is round the corner if you want to buy technology. Things not so good: * Street of the hotel, not beautiful about 200 metres walk, next to police station. Lots of works currently. Once you enter in the hotel, you get a pleasant feeling. * Tapes I don't recommend, small portions for the price. I had one tapes of 18 USD, and practically did not get anythings. Bar is pleasant. Cocktails were good, just a bit expensive but normal for Manhattan.
Reviewed November 21, 2014

Nattapoj from Thailand
Deluxe King Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Beautiful decoration. Good services.
Good location. Beautiful hotel. Excellent services.
We really enjoy staying in the hotel. Definitely will come back and stay here.
Reviewed November 09, 2014


Select loyalty program

Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.


Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.


Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: