Book Now: Tumon Bay Capital Hotel

Good
From 421 reviewsSee what guests said
6.1

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (421)Booking.com Reviews (91)
6.1
Good
From 421 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness5.4
Facilities4.5
Location7.8
Room comfort and quality6.2
Service6.0
Value for money7.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
한국어
简体中文
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 404 verified guest comments
8.3
Excellent
Tsoi from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016
Sunset view”
Price, location, sunset
Get what you pay for. Back to room for sunset every day. Good location. Walk a bit from crowd but still quiet.
Reviewed February 14, 2016
7.6
Very good
Josephine from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
hotel very near DFS”
hotel is very conveniently located just a 3 minute walk to DFS. very convenient to go to other malls by tumon shuttle.
Reviewed February 02, 2016
5.0
syu from Taiwan
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Poor room”
Location is ok
Never stay there again, room sucks!
Reviewed January 03, 2016
6.0
WILFREDO from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
PLenty of small epis”
price reasonable
ok
Reviewed December 13, 2015
6.3
Good
Marc from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Good, Basic Hotel”
wi-fi; quiet; TV
It's very quiet and peaceful. Staff is friendly and wifi strong.
Reviewed October 12, 2015
5.7
LEE from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Good location”
Convenient; value for money; but old
OK
Reviewed September 23, 2015
6.0
Muhammad from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Good location”
Good location, nice sea view, inexpensive
The hotel is kinda old. The view from the room is magnificent.
Reviewed August 17, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Flordeliza from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 30 nights in May 2015
great location, good value!”
location, amenities, view
very good, great value for money! proximity to my workplace at new private hospital.
Reviewed June 16, 2015
6.0
Ho from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
normal 3 star hotel”
good location, nice staff, good view
overall is good because i dont have too much expectation of this 3 star hotel.
Reviewed April 07, 2015
4.0
Caroline from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Need to upgrade for safety and comfort”
It's in tumon
Not clean, the sliding doors are about to collapse. It's not very clean. They keep turning the water off.
Reviewed March 26, 2015
3.3
Satomi from Japan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
i'll not stay again”
Location was not bad.
Small ants and cockroach was in the room... And they have only body wash. We have to check and clean if bathtub drainage have hair. Sounds coming from next room.. Will not recommend to stay.
Reviewed March 26, 2015
7.7
Very good
Takumi from Japan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Nice location”
room, location, view
Reviewed March 18, 2015
4.3
jaeyong from South Korea
Family with teens
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
so so”
with pool . location . view
Reviewed March 06, 2015
4.7
Christen from United States
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Not so clean”
Location location location and decent view with balcony
It was fine but the water didn't work the second night due to a pipe issue with the water company, the front desk did give me a free water bottle though;) also there was dust and hair in the corners and tons of dust under the bed along with an old slipper that looked like it was there for a while. The air conditioner sounded like a helicopter and was full of dust.
Reviewed March 03, 2015
5.7
hyeongsu from South Korea
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
So so”
Good location
So so
Reviewed February 26, 2015
5.0
Russell from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Room dirty and big bloodstain visible on mattress!”
Location, friendly staff, and view from balcony.
My stay was a little stressful because I worried about sheet cleanliness and overall level of safety while staying there. The door had an old-fashioned pushbutton doorknob lock and the balconies were close enough that someone could climb from one to another easily. And when I returned to my room my third night, the cleaning person left my balcony window wide open, because I specifically shut it before I left that morning. I left nothing of value in my room each day!
Reviewed February 26, 2015
3.7
wei from China
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Terrible”
Please do not even try!
Reviewed February 23, 2015
3.7
Dana from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Location great, but find another place!”
Location, location, location
The location is the ONLY thing going for this place. The one staff person they have is friendly. The hotel is very dated and in need
Reviewed February 21, 2015
7.7
Very good
Juyeon from South Korea
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 7 nights in August 2013
normal motel. good access to seaside”
close from shore and stores. price
Reviewed February 02, 2015
4.0
PARK from South Korea
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in January 2015
Great location..Bad condition..”
There's only one merit, the location. You can walk to DFS and other pubs at night safely.
I found two cockroaches on the firsrt day under my suitcase after returning room. I couldn't get to sleep so I tried to cancel the rest of the stay, but as you know..the problem was the penalty. I determined to save the money for hotel expense because the other hotels around this hotel(also economical hotels) don't seem to be that clean. There are no hairdryer, pot and safetybox. You can rent them for 5$ each. The microwave is on the lobby. We used two beds but always the maid made only one bed. I didn't even touch the blanket so she thought I didn't use the bed. The price is quite reasonble compared to other hotels in Guam but it's terrible.
Reviewed January 27, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Jun from China
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
nice hotel”
nice location, size of the room, swimming pool
The hotel is right behide the DFS, up hill, about 5 mintutes walk. The hotel is a little old, but still nice. There is no cafeteria in the hotel. The pool is nice and clean.
Reviewed January 05, 2015
3.7
Pham from South Korea
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
very bad”
the room is old, not clean. nothing is best, everything is dirty
Reviewed December 20, 2014
6.0
Barry from United States
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Pleasant for a short stay”
Good location, quiet, inexpensive
The Capital needs a renovation. While it is clean, the furnishings are showing their age. During the time we were there, the wooden window covering was off-track thus blocking our ability to open the balcony sliding window, and the lights in the bathroom would not turn on. The staff was quick to respond to both problems. There is no book describing hotel services, or services offered near the hotel. The food services in the hotel were closed during our three day stay, probably due to the lack of guests checked in. The Capital is located near shopping and other places of interest. It does have an ocean view, although somewhat blocked by the newer beachfront highrise hotels. While its glory days have passed, the Capital does offer a pleasant experience for short stays.
Reviewed November 01, 2014
7.7
Very good
Roy from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 7 nights in October 2014
Tricked into a survey”
Price, Location, Location
I knew if I answered the question, I would get roped into a survey. Sigh.... The hotel is old and the water pressure is not great, but it is as good as the 200$ a night places in terms of location. Bring a bath ladle/plastic pitcher....
Reviewed October 23, 2014
6.0
Brad from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 6 nights in September 2014
Just Fine”
View, Location, cold a/c
The first thing you notice upon arrival at this property is that there is no bell captain. They have a trolly you can borrow & lug your belongings upstairs yourself. The staff is friendly enough, & will respond to your concerns. When you get to the room, the nice ocean view will be the next thing you notice. Then you will notice the transparently thin bed sheets. Man, I hate those. Then I noticed they had liquid bath soap. I like that a lot. Bar soap is unsanitary, untidy & wasteful. The split-type a/c worked very well & was whisper quiet. The fridge was cold & had a glass door, which I liked. The flat screen tv was clear & had an adequate assortment of channels. The bed was comfy, minus the thin sheets. The swimming pool was enjoyable, & up to 8ft. deep which is unusual. The whole place needs a general upgrade, but for a one week stay, I found it just fine.
Reviewed October 15, 2014
2.0
Shiela from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
not recommended”
none
Hotel too old, bed not comfortable...not recommended
Reviewed September 26, 2014
8.0
Excellent
TROY from United States
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Quiet”
Quiet,Convenience
Reasonable Price. Good to stay for just few days.
Reviewed September 24, 2014
6.0
WONG from China
Family with teens
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Average Hotel ”
Low Price, location quite good near city centre, seaview room
Everything is talking about money. (1) I have a child with 10 years old need add US20 per night. I never have this experience when travel around the world. (2) No biling water pot in room, need US$5 to rent it. (3) No extra blanket provided if u feel cold in room......... However, location quite near city center and easy to buy things and reach different restaurants; room with balcony can enjoy seaview; low price when compared with other hotels.
Reviewed September 11, 2014
7.0
Very good
Cyndi from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 7 nights in August 2014
Great location, friendly staff”
location, good internet, helpful staff
Was a good value. No restaurant. Staff was very responsive when expected internet went out, answering questions, getting a cab. Walking distance to downtown.
Reviewed September 10, 2014
6.3
Good
Yuichi from Marshall Islands
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Should I not expecting as guest?”
location, room size, cost
they were charging to use iron, with security deposit, can not leave in room charge. room bath tub has clogged with so any hair, not mine. hotel need to clean more careful since very very old building. and balcony, door was unlocked, hope no one can come but not feel secured.
Reviewed September 05, 2014
7.0
Very good
Yuichi from Marshall Islands
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
nothing bad for this cost”
Price, big enough room and nearby shopping area
Very friendly staff when check in & out.
Reviewed September 01, 2014
6.0
hiroshi from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Budget price good location”
Price location availability
Hotel itself is rather old, dark, hasn't spent money on renovation in a long time. But air con worked, good location, reasonably clean. Not for anyone dreaming of holiday resort but if you are looking for some place to stay it's ok.
Reviewed August 29, 2014
5.7
JOOEUN from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Very close to the city (shopping center)”
Cheap, accessibility
It's reasonable price to stay with friends. But they need to setup the sound insulation.
Reviewed June 18, 2014
5.3
Jeonghoon from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 5 nights in October 2013
Cheap is cheap... what do you expect?”
As I picked above... Great location, cheap and... well... that's about it!
Old... too old and smoke smell...
Reviewed June 08, 2014
6.7
Good
Elizabeth from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 6 nights in April 2014
The Capital Hotel is a bare-bones hotel.”
Its central location, the friendly staff and furniture/fridge in room.
The Capital Hotel is a budget experience. Its great location is balanced with a minimum of comforts. The lobby, elevator and halls are not air-conditioned. There are no mattress pads on the beds, and the sheets often don't reach down to the bottom of the bed. There is not much water-pressure in the shower, and the water goes out several times a day. However, it is clean, the refrigerator and air conditioning in the rooms work great, and the staff is friendly. If you have to cut costs, this hotel is a good option.
Reviewed May 07, 2014
2.7
waqas from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
terrible hotel, dont waste your money here. ”
nothing good
In my 30 yrs this was worst hotel ever , No water, dirty bed sheets,they dont change toothpaste ,drainage system very bad, 40 yrs old AC, Just terrible
Reviewed April 30, 2014
3.0
john from Ireland
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 8 nights in March 2014
worst hotel experience in the civilised world”
there are not 3 things that were good about this hotel
The worst experience of my life, this is after all , part of the USA.The hotel was old and dated, forgivable, but was dirty, air conditioning did not work properly which meant I could not sleep. There was no hot water in the shower, most of the time, the toilet did not flush properly, the bathroom was dirty all through the 8 nights I stayed there. The floor in the apartment and on the balcony was never properly cleaned through out my stay. There were two of us in the room but the hotel could not provide a second key for the room. If it were not for the fact that we were so close to the beach and convenient for where my work was, there would have been no redeeming features. This hotel should be closed down, remodeled, the staff sacked and new management brought in. All small but very annoying things that could be easily fixed, but there has to be the will and that was not there. The staff were sloppy and unhelpful.
Reviewed April 04, 2014
7.0
Very good
Allen from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Good basic hotel”
Location, wifi, parking
Good basic hotel in central Tumon. Guam is expensive for accomodation. This hotel basic and dated but is cheap.
Reviewed March 28, 2014
8.0
Excellent
HAJIME from Turkey
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
old hotel but great location”
location, room size, value for money
I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. This hotel is very old. When I was taking a shower, the fan that is located above the bathtub fall on my shoulders and I got slightly injured. The hotel needs a renovation immediately. However, the location is great; dining and shopping spots are just a few steps away. so if you are searching for a centrally located budget hotel, it is a good place to stay. However, don't expect luxury.
Reviewed March 26, 2014
6.7
Good
Timothy from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 7 nights in March 2014
Budget Studenty ”
Location, Room, View
I really enjoyed my stay. The really bad thing is the plumbing. The hotel is an old one. The owners don't see the return on investment of redoing the plumbing. This means that when a lot of people are using the water, it can slow down and even stop mid morning. There are reports of irate Japanese men covered in soap at the front desk. This happened to me once too. Fortunately I had some bottles of (cold) water and poured one over myself to wash off the soap. Yes, there was one bug slightly cockroach like (but not a roach) in the bathroom. It did not bother me. If you want perfection, don't stay there. If you want spacious, pleasant, large, rooms with internet and a nice view, at a price one third of that at other hotels then stay here. It suits students rather than businessmen. The slope is okay for anyone fittish. The slope means that you are away from the noise and bustle. The pool is okay for a lounge and young kids. There is a water-worldy slide thing right next door. There are convenience stores at the bottom of the hill. The mattresses are a bit springy. Again, I would not recommended it to anyone heavy. The TV is big and works. The staff are nice friendly and helpful except for a guy called Ronaldo (realise that you are working in the hospitality industry Ronaldo!) who sits around wearing his ipod, largely ignoring the guests, looking, being unfriendly. The Capital Hotel is a bit like Fawlty Towers, or some nightly let old student apartments, or rather scruffy but, in a tropical resort with views of the sun going down over the ocean. I look forward to staying there again, and I will be recommending it to Japanese students.
Reviewed March 20, 2014
2.7
katherina from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Very bad hotel”
-
It was terrible, staff not friendly, bathroom mirror full of stains, balcony is dirty with dead worms, carpet is filthy, the bed is slumpy, the wardrobe dorrs are falling apart. I did not even bother to complain to the staff.
Reviewed March 03, 2014
8.0
Excellent
siu from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
good location”
good location
Reviewed February 28, 2014
7.3
Very good
Hun from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014
Decent no frills stay”
Good location, great diving shop and clean
Reviewed February 24, 2014
5.0
jongmin from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
smell, dirty”
cheep price, clost to shopping center
Reviewed February 20, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Flordeliza from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 13 nights in December 2013
a stay of great value”
location, value, view
had my colleagues stay in this same hotel. simply because we are satisfied with it.
Reviewed December 31, 2013
5.3
Martin from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Good value for the price.”
Price, location, friendly staff.
Reviewed December 30, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Joseph from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Great!”
The location of this hotel is fantastic!
The hotel location is good! Very near the beach and DFS Galleria. The hotel's facilities are old but still acceptable. I like the home-y feeling. The staff are kind! I will definitely book this hotel again.
Reviewed December 07, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Michael from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
very good , easy acess to the city of Tumon”
accessible, big room & bath room, fast wifi
very relaxing and affordable, also accessible to everything to the ebach & shopping area with easy access to transport
Reviewed November 19, 2013
6.3
Good
Patsy from United States
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Good place for budget vacation”
Pleasant staff, parking space, internet service
I would say average, it great when you on a budget crunch.
Reviewed October 08, 2013
6.0
Mamerto from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Accessible”
Accessible, centrally located, nice view
Good enough for value for money and good location.
Reviewed October 02, 2013