Book Now: Union Hotel an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Union Hotel an Ascend Hotel Collection Member Reviews

Very good7.0
Based on 124 reviews

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (124)
Booking.com Reviews (595)

7

Filter by guest type:
Very good
based on 124 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 5.1
  • Location 7.2
  • Room comfort and quality 6.6
  • Service 6.8
  • Value for money 7.0
Good
based on 12 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 6.2
  • Room comfort and quality 5.8
  • Service 7.2
  • Value for money 6.8
Very good
based on 64 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 5.1
  • Location 7.3
  • Room comfort and quality 6.5
  • Service 6.7
  • Value for money 6.7
Very good
based on 33 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Location 7.6
  • Room comfort and quality 7.5
  • Service 7.2
  • Value for money 7.6
Good
based on 4 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 4.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Room comfort and quality 4.0
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for money 7.5
Good
based on 4 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Location 7.0
  • Room comfort and quality 6.0
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for money 6.5
Review score
based on 7 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Location 6.3
  • Room comfort and quality 5.4
  • Service 5.1
  • Value for money 6.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:

Language
  • English
  • 日本語
  • Deutsch
  • 한국어
  • Español
  • Italiano
  • Nederlands
  • 简体中文
  • Svenska
  • Français
  • ภาษาไทย
  • 繁體中文 (香港)
  • Dansk
more less

Room type
  • 2 Single Beds Nonsmoking
  • 1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
  • 1 King Bed Nonsmoking

Sort by
Showing 123 verified guest comments
  • clear all

4.7
Moon from South Korea
Solo traveler
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Tiny small room ”
Friendly staff, and nothing else
The room was so small that I couldn't even open my carrier inside. It's REALLY tiny that you can't even imagine. Location of the hotel was not that good and safe. For me, spending 250$ for three nights was just waste of money.
Reviewed February 27, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Curtis from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Dependable and Comfortable”
The location, comfort and staff keeps me coming back every time!
I love coming back to the Union Hotel; I know what's in store for me there. The staff is great, the upgrade with the cable was long overdue and is awesome and the rooms, while a bit small, are very comfortable and clean. You have a regular for life!
Reviewed January 08, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
sarah from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
poor”
location location location
Reviewed December 05, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Najwa from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
The Cozy Queen”
There was free parking around the hotel, it was close to pretty good food/drink spots, and easy to get to several different trains.
We stayed in a "cozy queen" room, which was right next to the front desk and the street. I'm almost certain the bed was actually full size, not queen, but that wasn't a problem. From about 5:30am-10:30am, there was a steady stream of customers conversing loudly with whomever was working the desk during those hours. It seems the staff member(s) never told any of these loud talkers that people were trying to sleep in the room right next to them. To be fair, it was most likely the cheapest room in the hotel, and now I can safely assume the reason. The room was cute and clean; all of the staff members we encountered were very polite. If I had gotten any sleep I probably would have really enjoyed my stay. Another room probably might have been great. Just don't stay in room 101 without earplugs.
Reviewed December 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Alan from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Surprisingly Very Nice”
Staff friendliness, cleanliness
Very nice stay. For the price I was a anticipating an ant infested place. Instead I found a charming place with a very nice but very small room.
Reviewed November 24, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Adam from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Cozy room, thin walls”
price, no frills, location
My stay was pleasant, the staff was nice, and the voucher for breakfast at a nearby diner was a clever and delicious way to offer breakfast. The rooms are very small, but if you just need a place to sleep that is clean and comfortable, it's a good deal. The only thing that I will say after two visits now, is that the walls are very thin. My last visit was two nights. The first night was great. The second night, I was trying to sleep, but my neighbors for trying for something else!
Reviewed November 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Jermaine from Jamaica
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
quick, easy and comfy”
price, location, receptionist(olga ;)
It served its purpose for a 2day stay..anything longer and I'd go to Manhattan.
Reviewed November 08, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Curtis from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Another night at the Union Hotel.”
Staff, Convenience, Price
I like staying there (and I stay pretty often), because it's convenient for my needs. Price wise, it's usually suitable for my needs. Yes the rooms are a bit crampt at times, but I've stayed there enough so I know where the best rooms are and shoot for those. Staff is great; very accomodating and friendly. I've gotten to know a few of them well (as I stay there often), and like I said, they treat me very well. Many people complain about the rooms and the location. But again, if you know going in that the rooms aren't the biggest, then you get over that and accept it for what it is. A moderately priced hotel (by NYC standards) in a pretty decent location that allows you to reach Manhattan rather easily. No complaints from me.
Reviewed November 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Yichen from Taiwan
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Small hotel”
Cheap.modern.exclusive.
Rooms r small but it is one of the better hotels in the price range.
Reviewed October 31, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Caitlin from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Mixed reviews... ”
location, breakfast, service
Con - Pilly Sheets and No Conditioner (only shampoo) pros - good location, delicious diner breakfast for free, wifi
Reviewed October 28, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Shoshana from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
perfect location ”
clean, good breakfast, location
Reviewed October 27, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
Karl from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
attractive, clean, miniature hotel”
friendly staff, clean room, great location
Even for a room in the NYC area, this room was a closet. My wife and I could not maneuver anywhere in the room without getting in each other's way. There was no good place to store luggage, I couldn't move in the shower without bumping into something, and besides the bed, the only other place to sit was wooden folding chair. I might have liked it better if I was travelling alone, but it certainly wasn't a place to relax, just a place to sleep when you weren't out in the city...It's a shame because the staff was certainly very friendly and helpful, and worked to earn repeat business from me, but I won't stay in a room that small again.
Reviewed October 07, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
Lee from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Very small room”
Room is too small, near brooklyn, near subway
The cab fare from JFK Airport is nearly $75 including tips. That's way too high, making the hotel stay way too expensive. You can't really take subway to go to hotel as the road from subway to hotel is too uneven to pull your luggage. The hotel is close to subway, but it's very quiet and dark at night. It's basically located at a industrial park. WIFI is the best, very fast. But the room is TOO SMALL! The design is wrong as the bathroom is quite spacious but the bedroom is too small. I have to put 2 luggage in the bathroom.
Reviewed August 29, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
sarah from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
pretty decent hotel”
location, small hotel, good service
the good: decent room, clean, neat, fresh towels and soap, tv. free wifi, hangers in closet. own a/c unit, good location for me, service was efficient and check in and check out ran smoothly. The not so good: small hotel/room, the door and bathroom door could not be used the same time.tiny space..thin walls, no full length mirror, only bathroom face mirror, no task lighting for bathroom mirror, tiny shower tall, did not get very hot water, coffee in the hotel was crap, even starbucks makes better and that is not saying alot...
Reviewed August 29, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
samantha from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Small but clean room. great diner for breakfast. ”
This hotel was in a great location, quiet neighborhood in park slope and included a delicious free breakfast at the Station Cafe where the staff was wonderful. The room was small but clean.
The rooms were small, but who goes to NYC to hang out in a hotel room? The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. I'd stay here again anytime.
Reviewed July 17, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Daniel from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Great value for location. Delicious breakfast”
Value Location Breakfast
Convenient. Perfect for a 1 night or weekend getaway.
Reviewed June 30, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Lang from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Convenient place, breakfast at the cafe is good”
Breakfast, clean, comfort
Reviewed June 03, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Tatyana from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Cute little room”
Cleanliness, no one bothered me, very cute room
Reviewed May 30, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Michael from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Small room but fun hotel with great staff”
Staff, location, soft bed
Great stay. Had Rm 101 which shares a wall with check in... not much privacy at all but if you are ok with that, the staff were great and the bed clean and comfortable
Reviewed May 19, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.0
Raed from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Small rooms and no parking but good price”
price break fast room service
Reviewed May 02, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
3.3
Yiyoung from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Very small and cold room.Rude staff at front desk.”
Breakfast was ok.
Fisst of all, I booke a cozy queen and it actually just two single beds pushed together. Very uncomfortable sleep and the heater makes noise constantly and room was still cold and very dry. staff at front desk was unpforessional and rude..The room was too small and closet stink. The bathroom towel was too yellow...didn't like that either. It was worst hotel/Inn I've ever stayed!
Reviewed January 05, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Aaron from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Budget Friendly "Artsy Hotel"”
Design, location and price
I read several reviews were those who stayed at Union Hotel complained about the size of the room... I don't know if I just happen to have a different idea of small vs. large, but I thought the room was totally fine for two people. It's near a subway station. Your stay comes with breakfast from the Union Station Cafe (PHENOMENAL FOOD AND SERVICE). The room I slept in had high ceilings and was neatly designed and decorated. Overall, I was pleased. Not super expensive and really just a place to sleep without all the other unnecessary thrills.
Reviewed November 10, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
John from United States
Couple
Stayed 8 nights in October 2013
Clean quiet hotel”
Clean room, centrally located, good value
Nice hotel, stayed to visit our son living in Brooklyn. Quiet motel, breakfast was free at the diner 2 blocks away, good food and staff. We did not spend much time at the hotel, room were small but comfortable, reasonably priced, staff was friendly, quick check in and out, only a few tv channels, felt very safe. Not a lot of frills but very comfortable, would come back.
Reviewed October 29, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
Wayne from Canada
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Very small room”
Location is quite good; clean; breakfast provided at local restaurant was very good
Very, very small room. Otherwise, quite well located near Subway
Reviewed October 27, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
Radhakrishnan from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 10 nights in October 2013
Simple afforadable clean hotel”
easy access,friendly and neat
Reviewed October 19, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
HE from China
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Nice”
Nice breakfast.cheap.clean room.
Reviewed October 18, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Felipe from Mexico
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Expect the minimum and you'll be happy. ”
Good location. Value for money. Good breakfast.
Reviewed September 02, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
vladimere from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
awesome ”
price bathroom location
It was really nice the area was close to the subway and the breakfast was delicious
Reviewed July 11, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Leslie from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 6 nights in June 2013
cute, cozy, good location”
breakfast at the diner down the street, very close to subway, comfortable bed
I enjoyed my stay. Yes, it was a small room as the reviews that I had read stated, but as a solo traveler it was all that I needed. The price and location were great. I enjoyed the diner down the street and having the subway station so close. I was able to navigate to the city with no problem. I would stay again.
Reviewed July 11, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
Jordon from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Shoebox rooms, no place to put luggage”
Breakfast, and that is it. I can't think of 2 more things.
Awful. I really would never pay that much for a room the size of a bed, no other amenities, and not even in a great neighborhood.
Reviewed July 03, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Ruth from Spain
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
clean but small rooms”
staff, location, breakfast
nice and clean room and bathroom. small rooms with a small bed.
Reviewed June 06, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Ruth from Spain
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
good location but small rooms”
staff, location, breakfast
hotel is good located. It is located on a very quiet street close to the subway station. the are seems safe and peaceful. The room was very small for two people but it was clean and confi. Staff was excellent
Reviewed May 28, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
charles from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
helpfull staff. comfortable room,great bathroom.”
staff bed and bathroom
great, I will go back again when in Brooklyn. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Reviewed May 22, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
2.0
KI-JOONG from South Korea
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Unfriendly Hotel”
There is no best thing to be recommend
It was worst hotel that I ever expericed before. Extremely uncomfortable, unfriendly staffs and I do not want to recommend to people.
Reviewed May 16, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
Andrew from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Very disapointing”
Free breakfast at Station Cafe and proximity to subway
The constant noise kept me awake almost all night. Not only guests in the hallways but also staff. My room was on the 1st floor and guests were smoking and talking outside my room and the smoke was coming in through the AC unit or window.
Reviewed April 28, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Han from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
it's ok”
Location, breakfast, price
The location is close to subway station, but its in Brooklyn, the neighbourhood seems not that safe, The room is ok for the price. The breakfast is good.
Reviewed April 17, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Carlene from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Comfortable place to stay ”
Free breakfast, free internet, comfy bed
Reviewed April 16, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
Edward from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
clean, but quite small”
clean, friendly staff
Reviewed April 13, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Yvette from Netherlands
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Great hotel”
Service
Lovely hotel in NYC with a great service, it was very near the metro and easy accesible, nice rooms.
Reviewed March 01, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Virginia from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Compact but comfortable and clean”
Everything was clean and streamlined - no tacky decorations or fluff
The hotel was compact - small rooms and sparse accommodations - but everything you need for a restful night's sleep. If you are only looking for a room to sleep in and not planning anything else, this is the place for you.
Reviewed February 20, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.0
Kei from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 6 nights in February 2013
It was not extremely bad but never good either”
Nothing special
if you have very tight budget, this might be the one but i won't stay at this hotel any more. the reason is very simple. i coudn't feel any hospitality from the hotel's service.
Reviewed February 15, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Christine from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Great location, clean, a bit noisy”
Very good location, free street parking, clean, European minimalist style
print out and bring your voucher! not the email, but the attached voucher. i was afraid they were not going to honor the booking. the room was super tiny, but fine. it was quite noisy in the morning. vacuuming began at 7am, it sounded like they were vacuuming our room it was so loud. you could hear every conversation, but the priceline price was good and worth it. awesome free, full breakfast at nearby diner!
Reviewed January 01, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Yossaran from Thailand
Group
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Good location, near Union station subway”
5 min to the nearest subway. Modernized S Size hotel.
I spent time in NY with my friends and chose Union Hotel, Brooklyn since it is located near the subway. For the room is quite small but comfortable to stay. LCD TV, hair dryer and heater were provided. Toilet was clean and oriented well. For breakfast, we got vouchers to eat at Union Station Cafe where beside Union Station Subway then we can consequently continue our journey after having breakfast. In the night, it was quite dark but there are some bars and convenient stores open, also couple of oil stations along the road.
Reviewed December 27, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.0
douglas from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Worst hotel experience EVER-impossibly small room.”
Breakfast 2 blocks away
Room was barely bigger than the bed, bathroom bigger than the bedroom!.The AC unit overhung the bed.TV fixed to the wall could only be seen sitting on a folding chair in the doorway. The channels were marginal-no networks except BBC.Guest Noise from midnight-2 am outrageous.Wall so thin we heard every word our neighbors said during the night. Missing towel one day,bath mat the next.No amenities like kleenex not to mention coffee pot. One bottle of water per stay. Staff was helpful and moved us after one awful night. Threadbare sheets, lumpy pillows,noisy heater, not very hot shower in freezing bathroom. It was just plain awful for 3 nights. If we could have walked away, we would have. Our daughter did! This hotel should not be listed.
Reviewed December 26, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Alina from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
A real Brooklyn style hotel, cozy, lovely, and fun”
Breakfast was fantastic; rooms were adorably small
Loved everything about the hotel, room size, color scheme, decorations, staff. Fantastic experience. Definitely a bargain for the price!
Reviewed December 22, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Saundra from United States
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Our Stay At The Union”
Great price, great free breakfast, safe up and coming area......plenty of restraunts, great high quality thrift stores and fabulous coffe shops, very family oriented area
Hotel pros: Helpful front desk Clean Comfy beds and pillows Budget friendly Easy 20 minute ride to Manattan One mile from mall Awesome hot breakfast everyday until 11AM!! Hotel Cons: For me there was none, I was looking for a budget friendly hotel close to Manhattan, I read the reviews and I don't know what people were complaining about for the money! The hotel is clean and has great heating in the rooms. I wasn't there in the summer so I don't know about AC. The only possible negative would be the "thin" walls. I've read a review that said if you're there to see Manhattan don't even think about staying there......sorry that is BS, we took the train there and back everyday, took twenty minutes.......*****i do strongly advise, however, to familiarize your selves with the Metro!
Reviewed December 20, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
David from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Great location, small rooms”
rooms, location
It's walking distance to Atlantic Terminal and Barclays Center. Not far from downtown Brooklyn. Tiny room but so very clean and nice! Really was nice in every regard. It's really only suitable for one person, though. There's literally no room to move. But I spent 5 hours in my room, I was in town for a basketball game. I would definitely stay again if you get a good deal through agoda.
Reviewed December 19, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Teresa from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Wonderful staff and accomodations.”
Clean
thought it was perfect for what i needed. was mislead by the fact that the breakfast was not in house, but the cafe was pleasant and it was a nice change; not too far to walk. i do think they should mention that upon reservation.
Reviewed December 08, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Tuomo from Finland
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Great location but small rooms - Indeed!”
Location, clean, modern
the union hotel has a great location between manhattan and the jfk. however, in ordrer to find it, you really have to know that it exists. when looking down the street, it does not look like a place for hotel to be. do not give up as the hotel is relatively good value for money and a perfect place to crash in the 4th avenue. the room is minimal. there is approximately 60cm extra space apart from the space required for a bed. this means that it is impossible to fully open the room door before it gets jammed to the bed. however, there is more room at teh bathroon, which is modern and with almost instant hot water. the breakfast cafe is some 150meters from the hotel but quite sufficient. for earmy morning departures, please be aware that the breakfast is not served before 07:00am,eventhough the joint is open...
Reviewed December 03, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Jeppe from Denmark
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Nice hotel in Brooklyn but small rooms”
friendly staff, new rooms
The hotel is close to Union St. station. The breakfast at Station Cafe was okay
Reviewed November 29, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |

1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: