Book Now: Uprising Beach Resort

Excellent
From 149 reviewsSee what guests said
8.5
Recommended by 92% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (149)Booking.com Reviews (391)
8.5
Excellent
From 149 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.2
Facilities8.3
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality8.9
Service8.8
Value for money8.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Deutsch
简体中文
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
Garden View Bure
Beachfront Bure
Garden View Villa
Beach Front Villa
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 101 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Siobhan from Ireland
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory - 10 Bunk Beds
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Excellent”
I love this place. All staff are so friendly, they had the best breakfast and a gym! I want to go back here if I have the time.
Reviewed September 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Agnieszka from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory - 10 Bunk Beds
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Excellent value for money and fantastic staff”
Stayed in the dorm, great value for money especially if booked through agoda so got it cheaper:) Breakfast included, you don't need lunch anymore it's so good. Dorm very good and clean. Free WiFi between 4-6 pm. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, especially Lyna. Would definitely be back.
Reviewed September 15, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Aoife from Ireland
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory - 10 Bunk Beds
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Exceptional”
dorms here are the only real option for the area if you're doing the beqa shark dive. staff are all lovely. food is nice if overpriced. a good stay overall
Reviewed July 27, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Aaron from Australia
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Good place and great staff”
Great place to escape. We stayed here with a group of friends and had a great time. The staff are great and the resort is well priced. The rooms are of a good size and were clean. Really enjoyed our stay here
Reviewed June 29, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Aaron from Australia
Family with young children
Garden View Bure
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Nice place to escape”
We really enjoyed our time here. It's nice and quiet which allowed time to relax and put our feet up. The resort is well priced and the food is good. We did some scuba diving with bull sharks through a local dive company as well which was awesome.
Reviewed June 29, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Christian from Canada
Family with young children
Garden View Villa
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Great place for short stay”
The Uprising staff is always very kind and the place is great for families and for a short holiday. We live in Suva, so this is barely 45 minutes away and it is a good hub to do day trips or activities like diving in Beqa, excursions in Navua or exploring Pacific Harbor. The beach is long and beautiful with soft sand. It tends to be windy, and more so in certain parts of the year, which means great kite surfing as we can tell from the shore, but it also sometimes makes enjoying the beach a little less easy. The garden and pool area remains quite sheltered though, so there is always a possibility to enjoy the site. In case you this is something you are interested in, it might be good to know that it is not a place for snorkeling right off the beach like other places a little further around the coral coast. You can sign up for such activities at the hotel or just venture off to other parts of the coast if this is what you are looking for. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go again!
Reviewed June 19, 2017
4.0
Hao from Singapore
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Probably wouldn't return”
Sofa in the room was completely sunken - looked like a 300kg guy sat on it. Breakfast was free - but I wouldn't pay a cent for what was provided. I love eggs, and I've never had such a terrible omelette in my life. And don't even get me started on the toilets/ showers. You had to walk from your room to the shower area via a short but public path - definitely a design flaw as its your private toilet but not ensuite. When we stayed, toilet lights were not working and no one could repair it until the next day - which made bathing inconvenient as it was night. When we asked for a light/torch, we were loaned a torch and informed that we had to return in within 30mins. Well, thank you for your generosity. While I understand that this is an outdoor shower (as were all the other toilets we had on the trip) and insects are unavoidable, this was infested with ants + a big dead spider + big dead cockroach. EWW. The indoor toilet stank and was also infested with ants.
Reviewed May 31, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
christine from Australia
Family with teens
Garden View Villa
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Beautiful Stay”
I loved this resort, it was very laid back, great facilities and friendly staff will definitely be back good value for money compared to what else is around
Reviewed May 10, 2017
6.8
Good
William from Indonesia
Couple
Garden View Villa
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Dim lighitngs, lots of insects”
The lights in all places in the resort are too dim. I had to use my phone's torch light just to walk around. And there are just way too many insects, all sort of insects.
Reviewed May 08, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Ring from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Garden View Bure
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Good Experience”
I really love this resort! the Room is amazing and it located at the beach front! The hot water is not continuous, there is only have around 5 mins hot water per day. However, it is still a good resort and I love the room.
Reviewed March 29, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Sophie from Australia
Couple
Garden View Villa
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
a must go”
This place was the best farewell to Fiji. The pure kindness of Fijians, the magic bures, the tasty and comfy food, all was simply amazing. We stayed in one of the villas with air-conditioning and outdoor shower. It was very comfortable and roomy. This place will be in our best memories of Fiji.
Reviewed March 15, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Andrew from Australia
Group
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Great group location”
Our cycling group stayed at Uprising on our lap of Fiji in early March 2017 and we found the accommodation very comfortable. We stayed in the dorms and shared with another couple of travellers who were pretty laid back and didn't mind a room full of 5 guys with bikes! Facilities were great - massages, beach bar, pool, great restaurant with fantastic food and breakfast included. Would definitely recommend to a group as the price is quite reasonable and nearby to Pacific Harbour which has several shops. Didn't check out the private villas, but I'm sure they're great for couples and families too! We'll be back next year for sure!
Reviewed March 15, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Diana from Portugal
Solo traveler
Garden View Bure
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Good resort”
The price you pay worths the money. The beach is good and long. The gardens are very nice and the bures also. The food is very good although you need to wait a lot "fiji time" you know?
Reviewed March 13, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Antoine from Switzerland
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Exceptional”
Amazing bungalow !! We loved the place ! Shower under the stars was awesome :-) Breakfast buffet was perfect, big choice of food. Dinner was good but a bit expensive.
Reviewed March 08, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
martyn from United Kingdom
Couple
Garden View Villa
Stayed 7 nights in February 2017
Exceptional staff”
Nothing too much trouble their attention to detail is astounding villas really nice food good and within walking distance to atta centre for restaurants and bars
Reviewed March 04, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Cynthia from Canada
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 8 nights in February 2017
Paradise! ”
My girlfriend and I spent 9 days at Uprising, and we were sad to leave. We spent the whole of our time in Fiji here, and Uprising made our stay so special. The place is great - we had a beachfront bure which had an amazing view and was so spacious - it's almost as big as our flat at home! The layout was really cool with a separate shower and there was a minifridge and kettle which were really useful touches. The room was kept super clean by our very sweet housekeeper, Laticia. The rest of the resort was also spectacular. The restaurant was delicious and both the included buffet breakfasts and a la carte menus were fantastic. A few nights we had themed evening buffets which were wonderful. There was a variety of music and events going on at night that were so fun and added a lot to our holiday. There is free use of kayaks and paddleboards and the pool is also perfectly maintained and really nice. There is a great gym on site that guests can use, and which I trained in daily - what makes it extra special is that it was built for the Fiji Olympic Gold Medalist rugby team, who also stayed while we were there, so we got to watch them train! What really makes Uprising my favourite place to stay is the staff - they are all so welcoming and kind, knew our names, treated us as family and friends, and did everything they could to make our stay special. It's hard to single people out since everyone was so great, but special shout outs for Sefo, Cici, Mala, Paul, Mia, and Jim. I can't wait to go back :)
Reviewed February 28, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Tina from Canada
Couple
Garden View Villa
Stayed 6 nights in February 2017
Almost Perfect!”
This was our first trip to Fiji. We stayed at this resort the second week of February 2017 for 6 nights and we stayed in a garden view Villa and we very much enjoyed our stay at this resort. BEST THINGS WE LIKED: >Staff: Very friendly, super helpful staff. If you are in need of anything, just ask. They are also very good at remembering you by name. >Grounds: Beautiful and well kept >Villas: Very clean, nice layout. Best feature was the outdoor shower. Could have stayed in it all day. THINGS WE WOULD HAVE LIKED: >More than one face cloth in the bathroom and a towel and dishcloth for the kitchenette. >Bedding: Sheets were pretty rough feeling and the pillows kind of sucked. >Lighting: Brighter lighting was needed around the sink and mirror and near the clothes closet. The food in the restaurant was okay, nothing special, but not terrible either. It was nice to have the free breakfast as well. All in all we enjoyed our time at this resort and definitely recommend it as good place to stay in Fiji.
Reviewed February 20, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Jeff from United States
Couple
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 5 nights in January 2017
Lovely place”
Beautiful location and the villas are really nice. The outstanding feature of this place is the staff - super friendly, helpful, warm and welcoming. They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable and without stress. Well connected around the island as well. You need something? They can make it happen and fast.
Reviewed January 10, 2017
4.8
Trisha from Vanuatu
Solo traveler
Garden View Villa
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Disappointed”
Despite from the marvelous food my FJD$250 garden villa was dirty. The kitchen cupboard was dirty with nothing but just a electric kettle and cups. The outside shower had leaves all over including the veranda. Inside floor was not swept despite the bed having clean sheets. Was disappointed.
Reviewed January 06, 2017
3.2
Camilia from France
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Total lack of charm”
Feels like a cheap motel which tried to play it villa style. Rooms do not feel with spider nets and bad sink smell, and coackroaches when you are in luck. Much better and cheaper option with plenty of charm available in sigatoka.
Reviewed December 31, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Hoi from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory - 10 Bunk Beds
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Very nice,nice service,nice place”
Very nice,nice service,nice place
Reviewed December 28, 2016
7.6
Very good
Nathan from United States
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Uprising was awesome!”
I'd definitely recommend Uprising and am encouraging friends to stay there and another couple to get married there.
Reviewed December 15, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Lingjie from Australia
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory - 10 Bunk Beds
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
relaxing place”
A quiet resort! Perfect for people want to relax themselves. Will miss the Smoothie, special cocktails and massage there!
Reviewed December 09, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Maren from Germany
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Enjoyable Place for good money”
It was a nice stay and we enjoyed the time. Next time we will spend some more days there. Definitely recommended!
Reviewed November 25, 2016
7.2
Very good
Dee from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory - 10 Bunk Beds
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Decent Dormitory!”
Uprising was fully booked, so I opted to stay in their large dormitory which can accomodate 24 people. I also extended to stay another night. Fortunately it was just me & a few others so we had plenty of space. The showers, whilst back to nature with the bugs & spider webs, were hot with good water pressure... The dorm itself was large with fans, so nice & cool in the evening... Towels could be borrowed from the front desk & as the lockers were out of use valuables could be left with the front desk too. Uprising should be commended for their efforts to sustainable tourism. Happy hour is from 4-6pm when the wifi is free. I enjoyed their lovo & cultural evening, with great music & followed by the kava ceremony. The gem in this place is the staff, each of them friendly, helpful & genuinely attentive!
Reviewed October 17, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Dee from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory - 10 Bunk Beds
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Decent Dormitory!”
Uprising was fully booked, so I opted to stay in their large dormitory which can accomodate 24 people. Fortunately it was just me & a few others so we had plenty of space. The showers, whilst back to nature with the bugs & spider webs, were hot with good water pressure... The dorm itself was large with fans, so nice & cool in the evening... Towels could be borrowed from the front desk & as the lockers were out of use valuables could be left with the front desk too. Uprising should be commended for their efforts to sustainable tourism. Happy hour is from 4-6pm when the wifi is free. I enjoyed their lovo & cultural evening, with great music & followed by the kava ceremony. The gem in this place is the staff, each of them friendly, helpful & genuinely attentive!
Reviewed October 14, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Peter from United States
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
My favourite place to stay in Pacific Harbour, Fiji.”
I live and work in Suva and I'm from Hawaii. There are no beaches in Suva, you have to go to the Koro Coast, Nadi or another island to enjoy the wonderful Fijian Beaches. Uprising is an affordable and great place to stay to enjoy a long stretch of beach, great water and views just outside of Suva. The staff are friendly and helpful, the beach bure's are charming and I love the outdoor showers. The bar and service is friendly, but only expect casual dining. Free shows are fun and entertaining, especial the fire dancers on Thursday night. The lovo buffet was disappointing, but that was the only thing.
Reviewed September 27, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Jakub from Czech Republic
Couple
Mixed Dormitory - 10 Bunk Beds
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Great resort”
Although stayed only one night the resort left great impression - great accommodation (big confy dorm) and facilities, and rich delicious breakfast - top value deal for backpackers who want to enjoy themselves :-)
Reviewed September 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
chido from Zimbabwe
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016
Great place!!”
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Uprising..the Villa is beautiful with the outside shower which was something I looked forward to everyday..the staff is welcoming and very lovely..the food is superb..however I would recommend more free Internet instead of free Internet for 2 hours only...great place to be if you want a relaxed and calm vibe..HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
Reviewed September 10, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Ronny from Germany
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Highly recommend”
Awesome resort - highly recommend. The bures are big and have awesome outdoor showers. Nearby is a place which offer shark diving! Food is great. I highly recommend this resort. I'd come back any time.
Reviewed August 14, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Conway from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
One night stay - good value for money”
Located between Nadi and Suva (close to Suva). This place was very comfortable with access to the beach. Very friendly staff and clean rooms. The included hot breakfast was quite nice too, and enjoyed with a view of the ocean.
Reviewed June 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
LOW from Malaysia
Couple
Garden View Villa
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
couple time”
Everythings was good,dinner was so good...will go to stay ahain in the future. One suggestion if that is possibility uprising can make a local member card so that got the offer for local people like us, we will go to stay in uprising oftenly...
Reviewed May 30, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Miao from China
Solo traveler
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016
great stay”
rooms are quite worn but still good. loved the hotel super cozy great staff. ran into the rugby world champions when i arrived.
Reviewed May 12, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Christiane from Australia
Family with teens
Garden View Villa
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Terrific, accomodating staff”
Beachfront Vilas are worth the extra cost.
Reviewed April 13, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Mita from United States
Solo traveler
Garden View Bure
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Very comfortable resort”
Spacious burres, wonderful staff, outside showers
Enjoyed my stay very much. Loved my burre and the outside showers were a joy. Even though it was raining, I was able to enjoy my warm shower! Breakfast was fast and convenient.
Reviewed January 23, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Evelina from Lithuania
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
I beliebe best choise in Pacific Harbour”
Bure (including shower with palm tree), food, staff
Amazing, staff was very polite and friendly, we were happy with bure and had great time while rafting and shark diving.
Reviewed October 31, 2015
5.3
Clive from United Kingdom
Couple
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 6 nights in July 2015
Quite Disappointing Overall”
Small size resort so low overall occupancy, variety of food available for dinner, beach location
We realise that this was a moderately-priced hotel but there were quite a few areas that needed improving; several bulbs out in villa, towels not always changed, towels either marked or had bleach stains, roller blinds worn and frayed, decor dowdy and unloved, rooms not cleaned thoroughly enough, staff friendly but very slow, disorganised and kept making bill/invoice errors (double charging, wrongly allocating charges to individuals/rooms. Service at lunch/dinner varied between good and very poor (e.g. 90 minutes from sitting down to leaving - for a lunch of beefburger and Coke!). Many of our party did not end up in the villas/bures they had booked.
Reviewed July 31, 2015
7.3
Very good
Maarten from Australia
Couple
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Very accomodating, loved the band”
Accomodation was sensational, hard working staff
Reviewed May 10, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Megan from Australia
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 6 nights in February 2015
Amazing!”
Room, service & beach front views
Fantastic
Reviewed February 12, 2015
7.7
Very good
LIU from Hong Kong
Group
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Uprising Resort”
breakfast, nice staff, enviroment
We have stayed here for 2 nights in a mini 4-bed dormitory. There were sofa, tables and open kitchen in the dorm, with coffee and tea provided. The bathroom with no ceiling outside the room was quite awesome. The provided breakfast buffet were one of the best breakfast we have got in Fiji, with many different kind of food.
Reviewed December 16, 2014
8.3
Excellent
April from United States
Couple
Garden View Villa
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Great base for Pacific Harbour”
Big villas, indoor and outdoor shower and 10 min walk to other resaturants and supermarket
Uprising was definitely an upgrade especially since their accommodations were much bigger and it offered and indoor and outdoor shower. This was much better especially considering it was raining in late October. The Art Village which is a 10 min walk has other restaurants and a supermarket. This may be a great change from eating dinner at the resort which is quite overrated and overly priced for mediocre food. The breakfast buffet is not that bad since they offer omelets. Uprising is great base to do the adventurous things that Pacific Harbour has to offer. So make sure you take advantage of it: River Rafting, Diving or Terratrek. In the evening it's great to relax and watch the FYI channel. In the garden villas, the TV revolves so you can watch TV in the living room and then switch it to your bedroom. *Tip: Be careful of your belongings and do not put anything valuable outside. Public transport is cheap and easy to catch. It cost us $23 FJD for two people to get back to Nadi Town.
Reviewed November 09, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Rebecca from Australia
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Amazing place!!!!!”
Beach front bure, wise, pool
Absolutely amazing! We loved our stay! Loved our beachfront bure!!
Reviewed September 19, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Johannes from Sweden
Couple
Garden View Villa
Stayed 5 nights in December 2013
Wonderful and absolutely gorgeous ”
The Villa, The Beach, The Nature
This hotel is one of the best one we staid on, we are a couple that been in more than 20 countries so we rate this one very high. The villas are absolutely beautiful and the space, cleanness and design is absolutely worth every penny, if you can choose the villa instead of the Bure. Beach front or Garden View are both good. The Villas got a nice indoor bathroom and a private outdoor shower. We recommend this hotel for anyone!
Reviewed January 03, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Yick from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Well organized and plenty of activities”
Excellent staff, range of activities, and good price
Reviewed November 30, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Sean from United States
Couple
Garden View Bure
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Beautiful Beach Cottage”
Location, Design, Friendly Staff
Our main reason for visiting was to do the shark dive. This resort exceeded my expectations, as I knew Nadi wasn't particularly known for its beaches. We had a one bedroom stand alone cottage with an outdoor shower, and it was lovely. There isn't much else around this hotel as far as nightlife or restaurants, but the food at the resort was wonderful and not too expensive. The gardens at the hotel were beautiful and beach near the hotel was very calm and relaxing. I would definitely recommend this resort. I will note that our cottage did not have aircon so it did get somewhat humid. They do offer accommodation with aircon, so I we probably select that option if we returned.
Reviewed September 22, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Wendy from Australia
Couple
Garden View Villa
Stayed 4 nights in September 2013
Lovely value for moneyquiet resort with great food”
Food - loved the spag bol and the polynesian dancing night. Has a quiet beach and decent priced villas
Reviewed September 15, 2013
8.7
Excellent
ENRIQUE from Spain
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 5 nights in August 2013
Wonderfull place.”
Quiet, friendly staff, beach.
Wonderfull, very nice place and people working in Uprising are increibles.
Reviewed September 02, 2013
7.3
Very good
LAI from China
Solo traveler
Garden View Bure
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013
my cozy bure”
big size, garden terrace seats, just 10 steps to the beach
Very polite staff and helpful. Yet the key of my bure was not working well and the key ring was loose. The washroom was next door and always needed to be taken a key before going there.
Reviewed July 27, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Wilma from United States
Solo traveler
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
beautiful beach, kayaks, outdoor showers, good foo”
outdoor showers, gorgeous beach, food
We stayed in a villa which was large and gorgeous. The beachfront view was great each morning and the fine sand was so comfortable you could lie on it. We used the resort kayaks and enjoyd the hotel amenities. Food was really good and the kokoda was especially delicious. The bar was always active. The only thing that was a bit tough was that while the cleaning staff and activities staff were great, the reception staff and restaurant staff were not friendly or attentive. In particular the reception staff were always distracted and seemed unhappy to be bothered--I think it's because I am in my early twenties and they assumed I was staying in the budget hostel dorm when in fact I paid much more for the villa! I noticed the reception were much friendly to older guests, who they knew were staying in the villa.
Reviewed May 19, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Sarah from United Kingdom
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Relaxing”
Beach, pool, close to shops
Good location, short walk to other restaurants and small shopping areas. Very nice big room overlooking beach. Lovely couple of days relaxing by the pool or on beach on comfortable loungers
Reviewed April 17, 2013