Book Now: Velassaru Maldives Resort

Exceptional
From 875 reviewsSee what guests said
9.1
/
10
Recommended by 98% of guests

Reviews of Velassaru Maldives Resort Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (875)Booking.com Reviews (893)
9.1
/
10
Exceptional
Cleanliness9.5
Facilities9.3
Location9.3
Room comfort and quality9.4
Service9.4
Value for money8.5
All languages
All guests (875)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 734 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
SUBHOJIT from United Kingdom
Group
Water Bungalow with Pool
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Stunning , immaculate and overwhelming ”

An array of staff greeted us upon our arrival giving positive vibes about our stay , they're all so humble and welcoming . We stayed in an overwater bungalow with pool and used to wake up to the sunrise right from bed with the sun gleaming the turquoise water. The facilities and the interior decorations both inside the rooms and outside are top class ,the view of the green lagoon from the bathroom is a view of a lifetime . We spent hours inside the plunge pool gazing at the infinity of the ocean . Breakfast has plenty of options with custom counters to prepare your favorite omelette or pan cakes or even waffles . The restaurants are tailor made for fine dining and exhibit a chic decor . Sunset views from the chill Bar are spectacular . The corals in the reef are all bleached so you may have to venture a bit into the lagoon to explore the marine life though you could see some schools of fishes, baby sharks and even turtles. Staff always wear a smile and courteous

Reviewed March 21, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Rai from Singapore
Family with young children
Water Bungalow with Pool
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Awesome resort”

I've booked a water villa w pool for my birthday celebration. I get a nice view. A complimentary birthday cake & chocolate. The room is spacious and clean. Love every inch of the room. The pool is clean. The staircase down to the sea is mouldy due to algae so its a but slippery and gotta be careful. Otherwise not an issue. The bathtub is huge & clean. The in house dining is fantastic. The sea, sand are all clean & the area are well kept. The staffs are well mannered & friendly. They interact alot with my daughter & she loves it. Snorkelling point is good for those who cnt swim further. And the most likely is my flight is late night and they gave us a complimentary room for us to freshen up. Thank you for the thoughtful gesture. I will definitely recommend this and come again. Thank you velassaru team.

Reviewed February 25, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Greg from Finland
Couple
Beach Villa With Pool
Stayed 8 nights in April 2019

Best resort in the Maldives ”

This is our third holiday at Velassaru . We have looked at so many resorts in the Maldives and just can’t find another resorts that covers all our needs from Value for money Location etc. I can’t fault this resort on anything. Every single staff member go out there way to help you and make you feel welcome. Can’t wait for our next visit.

Reviewed May 05, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Carissa from Philippines
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Perfect Honeymoon Vacation”

So much love for this beautiful resort ♥️ Complete recreational facilities, 5 restaurants that offer delicious maldivian and international cuisine. Amazing staff - impeccable service. 👏🏼 The best part - safe to swim everywhere . We had an amazing time! ♥️ Keep it up guys!

Reviewed May 01, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Krishna
Couple
Water Bungalow with Pool
Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

Paradise Indeed”

Velassaru is indeed a paradise on earth. Great location not so far from Male airport still far enough to enjoy the beauty of the Indian Ocean. We stayed in Water bunglow with pool. Hotel staff is very professional in what they are doing, they always greet you even when you are just walking arounf the island. Staff is very kinf and helpful in whatever you need. There are lots of activities you can do. We did kayaking, jetski, dolphin discovery and more. The main Infinity pool is awesome. Overall the island is very peaceful, well landscaped, clean and concise enough to more around. We loved Velassaru so much would definitely recommend anyone who is wishing to spend some cash.

Reviewed April 20, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Marilyn from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in September 2018

Relaxing Holiday”

Top marks for the staff at Velassaru - always smiling and courteous. Was given an upgrade from Deluxe Bungalow to Deluxe Villa but strangely, the upgrade was not visible in terms of location quality. In fact the Deluxe Villa was nearer the service jetty than some of the Deluxe Bungalows. Was quite disappointed with the sound and petroleum smell of the service boat when resting at the beach chair. The resort offered quite a number of complimentary activities. Would like to suggest that the resort organise complimentary Male shopping trips for city dwelling guests. Food was well prepared, though on the expensive side.

Reviewed September 07, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
TRAN from Vietnam
Couple
Beach Villa
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Wonderful place, perfect service and nice/warm staff ”

Big game fishing is a excited tour that you should try. I will be there again!

Reviewed May 13, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Richard from Canada
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 5 nights in January 2019

Wonderful people, wonderful island”

Staff was very attentive and friendly. Island was beautiful just as we had hoped. Close to airport but not too close. Great dive / snorkeling centre. We went on a number of really good excursions. Especially the Manta Ray Excursion. Room was great. Water villa.

Reviewed February 02, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Rozana from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Excellent resort!”

Stayed at one of the Water Villas.

Reviewed March 22, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Mario from Indonesia
Group
Water Bungalow with Pool
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Little Heaven ”

we stayed in water bungalow with private pool and we love everything inside this island resort.

Reviewed March 20, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
karim from Lebanon
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018

Enchanting is the least u can say abt this Paradise island”

From the prestine waters to white soft sand to the nicest staff ever ,to an amazing sunset chill bar to saxophone night and night club night all that added to the jewel of this place THE FOOD, thank you chef Wasantha and Chef Nagy you both one more time (It is our Sixth Visit) gave us the Gourmet treat, A special Thanks goes to Alaa she took care of us .

Reviewed March 11, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Joyce from Singapore
Group
Stayed 5 nights in November 2016

Wonderful Place Leaving Lots of Memories”

Velassaru Maldives is a wonderful resort with good service from the staff. We had a good time in the resort and enjoyed the snorkelling sessions. There was a free in-house reef snorkelling activity which was a good introductory session. We also snorkelled daily around our water villa safely. However there were many dead corals around. We took a private boat tour out for snorkelling, fishing and dolphin search which was enjoyable. The food quality in the various restaurants on the whole were above average mostly. Do make reservations early. We totally enjoyed the dinner on the beach, oysters, drinks etc. We also took beautiful pictures on the resort and bought the package which was optional, not a must.

Reviewed October 19, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Lilian from Brazil
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

Welcome to perfect paradise ”

It was way more than I expected. Everything is perfect... cannot describe how satisfied I am. The over water villa was a dream, all the facilities, the staff, the food... I never wanted to leave. Thank you velassaru for treating us so well xx

Reviewed March 26, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Pek from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

Excellent resort for relaxation holidays”

Staffs are polite and excellent service, room facilities are superb, infinity pool is clean, crystal clear sea water! Just we do not understand why there's charge for drinking water during dinner buffet but there are plenty choices of free drinks during breakfast buffet, it seems not reasonable that restaurant do not provide drinking water in buffet dinner. Free drinking water and coffee are provided inside the room and departure waiting area...

Reviewed October 24, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
James from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016

Beautiful Getaway”

Stayed here with my Fiancee for a long weekend. We had a great time in what is a beautiful location. Perfect for a romantic getaway. The staff were friendly and helpful and the staff in the restaurants and dive centre in particular were excellent. I'll definitely be back if I get the chance!

Reviewed July 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
CECILIA from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016

Clean, Friendly Staff and Beautiful Resort”

The resort is magical turquoise lagoon. Its super stunning, The resort is super well kept its cleanliness & all staffs are super friendly and very attentive and I love how they engaged us on asking how they would make our day better. I love the housekeeping as well where they keep our room clean twice a day, what a BLISS! I love love love teppanyaki restaurant. And I love how every night they have side entertainment for the guests of the resort. I had a fun movie under the stary night with COMPLIMENTS of popcorn! I would love to go back again !

Reviewed May 03, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
ler from Singapore
Group
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

Awesome place”

Very good service provided. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Felt like a super VIP, we were taken very good care of by all of the staff. The water villa is fantastic, however there wasn't much choice for lunch as only 2 restaurants are open. For the first time to Maldives, Velassaru is definitely a good choice.

Reviewed March 28, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
JANTJE from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in March 2016

Nice beach resort”

the beach, the ambience, the service

It was so nice to stay here even only one night. The beach was so nice and have a good view. The service was very good. And we got chance to take a cruise about an hour to go around the resort. It was so nice

Reviewed March 14, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jestoni from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016

Perfect honeymoon destination.”

I personally chose Velassaru Maldives as our honeymoon destination and for the lack of better term, it's beyond perfection. This was our first trip together as husband and wife and we really felt we're like king and queen. The amenities, the restaurants with superb food and service, the spa, the location, everything's perfect. You'll never go wrong with Velassaru.

Reviewed January 26, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Gregory from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 7 nights in December 2015

Lovely Staff”

people, food, sun

We had a very nice stay and Brian and his staff couldn`t have been nicer. We chose the resort based upon its prior reviews and would concur that it's a well run resort that goes out of its way to make sure your stay is trouble free.

Reviewed January 01, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Jessica from Malaysia
Couple
Beach Villa
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015

The best holiday paradise ever!”

Nice beach, clear waters, beautiful nature

Everything at this island were very well-organised except speedboat transfer incident. We were informed that the staff would pick us up after our Male City tour but no one was at the counter when our city tour ended. The staff arrived slightly late at the jetty and gave us in the unfriendly tone, informing us that the boat would depart in estimated 3 hours time. We did not bring anything to kill our boredom at the airport for almost 3 hours. My advice to guests: 1) Please bring a book or ipad in case of the speedboat transfer delay and 2) Book a Male City tour in advance to avoid disappointment. We stayed at the Beach Villa for two nights. The atmosphere was very great because it felt really good to bath at outdoor shower area. It is just few seconds to the beach where you can relax on the sunbed and soak in the clear waters. Highly recommended. For the next two nights, we made another reservation for Water Villa but our stay were upgraded to Water Villa with Pool prior to the speedboat transfer incident. It was very thoughtful of the staff to ensure satisfaction in ourselves. The Water Villa with Pool was very awesome where we could simply relax and laze all the times! The weather was very hot and we were happy to soak in the pool to cool ourselves down. It is very easy to snorkel or swim as the water level is not more than 1.6m but for those who cannot swim, shall wear life jacket provided at the Water Villa. If we go there again, we will definitely be happy to book Water Villa with Pool again! The dinner is very expensive at Sand, Teppanyaki and Etesian but overall, very nice except Southeast Asian food. Lobster at Sand tastes great! The price for the finger food at both Fen and Chill Bars are reasonable for late lunch afternoon or tea time when you need to relax. Of all, the staff management at Velassaru are very friendly and helpful! They made everything possible for us despite of speedboat transfer incident. We are grateful to them for brightening our stay.

Reviewed November 24, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
karim from Lebanon
Couple
Beach Villa
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015

Velassaru u never stop amazing Us ”

White Sand beaches , turquoise amazing sea , incredible food

it is my 2nd stay at Velassaru and i cordially want to thank them for the very well needed romantic time my wife and I got. 1. 25 minutes from the airport 2. Early check in 3. Believe it or not they gave us the same room we stayed in 2012 4. Bubbly and fruit basket in room 5. Room ideally clean 6. Vela Amazing food no words is enough to describe from all corners of the earth jut amazing 7. peace and quiet 8. 17:30 Chill bar sunset very romantic as well as the chill music all over 9. Spa ,,,Balinese massage 10.romantic surprise 11.Late check out 12. a very warm good bye again i want to thank you that you made our holiday so romantic see you soon

Reviewed November 22, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
WOAN from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015

Excellent resort, excellent services”

Beautiful beach, Friendly staffs, Spacious and private room

This is one of the best resorts I have ever stayed. It's located not too far from the International airport, there are beautiful beaches with easy access to the snorkeling spots. Every staffs we met are very friendly and professional to assist in all requests. The events, the dining info and other resort features are well informed to us upon arrival. The room is super spacious and located nicely in front of the beach. Every unit has certain distance so that we would have the privacy and quietness for relaxing holiday.

Reviewed June 07, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
mohamed from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

my best beach vacation sofar”

location, amenities, beach & spa

Best room sofar with white sandy beaches and amazing view. Although the food was informed as halal but it was presented side by side with pork so be careful. Great spa with 1st class staff service. Worth every penny

Reviewed June 01, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
TAYRIUS from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015

Excellent stay, great fun!”

location, cleanliness and serenity

It was excellent! I think the photos featured on Agoda were not that appealing. The resort should have uploaded much nicer pictures! I love the fact that I could enter the sea while stepping out of the room immediately. It was indeed expensive but the experience was incredible. 9.5/10

Reviewed May 06, 2015
8.7
Excellent
zumairi from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Good if you are couple”

view cleanliness ambience

we stayed in deluxe bungalow for 1 night and change to water bungalow another 3night. If you are couple it is good but for us we bring 1 child age 4 no activities for him to do. The excursion is expensive but do expect the price as it is a resort.

Reviewed May 01, 2015
8.7
Excellent
zumairi from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015

Good for couple”

the view, environment ,cleanliness

we stayed in deluxe bungalow for 1 night and change to water bungalow another 3night. If you are couple it is good but for us we bring 1 child age 4 no activities for him to do. The excursion is expensive but do expect the price as it is a resort.

Reviewed May 01, 2015
8.7
Excellent
lee from Hong Kong
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015

Good Location and Beautiful Resort”

The villa so nice and so privacy. The water is clear and the location is very close.

I stay in the only one and the best villa, It is a very good with private Pool. Good Service for this Villa also. But there are not much activities and the food need to improve. However, Still is a good Resort that I recommend you.

Reviewed April 21, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Su from Myanmar
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

Great stay but room for improvement ”

short speed boat ride from airport. Infinity pool. Spa.

We chose velassaru cos it's very near to the airport. We stayed there for a few days as a honeymoon couple at water bungalow with pool. Upon arrival, the friendly staff from resort came to pick us up at airport. The resort itself is very small only 20 mins if u walk around the whole island. Our bungalow is quite far from reception area, pool and spa. I emailed to the resort saying that we were on honeymoon but when we reached our room, there was no flower arrangement on the bed. Just not so fresh looking fruits on the table. Considered we stayed at bungalow which cost us 1200$ plus per night, we expected at least bit of surprises but no. My friends showed off how the resorts they stayed really wowed them by arranging flowers on bed or in bathtub for arrival/departure etc. I was a bit sad. Not all the staffs are friendly. Some went extra miles while a few staffs just entertain Caucasian guests. We dined at sand bar on our last day. Food was good but expensive. Infinity pool is awesome. The spa is great too. The whirlpool is super great. I love it. Other than that Maldives itself is so beautiful that u won't regret visiting. Just that velassaru doesn't really provide 5-star service as there is no extra service provided. Doesn't really wow me.

Reviewed December 21, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Irene from Indonesia
Group
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014

Great resort for a return visit and relaxing place”

Water villa, staff performance, swimming at the beach

We were very pleased by the staff's welcome to our return visit. They made certain that they knew it was our second visit. Our last day/night at the resort was an amazing one because of the staff's effort to make the visit more enjoyable. We enjoyed the water villa tremendously.

Reviewed November 12, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Peggy from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014

Need much improvement on customer service”

The room was very comfortable and the surroundings of the resort was very well maintain

We read a lot of good review about Velassaru before deciding on the resort. I had been to other resorts in Maldives and most of the staff were friendly and smiling. I was surprised that the service staff at the resort were not very forthcoming and friendly despite my husband and I always making the first move to greet and smile. This is certainly what we expect of Maldivian hospitality. The level of English of the operator was also questionable. I called to check if there was any message for me after seeing the blinking message light on the phone. I was informed that it was normal to have message light blinking! ? After insisting that she checked if there's any message she responded that she would call me later. We received no call all the way till check out. Availability of meal plans at the resort was also not well communicated. When we went to Vela restaurant to have our lunch while waiting for our room to be ready, they were shocked by the response a staff gave us. Almost everything we asked he wasn't sure and the excuse he gave was he was new. If he was indeed new to the job, the least he could do was to check for us. Overall I would say that much could be improved on the standard of service. Would like to compliment the masseurs for the wonderful massage and Kim for assisting us in reservation for dinner. The room manager from Indonesia ( sorry forgotten his name) was also very professional in handling customers.

Reviewed October 27, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Sarah from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014

Beautiful location; great staff”

Staff friendliness, location, relaxed atmosphere

Was a magical experience to see such a beautiful part of the world, coupled with great staff and thoughtfulness. Wifi not so good and food over priced for mediocre quality, but that was expected. If only the activities were cheaper, the overall experience would have been even better!

Reviewed October 01, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Weng from Singapore
Couple
Beach Villa
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014

Paradise with good service and a hefty price tag”

Good service from staff, Not very crowded, Food is good.

The stay was comfortable and relaxing. However, it was quite a walk to the restaurant for breakfast as our room is the last on the atoll. They only have one buggy. We didn't manage to get half/full board as breakfast is provided when we booked with Agoda.

Reviewed October 01, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Karthik from India
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014

Easy access from Male - just 25 min boat ride”

Close to male

Perfect - As usual Maldives standard - Exclusivity factor missing - A lot of guests were staying at the same time like us - Guess its because of the proximity to Male. But could not fault the hotel for that - Perfect service and nice white beach and warm waters.

Reviewed September 01, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
EARL from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014

Best beach I've ever been to”

Beach, spa and food selection

I stayed at Velassaru with my boyfriend and three other friends and we all agree that it was the most beautiful beach we've been to. The water is so clear and the island is really paradise. The room was ordinary and some parts of the resort need some updating. Most staff delivered WOW service especially the ones at Teppanyaki, Sand and Christopher from Vela.

Reviewed August 28, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
KAI from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014

EXCELLENT ”

EXCELLENT SERVICE, EXCELLENT LOCATION, EXCELLENT VIEW

They can provide good service (e.g. help customer take lugguage; staff polite, friendly to help customer), They provide a Loccitane Shower gel, shampoo. Location is not far, it is 25 mins speedboat only.

Reviewed August 18, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Ida from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014

Very relaxing and ideal location”

The Chill Bar, Teppanyaki restaurant, very accommodating staff

Our stay at the Velassaru was very good. The resort was very relaxing and the staff were very good. You could have your own private spot outside your own room if you were having a beach bungalow which was really nice. The distance to the airport is less than 30 minutes which is very convenient.

Reviewed May 20, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
YaoJing from China
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014

It's wonderful stay and fall in love it”

White sands and Nice Swimming Pool with great service

Everything perfect in Velassaru. There are white sands with crystal water. We stayed in water lagoon with pool villa, so it's easy to access the lagoon to snokeling. The room is spacious and clean. It provides L'occitane amenities in the bathroom. We had tried three specific restaurants, but the tasty is just so so if you compared with W hotel in Bali. The breakfast do not have much selection. Maybe it could be improved a little bit. The service there is quite good, we could complain anything. Overall, we are satisfied with this hotel.

Reviewed April 15, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Jan-Christian from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014

Beautiful location, great rooms, exceptional food”

Exceptional food, beautiful pool and mind blowing vista

We travelled with two couples and we were all blown away at how beautiful this place was. We stayed in a deluxe bungalow and the rooms were very big, the bed fantastic. I have stayed in a couple of hotels on the Maldives before but never have I had such good food. It was excellent no matter at which of the restaurants we ate. I highly recommend the Salt restaurant with its grilled fish, and the tepanyaki restaurant for its sashimi. There are so many beautiful places to relax, you don't know where to spend all your time. The pool is great and the ocean breath taking.

Reviewed February 12, 2014
8.0
Excellent
chris from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 6 nights in November 2013

Relaxing break on the beach ”

Staff were great, Diving is fab., beach was lovely !

Resort was fantastic - just what the doctor ordered ! The staff were absolutely brilliant and very helpful on email weeks before I arrived to ensure everything was perfect she we got there. Beware though : the food is quite pricey (but as Maldives is a collection of remote islands, I suppose that's to be expected!). The upgrade to the Experience package may be worth while looking at on arrival depending on how much you are thinking of eating / drinking at meal times.

Reviewed December 30, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
HONG from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013

wonderful stay in this hotel”

large n comfort room, nice restaurant, good hotel

the hotel just 20-25 mins from airport by speedboat. my room was 318 water banglo with pool, however the view from the room isn't that nice cause u see other hotel from other island infront of the view, n u can see the capital Male too (i prefer only ocean view). pool is small but ok, room is large n comfort. there r few restaurant in the hotel so u won't get boring (the tepanyaki is very good). overall is a very nice n relax hotel.

Reviewed December 16, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
HII from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013

It is a fantastic hotel, polite staffs.”

courtesy of the staff, sea view is nice, free snorkeling equipment .

I like this hotel so much. Although we arrived this hotel by 1230pm a bit earlier than the check in time 2pm,but they allow us to check in earlier without extra charge. Hotel staffs all can speak very well English,and when i cant find my sunglasses, the staff really help me to find it in my room. So responsible.And after i left the island, i found that i left behind 3 pairs slippers in a bag at the reception area but they ask their staff to send it over to me at the airport departure entrance before my flight. So good of them.

Reviewed December 06, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Rane from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

Best choice”

Water, room, view

Excellent service provided by the resort staff who try their best to cater to your needs.. Room was well maintained and comfortable.. Needless to say the view was marvelous.. Food at teppanyaki was finger licking good..

Reviewed October 22, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Ratchat from United Kingdom
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013

Great hotel, nice room, clear blue water”

Great hotel with very nice water villa and the water is super clear and blue

We loved this hotel. The sand is white and fine and the water is crystal clear. We used to stay somewhere else before that we had to take a seaplane and it was such a hassle. This one is only 20 mins from the airport by speedboat. We landed, cleared immigration, customs, met with the representative, got on the speedboat and reached the hotel in less than an hour. Staff were lovely. The only complain would be breakfast. It was nice but just not much fresh vegetable options.

Reviewed October 20, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Michael from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013

Unforgettable experience! ”

beautiful island, nice design room and great facilities!

It was a wonderful experience staying in Velassaru. Everything is so great about this hotel-the white sandy beach, the environment, the facilities, the friendly staff, the nice design room and etc. They provide good breakfast. Excellent service everywhere, at the library, gym, restaurant or the water sport centre. Great pool with a view to die for!

Reviewed September 26, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Yu from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013

Amazing resort with fantastic food and service”

Food, Service, Location

We can't say enough good things about our stay in Maldives and at Velassaru. The resort and Maldives is absolutely gorgeous. The service was impeccable - we were greeted at the airport, greeted and welcomed back after every excursion every day and also was sent off right to our gate by the Velassaru staff! The food was excellent especially for island standards whereby food is normally very mediocre. There is variety of food with 4-5 different restaurants, all of them was of great quality and had great standards! We would definitely recommend Velassaru to any of our friends who want to go to the Maldives. And we will definitely recommend Maldives as a holiday destination to anyone!

Reviewed August 14, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Meow from Singapore
Family with young children
Beach Villa
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013

amazing and lovely place!”

friendly and attentive staff, outdoor shower, amazing beach

The beach villa has more privacy as compared to the deluxe bungalow. Personally, prefer the beach villa due to its proximity to the beach. You can see the sandy beach at your door step. It was so convenient as there is a shower fixed just outside our villa such that you can have a quick shower after coming back from the beach. Its great to get the beach villa if your purpose is to snorkel a lot more and be closer to the beach. We definitely made the right choice to stay 2 days at the beach villa. snorkelling at the beach was easy and especially during low tide, you can go pretty far out to view the amazing reefs and corals, spotting the different species of fish and observing the sea creatures at such close proximity. The water is crystal clear and i can go on snorkelling for hours to enjoy the magnificent underwater view. Another special feature of the beach villa is its outdoor rain shower. You can enjoy showering in the privacy of your own villa but yet able to enjoy the day view of the sky and clouds or the stars at night. Temperature is quite constant around 27 to 30 degrees so its never too cold to shower outdoors. Its an amazing experience :) One thing to mention is the disappointment that chill bar was closed during our visit. I have read about the sunset view at chill bar but was unable to enjoy it. Understand that it will be re-opened in august together with the water bungalows. The only bar we can enjoy our drinks was Fen bar which is the main bar at the resort. They offer free cocktails every Thursdays from 6 to 7pm, which comes with free serving of canapés. Very delightful and thoughtful. There is happy hours as well where drinks are at 25% off between 6 to 7pm as daily as well. There is also free wifi at most parts of the resort and in your villas. Access is fast. There was a slight fault experienced at our beach villa where our access cards were suddenly not working. That was also fixed fairly quickly after we reported. Have mentioned about the f

Reviewed July 11, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Meow from Singapore
Family with young children
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013

Truly excellent and unforgettable! ”

Fantastic accomodations with real comfortable beds, friendly staff and excellent beach!

Water Villa is fantastic! You wake up to a great ocean view of turquoise/blue ocean. The sound of the waves lapping around the villa is comforting and very relaxing. 2 days of stay here is just not enough! The facilities are fantastic - your own coffee machine with variety of coffee types to be refilled upon request, 2 big 1.5 litre bottled water that can be replenished twice a day, big comfortable king size bed, big flatscreen TV with DVD player and a great sound system...you can borrow 2 DVDs per trip to their library FOC, watch the fishes swimming in the crystal clear waters at the balcony opening up to the vast view of the ocean, L'occitane shower gel/shampoo/conditioner and lotion...You're truly spoiled and definitely a real unforgettable stay.. One word of caution though: the waves around the water villa area can be big and dangerous so avoid swimming or attempt to snorkel around the water villa area. There are designated easy snorkelling areas at the beach clearly indicated on the map that comes together with your room access cards. You get a lot of attention from the staff and everyone smile and greets you. Meals are excellent and we took on the indulgence package for 3 days which was the min required number of days. It cost USD155 per pax (excluding tax and svc charge) but its well worth every penny as its really a feast for lunch/dinner for us and you get to choose the different restaurants and you can order unlimited number of drinks which cover juices, coke, sprite, alcoholic drinks as well. Breakfast: between 6 to 10am. Spread is good and is slightly different everyday. Go early as it can get crowded from 9am onwards. We had breakfast at 7am and you get to enjoy the serenity and peace of the place on top of the view of the beach/pool and ocean..simply awesome. Its also good to have earlier breakfast so that you can digest the food in time for lunch. Lunch: Between 12pm to around 330pm. the 3 days of lunch under indulgence, we had it at turquoise whic

Reviewed July 11, 2013
8.0
Excellent
TEH from Singapore
Family with teens
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013

wonderful place to relax”

quiet,peaceful for relaxation and wonderful place for snorkelling and diving.

wonderful place with nice food and crystal clear water which we can watch the fishes swimming around. there is a nice gym for worrkout as well. remember to book the restaurant in advance for dinner.the staff are friendly. very clean resort. it takes about 20 minutes to walk around the whole island.

Reviewed June 16, 2013
8.0
Excellent
TEH from Singapore
Family with teens
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013

NICE PLACE FOR DIVING AND SNORKELLING”

RELAXATION,SUN AND SEA

IT IS A PLACE FOR TOTAL RELAXATION, THE CRYSTAL CLEAR WATER, THE BEAUTIFUL BEACHES. THE BEACHES ARE VERY WELL MAINTAIN. THE RESORT SERVE NICE FOOD LIKE THE JAPANESE FOOD, WESTERN FOOD, MOROCCO FOOD. PIZZA AND NICE COCKTAILS.

Reviewed June 13, 2013
8.0
Excellent
TEH from Singapore
Family with teens
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013

VERY RELAXING HOLIDAY”

NEAR TO THE AIRPORT, NICE RESTURANTS,BEAUTIFUL BEACHES

WE WENT FROM 6 JUNE TO 10 JUNE, AND IT WAS REALLY MONSOON SEASON, WASTED FIRST 3 DAYS AS THE WIND WAS TO STRONG TO DO ANY WATER SPORTS. MOST OF THE DAYS WAS RAINING, LUCKILY THE RAIN DON'T LAST VERY LONG.THERE WAS VARIETY OF FOOD TO CHOOSE FROM. THE PIZZAS ARE NOT EXPENSIVE AND IT WAS DELICIOUS.

Reviewed June 13, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Tirdsak from Thailand
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013

Lovely room with stunning view”

Dining options, Water activities and Spa

Stayed for 3 nights in Water Villa, stunning ocean front with bay windows through and through, bathroom was partitioned into shower,hot tub and toilet with glass panel fronting the ocean. You'll never want to leave your room! Granted the rate is rather steep for 800 a night but that's pretty much what you expect to pay with this type of accommodation in Maldives anyway. Foods are awesome some of the best meal was at Teppanyaki restaurant, breakfast was up to what you'd expect from any 5 star resort. Fen bar was a great place to hang around just lazing your day away. Spent most of my day snorkeling around the reefs right by my Villa and came up for drinks once in a while. All in all, a great vacation experience indeed!

Reviewed May 08, 2013
8.7
Excellent
pratit from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013

Relaxing with beautiful beach and lovely staffs”

Beach, water and room

Our stay was very relaxing. The staffs were very helpful and accommodating to all our requests. The beach and the water were superb; even though, the corals and marine lives were not as beautiful as at many other resorts in Maldives we had been to.

Reviewed April 16, 2013
8.7
Excellent
CHEE from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

comfortable room and functioning”

nice room and helpful staff

i had been stay in water villa and deluxe bungalow . the deluxe bungalow was nice and design is modern. The outdoor shower was an fresh experience for me . The bathroom was really big and clean. The toilet amenities was very nice to use which is branded. This is my first time to stay in such water villa . i love the feel when i open eyes the sea view was infront of me . The room was very comfortable. I do like the coffee maker which is unlimit to serve , and i can drink all the day whenever i want it. The view from water villa was very beautiful. And you can swim anytimes if you want by just walk down the ladder. 99% of the staff was just helpful , kindly and be polite. The water activity in resort were more than what you expect. We cant fully enjoy it all in this few days. The crew of boat was all very nice and helpful . But the snorkering trip was just not that good at all . i recommend the teppanyaki food restaurant, overall the food of asian favor not that much , menu of rices and mee was less. i do like the environment of the island and enjoy all the facilities of resort. It value to return again to this resort.

Reviewed January 28, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Marcel from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012

One of the most beatiful Islands I have ever been!”

Everything is great here!

My stay at the Velassaru was everyhting I needed to recharge my battery from a year of hard work. I can write a long review but I suggest you just go and see for yourself. Only remember that you need a big wallet because it is not cheap, but everything here is perfect.

Reviewed August 12, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Bah from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012

luxury hotel with friendly staff”

very friendly and considerate staff with much room privacy

A beautiful, luxury hotel with great scenary. The staff, esp at recption counter, is exceptionally friendly, helpful and considerate. Renting of snorkeling equipment is free. The only downside we found is the fishing trip. It is a two hour trip, but included briefing etc, it has shortened. worst still, they brought us to a spot where none of us in the boat caught a single fish! all came back empty handed !

Reviewed May 09, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Celestyn from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in April 2012

Awesome resort, stellar service, unforgettable”

Clean and beautiful rooms, stellar service, great beaches

The Velassaru was our most unforgettable vacation experience ever. The resort itself was well-run and organized, and we felt welcome and at home from the very start when we were ushered onto the speedboat to the island right till the moment we left. The most amazing thing about the resort is how helpful, friendly and accomodating the staff are. The chefs even remembered our names and engaged in friendly conversation with us when we visited the restaurants again. going above and beyond in ensuring we had a great experience. Especially noteworthy is the Teppanyaki restaurant, where we had three unforgettable meals in just six days. The tuna and wagyu beef dishes are just scrumptious. Our deluxe bungalow was cleaned thoroughly (even with an option to get a second cleaning in the evening) and we were very happy with the comfort of the lodging. The waters were just pristine and we enjoyed snorkeling to the house reef. Snorkeling equipment is free-of-charge and dive trips aren't that expensive either. The resort also offers lots of other activities like paragliding, jetskiing, fishing trips and excursions to Male city. The sunset is also beautiful and can be watched over a beer at the Chill bar. Overall, this was an amazing experience and I would definitely come back again.

Reviewed April 22, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Ernesto
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in May 2011

lovely resort”

lovely, clean, large enough rooms

the staff was very accommodating from the time we arrived until our last day. upon arrival to male, we didn't immediately see the assigned staff to fetch us but an airport staff was kind enough to point to us the resort's staff who was then wearing the hotel's uniform which was nice and quite noticeable with its sarong type pants in aqua blue, just like the color of their logo. the speedboat ride took about 30 mins from male to the resort. it's quite near...from the resort, you could still see a glimpse of the city, especially at night with the lights of the buildings on. we got the deluxe bungalow room which was the most basic of the room types in the hotel. despite that, the room was big enough and looked as lovely as the pictures on the website. it has a lounge area, a large enough bath with a tub, toilet and outside shower. a few steps from the room is the beach. we were placed under room 118 which was nice since we learned that the beach in our room's area is recommended for snorkeling. a typical meal will cost you about $30-70. water is about $5 (they have 2 large complimentary bottles of water replenished everyday), beer is $7. food was so so, nothing really great but we liked the australian rib eye we ordered in sands. the staff though was great, very accommodating and pleasant.

Reviewed June 09, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
tenny from Indonesia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in January 2011

Astonishing Place to Stay”

The Room is fantastic and made difficult for us to leave the room

Maldives was my first trip experience and never imagine before what the country looks like. I was in doubt when I first time landed in the Male international Airport as it did not impress me at all. I took a speedboat from the airport to Velassaru and the journey took us approximately 30 minutes which hopping the place as good as in the picture. I arrived at the Resort almost midnight and it was almost pitch black. I came to the reception and she informed me that the hotel I booked was full. I told my wife this may be a bad sign, but I was wrong. THey upgraded my room to Water Villa. The room was fantastic and actually better than in the internet. THe next morning I woke up, the view was even better. I couldnt wait to jump into the ocean and swam surrounded by fish and corals. The people was very nice and they want to ensure that you have splendid experience during your stay. They did a good job. I didnt realize that on my fourth day, I had to leave the place and it was the hardest thing to do to leave all beauty places. My advice for future guest that if you want to depart from Maldives and your flight is leaving during the evening, you may need to ask the hotel to extend your stay for half day. THe price was reasonable for you to stay an extra day

Reviewed February 13, 2011
9.6
Exceptional
saleh from Saudi Arabia
Family with young children
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Velassaru resort”

Was a wonderful and really nice to have some nights there with your with or family. There is nothing to say bad about this resort unless the costs of money in all aspects of entertainment, restaurants and spa were expensive.

Reviewed October 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Andrea from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018

Excellent ! Exceptional ! Heaven on Earth 🌏 ”

This is an outstanding resort with incredible staff, rooms , food and location. There is not one thing I could fault here. Transfer to the Island is run like a well oiled machine. Arrival greeting is superb. Rooms are incredible, food and restaurants are incredible with such an array of fresh produce sourced from all over the world to give guests the absolute best possible. Francois who heads up F& B is a delight along with his happy staff . Mohammed and Shameer also head up reception, guest relations and management they too are exceptional in their roles. You should definitely be choosing this resort for it ticks every box for pristine blue water, white sand , snorkeling and a great place to chill out and enjoy the Maldives and it’s sheer beauty 🇲🇻🌴🐠⭐️ 💯💙 We will be back ❤️Thankyou Velassaru ❤️

Reviewed September 27, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Stan from Singapore
Family with teens
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 5 nights in September 2018

Dream holiday”

Excellent experience due to super beautiful beaches, great accommodation, facilities, super attentive and friendly staff, food quality and choices, and last but not least - tranquility! Perfect for a truly relaxing vacation.

Reviewed September 25, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Yasmin from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 6 nights in September 2018

Heaven on earth”

This is hands down the best resort hotel I have ever stayed in. From beginning to end our trip was perfection and we could not be happier with our stay. It was so painful to leave this gorgeous island. The food was delicious, the staff were incredibly friendly, thoughtful and genuine, the resort itself was spotless.. We were amazed at how clean and well kept the grounds were. The facilities were top quality, amazing infinity pool with the best pool area I've ever seen. The beds were so comfortable it was so difficult to leave them each day. The staff would come around with tropical fruit skewers, cold towels and fresh juice throughout the day. The breakfast had so much choice with a live omelette and crepe station and also a fresh juice station. The beaches were white and pure, the water crystal clear and a perfect temperature. The rooms were so clean and tidied all day and the bathroom was amazing with an indoor and outdoor area. Thank you so much for our perfect stay!

Reviewed September 20, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Mohd from Malaysia
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

value for money”

Location is not far from the airport Male, thus the boat transfer isnt that expensive. the water villa was spacious. with gorgeous-jaw-dropping-view. the stairs going down to the water was quite moldy, i wish the hotel staff could brush it off perhaps in a routine of once a month maybe (because it was quite slippery). the coral reef was ruined [not that pretty like the one in deep water] (well, people keep stepping on it,.of course they would be destroyed). water villa was well equipped with almost everything. staff also very helpful. I ran out of my contact lenses solution, and asked the staff if they could help me with this situation, and eventually they help me bought the solution from the city. Our flight back was later in the evening, we check out and check in into a small room near the gym, while waiting for our boat to depart to the airport. of course the room was charged. worth the money spent. It was a momentarily heaven when you were there!

Reviewed August 30, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
SALWA from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

Fantastic Amazing View”

The transfer to the resort was amazing. The check in process was smooth especially when we completed our check-in in our room. A big thank you to the Manager, Mr Mohamad who gave us free room upgraded during our stay. They clean our room 2 times a day and we can request to clean whenever and how many times we want. The unlimited beach towel was so cool because we really need lots of beach towel 😘 There were few complimentary activities but we managed to do only few of them since our purpose of the stay to chill & relax. The staffs were friendly and they didnt look fake. We really enjoyed our stay at Velassaru.

Reviewed July 12, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Mazen from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Beach Villa
Stayed 6 nights in June 2018

Amazing Resort”

I went to Velassaru Resort not expecting my visit to better than my previous ones to other resorts in the Maldives, but boy I was wrong the whole experience was mesmerizing. Velassaru had the best staff I met and the best food (Etesian Restaurant's chef and waiters need an award for their work) and it had the best cleaning guys (Thank you M. Hussain) . we had good time @ the lounge and the gym. The room had great view to the sea and was private just like I asked. Also like the ice bucket and the bill display on TV. Velassaru you did great and you gave me happy unforgettable memories.

Reviewed July 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Alyssa from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018

Tropical Oasis!”

We had the most wonderful time here and have nothing but praises for the resort staff and the facilities. Everything was topnotch and the service was impeccable. The water villa with pool we stayed in was a gem- there’s nothing quite like it. 11/10!

Reviewed June 15, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Joyce from Canada
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018

Awesome Resort”

Loved this place! The staff are all very friendly. The location is reachable by boat in 20 mins from the airport. The details they make to make their guest feel comfortable is impeccable. You can have strolls around the island easily and it's so beautiful!! Thumbs up!!

Reviewed June 11, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Shingo from Singapore
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Paradise”

Just a Paradise.... stunning view from room, outstanding service and hospitality. I definitely will come back in near future.

Reviewed February 19, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Muffaddal from Pakistan
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

Excellent”

The resort is amazing love it .

Reviewed January 13, 2019