Book Now: Viangbua Mansion

Excellent
From 221 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
/
10

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (221)Booking.com Reviews (2)
8.0
/
10
Excellent
From 221 reviews
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities7.3
Location7.2
Room comfort and quality8.2
Service8.5
Value for money8.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (221)
Showing 218 verified guest comments
8.7
Excellent
jackie from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in February 2014
Comfortable and Friendly”
Rooms were clean and well-appointed. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Tanin Market next door with good cheap food, fresh fruit and vegetables, cheap massage, basic shopping needs.
The best thing about Viangbua Mansion are its staff. The Housekeeping Manager is on top of things which explains the high standard of cleanliness. The reception staff are always responsive, friendly and try so hard to help. There are many long stay guests who are retirees so there is a kind of "community feel" and hardly any noisy young guests running around. A big plus is the fab Tanin Market 2 mins away. Fresh vegetables and fruit, all sorts of snacks, and you can order a stirfry for USD1 ready in 5 mins washed down with iced coffee costing 50 cents. Bottles of beer are available in the grocery shops which you can chill in the huge room fridge. I also appreciate the well-lit and safe parking for motorbikes. There are many other places which charge similar rates but cannot match the service and facilities. I hope Viangbua keeps its rates fair because this will keep customers coming back.
Reviewed February 16, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Mathieu from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in October 2013
Well maintained hotel with great staff”
staff, cleanliness, large rooms
This is our second time staying at this hotel. The hotel is a bit old and dated but it is very well maintained. The rooms are very clean and spacious. All the amenities (gym, access to pool, restaurant and cafe) were great. We liked the location. It's about a 10 min walk to the entrance of the moat but there is always a tuk tuk outside or you can grab a songthaew on the main road. The market around the corner is fantastic. We loved being away from the tourist area and so we were a bit disappointed to see that a bunch of young backpackers (the ones walking around with no shirts in the hotel and in the restaurant). They were being quite loud in the hallways late at night. But I think this kind of crowd is rare at this hotel. I would definitely come back here.
Reviewed October 12, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Mathieu from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in October 2013
Well maintained hotel and good staff”
staff, cleanliness, large rooms
This is our second time staying at this hotel. The hotel is a bit old and dated but it is very well maintained. The rooms are very clean and spacious. All the amenities (gym, access to pool, restaurant and cafe) were great. We liked the location. It's about a 10 min walk to the entrance of the moat but there is always a tuk tuk outside or you can grab a songthaew on the main road. The market around the corner is fantastic. We loved being away from the tourist area and so we were a bit disappointed to see that a bunch of young backpackers (the ones walking around with no shirts in the hotel and in the restaurant). They were being quite loud in the hallways late at night. But I think this kind of crowd is rare at this hotel. I would definitely come back here.
Reviewed October 12, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Mathieu from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in October 2013
Wonderful staff and well maintained hotel”
Staff, cleanliness, large rooms
This is our second time staying at this hotel. The hotel is a bit old and dated but it is very well maintained. The rooms are very clean and spacious. All the amenities (gym, access to pool, restaurant and cafe) were great. We liked the location. It's about a 10 min walk to the entrance of the moat but there is always a tuk tuk outside or you can grab a songthaew on the main road. The market around the corner is fantastic. We loved being away from the tourist area and so we were a bit disappointed to see that a bunch of young backpackers (the ones walking around with no shirts in the hotel and in the restaurant). They were being quite loud in the hallways late at night, but I think this kind of crowd is rare at this hotel. I would definitely come back here.
Reviewed October 12, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Scott from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Great value”
Value, Quality, Location
I have stayed here a few times and I love the location. It might not be the best location for everyone as it is a 5 minute drive to the old walled city. But, I love that it is next to Thanin market which has many types of food that I love. There are also numerous restaurants within walking distance. Not to mention that the hotel restaurant is very good. Beds are soft which is rare in hotels at this price range. Room is rather large and clean. Air con and wifi work really well.
Reviewed October 07, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Scott from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Great value for the price”
Price, quality, access to local food
I really like staying here as it is located next to Thanin Market and plenty of local restaurants. I love that I can eat at the hotel, as their food is good, or walk a short distance to a local market or restaurants. The quality of hotel is very good for the price. I have stayed here a few times and will return.
Reviewed October 07, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Robert from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Good value”
Large rooms, friendly staff, good value for money
I have stayed here a number of times and it always represents good value for money. Rooms are basic but large and generally comfortable. Unfortunately on this occasion two single beds had been joined to make one large bed. This made an extremely uncomfortable join in the middle of the bed. I am still recovering from the subsequent bad back ache that resulted. This was the first time this problem has occurred.
Reviewed August 29, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Kent from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 27 nights in November 2012
Wonderful staff....clean and safe!”
Located in a Thai neighborhood away from the tourist activities.
I spent the month of November 2012 at the Viangbue. The hotel is somewhat older but remains in good repair and is kept clean with prompt attention to any maintenance concerns. My A/C decided to stop blowing cool air on two occasions, both times, a stop by the desk resulted in a maintenance man resolving the issue in less than an hour. The staff all possessed some degree of English language skills, some more than other, however all attempted to be as helpful and friendly as possible. My room was clean and for the most part everything was in good repair. You won’t find the plus western style shine and glitter. There are no blow dryers or irons in the room and only a small safe large enough for an e-book computer (not a full laptop), and you cash, credit cards and jewelry if you feel the need. You will not find electrical outlets in the bathrooms, nor is there a good make-up mirror / lighting for those ladies who feel the need. What you will find is a nice sized room with plenty of cabinet space, with a good sized western bathroom. As several reviewers have mentioned the hotel is not located near the tourist areas. There is a large Thai market nearby, and several small shops and services, however few people in this area speak languages other than Thai. If you want daily site seeing, shopping, and night life, you will want some means of transportation. You may want to budget for motorcycle/car rental or taxi/tuk tuk…the staff will call cabs for you, often times a tuk-tuk is parked outside, if not I’m sure the staff can call one for you. The hotel has underground parking for those with vehicles. All in all, this hotel worked well for me as I prefer to be located in more of a Thai setting than the tourist areas.
Reviewed February 13, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Robert from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in December 2012
Friendly service. Great value for money.”
Friendly staff, Great value coffee shop and restaurant, large clean rooms.
I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and it never disappoints. Having stayed at many accommodation options in Chiang Mai over the years.I feel that viangbua Mansion represents one of the best value for money options around. Not the preferred option for those who want to be in the "tourist hub" but for people seeking value in a genuine Thai environment it is ideal.
Reviewed January 05, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Robert from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Good value for money option.”
Large clean comfortable rooms, pleasant helpful staff, good location close to Thai food market.
I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and it never disappoints. The large comfortable rooms, pleasant lobby area with reading, internet and coffee facilities, access to gym, proximity to local food options and the helpful staff make it a value for money option which is hard to beat.
Reviewed September 13, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Robert from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Good value for money option.”
Big rooms, friendly service, good location close to market
Viangbua Mansion is a good value for money accommodation option. It has large comfortable rooms, a pleasant airconditioned lobby coffee shop, friendly staff and a good location that gives easy access to local markets.
Reviewed August 26, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Robert from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in July 2012
Great value - excellent place to stay”
Large clean comfortable rooms, pleasant economical coffee shop in lobby, good location close to Thai food market.
I have stayed at Viangbua Mansion a number of times and each time it has been spot on. If you are looking for a hotel located in the tourist mecca close to Western style fast food outlets and major hotel chains, this is probably not the spot for you. However if you are looking for a value for money hotel with large comfortable rooms and pleasant airconditioning throughout, which is located in an authentic Thai environment, then this is the idea spot. The staff are pleasant and helpful, the rooms impeccably clean and with a separate sitting area where you can watch tv. The cable tv has about 10 channels, not extensive but enough to inform and entertain.The housekeeping staff are pleasant and approachable and go out of their way to ensure your stay is enjoyable. Within the lobby area there is a coffee shop/ bar with good well priced drinks, excellent friendly service where you can also read the complimentary daily newspapers and access the internet. Very close to the hotel is a Thai food market where you can buy all sorts of cooked and fresh foods (including a salad bar with crisp fresh lettuce). All this with Thai prices, rather than the tourist prices of the night bazaar area. There are also two 7 Eleven stores within easy access. The hotel is about 30 minutes walk from the Tapae Gate and night market areas which I did not find a problem. Breakfast is fairly standard for hotels in this price range but offers good variety. I also made use of the tredmill in the gym where there are also other machines on offer. There does not appear to be a swimming pool at the hotel but there is an undercover car park. Viangbua Mansion is a very good accommodation option in Chiang Mai particularly if you enjoy walking and exploring the local area.
Reviewed July 19, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Matyas from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 16 nights in December 2011
Great hotel, good service and peaceful atmosphere”
Nice room, very good value, pleasant staff,
i stayed for 18 days at the viangbua mansion and found my room a peaceful and comfortable haven from the business of going about chiang mai seeing the sights (on the back of a motorbike). the hotel is extremely clean, the decor is very pleasant and the room is extremely good value for the price.
Reviewed January 07, 2012
8.0
Excellent
nigel from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in August 2015
great hotel, interesting location”
the inexpensive coffe shop, great staff, pleasant surroundings
I thoroughly enjoyed my 7 nights at Viangbua. the staff really are good, always charming and good at their respective jobs. The room was spacious, cleaned every day. The bathroom was of generous proportions to suit large westerners, so, unlike some Thai places, there was room to actually get wet, with lots of hot water and good pressure. The coffee shop and restaurant serves a good mix of Thai, Western and Japanese food at very reasonable prices, however it closes at 3pm, so one must get out and about for the evening meal. The location suits me, as I like a local atmosphere, and one has it in spades at Viangbua.The more touristy areas are a long hot walk, or a short tuktuk ride away to the old city.
Reviewed August 26, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Kristi from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Amazing service ”
Service, room size, value
My fiancé and I stayed for almost a week at the Viangbua Mansion (with a short trip to Pai mixed in). They were incredibly warm and welcoming - every time we walked in they greeted is kindly. They even booked us our rides to and from Pai. The room size was great! And the shower was wonderful - heat and pressure! Breakfast was fine. While there is nowhere for dinner in the hotel, the same family that owns the hotel owns a restaurant across the street that is great. Beds are hard, but this seems standard across Thailand. It was really lovely having a place to do our laundry, and my fiancé enjoyed the gym (for what it is - most hotels don't have them). Overall, a great stay at this lovely boutique hotel :)
Reviewed August 16, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
martha from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Lovely warm and welcoming staff”
Friendly staff, diverse breakfast, lovely view from our room
My partner and I stayed 3 nights at the Viangbua Mansion we had a wonderful time and all our needs were met. Its great value for money and having a fridge in the room really helps! Its slightly out of town but cheap tuk tuks are usually available outside. The staff were exceptionally polite and helpfull. Recomend this hotel for a nice quiet stay and great value for money.
Reviewed June 13, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Alia from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 9 nights in April 2015
Feels like coming home”
Cleanliness, comfort and location
This was my second stay at Viangbua and it won't be my last. I fully intend to stay there again when I am in Chiang Mai. I loved staying here, the staff are so lovely and kind. It is not close to any of the sites and a 20 minute walk to the Old City, but it has a real charm about it that cannot be matched by hotels that are in the centre. The staff really go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay.
Reviewed May 09, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Eugene from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Value for money”
Value for money, clean and spacious room, helpful staff
Very spacious superior room, including couch, tv, large bed, closets, large refrigerator, and balcony. Clean. Location near Siriwattana Market where you can do some local shopping and eating. Restaurant next door serves pretty good food. Helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast was decent. About 1 km north of the old city, which is about a 20-minute walk or you can get a red truck taxi. The hotel had a laundry machine - 20 baht per load, 40 baht for dryer that went for 60 minutes. Detergent can be bought across the street for 10 baht per load. Didn't use the fitness center, but there are a few machines and free weights. The staff can help you with tours, renting a motorbike or car, and calling a taxi. Very good value for money. Was going to stay here 2 nights but extended to 4 nights.
Reviewed March 19, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
elizabeth from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Yet again a comfortable stay, staff excellent”
Staff, cleanliness, nice food
We stay there when ever we visit Chiang Mai and have done over four years now. The standard is very good, staff are very helpful, the breakfast staff are very attentive, there is good ample under cover parking and it is only a five minute drive to the town centre, the Airport Shopping Plaza only ten minute drive, all in all the best place to stay and at a very affordable price as breakfast is included. Sometimes when booking at the last minute they have been fully booked and we have tried other hotels around the same price and although they are clean, good staff, this hotel is in our opinion the best. You can eat at the hotel or just across the road at their new restaurant, lots of variety, choice and again very reasonable price, good cool eating area. If you drive there is a great car cleaning service just down the road on the left, the hotel staff gave us this info, and just 200baht for an MU 7, inside and out. Very satisfied often returning customer.
Reviewed March 05, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Patricia from Ireland
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014
Great short or long stay hotel”
Staff, cleanliness and location
Arrived at Chiang Mai airport and got a fixed price taxi from the desk at the airport approx. 170 Baht. We were met at Viangbua Mansions by the security guard, who carried our bags into the hotel. The reception staff were very warm and welcoming. Our room was on the fourth floor and the lift required the door key card to get to the correct floor, although there are stairs as Chiang Mai is an earthquake zone. The room had a safe, TV, refrigerator, free WIFI in rooms (also lobby & patio) and a private balcony (for smokers). The room we booked came with breakfast (a choice of omlete, waffle, congee or an American breakfast, all with toast, a selection of fresh fruit, juice, coffee or tea. The hotel has it's own coffee shop/snack bar, which also sells beers at very reasonable prices. The hotel is located outside the Old Quarter, but it has easy access into the Old Quarter and the night markets. To reach the town centre, walk to the main road use local transport (red trucks) for 20 Baht per person. There is also a produce, refrigerated meat and excellent street food market, a few minutes away from Viangbua where you can eat for 30-45 Baht. There is also a nice coffee shop next door. Many guests use Viangbua as a long term accommodation. The staff go out of their way to please. I asked for a hair dryer and about two seconds later, the maid was at the door with one in hand. Laundry service and coin operated machines. A great choice for Chiang Mai and the surrounding areas. Highly rated.
Reviewed December 28, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Anwar from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
Very pleasant, excellent customer service!!!”
Staff is excellent, value for money, close to Tannin market
As always, excellent! The management and all employes are pleasant and helpful. It's a extended stay place. So one sees the regulars. The are always cleaning and care for their customers security, well being and are helpful!
Reviewed May 28, 2014
7.7
Very good
Matthew from New Zealand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Great value. Excellent accommodation.”
Value. Good room. Car park.
Viangbua is a serviced accommodation facility with many guests living there long term; many of the rooms are apartments with kitchens...lots of ex-pats. Having said that, and having stayed in similar places, it is to all intents and purposes a hotel, and a nice one at that. There is ample underground parking, good security, rooms are very large, everything works, room servicing is excellent, staff are friendly and helpful etc. Breakfast is more than adequate and good at this room rate...we paid 750 Baht a night inc breakfast; the best value we've had this trip. Location is not ideal for tourists as away from the main attractions in a Thai neighbourhood area, but fine if you have a car or if you are happy to use taxis or tuk tuks, but it's beyond easy walking distance to the old city for example. Very highly recommended and will certainly stay again.
Reviewed May 16, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Howard from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
A great stay”
Comfortable, quiet and convenient
Always good. I am now here again for my 4th long term stay in a 1 BR suite. Viangbua always gets it right... Really good accommodations and service...Only draw back is proximity to University which means too many noisy motorbikes in the street..
Reviewed April 27, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Frode from Norway
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Good value”
Good value, great staff
We stayed at Viangbua Mansion for one night. Our room was spacious, the staff were very friendly and polite. It's about 20 minutes to Chiang Mai City centre so you may need a motorcycle if you are staying here longer. Basic but great value.
Reviewed April 05, 2014
6.0
Andrew from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in February 2014
mediocre”
large rooms near food market
comfortable hotel but not easy to access. Songtaews often wont take you there so it an be a long hot walk from the river. If you are elderly like many of the guests were then you will be content to spend your time in airconditioned shopping mall. Most aging male guests sat in lobby drinking or outside entrance hastening death by puffing on cigarettes all day. Management would be wise to relocate the smelly pastime to somewhere else.
Reviewed March 31, 2014
8.3
Excellent
John from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Very pleasant”
Quiet but good location, near Thanin market for prepared takeout food, superb staff - helpful and friendly
I enjoyed by several stays [4] at Viangbua Mansion and highly recommend for either a short stay or long stay. Long stay is 1200 THB per month [about $400] plus electricity and breakfast. Short term stay, breakfast and electricity are included
Reviewed March 27, 2014
7.3
Very good
John from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Satisfactory hotel in not a great location.”
Carpark,carpark, carpark.
I drove to Chiang Mai so I was pleased with the security of the underground carpark. However the traffic flow round the hotel needs care otherwise you will end up driving round in circles. THe breakfast was of a good quality but no choice. I would have preferred a healthy option. THe room was dated but well maintained and satisfactory. I would stay there again but beware public transport is not freely available.
Reviewed February 24, 2014
7.7
Very good
DAMRONG from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Money worth”
Money worth, good location, dark corridor
Definitely would stay here again. They have a really great coffee in the lobby. The staffs are super friendly. Good location to enter the city (we have our own car). The room is clean (but little old). Worth for the money, though, because it is not too expensive.
Reviewed February 19, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Santipatn from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Great budget accommodation.”
Friendly staff, comfortable room, good location.
It's a good time to stay here. Every time I travelled to Chiang Mai, I always stay here. Hotel located close to downtown and surrounded by local restaurants. Safety and comfortable room are the main reasons for me on choosing this hotel here in Chiang Mai.
Reviewed January 23, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Scott from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 10 nights in November 2013
A very enjoyable experience, and staff.”
room size, staff, location
I would stay here again, and again. I love the staff, they do everything they can so to make sure you are happy. The rooms are a little dated, but they are large and very clean. Language was not much of a problem, but then I am the foreigner, so needless to say it all worked out well. Currently, there is some construction across the street which created some daytime noise, but that will be complete within a couple of weeks. The restaurant is open for breakfast, which is included in your room rate, and also open for lunch. No pool, and I don't know about the exercise room, I didn't learn about it until after I had checked out. Wouldn't have used it anyway, but I would have looked at it.
Reviewed December 10, 2013
8.3
Excellent
peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
Good hotel for a few days stay in Chiang Mai”
Rooms, breakfast and internet
We stayed at this hotel and the rooms were really good, they were large and clean. The hotel is a little outside the walled town but transport is cheap and it is walkable at a push. Most of the excursions in Chiang mai will pick you up from your hotel so this isnt an issue and chiang mai is small so its not expensive for transport. The breakfast was good a set list but enough choice. The internet was the best we have had in thailand in terms of speed we were able to use skype with no issues. The hotel restaurant closes at 4pm but there are a few restaurants nearby. Nu's place in particular was very good and cheap and is right next to the hotel.
Reviewed November 27, 2013
7.7
Very good
Branden from South Africa
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013
Great value for money and close to the market”
Value, large rooms, freindly staff
Stayed here for couple of nights and is good value to explore the area. Although not central its very easy to get into the centre by taxi or walk. The market is also next door and is interesting to see and eat from. There is also a great restaurant opposite at which I ate at 3 times.
Reviewed November 10, 2013
7.3
Very good
Cheng from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Clean and peaceful”
Friendly staff, clean room, value for money
Big and clean room. Design on the old side but overall still clean. A bit out of the city though. Not very accessible location. Have to wait long time for tuk tuk. Reception very friendly and cooperative and spoke good english. For an apartment, serve good breakfast and food. Food delivery to room is quite fast. Overall, a peaceful stay here.
Reviewed August 11, 2013
8.3
Excellent
George from Finland
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013
Good accomodation at very reasonable price”
The price for the accomodation, the location and the nice lobby and restaurant area.
This block of flats is situated in the Chang Puaek area of Chiang Mai away from the main tourist trail. The area is Thai. Well maintained building with very reasonable tarrifs for accomodation and food and beaverages. Nothing luxurious but lacking nothing to assure a good stay.
Reviewed June 13, 2013
7.7
Very good
Vincent from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Best value for the money”
Price, location, condition
My experience with Viangbua Mansion was better than expected. At about USD/day, I wasn't hoping for much and was pleasantly surprised. Although the room was plain, it was large and clean. Wifi signal was strong (both in the room and at the lobby), and it was free. Breakfast was also free. The location was great. There were 2 7-11 near by, and there was a huge Thai market right behind the property. I highly recommend visiting the market around 11AM when it's not yet crowded. There were many Thai food and snack to try, and they were delicious.
Reviewed April 25, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Roger from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in February 2013
Excellent value”
Generously proportioned bed/sitting room, charming service, excellent wifi, very good value for money
We spent a week at Viangbua Mansions and found it excellent value. Our room was generously proportioned, we received free water daily, had a good shower and good enough breakfast. The staff throughout the hotel are friendly and helpful: they made phone calls for us,organised trips and ordered taxis - nothing was too much effort.
Reviewed March 11, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Maria from United States
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Really nice hotel!”
great staff, local market right around the corner, and clean.
The staff were one of the best things about the hotel. They were extremely helpful and actually genuinely cared about their guests. The rooms were very big, their were a lot of T.V. channels in the room. Clean rooms and nice bathrooms. Free Wifi in the rooms. The food was priced really well at the hotel, and the breakfast was very nice. In a very good area and right near a market
Reviewed March 10, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Lawrence from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
Very comfortable though outside of the Old City”
The lobby is a great place to lounge with your ipad. Nice tables and a coffee shop.
The hotel has a lovely lobby area with tasteful tables and couches that are great for lounging. Power outlets are available for your electronics and it also has a coffee bar with beer, soft drinks and water also readily available. There is also a nice restaurant with a combination of American and Thai food for breakfast and lunch. It closes at 3:00 pm so you'll have to go out for dinner, but there are restaurants close by. I stayed in a Superior room with twin beds. The bathroom was large and clean. The desk is more of a counter top and not comfortable for working on a computer, but you can use the glass table in the living room area as a desk while sitting on the couch. The beds and closets are what you would expect. There is a guest laundry room and a room safe. Overall a very nice place.
Reviewed February 28, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Raikos from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in January 2013
Surprised, a very nice hotel.”
Very friendly staff. You can smell the lovely food from the markets nearby.
This hotel is outside the main Chiangmai city, but it's only a quick ride before you get to the city. My room was nice and roomy, and I had a balcony. The smell of street food fills the room in the evening and beckons you to explore the market nearby. Only 5 minutes away, this market is better than the night bazaar, as that place has become too commercial. I don't speak Thai, and the market sellers didn't speak english, and that's were the fun begins. The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood, and felt quite safe. You feel that you are in a Thai area, not a farang street. Breakfast is nice, the rooms are clean and the staff are friendly, what more do you need.
Reviewed February 03, 2013
7.0
Very good
Fareedali from Canada
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Good location, good price, service not greatest ”
Location
The hotel was in a great location away from the tourist area of Tapae Gate. Walking distance to a big fresh market and cheap good Thai food. The hotel itself was good but service needs some improvement. Breakfast was included but not great. We preferred to eat at the nearby market.
Reviewed January 13, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Gus from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Geat Hotel with fiendly helpful staff”
Nice sized rooms, clean and good value.
A great place to stay to get the Thai feel of Chiang Mai. A nice breakfast is available with real coffee. The location isn't within walking distance to Falang central but a minute walking away from a great Thai Market. Cabs and TukTuks are vey affordable in CM so getting to central CM is a few minutes away.
Reviewed January 05, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Jo from New Zealand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Great location to enjoy real Chiang Mai”
Friendly and helpful stage. Close to market and food. Lovely foyer. Good coffee.
Although the room was small it had everything we needed. Good water pressure, air con, small safe, firm bed. Service staff were polite. Some of the long stay tenants give helpful information about scooter hirage, markets, health and safety. A simple Breakfast was provided. This is the place to expience the less tourist, more realistic Chiang Mai.
Reviewed November 13, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 9 nights in September 2012
Great hotel at a great price!”
Neat, clean, located close to most attractions.
I stayed here for a week and a half while visiting Chiang Mai in preparation to retire here. The hotel is neat, clean, well maintained with an exceptionally friendly, courteous staff. The on-site restaurant is wonderful and very inexpensive, the coffee shop likewise. It is delightfully quiet and the price is amazingly low for what you get. I can't recommend highly enough and plan to stay here again.
Reviewed October 02, 2012
5.0
Desmond from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in March 2012
Okay but better value elsewhere”
Quiet and good location for local food markets
Rooms are tired and need refurbishing.Breakfast minimal and poor quality not worth the effort to go to.Management try to cut down on everything (i.e can only have one cup of coffee and juice at breakfast and any extra you have to pay). Housekeeping inadequate. Some days not all the linen was changed, toiletries and toilet rolls not left and we constantly had to go and ask.There is much better value to be had elsewhere.
Reviewed March 28, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Christine from United States
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2012
Great hotel, a little far from the city center”
Clean, accommodating, gym
this place is very well priced! it is clean. there are always fresh towels. there is hot water and a/c. the only thing is that it is a little far from the city center so all the tuk tuks will jack prices up because they can. if you walk a little bit down the street to where the river is, there are many street vendors where you can buy food. the staff could have been a little friendlier. i felt like they were always giving me judgmental looks when i walked downstairs with short shorts. they also never greeted you and just stare at you when you ask them for something.
Reviewed March 27, 2012
7.7
Very good
piyanuch from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
practical room ”
good size room
The hotel is in good location. The room is in good size. The price is good. The wireless in room is charged but in the lobby area is free. The wall between the room was quite thin and we could literally talk to our friend who stay in the room next to us through the wall. Anyway our stay was fine and decent as we only need the room for sleeping and resting. We were out and about most of the day.
Reviewed March 25, 2012
8.7
Excellent
MARIANA from Costa Rica
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
great staff and huge room”
its people....
We arrived very early in the morning after a tiring trip and they allowed us to check in as soon as we got there. It was very pleasant to have a room ready before check in time without any inconvenient. Breakfast was fine. In a non crowded area, it was easy to get everywhere from here.
Reviewed February 06, 2012
9.2
Exceptional
Pattarawat from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Good staffs”
The staffs are service minded. Good location. The room is very big and clean.
Reviewed October 30, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Anucha from Thailand
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Good location to the Historical Park.”
Good location and good food.
Reviewed October 20, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Panit from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Perfect for everything.”
Just in very hard-to-be-found place. My Google Map led me to Viangbua Car Care, so they should ask customers to share more location. Good food, warm staff, perfect parking lot. I will come back again.
Reviewed March 01, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Jason from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
Great neighborhood”
Location location and staff
Really enjoyed staying here. The hotel is very close to a local market where you can literally get almost anything you want at a reasonable price.
Reviewed October 09, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Stephen from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Pleasant Hotel With Outstanding Staff ”
Staff, Room Condition/Cleanliness/Amentities, Cost
Reviewed May 15, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Scott from United States
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Value for price is great”
Price, rooms, clean
Clean and comfortable hotel at very cheap rates. I've stayed at many hotels over the years in Chiang Mai and this is one of the better values.
Reviewed October 03, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Stephen from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in September 2013
Very friendly staff”
Staff, clean, secure
Reviewed September 16, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Matyas from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 14 nights in June 2012
Style and Good Value”
Very comfortable room, very clean, excellent value for the money, and good location.
i returned to the viangbua mansion because i liked it so much during my first stay six months earlier. it is a very attractive facility and offers good rooms with views of doi suthep. recommended!
Reviewed July 11, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Jaray from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in November 2011
Nice small hotel in the heart of Chiang Mai”
Close to Chiang Mai City Centre and good value for money
Hotel staff are very nice and very helpful. The room is quite spacious and clean.
Reviewed March 31, 2012
7.0
Very good
leo from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Spacious room but no mini coffee bar ,disapointing”
Spacious,wet and dry toilet,plenty of ward robe space,saperate sitting room, excellent feature.
No mini bar inside room so cannot prepared hot drink eg hot coffee or tea. A hotel of this nature must have this minor facilities. Very disappointing. Bread fast.Coffee or tea should be available for self service and top up,here limited to order service.
Reviewed November 25, 2015
7.7
Very good
David from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in February 2015
Too far from Old City”
Friendly, Helpful, Clean
The hotel was clean and the staff were great. It was our own fault for choosing somewhere that required a taxi whenever we wanted to go into town where all the things of interest to tourists are located. Its situated in a very quiet local business area where not much is open after 8pm. Great cafe located across the road and a awesome little restaurant next door - these were the highlights that made our stay bearable!
Reviewed May 04, 2015
7.3
Very good
Charles from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 14 nights in March 2014
Very relaxing”
friendly staff, quiet environment, cleanliness of the facilities
Very pleasant stay. The room was comfortable, quiet, and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The breakfast menu was adequate, but limited. A simple lunch menu was available, but the dining room closed in the late afternoon.
Reviewed March 23, 2014
6.0
Alex from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Decent value”
Location, staff, large room size
My stay was an ok value for the price. However the pictures on trip advisor make it look alot more modern than it actually is. All in all it was decent but more geared for those wishing to stay longterm.
Reviewed March 28, 2013
5.3
yaron from Israel
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
budget hotel and nice service”
nice local restaurant very near the hotel
the hotel is not best located for tourist but it is only amatter of tuktuk to get where you like ,there was no wifi at the time we have been but the reception all the time promisednit will come soon but ot won't .the matress was just like stone. we wake up with back pain.
Reviewed February 21, 2013
7.0
Very good
roberta from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Older hotel, reasonably priced”
Security, clean rooms, big bathroom, sitting area in room, nice lobby, helpful front desk
We stayed three nights when we first arrived in Chiang Mai. Viangbua is an older hotel, but we found our room to be quite large with a separate sitting area for reading or TV watching. The room was clean with a full-sized fridge in it. The hotel is not in the old city, but if you like to walk, the Old City is within walking distance. Great little restaurant right next door called Nu's. Be sure to eat there. Very reasonable prices and good food.
Reviewed January 10, 2013
3.0
Alex from Portugal
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Fantastic Hotel and Staff”
Nice cleaned room
really enjoyed staying here as not in centre so quiet at night which i liked. you can easily walk to centre, takes prob 30 minutes. there is also a market behind, quite hidden but a really good one. staff are really nice and gym equip. is just enough. breakast though is very frudal and i kept askign for more toast,
Reviewed January 09, 2013
7.3
Very good
Andrew from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Clean and economical”
Large room, quiet
nice place for those who don't mind being a little out of the center of town. town center access is easy by tuk tuk or mini bus and is about 10 minutes, depending on traffic. plenty to eat around, near market. rooms are large and bed is comfortable. hot water good. simple. clean. economical.
Reviewed February 05, 2012
6.3
Good
non from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Clean Service Apartment”
Near Market
it's located in city center of chiang mai and near market. it is in the small road far from main street around 300 metres. we went to the night sunday market by walking by taking around 20 mins[around 4-5 blocks from hotel]. room was clean and quite comfortable. reception did not speak english fluently.
Reviewed January 24, 2012
6.0
Justin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
not bad”
not bad
Reviewed April 28, 2016
5.0
pookie from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in April 2015
Good”
Location , location, locations
Just ok
Reviewed May 08, 2015
7.7
Very good
Mathieu from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Old rooms but awesome staff”
Food, staff, cleanliness
Our go to place in Chiang Mai.
Reviewed May 04, 2015
7.3
Very good
khoo from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
location good, near center. good value.”
Clean and quite , not many tourist but feel like homestay
Reviewed March 01, 2015
5.3
Andrew from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
comfortable and easy”
large rooms near food market
rooms are good. area is distant from places of interest. too many guests smoking around entrance. breakfast OK.
Reviewed April 28, 2014