Vien Dong Hotel

Vien Dong Hotel

275 A Pham Ngu Lao Street,, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
- View on map
Superior - Bedroom Vien Dong Hotel
Superior - Bedroom
    Removed from saved list
    Lobby Vien Dong Hotel
    Lobby Vien Dong Hotel
    Interior view Vien Dong Hotel
    Superior - Bedroom Vien Dong Hotel
    See all 37 photos
    Interior view Vien Dong Hotel

    Guest reviews

    7.8
    Very good
    /10
    (1994 reviews)See what guests said
    10.0
    Exceptional

    "Food was excellent for the type of hotel."

    Paul

    -

    June 24, 2018

    7.9
    Very good cleanliness

    Property highlights

    Things you'll love

    • Airport transfer

    • Located in heart of Ho Chi Minh City

    • Currency exchange

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    Excellent
    Location
    8.6
    See map
    Excellent location - Inside city center
    Popular neighborhood
    Nearby
    Popular
  • Saigon Railways Tourist Services20 m
  • Dung Tailor110 m
  • Sinhbalo Adventures110 m
  • Saigon Logistics110 m
  • Long Phi140 m
  • Lechat Silk150 m
  • The Sun 2 Art Gallery170 m
  • Bui Vien Street170 m
  • Pham Ngu Lao street (backpack)170 m
  • Thuan Phuoc Handicraft Company180 m
  • Value for money7.8
    Distance to city center0.5 km
    Location rating8.6
    Nearest airportTan Son Nhat International Airport (SGN)
    Distance to airport6.1 km
    Select your room
    7.8
    Very good
    Room comfort & quality
    Deluxe Suite
    Deluxe Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 56 m²/603 ft²
    • Park view
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe
    Deluxe
    ...
    • Room size: 28 m²/301 ft²
    • Balcony/terrace
    • 2 single beds or 1 queen be...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Superior
    Superior
    ...
    • Room size: 24 m²/258 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 single beds or 1 queen be...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double room - Single use - Deluxe
    Double room - Single use - Deluxe
    ...
    • Bathtub
    Enter dates to see prices
    Twin room - Single use - Superior
    Twin room - Single use - Superior
    ...
    • Bathtub
    Enter dates to see prices
    Suite - Single use - Deluxe
    Suite - Single use - Deluxe
    ...
    • Bathtub
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double room - Single use - Superior
    Double room - Single use - Superior
    ...
    • Bathtub
    Enter dates to see prices
    Gao Ji Fang (Superior)
    Gao Ji Fang (Superior)
    ...
    • Bathtub
    Enter dates to see prices
    Director Suite(14 days advanced booking)
    Director Suite(14 days advanced booking)
    ...
    • Bathtub
    Enter dates to see prices
    Hao Hua Fang (Ti Qian 14Tian Yu Ding )
    Hao Hua Fang (Ti Qian 14Tian Yu Ding )
    ...
    • Bathtub
    Enter dates to see prices
    Have a question for Vien Dong Hotel?

    What people love about the property

    • 5.6
      Review score

      "The location is near pha ngu lao, the breakfast is nice."

      Josh

      |

      November 20, 2018

    • 6.4
      Good

      "Neverthless its location was very good for my family's trip."

      Kwansoon

      |

      August 17, 2018

    • 10.0
      Exceptional

      "A very good hotel & very clean."

      Quyen

      |

      February 15, 2016

    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Vien Dong Hotel

    More about Vien Dong Hotel

    7.2
    Very good

    "Breakfast was good"

    Henry

    |

    September 17, 2018

    An overview

    Show less

    What they offer

    7.2
    Very good

    "Good location close to many travel agencies and good restaur..."

    kyung H.

    |

    December 2, 2018

    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What to eat nearby

    Vietnamese cuisine
    Vietnamese cuisine
    Kim Ngoc
    140 m Vietnamese
    Jungle Juice
    250 m Vietnamese
    Ty Ai - Bun Cha Ca Quy Nhon
    250 m Vietnamese
    American cuisine
    American cuisine
    The Hideout Bar Saigon and Pub Crawls
    30 m American, British, European
    Gumbo's
    120 m American, Asian, Bar
    Spotted Cow
    160 m American, Asian, Australian
    Asian cuisine
    Asian cuisine
    Tan Hoang Long (TM Brother's Cafe)
    100 m Asian, Vietnamese
    Xien Xien Hot Pot Restaurant
    130 m Asian, Chinese, Malaysian
    Ichiba Sushi Vietnam
    150 m Asian, Fusion, Gluten Free

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show more

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Real reviews from real guests

    Agoda Reviews (1994)Booking.com Reviews (429)
    7.8
    /
    10
    Cleanliness7.9
    Facilities7.2
    Location8.6
    Room comfort and quality7.8
    Service7.6
    Value for money7.8
    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    All languages
    All guests (1994)
    All room types
    Showing 1561 verified guest comments
    12345
    8.8
    Excellent
    Mark from United States
    Solo traveler
    Deluxe
    Stayed 4 nights in February 2019
    Odd”
    Very clean and spcious, good breakfast and not noisy or stained chairs or dirty walls like some say. My park view room 5th floor excellent . What is odd is on internet hotel ranked 5th best in city for happy ending massage 2nd floor ( I did not) and have seen hidden video on internet but they have strict policy no girlfriend can visit without marriage certificate . I even point out to staff and they act dumb about the activity . Good value but I left property because it makes no sense
    Reviewed February 23, 2019
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Kevin from United States
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 4 nights in September 2018
    Great place ”
    Great place, nice and clean rooms. Good location in old quarter. Front desk took care of any need I had. Held my bags while I went to ha long bay and arranged transportation for me for my trip to Ninh Binh. Great place to stay!
    Reviewed September 15, 2018
    Dear , Dear Kevin, Greetings from Vien Dong hotel! We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied by our level of care and attention. Providing outstanding services in a comfortable place is the ultimate goal of all hotel collaborators. Looking forward to welcome you back soon to Vien Dong Hotel. Yours sincerely, Trang Kim Deputy Director
    Responded September 26, 2018
    Vien Dong Hotel
    8.8
    Excellent
    Jayis from Singapore
    Group
    Deluxe
    Stayed 4 nights in August 2018
    Overall”
    Location is very convenient. For those who scare eating local food, opposite the hotel already have a heartland mall with food court type restaurant selling international cuisine. The shopping there is cheap too comparable to bkk.
    Reviewed September 05, 2018
    Dear Jayis, Greetings from Vien Dong hotel! Thank you very much for your review. We are very delighted that you had a great time at Vien Dong Hotel. We wish to welcome you back to our hotel when you visit Ho Chi Minh again Once again, thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours sincerely, Trang Kim Deputy Director
    Responded September 26, 2018
    Vien Dong Hotel
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Mindy
    Couple
    Superior
    Stayed 3 nights in November 2018
    Friendly staff”
    Very friendly staff. Only complaint I have, which wasn’t too big of a deal, is that the walls are pretty thin. You can hear everything. Me being on the 6th floor blocked out a lot of sound from the bottom floor but it’s still loud. Overall, for the price, I wouldn’t complain. The staff was super helpful in everything I need. Also the breakfast was okay, but large selection. Great location as well.
    Reviewed November 24, 2018
    8.4
    Excellent
    wayne from United States
    Business traveler
    Deluxe Suite
    Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
    Generally good. I'd stay there again. ”
    Everything was good. I stayed in the executive suite. Very roomy. It had balconies overlooking the park. That was nice Only downside was a bit noisy. Windows weren't double glazed. Street sounds - honking traffic not blocked much at all. Didn't bother me, but it is noticeable and may bother some.
    Reviewed March 29, 2017
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Hong from Vietnam
    Solo traveler
    Superior
    Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
    Good hotel ”
    Hotel is in a good location, close to a lot of outing places, "bui vien and lots of tour Guide right down stair from the hotel, so if your not sure of where to go, walk down stair and book a tour, value for money 110% hotel clean, staff are very helpful and friendly
    Reviewed December 31, 2016
    9.0
    Exceptional
    Thomas from Ireland
    Solo traveler
    Deluxe
    Stayed 6 nights in February 2015
    Big breakfast,good location”
    Breakfast,LocationLarge room
    Checkin was quick.Good english spoken.Room need a refurbish-dirty,torn carpets.They are large(to the front of hotel,inside rooms can be smaller)Hot water all day and cleaning was prompt.One of the bigger breakfast selections I've seen.Hot and vegeterian food options available in a huge room.Didnt dine here at night.Free web access in the lobby.Visited Feb/March 2015
    Reviewed October 08, 2015
    9.7
    Exceptional
    Thomas from Ireland
    Solo traveler
    Deluxe
    Stayed 6 nights in February 2015
    Enjoyable stay”
    Friendly staff,working lifts and variety of food offerings at breakfast
    My room was adequate in size,but the carpet & furniture had stains which should be atteneded to.Other rooms the same.The sink plug didn't hold water which seems to be common in Vietnam.I would like to see bread rolls at breakfast(baguette & white sliced bread available)The self service hot food should be hot!Food containers not heated.Food should be replenished regularly-not happening in last 30 minutes before breakfast finishes.
    Reviewed March 07, 2015
    8.0
    Excellent
    Alison from United Kingdom
    Couple
    Deluxe
    Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
    Good base from which to explore Saigon”
    Breakfast, location, spacious deluxe room
    We enjoyed our stay at the Vien Dong. We stayed in a deluxe room which was spacious and had an external window. We noticed that the cheaper rooms were round an atrium and had no daylight whatsoever. They also seemed to be very small. I would strongly advise booking the deluxe room or better. We had requested a park view room but were given a room at the rear of the hotel. The view was of dilapidated shacks but was quiet with no traffic noise unlike the rooms at the front, so we did not object. The staff at the Vien Dong were very helpful, spotting our taxi from across the road and rushing to help with our luggage. Breakfast was very good. Be sure to try the Vietnamese tea.
    Reviewed March 06, 2015
    8.3
    Excellent
    Donald from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    Deluxe
    Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
    a good find”
    location.cleanliness.staff
    This hotel is very good.very clean and a very good location,however I had upgraded to a deluxe room,but I feel that this was not good enough to be classed as such .No view only window looked on to the inner corridors.the room was also small.breakfast had a good quality choice of items.check in and out good ,fast and efficient.
    Reviewed December 20, 2014
    9.7
    Exceptional
    Anastasia from Russia
    Couple
    Deluxe
    Stayed 1 night in August 2014
    Nice location”
    Location, breakfast, value
    The place is located right on Pham Ngu Lao street. Most of the places are walking distance. Buses to any distanations leave from meters away from the hotel. The room was small, but very comfortable and clean, with a nice bathroom. Comfortable bed, which was perfect after a tiring day. Great buffet breakfast with plenty of options. We haven't stayed in other places in the same price range in HCM, but I think Vien Dong is a very good value.
    Reviewed August 08, 2014
    6.4
    Good
    Anthony from Singapore
    Solo traveler
    Superior
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
    Good”
    Hotel is located in central Distric 1 area with the backpacker 'BAR STREET' just a 5 mins walk away.. lots of f&b around the area..hotel is clean as most of the rooms are newly renovated..staff's english not perferct but good enough to assist..bear in mind as it is a State Owned hotel, they dun allow local to stay overnight..overall not a bad stay for the kind of price..will recommend for those looking for a short stay with no expectation..
    Reviewed June 12, 2018
    9.2
    Exceptional
    MAHENDRAN from Malaysia
    Group
    Deluxe
    Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
    👍”
    We 3 of us stayed here for 4 days & 3 nights. Basically this hotel is very good, their staff's are very friendly, hotel location very easy to acess, morning breakfast buffet style very good choices, but the only thing that need to improve is the room cleanliness little dusty here & there & Wi-Fi signal at 6st floor not that strong others floor not sure, at lobby ok. Otherwise all perfectly very good, even the hotel front desk also provide currency exchange service within a second, massage service, gym, and others service also is available inside hotel. Within a minute there are also so many tour agents around near this hotel. U can check it out in peace of mind there for they also provide bus service to Cambodia as well. Foods choice around near by of this hotel also is many, nothing much too worries about. Finally I am very satisfied staying in this hotel. I strongly very highly recommended this hotel for all freinds, family, solo or even group tour. TQVM
    Reviewed May 19, 2018
    4.4
    Nur from Singapore
    Family with teens
    Deluxe
    Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
    Bad customer service from receptionist”
    Poor customer service from receptionist & also most of the staffs there. Hardly smile. They were reluctant even help out the smallest request we asked for. And even if they do, they will sulk and throw a super long face. I def wont recommend this hotel to any of my friends. Breakfast is so so. Non halal fyi. The only plus point was, they allow us to pack breakfast on the last day cause our flt was early in the morning. Dirty bathtubs. Dirty toilet. Dirty bed linen. Dirty chair. Stains everywhere. Im def not returning back to this hotel.
    Reviewed April 11, 2018
    7.2
    Very good
    arun from India
    Business traveler
    Superior
    Stayed 1 night in March 2018
    convinient location in HCMC”
    dist 1 good location for evening out
    Reviewed January 24, 2019
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Catherine from Malaysia
    Business traveler
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
    Very clean hotel”
    Hotel clean and new, easier to find food
    Reviewed November 03, 2018
    8.4
    Excellent
    surasak from Thailand
    Business traveler
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
    Good”
    Good
    Reviewed September 26, 2018
    Dear Surasak, Greetings from Vien Dong hotel! We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied by our level of care and attention. Providing outstanding services in a comfortable place is the ultimate goal of all hotel collaborators. Looking forward to welcome you back soon to Vien Dong Hotel. Yours sincerely, Trang Kim Deputy Director
    Responded September 27, 2018
    Vien Dong Hotel
    8.4
    Excellent
    richard from Canada
    Solo traveler
    Deluxe
    Stayed 5 nights in December 2018
    Excellent”
    WiFi could use improvement.
    Reviewed December 14, 2018
    7.2
    Very good
    kyung from South Korea
    Couple
    Superior
    Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
    Very good”
    Good location close to many travel agencies and good restaurants.
    Reviewed December 02, 2018
    4.4
    Tang from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior
    Stayed 1 night in October 2018
    Buy room for 2, but in the end, not allowed another to stay same room.. ask us to buy 1 more room..”
    Buy room for 2, but in the end, not allowed another to stay same room.. ask us to buy 1 more room..
    Reviewed October 13, 2018
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    Vien Dong Hotel
    |Very good 7.8
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Excellent location
    • Pham Ngu Lao Street