Book Now: Villa Song Saigon (Saigon River Villa)

Exceptional
From 242 reviewsSee what guests said
9.1
/
10
Recommended by 92% of guests

Reviews of Villa Song Saigon (Saigon River Villa) Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (242)Booking.com Reviews (203)
9.1
/
10
Exceptional
Cleanliness9.6
Facilities9.2
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality9.4
Service9.5
Value for money8.8
All languages
All guests (242)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 193 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
JOSE from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Villa Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Exceptional hotel. ”

Even if its not in D1 usual tourist spot is worth as an experience. Speed boat to d1 for free so dont let distance deter you. Beautiful next to river vila style. Great food. Great service.

Reviewed May 11, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Lynne from Fiji
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

A beautiful hotel with excellent service.”

Lovely pool to swim in and a little gym gave us some much needed exercise. We took the speedboat into the city for dinner one evening. Very convenient and a fun way to travel. A few more scheduled times would be even better. Food was very good but rather expensive for Vietnam. Our tour of Cu Chi tunnels picked us up at the wharf. The traffic gets slow at school start time nearby. We enjoyed a walk each morning and it is not too busy very early. We enjoyed the Sanctuary room overlooking the pool with a little balcony. I borrowed a picture book from reception on the war. Good resource. The staff were super helpful and spoke good English.

Reviewed March 09, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Gareth from United Kingdom
Couple
Villa Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Idyllic boutique hotel”

Lovely old villa style hotel by the river, We found the location in District 2 convenient enough and we liked the calm ambience and dinners by the river. The staff were great and very nice indeed to experience something different to the standard business type hotel. The boat service was helpful.

Reviewed November 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
KARAM from South Korea
Solo traveler
Writer's Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Always right choice”

This time I stayed in Writer's room which perfectly suits me as a solo traveler. My room was well equipped with balcony not sure the other also has it. Anyway I enjoyed my stay again. also glad to see Ms. Nhu again who welcomed and recognized me. Always love this place in saigon. Highly recommend it to all.

Reviewed July 24, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Josephine from South Africa
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

A mixed bag”

Beautiful venue and excellent staff. The water transport makes a big difference, as it cuts out most of the traffic to go to the centre of HCMC. The location of the hotel is a bit of the beaten track, BUT if you take a 5-minute taxi ride, you will be in the arty area, with lots of little interesting shops. I recommend a visit to Quan restaurant. Unfortunately, but there were a few disappointing aspects: 1. During our stay, there were 2 Christmas parties and a wedding at the hotel. We were not made aware of this possibility when we booked. If we were aware of this, we would not have selected this hotel, as it was very noisy. 2. The river, which is a selling point of this hotel, was very dirty and it was not pleasurable to have breakfast next to the river. 3. We had a disappointing supper on our first night. The pork belly was tasty (but a very small portion). The risotto was more of a rice pudding than a risotto. Unfortunately, quality of the food did not justify the price of supper.

Reviewed January 07, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
KARAM from South Korea
Solo traveler
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

beloved place in Saigon”

It is an absolutely fabulous place ever. This was my 2nd staying in Villa Song. All was perfect. I appreciate they really did the extra miles. And special thanks to Front office manager Ms. Nhu and Mr. Toan. Cannot wait for next visit.

Reviewed December 13, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Pieter
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 5 nights in October 2017

Oasis along the Saigon River”

Lovely setting along the Saigon River in district 2, where all the expats seem to live. that implies also some good restaurants and nice stores. Very helpful staff, good breakfast, quality rooms. The menu is a bit limited, so try some of the restaurants in district 2. Only negative issue is the place next door that holds parties during the weekend, they will blow the chopsticks off your table, so try a room at the right side of the hotel, i.e. at the side where the reception is.

Reviewed November 02, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Hanna from Sweden
Family with teens
Villa Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

Lovely boutique hotel with super friendly staff”

We enjoyed two nights at this welcoming and beautiful hotel. Breakfast in the garden was lovely, the pool area was adorable, the staff were super friendly in accomodating all our needs. The boat shuttle going to and from the city worked very well.

Reviewed November 27, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
neil from United States
Couple
Villa Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016

Amazing stay”

We have travelled the world and this is one of our favorite hotels! Not only was it right on the water with a easy free boat shuttle to downtown but the service was impeccable. The room is beautiful and the pool was lovely!

Reviewed May 09, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Rihards from Norway
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

A different city experien”

It is unusual to experience a quiet and romantic place like Villa Song, located only 10min from Saigon center. Area around, Villa, river and of course shuttle boat gives feeling of being somewhere else, in some other country and time. I highly recommend to stay there for those

Reviewed April 05, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Edwin from Singapore
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

Excellent service at a well appointed hotel”

Service, building architecture, ambience

It was excellent. The service staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. Their food recommendations were spot on and they always had a smile on their faces. The building is a colonial villa that was beautiful and well appointed. Definitely recommended for a romantic and restful vacation.

Reviewed December 08, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Fiona from Singapore
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014

Great experience, would be back!”

Service, Ambience, Food

This hotel was everything we asked for a relaxing getaway; a very beautiful hotel, clean and artistically decorated. Staff spoke great english, very friendly and helpful! The hotel breakfast was delicious; both the Vietnamese and English options made beautiful start to the day! We also spent time in the swimming pool. There's also a small reading corner and spa available. Bring a good book or 2, and there are many options on where you can lounge with your book! The location is in the midst of the expats residential community. Hence, dont expect any shopping or spas within easy reach. However, shopping at district 1 was just a 10 minutes boat ride away. But you don't have to leave District 2 for your meals. There's a great Hue restaurant (Hue Corner) nearby to the hotel, as well as the restaurant beside VSS also had great variety of food. There are several other highly raved restaurants in District 2 which I have not been to yet. If you are looking for a perfect place to just relax, get some good food, this is a place to be! Look forward to coming back!

Reviewed June 09, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Sarah from Australia
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018

Paradise in Saigon. Luxury and comfort beyond expectations ”

As seasoned travellers who like to stay somewhere quiet, comfortable and a little bit out of the ordinary, we were pleasantly surprised by Villa Song Saigon. The staff and service were faultless - we felt truly welcomed and were offered advice and suggestions to improve our visit to HCMC every day. The facilities including the amazing pool, fantastic shuttle service to the City via boat and the wonderful outdoor bar / restaurant were all beautifully maintained and the service prompt and efficient. For a wonderful holiday at a hotel with realm atmosphere and superior service you could not fault the Villa Song Saigon

Reviewed July 28, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
jaehyoung from South Korea
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Very good~~!!”

Very good~!!

Reviewed December 17, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Thomas from South Korea
Family with young children
Villa Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Fine getaway from heck city life”

Stay there. You will find why.

Reviewed July 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
John from Australia
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

A retreat in Ho Chi Minh”

A lovely few days not far from the key spots of Ho Chi Minh. Speedboat connection perfect. Nothing was too much for any and all of the staff at Villa Song. The rooms were spacious, full of character and had everything that you might need. The restaurant on the banks of the Saigon river - romantic and great food. Thank you for an experience that won't be forgotten.

Reviewed May 20, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Julie from United States
Family with teens
Villa Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Highlight of Trip”

Our stay at Villa Song was the perfect way to cap off a two week trip to Vietnam. The rooms had kind of a French plantation feel to them--dark wood floors, high ceilings with columns and arches. The Sanctuary Suite was a beautiful room with a view of the Saigon River. The service put this stay over the top-there was a genuine desire to surprise us throughout the stay with constant personal touches, yet there was plenty of privacy as well. We had several last minute things we wanted to do in Saigon before leaving the country, but instead opted to spend most of our last two days at the hotel. We didn't want to leave!

Reviewed April 02, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Bronwen from United States
Family with young children
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

Sanctuary in the city”

Today we returned to the USA from Villa Song and we miss it already! Lovely pool, courteous and kind staff, tasteful and clean rooms and the pool is great (especially traveling with a 6 year old...) but the best of all was the speedboat service in and out of downtown HCM. We loved the breezy ride into town and we loved coming home to the quiet and calm of our hotel. The area the hotel is located in is quite lovely as well...an affluent neighborhood with many restaurants and bars and the gourmet grocery store (which we appreciated!) and only a $1 cab ride into town! The pool is lovely, a true lap pool and our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool and we spent time on our veranda and enjoyed this very much. The breakfast is lovely and the beds were comfortable with nice pillows etc. We went into town (district one) everyday and were delighted to have so many options to return home on the speed boat throughout the day. Dining by the Saigon River is quite nice; we recommend!

Reviewed December 03, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Stephen from Canada
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

Excellent”

Tranquil location and cool boat service. Pool is awesome as is our room. Only downside was the quality of the food from the restaurant which is as completely our of keeping with the rest of the hotel. Also, service during a 50% full restaurant was suboptimal and it took quite a bit of time to be noticed for orders and the check.

Reviewed October 08, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Nok from Hong Kong
Couple
Villa Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017

Nice view and excellent service”

It is located next to the river. very good view. its service is very good. They have shuttle to send us to city centre. They got us a cab when the shuttle was full. we didnt expect that! They clean our room everytime we are out. Its swimming pool is also very nice. it is like a resort. as long as u can bear with the transportation, it is an excellent place to stay. highly recommended!

Reviewed October 03, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Michelle from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Villa Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017

Exceptional”

This was a wonderful place to stay, away from the bustle of District 1. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We all loved the speedboat shuttle into the centre of HCMC. Our only regret is that our stay was too brief!

Reviewed August 21, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Muhammad from Singapore
Solo traveler
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2016

Great location for a little quiet time in Saigon”

Everything was delivered as per expected. This property does brings back memories of my stays in France. I was upgraded during the check in and could not be happier. In buzzing Saigon, this property nestle itself in a quiet district which is what I needed after a week spent downtown for business.

Reviewed May 28, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Kristina from Philippines
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017

Peace and quiet! ”

Best hotel we've ever been to! The staff, the food, the view, the room, the location, everything is superb! Love love love this hotel! If you want some downtime, peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the city, this is the best place to be! Will most definitely be back here. All the staff were so courteous and welcoming. Yega, the manager is amazing. The front service ladies, Freddie from the restaurant, everyone! We had a good time. Thank you for making this one of our most memorable trips!

Reviewed February 06, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Evelyn from Singapore
Couple
Villa Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

great retreat”

visited earlier in november. beautiful rooms, love the art displayed in the hotel and delicious food. great for a quiet retreat. slightly disappointed that the ferry services to the city have been replace by a shuttle instead.

Reviewed December 20, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Laura from Singapore
Family with young children
Art Suite
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016

Best Customer Service in Asia so far!”

We travel extensively with our 3 and 4 year old and fell in love with the beauty and location and other reviews of this hotel online. We we so surprised that the customer service even surpassed our very high expectations! They helped us plan every aspect of our trip to Saigon, including two cultural shows and one day trip to the Cu Chi Tunnels and Mekong Delta. The staff and manager of the hotel went above and beyond for us and we will be returning. The pool was lovely and not ever crowded, we loved waking up and seeing the Saigon River from our balcony, and our suite was enormous and it was difficult to get the kids to want to leave. I highly recommend this hotel for your next trip.

Reviewed December 04, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Lisa from United States
Couple
Villa Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

Wonderful! So peaceful, lovely grounds/pool area, spotless rooms and phenomenal staff!”

We were only in HCMC for 2 nights but thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Song. The building and grounds are immaculate, the staff is friendly and accommodating, and the food at EVERY meal outdid the previous one! We all came away pledging to go back so we could spend more time at Villa Song. (Don't forget your swimsuit!). Thanks to everyone who made our stay so pleasant! See you soon!

Reviewed October 24, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
LUKA from Australia
Couple
Villa Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016

Staying at my Saigon Santuary ”

What a very relaxing & friendly stay at this beautiful French Colonial Mansion All the reception staff went out if their way to assist us in our requests - everything from tour suggestions to our own specific ginger tea The spa treatment we had directly after landing in Saigon was just 2 hours of bliss - so we had another before our departure The pool is one beautiful picture- and the fact that you never see other guests gives you the feeling of that your staying at your diplomates friends home Hats off to the food & beverage team arriving great food & cocktails- All day breakfast was a blessing - Big thank you to Freddie for the great conversations by the bar - what an absolutely wonderful experience at a truely fabulous boutique hotel

Reviewed October 16, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Simon from United Kingdom
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

A lovely place to stay right on the Saigon River”

A beautiful hotel with wonderful helpful staff. A comfortable room, a classy restaurant, attractive pool (couldn't use because of rain), gym and great service all around. The only down side was being away from the city centre and the boat shuttle service not operating when we stayed. Highly recommended nevertheless.

Reviewed October 12, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Deborah from New Zealand
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016

Fantastic”

We had a few days at the end of a Cambodia Vietnam holiday and decided we needed a treat and Viila Song Saigon definitely met the brief. The property was immaculate, the staff were professional and friendly. All day Al a Carte breakfast great. Hotel boat to transfer and pick from city. Evening menu really good but missed the mark price wise.

Reviewed August 30, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Frederic from United Arab Emirates
Family with teens
Villa Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016

Family with kids”

We had a lovely time at Villa Dong. Kids enjoyed the trip to the city by boat and swimming pool. the front desk manager Truc, was very professional and a good source to dine out and lunch in different local restaurants. She will help you also with booking trips to Cu chi tunnels or museums! She was fantastic!

Reviewed August 29, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Sara from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Lovely position on Saigon river with very accommodating staff”

Large, cool pool with plenty of loungers. The staff were incredibly helpful and there were thoughtful touches throughout the hotel. The all day breakfast has international favourites and there is a complimentary, covered ferry boat that takes guests into and out of Saigon. Food very good, excellent cocktails which can be taken whilst watching the river ebb and flow under your feet. Highly recommended.

Reviewed July 28, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Soon from Malaysia
Family with teens
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016

SUPERB”

Great location, wonderful attentive staff and elegant decor. All day breakfast can be ordered anytime of the day which was convenient and food selection was great, both western and vietnamese. Definitely will come back.

Reviewed July 27, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Sara from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Villa Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Beautiful, serene hotel in lovely location right on the river with very accommodating staff”

The large swimming pool and serene environment overlooking the river make a great contrast to the frenetic environment of HCMC. We had a wonderful stay, the staff were accommodating and charming and we loved particularly loved the all day breakfast with international favourites. There is a complimentary, covered speed boat which takes guests into/out of the city. Dinner was delicious and so were the cocktails under fairy lights beside the river. Highly recommended and excellent value for money.

Reviewed July 27, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Craig from Australia
Couple
Villa Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016

5 star paradise!”

A luxurious hotel in a wonderful location away from the hustle and bustle of the city, the shuttle boat made city visits easy but it was wonderful to return to the Villa Song, the building itself is stunning and every member of staff in all areas of the hotel contributed to a fabulous holiday experience, thank you Yega and all the staff.

Reviewed May 01, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
neville from Australia
Couple
Art Suite
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

Sanctuary in HCMC”

It is not the cheapest place to wind down in HCMC, but for the quality and service they deliver all across the board it is value for money. The location is on the doorstep of bustling HCMC, and as you relax with a drink in quiet, clean surroundings a few feet from the Saigon River you will appreciate this.

Reviewed March 23, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Tara from Australia
Couple
Villa Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location”

Away from all the hustle & bustle of the city center but with easy access via a courtesy boat into town if needed. The rooms & amenities are first class. All day breakfast (between 6am & 10pm) is an unexpected bonus. It's expensive to eat at the restaurant but the mini bar is all complimentary & the staff is very friendly.

Reviewed March 10, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Richard from United Kingdom
Couple
Art Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016

Wonderful Stay at Villa Song Saigon”

Staff, Accomodation, Location

Many thanks to General Manager Yega T and his wonderful team for making a very attractive and comfortable boutique hotel on the Saigon river into an exceptional experience. The impression starts when you are booking (online in my case), the response to requests for information and preferences ranked amongst the best I have experienced. Thanks also go to Chef Kevin Marchetti for creating a culinary experience in the hotel to match its other features. We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights of our all to short stay and would do the same again. Our room (Art Suite) was comfortable, spacious clean and appointed as well as most 5 star hotels. The balcony overlooking the river was a strong positive feature. The swimming pool was good, the facilities attached ( gym, showers) very modern. We did not find the distance from the centre of Ho Chi Minh to be a disadvantage. The city is exhausting simply as an observer of the perpetual motion of its inhabitants. The drives in and out were as much a part of experiencing the city as the attractions themselves. So Villa Song was an oasis of calm on the river Stayed January 2016

Reviewed February 02, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Anna from United Kingdom
Couple
Villa Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015

Beautiful hotel with lovely staff”

The hotel is lovely and clean and in a very tranquil setting. The staff were all so lovely and very attentive. The free stuttle bus into town

Just spent a great weekend here and loved it. We were lucky enough that when we landed in the morning our room was ready (plus a free upgrade) and they even provided us with complementary breakfast- lovely touch! The shuttle bus into town was great and the pick up was bang on time. The pool is great to chill by and very clean! Only downside was a meal in the evening which didn't live up to our expectations. Overall an amazing weekend and would definitely come back!

Reviewed September 14, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Dan from Australia
Family with teens
Villa Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015

A short but memorable stay at Villa Song Saigon”

Very friendly and attentive staff. Food quality and presenation is excellent. Room comfort and facilities cannot be faulted.

We were attracted by the charming building structure built in the French colonial style. Two rooms that we had booked were very comfortable. Location is a touch out of city centre but complimentary shuttle bus runs regularly and promptly between the hotel and the Opera House. Complimentary boat trip on the hotel's speed boat is a lovely touch. Staff across all functions were extremely helpful and attentive, even GM was talking to guests when in the foyer. Food on offer was a good selection of western and local dishes, all cooked superbly. I would come back to Villa Song without hesitation.

Reviewed September 14, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Sylvia from Hong Kong
Couple
Villa Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015

Highly recommend, beautiful boutique hotel”

Comfortable beautiful setting, good food, helpful staff

Know nothing about the City, but his hotel is a pleasant surprise. It is located in the nice , newly developed , more wealthy District 2. Very beautiful hotel , rooms and pool . Good food. Staff are very forthcoming. Convenient to good restaurants and Golf Club. Staying here changes our impression about the city.

Reviewed May 25, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Genevieve from United Kingdom
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Amazing hotel with stuning river front location”

friendly staff, swimming pool, beautiful rooms

Couldn't have enjoyed it more. The hotel is a beautiful building located on the river 20 minutes from the city centre. It is worth it for the location. Beautiful swimming pool, stunning rooms and great breakfast by the river. Couldn't recommend highly enough - the staff were very friendly and helpful too.

Reviewed April 17, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Dean from Canada
Solo traveler
Writer's Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Highly Recommended - Excellent Boutique Hotel”

Service, facilities and comfort

I'm an extensive traveller and can without hesitation say that this is one of best hotels in Asia. Luxury establishment without nickel and dining customers. - complimentary mini bar - pool open 24 hours - free a la carte breakfast The only minor downside is that the hotel is a bit far from the city, but they offer scheduled shuttle bus to/from the Saigon Opera House.

Reviewed April 08, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Rowan from New Zealand
Business traveler
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015

Quiet weekend break”

overall setting, hotel facilities, staff

This place is absolute luxury and worth every cent. Great Spa, excellent pool, nice food and friendly staff. The speed boat into town makes the location desirable as it is out of the way and peaceful. Fee mini bar is a bonus as well. The only minor gripe was the our waitress had trouble with English language but made up for this with prompt response after checking with other staff.

Reviewed March 30, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
hu from Taiwan
Family with young children
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015

Romantic10 min boat drive to the center of Saigon,”

Beautiful View of river and sunrise , room and space design; smart way to go city

It was a perfect family weekend for us. We can be away from city and enjoy to stay by the river but just 10 min away from all the city activities. The house is beautiful, staffs are friendly, dining and breakfast in the garden or by the river are just supperb.

Reviewed March 01, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Noel from United Kingdom
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 8 nights in February 2015

DONOVAN VILLA SONG”

Colonial Boutique Style, warm friendly staff, and amazing location

Our stay was wonderful, we had the most special time. The staff were most welcoming and helpful and always so friendly. The food was amazing. And very good value. However, I would say that the only thing i feel would prevent top marks is the attention to detail. For example, the restaurant staff were lovely but somewhat forgetful, we would order water and it was so slow to come or we didn't receive it at all. The poolside, was beautiful but again, cold water, cold towels would be refreshing.we had to ask, this is not a complaint just an observation. However, it did not spoil our stay. we loved it and intend to return.

Reviewed March 01, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United Kingdom
Couple
Art Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

Idyllic - oozes class”

The location, the staff, the ambience.

We stayed here only for two nights before my we started out Vietnamese honeymoon. We had booked the art suite but we're upgraded to the imperial suite. Although a little expensive the room was amazing value, it's two balconies are both lovely spots to sit in the evening and the suite it'self was the height of luxury. The staff were extremely helpful and completely adorable and the location (20 minute cab from the centre) is ideal and a welcome break from the bustle of the city. The free boat ride to the middle of the is also brilliant. We loved it and were sad that it was essentially just a staging post for us. Recommend wholeheartedly. Hope to return one day.

Reviewed January 19, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Miranda from United Kingdom
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

Utter luxury”

staff, pool, balcony

So good we are going back for NYE. Lovely location on river, staff are so friendly and helpful. Pool amazing, breakfast is great. Restaurant food is very tasty if a little expensive. Bed comfy, balcony overlooking the river very special location and feels like 5*hotel. Free mini bar of soft drinks.

Reviewed December 26, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Esa from Finland
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

A GEM”

staff, location and the building

Villa Song was perfect for us: beautifu setting outside the hectic city and yet so close. The staff made us feel at home. This is definitely the kind of hotel I want to return to and I do not say this too often. And did I say attentive staff..could say it a third time...

Reviewed December 16, 2014
8.7
Excellent
ALICIA from Australia
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

Lovely retreat in Saigon”

Speed boats, bed, spacious rooms

Though a bit of a drive from the action, Villa Song makes up for it by providing speed boats to get you to the heart of the Saigon action! It is a great retreat from the craziness of the city. The room was spacious and bed so comfortable, and though there were many events being held at the venue during our stay, we were well looked after. The pool was a great bonus too! Thanks guys

Reviewed December 08, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
John from United States
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014

Jewel in District 2”

Excellent food, outstanding service, well finished accomodations

We went for a "quick" get away for our anniversary. We in fact live in the area of this hotel. Yet, as soon as we arrived and stepped onto the property, we were transported far away from our day to day reality. The staff was amazingly attentive without hovering and disrupting the mood. The atmosphere - lighting - decor at the outdoor restaurant at night was incredibly romantic. It was the PERFECT get away. Highly recommend and we will be going back!!!

Reviewed October 21, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Robin from United Kingdom
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014

Superb hotel by the river ”

The boat trip into Saigon, the colonial style and the food

We stayed here to be out of the busy centre, and it was a great decision. The hotel is gorgeous, great service and the boat trip into town is so good! Worth staying here for sure as its only a 10 min taxi into Saigon

Reviewed October 07, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Remi from United Kingdom
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014

Stunning Hotel”

The 3 best things were the rooms, the food and the view from the room overlooking the river

Wonderful hotel, the Hotel a Staff we're very friendly and accommodating . We loved the fact that there was all day breakfast and no pressure to be downstairs before a certain time. The River Boat taxi was a pleasant bonus and made our stay even more special.

Reviewed October 04, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Jason from Australia
Family with young children
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014

Wonderful oasis ”

The breakfast, the boat ride to the city and the friendly staff

Overall we had a lovely stay at Villa Song Saigon. There are advantages and disadvantages with the location but on balance we felt that the beautiful setting and the oasis of tranquility were worth the effort of getting there. Only downside was that my wife booked an eyebrow wax and after half an hour of mucking about she came back looking just the same - and unimpressed. The staff were lovely and very attentive to our two young boys and the breakfasts were amazing. Thank you Villa Song Saigon.

Reviewed September 17, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Ayham from Canada
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014

Gorgeous villa on the river”

Swimming pool, food, free boat shuttle

Villa Song was a lovely place to stay in. It is literally a villa on the Saigon river that has been converted into a hotel. The hotel is located in District 2, not downtown, but the most amazing service they offered was a free shuttle boat that takes guest into District 1 free of charge and takes 10 min tops! Arranging the ride back was so easy, all we had to do was arrange ahead of time or call an hour before returning. The food was just incredible from breakfast to lunch to dinner to room service. I really think the chef is extremely talented and we tried it all. We had everything from Vietnamese cuisine to burgers and it was all amazing. The swimming pool was humongous and a delightful to swim in. The beds were so comfortable and the washrooms were super nice. The staff including the general manager were very friendly and accommodating. If you want a peaceful boutique experience with relaxation, great view and amazing food, Villa Song is the place to stay.

Reviewed September 16, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Steve from Australia
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2014

An oasis of calm in the chaos of the city”

Feeling of tranquillity, elegance and polished

Only a night available after an exhausting cycle tour of the delta, but made the most of it with the serenity of Villa Song Saigon. We did not travel into the main city centre (although I am sure you could), but we stayed here, specifically to have a relaxed final night of our holiday. Was VERY over crowds and insane traffic by then, so Villa Song was perfect.

Reviewed September 14, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
michael from Australia
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014

Best stay on holidays”

staff, pool and food

Stay was fantastic the staff organised a late check out for us and were amazing with every request we had. My would have stayed longer if we didn't have to fly out. we will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed September 10, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014

A Hidden Gem of Tranquility.”

The bed was a dream to sleep in. The Breakfast quality combined with the tranquil river flowing past our dining table was relaxation sublime. The staffs friendly persona was First Class.

No issues what so ever, our stay was one of the most pleasant experiences we have experienced and we have holidayed in Dubai and therefore experienced the demanding standards available in that part of the world. Villa Song was right up with the best.

Reviewed September 04, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Jejomar from United States
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

Beautiful hotel and great service”

service, comfort, hotel suite

It was our honeymoon. We picked this hotel because my wife loved the french influence of the hotel architecture. We couldn't be happier. We got upgraded to the Art Suite which was fantastic. The hotel staff was very accommodating and very friendly. We definitely recommend this hotel.

Reviewed July 26, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Anna from Germany
Solo traveler
Writer's Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

Wonderful hotel”

Room, free mini-bar, boat shuttle to district 1

My stay was great. Even though i had booked the lowest category room you still get access to all the great facilities and benefits offered by the hotel. Wonderful pool, Nice gym, great river front dining, private speedboat for district 1 center.

Reviewed June 29, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Business traveler
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014

Away from, but easy access to central District 1”

Very serene spot on the Saigon River, lovely and helpful staff, well appointed

The hotel is located in District 2, but quite separate from the populated foreigners' compounds. The hotel is newly renovated with great attention to details that make the guest welcome. A motorboat can transport guests to & from central District 1 in 15-20 minutes providing a glimpse of river life while in transit. The grounds and interior spaces are beautifully maintained and quite calming, which is so wonderful after the bustle and often frenetic energy of Ho Chi Minh City. The room had a large balcony with a river view that provided a warm and visually enchanting place to sit and sip either a glass of the hotel's delicious Vietnamese coffee (hot or iced) or a glass of the refreshing beverage of your choice. The restaurant produced satisfying meals for those who do not want to stay out until all hours in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City.

Reviewed June 26, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Jessica from United States
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

Beautiful hotel!”

Amazing breakfast on the river. They went out of there way to book a last minute excursion to the Cu Chi tunnels for us. Room was beautiful.

Very nice. It took them two tries until we got the right room we booked, but this felt accidental and it seemed that it nay have been an issue obtaining the information from the Agoda website. I would stay there again as it was quiet and off the beaten path.

Reviewed June 17, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Melanie from Philippines
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014

Great for a Quickie!”

Rooms, Pool, Service

to the staff and chef of villa song. thank you for making my birthday weekend amazing! great service, spa, the angus beef burger, the view from our suite, the boat ride, the late check-out was great! and to the "emerald ring" couple who secretly paid for lunch- thank you and safe travels.

Reviewed June 10, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Glen from Australia
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2014

Brillaint!!”

The bed, the staff and the pool!

We absolutely loved it, from the moment we arrived we were treated beautifully, we were greeted by the General Manager Yega who was a man of lovely disposition and very informative. We were in LOVE with our beautiful comfy bed, loved our foot massage at the spa. Made use of the Villas boat service to the city and thoroughly enjoyed our boat trip to town to do our shopping at the markets, a simple phone call and we were collected from the same dock again when we were ready to come "home". The boat was utilised once again to drop us off at The Deck restaurant, which came recommended by Yega - we had dined and stayed at their sister restaurant on Phu Quoc at Mango Bay. Our Dock & Dine experience exceed expectations, the boat drop off and the fabulous food and service at The Deck it was definately a highlight dinner in Vietnam! Breakfast was fantastic and we would have certainly tried more items on the menu if we had stayed for more nights. The Villa has been fully renovated over the past 2 years and only recently reopened, it is a beautiful building and we loved the swimming pool....a lovely touch when we had been laying by the pool for an hour or so a waiter turned up with ice cold glasses of water for us. Check out time was very generous they had no issue with us staying and using the facilities until it was time to go to the airport mid afternoon. We loved it and if we ever came back to HCm again we would not hesitate to book Villa Song again...it was a sheer delight to stay there! Well done team!!

Reviewed June 09, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
xiang from Malaysia
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Absolutely Stunning!”

Service, quiet atmosphere and good food

My wife and I spend my birthday in VSS and we fell in love with the place. It is very quiet compared to everywhere else in HCM. The ambience was perfect. The pool was good as we had it to ourself the whole time. We had the massage in the spa and it was really good. I would recommend this place to people who needs a break from the city.

Reviewed June 04, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Dominique-Christine from Germany
Business traveler
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014

A great experience!”

Beautiful and calm settings on the Saigon-River; excellent restaurant; friedly and attentive staff.

Highly recommendable hotel located in a beautifully renovated and tastefully decorated colonial-style building in calm surroundings on the banks of the Saigon-River, without vis-à-vis. The cuisine (international and vietnamese) is excellent and sophisticated although the menu is not large. Staff is friendly, attentive and speaks English well. In spite of the calm "country-side" location on the river bank the hotel is only 7 minutes from HCMC district-1 (center) by private hotel speed boot free of charge. The swimming pool is ideal with children, the fitness room small but has "the essentials", spa services are very good. The hotel provides good documentation on What-to-Do in HCMC and organizes excursions (HCMC and surroundings, e.g. Mekong Delta, Cu Chi Tunnels) with reliable operators by car and by boat. A wonderful experience - we shall return!

Reviewed April 30, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Rie from Japan
Family with teens
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

River side, good staffs”

Staffs / Swimming pool / River view

I stayed at Villa Song Saigon with my husband and two children.Before this hotel, we stayed at Hotel Majestic in District 1 , so we had done some shopping and visiting famous places. That's one of the reason we could enjoy staying at Villa Song Saigon.This hotel is in District 2, so a little far from the city, so when you go sight seeing and shopping in District 1, it's unconvenient. We just relaxed at the beautiful pool side and my kids enjoyed swimming and bathing there. The building is colonial style and I really liked it.The entrance is also very nice. Overall, the staffs working there were really friendly and nice.We like the people there. There is a bistro and you can have food seeing the river, so very romantic at night. All the food was delicious, but not so reasonable for us. In case we get the chance to visit HCMC again, we defenitely visit the hotel again!!

Reviewed April 12, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Chase from United States
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

Way beyond my expectations!”

Beautiful rooms, Comfortable, Beds, Beautiful Riverside Scenery

Upon arrival the staff gave my wife and I am complimentary upgrade due to the fact it was our wedding! The room and hotel grounds was 5 star and had good food. The hotel also provides a complimentary boat shuttle service to and from downtown Ho Chi Mihn until 20:00. We HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone that doesn't like to stay in hotels located in the middle of a super busy city.

Reviewed April 08, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Linda from France
Business traveler
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2014

Very nice surprise”

The hotel is in a beautiful riverside location, in a beautiful old manor that was completly renovated and has very comfortable modern rooms where every small detail has been thought through

We had a lovely stay at this property. Initially we were unsure of the choice as the hotel seemed off center and as we were in Ho Chi Minh for business we wondered if that would work out. In fact the hotel is not far from the center (actually most expatriates we have learnt live in this area) and it runs a boat shuttle to the center on demand (although that is more comfortable for leisure than for business). The great thing is also they have good meeting facilities including wireless rooms with wifi and apple tv connectivity and printers so we ended up combining leisure and business and host some of our meetings and after meeting drinks and dinners at the hotel restaurant itself. The restaurant offers a nice international menu with local specialties and an extensive list of wines from the old and new world. Overall we loved the place and highly recommend it for pleasure or business.

Reviewed March 09, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
dominique from France
Couple
Sanctuary River Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014

Excellent value for money”

Only 15 minutes from the city centre by hotel boat. Quiet riverside location. Friendly and proficient staff. Great pool. Tours can be arranged by the hotel

A warm welcome and a lovely (if somewhat small) room (in our case) overlooking the river, with balcony, well equipped and immaculately clean. The hotel has been completely refurbished just recently, to a very high standard, and is an interesting combination of neo-colonial architecture. Staff speak good English and anticipate your slightest needs, bringing iced water and fruit to the poolside, organising trips if on request. Varied Vietnamese and international menu with excellent service, and a lovely riverside garden to relax in far from the noise of the city. We would recommend a riverside room, with balcony, to spend the evening watching the boats. For us, this was a fantastic choice, and a hotel we would definitely recommend. We just wish we could have stayed longer!

Reviewed February 24, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Marcel from France
Couple
Sanctuary Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2014

Great stay”

The rooms and beds were superb, very comfortable and the hotel being in a residential part of the city along the Saigon river we had a wonderful restful time.

Everything was very well thought of, the room was very comfortable and the swimming pool nested in the gardens of the hotel was large enough to allow swimming but also having a very relaxing time. The river side setting with the colonial building makes for a spectacular setting whether one is enjoying the cool morning breeze sipping the traditional Vietnamese coffee or at night when the lighting and atmosphere turns romantic. We could tell the hotel was still in its pre-opening period as the service was not 100% perfect yet but what the staff lacked in perfection was made up by their great and warm hospitality and genuine attention to service. This is like a mini resort vacation spot while being close to the bustling city center of Ho Chi Minh City. We will surely go back soon.

Reviewed January 31, 2014