Vongdeuan Resort

22/2 Moo 4, Ban Phe, Mueang, Rayong, Ao Wongduan, Koh Samet, Thailand, 21160 - See map
Free Wi-Fi
7.9
Very good
/10
(6,898 reviews)See what guests said
Beach135
Housekeeping78
Breakfast61
select your datePlease enter your stay dates to see price
Vongdeuan Resort

"Consistent good Service, most quiet Location on Koh Samet, just love the Thai Houses atmosphere, my favorite stop over when stuck for a weekend in Asi..."

georg - July 1, 2019

Standard - Bedroom Vongdeuan Resort
Lobby Vongdeuan Resort
Lobby Vongdeuan Resort
See all 62 photos
See map
Popular landmarks
Ao Wong Duean 70 m
Ao Cho 410 m
Ao Nuan 740 m
Tubtim Bay 940 m
Ao Phai 1.28 km
Ao Wai 1.7 km
Ao Prao 1.72 km
Sai Kaew Beach 2.17 km
Koh Samet Pier 2.62 km
Karang Bay 3.44 km
Nearby landmarks
Ao Wong Duen 50 m
Kiu Na Nok Bay 50 m
Ao Wong Duean 70 m
Ao Cho 410 m
Ko-Samet 420 m
Laerm Rue Taek Cape 600 m
Koh Samet Reservoir 700 m
Ao Thian 720 m
Ao Nuan 740 m
Tubtim Bay 940 m
8.5

Excellent

Location rating score

Excellent location
Hygiene Plus
Wellness
This property has self-selected and self-certified the following hygiene measures.Learn more
Safety Features
Body thermometer
Daily disinfection in common areas
See all amenities
Preventative Equipment
Hand sanitizer
Sterilizing equipment
Health and Medical
First aid kit
What guests are saying:Read all 6,898 reviews
Exceptional reputation
Recommended by 84% of guests
Excellent cleanliness
8.0 rating for cleanliness
Very good facilities on premise
7.6 facilities on premise
Very good comfort
7.6 room quality and comfort

A great dining experience each day at noon!

Doug | June 19, 2018

Good service, great food, nice rooms.

Larry | February 22, 2020

Enjoyed my time here so much.

Martha | May 28, 2018

  • Airport transfer

  • Private beach

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Breakfast [free]

  • Air conditioning

Cheaper than 66% of all properties in Koh Samet in the last 24 hoursCompared to 164 Koh Samet properties at Agoda for various dates
Value for money7.7
Distance to city center4 km
Location rating8.5
Nearest airportU-Tapao International Airport (UTP)
Distance to airport50.9 km

Rooms available at Vongdeuan Resort

7.6
Very good
Room comfort & quality
Residence Double
Residence Double
...
  • Room size: 48 m²/517 ft²
  • Sea view
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Cottage
Cottage
...
  • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Garden view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Thai House
Thai House
...
  • Room size: 32 m²/344 ft²
  • Garden view
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Residence
Residence
...
  • Room size: 120 m²/1292 ft²
  • Sea view
  • 1 double bed and 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Beach House
Beach House
...
  • Room size: 48 m²/517 ft²
  • Beach view
  • 1 king bed and 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Standard
Standard
...
  • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
  • Garden view
  • 2 single beds or 1 double b...
Enter dates to see prices
Pool Side Cottage
Pool Side Cottage
...
  • Room size: 36 m²/388 ft²
  • Pool view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Residency Double Room
Residency Double Room
...
  • Room size: 48 m²/517 ft²
  • Sea view
  • 1 double bed or 1 sofa bed
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe
Deluxe
...
  • Room size: 32 m²/344 ft²
  • Garden view
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Residence 3
Residence 3
...
  • Room size: 70 m²/753 ft²
  • Sea view
  • 1 double bed and 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices

Frequently asked questions

What time is check-in and check-out at Vongdeuan Resort?

Check-in is from 02:00 PM, and check-out is until 12:00 PM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The resort offers luggage storage to guests for before check-in and after check-out.

How do I get to Vongdeuan Resort?

Vongdeuan Resort is easy to access from the airport. In fact, you can even book your airport transfer in advance for greater peace of mind with the additional charge of 3000 THB. Just use the "Let us know what you need" section of the booking page to let the resort know you want a ride, and they will contact you via the Agoda messaging service. A stay at Vongdeuan Resort also comes with easy access to the neighborhoods around the hotel through the convenient shuttle service offered at the resort. If you're looking for an easy way to get around Koh Samet with private transportation, the resort can arrange taxi service.

What is the smoking policy at Vongdeuan Resort?

Vongdeuan Resort does not permit smoking in any of its rooms, but allows smoking in designated areas.

See map
Explore the neighborhood

What people love about Vongdeuan Resort

  • 10.0
    Exceptional
    Cleanliness

    "Beutiful beach,clean pool and rooms,good service,peacefull ja very good beds.I really come back"

    Marlene

    |

    December 20, 2019

  • 10.0
    Exceptional
    Staff 

    "Love the friendly staff at this resort, and love the island."

    Jeff

    |

    December 4, 2019

  • 10.0
    Exceptional
    Location

    "Good breakfast, quired location, own boat for transfer"

    Harald

    |

    December 17, 2019

Property ranking|Compared to 164 Koh Samet properties
See all rankings
Room size
49 sqm.
Location score
8.6/10
Room comfort score
7.6/10
Review score - United States
8.0/10
Bigger than
96
%
of Koh Samet properties
Better than
85
%
of Koh Samet properties
Better than
85
%
of Koh Samet properties
Better than
85
%
of Koh Samet properties
Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
Overall rating:
7.9
Very good
6,353 reviews
Cleanliness
8.0
Facilities
7.6
Location
8.5
Read all reviews >
What travelers say they love:
Had another lovely stay at this hotel everything is good her...
Ady from United Kingdom
Couple
More about Vongdeuan Resort

More about Vongdeuan Resort

Set on the southern half of the beautiful Vongduern Bay, this luxurious 3.5-star accommodation is the perfect getaway for guests looking to unwind and enjoy the tropical weather Koh Samet has to offer. The hotel comes with three different atmospheric zones for you to choose from, making every visit different from the last. Each guestroom is spacious, clean, furnished with contemporary décor, and fitted with all modern day facilities. For leisure, guests can spend the days lounging next to the beach, sipping cocktails, taking in a game of beach soccer, or trying out the water sports on offer. With a full range of popular amenities and a friendly, caring staff, it's no wonder guests keep returning to Vongdeuan Resort.

Show less

Most talked about facilities

Beach
357 mentions
Breakfast
154 mentions
Swimming Pool
95 mentions
Food & Dining
71 mentions

What they offer

10.0
Exceptional
Cleanliness

"Very nice pleace for family holiday room was clean breakfast..."

XUAN

|

October 20, 2019

View all reviews
Show less

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

Food and dining

Breakfast options

Asian
Continental

Restaurants on site

Vongdeuan Restaurant
Cuisine:Thai
Menu:Buffet, A-la-carte

What's nearby

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

Property's guest policies

Show less

Some helpful facts

Show less

Property announcements

Show less

Reviews of Vongdeuan Resort from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (6353)Booking.com Reviews (545)
7.9
/
10
Cleanliness8.0
Facilities7.6
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality7.6
Service7.6
Value for money7.7
High score for Koh Samet
Rating
9+ Exceptional (1022)
8-9 Excellent (1149)
7-8 Very Good (1517)
6-7 Good (708)
<6 Below Expectation (744)
Time of the year
Mar - May (1523)
Jun - Aug (1155)
Sep - Nov (1195)
Dec - Feb (1267)
All guests (6353)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 5140 verified guest comments
12345
10.0
Exceptional
Fang from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013

i had a great memories at vongdeuan resort hotel”

service, location, food

i had a great memories at vongdeuan resort hotel after i booking their room, i have sent email to ask them how should we arrive their hotel? they was very prompt reply the letter as below: thank you for making reservation to stay with us, to get to our shuttle boat, please come to our office in ban phe, you can present your voucher and check in from here, our staff will take you to the boat. boat time schedule: 10.00, 13.30 please contact staff inside office directly only!! due to this email, so we clearly know that we could take their free boat straight to hotel. when we walk on the beach, we chatted with other people, they told me that they paid 1,000 baht to bought other boat tickets to here, so i am so appreciated their customer service center to reminding us they have this service. i love this hotel everything, all staff are friendly, location is very near the beach, and the buffet breakfast is so delicious, i have a very happy memories in koh samet island. thank you vongdeuan resort hotel.

Reviewed November 03, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Heather from United Kingdom
Group
Thai House
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012

Nice rooms for the price, amazing island”

Close to the beach

We had a lovely stay on Koh Samet at the Vongdeuan Resort, it is what it is .... a 'middle budget' resort, the rooms are basic but for the price you pay they are comfy enough. We stayed in a Thai house, but as there were 3 of us we needed 3 beds, we got one double and a mattress on the floor! but after we asked for a better bed the manager offered us a bigger 'house' which had two beds - one double - one single, we took it as it was bigger & closer to the beach, anyway we weren't inside for very long. It is one of the quieter beaches, away from loud music and lots of boats coming & going (there are still a few speed boats & hotel boats - but not all day) The beach outside the resort is AMAZING! white sands, turquoise sea, just beautiful. the bars along the beach are great, they are on the beach .... you just sit on there & eat & drink,the put out fresh fish which you choose & they bbq it for you, there is a big choice of food for such a small island, some have music .... just lovely :o) The only downside was the mossies ... they are savage ... take lots of mossie spray, cream & whatever else you can fit in ... but of course this is an island which is basically jungle - it is to be expected! We got a taxi (sat in the back of a truck)to the busier beach (which was amazing) but the roads to get there were terrible, just mud with deep ruts, that was an experience!! you maybe able to get a speed boat to see other parts of the island .... I think that would be a better option. I would defo like to go back there one day, just gorgeous!!

Reviewed November 07, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Arvidsson from Sweden
Couple
Beach House
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

A paradise hide away with everything seconds away”

Great bungalow only 10 m from the beach. White sand and warm water. Layd back staff.

The only access to this resort is by boat. To get there, be aware to find the official office for the boat at the pier at Ban Phe. We took a 'private' speedboat bought from a 'unofficial' seller and payed twice the price, still not a lot of money. We payed bath, after some bargening, but the common price was bath per person per way. Access at the beach is from the beach, not a pier. The water is warm so no worries. We started our vacation at Vongdeuan Resort, a perfect way to adapt to the climat and the time zone. This place is as close as you can get to a paradise. The only obstacle is a small mosquito problem and a few spots along the beach that smells a little. There are several places for massage on the beach. You walk the whole beach in 3-5 minutes. The place to the south was the best. The restaurant is good and we didn't eat on any other place at our short stay. The bungalow was very fine. Fairly big. Good AC. The shower is on the outside in an way (accessible only from the room). The bed was a bit hard, but that is the case in Thailand (as I have experienced). It was clean and tidy. The bungalow we were lucky to get was just 10-15 meters from the water. It was 30 meters to the reception and another 10 meters to the restaurant. I will definitely go back to this resort. But than I will find the best boat offer right away. For the transfer from Suwarnabumi we used a normal taxi meter taxi. Price 2500 bath. It took around 2,5 hours.

Reviewed December 10, 2012
9.2
Exceptional
Jennifer from South Africa
Family with young children
Beach House
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016

Fantastic holiday!”

We went to Koh Samet for a quick four day visit. Vongeuan Resort was exactly what we were looking for. We stayed in one of the Beach cottages. The resort is located right on the beach. They provide a decent breakfast - waffles, mini pancakes, fresh fruit, eggs, youghurt, break, tea/coffee/juice and then also some Thai breakfast options. The restaurant provides good food and there are also many other places to choose from that are only a few minutes walk down the beach. The swimming pool is clean and has a baby pool section. Plenty of loungers available. There is a bar located on the beach and all food and drinks were reasonably priced. The mini bar in the room was also reasonably priced and mosquito repellent is available in the room for a low price. You can get fresh beach towels when you need them. The white towels in the room are a bit dated but they dry you! The staff were friendly and very helpful. We arrived very early in the morning and they did their best to get us into our cottage as quickly as possible. They also entertained our children a lot. They easily arranged our speedboat back to the mainland and for far less than we paid to get there. It's a very safe area with clean facilities and a beautiful beach.

Reviewed February 24, 2016
7.7
Very good
Nicholas from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Thai House
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

2 days, 2 nights --- a week's worth of relaxation!”

The staff in the hotel are very welcoming and happy to help. The room was basic but comfortable. We spent very little time in it, most of the time we were in the pool, on the beach, or in the sea.

One thing that is not clear from the Website is how you get to the hotel. The answer is that there are 2 options, but only 1 way, and that's by boat from Ban Phe in the South East of Thailand. The first option is that the hotel runs it's own (free for hotel guests) service twice a day ... with some planning you should be able to arrive in Ban Phe and travel across to the island without having to wait to long (I would recommend to call the hotel in advance and get times) The second option, if like me you arrive and don't want to wait a few hours until the next boat, is to pay for a speed boat across - you'll pay "per person" and anything from 1000Baht return upwards ... I let my wife (Thai) negotiate on price! When she was happy I paid. :O) Both boats drop you on the beach, in front of reception, where you will be greeted by the local official to whom you have to pay the tourist tax (240Baht for 2 adults and a child). 5 mins on the beach and I felt so incredibly relaxed. There is not a great deal to do Koh Samet is a small island, there are Quad-bikes for rent (didn't use) and I'm sure, if you can stand the heat, you can walk into the forest and up the hill ... we didn't venture further than the beach - The "restaurant" over looks it, and the bars and shops are set along it. Prices are expensive for Thailand (even the fresh water has to be brought from the mainland) but not as expensive as I was expecting. The restaurant food was nothing too exciting. Breakfast was included and acceptable, we ate one night in the hotel, and went down the beach for a BBQ another night. 2 words of warning! - There are plenty of mosquitoes, take lots of repellent, and soothing "bite" cream - SPF30 is not enough - many Thai's use SPF50: 5 mins under the sun and you'll understand why. There are only 2 settings : "Well Done" and "Extra Crispy". I am sure we'll be back ... and I'll certainly check whether Vongdeuan Resort has space when we're looking to go.

Reviewed April 22, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Pamela from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

Quick Getaway on the King's Birthday”

1.Separate room meaning no a-joining walls and no one above us which equals nice and quiet. 2. Romantic seafood dinner on the beach 3. Location on the beach

We had never been to Ko Samet and wanted a quiet beach experience before heading back to the states after a month of traveling in South East Asia. As we headed to the island without reservations we found out it was the Kings Birthday ( a national holiday in Thailand) and everyone from Bangkok was headed to the beach. We were pleasantly surprised to find a room at the Vongdeuan Resort at a reasonable rate right on the beach with breakfast included.

Reviewed December 13, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Terry from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013

Relaxing and kid friendly resort”

the beach, the room, the restaurant

We quite enjoyed our stay at this resort. Vongdeuan Beach is quieter than many of the "party beaches" on Koh Samet and more kid friendly. The private boat to and from the resort is a nice touch. The beach is great for young children and the sea is very shallow for a long way out. Beach chairs are free and plentiful with lots of shade trees to sit under. Breakfast was good, staff was pleasant and helpful. Lots of dining options along the beach. We are likely to return here.

Reviewed April 10, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Roland from United Kingdom
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 7 nights in February 2012

A wonderful place to spend a week relaxing.”

Peaceful atmosphere and great beach access.

Vongdeuan Resort is the nicest resort we have been to on Koh Samed island. The beach area in front of the hotel is kept clean and is right in front of the restaurant. The restaurant and bar have good service and reasonable price for Koh Samed. The gardens are lovely and quiet. We even saw a flock of horn-bills on several occasions. The new pool is a welcome addition. Our only gripe is that the standard rooms seem a lot nicer than the more expensive cottage rooms.

Reviewed March 26, 2012
9.6
Exceptional
Zachary from Canada
Family with young children
Pool Side Cottage
Stayed 5 nights in March 2017

Kids + Grandparents - AWESOME”

Overall: would recommend and will stay again. More than fair price. Owner is delightful and helpful. Staff: helpful, respectful, and quick to respond to needs. They knew us by name and always went above and beyond. Location: right in the middle of the bay, best location by far compared to other resorts in same bay. Room: we stayed in cottages (2) that were pool side because we wanted to have our kids monitor reach the pool when our youngest napped. Room was perfect for my wife, two kids (4yrs and 2 yrs), location was excellent. Room was well stocked. We brought our own bed for youngest and they supplied bedding for eldest. Food: excellent. Same price, better service, larger sizes, cleaner, more helpful staff than any other restaurant tried in bay. Hands down, the best in the bay. Facilities: well kept. Pool was cleaned multiple times a day (and before it opened each morning). Beach: only one cleaned by staff multiple times a day. Other resort patrons came and used ours. That speaks for itself. Cons: - though a "free" ferry service is provided, its sooooooo slooooowwww. Minor complaint, but a reality when you have two whiny kids. - Agoda, despite trying and cancelling booking twice, couldn't confirm booking with kids, it kept only showing up as adults, but no kids. This caused some challenges that were quickly solved thanks to customer service (AGODA) and solid Vongdeuan staff. - our room had a beautiful sounding bird that lived in the roof. It kept us and our kids from sound sleeps as it woke multiple times each night to remind us it lived their, too. Telling the staff didn't do much to help the cause. Again, a minor issue.

Reviewed March 27, 2017

Dear Zachary, Thank you for your kind words and feedback. The team and I are really delighted we gave you lasting memories to take home and share. We hope to welcome you, your family and friends when you return, we can't wait! See you soon. Warm regards, Nuttavut N. - General Manager

Responded April 26, 2017
Vongdeuan Resort
7.3
Very good
Kamila from Poland
Group
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in August 2011

It was OK”

good location

I have spent 3 nights there with my 6 months old son and a couple of friends. I know few resorts at Koh Samet already (different standards) and this one I place somewhere in the middle. I liked: 1)location: you can walk along the shore to other beaches that are more peaceful than Vongdeuan beach (I had a baby with me in the carrier and it wasn't difficult to walk, even though there were the paths on the rocks- to avoid if it is raining of course). Try to go to Ao Wai! 2)food in the restaurants on the beach: wide choice and reasonable prices, 3) rooms in the resort were OK, not so modern but clean, I had friends behind the wall and we could hear each other especially in the bathroom: it might become a problem if you have strangers as neighbours, 4) very nice big white sandy beach I didn't like: 1) breakfast (very basic,choice just à la carte) 2) staff (not everyone, I am talking mostly about management level): as someone who lives in Thailand and travels to Koh Samet quite often, I know it can be much better. They will do what you ask them, but they seemed to me like they wish to be never disturbed (and trust me: even with the baby I didn't ask anything complicated). To be honest the least kind I have met on Koh Samet, 3) internet connection: very fast, but forget skype calls if you have Karaoke playing in the same place- you have to wait until it is finished. I am not saying it is not fun, but supposed to be separated- not everything in the same place (close to the reception). 4)old and dirty plastic sun chairs (luckily I didn't use them too much because I had a baby, but I just refer what I remember) 5) we stayed in the newer rooms at the back of the resort, almost in the forest...be careful about scourge of mosquito, prepare repellents. Overall is good though and I wouldn't mind to come back, generally I have found what I was looking for.

Reviewed September 14, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Daniel from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012

Offers same as top end places”

location, restaurant, rooms, value

absolutely amazing value. the other pricier options on this island do not really offer anything more than vongdeuan. vongdeuan manages to find a perfect balance between peace and quiet and the more livier side. with its location being at the far side of one of the better beaches on the island its quiet but you can also take a short walk down the beach and get to a diverse selection of bars and restaurants. the restaurant on site was very good and the included breakfast (all you can eat buffet) has a wide range and is well stocked, it even offers 2 evening meals as part of the selection. the only downside is the 'free' wifi which is does have however the people running it have no idea how it works and they offer you an unlocked ap near reception despite there being multiple wifi locations around the resort which require login. you can however spoof your mac address and get multiple trials but its annoying. unless your going to the island for a party avoid the top half of the island, it looks dirty, messy and overcrowded. also if going to vongdeurn beach or lower make sure your early enough to get the right boat (free with this resort) as the ticket touts in banphe are stupidly annoying and the 4x4 taxis on the island will rip you off!

Reviewed September 14, 2012
9.2
Exceptional
Reinhold from Germany
Couple
Standard
Stayed 8 nights in November 2016

Overall great resort”

We were at Koh Samed the 3rd time and Vongdeuan Resort has very much improved after the renovation. The ambience, especially in and around the restaurant is excellent, just the thing you need to enjoy your meals in a relaxed atmosphere - breakfast with a wide, delicious variety. The staff, beginning from cleaning, restaurant and administration is friendly. The resort is family/children-friendly.

Reviewed November 27, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Vasinee from Thailand
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013

Relaxing Weekend at Vongdeuan Resort”

Room, Location, Convenience

This time was actually my second time at Vongdeuan Resort and I like it even better. The room at our cottage was spacious and clean. There is also no questions about the staff that were always friendly and helpful. In short, Vongdeuan Resort is on the top of my list for accommodation on Koh Samed.

Reviewed August 22, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Chan from Hong Kong
Couple
Pool Side Cottage
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013

Very suitable for honeymoon”

Near the sea, like a villa, very comfortable

Very nice experience. We had a very good time in Samed Island and had a very nice time in Vongdeuan Resort. We booked a pool view room. We just had to walk 30 seconds, we arrived the swimming pool. Everyday, we are facing the beautiful beach to swim. We can found a lot of good restaurants in this area. We enjoyed the sunshine, enjoyed the food there. One thing can be better, they don't have a pier for the ship to park, so when we arrived or left the hotel, our pants and feet will touch the water. But I think they don't want to block the sea view, that's why they didn't build a pier. But the strange thing is, when we arrived the island, we have to pay 200B/ person for the 'entry fee', that's the thing I don't understand. Because we didn't pay last time when we went to Samed in different hotel.

Reviewed June 09, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Micha from Netherlands
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 4 nights in December 2010

Nice location, good value for money”

Clean, quiet
None really

the resort is located on ao vongdeuan beach. the area can be a bit crowded, but is much nicer and less busy than for instance white sand (had sai kaew). there are plenty of (good) restaurants on the beach and almost all offer free wifi. some have a fire show at night. you can rent a motorcycle if you want to travel around, but koh samet is a small island and the roads are in pretty bad shape. there are also various operators to take you on a boat trip around the island(s). the resort operates its own ferry service between the resort and the pier at ban phae.

Reviewed December 20, 2010
7.7
Very good
Leon from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012

Good resort, good standard of basic accommodation”

free shuttle boat service from Ban Phe

if you are a typical tourist looking to stay 2-3 weeks in thailand, koh samet is probably not where you'd want to stay for the whole of your stay. it's a pretty island get-away, but expect basic accommodation. it's a great place to go for a short 2-3 day stay, with good beaches & clean sea. i & my thai partner stayed recently to get away from the hustle & bustle of life in jomtien / pattaya, where we live. we had a thoroughly enjoyable 2 day stay with friends. vongdeuan resort is one of the better 'resorts' on the east side of the island,; the bay is situated about half-way down the east side. it takes an hour to get there direct by shuttle boat from ban phe municipality pier, beside which is the resort's office, which you need to go to first to present booking correspondence. the beach is clean, water clean, & the resort restaurant serves decent food. in addition to the resort restaurant, there are around 8 other cafe / restaurants along the beachfront - all have pretty much the same menu, apart from the seahorse, where the variety & quality of food is good - would highly recommend.

Reviewed April 20, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Dennis from Netherlands
Couple
Thai House
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013

Wonderful resort, great beach and attentive staff”

Beach, nature, staff

Our stay at Vongdeuan was a pleasant one. The Thai room we had was spacious, clean and well kept. The staff was very attentive and sprayed the room every evening against mosquitoes if we asked them to do so. The island of Koh Samet is a nature reserve, so you will have ants and mosquitoes there; just spray, or use lotion, or stay in the urban jungle of Bangkok if you have a problem with little critters. Having said that; the rooms are kept very clean with very little insects - those that come in mainly are there due to us keeping the door open... Wonderful beach at this hotel! Yes, it is shared with a string of small hotels and restaurants, but not overly commercialized and one of the nicest beaches of the island. Next door at Vongdeuan Villas they have nice massages, the restaurant as well as others on the beach serve nice food and the stay was a very pleasant one. We'll be back soon!

Reviewed November 07, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Michelle from United Kingdom
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012

on the beach, has a pool and quiet”

Ticked all the boxes.

We stayed 3 nights in a cottage room which were basic but spacious. We chose because they looked lighter and 'fresher', however the Thai houses looked lovely. As we were out all day on the beach or bu the pool, we only used the room to sleep in so is it worth upgrading?! The pool is well maintained and was a nice alternative to being sandy for a day! The trees at the front of the resort offer shade to those who want it on the beach. The sea is extremely safe for children. Vendors walking up and down the beach sell fruit and BBQ food (without being too in your face) which makes for a convenient and cheap lunch. The breakfast wasn't outstanding but has a reasonable choice for a buffet style. We ate in the restaurant twice and the food was excellent, as was the choice of dishes, cocktails and real coffees. (good coffee too!) There are a couple of comments on Agoda about the staff - they are not that friendly, but not rude either, just underconfident in English. The resort is far enough away from the beat-box noise from other accommodations and instead you get a beautiful but loud serenade from the frogs. This gets drowned out by the air con unit in the room when sleeping. Seeing as the resort is on the 2nd largest beach on Koh Samet, it took all of 11 mins to walk from one end to the other which has a variety of restaurants and small convenience stores. We would definetely stay here again.

Reviewed October 01, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
amit from United Kingdom
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in September 2012

Very nice resort!”

nice rooms, friendly staff and a comfortable bed!

stayed at the vongdeuan resort for 2 nights, the rooms were nice and clean and the staff were very accomodating. Will stay again when visiting Koh Samet!

Reviewed October 09, 2012
8.7
Excellent
KWANG from South Korea
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

laid back place”

clean, comfort, breakfast

Vongdeuan resort is a very big resort located at wong deun beach. very nice and comfortable, next to the beach. We stayed there quite comfortably. The female staff on the counter was unkind, she used to make us unpleased since we arrived. Ko samet there's so many mosquitoes that we killed 10~15 every night. so annoying. wong deun beach is very beautiful

Reviewed January 09, 2015
12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss

Vongdeuan Resort
|Very good 7.9
×
Check in. Step out.
Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

  • Excellent location
  • Ao Wong Duean
null