Book Now: Vy Da Backpackers Hostel 2

Exceptional
From 446 reviewsSee what guests said
9.0
Recommended by 94% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (446)Booking.com Reviews (180)
9.0
Exceptional
From 446 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness9.0
Facilities8.7
Location8.7
Service9.3
Value for money9.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
한국어
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Deluxe Double Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 252 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
Angela from Philippines
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Awesome bed”
I miss the bed.
Reviewed April 11, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Quang from Norway
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018
One of the best hostels in Vietnam”
I really like this hostel as it provides the best private bunk bed (cube) with great bathrooms. The hostel also has a hanging out area on the rooftop which is really nice! I usually bring food to eat there. The location is superb, being close to the Buy Viet street and Pham Ngu Lao for transport. The best part about the location is the street food and market nearby. In the morning the area is a market with all kind of food you can buy then at night it turns into a street food stalls! The most popular attraction sites in Saigon are also close by, so you don't need any transport - you can walk there! Highly recommended!
Reviewed April 03, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Krittichai from Thailand
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Great value for money!”
Everything was great.
Reviewed April 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Gracie from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Great place!”
Great position- central and walkable to everything but in an area which feels a little less touristy. Amazing street food on the parallel road. I had a private room- huge, clean, great value for money. Staff were really kind and helpful. You can leave your bags after check out.
Reviewed March 23, 2018
7.6
Very good
Jeffrey from Thailand
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Noisy morning market”
Room 201 is very noisy in the morning. Aircon is very cold on 2 nights but warm on 1 night. Breakfast is half a cup of coffee and a cup of tea. Wifi is not bad. Locker is big. Location is good. Provide towel. Toilet are clean, big and enough. There is a lift, but small and slow. A few food stalls nearby.
Reviewed March 20, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Thuy from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Clean hostel with super friendly staff”
I stayed here in January and it was an awesome stay as this was the first time I stayed in a hostel in Ho Chi Minh. I'm glad I chose this place. The bed is spacious and the room is clean. If I don't remember wrong, there are 4 separated bathrooms with toilet inside on each floor. The bathrooms are clean. The hostel is just 15 minute walk to Ben Thanh market but it's off the main Street so it is quite. The staff was very friendly and I loved to get the free bottle of water from drawing from the bucket of tickets. Even though it was not much but it was fun and I felt welcoming. In the morning, I had breakfast on the rooftop which was basic bread and fried egg but it was yummy. The owner was super friendly and he seemed to know all his guests. He just sat down and chatted to everybody. I only stayed there for 1 night but it was a great stay. I would definitely recommend this hostel.
Reviewed March 20, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ken from Canada
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Exceptional”
Excellent
Reviewed March 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Erik from Canada
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Awesome place with awesome staff”
I had a really good time at this place! I slept so well, little boxes for a lot of privacy. Showers are nice and out of the room, so quiet. Staff really cares about you and helpful. Rooftop give you a big view on the tower and town, free coffee in the morning. Thanks a lot for good shares, I hope you will enjoy your trip to Cambodia :) Erik
Reviewed March 15, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Vera from Portugal
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Quiet place at 5min walking from Bui Vien Street ”
The beds are really cool, staff is nice and they allowed to to do a later check out and take a shower before you leave. Although they don't offer breakfast. When I booked, the booking said that was included but it's not. The comon area is not a proper common area
Reviewed March 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Natalie from United States
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Exceptional”
Very comfortable stay. Soft beds, great wifi, private dorms, free coffee on top floor in the morning, and close to many restaurants and a bus station. Not a social hostel, but a good place to catch up on sleep. Friendly staff.
Reviewed March 13, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Risto from Finland
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Fantastic valeur for money”
Excellent personnell. Nice rooftop terrace for common use with wifi and plenty of chairs with tables. Clean. Good single showers and toalets. Best thing was four star hotel quality bed and towel in nice and roomy cube. Did fall in sleep with broad smile on face. Best hostel experience ever!
Reviewed March 06, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Therése from Sweden
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 5 nights in February 2018
Exceptional”
Staff were so nice and helpful. Very clean and good air condition in the rooms. Perfect location, a 5 minute walk from the popular walking street where you can find all the shopping and restaurants. It’s a very reserved hostel though, people didn’t really talk to each other here...
Reviewed February 20, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jin from South Korea
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Good”
James from luxury bpk recommend stay this hostel in Hochiminh very good hostel. thanks Quynh
Reviewed February 14, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Paul from United States
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Good bang for the buck”
Great place to get started in HCMC
Reviewed February 13, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Suwan from China
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Exceptional”
I think this hostel is so convenient to go anywhere.and they can speak English and helpful !they also offer breakfast.lol.the most important thing is you can easy to make friends here .
Reviewed February 08, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Denis from Singapore
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Weekend trip”
I went to HCMC for a weekend and wanted to stay somewhere central. This hostel was perfect and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Very modern and the staff were very helpful. Would totally recommend this to anyone visiting HCMC
Reviewed February 04, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
kristel from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Highly recommended ! Thumbs up”
Very good stay, the location is near restaurants and market. The wifi is fast, and the breakfast is good. I love the bread. The staff are friendly ;)
Reviewed February 02, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Alex from United States
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Hidden gems!”
Owners and staffs are kind!clean facilities don’t let the exterior streets fool you!a must experience.
Reviewed February 01, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Kirsten from United States
Group
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
Great staff and location!”
The morning smiles from the friendly, helpful staff made the start of each day so sweet! The breakfast was excellent and the location well centered in HCMC. The bathrooms could be a bit cleaner, but far from the worst I've seen. I LOVED the sleeping pods! Fabulous to have some privacy and slept well here. Hanging on the roof desk at sunset with a cold drink was a treat. Would stay again!
Reviewed January 31, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Mo from China
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Great location and staff”
Had a great time staying here people are so nice
Reviewed January 28, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Ryan from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Great breakfast, clean & modern”
Don't be fooled by the exterior, this is a great hostel with a nice rooftop, great breakfast and friendly staff. Rooms were clean, modern and have balconies. We stayed in a private room with ensuite. Can't speak to the dorms, but they looked nice from what we could see.
Reviewed January 27, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Afril from Malaysia
Group
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Perfect for Backpackers =) 5-min away from the Walking Street”
This accommodation was super nice. It was clean and comfy. The best part of our stay there was the friendliness and really great service of the front desk people - they are amazing! Me and my friends really recommend this place =)
Reviewed January 24, 2018
7.2
Very good
Chen from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Good for budget stay”
The hostel is located close to Bui Viem street. It takes around 20 minutes by walking to the Benh Than market. I stayed in a twin beds room and it is big. The hostel provided basic breakfast . Overall it is good if you are looking for a budget stay. The only thing is that the room was not ready and we need to wait for another 30 minutes even though we check in after 2pm.
Reviewed January 22, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Junyu from China
Group
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
The isle is too narrow”
It has lift! Location is good, but dirty out of the building.
Reviewed January 21, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Patrick from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Awesome hostel & very friendly staff and owner! Will stay in this hostel again next visit.”
This hostel has very nice room with large bed and curtain. Their staff are very friendly and very helpful. The owner of this hostel make me breakfast and nice vietnam coffee. He is very humble and friendly person. If you want to visit ho chi minh, you must book this hostel. Cheap price but very high quality of service.
Reviewed January 20, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
kristoffer from Norway
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Definetly where im going to stay next time”
such a nice and easy place to stay. The people working there really helped me a lot with guided tours and transport! They where very nice and always greeted me with a smile! Next time I'm in HCMC Vy Da backpackers hostel 2 will be my top choice!
Reviewed January 18, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Kristina from Canada
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Dont let the outside scare you”
This hostel when I first drove up the street kind of freaked me out a little bit. Once I steped inside the staff were absolutely so accommodating and friendly and helpful. I was on the second floor and the beds were so comfortable and big and private. The air conditioning was excellent it was extremely clean the bathrooms were plenty and clean. It's a little intimidating walking outside to get to The Walking Street but just ask the locals for the directions it's actually very safe and easy to get to. Highly recommend doing the 4hr motorbike around the city and ask for Max.
Reviewed January 15, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Mo from China
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
comfy bed and great shower”
Comfy bed and great shower. They have two hostels so check the address carefully. The second one you can not find on google map so you have to input the exact address to get here. Public area is limited the rest is all good
Reviewed January 15, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
gabriela from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Exceptional”
It’s a great place and great value for money . I stayed there twice in two separate occasions and also recommended to my friends who loved it !!
Reviewed January 06, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Alex from United States
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Friendly staff!”
The owner is kind, attentive to details, breakfast was feasible, comfortable bed, air conditioning work great, location is the best but close to everything.
Reviewed January 05, 2018
6.8
Good
Karl from Gabon
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Racial Discrimination in 21st Century”
It is really unfortunate for me to give a bad rate to staff as what I about to write does not apply to all staff members. I have been accused to have stolen a towel by the receptionist girl because of my skin colour (black) which is a very very aweful experience and the last I got from Vietnam and stupid girl that repeatedly acted inappropriately because she is somehow uncomfortable communicating with a black person. Should this kind of attitude be the hostel policy, please have the decency to inform in advance that Blacks are not welcome so we will not come over. It is hard to believe that you have to return a wet, dirty towel to the receptionist ... very very aweful attitude.
Reviewed January 04, 2018
Dear Karl, Firstly, we would like to thank you for staying at our hostel during your visit to Saigon. It was our pleasure to accommodate you. Secondly, we truly apologize for any inconvenience you experienced at our property. However, we would like to clarify the misunderstanding between you and our staff. Guests always have to sign to confirm the agreement with our hostel policy which is especially about the check-out that guests must return locker key and towel provided upon arrival. We already work with the staff that checked you out that morning when you were running late for something. She was just doing her job that as king you for the towel to check-out and that was totally irrelevant to "Racial Discrimination" as you mentioned. Please do not slander anyone because you are not happy to go up the stairs to get the towel. We will report this review to Agoda as you are not telling the truth and this affects our image.
Show more
Vy Da Backpackers Hostel 2
9.6
Exceptional
Ng from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Excellent!”
Excellent service and really have my own privacy after I compared others hostel in Agoda. This is my first time to have a lucky draw with hotel stay!
Reviewed January 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Huai-Yi from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Perfect & love it ”
I love this hostel can’t anymore Especially it has perfect breakfast when you get up to 7F every morning! Ban Mi& coffee! And it has good position and good price if you wanna live in hostel for cheap Nothing to complain it’s the best choice when you wanna travel to HoChiMinh cuty
Reviewed January 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Longhui from China
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Friendly”
warm welcomed serves nice and safe dorms curtain can keep private in dorm box drawing a lottery after check in,I got a big bottle of water for free ,that is interesting it will be my first choice next time
Reviewed December 31, 2017
4.4
Yunita from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Bad experience”
My bed sheet had small hairs and black dirts on it, didnt seem to be changed after last customer checked out. Since it was late I decided to just bear it and sleep that night. Next morning told the guy on the reception to change my bed sheet since found small hairs and dirts on it, he initially refused saying they always changed after a customer check out. I explained and mentioned that i will appreciate if he can tell the cleaning lady to change it since i stay for 3 nights. He said ok and will change. I went back that day on night and found out bed sheet was not changed (bed was not cleaned or made up at all throughout stay). Went down to reception and asked, the dude just said the cleaning lady must jave forgotten and they cannot help me change since she’s only work in the morning! Horrible!
Reviewed December 31, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Alexandra from United States
Group
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Great stay!”
I love the pod dorms, they are so much more private and quiet. The location is awesome, really quiet but right around he corner from the main hub and backpacking area. Mostly though the people were so incredibly nice and helpful!! Thanks guys, it was such an awesome stay!
Reviewed December 27, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Kenji from United States
Group
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Excellent Kindly Owner”
Reasonable price, Friendly English, French, Japanese speak Staffs,, Comfortable Clean bedroom、What else is you needed ?? I recommend that ask to owner that all you need.
Reviewed December 26, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
HYEONKYUN from South Korea
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
excellent!”
great location, dorm room but have privacy, very big bed
Reviewed December 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
gabriela
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Exceptional”
Amazing staff ! Always smiling and very helpful ! Definitely will be coming back !
Reviewed December 23, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Sarka from Czech Republic
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
The best value for the money!”
The best personal ever! So lovely people always able to help, friendly, smiling, super nice! The cubes give you awesome privacy and are comfortable with enough space so it doesnt feel claustrofobic at all (inside sockets, light and shelf). I really appreciated either new or very good shape of mattress, pillow and duvet which smelled lovely afzer washing! They provide 2 hand towels. I would rather appreciate 1 big, but it is a detail and does the job. I experienced a lack of hot water in one of the bathrooms but others were fine. The cleaning can be a bit better, but realising in which part of the world you are, it was perfect! AC worked, super breakfast. Great location. I extended for 4 nights in total and was very happy there!!!
Reviewed December 20, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Lawrence from Australia
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Good hostel in perfect location”
Pros: - street is lively with some cheap eats and I also got my bag fixed on the corner for 50c - staff are great - close to Bui Vien without being too close - great pod beds Cons: - can't think of any
Reviewed December 20, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Bach from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Excellent, unable to complain!”
Place is located in such a nice area, still close to the city centre and very quiet, unlike Bui Vien St. with bars and pubs running all night long. Friendly staffs, very helpful. Bathrooms are clean and are looked after regularly so it nearly odourless. Breakfast is simple, of course not luxurious buffet or expensive stuffs, but great. Worth the money, will come back definitely.
Reviewed December 18, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Marvin from Philippines
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Best hostel yet”
I am a frequent traveller but I have to say, with certainty, this is the best hostel I've stayed in yet. It's very clean and new and well-maintained. It's close (about 5 mins) to Bui Vien Street but far enough to not hear all the noise from the drinking area/clubs. Hostel area is quiet and laidback, with the right amount of restaurants and cafes. There is a noodle place in front of the hostel where locals flock - I would totally recommend. The hostel is also very clean, the sleeping decks are quite spacious, there are lots of toilets and shower rooms, and hostel is very affordable. They also have a huge locker enough to store my huge luggage as well as backpack. Breakfast was nice with free noodles and coffee, and it is quite spacious and conducive for laptop and work after breakfast hours. Most of all the wifi was really fast. I have recommended this hostel to my friends as well. Thank you, Tin and Tuan and all the staff for the generosity and warmth! Hope to see you guys again soon!
Reviewed December 18, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
See from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Definitely Recommended”
I was there two months back..haven't write up a review until now. But definitely wouldn't forget this place is recommended. Talk to the manager when you are there...if you want to know where to get the best banh mi in town ;-) wink wink... The bed is comfy and big.....there's a lift in the building for convenience. It's away from the noisy Bui Vien street but still easily accessible within a few minutes walk.
Reviewed December 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jin from Singapore
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
A highlight in my trip!”
I expected an affordable place to wash up and spend the night. What i got was a friendly team of staff, always there to satisfy any needs i had. A great host in the owner, who invited the residents for dinner (which was delicious!) and drinks. And the hostel itself was terrific too, clean and well kept. Located just a few streets over from bui vien, it was near enough to be convenient but far enough from the noise, just perfect! Choosing this hostel had actually improved the quality of my trip, something that's never struck me staying at yet another perfunctory hotel (which are more expensive to boot). Will definitely come back on my next trip!
Reviewed December 14, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Wesley
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Friendly staff, surprise lucky draw and nice breakfast ”
Very friendly staff, confirstable sleeping box, highly recommended!!
Reviewed December 12, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Anumart from Thailand
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
super clean and superb services for what we paid for”
Pro: Cleanliness, service, breakfast. The game when guest first shows up. Con: Location and the name of hostel, which has been changed from Chy Chy hostel to Vyda. It should be changed on Agoda to avoid confusion .
Reviewed December 11, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Jia from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Staff are really nice”
Location is a bit quiet in late night, but still fine and walking distance to the attraction like Ben Thanh market and Bui Vien Street.. Staff are really good, they give good recommendation of food and help on travelling plan. Do not miss out the Pork noodle just opposite of the hostel, that one was SUPERB. Wish the staff could clean the room everyday though.
Reviewed December 11, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Kun from China
Solo traveler
Mixed 8-Bed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
so clean and comfortable!”
the sleeping box they have are so clean and comfortable to sleep on! and some of the staff are so nice and kind to helo you out ! especially.one of the cute handsome young guy .he is the best !
Reviewed December 09, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Ayesa from Philippines
Group
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Exceptional”
The staff are nice, wifi is reliable, there's free breakfast! And the 24hr reception is helpful, we're able to check-in easily past midnight and stay at the common area after checkout. Good base to explore HCM although located in a pretty sketchy street. 5 min walk from Bui Vien! Around 10-15 Ben Thanh.
Reviewed December 08, 2017