Book Now: Walden Hotel

Very good
From 1848 reviewsSee what guests said
7.1

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1848)Booking.com Reviews (904)
7.1
Very good
From 1848 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.9
Facilities6.2
Location8.0
Room comfort and quality7.3
Service7.0
Value for money7.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
繁體中文 (香港)
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1626 verified guest comments
2.0
YOONG from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Not recommend”
Not hygiene, room very small. Building very old
Reviewed December 29, 2017
6.0
Mio from Macau
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
The room is dirty and smelly ”
No next time of this hotel
Reviewed December 23, 2017
6.4
Good
Jungmok from South Korea
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
not bad.”
So so
Reviewed December 06, 2017
5.2
Kevin from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Above average”
Rooms are tiny. bathrooms small and stink. Not worth the money
Reviewed December 01, 2017
4.4
David from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Disgusting and depressing”
The most disgusting 3 star hotel I have ever stayed in HK and I have stayed in many. This hotel needs to ranked as one or two star at best. I felt like a fleeing criminal at a skid row hotel evading authority. The chair was caked with God knows what, the pillow cases had a shade of filthy yellowish gray, the carpet never met a vacuum cleaner, and the bathroom made me constipated. You would expect for the exceptionally deplorable quality, this hotel would be economical but it wasn't. The location is fantastic but the hotel needs to be a complete makeover.
Reviewed November 27, 2017
4.0
Yunike from Indonesia
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Customer service at frondt desk is not friendly”
got problem with my booking. the transction was failed on my side but turns out its confirm at agoda. Agoda help me with the refund even though i hve to pay for 1 night but agod help me. place is actually ok. but the customer service is terible.
Reviewed November 27, 2017
7.6
Very good
Juan from Spain
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
good hotel”
great location, and very attentive staff. Rooms becoming old, could do a face lift.
Reviewed November 21, 2017
2.0
Yvonne from Singapore
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Health hazzard”
Booked this hotel on behalf of 5 of my company's guests and it was so horrible I had to book another hotel for my VIP who arrived a day late than the other 4 guests. My first guest had to change 3 rooms before he had one that did not had something fault (tap/ toilet) or did not smell like death. He finally settled in one and he thought it was good till the morning light shine in the next day and the mold existing in the room was appalling. I made a call for them to assist in tidying up my guest's room and the hotel receptionist said she would, and sure they did. All they did was to "move" the mold around, to be honest, anyone should be aware that you cannot just remove mold by wiping them off. In an attempt to try and "remove" the mold, they could not even be bothered enough to move the television aside and clean behind it. Peek behind the tv and you could see the outline of the tv along the mold stained area. WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE (maybe except my enemies)
Reviewed November 15, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Michael from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Great location for the price”
Nice hotel, close to Wan Chai area.
Reviewed November 12, 2017
7.2
Very good
Mr from Singapore
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Value for money”
I would recommend this hotel if you like spacious and cleanness room. Bath Room, Toilet, Room Aircon are OK. Room provide table too to put your stuffs including laptop. Private lift will give you easy access to your rooms. Location of this hotel is in between Wan Chai and Causeway Bay MTR station. Easily accessible to most of the places for food and drinks too. In conclusion, this hotel is value for money to stay.
Reviewed November 02, 2017
4.0
Aaron from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Better in Photos”
1. Old rooms 2. Far from train station 3. Not good service
Reviewed October 28, 2017
7.6
Very good
Travis from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Good location”
Location was in between Wanchai and Causeway Bay MTR. No lack of food choices within walking distance. Hotel reception, however, was lacking somewhat. They barely smiled, and weren't very helpful when we asked for directions. Maybe that's the norm in hongkong? Who knows. Don't let their attitude put a damper on your holiday mood
Reviewed October 27, 2017
7.2
Very good
Han from China
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Very good”
there is very convinient to find,if next time i choose to go to Hong Kong,i will decide to live in this hotel again,but i think the staff should be friendly more,all in all,the hotel is very good!
Reviewed October 27, 2017
3.2
Lim from Singapore
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Max 2 stars hotel”
Room is horribly dirty. The wall, the toilet is really dirty and run down. Not expected of a hotel. Please do not stay in the hotel unless you've no alternative!
Reviewed October 23, 2017
4.0
Walter from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Acceptable”
Hotel is old and dated. Musty and the rooms have not been refurbished since opening.
Reviewed October 18, 2017
6.0
SI from Japan
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
so very so so”
hardly to say it's good bad....but worth the money of HKD300-350 for weekdays, and ~HKD600 for weekends. the front desk receptionists were nice BUT: - No air-condition in the hallway. - bed is big but mattress is old and hard. - the bed sheets are almost wet, because there is no A/C in the room while you are outside. - the is a night club on the 3rd floor, many whores in the night (1,2am?)
Reviewed October 11, 2017
6.8
Good
Monita from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Good”
room is a bit small. but the location is good!
Reviewed October 05, 2017
4.4
ka from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in August 2017
poor hotel”
its like if you can't find anything else near by , choose this hotel. there is only one key for the room, and nobody cleaned your room if you don't ask. plus I lost an earring and they didn't allow me to go up and check again.
Reviewed September 06, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Ivan from Singapore
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Cheap and good”
value for money stay. love returning to this hotel.
Reviewed September 05, 2017
5.2
Midori from Japan
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Above average”
Do not buy Evian in room! It costs 72HKD in the room but if you walk about 2 minutes, you can get the same Evian at 14HKD. Darn it's so expensive. And it seems nobody buys this Evian so according to the date of manufacture, it was one year old.
Reviewed September 02, 2017
2.8
MAX from Thailand
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Opposite earlier experience.......”
1. All room Refrigirators were dismissed and no longer available in all rooms 2. complimantory water of 2 bottles are not longer serviced. If you want to drink water, you buy 1 bottle of water at 78 HK$ or better you visit and buy water, next door 7-11 3. No compli. coffee and tea in the rooms serviced 4. Room not clean 5. Room " cleaning service " late afternoon 6. No information and/or advises due HK latest Hurricane incident
Reviewed August 24, 2017
6.8
Good
Richard from Macau
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Good”
Old room, walls need painting, bathroom antique. Bed fine - but also antique.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
6.8
Good
Tang from Macau
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Old motel with great location and helpful staff ”
Airport bus stop is just right next to the hotel entrance. Tram station is also nearby. Lots of local restaurants nearby. Don't expect too much about the room condition as it is a very old motel only. But cleanliness is acceptable.
Reviewed August 11, 2017
7.2
Very good
TAKAHIRO from Japan
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Good location ”
The hotel is very convenient and near Wan chai station and Causewaybay station. There are a lot of store, restaurants, convenience shop near this hotel.
Reviewed August 02, 2017
4.8
adam from Australia
Family with young children
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Not worth it”
Room is old, walls very dirty and desperately needs a re paint, needs new carpets plus new bed. Photos on Agoda nothing like the actual hotel, there are no facilities, staff would not book an airport transfer, not help with tours, they only there to guve you the key. Stay somewhere else and avoid this place.
Reviewed July 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
wai from China
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Good”
Good
Reviewed July 25, 2017
6.8
Good
Lai from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017
Ok to go for return stay”
Overall our stays in Walden hotel is good. Convenient location. Spacious room. (though it's slightly older) Basic hotel necessities provided - but drinking water on your own. I would have continue to stay in this hotel if they provide rooms for triple sharing, which i failed to find during my search for a triple room.
Reviewed July 17, 2017
6.8
Good
Laurent from France
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Just for one night”
Good for a quick business trip in HK. It's affordable but nothing fancy, I won't stay there more than a night
Reviewed July 15, 2017
5.2
Hazel from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Above average”
Rooms decor are dark n gloomy.. Carpets n walls are old and look dirty. Can definitely improve on these areas. However location is convenient.
Reviewed July 15, 2017
4.4
scott from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Place is rotten”
The place is in need of renovation in a big way. If space is what your after the great, but its not nice place
Reviewed July 12, 2017
6.0
KIN from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Hygienic was horrible ”
Some table with wine previous guest's long hair,bed is hard with old bed sheet with light yellow colors ,some corners are dusty,shower curtain bottom was dirty ,what a horrible and worst 3star hotel that I ever stay on hygienic ! Amenities without conditioner & lotions.The only compliments are the staffs are friendly and air Cond is cold n function.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
4.8
Erick from United States
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Nothing For the Costumer”
Won't help the guest with anything beyond the basics.
Reviewed July 10, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Kristin from Philippines
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Exceptional”
the place is accessible to all. and the room are clean. but the wall of my room have several scratches.
Reviewed July 06, 2017
6.8
Good
Kurup from Vietnam
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Good”
Others may like this hotel but for me not good as I am a smoker i did not find it convenient. They do not have smoking rooms. Every time to smoke i have to come down from 23rd floor to go outside for smoking. They should consider to have at least one floor for people who are compulsive smokers. They will waste electricity as one has to use the elevator every time to come down for smoking. Imagine a person coming down at least 15-20 times for smoking.
Reviewed June 18, 2017
6.4
Good
blessy from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Not so friendly”
The receptionist wasn't friendly.Everything have charge and guest are required to pick or get the things requested from the reception desk..their staff wont offer to deliver it to you , no matter what time of the day, Or even if your on top of the building. I needed an adaptor and I was on the 16th floor. The male receptionist told me to pay for $20 deposit in a rude tone and asked me to get the adaptor from the ground floor. I hope they can improve their treatment to their guest.Hope they'll be friendly and polite.
Reviewed June 09, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
TONGNING from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in May 2017
Very nice”
The waiter is very kind since she had waited me for almost 5 hours since my delay of arrival till 03:00 early in the morning. Also, it is very convenient for shopping and having meals around this hotel. DEFINITELY, I will stay in this hotel once I have another chance to be in Hongkong.
Reviewed June 01, 2017
4.8
Fong from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Not Recommended”
Hotel is old and not recommended.
Reviewed May 03, 2017
6.0
FEMMY from Indonesia
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Good location but not too close with MTR”
the location is considered good enough as close to SOGO but it's still walking distance. room is not good and dark. the wall's paint is really horrible. i stayed there for a quick trip hence i did not have many more choice. staff is not friendly either. wifi is off most of the times. bathroom is small and the light is not that bright. good enough for transit situation.
Reviewed April 27, 2017
4.8
Zulkifli from Singapore
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2017
Just ok only”
Pros: Central location on main road easy access to buses and between 2 MTR (WanChai & Causewaybay) Cons: Cleaning not thorough, beds not made up properly, bins not emptied daily. Rooms suppose to be non smoking but still smelly. Front office staff not helpful always grumpy looking and not conversant in English.
Reviewed April 27, 2017
5.6
JIAXIN from China
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2017
soso”
Due to limited budget we forced to book this hotel. Is good for exhibitors who mainly stay in HK just for the exhibitions in Wan Chai.
Reviewed April 25, 2017
6.8
Good
Lingle from Singapore
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
good location and value for money”
its along the main street between 2 MTR stations. clean room with sufficient space to place hardcasing luggage
Reviewed March 07, 2017
7.6
Very good
Lasantha from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Great for 1 night”
Nice hotel in fantastic location. 1 night only which is enough.
Reviewed February 24, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Martina from Taiwan
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016
Great Stay!”
Really well located and cheap for what it offers, considering how pricy accommodation is in Hongkong.
Reviewed February 01, 2017
5.2
SUET from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Hard mattress”
Hard mattress and inconfortable pillows. But the location is great
Reviewed January 30, 2017
3.6
MAX from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Location good - housekeeping below standard - room and bathroom poor”
Using this hotel for sleeping... it works.
Reviewed January 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Fajri from Indonesia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2011
nice budget hotel”
nice budget hotel with good location
Reviewed January 23, 2017
4.0
Danica from Taiwan
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
Very dirty and not comfortable”
Very dirty, and not cozy at all. Quite expensive for the service you get
Reviewed January 18, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Xia from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Good hotel”
it should be perfect if breakfast is available.
Reviewed January 05, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Nurhasyim from Singapore
Family with young children
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Not bad”
Very friendly staff and good location. Walking distance to MRT station.
Reviewed January 03, 2017
6.4
Good
Pak from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016
good location”
good location
Reviewed January 03, 2017