Book Now: Wapa di Ume Ubud

Excellent
From 247 reviewsSee what guests said
8.9
Recommended by 98% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (247)Booking.com Reviews (285)
8.9
Excellent
From 247 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness9.2
Facilities9.2
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality9.0
Service9.2
Value for money8.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Français
日本語
Deutsch
more
Room type
Lanai Room
Suite
1 Bedroom Pool Villa
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 193 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
MOHAMMAD from United Kingdom
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 8 nights in December 2016
Our stay at Wapa was magical. The staff went out of their way to make us feel special. ”
The rooms are delightful. The setting is beautiful. The pools are lovely. If it's Ubud, it's Wapa di Ume for us. We would go back there again and again. If you are looking to experience luxurious village style living, you won't be disappointed.
Reviewed December 29, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
eugene from United States
Solo traveler
Lanai Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Tranquil rustic luxury”
Wapa was perfect from me. They provide a very peaceful environment with rustic vistas of rice paddies. The villas are simple but spacious and i good balance of modern conveniences but rustic charm. Service at the hotel was on par with 5 star luxury in Asia. The entire staff was helpful. The hotel is a 20 minute walk to town, but town will seem very noisy and polluted in comparison. Food at the onsite redtaurant was clean and authentic - good spice level on request. I enjoyed the lawar and nasi bisah in particular. I did not enjoy the fried duck which did not have much meat but applaud the amount of choice on the menu. Yoga at the hotel was taught by an indonesian teacher which was a nice contrast from other places i went in bali. The neighbor of the hotel, Nyoman was a great driver . Resef in particular was helpful in my more complicated requests. One hour drive to the airport early in the morning
Reviewed December 28, 2016
8.4
Excellent
yuthanin from Thailand
Family with teens
Lanai Room
Stayed 6 nights in December 2016
Very good service and Resort condition, Strongly recommend”
Very good service. All of staffs have a very good service mind. The Resort condition is well maintained and neat. Strongly recommend.
Reviewed December 28, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Sheree from Australia
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Best resort in Ubud ”
We had the best time at Wapa. The resort is gorgeous, staff are super attentive and friendly and they offer many complimentary services to make sure your stay is something special (fresh fruit, afternoon tea with cake, twice daily room clean and shuttle bus to take you into the Main Street). The setting is simply stunning, overlooking rice fields and hills. Couldn't recommend this place enough.
Reviewed December 10, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Stella from Indonesia
Couple
1 Bedroom Pool Villa
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
best resort to stay!”
excellent view, resort, and service. i love this place! definitely will come back with my kids
Reviewed December 06, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
ike from Indonesia
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Beautiful place, amazing view”
wherever you are, you are in the right place, you can enjoy the beautiful place here, you can enjoy the beautiful bed with rainforest view, you can enjoy lovely breakfast with the amazing view, we really enjoy a few nights of ubud magic here.. regard, ike&mirzah @ike_ratnaning @mirzahzahbur
Reviewed December 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Liane from Canada
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Superlative - heaven on earth”
Absolutely beautiful, this complex of villas is spread over a large property of gardens, rice fields, and jungle. It has a peaceful, intimate feel, unlike the grandiose monstrous monolithic hotels elsewhere. The landscape includes many water features, ponds, fountains, a river, Balinese statuary, three pools, koi fish, flowers, lush greenery. And harmonious architecture. Our suite room with view of the rice field was elegant and comfortable. We loved our morning guided walk in the rice fields and through the neighbouring village with Aris, and the Balinese cooking clas and visit to the markets with Septi.yoga studio is airy and serene. Staff are uniformly friendly and helpful. The best hotel I have ever stayed in on 4 continents. Very highly recommended.
Reviewed November 24, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Brian from United States
Couple
Suite
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016
Very nice stay”
We enjoyed our stay at Wapa, our only complaint is the wifi in the room was weak and disconnected often and there could be some better sound proofing between common walls of villas
Reviewed November 07, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Alexander from United States
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Could Not have Asked for More”
My wife and I stayed at Wapa for our Honeymoon. The drive from the airport is about an hour and a half, but completely worth it. Wapa is up in the more mountainous center region of Bali and hidden behind winding roads and lush trees. The grounds are beautiful. Lush trees, rice paddies, and a river flowing through the center. So gorgeous. We stayed in a room with two balconies, one with sun loungers, one with a table and chairs. The bathroom was amazing with a gorgeous stone bath and large shower. The bed was big and comfortable. Room service was quick and easy with delicious food and while we didn't make it to the dinner restaurant, breakfast at the restaurant near checkin was delicious. There were two pools, one near the restaurant and one near the spa (this one was multilevel with ample space for sun bathing) and Wapa also has a yoga room with free morning yoga every day. The staff at Wapa are so kind and accommodating and we couldn't say better things about them. We only stayed two nights but wish we had stayed longer. We love Wapa and will definitely be back.
Reviewed November 01, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Johannes from Germany
Couple
Suite
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Beautiful hotel within the rice fields”
Great hotel within the rice fields with beautiful and large rooms, two pools, two restaurants and a well equiped gym. Ubud can be reached within five minutes by car; the hotel shuttle bus goes every hour. Stuff is very friendly; breakfast and the daily tea time are amazing. We enjoyed our stay very munch.
Reviewed October 31, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Meeyi from Malaysia
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Absolutely beautiful”
The compound here is stunning, luscious greens and the paddy field, totally worth the money :)
Reviewed October 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Xavier from France
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
A gem in the nature”
Amazing boutique resort in the middle of a vibrant nature, surrounded by rice fields and a river running through...it's like being in a tropical preserved jungle, with all the facilities that an hotel can offer. It's 10 minutes ride from Ubud centre (a shuttle is at your disposal for free every hour). The 3 pools have stunning views. Staff is absolutely lovely, smiling and always at your service. Breakfast is excellent with a large choice of meals. If you can afford, book the villa with the pool facing the rice field.
Reviewed October 26, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Kevin from Malaysia
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Wapa di Ume Resort”
There should be a TV included within the rooms - guests should have the choice of whether they want to watch or not.
Reviewed October 25, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Yawen from United States
Couple
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Best stay in Bali”
Stayed at Di Ume Suite near river. Extremely roomy with beautiful interior. Air conditioner works very well. Super friendly and helpful staff. Meticulously landscaped grounds, Evokes tranquil old Ubud. Shuttle to downtown Ubud runs hourly until late. Excellent experience.
Reviewed October 07, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Coimbatore from India
Family with young children
1 Bedroom Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Good choice”
The layout of the rooms overlooking the rice fields was awesome. Food was good but a tad expensive. Multiple swimming pools was a plus point. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Memorable holiday. Would recommend to others.
Reviewed October 05, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Brent from Australia
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Best place we have ever stayed”
This place is just heaven the staff are lovely and the rooms are just beautiful. They have thought of everything. 10 out of 10 guys.
Reviewed September 29, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
tzen from Taiwan
Family with teens
1 Bedroom Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Great”
Good
Reviewed August 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Matthias from Germany
Family with teens
Suite
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016
Fantastically relaxing resort”
In the middle of ricefields, this is a uniquely peaceful location with fantastic staff.
Reviewed August 24, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Gwendoline from France
Couple
1 Bedroom Pool Villa
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Amazing”
Very nice villa!!! Great staff except maybe about privacy...
Reviewed August 22, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Anna from Indonesia
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Loving it”
Upgraded to willa with private pool. Balinese architecture at its best, vernacular and modern and the same time, with hints of mediterranian color. Vegetarian food. Yoga session. Best.
Reviewed August 22, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
lee from Singapore
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Remarkable experience ”
This place is such a gem. Beautiful surrounding and excellent service. The food served in the restuarant is definitely one of the best meals I had in ubud!
Reviewed July 29, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Jenni from Australia
Family with young children
1 Bedroom Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016
Amazing service, 5 mins from Ubud centre, delicious food”
We were blown away by the service. Best service we have had anywhere in our travels ever. Great resort just up from Ubud centre - but very close and good to be out of the chaos in the town centre. Rice paddy tours and other extras thrown in made it unique and special. Local Balinese food at the restaurant, Mr Wyan, was excellent also.
Reviewed July 14, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Emma from United Kingdom
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Stunning hotel ”
Breathtaking location, amazing, friendly staff. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough. Our room was incredible and beautifully decorated for our honeymoon stay. Thank you wapa! X
Reviewed June 23, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Lynda from Canada
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Stunningly beautiful resort ”
Beautiful property , fabulous staff
Reviewed May 30, 2016
6.4
Good
Chuey from Singapore
Group
Lanai Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
Nice room with double bed”
Yummy food (during breakfast) but the waiting time quite long. Nearly can't make it in time for guide pick up. Shuttle pick up point (from Ubud) was inform wrongly and we wait 2 nights (at the specific location but no sign of shuttle) :(
Reviewed May 20, 2016
8.4
Excellent
jason from United States
Solo traveler
Lanai Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
very nice”
got an ume suite as a free upgrade. lovely room, with beautiful views.
Reviewed April 03, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Anna from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Lanai Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Just one night ”
Making the journey just for one night was worth every moment at the resort. Can't wait to come back
Reviewed March 19, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Viren from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Lanai Room
Stayed 5 nights in February 2016
Tranquil oasis with excellent service”
We loved our stay at wapa di uma. The report is a magical setting to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature. The sunken bath and swimming pool above the stream were very memorable and the service was excellent. All the staff were friendly and helpful and even helped to entertain out restless 2 year old while we finished our breakfast! Highly recommended
Reviewed March 03, 2016
6.0
Michael from Indonesia
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
hotel a little far from ubud center”
clean, quiet, breakfast
The hotel is a little far from ubud center, no TV in the room which is a little annoying as ubud is pretty much dead by 6. If you go back to the hotel, get ready to sleep. If you cant sleep, the lighting is so dim that a book is not even worth considering.
Reviewed February 15, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Frank from Germany
Family with teens
Suite
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016
4 days away from the crowd”
Very nice sweet, spacious and with two balcony. One equiped with chairs and a table, roofed. The other one open and with 2 sun lounger. Breakfast and afternoon tea by the pool
Reviewed February 12, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Han from Hong Kong
Couple
1 Bedroom Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Great place for a relaxing holiday”
Staff reception, Room Facility, Overall resort environment
The resort is located 10 minutes drive from the Ubud city centre and the environment is perfect for us to have a relaxing holiday with rice terrace and forest surrounded. It's a very comfortable place although not super luxury. The staff are extremely helpful and gave us all information we need to know about the facility/resort and tour us around for the resort facility. The breakfast served until 11 am, and can be served in the room without extra charges. The price is good value for money that we booked one bedroom villa with pool, where else where the price can book only for a normal hotel room. Definitely will recommend friend to stay here.
Reviewed December 15, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
kimberly from Canada
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Better Than The Four Seasons Resort”
Property, Staff, Landscaping And Attention To Detail
I don't typically give reviews; However, in this instance I can't imagine not offering others an insight into our experience. We decided to spend the night in Ubud for a change of scenery from our villa in Uluwatu. We are relatively discerning travelers so lodging and accommodations are very important. Aside from western brands like the Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton we were unfamiliar with local hotels/resorts. I did a search online and came across Wapa di Ume which resonated with what we were looking for: a privately owned, elegant, sophisticated and well located resort. What we experienced upon our arrival far outweighed our expectations. It was truly amazing. Incredibly clean property, beautiful pools, landscaping, architecture and interior design, friendly/courteous staff. It is a 5-Star resort without all the pomp & circumstance which for us is the best way to travel. Had we known about Wapa di Ume sooner we would have spent at least 1 week enjoying the property. If you're in Ubud and are considering Wapa you will not be disappointed in fact it will undoubtedly become a highlight of your trip! We learned upon our departure that the resort is being recognized as one of the Best Resorts In Bali. The owner is truly deserving for he has put together an incredibly special property in the cultural heart of the island. We will be back...
Reviewed December 07, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Joyce from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Lanai Room
Stayed 5 nights in October 2015
Lovely location, super friendly helpful staff,”
Location, friendly staff, nice rooms
Only drawback to the rooms is they are not sufficiently disabled friendly. Howeverin talking with management they took my suggestions on this and say they are willing to make a few rooms more disabled friendly. E.g lovely sunken baths with shower but difficult to get into the bath if nothing to hang on to! I am due for a kneee replacement. It was nice to have a hotel listen seriously to suggestions lets see if they act on it. If they do then it will be my essential to atay T hotel in Bali
Reviewed November 06, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Brandon from United States
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Wapa di Ume”
Pool staff and room
Reviewed October 23, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Jeffrey from Singapore
Group
1 Bedroom Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Compliment of staff and location ”
STAFF, Villa with private pool and the view of the Padi field.
Firstly, thou our airport transfer was being missed out during our arrival, the rest of the experience with Wapa was wonderful. We were greeted and received a very warm welcome from the staff upon arrival. They were namely Devi, Merry, Asri who took care of our check in and greeted us by name each morning. Most importantly, we manage to check into the New Villa with their assistance. The 2 ladies at the restaurant who took good care of our daily breakfast were always cheerful and attended to all our needs willingly. The hourly shuttle to Ubud Market area are always on time during out stay. Drivers were always very polite. Rooms was clean and huge, just that no TV.There was very little creepy crawlies, surprisingly. The whole Resort is very well decorated and feels very peaceful and serene. Overall, it was a fabulous experience staying at Wapa. Will definitely come back again.
Reviewed September 15, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Pia from Philippines
Group
Lanai Room
Stayed 7 nights in June 2015
An idyllic paradise. ”
The gentle people, the rural ambiance but first class accommodations and the local food.
The best for rest and recreation. It's a stress buster.
Reviewed June 10, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Cornelis from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Lanai Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
superior resort in hart of Bali”
kindness of staff, view on the rice fields, rooms
We stayed just for two and a half days. This was very relaxing in the busy Ubut area. Especially the temple ceremony we were able to join was a unique experience.
Reviewed June 01, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Andrey from United States
Couple
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Great resort, you won't be disappointed!”
Facilities, rice fields, staff.
Reviewed May 28, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
robert from United States
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Great resort close to central ubud ”
Location, staff, cleanliness
Great resort close to the main town
Reviewed May 03, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Putri from Indonesia
Couple
1 Bedroom Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Private Villa”
private, friendly staff, best spa
Reviewed February 22, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Librahim from Indonesia
Couple
1 Bedroom Pool Villa
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Great weekend escape in the middle of Ubub”
Room, Location, and Service
Unlike other hotels in Seminyak & Nusa Dua are, Wapa Di Umu provide a spectacular green rice filed view and fresh air. IT was our experience to stay there and we have enjoyed our stay. The second they knew we are honeymooner couple, they upgraded our room into the pool suite which is very lovely treat. The General Manager greeted us upon we were having breakfast, guess we were one of the rare lcoals have stayed there. This situation is completely different experience compared to other hotels located at the local area, where they valued foreigner better. The General Manager also shared his stories of the Ubud area and have given us some recommendations on where to go and eat. Tip: we found their price is not so affordable amongst their competitor in the same location.
Reviewed February 22, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Devi from Australia
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
Good to switch off and relax. Excellent staff”
Staff, food, no tv
The service was beyond excellent. The good was good and the afternoon tea is amazing. Still craving for their red sticky rice with Palm sugar.
Reviewed February 17, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Saumyajit from India
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
great location”
location, atmosphere, swiming pool
Value for money, in the paddy field, great resort.
Reviewed January 31, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Bev from Australia
Couple
1 Bedroom Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Romantics stay here!”
Location, lovely rooms, privacy
Very romantic 1 bed with private pool. Ask for the new rooms. Situated in rice paddies but still close to Ubud for shopping. Shuttle service is great. Lovely friendly staff and great food
Reviewed January 07, 2015
6.0
Robert from United States
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014
Great staff and location, disappointing rooms”
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, great views of rice paddies above Ubud, a fantastic Xmas Eve dinner and performance
Reviewed December 29, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Leanne from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Lanai Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Amazingly beautiful ”
Staff, facilities, bed
The staff, the views, the afternoon tea....put simply this place couldn't be better!
Reviewed December 01, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Ray from Australia
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 6 nights in November 2014
Great accommodation”
Quiet location, good food and friendly staff throughout (reception, gardeners, room cleaners)
We had a great stay, it was for 6 nights. Although there is a shuttle to Ubud on the hour, we hired a motor bike and only used the shuttle if we were out late and having a few drinks. The location was quiet and secluded. Very relaxing stay and ideal for us, we would definitely stay there again. Cheers Ray
Reviewed November 17, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Robert from Germany
Couple
1 Bedroom Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
Best Holiday”
Location, Pool Villa and staff
Reviewed October 23, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Molly from United States
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Beautiful oasis, almost there....”
Location, staff, grounds
Overall this was a fantastic experience and we'd highly reccommend it for short stays. The staff and grounds are fantastic. At first glance the room is too, but small (or big things) like not having a door to the bathroom, not having the door locks work and smelling a bit like a septic tank could be a turnoff. It's all very nice and the hotel is trying - the grounds, staff and proximity to downtown are fantastic - but I couldn't help but mention the other items as well. It still needs some work.
Reviewed September 28, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Brandy from United States
Couple
Lanai Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Paradise in Ubud”
This hotel offers peaceful sanctuary in a beautiful setting. It is close to town and Monkey Forest and has a friendly caring staff.
This is one of my favorite places in the world to stay. Surrounded by rice paddies, comfortable little bungalows, an awesome spa and restaurant, and close to shopping and sightseeing - this resort is hard to beat. There is a pretty pool and yoga area and the staff is extremely helpful and kind. The resort can easily arrange tickets for shows, private drivers, and have a shuttle into the heart of town from morning to night. If you are traveling to Ubud it is well worth the visit!
Reviewed July 31, 2014