Book Now: Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Excellent
From 139 reviewsSee what guests said
8.5
Recommended by 97% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (139)Booking.com Reviews (632)
8.5
Excellent
From 139 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.6
Facilities7.5
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality8.4
Service8.9
Value for money8.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
Español
more
Room type
Classic Single
Classic Suite
Deluxe Room
Executive Queen
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 109 verified guest comments
6.8
Good
Michael from United States
Business traveler
Classic Suite
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Lovely Old Building...Disappointing Stay!”
The reception staff are great, the hotel is a beautiful old building, but the final touches to make it a nice stay are missing. I stayed on a Monday. I went to the café/restaurant on the evening to have a meal, only to find that on that particular day they close the kitchen at 4 pm. That was shown anywhere that I could find. The TV....It is only possible to get 5 out of 8 viewable channels. The check out time is 10:00 am maximum. I have never heard of that before in my life in a hotel. That was a real shock & I would not have booked had I known. I know mini-bars are usually expensive. The prices for this one are extortionately expensive. I liked that I have stayed in this building for the history, but that is pretty much it. The rest was a real disappointment. Be sure you really want to stay here before you book a room.
Reviewed October 12, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Laura from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Classic hotel! ”
We loved this hotel! Wish we could have stayed longer. The building itself needs some maintenance and perhaps the carpet in the room could be updated, but all in all, a lovely place.
Reviewed October 11, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Leigh from United States
Couple
Classic Suite
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Vintage at its best”
We loved this beautifully-preserved and maintained hotel, with its perfect blend of contemporary comfort and old time charm and luxury. The location was perfect....a short walk from the railway station and easy access to city transportation. We recommend it highly.
Reviewed October 05, 2016
7.6
Very good
G from Australia
Business traveler
Classic Suite
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Woken by street noise throughout early morning”
The room location and cleanliness were all as good or better than expected but the lack of sound insulation on windows with so much noise from the street related to services was a disappointment. Building has lots of lovely old charm.
Reviewed September 18, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Reginald from New Zealand
Business traveler
Classic Single
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
I like it very much”
Facilities were better than just good they were very good just not excellent.
Reviewed July 18, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Jack from New Zealand
Business traveler
Executive Queen
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Friendly staff, older building has style= a point of difference”
All went well.
Reviewed June 02, 2016
4.8
John from New Zealand
Couple
Classic Single
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
Comment”
The Hotel and rooms are tired. The room we had was designated ‘Single’ but was much smaller than we expected. It was not suitable for one person let alone two. There was a double bed which was hard against one wall and the wardrobe/fridge cupboard on the other. There was no bedside table or clock. The only half round table was partly occupied with a TV and hotel folder. The carpet was old and stained. A glass shelf in the bathroom for glasses was dirty. The rest of the room was dusty. The bath/shower was small. The toilet was connected to a waste pump which activated when flushed. It is describe as ‘Boutique’ which is just trying to create an image which it does not live up to.
Reviewed May 10, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Richard from Australia
Business traveler
Classic Suite
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Large Rooms. Perfect Location”
Loved the heritage of this building and perfect location, close to all business. Will stay here again
Reviewed April 19, 2016
7.6
Very good
Deborah from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Central location on quiet street”
Large Room, quaint hotel
Reviewed April 08, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Kirsty from New Zealand
Couple
Classic Single
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Expensive with out a view”
We found our room comfortable however there was access to the bed only from one side. Rather expensive for $200 per night without a view or opening windows for a bit of fresh air. On the positive side it was very centrally located and very quiet which we liked.
Reviewed February 23, 2016
7.3
Very good
Roberta from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Classic Single
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Excellent location but stuffy room”
Location, old fashioned, location
We arrived before 8pm on a quiet Saturday evening in early January with no-one on the desk - however our keys were waiting for us. Without any obvious sign of a lift we dragged our full suitcases up 4 flights to our room - to later discover the note in the envelope giving instructions for the old lift behind the desk. We were not too bothered by our mistake and enjoyed the old fashioned style of the hotel. We were unable to experience the dining as this wasn't available that night - with it's location in central Wellington it is more suited to business visitors to the capital rather than a family passing through on a holiday weekend. Our biggest disappointment was the very hot and stuffy room - making sleep difficult with out using a damp cloth every so often to cool down. The fan was not helpful and the aircon was not operating at the temperature set but rather blowing the close warm air around the room with a loud noise. We had mentioned the aircon to the reception manager when she came to drop off some wi-fi tokens (taken several as they run out quick!) but she assured us it would get cooler after a while. Otherwise the location absolutely excellent for seeing local sights and getting to the train station nearby
Reviewed January 09, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
zhiping from Singapore
Couple
Executive Queen
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Old School style”
Old school feel of the hotel, friendly front desk staff, near bluebridge terminal and railway station
Took a bit of effort to locate the hotel after coming off the bluebridge ferry. Was about a 10 minutes walk. A bit of a challenge tugging a wheeled luggage along the streets of Wellington but I will say the experience made up for it. Was welcomed warmly at the front desk who then brought us up to the room and introduced some unique features of the hotel. The room was well maintained and retained the whole atmosphere of the hotel. Comfortable and spacious enough for 2. We went on a train ride the next day and the relative proximity to the train station was another key reason why this hotel was chosen.
Reviewed December 31, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Lia from New Zealand
Business traveler
Classic Single
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Character”
Location
Great
Reviewed December 24, 2015
8.3
Excellent
May from New Zealand
Couple
Executive Queen
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Great Concert accomodation”
Proximity of the hotel , it was very quiet , friendly staff
Our stay was very good close proximity to the stadium for the Elton John concert and close to the bus stops for Courtney place and to Cuba Street precinct as well as for Waterfront dining, the house bar on the Friday was very relaxed and friendly with a mix of house guests and the local office workers all up very nice and we were thankful that we could get accommodation via the Agoda website as Wellington accommodation was full when we had viewed Expedia and Tivago. Thanks and we will be back.
Reviewed November 30, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Susan from New Zealand
Business traveler
Classic Single
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Great place to stay”
Great location, friendly and helpful staff.
Great stay thanks.
Reviewed September 19, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Hsiao from Taiwan
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
A charming boutique hotel!”
The deco, the staff, and the food
It was a lovely experience. I like how the old fashion style deco it is and the food at 1815 is just great! Also the staff are all very helpful!
Reviewed September 06, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Louise from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Luxury Getaway”
Charm of the Hotel, Staff and Comfort
My stay was excellent - the staff were friendly and personable. the room was warm luxurious and very inviting. I will definitely be returning to this hotel
Reviewed July 20, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Yuan from China
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Excellent hotel”
staff, room service, room
I was very enjoyed to stayed in this hotel, and I would like to appreciate the reception staff's service.
Reviewed July 03, 2015
7.7
Very good
Brad from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 6 nights in June 2015
Wellesley Review”
Location, room size and bathroom
Reviewed July 01, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Sarah from Australia
Couple
Classic Suite
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Wellesley Boutique Hotel ”
Unique character, warm and friendly staff.
The location is incredibly convenient but should be noted that the parking can be a challenge in the area. The hotel will sell you a parking voucher for $25 / day. The free wifi is only 100mb / room, not per guest - which lasted us only a few minutes. The hotel is full of character but a lot of features are quite aged.
Reviewed June 19, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Dan from Hong Kong
Couple
Executive Queen
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
good location and friendly staff”
good location and service
Nice service and well designed room made us have a good stay here. The location of Wellesley is very good. You can reach to Bluebridge Ferry very easily. It took just 3-5 min.
Reviewed June 10, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Dan from Hong Kong
Couple
Classic Single
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Good service and clean room”
Nice and clean room with good service
Reception staff is very friendly and provided useful information about the Ferry and restaurant nearby. We enjoyed the seafood dinner in Crab Shack which is just 5-10 min from hotel. Rooms were looked exactly like the pictures in Agoda. The location of this boutique hotel is very good.
Reviewed June 09, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Andrew from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Old world charm”
Hosts friendly nature, location and size of rooms.
Excellent Wellington is a wonderful city Everything is so close
Reviewed June 06, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Tim from United Kingdom
Couple
Classic Single
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Decor very nice”
Decor, friendly and helpful staff & handy location
Reviewed May 12, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Christine from Australia
Couple
Executive Queen
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
A comfortable hotel”
Location, old world character, comfortable
Very enjoyable with old world charm, that is in a convenient location.
Reviewed April 24, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Ali from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
A Birthday Treat.”
Staff..Location..Bathroom.
We chose WBH encouraged by the advertising on agoda.com. Looking for a medium priced birthday treat, we were able to book an appropriate room. My initial impression of 'front of house' was a busy, customer focused staff member, keen to show his clients to their rooms personally. Though this meant we had to wait briefly to check in..sharing in the historical journey of the hotel while taking a ride in the original lift, was worth the wait. The room was outstanding. Furnishings and interior design perfect. The bathroom, with double shower and double basins, plus a bath, incredible. The hotels location allowed us to walk into town within a few minutes and metered parking was available directly outside, with a parking token on offer for $25 (24 hours), within walking distance. Definately happy to return.
Reviewed April 15, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Dale from Australia
Couple
Executive Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Charm and comfort”
Comfort, decor, history
Loved the old-style decor and history of this hotel. Beautiful spacious bedroom and bathroom, supreme furnishings, charming old lift, gracious staff. I found a book in the lounge detailing the history of it as a men's club prior to becoming a hotel. Fascinating to me as a reminder of another social era. Reminded me of the style of the Fairmont hotels.
Reviewed March 01, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Kristopher from United States
Couple
Classic Suite
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Great location heritage property ”
location, design, character
the hotel has a lot of history and is located close to the action at the center of the city. The room was a little cramped and opened to a light well, and the A/C wasn't working very well so the room stayed pretty warm. Other than that, it was an enjoyable stay.
Reviewed February 20, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
julia from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Classic Suite
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Lovely hotel!”
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were beautifully furnishes with genuine old-style character and everything worked! This hotel was full of character and I would highly recommend it
Really enjoyed staying here. It's minutes from the harbour and from the shops so very convenient But what makes it style out is the beautiful old style character and the immaculate refurbishment of this one-time gentlemen's club
Reviewed January 24, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Benjamin from Singapore
Couple
Classic Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Has character....”
Definitely a slice of Wellington history. Interesting to read about the freemasons who own the building. excellent and friendly staff.
Reviewed December 16, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
VALERIE from United Kingdom
Couple
Classic Single
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
AWESOME STAY”
Rooms, Staff, Locarion
We had an awesome time. The Hotel is well located. The staff went over and above what you would expect. The rooms were made up every day if required. Brilliant place to stay
Reviewed November 21, 2014
8.7
Excellent
David from New Zealand
Business traveler
Classic Single
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Great little hotel with friendly, helpful staff”
'Character', quiet cafe/bar, location
Only let down by a poorly made flat white and a less than stellar eggs benedict.
Reviewed September 07, 2014
6.0
Anthony from New Zealand
Business traveler
Executive Queen
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Wellesly Hotel”
Location, location, location
Just OK. Staff was good. Pigeons are nesting and noisy. The lift requires some muscle to operate. Hotel is tired and worn. The sooner the owner can get control of the whole premise, and revitalise a la the Windsor in Melbourne the better. Location is just great, and with the good café/dining opportunities very close by, the refurbish should forget about too much in the way of catering facilities.
Reviewed August 30, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Gordon from Australia
Business traveler
Executive Queen
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Great secret hotel, staff are great very attentive”
Location, staff and food.
Fantastic
Reviewed July 27, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Melissa from United States
Couple
Classic Suite
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Beautiful hotel, superb staff”
friendly staff, room size and character
This is a truly unique hotel right in the heart of the city. You can walk to loads of good restaurants and pubs. The rooms are not only large but they have excellent character. The high ceilings, furnishings, and artwork result in a luxurious experience. The best part was the staff. They were friendly and went above and beyond to answer our questions and make sure we felt comfortable.
Reviewed July 16, 2014
7.7
Very good
Glenda from New Zealand
Couple
Classic Suite
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Central”
Very attentive staff, lovely decor, comfy bed
Ours was only very brief and a little disappointing there was no parking, however the staff were very friendly, charming in fact, lovely surroundings and very comfortable room.
Reviewed July 02, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Sandra from New Zealand
Couple
Classic Single
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Couple overnighting from Airport heading up NI”
Staff, Ambiance, Facilities
I enjoyed the stay here, arrived after 8.30pm and staff were very attentive and friendly. Facilities were very clean and tidy and was a lovely hotel, easy access to main roads, has a restaurant, and close to the city. Would recommend, and stay again.
Reviewed June 21, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Peter from Australia
Couple
Classic Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Lovely, classy environment with great service”
Location, decor and service
Fantastic!
Reviewed April 28, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Jack from New Zealand
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
Comfortable, antique vibe, very friendly staff”
Staff, location, history
Fine
Reviewed April 17, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Alexander from Australia
Solo traveler
Classic Single
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
A hotel with very friendly and helpful staff”
Beautiful art-deco finishings, walking distance to/from ferries, railway and city sights
This is a lovely art deco style hotel, retaining all the features of the old Wellesley Gentlemen's Club. Each room carries a specific name and a ride in the old style lift is quaint. While I was there, there were major renovations occurring next door which impacted on the atmosphere; the plumbing is also a little noising, but overall this is a great hotel in a very central location. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Reviewed March 31, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Ros from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Charming”
Location, comfy bed, big bath
Reviewed March 12, 2014
7.3
Very good
jill from United States
Couple
Classic Suite
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Historic hotel, good location”
The darling young woman at the front desk was fantastic! Sheryl absolutely went the extra mile(s) for us. So helpful, friendly and accomodating. She truly loved her job and the hotel!
Reviewed February 23, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Russell from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Classic Suite
Stayed 5 nights in June 2013
all that one could have hoped for”
central location, quiet, stylish
The Wellesley Boutique Hotel is a gem of a place. Beautifully restored to give its 19th century feel, the hotel has real 'old world' charm and character, without compromising on efficiency and cleanliness. The staff were unfailingly helpful. Although there was building work going on in the vicinity, the noise wasn't too disturbing. I found my room comfortable and will all the facilities I could have wished for. Would definitely return.
Reviewed February 05, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Sandra from Canada
Couple
Executive Queen
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Easy place to stay”
Location location
The Wellesley was a fine hotel it was not busy when we stayed there. The dining room was not open nor was there a bar so we had to venture out on a very stormy afternoon
Reviewed January 13, 2014
6.3
Good
Ruth from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Historic hotel in the dead centre of town”
Large rooms, friendly staff, central location
The hotel itself is quiet - in fact it felt like we were the only ones staying there. But the air-conditioning plant of the building opposite is incredibly noisy. As the Welsley itself does not have air-conditioning you need to open the windows.... and let the noise in. There was also major construction going on in the adjacent building, drilling at 8am on your annual holiday isn't great.
Reviewed January 11, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Noelle from Ireland
Couple
Classic Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Beautiful and charming hotel”
The decor, the staff and the location
My boyfriend and I arrived outside of the reception hours where we were greeted with a friendly night porter; she was very polite and friendly. What struck me initially was the character of the building, it is not your typical chic hotel, but more rustic and unique. I loved the interior of the reception and foyer area. There was a lovely Christmas tree and the room looked like you own private sitting room. The lift was a nice touch too, with the big wooden door and vintage style automatic gate. Our room was cosy with a large bathroom. It was vey luxurious for the price we paid in my opinion. Two sinks each and a big bath tub. The added bonus was the free internet dockets we received. The night porter kindly booked us our taxi for the next morning and was more than happy to take any of our questions. I was sorry we only could spend one night here. I whole heartedly recommend this hotel although my stay was short. I did not get a chance to try the food, but I think it would live up to the same standards.
Reviewed January 02, 2014
5.7
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Executive Queen
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Another brief night-stop.”
Twin beds much more comfortable. Car parking sorted out. Good staff support
This stay was an order of magnitude better than our stay on December 1st/2nd.We had changed our room request to that for a twin bed room and this had been accomplished. The staff, such as there were of them, enabled us to park in the right place at minimal cost. But the lack of an evening open restaurant meant that we had to wander about the city looking for a suitable venue. In the question above about 'What would I recommend Wellington for?' I have ticked 'shopping' because none of the other options apply and we didn't spend enough time in that city deliberately, as it is so windy, to make a better informed choice.
Reviewed December 23, 2013
4.7
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Classic Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Brief night-stop only on our way to the S.Island.”
Not far from the inter-island ferry terminal. Quite easy to locate. Good breakfast
We were guided to stay at the Wellesley by contacts this hotel has with the RAF Club in London who provided us with an introduction. It was also recommended by an ex RAF officer who had stayed there. Our main concerns were that were few staff on duty - none at night that we could see - and that there was no restaurant facilities except at breakfast time. The car parking arangements were most confusing and we were very confused in trying to locate where we should have parked in the face of one-way street signage and that there were two car parks with the same name within a quarter of a mile.
Reviewed December 23, 2013
7.7
Very good
Adam from United States
Solo traveler
Classic Single
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013
A historical hotel”
Comfortable bed, interesting architecture, good location
I liked the hotel overall but I was a bit disappointed. It seemed a bit rundown. There was construction happening in the building next door which started at 7am and lasted all day. While the construction wasn't the fault of the hotel, it was unpleasant and it would have been nice to have been offered a discount of some sort. The room I stayed in was a bit on the small side, which is fine if you're out sightseeing or doing business. The toilet in my room was a bit unreliable and you had to press several times to get it to flush properly. The building was really nice overall - great architecture - and the staff was very helpful. I liked staying in a historical building, but it would be nice if they were to remodel a bit.
Reviewed August 16, 2013
7.0
Very good
Michael from United Kingdom
Couple
Classic Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
old world hotel”
dining room history location
it was a lovely old hotel but found the fact that the masons had the run of it a bit disconcerting. I felt quite uncomfortable
Reviewed July 24, 2013