Book Now: Wellesley Resort

Very good8.0
Based on 47 reviews

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (47)
Booking.com Reviews (82)

8

Filter by guest type:
Very good
based on 47 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Room comfort and quality 8.5
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food and dining 6.7
Very good
based on 31 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Room comfort and quality 8.7
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 8.2
  • Food and dining 7.0
Very good
based on 11 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Room comfort and quality 8.2
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.4
  • Food and dining 5.8
Excellent
based on 5 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Room comfort and quality 8.0
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.8
  • Food and dining 8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:

Language
  • English
  • 繁體中文 (台灣)
  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Português (PT)
  • 简体中文
  • Svenska
more less

Room type
  • Standard Room
  • Executive Suite
  • Deluxe Suite

Sort by
Showing 46 verified guest comments
  • clear all

8.0
angela from Ireland
Couple
Deluxe Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Nice place to stay”
Very peaceful, real Fijian experience, beautiful beach
Reviewed November 30, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Robin from Australia
Solo traveler
Executive Suite
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Relax”
Small number of guests, quietness, setting
It was very relaxing just what I needed.
Reviewed November 04, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Bradley from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Suite
Stayed 10 nights in May 2015
Good stay, got food poisoning though...”
outdoor bathroom, room cleaned daily, friendly staff
Overall happy with our stay, though a few things let us down. The room was nice but wasn't well maintained, door handles falling off loose taps etc. Food wasn't the greatest, we got food poisoning and there wasn't a large variety of meals for how isolated the resort was. Customer service was good and staff were friendly and nice though orders were sometime forgotten and we were left waiting. Overall our 10 day stay was good and we enjoyed ourselves but could have been better! :)
Reviewed May 21, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
MARISSA from United States
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Relaxing in a Fijian Rainforest”
Location, Homey, Gardens
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Wellesley, it had an intimate homey feel and exceeded our expectations. Perfect location in the middle of Suva and Nadi. Ideal for a day trip to Natadola Beach. Nice warm waters at high tide. Lots of shells on the beach. Loved the white/yellow ginger plants and heliconia throughout the gardens. Truly in the middle of the Fijian rainforest, warm days, rainy afternoons to cool everything down, and a clear beautiful night sky full of stars! Definitely recommend this resort for those interested in a serene, quiet, relaxing get away.
Reviewed February 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Pamela from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014
Value for money”
Value for money in terms of quality of rooms and atmosphere of hotel, quiet location and friendly staff
Definitely feel that it is a good 3.5 star hotel. 4 stars is pushing it. Experienced a black out in the middle of the night while staying there. Rooms were clean. modern and yet rustic. If i were going to Fiji again on a budget, this is a good option. I tried not to have my meals here as i had the beef steak medium rare but it was very very dry and slightly overcooked. Nearby resorts offered better value for money meals, more options and tastier food.
Reviewed December 22, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.7
KEN from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Won't come back again”
We bought the 'Imperial Indulgence Suite' package, which included meals. However, the meal was not good, and very limit choices. The staff was very cold. No much activities can do in this resort, get bored totally. Lucky I only stayed for 3 nights. I definitely won't come back again.
Reviewed November 11, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Guan from Australia
Couple
Executive Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Quiet and Relax”
Secluded, peaceful and tropical
Stay was good, however the restrictions around meal times (2 hour windows only for breakfast, lunch and dinner) meant that day had to be planned around that. The food was nice, however basic.
Reviewed October 12, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Vera from Australia
Solo traveler
Executive Suite
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Great place, shame about the food”
Location, location, location
Wellesley Resort is a great place, the location is spectacular. Staff are very nice and very helpful. Shame about the food ! No fish on the menu, dinner menu limited to one beef dish, one chicken curry and a vegetarian dish which was not edible (made from a packet of Chinese noodles). Cant comment about lunch since I did not have one there. Breakfast is passable. The fruit platter is good, poached eggs are a safe bet, not so much the cheese omelette which had no cheese. Wellesley, please get a chef and the place will be perfect.
Reviewed October 07, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.0
Stephanie from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Executive Suite
Stayed 6 nights in June 2014
average”
staff, quiet, massage
average. friendly staff but hotel not at all like its website!
Reviewed June 28, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
maha from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Clean rooms ”
Clean, on the beach fresh fruits from the trees
It's good place for honeymooners or couples nice view on the beach good for snorkeling or diving not swimming ... Very quite not much happening there, away from anything,
Reviewed May 17, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Tord from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in April 2014
Relly nice secluded resort”
We had the beach to ourselves, it was very quiet and the location was remote (no city around)
We stayed for three days, it was really nice. It is a small resort with 26 rooms and during our stay there was probably between 11-15 guests staying here so we typically had the beach or the pool for ourselves. Stay here if you want to relax, as there is not much going on. There is a local shop nearby which sells some food and souvenirs, otherwise there is not much. Our last two days were spent in Nadi so got to see some people as well.
Reviewed April 20, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Alexander from New Zealand
Couple
Executive Suite
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
Wonderful secluded and remote location ”
Seclusion, quiet, nature
It was a relaxing stay. The Wellesley is a nice, small resort, located 2 hours drive from Nadi. This resort is good for those looking to get away. If you want lots of people around, lots of activities, and to be entertained, then this is not for you. However, there is a nearby resort (Crusoes) 10 minutes walk up the beach where you can visit, have some drinks, stay for dinner, play volleyball, and join in with the activities and people there. In some respects, such as being right in the middle of nature/Fiji as it really is, it was nicer than the large hotel chains that you find in Denarau Island (which of course have flasher rooms, pools, service etc). It depends what you are after. The restaurant was nothing amazing. It is tolerable, and it seems that they have updated the menu since the previous reviews complained about it. They had a different menu each day, and we never saw the same menu twice. Highlight overall...was snorkelling and finding the GIANT clams. Unbelievably massive!
Reviewed November 30, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Keith from United Kingdom
Couple
Executive Suite
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Lovely, friendly staff!”
Great location, friendly staff
Good location for quiet getaway but remote from any nightlife etc. Near to very nice beach.
Reviewed November 04, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Jane from Australia
Couple
Executive Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Quiet hotel, well landscaped”
Beach
Reviewed October 19, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
John from Australia
Solo traveler
Executive Suite
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013
Fanbulous”
Quiet, peaceful, no children
Fabulous and relaxing. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Reviewed July 25, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
cheryl from Australia
Solo traveler
Executive Suite
Stayed 6 nights in June 2013
Very relaxing laid back atmosphere.”
Great accomadation. Fabulous inclusive breakfast in wonderfull setting. Great secluded location away from the maddening crowds.
Loved my stay. The Wellesley is a very private little bit of paradise 4 kilometres down a jungle road off the Queens highway on The Coral Coast. It is not for party goers and people wanting a raging night life so was perfect for me. The property is set in a number of landscaped gardens, surrounded by jungle on a hill overlooking a lagoon and the sea. All rooms are of exceptional value. large and well appointed with garden balconies. There is an adequate swimming pool with a beautiful outlook to the lagoon and the dining area looks over the pool. The staff, from the adjoining village to the property, were all very attentive and friendly. You are welcome to visit the village and the next resort a little further along the pretty beach. There is nothing else to do besides, relaxing, swimming. snorkelling, free kayaking and beach combing. Wonderfully relaxing. Internet was pretty sketch and you have to pay, but besides this I could not faulr=t my stay. Cheryl
Reviewed July 14, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Maria from Chile
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Lovely hotel and service but far from everything”
Beautiful beach, quiet place, nice staff, good rooms
The hotel is good, is in front of a beautiful beach and has well-maintened gardens. The place is ideal for travelers that search a quiet and relax place, because you have not so much to do (you can swim, snorkel, get a massage, eat, relax, and that is!). The rooms are clean and comfortable. The restaurant hasn't many option to eat (just 3 or 4 per day) and it is expensive for this kind of food (20 AUS). You can go through the beach to the restaurant from the hotel that is close, but you don't have much options that these. If you want to visit other places, the only choice is to pay the hotel 10 FD to pick you to the main road. There, you can take a taxi to the city or take the bus that goes through the main road. The hotel should have a free transport for its guest to the main road.
Reviewed February 09, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Steve from United Kingdom
Couple
Executive Suite
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Fantastic”
Lovely and intimate
We read all the reviews on all the sites before booking. We knew what to expect. When we arrived we were so happy. This smaller hotel has beautiful gardens, great views and a nice private beach. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite for free as the hotel was quiet and for a few days we had the place pretty much to ourselves with the odd couple passing through. The suite was great with a cool outdoor bathroom. We loved it. The breakfast was great, I could never get bored of pancakes but the option for a full cooked breaky is there if you need it. The lunch menu is good but at times we did get a little bored with the evening menu and the prices so we just always had a late, big lunch. When we requested the lunch menu for evening food it was no problem. Gail was a fantastic host always making sure we were enjoying our stay and went out of her way to help us with planning our onward trip from the hotel, organising rental cars and explaining the best route etc. For us it was perfect relaxation and I wouldn't hesitate to return to this little gem.
Reviewed October 18, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Michael from Taiwan
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in August 2012
Great Resort in quiet remote location”
Scenery (great beach), facilities (free kayak and snorkel hire), layout (resort and room quality), service.
Staff there were nice and helpful. Everything was perfect apart from food where choices were limited. Make sure u stock up on food if u go to Wellesley so u have enough energy for the beach activities. Watch out the shop close to Wellesley as they try to rip tourists off by offering overpriced fishing trips and horse riding (no insurance). Average hourly rate in Fiji is 4 fijian dollars so keep that in mind when buying stuff, u will have to bargain or just dont buy it.
Reviewed September 13, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Yvonne from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Executive Suite
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012
Fantastic Resort - perfect getaway”
A hideaway resort when you just want to get away from it all
It was the perfect hideaway Resort to relax and reflect on life. This isn't a resort that you go to if you want to do a lot of activities and bring your family - no children allow, so this was perfect for me as I needed to unwind and bury my head in a book and swim in the beautiful warm sea.At the end of the day I had an amazing massage for 1 hour before retiring to bed. After 4 nights here I had relaxed my stresses of the past 2 months away
Reviewed August 18, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Brendon from United States
Couple
Executive Suite
Stayed 6 nights in June 2012
Wonderful Beachfront Boutique Resort”
Wonderful Staff, Beautiful Beach
Thank you for the wonderful stay. The staff was very attentive and the grounds and beach were right out of a postcard.
Reviewed August 06, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Valery from Russia
Couple
Executive Suite
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Lovely place, but need an attitude revamp”
Quite, clean beach, lovely garden setting
We were one of the only two couples staying in the whole resort for the weekend. The adjacent resort only 300meters away along the beach was bustling full of guests, and actually we ended up spending time and having dinners there. Wellesley resort staff were lovely and welcoming, but they did nothing to offer any activities or provided any entertainment. The other resort (Crusoes Retreat) had night shows, kava ceremony, dancing, singing, organized beach and garden walks, snorkeling trips etc etc. We were ready to spend money on food and bar, but preferred to dine in a company and with entertainment. Wellesley, being so quiet, could have at least shared this information with its guests. Otherwise, a really nice place to stay, big and clean room, really peaceful and pristine setting, amazing beach. I'd recommend staying there if travelling 1 hour from Suva (or 2 hours from Nadi) is not an issue.
Reviewed June 10, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
regina from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Great location”
secluded, beautiful grounds
We had a lovely relaxing stay at this resort. The grounds were beautiful and it was a perfect place to unwind and escape everything. The beach was a couple of minutes walk away and the kayaks and snorkelling equipment that were provided by the hotel were great. The rooms were not as nice as the pictures had portrayed them to be. Although they were adequate they were not fantastic. The room was a bit dusty and little things like the fridge had not been switched on so it smelt a bit musty. The bathroom needed a good scrub but was ok. Overall we enjoyed our stay here.
Reviewed May 09, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Dallas from United States
Couple
Executive Suite
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
We loved the Wellesley Resort!”
location: pool looks over the ocean. Food and service are excellent. Just a walk down the beach to another resort gives variety
airport shuttle would be a nice benefit. we paid a taxi driver $fiji 150 for the drive out...the 156 km from the airport was a benefit actually: away from the fray, great location. we loved the resort and its people.
Reviewed March 24, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Robert from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 6 nights in June 2011
Loved the Wellesley Resort in Fiji.”
Quiet and relaxing, great service and facilities.
Deserted beach, home from home but with a private beach all to our selves, great snorkeling on the reef for beginners. The river trip is recommended, friendly staff.
Reviewed January 15, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Joelle from Netherlands
Couple
Executive Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2011
quiet and fine hotel near the coast”
big room, snorkeling, swimming pool
A nice, big and tasteful furnished room, overlooking a beautiful garden. Unfortunately the television didn't work. A nice swimmingpool, with sight to the sea. Snorkeling equipment is available. White sandy beach. Far away from everything, you need a car to go away. Free shuttle servive to nadi airport. For the rest there is nothing in the neighourhood, except birds and plants. Nice breakfast with fruits and pancakes.
Reviewed August 03, 2011
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Matthew from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2011
Very Private Retreat”
Great food at restaurant, great snorkeling and the people are fantastic!
The Wellesley Resort is a great idea for any couple wanting a quiet getaway with each other to relax and take in some sun. If you are looking to go to fiji and party, drink and do heaps of activities, i would suggest heading to beachcomber or one of the islands rather than this retreat.
Reviewed June 28, 2011
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Rebecca from Australia
Couple
Executive Suite
Stayed 2 nights in June 2011
Isolated but beautiful location”
Beautiful, rainforest location. Very quiet
it is very isolated with not a lot to do at the resort. but it is lovely and quiet, no kids running riot. perfect for a romantic vacation.
Reviewed June 15, 2011
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
EMIRI from Japan
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 7 nights in December 2009
A nice view place to stay”
The resort has very nice beach view. The swimming pool inside is good. All staffs are very kindly. You can drink fresh coconuts every day. The place is quiet no many ppl so its good if you just want to have relax there not for going outside because the location everywhere you go need take at least 1 hour.
The office is small, just 1 or 2 person can service for you. Their management is terrible. They don't know the hotel or resort policy. They don't know the customer's demands and make a right way to service for you. Especially you have to be very careful of asking them to arrange a car for you. They change time every time even you tell them what time you want to go because they don't have enough drivers. Also you have to be very clear ask them how much can drive the place you want to go. even you ask a car and bring your friends ( if you have a group go there) , they charge all fee even your friends payment. so might you just rent a car go their.
First email them arrange a car pick up you from airport. It's free. The resort has very nice beach view. The swimming pool inside is good. All staffs are very kindly. The place is quiet no many ppl so it's better if you just want to have relax there not for going outside because the location everywhere you go need drive at least 1 hour. The office is small, just 1 or 2 person can service for you. Their management is terrible. They don't know the hotel or resort policy. They don't know the customer's demands and make a right way to service for you. Especially you have to be very careful of asking them to arrange a car for you. They change time every time even you tell them what time you want to go because they don't have enough drivers. Also you have to be very clear ask them how much can drive the place you want to go. even you ask a car and bring your friends ( if you have a group go there) , they charge all fee even your friends payment. so might you just rent a car go there. The room is clean. Food is not so fresh but ok. The tasty is not bad. The breakfast is big can keep you don't need lunch^_^. others, you can ask them ride a boat have sunset view. If you feel boring you can just walk through the beach 5mins get another bigger resort have another view and have lunch dinner their. So never compare it with Sangali-ra or pacific harbour resort. enjoy the nice beach view.
Reviewed January 09, 2010
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.4
Rodolphe from New Caledonia
Couple
Deluxe Suite
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Hors des sentiers battus”
Difficile à trouver (attention à ne pas arriver de nuit) mais l'endroit vaut le détour. Chambre Honeymoon avec douche à l'extérieur ! Service restauration très très lent.
Reviewed October 09, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.0
Dennis from Germany
Couple
Executive Suite
Stayed 7 nights in August 2016
Schöner Strand, erschreckend schlechtes Hotel”
Das Hotel liegt an einem wunderschönen Strand, der direkt an die schöne Gartenanlage angrenzt. Das Hotel könnte ein Paradies sein. Leider ist es etwas abgewohnt und nicht besonders gut in Schuss (kaputte Lampen auf dem ganzen Gelände, kaputte und dreckige Plastikliegen, muffiger begehbarer Kleiderschrank, zu wenig Polster für die Liegen usw.). Über das alles könnte man im Zweifel noch hinwegsehen, jedoch kommt dazu noch mangelnde Sauberkeit und unhöfliches, unprofessionelles Personal. Unser Bett musste viermal neu bezogen werden bevor keine schwarzen Haarbüschel mehr in der weißen Bettwäsche waren. Insgesamt war das Zimmer nicht sehr sauber. Das Wasser in der Vase im Zimmer, in der ein paar Blätter standen, muss dem Geruch nach zu urteilen sehr alt gewesen sein. Rezeption und Restaurant sind ebenfalls dreckig gewesen. Beim Frühstück haben wir auch mehrmals Haare im Essen gehabt. In der Milch schwammen regelmäßig kleine Tiere und schwarze Dreckpartikel. Das Personal ist schlecht oder nicht ausgebildet. Das schließt die australische Mangerin ein. Wir wurden nicht gegrüßt. Beim Frühstück saß man gerne mal 15 Minuten vor den noch nicht abgräumten Essensresten von anderen Gästen und wurde ignoriert. Insgesamt war das Personal schlecht gelaunt und untypisch unfreundlich für Fiji. Auch vor dem Hintergrund des niedrigen Preises ist dieses Hotel nicht zu empfehlen. Ohne Mietwagen ist man dieser Servicewüste komplett ausgelifert, da weit und breit nichts ist. Der nächste Supermarkt ist z.B. 30 Autominuten entfernt. Postiv ist wie gesagt der Strand und die fantastische Ruhe.
Reviewed August 11, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Andre from Portugal
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Wellesley”
room, location, beach
Reviewed November 26, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
huan from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
不错”
设施,格调,位置
Reviewed December 13, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
Ann-Sofie from Sweden
Solo traveler
Executive Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Bra läge vid havet”
När eten till havet
Rena och fina rum. Bra läge vid havet men ca 5 km ut till den stora vägen, finns inget att handla. Jag tillbringade två nätter på detta hotell med avsikt att bara ta det lugnt,bada, snorkla och sola så för mej var det helt ok! Maten får godkänt, inte det bästa jag ätit men helt ok.
Reviewed January 25, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
Tricia from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in August 2016
很安靜,view很好。”
交通略為不便,飲食很好。員工非常友善。如果要去其他地點,大部分都要搭計程車或是pick up ride。
Reviewed September 06, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.6
YA from New Zealand
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
沒車不方便抵達”
但住宿環境很棒!
Reviewed August 02, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |

1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: