Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 119 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Room comfort and quality 7.7
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 7.7
  • Food and dining 6.8
Sort by

Stewart from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Standard - Min. 2 nights
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Noise from fridge no sleep! Request refund please
Location location location
Complained about noise from fridge they said to contact you re refund due to no sleep. I am very displeased
Reviewed February 04, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Nicolas from France
Couples
Standard - Min. 2 nights
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Close to Cuba Street
Good value - great location -
We thought the location was great, only 2 minute walk to the bottom of Cuba Street and 5 minute walk from the water front! The room was tidy but quite dated & pretty damn hot because there was no air conditioning!
Reviewed January 14, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Rosie from New Zealand
Couples
Queen Room
Stayed one night in December 2014
Great location
Location,free parking,spacious room
We enjoyed our stay and found the location brilliant. What let us down was the lack of attention to detail in the bathroom.the cleaning was not up to hotel standard especially of a 4 star. There were previous guest hairs throughout the bathroom which was not acceptable. The staff were pleasant and helpful.
Reviewed January 04, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

YUEN from Hong Kong
Business travelers
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Room condition
good location,
Old furniture, poor utility. The security is very loose, no one know I enter the hotel at night. Easily to have stranger break in
Reviewed October 26, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Wayne from New Zealand
Couples
Standard - Min. 2 nights
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
tired travellers
location
We had a 5am start to our flight to Wellington - arrived about 8.30am - we are both over 67 years old and my wife has had two hip replacements. We were told our room would not be ready until 2pm - we went for a short walk and came back at midday - room still not ready - we were both very tired and my wife tired of walking - no concessions or offers of hot drinks - wait in the lounge- staff too busy to bother about us. We were told 'We are very busy' Would have been nice to be told 'We will make you room a priority but have a coofe, here is the paper' or something. We felt like we were just a nuisance to busy staff- we actually help to pay their wage!!Not very welcoming...Don't think we would stay here again.
Reviewed October 02, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Marsha from New Zealand
Solo travelers
Last Minute- Standard Double
Stayed one night in September 2014
Awesome
Location, friendly and comfortable
Very good and relaxing
Reviewed September 19, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Ruth from New Zealand
Couples
Queen Room
Stayed one night in September 2014
Complete satisfaction
Locality - comfort - helpful staff
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - would certainly return another time. Thank you.
Reviewed September 16, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Iain from New Zealand
Couples
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Great stay
The size of the room and bathroom was fantastic. The staff were great and especially attentive at breakfast and the location and price were second to none
The hotel was great and fantastic value for money. Really attentive staff, good sized room including the bathroom, awesome breakfast - all in all a really good stay. We will return there
Reviewed September 12, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Bruce from New Zealand
Solo travelers
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Stay at West Plaza
Location, Room Comfort,Hotel Cleanliness
Overall, very good
Reviewed September 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Philip from New Zealand
Couples
Standard - Min. 2 nights
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Worst experience of any Hotel in my life
Location
Stayed during the Sevens Tournament in February. The hotel location is good. The rooms are ok. Now pretty old and worn out but not expensive. Back alley entrance dangerous at night with no security for guests. Second night was good BUT wait, at 06:45 on the Saturday morning my wife and I were lying in bed when the door BURST open and this chap came in yelling "wakey, wakey, get out of bed!". If it wasn’t such a serious breach of my security and privacy it would have been laughable. If my wife had been on her own it would have been a matter for the Police. The chap had been given our room key by the hotel reception because he had asked for a key to his brother’s room who happened to have the same surname as me. In other hotels I have stayed at around the world, our room key would NEVER have been given out without first contacting the room for authorisation or the production of ID showing you were the room guest. I raised the issue with the weekend manager who initially seemed to take it all very seriously. Later in the day the manager told me a string of lies about what & why. He did not realise that I had run into the chap and his brother during the day and got the truth about how it had all unfolded. They had not asked the chap for ID and he was not a guest. No compensation was offered despite the manager assuring me we would be well compensated for the breach of our personal security. The manager also told us that systems had now been changed and it could not happen again. We tested this and sent our mate off to see if he could get our room key. He returned two minutes latter with key in hand. So as you have just read this hotel treats your personal security and privacy as some sort of joke. Hotel management treat you as an inferior when you complain and General management lie in response to reviews and are too weak to contact me directly. I left it several months before reviewing to allow them to contact me to make amends. They never did.
Reviewed July 17, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: