Show reviews that mention
Clean & friendly, cool downstairs lounge area with a separate adjacent bar, seating, vending machines, a popcorn machine... Free drink voucher at their bar on arrival. Super well located across the street (literally) from the Naschmarkt which is great to pick up some food / grab breakfast on the way out in the morning. All good, no complaints.
Clean& comfortable ”
Location is good. You can walk to many attractions. The room is clean,quiet and comfortable. After checking out, you can use luggage room and no extra feee. It is very nice! I have a good time in there.
Very good choice for Vienna (value for money)”
This place is very clean, spacious and silent rooms for a good nigth time rest. Nice shower and friendly and helpfull staff. The only thing that could be improven is the WIFI reception in the rooms. Its a bit slow. But apart from that I would highly recommend this place for a few nights stay in Vienna. Would surely visit again.
Everything was great, they had a fantastic kitchen and bar. Well-located just beside the Naschmarkt and many smaller supermarts. Rooms was slightly hot in the day though, with only one small fan for ventilation. Other than that, my stay was really good!
Clean and excellent location”
I stayed at three Wombats during my trip and each were great experiences. I met some great friends while on the free walking tour, and we rented bikes from the hostel the next day and biked along the Danube. The hostel was well located to food and public transportation. The place has a great atmosphere and was just a bonus in how great Vienna is. Can't wait to go back.
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and made some new friends! That's what backpacking is all about! We're also glad to hear that our location suited your needs and we hope you were able to explore some of the tasty food in our neighbourhood. We hope that we can welcome you back to wombat's here in Vienna again soon. All the best!
We love the location and breakfast for 4.5euro... Thats super cheap.!! we stayed in private double room which is really comfortable and quiet even though the room is on the first floor and next to the entrance. shower is nice and hot. breakfast buffet is just awesome
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our breakfast buffet! We hope we can welcome you back to Vienna again soon.
Everything was great, clean rooms, location, staff. Very warm in summer though even though we had a fan in the room, opening the window meant we got all the noise from the road and the occasional late night party goers yelling down the street. A few people also had their bags stolen from the downstairs storage room including my friends. That said, security is pretty tight and it was just very unfortunate, staff were extra helpful about it. Just don't leave anything important in storage, It is a hostel after all.
Very nice staff”
We arrived early morning and the staff really understand we need rest, she gave me early check in since the room is available. good facilities also! really recommend this hostel! and good location too!
Hostel is located near to one of the U4 stations and close to city center. Took a bed in a 4-beds female dorm, which comes with toilet. Hostel is next to Wofer, a decent supermarket, which is really great. Adapters can be borrowed (deposit €10 which will be returned) and late checkout at 1pm (extra €5) possible. Hostel has a number of washing machines and dryers (€3 each), which is really great too.
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our convenient location near the city centre. We're happy that our facilities suited your needs as well. Hopefully we can welcome you back to Vienna again soon. All the best!
Pros: Opposite of Nashmarkt. Near to Metro station & take only 1 stop distance to the city centre. Hop on & off bus stop is just on the other side of Nashmarkt. Staffs are extremely helpful. Can use the common kitchen & fridge. Cons: No air-cond, quite stuffing before sleep. Floor is dusty.
Thanks so much for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, which is just a short walk away from the city centre, as well as our guest kitchen. We hope you were able to prepare some tasty food for yourself and maybe some new travel friends. Apologies that you found the heat a bit overwhelming. We do provide fans in all of our rooms, but unfortunately, there are not too many buildings in Vienna that offer air conditioning since it never used to get this warm during the summer months — global warming sure is no laughing matter these days. We do hope that you enjoyed your time in Vienna nonetheless and perhaps we can welcome you back again when the weather cools down. All the best!
Close to the metro. 10mins walk to the city centre. They charged €4.90 for breakfast but it was good. The breakfast has a lot to offer.
Would like to stay again”
The room is clean and the location is perfect.
just 20 min walk from the city center, room could be cleaner. I like one free drink at the bar after check in
It would have been much better if the beds has curtains to provide a little privacy.
good location, comfortable bed. But the hostel requires to keep your photo ID, e.g student card, in order to get room key.
Good location ”
Good location and hostel provide local tour 10:30am -2pm. The hostel is clean with space and with share kitchen and washing machine.
NIce and good location”
NIce, good location and near public transport
We booked a room for two persons. I did not like the rules of bringing your used linens upon checkout. It was too cheap to do the thing. The hotel location was not distance-friendly to our planned tours.
Thanks so much for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. As you experienced, we are quite a popular hostel with lots of guests, so we find that if each guest is able to help out and bring their used sheets down upon checkout, then our cleaning staff has more time to focus on ensuring a high standard of cleanliness. Apologies that you found our location, just a short 10- to 15-minute walk from the very city centre, a bit too far from where your tours were planned. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Vienna nonetheless. All the best!
Fun hostel with cheap breakfast”
I have stayed at many of the Wombat hostels and this is one of the better ones. The location is excellent, we had a view from the room right onto Naschmarkt and the staff was super friendly and arranged an early check-in. The museums quarter is also within a 10-15 minute walk, many grocery stores nearby, places to eat. I also enjoy the 4.50 EUR breakfast which is all you can eat, with cold cuts, cheeses, yoghurt, corn flakes and even boiled eggs. Will return for sure!
Great Location and Vibe”
I stayed at Wombats at Naschmarkt for one week. It is in walking distance to all of the major sites as well as close to shopping, market, and subway. The space is also fantastic! It has a laid back vibe and focuses on cleanliness, quality, and price. I would highly recommend staying here. The staff are overall fantastic-- housekeeping, front desk, kitchen/breakfast. The one concern was one staff member who was extremely rude, if not toxic. She works at reception, is super blonde, thin, and set-up the Christmas tree in the lounge. I was particularly alarmed when she turned decorating a holiday tree into a venomous attack on one of the guests. Instead of creating a welcoming environment for guests to help in the merriment making, she verbally assaulted a guy who tried to help. For ex., when he put the final touches of the star on the tree, she climbed up and snatched it down. She stated, "this is our tradition, get out of the way". Everyone within hearing distance was horrified.
Rude breakfast staff; not clean enough; slow Wi-Fi”
I got bedbug bites on the first out of five nights I was staying there. The reception handled it well and changed a room for me and gave me free one-off laundry to prevent the bugs following me in my clothes. They also gave me free breakfast. But the breakfast staff especially the Spanish-speaking Juan was rude and offensive when challenged about it. It was a very bad experience. Also the bathrooms in the property were not cleaned properly. There was poo smeared on the toilet flush in my second room during my whole 4 nights there. To be honest, it was the most expensive hostel on my 30day Europe trip and I don't think it was worth the money.
Thanks so much for your feedback and we're sorry to hear about your experience. We've already followed up with our breakfast staff to ensure we have the full story and that an incident like this does not repeat itself. Our bathrooms are cleaned every day and our reception staff is always available to report any discrepancies in cleanliness so that our cleaning staff can be informed and can correct the problem. Apologies again that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us but we hope that you had a nice time in Vienna.
More like a 3 star hotel than a hostel ”
Very professionally managed hostel. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Location is near the Naschmarket where you can find a lot of food options. Easy access to the metro located just outside. They have their own Wombar which has happy hours and good options available. Free walking tour starts from the hostel everyday.
Great value for money; the Hostel is friendly, common areas are nice and our private room was big and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. We got there at 7AM and they managed to give us a room at that time! :) The bar is always buzzing and fun; though you can't hear it from your room if you're looking for a quiet stay. Would definitely return to the hostel!
This place is huge. Lots of big groups. If you're looking for peaceful go someplace else. However, the bar has lots going on and a good happy hour, the free walking tour that leaves from the lobby is great, and the community kitchen is good enough. Laundry machine is available. Lots of hot water.
Clean and Comfortable hostel, Great value for money ”
3 minutes walk from U-Bahn station Kettenbrückengasse. Staff are nice. Common area is spacious with various facilities. Room and especially the bathroom was clean, btw strong water pressure for a nice shower. 4 bedded room was very spacious. Recommend!
Awesome hostel with awesome location”
Great, very big hostel! The staff is super nice, the hostel is clean and good facilities!! Every room has its own bathroom, elevator, big kitchen to cook, bar with cheap drinks and billiard, great chill area, free towels, storage room... All in all great and I would recommend that hostel to everyone, especially to solo travelers! You will be never alone:)
Juices at breakfast were horrible. Bunkers share when the upper guest is coming up and down, so if you are sleeping endly you got awake. Check in is 24 h, so people is coming anytime and it makes difficult to sleep if you have a light sleep
I love the location, near U Bahn station and mini market”
The location is very awesome, near to U Bahn station and right next to the hostel is Hofer, i really love it. Shopping area is in walking distance, so it was very easy to walked around. The staffs are very nice and friendly. Also, we got free drink at the bar.
Great Hostel! Worth the price!”
A great experience staying at Wombats!! The check in staff are very helpful and friendly! The room was great. Very clean. The kitchen is well equipped. A lovely in-house bar! Big enough lockers as well in the room! There's a market just outside the hostel. The location is also quite decent. Close to the metro station. A definite recommendation!
A very nice hostel with all the small things needed”
I came to vienna by myself, therefore just needed a place to sleep, with no further needs. Still, the place is clean, staff are very nice, very helpful, and makes you feel like 5 stars hotel. Also, it is all the other small things- a very nice pub, simple but good breakfast- both in very low prices if compared to the city, washing machines in the basement, hangout place in the entrance and quite hangout area in the breakfast zone (which is also the visitors kitchen). So I had what I needed and apparently more. Vienna is quite expensive and so is not the easiest city to travel around and Wombat hostel gave some very good solutions for this.
a clean bed for good value”
Convenient quick check-in and check-out. Got upgrade to a room with 4 beds. Asked for a girls only room and got it. When I opened my eyes in the morning I had a view of the Majolica houses, what a welcome to Vienna. I did not try the breakfast, but Naschmarkt is just one step away and has every food to wish for.
A very well looked after hostel. At times very rules orientated. Great location next to the market.
Great place to stay with buffet breakfast and lose to museum quarter
simple and good location”
location is really good..you can have a really nice walk from the city to the hostel after a nice meal
Clean room and good bathroom ”
Well organized, friendly staff, room is clean and cozy. No noise from the pub downstairs.
Good location and great hostel
The room was small but clean. At the hotel lobby welcome drink always there. Breakfast was good. If you are alone, So you need just clean and small not expensive room, It will be good for you.
Traveller friendly, walkable distance to museum quarter”
Really nice atmosphere. What I appreciate is that they have a spacious and cosy common area for travellers. Staff are helpful and friendly.
nice, good, clean
Good location and nice service”
It's just next to naschmarkt and very close to the u-bahn station. The common area is so big and comfortable. Staff are very nice to help. I will stay here again next time.
Great location, clean, nice cozy room, very convenient to every where.
Staffs are nice. The place is clean. And the location is good. Just near by the subway station. I like this place very much.
It's a huge hostel so you can meet lots of people from everywhere. The room is big and clean. Very close to naschmarkt and the metro station. Around 15~20 minutes to walk to main area in Vienna.
Location is good Room is clean Very nice for the staff
The best hostel among the cheap ones. ”
Comfortable and they don't charge you for anything like towels, lockers, etc like in other places. They even give you a welcome drink on the bar :) nice place.
Location is so good!”
Just near to the market and so many good restaurant around this hostel.
Central Location ”
Great value stay in a central location close to all the city sights and metro connection
Very average hotel”
Extremely professional behaviour. The staff was friendly but still it was a very average hostel for this price. Plus breakfast is not included in the price. The only plus point it has is it's location. It's very close to state Opera and you can get hop on hop off buses or train from there so connectivity is good from hostel location
Thanks so much for your feedback. We're sorry that you weren't totally satisfied with your stay with us, but we're glad that our staff was able to leave a good impression on you. We are always striving to strike a balance between the amenities of a larger hostel and the feel of a smaller one. We're glad to be able to offer a cost-effective accommodation option in comparison to the surrounding hotels located so central to the inner-city district, which can easily charge hundreds of Euros for a night's stay. The same can be said for our all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet at just €4,50 extra. By giving our guests the opportunity to purchase the breakfast additionally, we find it helps to give them the freedom to enjoy what we offer or to explore some of the nearby restaurants as an alternative, which often costs almost double the price. We hope you enjoyed your time in Vienna nonetheless.
Hostel is overrated”
The only thing going for this hostel is it's cheap, but that's relative. The room is extremely dirty, mattress have black dots all over it, i already mentioned to the staff it was not just fabric pillings, their explaination was that there are 500 people check in and out the hostel everyday, the travelers don't keep their hostel clean. One female stuff was particularly rude and condescending, she yells and frowns when she talk to people. The bathroom floods when shower. I asked other people in my room if they like this hostel, and no one does. I highly suspect they've bought the good reviews.
Hey Sherry, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! I wish you had a better experience during your stay! First of all I’m really sorry for your negative experience. We do care a lot about the cleanness of our hostel and have a high standard regarding this topic. Please be sure that we will check the bed in the room you stayed and also talk to the rude receptionist. Please be also sure that we aren’t buying any reviews. As I already mentioned, we have high standards regarding our staff and cleanness and it’s important for us that every single guest has a good time during his/her stay. Again I’m sorry for what happened during your stay! I hope you still had a good time in Vienna :) Best, Your womCrew
Over rated hostel ”
In my opinion, That's nothing special on this hostel compare to others around the world. It provides basic facilities and location is not the best as still needs to take metro ( few stops) to centre. However, there's a few supermarkets next to it which is a plus point here.
Good location. I had a great stay
surrounded by several supermarkets, very convenient but room is too small
But the front desk was kind of rude
Thanks for your feedback and we're sorry to hear about your experience. If you'd like to send us an email with more details then we'd be happy to follow up with our staff.
internet slow and unstable. wasnt expecting much from a hostel but stayed in a double room w private shower, no cleaning service in room in 5 nights, no towels. wouldnt stay there again
Thanks so much for your feedback. We've since replaced our router so hopefully the internet speed has improved. However, when we are a full house, as is usually the case during the summer months, it often happens that it can slow down a little with so many folks wanting to get online at similar times. Our rooms are cleaned every day and our 24-hour reception staff is always available if you'd like to report any discrepancies in cleanliness so that our cleaning staff can come to correct the problem. Towels are included in our double rooms, but we do have a few extra towels at reception as well should they mysteriously be missing from the room. Apologies again for your experience and we hope that you enjoyed your time in Vienna nonetheless.
close to Metro”
The hostel is close to Metro and many supermarkets. The kitchen is big and huge space for people to rest.
good location near MRT”
Location is good and cheap price”
Location is very good , and price is very good. But bathroom and room and bed is so dirty. And my whole body is bitten by lice.
Good location, value for money”
I enjoyed my stay in Wombat's City Hostels Vienna at the Naschmarkt. The location was superb and the hostel is definitely good value for money especially for solo travelers with limited budget.
Close to subway, spacious
Everything is good! Thanks!
I loved it!! Best hostel. The bar is great for meeting people and the atmosphere was awesome. I loved the included locker system.
Thanks so much for your kind review. We're glad that you enjoyed our vibe and your stay with us. We hope that we can welcome you back to Vienna again soon!
More value for less money”
Excellent staff, clean , all facilities. No hidden charges or cost. Great location
Thanks so much for the nice review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we can welcome you back in Vienna again soon.
This place is great, easy to get around, super friendly staff that are happy to help and make the stay very pleasant. Would defiantly suggest to people!
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're glad you had a nice stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to Vienna again.
The hostel was just aweome. Very near to the main Vienna attractions.
right near to the market.”
right near to the market. big franchise hostel. not my thing
Of all the hostels, I stayed at during my Europe trip, I liked this hostel the most.
Thanks for your review. We're glad that we managed to grab the top hostel spot during your Europe trip. Hopefully we can welcome you back to Vienna again soon!
Nice & kindly service!! Good breakfast and low price. Recommend~
Near metro station and Nice bathroom”
Spacious and clean bathroom. Helpful staff. Comprehensive facilities.