Book Now: XVA Art Hotel

Excellent
From 207 reviewsSee what guests said
8.8
/
10
Recommended by 97% of guests

Reviews of XVA Art Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (207)Booking.com Reviews (305)
8.8
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness9.2
Facilities8.4
Location8.9
Room comfort and quality8.7
Service8.9
Value for money8.8
All languages
All guests (207)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 161 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
Chun from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Good location, clean, friendly staff~”

Located in a quiet neighborhood in Old Dubai. Basically no way to reach at the hotel front buy taxi, need to walk through the alley, but it was fun. Nice atmosphere inside, you get to see big trees which is not something common in Dubai. Overall room is very clean, equipped with good toilet. I had the room on ground floor, would like to try upper floor next time. They provide good WiFi, and also map to go around the neighborhood. Will be very nice if they provide top 10 to do list. I spent few hours walking around, taking photos. I also walked to the souq (market) nearby, nice… also taking the 1 dirham boat to another side of the Creek. I also tried the restaurant, do not have a lot of meat option (I only can get tuna), but taste is good. Overall a good hotel to explore the difference side of Dubai, recommend to those who wanna explore old Dubai.

Reviewed March 03, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Clare
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

A beautifully curated boutique hotel”

We loved our stay in the XVA Hotel. The room, although small, contained everything we needed for a comfortable stay and the exterior area with it various lounges, coffee tsbles and seing chairs was a lovely extension to the room. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The location convenient, central and very safe. No on-site parking but easy access to the metro and public buses. Eould highly recommend.

Reviewed April 28, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Le from Vietnam
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Fantastic location, perfect staff, cozy and art ambience”

I am in love with this hotel. It is just a small (like a boutique) hotel, but it is very lovey. I feel like at home. Staffs are perfect. The garden cafe and restaurant is gorgeous and peaceful to stay all day (I can sit long there if I would not leave it to visit the area that is a heritage place with road and courtyard. You can borrow a bike from the hotel and go arround the area (Al Fahidi Neighborhood). Walking distance to many places to visit: Old Dubai Museum (entrance fee is just 3 AED), Old Souk, Spice Souk (just 1 AED for water taxi). Breakfast is good, but it is the same everyday. I definitely will comback and recommend this hotel for your stay in Dubai at the side of old city (a bit far from beach, so if you want to go to beach, you can walk to Burjuman Metro Station about 800 meters from the hotel to take metro to Damac Proteries Station at 6 AED).

Reviewed January 02, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Ming from Canada
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Hidden Gem”

This place is beautifully decorated and is oozing character. Room was very clean and comfortable. Outdoor sitting areas were fantastic and very secluded. Breakfast was very filling and you are surrounded by art while you enjoy the canopied outdoors. Will definitely stay again!

Reviewed April 03, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Therese from Vietnam
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2018

Excellent”

Very nice hotel, staff provided great service and were very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant is good, the room is also good and spacious. One thing that we didn't like is the aircon is directly on top of your head. Overall, we had a very good experience and the hotel is highly recommended.

Reviewed October 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Sandra
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 6 nights in December 2018

Sandra from Scotland.”

A unique hotel, very welcoming and peaceful. Loved the courtyard and the way the rooms were set up. The staff were lovely and food delicious, especially the traditional Emerati style breakfasts which were excellent. The hotel's position was perfect for exploring 'historic Dubai' and experiencing traditions and culture. Easy access to Metro travel into more modern part of Dubai. Would definately stay there if visiting Dubai again.

Reviewed February 09, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Tamara from United States
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Fantastic location, room + experience”

I really enjoyed my stay at XVA. Dubai, unfortunately, gets a bit of a Vegas feel so XVA was a refreshing change. The room and facilities were beautiful, I really enjoyed the gallery and would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed January 08, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Caroline from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Lovely hotel in historical area”

Excellent hotel. Even the spoiled 5 star traveller would enjoy. Rooms have really got everything you need, nice breakfast, lovely sunbeds, very friendly and spotless rooms with excellent mattress. Only tiny remark: do place a small sign under the switch for the water heater so people will be aware to turn it on before taking a shower. Other than that, we absolutely loved the place.

Reviewed January 05, 2019
8.8
Excellent
RUMIN from China
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Excellent Location”

The hotel is located in a historical area with astonishing style of architecture. The room is not spacious but decorated in an artistic way.

Reviewed April 16, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Chris from Canada
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016

Great hotel in best location”

Stay in an art gallery in the old quarter of Dubai- enjoy a fresh made breakfast in the sedate courtyard- walk through markets along the creek- discover terrific restaurants including Pakistani, Indian and Middle Eastern

Reviewed April 14, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Must Stay”

Location, Room, Ambiance.

The hotel is perfectly located in the Bastakiya quarters of Bur Dubai. A perfect location... just a minute from the creekside, Museums, Galleries and Abra crossings. The metro is an easy 10 minute walk for access to the "otherside" of Dubai. The room were amazing with a great Arabian feel and a roof top lounge/chill out area. The staff were also so friendly and helpful. I definitely would stay here again and recommend it to everyone. Thank you XVA.

Reviewed November 16, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Andrew from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013

Historic Vacation”

Location, close to major attraction

XVA Art Hotel is beautiful, old style hotel situated in historic part of Bur Dubai in old district of Al Fahidi District (Bastakiya) and not too far from city center It is only five minutes walking from Dubai Museum and Al Fahidi Fort It is small hotel – only nine rooms. We recently spent three nights there in standard double room. Room is not very big, but for couple traveling light is perfect. It has all important airconditioning and ceiling fan and comfortable bed. Up stairs bedroom and terraces is accessible via narrow staircase. Breakfast is served in a courtyard and consists of delicious pancake or omelet, yoghurt with fresh fruits, traditional bread with humus, fresh orange juice and tea or coffee and optional lunch – that a selection of vegetarian dishes. Wi-Fi internet is free with good access in the hotel. Staff is very polite and the manager will help you with every thing. Only problem with this hotel - it is a lack of direct taxi access (hotel is located in very narrow alley about 150 meters from the street).

Reviewed July 02, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Ian from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

A unique Dubai Experience”

The concept, the location, the design

XVA Hotel is right in the middle of the Bastakiya cultural district and, like all buildings inside it, is built like a traditional villa but with a art-sy touch. The room was basic but with a tongue in cheek interiors. There are no frilly features like bars and pools but the whole compound itself is its own attraction. The rooftop features plenty of sitting areas to read, chat, etc. Around the Hotel are several art galleries, both modern and traditional.

Reviewed May 27, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Glen from United States
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

Very unusual and nice hotel”

Unique, great breakfast

The taxi driver had no idea where it was, hidden as it is in the heart of the Baskiyat district, but don't let that deter you from staying in this boutique hotel that is maintained in conjunction with the XVA art gallery. The rooms are nicely done, if a bit squeezed, but the price is right and the setting unique in Dubai. Staff is very friendly and the morning breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice and your choice of either omelet or pancake is so much better than the crappy corporate breakfast buffets at the chain hotels. We'd definitely stay here again if we were in Dubai in the future.

Reviewed December 07, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Fahad from Kuwait
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

i totally like it .. it's unique & lovely”

Friendly stuff .. quite place

everything in this hotel is different . quite , clean , and in the heart of dubai. if you wish to see the old arabic house style mixed with art touch then you should book in this hotel. No T.V in the room everything simple in this hotel.

Reviewed October 19, 2012
9.6
Exceptional
Julie from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018

Excellent place for a more authentic experience”

Great boutique hotel in the historic and creative part of Dubai. Would highly recommend if you are looking to experience the real Dubai. Absolutely loved this place. The only small negative was that staff were very friendly but sometimes lacked in attention to detail.

Reviewed September 04, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Ali from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

A night in a Gallery!”

We were waiting for our new baby there, and it was one of the most memorable stays at a cozy and beautiful place and kind and happy staff. The room called Gallery and it was full of masterpieces of an Iranian artist. what a great time!

Reviewed August 26, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Alexine from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Gem in the old city ”

Lovely boutique hotel by the creek in Bur Dubai. Steeped in history, culture & art, there really isn’t another like it. Don’t hesitate, book this hotel and explore the very picturesque neighborhood. Attentive staff and a lovely owner - thank you Mona.

Reviewed August 26, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Brandon from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

XVA Art Hotel is a unique boutique hotel with a special feel.”

We loved our stay. Even though we arrived at 1.30am are we welcomed & helped to our room straight away. We loved our room, it was the mirror room, all the little touches were perfect. The XVA has those special touches everywhere from the tree that grows in the middle of the dining room that has glass ornaments hanging from it to the artworks all around & the Gallery/shop. Being in the old district it has narrow alleys winding here & there with a special feel all around. The staff were all professional & so friendly. We had many great conversations. Food delicious must try Mint Lemonade & Sweet potato fries. Breaky muesli with fresh yogurt was my breakfast choice. We would highly recommend & would stay again.

Reviewed July 17, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Magdalena from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2017

Amazing place”

I have visited XVA Art Hotel several times and I absolutely love it! Beautiful rooms, small but cozy. Beautiful yards. Located in a historical district of Dubai. Very tasty breakfast. Very friendly staff.

Reviewed June 04, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Rupinder from United States
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Great quiet hotel”

If you're looking for something unique in Dubai, stay at the XVA Hotel. I've stayed at XVA multiple times and have enjoyed each stay.

Reviewed July 09, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Susan from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018

XVA staff are courteous & hospitable”

Staying in XVA is a treat. It’s a hidden gem 💎 in Al Fahidi. Art and creative enthusiasts will delighted to find this place. It’s actually for everyone. Breakfast is good however it needs daily variety Can’t have the same menu three days in a row. Lemonade is a must try very refreshing. Joy, Bong, Brendon and other staff names I don’t know are friendly & hospitable. They go out of their way to help out the guest. Moses is special deluxe, knowledgeable & corteous. He even gave me lessons 101 how to buy Gold... Thank you 🙏 everyone for making me feel home away from home. Highly appreciated. Sue from New Jersey USA 🇺🇸

Reviewed April 01, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Jan from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in January 2018

Absolutely the best place to stay in Dubai! ”

Cant recommend this boutuque hotel in the old town enough. A gorgeous and authentic sanctuary in an increasingly busy city. Close to the Souks , public transport, great food and away from the crowds. XVA has to be one of Dubai's best kept secrets!

Reviewed January 21, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Laura from United States
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017

Better Than Described”

All the reviews were true. It is spectacular, and if I had known better, I would have saved my money on all the touristy things and just stayed on the grounds the entire time I was there. Don't buy the Big Bus Tour. For less than 12 AED, you can take a taxi from Old Dubai Museum (walking distance), to Old Souk (clothing), take a water taxi for 1 AED (2 roundtrip) to the other side of the Creek, see the Spice Souk or Dhow cruise. Take the city bus to Dubai Mall for 3 AED. Go to the restaurant almost at the top of Burj Kalifa. Get a drink for 3 AED and see the entire city. There, you have had your City tour. With the 150 AED I saved you, get a day pass to a spa/beach from a local hotel. By bus or taxi, you still have a full 3 days of experiences, but under 200 AED. For taxis, tell them to drop you off at the Al Fahidi Historical Neighborhood, or Al Fahidi Roundabout. The hotel is in the middle of the neighborhood and must be accessed by foot. You're Welcome!

Reviewed December 23, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Anonymous
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Unusual hotel for Dubai”

If you want a change from the typical UAE high rise hotels, this is the place for you! It is around a 5-10 minute walk from Al Fahidi Metro Station, heading towards the Creek. I have attached a map to show the exact location which is taken from the hotel's own leaflet. You can enter the hotel from a number of entrances, but reception is just inside the door guarded by two large steel balls. Other entrances take you to the cafe or gallery, but all are connected and the staff will show you where to go. My room (4) was quite small, but big enough for me. You enter through a double wooden door secured by a padlock. The ceiling is quite high with a fan if you don't want to use the AC. The bed was comfortable with plump pillows. The bathroom was fine, but hot water is provided by a water heater that needs to be put on at least 10 minutes before a shower. With that in mind, the shower's hot water lasted just 5 minutes before becoming luke warm. Body wash and shampoo are provided. A nice touch

Reviewed December 19, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
mark from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Exceptional”

A calm and quiet low rise haven out with the hustle and bustle of Dubai yet in its heart. A contrary hotel to the new Dubai with tree filled cloistered courtyards, rooftop loungers and easy access to delicious food and drink. A home.

Reviewed December 04, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Gene from France
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

Exceptional”

We rarely give reviews of this sort and are doing so this time because we feel that this hotel is exceptional for all the above reasons, plus it preserves for the traveler some feeling of what must have been the historic Dubai before the monumental and surreal evolution of the place into a sort of Las Vegas East. We would also mention the unusually tasteful renovation and decoration, the esthetic quality of the attached art gallery and the disposition of the building compound with its different courtyards and terraces. The immediate neighborhood offers additional remnants of historic Dubai with some similar galleries and places to eat and stay, the old souk and Dubai Creek with traditional waterfront restaurants and the lively boat and ferry traffic.

Reviewed November 13, 2017
6.0
elaine from Singapore
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

Nice deco hotel BUT not clean”

Pros: - very good location - hotel is full of character and nicely decorated - food was good Cons:- - the table/bedside top in the room were very dusty (we have the Arabian gulf room 14). - there's is no showercap/shaver/toothpaste even if u request for it. Toothbrush is upon request , but for toothpaste we have to go out and buy it in the middle of the night. - becos the hotel is an open art gallery and our room is on the first level, so is accessible to the public and tourist will walk past ur doorstep, hence it can be noisy in the morning n afternoon if ure in the room. - our tv did not work that night too. The staff did try to fix it but to no avail. Overall I would recommend ppl to visit and have a meal in this hotel. But to stay, is not a very good choice. Hope the hotel takes pride in providing guest with a clean room.

Reviewed October 30, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Eric from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in September 2017

Exceptional”

i just wish i knew clearly how to get to the hotel from a taxi drop off....maybe a map sent with the email confirmation. also guests should be told how to tell drivers where to be dropped off......i told the dubai museum but then when i got to the round about i asked them to listen to my instructions carefully lol ...... but XVA is a gem and i'm honored i got to experience it

Reviewed September 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Chandana from Kuwait
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2017

Exceptional”

The bed was comfy. Loved the bathroom design and especially loved the courtyard. A lovely heritage hotel with a modern twist. Would help to have a name plate of the hotel to be clearly seen from the road and direction signs/arrows right up to the hotel and lighting outside near the road and around the hotel

Reviewed July 03, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Esther from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017

Exceptional”

A true gem of a place in the heart of the traditional area of Dubai, far from the crowds and shopping malls. In service, efficiency and friendliness, the management and staff are superlative. With lively and interesting artworks all around, an actual gallery in the hotel and secluded places to relax, converse, read or engage in creative interests, it's the perfect place for a retreat.

Reviewed May 20, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Tina from United States
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017

The best experience!”

This hotel is a hidden gem in Dubai! It is absolutely the most beautifully decorated and thoughtful hotel I have ever stayed at. The room we stayed in was so pretty and full of personality. The welcome note and the fruit platter was a sweet touch. The bathroom shower had great pressure! The common areas were relaxing and zen with daybeds and lounging beds and swinging chairs. There is art everywhere in the hotel making you want to explore the hotel and the surrounding area. The vicinity is full of cute artist shops and little cafes. Absolutely adorable and charming. The XVA cafe also has great vegetarian food! The complimentary breakfast was amazing...so delicious and fresh with more than enough food! The staff was great and so accommodating. They were all so friendly, often stopping to chat with us about our stay. Moses and Luma? were so helpful. My sister and I only regret that we weren't able to spend more time in the hotel itself since we were so busy visiting all the tourist attractions. If I ever am in Dubai again I would without a doubt stay at XVA hotel again!

Reviewed April 18, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Juan from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Good location and interesting concept”

They renovated some old style houses to transform them in a hotel. Really interesting concept. The room was clean and comfortable, perhaps a bit small. The breakfast was good as well. We will come back here next time

Reviewed April 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Amy from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017

Simply beautiful ”

A fabulous 2 night stay here. The location is perfect and within walking distance so many attractions (museums, heritage houses, souks, the creek). Staff were very friendly and helpful. The building is beautiful from the entrance, through the courtyard and up to the rooms. Each room has a different theme, mine being 'kitsch' which I loved. The room was very nicely furnished, huge comfy bed, plenty of room, nice modern bathroom which was spotless. The communal areas were fabulous! Terraces, balconies and little nooks filled with different and interesting furniture to discover that were a very welcome place to sit, relax and read a book. Breakfast included was hearty (an a la carte choice) and delicious. Other food throughout the day from the cafe (not included in the room rate) was also lovely. This was a very welcome contrast to the big brand name hotels in the new city and I'm glad I came to stay here to see a different side of Dubai. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed March 17, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Johannes from Norway
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2017

very special old Dubai style”

near the Dubai museum, a must and the Creek. location difficult to find for taxis very helpful staff and great help seeing Dubai in one day. needed adaptor to charge phone not available because late arrival

Reviewed January 29, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Joseph from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016

Lovely boutique hotel in Dubai Historical District”

A fine oasis from the busy city which is Dubai yet close to all city attractions. Easy walking distance to Old Souk, the Creek, water taxis, and Metro. The Historical Area is well worth exploring with small museums and specialist shops offering genuine quality souvenirs reflecting trading history of Dubai. XVA hotel we can certainly recommend.

Reviewed December 06, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Sandy from United States
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016

Great Spot in Old Quarter”

We liked XVA three years ago and stayed here again in Oct, 2016, liking it just as well. The vegetarian-oriented meals were great. Particularly liked the middle-eastern dishes. Staff were unfailingly polite, friendly and helpful. You must realize that the XVA has traditional Dubai rooms (i.e., double entry doors with a slide bolt, traditional low interior doors where you better duck). The bathrooms are modern, but the entire suite still retains the old Dubai flavor. I like this, but others may prefer more modern rooms with polished stainless steel, etc. Another thing I like is that the XVA is located in old Dubai (Bastikaya quarter) - which means it is near Dubai Creek and the silk and gold markets - and not near the forest of modern sky scrapers. The nearest metro (Al Fahidi) is about a 10 minute walk via a safe and interesting neighborhood. So you can easily get to modern Dubai or the Airport via metro when you want to.

Reviewed November 01, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
William from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

Another view of Dubai”

A great place too see Dubai away from the new development.. Very close proximity to the museum and cultural centre both well worth visiting. The hotel is full of interesting art work and the courtyards provide great spaces for sitting and relaxing. Highly recommended.

Reviewed October 09, 2016
8.8
Excellent
LIWEN from Taiwan
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016

Fantastic”

I traveled in Dubai for 3 days, and this hotel is the best spot during my visit. The atmosphere and decor were very exotic and artistic, staff was helpful, and the price was very reasonable. However, the wifi is weak.

Reviewed September 14, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
KRISTIN from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

Fabulous little boutique hotel in Bur Dubai”

Small size, decor, comfortable rooms

I absolutely love XVA, I stay here every time I'm in Dubai. It only has 14 rooms, a great little courtyard cafe, small gallery and very cozy Bedouin-style and artsy decorated rooms. It's in the historic/tourist village which is quite pleasant, and central. Staff are great. My ONLY complaint is the horrendous internet connections; it's off/on and slow every time I'm there. Highly recommend management to sort this out to give it a 100% rating. Otherwise, great little place.

Reviewed December 09, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
xuyuguang from China
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015

Best in old city area of Dubai ”

location, price, staff

this hostel just located in a historical art area, and itself is also a art gallery,(personally I feel the show during my stay were a little scary)15 minutes walk from the subway. And I liked very much their staff, especially the man and women who take care of the breakfast.

Reviewed July 16, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
KRISTIN from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015

Absolutely fantastic place with tons of character”

Design, rooms, location

I love this place. I stayed here 1.5 years ago, and my second visit this weekend reminded me how much I love it. It's small, designed to be like an old Bedouin house with tons of doors and nooks/crannies, gorgeous design, fantastic bedrooms - extremely clean, unique design, feels like you're in a chic cave setting. The courtyard is wonderful with a huge tree in the middle, delicious breakfasts, etc. The shop is lovely, reception is 24/7, extremely friendly and helpful. It's 30 seconds' walk from the Bur Dubai Museum, souk, shopping, etc. It's a bit hard to find your first time as it's in the middle of a modern souk-type area, but it's fantastic. Enjoy!

Reviewed May 31, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Jasmine from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015

Living in a gallery”

It's beautiful. The common areas are stunning and the rooms are inspiring. Very Helpful staff

Absolutely beautiful. It was an absolutely pleasure to lounge around, eat and they even played an outdoor flick in the common courtyard on the Wednesday night. The place was in crowded which allowed me to soak up the surroundings. So stunning.

Reviewed March 06, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Hua from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013

Unique staying experience in a boutique hotel”

Location, design, staff

XVA is unique hotel in the traditional local style buildings with two courtyards decorated with many pieces of art works. The rooms are not your standard hotel room but each was different and nicely decorated. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Very accommodating for our extra requirements due to early arriving and late leaving. The manager was a great source of useful information and a pleasure to talk to. Short walk to Dubai Museum and local markets and restaurants.

Reviewed October 14, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Hua from New Zealand
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013

Unique experience, great manager and staff”

Boutique, staff, location

The stay was a fantastic and unique experience. It's so much better than a standard hotel room. all the staff were great, nothing is too much trouble for them. We arrived early and left late on both occasions they arranged facilities for us to shower and rest. The location is great too, 5 mins walk to Metro station, 2 mins walk to Dubai Museum. The manager is very friendly and a great source of information. We thoroughly enjoined the stay and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants a great boutique hotel experience.

Reviewed September 22, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Ivon from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2013

A beautiful Oasis”

Atmosphere, Friendly Staff and Food

I only had one day in Dubai and wanted a peaceful and more trditional alternative to the shiny towers and beach resorts of Dubai. The hotel could not do enough for me including early check in (at a half day cost but essential if you are arriving very early and want breakfast which was included. Staff were really friendly and helpful and as this is a nine room hideaway they had plenty of time to sit dwon and talk history, art, eating and sightseeing options. There were lovely courtyards and cool rooms. Really glad I stayed there.. Tips, if taking the trains get a day pass and book a ticket early to go up the Burj Kalifa

Reviewed July 08, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Georgia from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013

Lovely art hotel, quirky location and design”

design of the hotel, art on the walls,

The room was lovely and a perfect size for one. The bed comfortable, the artwork on the walls - lovely. The artwork through out the hotel was delightful as well. The breakfast was okay - I am vegan, but still managed to be able to eat things (which is always helpful!). Staff was friendly and tried to be helpful (even if the taxi I booked 2 days earlier to take me to the airport was not actually booked). The location of the hotel was not known by any of the taxi drivers - so some confusion was caused trying to find the place. It is down lots of little alleys - which walking as the sun was going down, by myself, was just a little bit creepy! But, there were security men around who would accompany you if you wanted - very helpful when I first arrived at 1 in the morning and would not have been able to find my way to the hotel through the dark maze! But the hotel is lovely, and I would stay there again for sure. The facilities were great, and hotel was in the perfect location if you want to explore more to Dubai then just the shopping malls!!

Reviewed June 02, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Elena from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Love my stay there!!!”

Arty, freandly people, greate lication, safe, NO hidden charges.

My first 3 day visit to Dubai- got lucky with this hotel:short walk to metro, Big Bus station,boat station, Gold Souk across of river. Free Internet, fun decorated room, hearty breakfast . Be back

Reviewed February 17, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Heather from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

The hidden gem in old Dubai”

Staff, the bathrooms, traditional Arab setting

Titus is not my 1st time to stay at the XVA. And it is still as wonderful as ever. This is truly a hidden gem in Dubai. It sits right off the creek in the Bastikia. The rooms are charming with great linens delightful bathrooms and traditional Arab furniture. Breakfast is served in a wonderful courtyard and everyone there is so gracious and helpful. It is the most perfect place if you want charm, comfort and great service in a traditional old Arab setting.

Reviewed January 21, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Kathryn from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

Peace and quiet in a great location”

Peaceful and quiet location, friendly service

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Located along Dubai Creek, it has easy access to many attractions, but due to its location is amazingly peaceful and quiet - birds chirped outside my windows. The hotel was also more than accommodating to my early check-in and late check-out requirements, and were able to help organise my activities on a daily basis.

Reviewed January 08, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Petra from Germany
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

Very nice Hotel directly at the creek”

Only a few rooms, quite in the middle of Dubai, close to Heritage Center

We liked esp. the nice surrounding and the Hotel itself as it is nice and quiet although directly in the Heart of Dubai close to the creek. Food was excellent, staff very friendly, rooms Air-conditioned.

Reviewed November 25, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Janet from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012

an oasis away from the glass towers of dubai”

centrally located in a unique heritage area, two minute stroll to the dubai creek, three minute stroll to textile market, easy ferry ride to spice and gold markets

this hotel is the antithesis of most other hotels on offer; it is small, peaceful and friendly and gives the traveller an authentic feel for the architecture and culture of the region. artworks adorn the walls, and each room has been individually designed by a local artist. while the rooms are comparatively small, they lead onto numerous terraces where the traveller can either gather in groups or find a quiet corner to read/write or just lie and dream. the staff are friendly and hardworking.

Reviewed October 14, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Linda from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012

Absolutely the best hotel ever”

The area is so magical and mysticaly. The room warm and cozy

Our arrival was a fabulous journey through a maze of buildings into a mystical, magical world of comfort. The entrance of the hotel took us from reality into an odyssey of antiquity. We felt like we were in a world all of our own. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. On our last day our plane did not leave until late, and we were so grateful for the opportunity to have our room until late in the afternoon. It gave us a chance to not only see more of this beautiful country but the good fortune to enjoy the warmth of their charming hospitality. It is located in a convenient location and accessible to local transportation and interesting sites. We will without a doubt stay here on our next visit to Dubai.

Reviewed October 03, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Heather from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012

An pleasant alternative to the large Dubai hotels”

Location, staff, building

xvz art hotel is in a great location by dubai creek. its close to the markets and the boats that cross the river. great restaurants and local craft shops nearby. getting taxis is easy. the staff are friendly and helpful. breakfast is huge and delicious. the building is beautiful - an old restored building in the old part of dubai. rooms are cute. a little small but have everything you need. the hotel is quiet and has a great atmosphere.

Reviewed September 21, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Chun from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2012

Lovely artsy hotel!”

The bastiyaki area

in the area of bastiyaki, which is itself a nice play to walk around, artsy rooms, great breakfast. was allowed to early check in and leave luggage in the room. the aircon was slightly too noisy tho. around 650m to metro, will be quite far if you walk under the sun.

Reviewed September 11, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Shuang from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012

lovely boutique hotel in traditional setting”

ambiance

friendly stuff. clean and lovely decorated rooms. i could only imagine the traditional buildings where the hotel dwells provides a much more unique and satisfying experience than any average 4 star hotels in the same price range in town (for ppl who r more interested in experiencing culture rather than getting a standard hotel room to sleep in). but not extremely happy with the lady trying to sell tour packages. generating sales through lying just not so matching my ethic code for hospitality industry.

Reviewed July 19, 2012
7.0
Very good
Hao from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012

Location in old town with friendly staff”

friendly staffs

If you are interested in old Arabic town, the location could be the best. Staffs are Filipinos and Indians or Pakistanis, very friendly and helpful. There is no TV in the room and Wi-Fi is in very low signal, but for this price it is reasonable.

Reviewed July 14, 2012
8.7
Excellent
NABIL from United Arab Emirates
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2012

Authentic Dubai hotel , Origional & Cozy”

Change of pace , traditional & friendly service

Located in the old side of dubai. in the middle of the renovated traditional Bastakia area across Dubai creek. The hotel is clean and the staff iare friendly. Rooms are a bit small but very cozy. No phone or TV adds to the historical atmosphere. The court yard is amazing and breakfast is included. Lack of parking space is the only annoying issue.

Reviewed July 13, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Leonie from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2012

Little fairy-tale, good location, very cute/cosy”

Exceptionally well decorated with nice furniture and artpieces

i felt very comfortable during my stay in the xva arthotel! walking the way to the entrance trough the sand-castle-like heritage village feels like a fairy-tale. once inside, you immediately enter the beautiful courtyard and meet the friendly staff. i love the little gallery inside the hotel and actually my room was a little gallery too! decorated with nice little sculptures and paintings. the artbooks, watercooker, nicely assorted soaps, towels, bathing-wrap, the little plant in the bathroom and ofcourse the cool aircon gave me a perfect time after a extreme hot day in dubai! everything was very clean and exceptionally well decorated with nice furniture and artpieces. staff was really helpfull and the breakfast was good! despite i could stay only one day in dubai, but i will return and book this hotel again for sure! i would recommend this hotel to everybody, especially to people who prefer personal atmosphere to the anonymous mega-hotels which can be found in dubai. in my opinion for art-lovers it is a must to go here!

Reviewed July 13, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Dalia from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012

Nice boutique hotel in the Bastakiya - old Dubai!”

location, location, location!

Small hotel, good breakfast, nicely furnished rooms, good service! I was able to have an early breakfast. Great location in the bastakiya (which can be a bit tricky to find), close to the creek and close to metro which will get you to pretty much anywhere in the city!

Reviewed July 07, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Irma from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012

Quiet and cozy with efficient staff”

Rooms are cozy but have everything you need. I like that they have no TV but have books and magazines in the room (good ones, too!)

Entering XVA felt like being a house guest in an artist's abode. Interesting art works were everywhere. The room where we stayed was small but the bed was comfortable. The size of the bathroom was okay. The room seemed to be designed by an experienced and hospitable hotelier- it's not huge but it anticipated all my needs. There were enough clothes hangers, there was even a crisp, cotton/linen bathrobe. I was surprised to find an interesting collection of books in the room and some of my favorite magazines (like a recent issue of The New Yorker!) so I didn't mind not having a TV. There was wifi signal everywhere. And because it had only a few rooms we normally had breakfast alone in the courtyard with chirping birds as companion. The staff was friendly, courteous and efficient (it did help that a number of them were Filipinos like me but we are raised to be hospitable so that's no surprise :D). XVA is also walking distance from the Dubai museum and a few minutes from the old souk where shopping was quite enjoyable. It was also a water taxi ride away from the gold and spice souk (we were told)but we didn't have the time to go to these two other souks.I can't imagine staying anywhere else if I ever get the chance to go back to Dubai. XVA is home.

Reviewed June 23, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Margaret from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2012

Really lovely and hospitable change of pace”

Great location; quiet; lovely courtyard; terrific breakfast included in cost; bathroom for guests to shower if leaving for a late flight after a day in Duibai

xva hotel is a little gem in dubai. the rooms are small but beautifully furnished with aircon, tea and coffee making facilities and a good bathroom. the courtyard - open for breakfast and has a cafe during the day - can get a bit hot - but there is an airconditioned lounge if you need to be cooler. breakfast is simple but more than enough, fresh and well prepared and is included in the price. i had a late night flight and was able to shower etc before leaving for the airport without paying a late checkout fee. this is a fantastic service. the map provided is not great and could do with some improving. but the hotel has ambience and personality and is a much nicer place to stay than the big standard anonymous alternatives. has wifi in the courtyard but not the rooms.

Reviewed May 20, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
richard from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012

beayiful oasis in heart of teh old town”

quiet charimng great location friendly staff

The place was a little hard to find although it shouldn't have been (taxi) but really was wonderful..the place was very clean, breakfast was delicious, the staff very friendly and helpful and the rooms and courtyard very interesting and artsy

Reviewed March 23, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Mubadda from Jordan
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

I love it ,, great adventure ”

traditional and old style

i went there and i really enjoyed my time ,, going to a regular hotel is not interesting anymore ,, if anyone looking for a unique design, and something called adventure or at least for a change for xva art hotel is the right place. i stayed there only one night, but its so cool ,, and i was so excited

Reviewed February 26, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Jenifer from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012

loved it ! absolutely the best”

location, atmosphere, room, breakfast - all amazing

absolutely loved this hotel. i would come back and stay again in a heartbeat. was quiet, room was fantastic and so very charming. breakfast had the best orange juice ever - my mouth still waters thinking about it. staff smiling and lovely. if you want to stay in old dubai close to the textile/gold/spice souqs then this is your place. if you want to stay in a high rise hotel with all the generic qualities of a regular hotel, this is not your place.

Reviewed February 18, 2012
7.7
Very good
Azriena from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012

Gorgeous, perfect, quant boutique hotel”

Excellent service, attentive but not over the top, the staff are warm yet give you space. Excellent location if you are after something quiet.

loved it! will defnitely come back. perfect location if you want a quieter location, away form the flash and glitz, concrete and steel. we had the best time, great courtyard, awesome and lush rooftop terrace perfect for catching some rays, and close to the creek and other little cafes. just aed20 to dubai mall in a cab and aed50 to the marina area....metro station is an 8 min walk away. my partner and i have only good things to say about this place. and our deluxe room was gorgeous!

Reviewed February 01, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
giulia from Italy
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012

boutique hotel from the arabian nights”

definitely a change from the usual big chain hotel in dubai

loved it. this hotel is not for those who like big chains and pools and 24 hour service. this hotel is for those who like a bit of local atmosphere, with home made breakfast, including freshly squeezed juice, and an owner who remembers your face if he sees you twice. we could call it boutique hotel, or maybe a high range bed and breakfast. the price is a bit higher then average, but you pay for an amazing experience and a very central location. the rooms are not huge, but being woken up by the mosque calling the prayer is something that you wont find anywhere else in dubai. the rooms are very clean, bathroom is new and clean and people are friendly. i read the comments below and had doubts when i booked, but it was an amazing stay, with free internet. fast. ask the hotel for directions, they'll give you easy to follow instruction. taxi drivers are not familiar with the area.

Reviewed January 28, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Laena from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2011

Perfect for a weekend getaway”

Peaceful, clean, lovely courtyard, friendly staff , beautiful art

what can i say? our stay at the hotel was simply wonderful. in a nutshell, it did not let us down and in fact, it went beyond our expectation. we booked the hotel on a whim for a staycation (we live in dubai). it was the best random decision i had ever made!! when we got to the hotel, we walked through the main entrance and was welcomed by a lovely courtyard and helpful staff. it is a far cry from the usual big-chain hotels. our deluxe room was simply to-die-for. the room was cosy and tastefully done, we felt like we were transported into a different world. a bit on the small side, but definitely warm and cosy. best part of the room: no tv!!!!!! so you can actually enjoy the ambience and soak in your surroundings. bed was awesome, nice and firm, with fluffy clean pillows and clean sheets/duvet. all in all, no complaints about the room and bathroom - super clean! breakfast at the courtyard was wonderful too. sitting outdoors, sipping coffee and reading the papers. nice omelette and coffee. a perfect way to end our stay there. in conclusion, we would definitely stay here again!!!

Reviewed December 08, 2011
8.8
Excellent
Zhangqin from Singapore
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Excellent”

Convenient location and nice food, a place you shouldn’t miss to explore ancient Dubai

Reviewed February 12, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
BINGO from Japan
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017

thank you so much”

totemosinsetuniarigatougozaimasu

Reviewed September 15, 2017