Book Now: Yamadaya Hotel

Excellent
From 398 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
Recommended by 94% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (398)Booking.com Reviews (259)
8.7
Excellent
From 398 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.6
Facilities8.6
Location8.2
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service9.1
Value for money9.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
ภาษาไทย
繁體中文 (台灣)
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 321 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Siew from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Full view of Mt Fuji and Lake Shoji from private onsen!”
Downsides first - This ryokan is undeniably dated. The bathroom sink still has separate hot and cold tap faucets! The shared onsens on the ground floor do not look at all inviting. Now on to the upsides.. It is clean and I believe most bedrooms have a fantastic full view of Mt Fuji and Lake Shoji. It is also near the entrance of the hike up a hill to an elevation of 1325 m where one can get a panoramic view of Mt Fuji, Lake Shoji and Lake Motesu. Best of all, it has an outdoor onsen on the top floor overlooking Mt Fuji and Lake Shoji that guests can book for private use for 30 mins. And all this at a price much lower than other hotels surrounding Lake Kawaguchiko with inferior views and no private onsen. We thorougly enjoyed our stay here and took many photos from our bedroom balcony, the private onsen, and the surrounding areas. I think that this ryokan offers exceptional value and would recommend it to all except those who simply must have their 5 star luxuries,
Reviewed November 14, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Huijing from China
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Nice place to stay if visiting mt Fuji”
Although old hotel but very clean and helpful staff. Before the trip we communicated with the hotel staff via email and got very prompt reply & good arrangement. The view is amazing as it faces Lake Shoji and Mt Fuji. But the only downside is the noise. It was raining and windy that night, so the window kept making noise. Not able to sleep well due to that noise. Overall it was a pleasant stay.
Reviewed November 12, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Sarinrat from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
The best view of Mt.Fuji is at this hotel ”
Best quality of staff service, Good facilities, Panorama view of Mt.Fuji at Shoji lake, Private onsen 30 minute per room with mt.Fuji view and I would like to say thank you for made my day :). A bit far from Kawaguchiko station should have a private car will be better but if not you must check the bus table time first and plan your trip. However I still love everything of this hotel -3- * สำหรับการเดินทางโดยรถสาธารณะ ขึ้นรถบัสสาย blue line ใช้เวลาเดินทางจากสถานีคาวากุจิโกะประมาณ 40 นาที ส่วนขาออกจากโรงแรมรอบเช้าสุดจะเป็นรอบ 8.40 น. โดยรถบัส สายlocal รอที่หน้าโรงแรมได้เลย แนะนำให้ซื้อตั๋ว Retro bus for 2 days จะคุ้มมากกว่าค่ะ
Reviewed October 29, 2017
4.0
Somnuk from Thailand
Family with young children
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Good location ”
Good location
Reviewed October 04, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Pornchai from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Exceptional”
Hotel in front of the lake. Very nice view from the private hot spring on the top floor.
Reviewed August 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Ai from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Highly recommended for budget travelers”
Excellent view of Mt. Fuji from the room and the private onsen. The private onsen was well maintained. Facilities are old but acceptable. We took the food package too as there isn't any convenient stores around. For the price paid, I think food are up to standard. However, be sure to reach the hotel early if you are travelling by bus. Taking a taxi to the hotel will cost you around 7000 yen.The last bus departs from Kawaguchigo station at around 6pm plus.
Reviewed July 01, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
ANTONIO from Spain
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Great Fuji experience. ”
Peacefull place and totally worth the stay! We spent one night at Yamadaya hotel. The location is wonderful in lake Sho-ji, 25 minutes away by bus from the busy lake kawaguchiko. The environment is so natural and the views of the Fuji Mountain from the hotel (from the room, onsen, restaurant) are just amazing. The lake is perfect for a walk and see the sunrise and enjoy the sunset lights. Despite the hotel is from the 70's, everything was perfectly clean and organized. Breakfast and dinner were the best. The food is very good in quality and in quantity. The private onsen on the rooftop (you can rent a private onsen only for you) and the public baths (open 24h) are just a must. You also can enjoy a perfect view of Fuji from the onsen, actually from everywhere inside the hotel. We really recommend this place to live the Fuji experience.
Reviewed June 23, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Tricia from Singapore
Family with young children
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Nice food & location”
A hotel that provide your basic needs and view is scenic impressing.
Reviewed May 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Khuyen from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Beautiful views of Mt Fuji, private onsen, dinner and breakie included! Family owned. Just lovely. ”
Pros - Every room has a view of Mt Fuji!
Reviewed May 26, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
CHI from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Wonderful rooftop private onsen”
Private rooptop onsen with excellent view of Mt. Fuji , every room can book half an hour of private onsen, luckily not much people at that day, we booked 3 time slot. Reasonable price with great service, we will visit again in the future
Reviewed May 22, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Vichita from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Pleasant stay”
Everything is awesome. Fuji view is really great. Food is very delicious. Worth for every money you spend.
Reviewed May 22, 2017
7.6
Very good
Kiew from Singapore
Group
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Great food and great view of Mt Fuji”
Second time staying here after the last one two years ago. The attraction was the picture perfect view of Mt Fuji, away from the hassle and bustle of the crowd at kawaguchiko. Room faces Mt Fuji and Lake Shoji so you don't have to go out of your room to enjoy the view. Book the private rooftop onsen during daylight to have a good view of fuji san (if weather is good). Breakfast and dinner were delicious and hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Although hotel and room are a little old, i will strongly recommend to stay here for the view and food!
Reviewed May 18, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Christine from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
rooftop private onset facing Mt. Fuji is superb”
It's an small family hotel with public onsen & private onsen on rooftop. All rooms are facing Mt. Fuji & the hotel is at one of the Fuji Lake 5. The scenery is so so beautiful. It is better for people hiring a car. If going by public transportation, you may take bus from the station. Not crowd, very peace, relaxing
Reviewed May 10, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Poh from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Right in front of Lake and Mt Fuji”
Great view, great dinner and breakfast
Reviewed April 23, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
JP from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Excellent Hotel”
We have stayed for 1 night with free car parking. It is easy to find location. Even it is a bit far but worth for good view. The room is clean and big. They provided excellent breakfast and dinner. They also offered 24-hours public spa and 30-minutes private spa for us. We enjoyed so much in the hotel. Highly recommend for all of you, especially, their hand-made ice-cream. Staffs are really nice with good English. We would like to visit again.
Reviewed April 11, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Yan from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Good quality of onsen”
Other than private onsen for 30 mins, there is also 24 hours public onsen with very good quality
Reviewed April 08, 2017
7.6
Very good
Sirintaripa from Thailand
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Good Breakfast and dinner, Private onsen with Fuji view.”
Small hotel but Good service. Breakfast and dinner are very delicious. Private onsen with Fuji view.
Reviewed February 24, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Nancy from Canada
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Comfortable stay”
Although it is a bit far away from the main town, it is more quieter. With a very reasonable price, it is worthwhile to take some time to travel to this hotel. excellent view, facing mt. Fuiji and the lake. highly recommended it.
Reviewed February 23, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
pharanwit from Thailand
Group
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Good view, good service, helpful staff”
- nice view from my room - delicious dinner and breakfast - I forgot my phone on my room and staff is very helpful(she send mobile phone to me at hotel in Tokyo at this day) - very impress view at onsen with fujisan - I will comeback again
Reviewed January 31, 2017
7.2
Very good
Ashley from Singapore
Family with young children
Japanese Style
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
The location was fantastic. ”
The breakfast n dinner was delicious
Reviewed December 13, 2016
6.0
felix from Indonesia
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Good panorama , comfortable private onsen”
Far from kawaguchiko station must go by bus or taxi . but after you reach the hotel , "worthed" . good view from my room , mount fuji panorama + lake shoji.
Reviewed December 13, 2016
7.2
Very good
Tju from Singapore
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Great stay”
The paid dinner was worthwhile
Reviewed December 11, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Chalermchai from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Best view&cozy”
I will definelty recommend this to everybody and I will back again.
Reviewed December 11, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Rachel from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Nice view”
Although it's an old hotel, the price is relatively low. And the view is excellent ! You can see Fuji mountain in each room
Reviewed December 11, 2016
6.0
Lorraine from Singapore
Group
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Good view of mount Fuji”
nice dinner and breakfast..Traditional layout,Good view of mount Fuji. Big room
Reviewed December 10, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Dee from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Great hotel with the best Mt. Fuji view!”
My husband and I really love this hotel, even it is not new and closed to other interesting places. However you can retreat yourself with the best view and good food. The staff is able to communicate with you in English and all are helpful. If you want to spend a few days with your privacy and surround with the best view of Mt. Fuji, I highly recommend this hotel.
Reviewed December 10, 2016
7.6
Very good
Chong from Singapore
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Great hotel at a great price. Room is big and clean. Great view of Mt Fuji from the room.”
Nice and clean room. Nothing fanciful given the great price. Great view of Mt Fuji from our room and also from the private onsen. Private onsen is free for us but limited to 30 mins per session. Dinner is at 3500 yen per pax which is kinda pricey. There are no other restaurant in the area. The nearest town is Kawaguchiko which is about 25 mins drive. Overall, i will still stay here again if i am going to Lake Shoji.
Reviewed December 09, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Low from Singapore
Family with young children
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Good location for viewing mount Fuji”
Friendly staff with warmly welcome
Reviewed December 06, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Sasitorn from Thailand
Group
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Perfect spot for a stunning view of Mt. Fuji. ”
Pros: perfect location, clean room, private bath, comfy futons, view of Mt. Fuji Cons: shower room could be upgraded.
Reviewed November 22, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Ming from Malaysia
Group
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Impressive view, friendly service and yummy dining meals”
Yamadaya had provided us a superb room with balcony. The view was absolutely amazing. If you prefer to have a peaceful and relaxing holiday, Yamadaya is definitely a good choice. Kawaguchiko area is full with tourists and I prefer Lake Shio which is quiet and majority are local Japanese. I can't wait to plan for my next stay with Yamadaya. Thank you for servicing with very good view, good food and good onsen. You can have your private-time onsen with facing Mt Fuji directly. This is really a good experience!
Reviewed November 20, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Paurene from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Relax and quiet stay away from city”
The hotel is far away from Kawaguchiko station and quite hassle to get there via public transportation with limited bus frequency. However all of this worth when you see the amazing view of Fuji mountain from your room. Awesome private bath session (each time - 30 minutes) provided at the roof top for guest. Don't miss the delicious traditional Japanese dinner and breakfast provided by the hotel.
Reviewed November 19, 2016
7.2
Very good
Thumrong from Thailand
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Very good Japanese style hotel.”
Dinner was very good. Breakfast was typical Japanese. The hotel is located in font of the lake. It is better to drive to the hotel than to take the public transportation. You can view Fuji mountain from your room. The amenities in the public bath are limited. Only one hair dryer in the dressing room. The staff are friendly and can communicate in English but prefer Japanese. The private bath is limited to 30 minutes, is free and can be reserved when you check-in. You can view Fuji mountain from both public bath and private bath.
Reviewed November 08, 2016
8.0
Excellent
MingShan from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Onsen + mt Fuji view!”
very good view of mt Fuji once u woke up. u can even watch the sunrise in your very warm room. both private n public onsen bath are very nice. yet, location a bit far but not a problem if u rent a car. better reserve both breakfast n dinner during your stay coz nothing to eat nearby
Reviewed November 07, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Mohd from Malaysia
Family with young children
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Did not expect the wonderful dinner and breakfast”
We arrived rather late at 7.30pm but dinner was all ready and served. Did a quick check-in and sent the bags into the room, and came down for dinner. I was totally blown away, the dinner was fantastic! Totally unexpected for the price of the package. Spent the rest of the night in the room (not much around the hotel, place was quite secluded). Checked out the public onsen, which was decent, I was the only one around. The next morning, again, the meal served was sublime. I think the meals themselves are worth more than the night stay. The hotel itself you can tell is quite old, and you can see it, but it does have the traditional Japanese feel to it. The rooms faced Mt. Fuji with the lake in the foreground. I imagine it would have been a fantastic view if not for the cloudy weather hiding Mt. Fuji's peak. Finished off with a private outdoor onsen overlooking Mt. Fuji after breakfast and just before check-out. Fantastic. (Trip was in early November)
Reviewed November 07, 2016
7.6
Very good
MingShan from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Good view of mt Fuji”
delicious food, very good view, private bath time, japaness style room, English possible. remote from tourists area give you peaceful stay.
Reviewed November 05, 2016
7.2
Very good
vilai from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
a room with a nice view ”
stunning view! I can see Mount Fuji from my room. I love the surrounding of the hotel, very claim and peaceful.
Reviewed November 02, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Tzu from Taiwan
Group
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
excellent!”
really nice and friendly host, beautiful Mt. fuji and Shojiko view just in front of the window, and tasty food.
Reviewed October 18, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Thassha from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Great location right in front of Shoji Lake”
The full board package is value for money. Dinner and breakfast was superb! The hotel was quite old but clean. Japanese style room is great with Mt.Fuji view. Location is right in front of Shoji Lake. It's quiet compare to Kawaguchiko Lake area. We rent a car when we were there so it's pretty easy to reach. However, there are bus from Kawaguchiko station as well (but not too many I guess). The private onsen (which you have to book when checking in) is awesome. We were lucky that the weather was great in the second day so we can see Mt.Fuji very clear! There are shower/toilet inside the room. The only thing we don't like is the toilet in our room smell very bad but beside that everything are great :)
Reviewed October 08, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Johanna from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Very good location (when it isn't cloudy...)”
The hotel is a bit old, but its location is unbeatable. With the right weather you can soak in the onsen on the roof, while enjoying Mount Fuji. They serve a fantastic dinner and breakfast too.
Reviewed October 07, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
TAK from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Excellent service”
My friend forgot to bring a bag when she was catching the bus back to Tokyo. The waitress wearing a pair of spectacles took the bag and drove to the bus terminal in order to give the bag to us. She is spectacular and wonderful. Love you always.Besides, the meals are excellent and the view is perfect.
Reviewed October 07, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Sze from Malaysia
Group
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Awesome!”
It's my second stay in Yamadaya and i've brought my cousin here. They do admire the ambience, food and service! Although its quite far away from kawaguchiko station and you need to take the 30-40mins public bus to reach the hotel but it's definitely worth it!! Wanted to stay for the third time with my family this september but too bad yamadaya is fully booked. :(
Reviewed August 22, 2016
7.6
Very good
Lu from Taiwan
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Unforgettable”
The view in the room and hot spring is incredible. The breakfast and dinner are very fruitful and delicious.
Reviewed August 05, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Daniel from Singapore
Family with young children
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
A perfect retreat stop with your own private onsen”
When booking this hotel, make sure to include the dinner and breakfast option when available, it completes the total experience. If you dont see this option, request for it on check in and pay additional on check out. The private onsen is perfect and hopefully you get to enjoy the view of Mount Fuji without low lying clouds.
Reviewed June 16, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Sirivut from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Very good”
Gooddddd
Reviewed June 10, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Tan from Singapore
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
out of the way but worth it”
The fantastic food and the beautiful private onsen at a very reasonable price make it worth the long trip out of town (on buses with very limited timings). Room was nice and cozy, hot water flasks provided in every room which was very much appreciated. However, not too much to do in the area apart from hiking.
Reviewed May 30, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Kriangkrai from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Breathtaking view with private onsen”
Private onsen, traditional meals and the spectacular view made everything better otherwise this hotel would be just another old but clean hotel. Do not expect luxury.
Reviewed May 27, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Sutee from Thailand
Group
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Perfect for recreation”
Everything was perfect. The room was clean and ample with mount fuji front view. A private onsen was fantastic. Japanese Dinner and breakfast were superb.
Reviewed May 26, 2016
7.2
Very good
Sherard from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Countryside stay”
A lovely place indeed. The place is nestled in the middle of the area and clear of all the urban surroundings. All the hotel rooms are overlooking Mt Fuji and you could enjoy tea while enjoying the view of the entire area. Staff was friendly and could converse in simple English. A must to book with meals as the food served are awesome. The onsen is a must try as you could enjoy the hot spring water while enjoying the scenic view. A downside would be the transport to the hotel. Bus only arrives at certain timing from Kawaguchiko station and it is about 40mins ride. A good place for travelers who wish to escape from the hustle and bustle of city life.
Reviewed May 24, 2016
7.6
Very good
po from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Good”
Good
Reviewed May 23, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Yongyut from Thailand
Family with young children
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Great location and service mind ”
Good experience on japanese family run business and japanese food
Reviewed May 08, 2016